Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.2.3  IFEN – Supplemental Type Certificate Process

Based on information highlighted by this accident, the FAA has initiated many positive changes to its type certification process. However, there is one area that the Board feels requires additional consideration.

The purpose of FAR 25.1309 is to confirm that a system's design does not adversely affect the original aircraft type certificate. This investigation identified a deficiency with the provisions of FAR 25.1309, which allowed the IFEN STC ST00236LA-D system-to-aircraft integration design to be approved without confirmation that it was compliant with the aircraft's original type certificate. The Board is aware that there were other STC designs, certified in accordance with FAR 25.1309, in which the system-to-aircraft integration design introduced latent unsafe conditions with the potential to adversely impact the operation of the aircraft during emergency procedures. In some instances, the STC process allowed the intended function of certain checklist procedures during abnormal or emergency situations, to be altered without issuing an Airplane Flight Manual (AFM) supplement to advise the pilots. Although FAR 25.1309 applies to all aircraft systems, it would appear that STC designs that have been typically viewed as "non-essential, non-required"and that can be approved based on a qualitative assessment, are especially susceptible to improper integration.

The Board believes that, as currently written, FAR 25.1309 can be interpreted to allow STC approval of system-to-aircraft integration designs that are not compliant with the original type certification. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

Regulatory authorities require that every system installed through the STC process, undergo a level of quantitative analysis to ensure that it is properly integrated with aircraft type-certified procedures, such as emergency load-shedding.
A03-04

Assessment/Reassessment Rating: Satisfactory in Part

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

4.2.3  RDB – Processus de certification de type supplémentaire

Compte tenu des renseignements mis en relief à la suite de cet accident, la FAA a apporté de nombreuses modifications tout à fait indiquées à son processus de certification de type. Toutefois, il y a un domaine qui, de l'avis du Bureau, devrait recevoir plus d'attention.

La FAR 25.1309 vise à confirmer que la conception d'un système ne compromet pas le certificat de type d'origine d'un aéronef. La présente enquête a permis de cerner une lacune relative aux dispositions de la FAR 25.1309 qui a permis que la conception de l'intégration d'un système à l'avion en vertu du STC ST00236LA-D du réseau de divertissement de bord (RDB) soit approuvée sans qu'il soit confirmé qu'elle était conforme au certificat de type d'origine de l'avion. Le Bureau est au courant du fait qu'il y avait d'autres STC, certifiés conformément à la FAR 25.1309, dans lesquels la conception de l'intégration du système à l'avion introduisait des conditions dangereuses latentes risquant de compromettre l'exploitation de l'avion en cas d'urgence. Dans certains cas, le processus STC permettait qu'une fonction prévue de certaines procédures relatives aux listes de vérifications utilisée lors de situations anormales ou d'urgence soit modifiée sans que soit publié un supplément au manuel de vol (AFM) pour en avertir les pilotes. Bien que la FAR 25.1309 s'applique à tous les systèmes de bord, il semblerait que les conceptions STC qui ont été normalement considérées comme « non essentielles, non requises » et qui peuvent être approuvées sur la foi d'une évaluation qualitative sont particulièrement susceptibles d'être mal intégrées.

Le Bureau est d'avis que, tel qu'elle est présentement rédigée, la FAR 25.1309 peut être interprétée comme permettant la certification STC de conceptions d'intégration de systèmes aux aéronefs qui ne sont pas conformes à la certification de type d'origine. Par conséquent, le Bureau recommande que :

les autorités réglementaires exigent que tout système installé selon le processus de certification de type supplémentaire fasse l'objet d'une analyse qualitative permettant d'assurer qu'il s'intègre bien aux procédures de certification de type de l'aéronef, comme le délestage électrique d'urgence.
A03-04

Évalution/Réévaluation Catégorie : Attention en partie satisfaisante

Précédent | Suivant