Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

4.3.5  Standby Instrumentation

The Board recognizes that TC has committed to reviewing the requirements for standby instrumentation, including related issues such as standby communication and navigation capabilities. TC has indicated that the appropriate approach would be to address these issues in harmony with the FAA and the JAA, and that this objective could be achieved through current and future ARAC activities. The Board remains concerned with the lack of substantive progress in mitigating the risks identified in the TSB ASA A010042-1 (issued 28 September 2001) and encourages TC to work with the FAA and the JAA to expedite the required safety action.

TC indicated that during the certification process, the suitability of the standby instrumentation display(s) and placement are evaluated. TC also indicated that the installation of digital integrated standby instrument systems appears to improve the displayed information. The Board believes that standby instruments should be in a standard grouping layout similar to the primary flight instruments, and that the instruments should be positioned in the normal line of vision of the flight crew. The Board encourages TC to coordinate with the FAA and the JAA to address this issue without further delay.

The Board notes that TC is reviewing training scenarios developed by airline operators. The Board believes that TC should ensure that realistic training scenarios, involving the use of standby instruments, are incorporated in training programs, and that the scenarios include complicating factors, such as loss of additional systems, wearing of oxygen masks and goggles, and smoke in the cockpit.

The Board remains concerned that regulations do not require that standby instruments are capable of remaining powered by an independent power supply that is separate from the aircraft electrical system and battery. The Board believes that with current technology, providing independent standby instrumentation for secondary navigation and communication is feasible. The Board encourages TC to coordinate with the FAA and the JAA to address this issue without further delay.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

4.3.5  Instruments de secours

Le Bureau reconnaît que Transports Canada s'est engagé à revoir les exigences relatives aux instruments de secours, y compris les questions connexes comme les capacités de communication et de navigation de secours. Transports Canada a indiqué que l'approche appropriée consisterait à traiter ces questions de manière à les harmoniser avec la FAA et les JAA, et que cet objectif pourrait être atteint au moyen des activités présentes et futures du Comité ARAC. Le Bureau demeure préoccupé par l'absence de progrès significatifs dans la réduction des risques mentionnés dans l'avis de sécurité aérienne A010042-1 du BST, publié le 28 septembre 2001 et il encourage Transports Canada à travailler avec la FAA et les JAA pour accélérer la présentation de la mesure de sécurité requise.

Transports Canada a indiqué que, au cours du processus de certification, le caractère approprié et l'emplacement du ou des affichages des instruments de secours sont évalués. Transports Canada a aussi indiqué que l'installation d'instruments de secours à intégration numérique semble améliorer l'information affichée. Le Bureau est d'avis que les instruments de secours devraient être regroupés comme les instruments de vol primaires, c'est-à-dire qu'ils devraient être dans le champ de vision normal des membres de l'équipage de conduite. Le Bureau encourage Transports Canada à assurer la coordination avec la FAA et les JAA pour régler cette question sans autre forme de délai.

Le Bureau note que Transports Canada est en train de revoir les scénarios d'entraînement élaborés par les exploitants de lignes aériennes. Le Bureau est d'avis que Transports Canada devrait s'assurer que des scénarios d'entraînement réalistes appelant l'utilisation d'instruments de secours sont intégrés aux programmes d'entraînement, et que ces scénarios comprennent des facteurs qui compliquent la situation, comme la perte d'autres systèmes, le port d'un masque à oxygène et de lunettes ainsi que la présence de fumée dans le poste de pilotage.

Le Bureau demeure préoccupé par le fait que la réglementation n'exige pas que les instruments de secours puissent demeurer alimentés par une source indépendante, distincte du système électrique et de la batterie de l'avion. Le Bureau est d'avis que la technologie actuelle permet à des instruments de secours indépendants d'assurer une capacité de navigation et de communication secondaire. Le Bureau encourage Transports Canada à assurer la coordination avec la FAA et les JAA pour traiter cette question sans tarder.

Précédent | Suivant