Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

  1. ADG System Description
  2. ADG Examination
    1. Air Turbine Unit Examination
    2. Brushless Generator Examination
    3. Mounting Strut Assembly Examination
  3. ADG Determination

ADG System Description

The ADG consists of a ram air-powered, automatic speed-controlled, 28-inch diameter, two-bladed air turbine unit that drives a 25 kVA, three-phase, 115 V AC, 400 Hz brushless generator. To maintain a constant voltage setting, the generator and turbine turn at speeds of 12 000 rpm and 4 839 rpm, respectively.

The ADG is mounted via a strut assembly in Air Conditioning Compartment 3 located on the lower right-hand side of the fuselage to the right of the nose gear doors at station 570.

(See photograph of "Air-driven generator in aircraft.")

In the stowed position, the blades of the turbine are aligned in the fore and aft direction. The ADG is extended by a red lever and a mechanical linkage arrangement located in the cockpit on the lower right-hand side of the centre console. The lever is safety wired in the stowed position. It is designed to be pulled aft and lifted for deployment. Once the lever is pulled, the ADG moves out of the fuselage into the airstream, with the help of two springs. The ADG is deployed with the help of pressure created by airflow against the propeller blades and the weight of the ADG as it falls. Once deployed, the ADG cannot be re-stowed in flight. To prevent damage to the ADG or to the ADG stowage compartment during deployment, the ADG is equipped with an anti-rotation lock. The anti-rotation lock prevents the turbine from rotating until the ADG is approximately 90% extended.

ADG Examination

The ADG had torn free from the aircraft at the time of impact and was recovered in three major sections:

(See photograph of "Recovered pieces.")

  1. Air turbine unit
  2. Brushless generator
  3. Mounting strut assembly

Air Turbine Unit Examination

The air turbine unit was recovered missing the spinner and one of its two propeller blades. According to the dataplate, the unit was manufactured by Kaiser Marquarot (PN 226260-501, SN 0037). The air turbine unit had separated from the generator flange and had sheared five of its six mounting bolts. The threads of the remaining bolt had been stripped out of the hub. The generator flange was fixed in place and was not free to rotate owing to impact damage to the generator housing. The air turbine unit was mated with the generator flange; the orientation of the turbine blade and blade stub placed the blades in the fore and aft or stowed position. No rotational markings were noted on the turbine hub. The propeller blade exhibited no leading edge damage or chordwise marks or scratches that would indicate rotation of the blade.

(See photograph of "Air turbine unit - propeller blade - leading edge.")

The trailing edge of the blade was damaged as a result of having been driven back into the generator and strut assembly. The back of the blade exhibited longitudinal gouges that matched the spacing of the studs at the generator/strut attachment flange.

(See photograph of "Air turbine unit - propeller blade - trailing edge.")

Examination of the fractured blade stub indicated that the blade broke off in bending overload.

(See photograph of "Air turbine unit - propeller blade stub.")

There was no evidence of torsional forces acting on the blade at the time of separation.

The corner edge of the detent of the ADG anti-rotation lock assembly was flattened, indicating engagement of the lock plate at the time of impact.

(See photograph of "Anti-rotation lock plate - detent edge flattened.")

The turbine hub exhibited marks that matched the damage to the anti-rotation lock casting ears located on the generator. The alignment of the marks in parallel to the casting ears indicated that the marks were made as a result of the turbine being driven out of a locked and static position.

Brushless Generator Examination

The brushless generator was recovered with a portion of the mounting strut flange attached. The generator was identified by Swissair tag IDN 474746. The generator case was punctured, and the armature was pinched in place and was not free to rotate.

The electrical generator supply cables were found captured within the mounting strut. The cables were sheared at both ends of the strut. The cable ends were examined for signs of electrical arcing that would suggest operation of the ADG. No evidence of electrical arcing was found.

Mounting Strut Assembly Examination

The damage to the leading edge of the strut assembly matched the damage pattern noted on the trailing edge of the aft propeller blade. This pattern was consistent with the blade being pushed rearward while in the stowed position. The anti-rotation lock linkage mechanism was contained within the strut bosses and was bent and captured in the stowed position.

(See photograph of "Anti-rotation lock mechanism.")

ADG Determination

The absence of rotational damage to the turbine hub and propeller blade, combined with the captured and stowed position of the anti-rotational lock assembly and the relationship of the impact damage pattern, indicates that the ADG was in the stowed position at the time of impact.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Alternateur éolien

  1. Description de l'alternateur éolien
  2. Examen de l'alternateur éolien
    1. Examen de l'éolienne
    2. Examen de l'alternateur sans balais
    3. Examen du montant
  3. Conclusion relative à l'alternateur éolien

Description de l'alternateur éolien (ADG)

L'ADG est une éolienne bipale de 28 pouces de diamètre, mue par l'air dynamique et dont la vitesse de rotation est commandée automatiquement, qui entraîne un alternateur sans balais de 25 kVA, triphasé, de 115 V c.a., 400 Hz. Pour maintenir une tension constante, l'alternateur et l'éolienne tournent à des vitesses de 12 000 tr/min et de 4 839 tr/min, respectivement.

L'alternateur est fixé sur un montant dans le compartiment de conditionnement d'air 3, situé du côté inférieur droit du fuselage, à la droite des trappes de l'atterrisseur avant, à la référence 570.

(Voir la photo « Alternateur éolien dans l'avion ».)

Lorsque l'éolienne est rentrée, ses pales sont alignées dans l'axe de l'avion. L'alternateur est déployé au moyen d'un levier rouge et d'un tringlage situés dans le poste de pilotage, du côté inférieur droit de la console centrale. En position rangée, le levier est muni d'un fil de sécurité. On le tire vers l'arrière puis vers le haut pour déployer l'éolienne. Lorsqu'on tire sur le levier, l'éolienne sort du fuselage dans le courant d'air à l'aide de deux ressorts. L'éolienne se déploie aussi sous l'effet de la pression créée par l'écoulement aérodynamique sur ses pales et sous celui de son propre poids. Une fois déployée, l'éolienne ne peut être rentrée en vol. Pour éviter tout dommage à l'alternateur ou à son compartiment de rangement pendant le déploiement, l'alternateur est muni d'un verrou anti-rotation. Ce verrou empêche l'éolienne de tourner tant que celle-ci ne s'est pas déployée à environ 90 %.

Examen de l'alternateur éolien

L'éolienne a été arrachée de l'avion au moment de l'impact et elle a été récupérée en trois parties principales :

(Voir la photo « Morceaux récupérés ».)

  1. Éolienne
  2. Alternateur sans balais
  3. Montant

Examen de l'éolienne

L'éolienne a été récupérée sans sa casserole et une des deux pales. Selon sa plaque signalétique, elle avait été fabriquée par Kaiser Marquarot (numéro de pièce 226260-501, numéro de série 0037). L'éolienne s'était séparée de la bride de l'alternateur, et cinq de ses six boulons de montage étaient cisaillés. Les filets du boulon qui restait avaient été foirés hors du moyeu. La bride de l'alternateur était figée en place et elle ne pouvait pas tourner à cause des dommages dus à l'impact subis par le carter de l'alternateur. L'éolienne était unie à la bride de l'alternateur; l'orientation de la pale et son embout indiquaient que les pales se trouvaient dans le sens longitudinal, soit la position de rangement. On n'a relevé aucune marque de rotation sur le moyeu de l'éolienne. Il n'y avait aucun dommage au bord d'attaque de la pale, ni de marques ou d'égratignures dans le sens de la corde indiquant que la pale tournait.

(Voir la photo « Bord d'attaque de la pale de l'éolienne ».)

Le bord de fuite de la pale était endommagé du fait que celle-ci avait été enfoncée dans l'alternateur et le montant. L'arrière de la pale présentait des rainures longitudinales qui correspondaient à l'espacement des goujons de la bride fixant l'alternateur au montant.

(Voir la photo « Bord de fuite de la pale de l'éolienne ».)

L'examen de l'embout de pale rompue a révélé que cette dernière s'était rompue en surcharge de flexion.

(Voir la photo « Éolienne - embout de pale ».)

Rien n'indiquait que des forces de torsion avaient agi sur la pale au moment de la séparation.

Le coin du cran du verrou anti-rotation de l'alternateur avait été aplati, indiquant que la plaque de verrouillage y était engagée au moment de l'impact.

(Voir la photo « Plaque de verrouillage anti-rotation - bord du cran aplati ».)

Le moyeu de l'éolienne présentait des marques qui correspondaient aux dommages subis par les pattes moulées situées sur l'alternateur. L'alignement des marques parallèlement aux pattes moulées indiquait que les marques avaient été causées par l'expulsion de l'éolienne de sa position fixe et verrouillée.

Examen de l'alternateur sans balais

L'alternateur sans balais a été récupéré d'un bloc avec une partie de la bride du montant. L'alternateur était identifié par l'étiquette IDN 474746 de Swissair. Le carter de l'alternateur était perforé, et l'induit était coincé en place sans pouvoir tourner librement.

Les câbles d'alimentation électrique de l'alternateur ont été retrouvés emprisonnés à l'intérieur du montant. Les câbles étaient cisaillés aux deux extrémités. On a vérifié si les extrémités des câbles présentaient des signes d'amorçage d'arc électrique, lesquels laisseraient croire que l'alternateur fonctionnait. Aucun signe d'amorçage d'arc électrique n'a été découvert.

Examen du montant

Les dommages causés au bord d'attaque du montant correspondaient au type de dommage relevé sur le bord de fuite de la pale arrière. Ce dommage indiquait que la pale avait été repoussée vers l'arrière alors qu'elle se trouvait en position de rangement. Le mécanisme du verrou anti-rotation se trouvait à l'intérieur des bossages du montant et il était replié et figé en position de rangement.

(Voir la photo « Mécanisme du verrou anti-rotation ».)

Conclusion relative à l'alternateur éolien

L'absence de dommages par rotation au moyeu de l'éolienne et à la pale, combinée au verrou anti-rotation figé en position de rangement et au type de dommage d'impact, indique que l'alternateur éolien était rentré au moment de l'impact.