Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

  1. Engine Shutdown Systems Description
    1. Normal Engine Shutdown
    2. Emergency Engine Shutdown
  2. Engine Shutdown Systems Examination
    1. Engines 1 and 3
    2. Engine 2
  3. Engine Shutdown Systems Determination
    1. Engines 1 and 3
    2. Engine 2
  4. Engine False Fire Warning

Engine Shutdown Systems Description

Normal Engine Shutdown

The engine FMU allows for starting and shutting down the engine according to the FUEL switch position. There is one FUEL switch for each engine, located beneath the engine throttle on the ENG START panel. Each engine FUEL switch is identical in operation. The Engine 2 FUEL switch is described below.

Engine 2 FUEL Switch

When the FUEL switch is selected to the ON position, 28 V DC battery bus power from CB B1-122, at position B-12 on the overhead panel, is supplied to the fuel open solenoid in the FMU through Pin A2 on the Engine 2 fuel valve open relay, R2-5087. With the activation of the fuel open solenoid, fuel from the engine-driven fuel pump is allowed to enter the FMU. The FMU is equipped with a pressure-sensitive, internal fuel shut-off valve. When the fuel shut-off valve senses a rise in fuel pressure, the valve is moved to the "fuel on" position and the ground to relay R2-5087 is removed. As the FMU shut-off valve is a hydraulically latched valve (which needs fuel pressure to move it), the valve remains in the "fuel on" position as long as fuel pressure to the FMU is present. With the loss of the ground circuit, relay R2-5087 returns to its normal, closed position, and power is removed from the FMU open solenoid valve. As no electrical power is required to hold the FMU fuel shut-off valve open or closed, the use of the relay and valve helps reduce the electrical load on the battery. A loss of electrical power to the FUEL switch with the engine running will have no effect on engine operation.

When the FUEL switch is selected to the OFF position, 28 V DC battery bus power from CB B1-122, at position B-12 on the overhead panel, is supplied to the FMU fuel close solenoid through Pin A3 on the Engine 2 fuel valve closed relay, R2-5088. Fuel is shut off to the FMU and, with a loss of fuel pressure, the internal FMU fuel shut-off valve moves to the "fuel off" position. To limit the current draw on the battery, relay R2-5088 is equipped with a five-second time delay. The current draw on the fuel valve closed relay is lower than the current draw on the FMU fuel close solenoid and, once five seconds have elapsed, the relay opens and power is removed from the fuel close solenoid. As the FMU fuel shut-off valve is a hydraulically latched valve, the valve remains in the fuel off position.

With the FUEL switch in the ON position, power from CB B1-122 is also routed to the X coil of the magnetically latching relay R2-5089, "Engine 2 FADEC Reset," located in the right overwing cabin equipment panel. This opens closed contacts C2-C3 and D2-D3 of R2-5089, removing the ground circuits to channels A and B of the FADEC EEC. When the FUEL switch is placed in the OFF position, the X coil of R2-5089 is de-energized and the Y coil of relay R5-5089 is energized, resulting in the contacts C2-C3 and D2-D3 closing, completing a circuit through the FADEC EEC to ground, resetting the FADEC.

For the FADEC to reset without moving the FUEL switch, two failures need to occur. Power has to be removed from the X coil of R2-5089 by opening the circuit and then power has to be applied to the Y coil to effect its movement to again change the contact positions. It is also possible to reset the FADEC EEC downstream of the R2-5089 relay by shorting the signal wires from R2-5089 to the FADEC EEC.

The only circuit that passed through an area of burn damage is the power wire from CB B1-122 on the overhead panel. This wire is routed out the left side of the overhead tub in wire run AML to the left overhead disconnect panel, and then down the left side into the avionics compartment in wire run AAG. The wiring for the FUEL switch is located in the thrust control module in the pedestal under the floor and is routed aft to station 1059, where it transitions above the floor to the mid overhead cabin. The opening of the power wire, or the tripping of CB B1-122, will prevent the shutdown of Engine 2 and the resetting of the FADEC EEC Channel B.

Emergency Engine Shutdown

The emergency shutdown of each of the three engines is accomplished through three independent ENG FIRE handles located on the flight compartment overhead centre panel. The initial movement of the handle shuts off its respective generator through a generator field disconnect switch. Further movement of the handle rotates a drum and cable assembly that mechanically shuts off the hydraulic system for the engine, by closing its respective hydraulic shut-off valve. The handle can be pulled and rotated in this position to discharge the engine fire bottles. Full movement of the Number 2 ENG FIRE handle also mechanically closes two fuel fire shut-off valves, through rotation of the drum and cable assembly. The forward fuel fire valve is located in the left wing and the aft fuel fire valve is located in the tail. Full movement of fire handle 1 or 3 shuts off the fuel to their respective engines by electrically closing the engine's fuel fire valve.

Engine Shutdown Systems Examination

Engines 1 and 3

The gate valve was identified through the MD-11 Engine Fuel Supply IPC illustration as coming from either the Engine 1 or the Engine 3 position (both valves have the same PN). The valve was recovered with the valve slide gate near the fully closed position. Fibrous material was noted under the edge of the slider, but was not trapped. The motor/actuator was broken off and the splined male and female drive were missing. There was a circumferential fracture at the bottom of the female spline. The fracture showed signs of shear failure at one side (around the outside surface of the remaining stub) and an impression of the male spline at the other end. The impression made by the male spline implied a bending failure, associated with a clockwise torsional rotation on the compression side. There was also some smearing and indentation of the casing alongside the shaft, 90 degrees to the bending direction of the shaft. The torsional nature of the shaft fracture and the smearing of the casing alongside the shaft indicates that the initial bending failure likely occurred when the shaft was oriented near the valve open position, and that the shaft was rotated toward the valve closed position as the shaft was broken off.

A second gate valve was recovered and identified through the MD-11 Engine Fuel Supply IPC illustration as coming from either the Engine 1 or the Engine 3 position. Only the upper portion of the valve slide gate body was recovered. The motor/actuator was broken off and the four motor/actuator attachment posts were bent over in a clockwise rotational pattern. The splined female drive and valve slide arm remained within the body, with the slide arm captured in the valve slide closed position. The clockwise rotational bending pattern on the motor/actuator attachment posts is consistent with failure of the motor/actuator in a direction that would bias the valve slide arm toward the closed position during impact. Based on the knowledge that engines 1 and 3 were operational at the time of impact (STI) and the failure mode of the valve, it is believed that the valve was in the open position at the time of impact.

The hydraulic shut-off ball valve was identified by tag as Whittaker Controls, Inc. PN 148885-1, SN 2332. The valve lever arm assembly was identified by design through the MD-11 IPC as coming from either the Engine 1 or the Engine 3 position. A section of push rod was still attached to the valve lever arm. As recovered, the ball was aligned in the valve open position, but was free to rotate. The valve position-indicator pointer attachment pin was sheared and it appears to have been forced against the open position stop. It could not be established whether the valve had moved during the impact sequence.

Engine 2

The forward fuel fire shut-off valve (located in the trailing edge of the left wing) was identified through the MD-11 IPC by a section of attached pipe, PN AAL7000-501. The mechanically operated gate-type valve was identified by tag as PN AV16A1348B, SN N60100. The valve gate was recovered in the closed position. The actuating handle, which is connected to the cable assembly through a link rod and cable drum, was broken off. The closed position stop was "overridden" by a smear that progressed past the stop by approximately 3/8 inch. The internal boss, housing the actuator lever, exhibited a heavy gouge that started midway between the open and closed stop positions, and progressed past the closed stop to the "overridden" position. This gouge indicates that the valve was most likely open at the time of impact and driven closed by impact forces.

The Engine 2 aft fuel fire shut-off valve was still attached to a piece of the tail structure. The valve was identified by tag as PN 233865-1, SN 035. The valve was removed from the structure and the valve slide gate was found in the open position. The valve body actuating arm was at the open stop position, and there was no damage to the stop plate. The end of the valve body actuating arm had broken off at the rig pin hole, from an impact that imparted a side bending load on the arm and captured the actuating arm in place. The valve slide end plate had received an impact that sheared three of its four mounting screws and twisted the plate to the side. The internal bore of the plate had a gouge from contact with the end of the valve slide, with the slide in the open position. The recovered position of the gate valve and the associated damage to the actuating arm and the valve end plate indicates that the valve was most likely in the open position at the time of impact.

The hydraulic shut-off ball valve was identified by tag as Whittaker Controls, Inc. PN 148885-1, SN 2279. The valve lever arm assembly was identified by design through the MD-11 IPC as coming from the Engine 2 position. A section of push rod was still attached to the valve lever arm. As recovered, the ball was aligned in the valve open position, but was free to rotate. The valve position-indicator pointer attachment pin was sheared, and it appears to have been forced against the open position stop. It could not be established whether the valve had moved during the impact sequence.

Engine Shutdown Systems Determination

Engines 1 and 3

The recovered open position of the Engine 1 or Engine 3 hydraulic shut-off valve was consistent with the open positions of the two engine fuel fire shut-off valves and the results of the engine examinations, which indicated that engines 1 and 3 were operating at the time of impact.

Engine 2

The recovered open position of the Engine 2 hydraulic shut-off valve was consistent with the open positions of the Engine 2 forward and aft fuel fire shut-off valves, in that all three valves are operated together by the engine fire handle. Pulling the engine fire handle would have closed all three valves.

Fire in the cockpit ceiling area could have resulted in damage to the engine fire cabling pulley cluster, creating enough slack in the cabling that pulling the Engine 2 fire handle would have no effect on closing the engine fuel fire and hydraulic valves. Since the valves were open, it follows that the Engine 2 shutdown could not have occurred as a result of pulling the engine fire handle.

Engine 2 was determined to have been shut down by crew activation of the Engine 2 FUEL switch, for the following reasons:

  1. The engine examination and FADEC information supports the shutdown of Engine 2 before the time of impact.
  2. Examination of the Engine 2 emergency shutdown system (forward fuel shut-off valve, aft fuel shut-off valve, and hydraulic shut-off valve) indicates that the cable-operated system could not have shut down the engine.
  3. The Engine 2 FADEC NVM data indicates that a re-initialization of the EEC occurred. This can only be accomplished through the FADEC reset relay, which is controlled by the selection of the engine FUEL switch (to OFF), with electrical power available from the 28 V DC battery bus.
  4. The engine FMU is equipped with a hydraulically latched fuel shut-off valve. No electrical power is needed to keep the FMU fuel shut-off valve open; therefore, a loss of electrical power to the engine FUEL switch would not have resulted in the shutdown of the engine.
  5. The assessment that the Tank 2 right aft boost pump was not running (the operation of remaining Tank 2 pumps was uncertain) is consistent with the fuel system controller in the auto mode, responding to a shutdown of Engine 2 with the Engine 2 FUEL switch. The FUEL switch is equipped with a separate set of switch contacts to signal the fuel system controller to shut down the fuel pumps in the corresponding tank.

Engine False Fire Warning

The ground wire for the Engine 2 fire handle lights is co-located in wire bundle AMK, which had known arcing events (Engine 2 fire detection loop "A" and high-intensity light wires). If this ground wire were to short to ground at some point along its run, then both the Engine 2 fire handle light and the Engine 2 FUEL switch light would have illuminated.

One of the two cockpit crew emergency checklists was found with fire damage to the front of Page 3 and the back of Page 2 (the checklist was recovered in the closed position). Page 3 of the checklist is the Engine Fire page. The first checklist item on the Engine Fire page is to move the throttle to idle, followed next by the movement of the engine FUEL switch to OFF. The Engine 2 FUEL switch was moved to the OFF position. The fire damage to the checklist could imply that the checklist had been opened to Page 3, and the fact that one of the first checklist action items (when dealing with an engine fire) is to move the FUEL switch to OFF, brings some credit to the theory that the crew could have been responding to an engine fire warning alert.

If the crew had shut down Engine 2 because of a fire warning indication, and had been following the checklist, then the Engine 2 fire handle should also have been pulled and at least one of two Engine 2 fire bottles discharged. Examination of the Engine 2 cable-driven fuel fire shut-off valves and the Engine 2 fire bottles revealed that the valves had not been moved nor had the fire bottles been discharged. It is not known to what extent the engine fire cable pulley cluster, in the cockpit ceiling area, was damaged by the on-board fire. If the phenolic pulleys were damaged by the fire such that the cables became slack, then it is possible that pulling the Engine 2 fire handle would have had little or no effect in closing the engine fuel fire shut-off valves (as moving the handles would only remove the slack in the cabling). However, slack in the cabling (if present), would not have prevented the crew from discharging the fire bottles. The fact that the shutdown of the engine occurred in the latter stages of the flight, just prior to impact, is consistent with the crew members having little time, in a hostile environment, to complete the engine shutdown, even if they had started that procedure.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs

  1. Description des systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs
    1. Arrêt moteur normal
    2. Arrêt moteur d'urgence
  2. Examen des systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs
    1. Moteurs 1 et 3
    2. Moteur 2
  3. Conclusions relatives aux systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs
    1. Moteurs 1 et 3
    2. Moteur 2
  4. Fausse alarme incendie de moteur

Description des systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs

Arrêt moteur normal

Un commutateur de carburant libellé FUEL permet au dispositif de dosage de carburant (FMU) d'autoriser le démarrage ou de commander l'arrêt des moteurs. Il y a un commutateur de carburant libellé FUEL pour chaque moteur, qui est situé sous les manettes des gaz sur le tableau ENG START. Chaque commutateur FUEL de moteur fonctionne de la même façon. Le commutateur FUEL du moteur 2 est décrit ci-dessous.

Commutateur FUEL du moteur 2

Lorsque le commutateur FUEL d'un moteur est réglé sur ON, une tension de 28 V c.c. provenant du bus batterie par l'intermédiaire du disjoncteur B1-122 (en position B-12 sur le panneau supérieur) alimente le solénoïde d'ouverture du carburant du FMU en passant par la broche A2 du relais d'ouverture R2-5087 du robinet de carburant du moteur 2. Lorsque le solénoïde d'ouverture du carburant est mis sous tension, le carburant provenant de la pompe de carburant entraînée par le moteur peut pénétrer dans le FMU. Ce dernier est muni d'un robinet d'arrêt carburant interne sensible à la pression. Quand ce robinet d'arrêt détecte une augmentation de pression, il se met en position « carburant ouvert » et la mise à la masse au relais R2-5087 est interrompue. Comme le robinet d'arrêt du FMU est verrouillé hydrauliquement (la pression du carburant étant nécessaire à son déplacement), il reste en position « carburant ouvert » tant que la pression de carburant pénétrant dans le FMU se maintient. En perdant sa mise à la masse, le relais R2-5087 revient en position normale (fermée), et l'alimentation électrique de l'électrorobinet d'ouverture est interrompue. Comme il n'est pas nécessaire que le robinet d'arrêt carburant du FMU soit sous tension pour demeurer ouvert ou fermé, l'utilisation d'un relais et d'un robinet permet de réduire la charge sur la batterie. Une interruption de l'alimentation électrique au commutateur FUEL quand le moteur tourne n'a aucun effet sur le fonctionnement du moteur.

Lorsque le commutateur FUEL d'un moteur est réglé sur OFF, une tension de 28 V c.c. provenant du bus batterie par l'intermédiaire du disjoncteur B1-122 (en position B-12 du panneau supérieur) alimente le solénoïde de fermeture du carburant du FMU en passant par la broche A3 du relais de fermeture R2-5088 du robinet de carburant du moteur 2. Le carburant ne parvient alors plus au FMU et, en raison de la chute de pression de carburant, le robinet interne d'arrêt carburant se met en position « carburant coupé ». Pour limiter l'appel de courant sur la batterie, le relais R2-5088 est équipé d'un temporisateur réglé à cinq secondes. L'appel de courant sur le relais de fermeture du robinet de carburant est inférieur à celui sollicité par le solénoïde de fermeture du carburant du FMU, de sorte qu'au bout de cinq secondes, le relais s'ouvre et le solénoïde de fermeture perd son alimentation électrique. Comme le robinet d'arrêt carburant du FMU est verrouillé hydrauliquement, il reste en position « carburant coupé ».

Lorsque le commutateur FUEL est en position ON, le courant provenant du disjoncteur B1-122 passe aussi dans la bobine X du relais R2-5089 de verrouillage magnétique, « Engine 2 FADEC Reset » (réenclenchement FADEC moteur 2) situé sur le tableau d'équipement à droite de la partie de la cabine à l'aplomb de l'aile. Il s'ensuit l'ouverture des contacts fermés C2-C3 et D2-D3 du relais R2-5089, supprimant ainsi la mise à la masse des canaux A et B de la commande moteur électronique (EEC) du régulateur automatique à pleine autorité redondante (FADEC). Quand le commutateur FUEL est réglé sur OFF, la bobine X du relais R2-5089 est mise hors tension, et la bobine Y du relais R5-5089 est mise sous tension pour que les contacts C2-C3 et D2-D3 se ferment; le circuit de l'EEC du FADEC à la masse est alors rétabli et le FADEC est réenclenché.

Un réenclenchement du FADEC sans déplacement du commutateur FUEL est possible si deux pannes se produisent de la façon suivante : l'alimentation de la bobine X du relais R2-5089 est coupée par l'ouverture de son circuit; la bobine Y est mise sous tension de façon que le plongeur se déplace afin de modifier la position des contacts. Il est également possible de réenclencher l'EEC du FADEC en aval du relais R2-5089 en court-circuitant le circuit de signal entre le relais R2-5089 et l'EEC du FADEC.

Le seul circuit qui passait dans une zone incendiée est le fil d'alimentation provenant du disjoncteur B1-122, sur le panneau supérieur. Ce fil sort du côté gauche de la console supérieure dans le chemin de câbles AML, passe à gauche du tableau de distribution supérieur, puis descend du côté gauche jusqu'au compartiment avionique dans le chemin de câbles AAG. Le câblage du commutateur FUEL commence dans le module de commande de poussée du pylône, sous le plancher, puis chemine vers l'arrière jusqu'à la référence 1059, d'où il sort du plancher pour se diriger au milieu de la cabine, à la hauteur des porte-bagages. L'ouverture du circuit d'alimentation ou le déclenchement du disjoncteur B1-122 empêcheront l'arrêt du moteur 2 et le réenclenchement du canal B de l'EEC du FADEC.

Arrêt moteur d'urgence

L'arrêt d'urgence de chacun des trois moteurs s'effectue à l'aide de trois poignées coupe-feu « ENG FIRE » indépendantes situées sur le panneau supérieur central du poste de pilotage. Au début de son déplacement, la poignée coupe l'alternateur correspondant au moyen d'un coupe-circuit d'excitation d'alternateur. En poursuivant sa course, la poignée fait tourner un tambour sur lequel s'enroule un câble qui commande la fermeture du robinet d'arrêt du circuit hydraulique du moteur concerné. La poignée peut être tirée et tournée pour provoquer la décharge des bouteilles extincteurs du moteur. Le déplacement complet de la poignée ENG FIRE numéro deux ferme aussi mécaniquement deux robinets coupe-feu, commandés également par l'ensemble tambour-câble. Le robinet coupe-feu avant est situé dans l'aile gauche, et le robinet coupe-feu arrière est situé dans la queue. Le déplacement complet des poignées coupe-feu des moteurs 1 et 3 coupe l'arrivée du carburant aux moteurs en coupant électriquement les robinets coupe-feu des moteurs respectifs.

Examen des systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs

Moteurs 1 et 3

À l'aide de l'illustration de l'alimentation carburant du moteur (Engine Fuel Supply) figurant dans le catalogue illustré des pièces du MD-11, il a été possible d'établir qu'un robinet à guillotine repêché provenait du circuit de carburant du moteur 1 ou de celui du moteur 3, les deux robinets dans ces circuits ayant le même numéro de pièce. Quand le robinet a été découvert, la guillotine était proche de la position complètement fermée. Une matière fibreuse a été observée près du bord de la glissière, mais elle n'était pas coincée dans le robinet. Une fracture avait causée la séparation du moteur d'entraînement, et les arbres cannelés mâle et femelle étaient absents. On pouvait observer une fracture circulaire au bas de la cannelure femelle. La fracture montrait d'un côté des signes de rupture par cisaillement (autour de la surface externe de l'embout restant) et, de l'autre côté, une empreinte provenant de la cannelure mâle. L'empreinte laissée par la cannelure mâle indiquait une rupture en flexion associée à la rotation et la torsion dans le sens horaire du côté de la compression. Il y avait également des traces de frottement et des marques sur le boîtier le long de l'arbre, à 90 degrés du sens de flexion de l'arbre. La fracture en torsion de l'arbre et les traces de frottement sur le boîtier le long de l'arbre indiquaient que la première rupture en flexion avait probablement eu lieu quand la position de l'arbre correspondait à l'ouverture du robinet et que l'arbre avait tourné en position fermée au moment de sa rupture.

À l'aide de l'illustration de l'alimentation carburant du moteur (Engine Fuel Supply) figurant dans le catalogue illustré des pièces du MD-11, il a été possible d'établir qu'un deuxième robinet à guillotine repêché provenait du circuit du moteur 1 ou de celui du moteur 3. Seule la partie supérieure de la guillotine du robinet a été récupérée. Une fracture avait causé la séparation du moteur d'entraînement de la guillotine, et les quatre goujons de fixation étaient pliés comme s'ils avaient été soumis à un mouvement de rotation dans le sens horaire. L'arbre cannelé femelle et le levier de la guillotine étaient encore fixés au corps de la pièce, le levier coincé en position fermée. La disposition des torsions subies par les goujons de fixation du moteur d'entraînement du robinet à guillotine, qui indique une rotation dans le sens horaire, correspond à une défaillance du moteur qui aurait déplacé le levier de la guillotine vers la position fermée au moment de l'impact. Compte tenu du fait que les moteurs 1 et 3 fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact (DIT) et compte tenu du mode de défaillance du robinet, on croit que le robinet était ouvert au moment de l'impact.

Un robinet d'arrêt hydraulique à tournant sphérique a été identifié à l'aide d'une étiquette comme étant la pièce portant le numéro 148885-1 de Whittaker Controls, Inc., SN 2332. L'ensemble levier du robinet a été identifié par la comparaison de ses particularités aux données du catalogue illustré des pièces du MD-11; il provenait du circuit hydraulique du moteur 1 ou de celui du moteur 3. Un morceau de tige-poussoir était encore fixé au levier du robinet. Tel qu'il a été retrouvé, le tournant sphérique était en position d'ouverture, mais il pouvait pivoter librement. La tige de fixation du repère d'indication de position s'était rompue et elle semblait avoir été forcée au-delà de la butée de position ouverte. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir si ce robinet d'arrêt s'était déplacé au cours de l'impact.

Moteur 2

Le robinet coupe-feu avant (situé dans le bord de fuite de l'aile gauche) a été identifié dans le catalogue illustré des pièces du MD-11 grâce à un morceau de tuyau, numéro de pièce AAL7000-501, qui lui était fixé. Le robinet à guillotine actionné mécaniquement a été identifié par une étiquette comme étant la pièce numéro AV16A1348B, portant le numéro de série N60100. Le robinet a été trouvé en position fermée. La poignée de commande, qui est normalement reliée à l'ensemble câble par l'intermédiaire d'une biellette et d'un tambour, s'était rompue. La position fermée avait été « dépassée » par des marques de frottement qui s'étendaient au-delà de la butée d'arrêt sur une distance d'environ 3/8 de pouce. Le bossage interne, qui sert de logement au levier de commande, présentait une rainure profonde qui commençait à mi-chemin entre les butées d'arrêt des positions ouverte et fermée et qui s'étendait au-delà de la butée d'arrêt de la position fermée, jusqu'aux marques de « dépassement ». Cette rainure indique que le robinet coupe-feu était probablement ouvert au moment de l'impact et qu'il avait été entraîné en position fermée par les forces d'impact.

Le robinet coupe-feu arrière du moteur 2 était encore fixé à une partie de la structure de l'empennage. Ce robinet a été identifié grâce à une étiquette comme étant la pièce numéro 233865-1, portant le numéro de série 035. On a démonté ce robinet de la structure environnante et on a découvert qu'il était en position ouverte. Le levier de commande du corps du robinet était en butée sur la position ouverte, et la butée n'était pas endommagée. L'extrémité du bras de commande du corps du robinet s'était rompue au niveau du trou de la broche de réglage en raison d'un impact qui avait imposé une charge latérale de flexion sur le levier et qui avait bloqué le levier de commande dans sa position. La plaque d'extrémité de la guillotine avait subi un impact qui avait arraché trois de ses quatre vis de fixation et l'avait tordue sur le côté. La paroi interne de la plaque présentait une rainure due au contact avec l'extrémité de la guillotine quand celle-ci était en position ouverte. La position du robinet à guillotine lorsqu'il a été repêché ainsi que les dommages subis par le levier de commande et la plaque d'extrémité de la guillotine indiquent que le robinet coupe-feu était probablement ouvert au moment de l'impact.

Le robinet d'arrêt hydraulique à tournant sphérique a été identifié à l'aide d'une étiquette comme étant une pièce portant le numéro 148885-1 de Whittaker Controls, Inc., SN 2279. L'ensemble levier du robinet a été identifié par la comparaison de ses particularités aux données du catalogue illustré des pièces du MD-11; il provenait du moteur 2. Un morceau de tige-poussoir était encore fixé au levier du robinet. Tel qu'il a été retrouvé, le tournant sphérique était en position d'ouverture, mais il pouvait pivoter librement. La tige de fixation du repère d'indication de position s'était rompue et elle semblait avoir été forcée au-delà de la butée de position ouverte. Il n'a pas été possible d'établir si ce robinet d'arrêt s'était déplacé au cours de l'impact.

Conclusions relatives aux systèmes d'arrêt des moteurs

Moteurs 1 et 3

La position ouverte des robinets d'arrêt hydrauliques des moteurs 1 et 3 était compatible avec la position ouverte des deux robinets coupe-feu des moteurs et les résultats des examens des moteurs. Ces observations indiquent que les moteurs 1 et 3 fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact.

Moteur 2

La position ouverte du robinet d'arrêt hydraulique du moteur 2, telle qu'il a été récupéré, était compatible avec les positions ouvertes des robinets coupe-feu avant et arrière du moteur 2 en raison du fait que les trois robinets sont commandés par la même poignée coupe-feu. Tirer la poignée coupe-feu aurait provoqué la fermeture des trois robinets.

L'incendie dans la zone du plafond du poste de pilotage aurait pu endommager l'ensemble câbles et poulies du système coupe-feu, créant suffisamment de mou dans les câbles pour que le fait de tirer sur la poignée coupe-feu du moteur numéro deux n'ait aucun effet sur les robinets coupe-feu et le robinet d'arrêt hydraulique. Comme les robinets étaient ouverts, il s'ensuit que le moteur 2 ne pouvait s'être arrêté parce que quelqu'un aurait tiré la poignée coupe-feu.

On a déterminé que le moteur 2 avait été coupé par l'équipage à l'aide du commutateur FUEL pour les raisons suivantes :

  1. L'examen du moteur et des données du FADEC indiquent que le moteur 2 était arrêté avant l'impact.
  2. L'examen du système d'arrêt moteur d'urgence (robinet coupe-feu avant, robinet coupe-feu arrière et robinet d'arrêt hydraulique) indique que le système actionné par câbles ne pouvait avoir arrêté le moteur.
  3. Les données de la mémoire permanente du FADEC du moteur 2 indiquent qu'il y avait eu une réinitialisation de l'EEC. Elle ne pouvait se faire qu'au moyen du relais de réenclenchement du FADEC, lui-même commandé par le commutateur de carburant du moteur (FUEL) placé en position OFF, à condition que le bus batterie fournisse du courant 28 V c.c.
  4. Le FMU du moteur est équipé d'un robinet d'arrêt à verrouillage hydraulique. Aucune alimentation électrique n'est nécessaire pour maintenir ce robinet d'arrêt en position ouverte. Par conséquent, une perte d'alimentation électrique au commutateur FUEL n'aurait pas provoqué l'arrêt du moteur.
  5. Le fait que la pompe d'appoint arrière droite du réservoir 2 ne fonctionnait pas (la situation concernant le fonctionnement des autres pompes du réservoir 2 n'est pas connue avec certitude) est en accord avec la réaction du contrôleur de circuit carburant en mode automatique qui répond à un arrêt du moteur 2 commandé par le commutateur FUEL. Ce commutateur est muni d'un ensemble distinct de contacts servant à signaler au contrôleur du circuit carburant qu'il doit fermer les pompes de carburant dans le réservoir correspondant.

Fausse alarme incendie de moteur

Le fil de mise à la masse des voyants de la poignée coupe-feu du moteur 2 passe par le même endroit que le chemin de câbles AMK dans lequel on sait qu'il s'était produit des arcs électriques (détection incendie boucle « A » du moteur 2 et fils des phares à haute intensité). Si ce fil de masse avait été court-circuité en un point donné de son parcours, le voyant de la poignée coupe-feu du moteur 2 et le voyant du commutateur FUEL du moteur se seraient allumés.

L'une des deux listes de vérifications en cas d'urgence de l'équipage de conduite a été retrouvée en position fermée, le recto de la page 3 et le verso de la page 2 ayant été endommagés par l'incendie. La page 3 de cette liste est la page d'incendie moteur. La première mesure à prendre en cas d'incendie moteur, selon la liste de vérifications, est de ramener la manette des gaz en position de ralenti, puis de régler le commutateur FUEL pour le moteur 2 sur OFF. Ce commutateur avait été réglé sur OFF. Les dommages subis par la liste de vérifications pourraient être une indication que celle-ci était ouverte à la page 3, et le fait que l'une des premières mesures à prendre en cas d'incendie de moteur, d'après cette liste, est de régler le commutateur FUEL sur OFF tend à valider la théorie selon laquelle l'équipage aurait réagi à une alarme incendie de moteur.

Si l'équipage avait arrêté le moteur 2 en raison d'une alarme incendie de moteur et avait suivi la liste de vérifications, alors la poignée coupe-feu du moteur 2 aurait aussi dû être tirée et au moins une des deux bouteilles extincteurs du moteur 2 aurait dû être déchargée. L'examen des robinets coupe-feu du moteur 2 commandés par câbles et l'examen des bouteilles extincteurs du moteur 2 ont révélé que les robinets n'avaient pas été déplacés et que les bouteilles n'avaient pas été déchargées. On ne connaît pas l'étendue des dommages causés par l'incendie à l'ensemble câbles et poulies du système coupe-feu dans le plafond du poste de pilotage. Si les poulies en matière phénolique avaient été endommagées par le feu au point que les câbles aient pris du mou, il est possible que le fait de tirer la poignée coupe-feu du moteur 2 ait eu peu d'effet, ou aucun effet du tout, sur la fermeture des robinets coupe-feu du moteur (déplacer la poignée n'aurait eu pour effet que de rattraper le mou dans les câbles). Toutefois, le mou dans les câbles, s'il y en avait, n'aurait pas empêché l'équipage de décharger les bouteilles extincteurs. Le fait que l'arrêt du moteur se soit produit vers la fin du vol, quelques instants avant l'impact, est compatible avec le fait que les membres d'équipage avaient peu de temps, dans un environnement hostile, pour compléter la procédure d'arrêt du moteur, même s'ils l'avaient déjà commencée.