Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

Flight Management System

  1. Flight Management System Description
  2. Situational Awareness of Airports
    1. Closest Airports
    2. Navigation Display
  3. Diverting from the Flight Plan
    1. FMS NAV Mode
    2. Heading/Track Mode
    3. Inserting a New Destination
  4. Obtaining Information for the Halifax International Airport
    1. Reference Page
    2. TAKE-OFF/APPROACH Page
  5. Back-Course Approach
  6. Programming the FMS for an Approach into Halifax Airport

Flight Management System Description

The FMS is used by pilots for flight planning, navigation, performance management, aircraft guidance, and flight progress monitoring. Pilots use the FCP to select flight modes and the MCDU to enter flight plans and other flight data. The FMCs use the flight data to generate a flight profile from the origin to the destination airport. The FMCs then guide the aircraft along that profile by providing moding requests, speed targets, and altitude targets to the FCCs. Roll commands provide lateral control. Pitch commands are only provided during descent when the aircraft is on path. The FMC navigation database includes most of the information the pilot would normally obtain by referring to navigation charts. This information can be displayed on the MCDU or the EIS map.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - active flight plan.")

Situational Awareness of Airports

The SR 111 flight crew had several options available to help them determine their position relative to a diversion airport.

Closest Airports

Pushing the REF mode key on the MCDU selects the REF INDEX page from which several reference pages can be accessed.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - reference index.")

Upon selection of the left line select key adjacent to the CLOSEST AIRPORTS option, the closest airports in order of distance from the aircraft are displayed on the MCDU. The flight crew may enter airport identifiers in the fifth line position to display the bearing and distance to that airport.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - closest airports.")

Navigation Display

The NDs are located on the captain's and first officer's instrument panel. The ND displays aircraft position, way points, navigational aids, airports, weather, ground speed, true airspeed, wind speed and direction, time, and flight plan. The EIS control panel operates the captain's and first officer's ND. It is located on both outboard ends of the glare shield. When the ARPT button is pushed, all airports stored in the FMS database appear on the ND within displayable ranges. Likewise, when the VORNDB button is pushed, all VORs or NDBs are displayed; the bearing pointers (and DME distances) are also displayed depending on the selection of the VOR and ADF switches.

(See illustrations of "EIS control panel" and "Navigation display.")

Diverting from the Flight Plan

In order to divert from their present position directly to another position (i.e., to either the FMS stored flight plan or to a new waypoint or airport), the flight crew could use one of the following methods:

  1. Use the FMS NAV mode; or
  2. Use the HDG or TRK mode.

FMS NAV Mode

When the DIR/INTC key on the MCDU is pushed, a page similar to the active flight plan is displayed.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - divert flight plan.")

The flight crew manually enters the new waypoint or airport (e.g., KBOS, CYHZ) beside the left line select key. The flight crew may also enter a course of intercept beside the first right line select key. Subsequent selection of either the waypoint or intercept will cause the aircraft to fly directly to that point.

If the new point is not in the original flight plan, the MCDU displays the message "F-PLAN DISCONTINUITY."

(See illustration of "MCDU display - flight plan discontinuity.")

To clear the discontinuity, the flight crew selects the CLR key on the MCDU scratchpad and presses the line select key beside the F-PLAN DISCONTINUITY message on the MCDU. After reaching the new waypoint, the aircraft flies to the next point on the original flight plan. The DIR TO option, therefore, is only used to fly to any desired point.

Heading/Track Mode

The HDG or TRK mode is selected by pushing the HDG/TRK button on the FCP. To engage the mode, the flight crew either pushes or pulls the heading knob. The flight crew can have the autopilot fly a selected heading or track to the waypoint or airport.

(See illustration of "Flight control panel.")

In the TRK or HDG mode, a dashed line appears on the ND from the aircraft's position to the edge of the ND range. This line indicates that the flight crew may select a direct track on which the aircraft can fly to an airport or NAVAID as displayed on the ND.

Inserting a New Destination

To insert a new destination into the flight plan, the flight crew selects the left line select key beside the last waypoint overflown (BRADD) on the MCDU. The LAT REV page appears.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - LAT REV page.")

The flight crew enters the airport identifier for the Halifax International Airport, CYHZ, and then selects the right line select key beside the NEW DEST prompt; this returns the MCDU to the original F-PLN page, which displays a discontinuity after the lateral revise point, followed by the new destination, CYHZ.

Obtaining Information for the Halifax International Airport

There are two methods of obtaining runway information on the Halifax International Airport from the MCDU:

  1. Select the reference page; or
  2. Select the TAKE-OFF/APPROACH page.

Reference Page

To display the reference page, the flight crew selects the REF mode key and then selects the WAYPOINT option.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - reference index.")

The waypoint reference page appears blank, except for the title. The flight crew enters CYHZ06 beside the first left line select key. The information for Runway 06 appears.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - WAYPOINT page.")

TAKE-OFF/APPROACH Page

The flight crew selects the TO/APPR mode key once the new destination is inserted into the flight plan.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - TAKE-OFF/APPROACH page.")

Back-Course Approach

Although the FMS equipment on Swissair's MD-11 does not display nor allow selection of back-course information, Swissair uses a standard operating procedure to conduct non-FMS back-course approaches. The flight crew enters the information into the MCDU by selecting the NAV/RAD mode key. The flight crew manually enters the approach frequency and the appropriate front beam inbound course beside the fourth left line select key (the ILS.CRS field). The aircraft then flies on ATC vectors for the final approach using the HDG mode. When established on the inbound course, the flight crew switches to the TRK mode.

(See illustrations of "Flight control panel" and "MCDU display - NAV RAD mode.")

Programming the FMS for an Approach into Halifax Airport

When the flight crew selects the F-PLN mode key, the active flight plan appears. When the left line select key beside CYHZ is selected, the LATERAL REVISION page appears.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - LAT REV page.")

The flight crew then selects the right line select key beside STAR. A list of FMS-stored instrument approaches to the Halifax International Airport appears on the right side of the page and available STARs appear on the left side of the page.

(See illustration of "MCDU display - STAR to CYHZ page.")

The flight crew then selects the desired approach. Since there is no back-course approach in the FMS database, the NDB for Runway 06 can be selected.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Système de gestion de vol

  1. Description du système de gestion de vol
  2. Vue d'ensemble des aéroports
    1. Aéroports les plus proches
    2. Écran d'affichage de navigation
  3. Déroutement par rapport au plan de vol
    1. Mode FMS NAV
    2. Mode cap/route
    3. Insertion d'une nouvelle destination
  4. Obtention de renseignements pour l'aéroport international de Halifax
    1. Page de référence
    2. Page TAKE-OFF/APPROACH
  5. Approche sur faisceau arrière
  6. Programmation du FMS pour une approche à l'aéroport de Halifax

Description du système de gestion de vol

Le FMS est utilisé par les pilotes pour la planification des vols, la navigation, la gestion des performances, le guidage de l'avion et le contrôle de la progression du vol. Les pilotes se servent du tableau des commandes de vol (FCP) pour sélectionner les modes de vol et du bloc de commande et d'affichage multifonctions (MCDU) pour entrer les plans de vol et d'autres données de vol. Les calculateurs de gestion de vol (FMC) se servent des données de vol pour générer un profil de vol, du point de départ jusqu'à l'aéroport de destination. Ces calculateurs guident alors l'avion le long de ce profil en fournissant des demandes de mode, des vitesses cibles et des altitudes cibles aux calculateurs de commande de vol (FCC). Les commandes de roulis assurent la stabilité transversale. Les commandes en tangage ne sont fournis que pendant la descente lorsque l'avion est sur la trajectoire. La base de données de navigation des FMC comprend la plupart des renseignements que le pilote obtiendrait normalement en consultant les cartes de navigation. Ces renseignements peuvent être affichés sur le MCDU ou la carte de visualisation électronique (EIS).

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - plan de vol actif ».)

Vue d'ensemble des aéroports

L'équipage de conduite du vol SR 111 avait plusieurs options à sa disposition pouvant l'aider à déterminer sa position par rapport à un aéroport de déroutement.

Aéroports les plus proches

Le fait d'appuyer sur la touche de mode REF sur le MCDU sélectionne la page REF INDEX à partir de laquelle on peut accéder à plusieurs pages de référence.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - index de référence ».)

À la sélection de la touche de sélection de ligne gauche, près de l'option CLOSEST AIRPORTS, les aéroports les plus proches de l'avion par ordre de distance sont affichés sur le MCDU. L'équipage de conduite peut entrer les indicatifs d'aéroport à la cinquième ligne pour afficher le relèvement et la distance par rapport à cet aéroport.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - aéroports les plus proches ».)

Écran d'affichage de navigation

Les écrans d'affichage de navigation (ND) se trouvent sur le tableau de bord du commandant de bord et du copilote. Ces écrans présentent la position de l'avion, les points de cheminement, les aides à la navigation, les aéroports, les conditions météo, la vitesse-sol, la vitesse vraie, la vitesse et la direction du vent, l'heure et le plan de vol. Le tableau de commande de visualisation électronique (EIS) fait fonctionner les écrans d'affichage de navigation du commandant de bord et du copilote. Le tableau se trouve aux extrémités extérieures de l'auvent. Lorsque le bouton ARPT est enfoncé, tous les aéroports stockés dans la base de données du FMS sont présentés sur l'écran d'affichage de navigation selon les distances affichables. De même, lorsque le bouton VORNDB est enfoncé, tous les VOR ou les NDB sont affichés; les aiguilles de relèvement (et les distances DME) sont aussi affichées selon la position des sélecteurs VOR et ADF.

(Voir les illustrations « Tableau de commande EIS » et
« Écran d'affichage de navigation ».)

Déroutement par rapport au plan de vol

Pour pouvoir se dérouter de sa position actuelle directement vers une autre position (c.-à-d. à un plan de vol en mémoire dans le FMS ou vers un nouveau point de cheminement ou un nouvel aéroport), l'équipage de conduite pourrait utiliser un des moyens suivants :

  1. utiliser le mode FMS NAV; ou
  2. utiliser le mode HDG ou TRK.

Mode FMS NAV

Lorsque la touche DIR/INTC du MCDU est enfoncée, une page semblable au plan de vol actif est affichée.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - modifier le plan de vol ».)

L'équipage de conduite entre manuellement le nouveau point de cheminement ou le nouvel aéroport (p. ex. KBOS, CYHZ) à côté de la touche de sélection de ligne de gauche. L'équipage de conduite peut aussi entrer une route à intercepter à côté de la première touche de sélection de ligne à droite. Toute sélection subséquente du point de cheminement ou de la route à intercepter amènera l'avion à voler directement vers ce point.

Si le nouveau point ne figure pas dans le plan de vol d'origine, le MCDU affiche le message F-PLAN DISCONTINUITY.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - discontinuité du plan de vol ».)

Pour effacer cette indication, l'équipage de conduite sélectionne la touche CLR sur le bloc-notes du MCDU et appuie sur la touche de sélection de ligne située à côté du message F-PLAN DISCONTINUITY sur le MCDU. Après avoir atteint le nouveau point de cheminement, l'avion vole vers le prochain point figurant sur le plan de vol d'origine. L'option DIR TO, par conséquent, n'est utilisée que pour voler vers n'importe quel point désiré.

Mode cap/route

On sélectionne le mode HDG ou TRK en enfonçant le bouton HDG/TRK sur le panneau des commandes de vol (FCP). Pour engager un mode, l'équipage de conduite enfonce le bouton de cap ou tire sur ce dernier. L'équipage de conduite peut régler l'autopilote pour qu'il fasse voler l'avion sur un cap ou une trajectoire sélectionné vers le point de cheminement ou l'aéroport.

(Voir l'illustration « Panneau des commandes de vol ».)

En mode TRK ou HDG, une ligne tiretée apparaît sur l'écran d'affichage de navigation à partir de la position de l'avion jusqu'au bord de la plage d'affichage de navigation. Cette ligne indique que l'équipage de conduite peut sélectionner une trajectoire directe que l'avion peut suivre pour arriver à un aéroport ou à une aide à la navigation (NAVAID) comme l'indique l'écran d'affichage de navigation.

Insertion d'une nouvelle destination

Pour insérer une nouvelle destination dans le plan de vol, l'équipage de conduite sélectionne la touche de sélection de ligne à gauche, à côté du dernier point de cheminement survolé (BRADD) sur le MCDU. La page LAT REV s'affiche.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - page LAT REV ».)

L'équipage de conduite entre l'indicatif de l'aéroport international de Halifax, CYHZ, puis sélectionne la touche de sélection de ligne à droite située à côté de l'invite NEW DEST; il s'ensuit que le MCDU revient à la page F-PLAN d'origine, laquelle affiche une discontinuité après le point de révision latérale, suivie de la nouvelle destination, CYHZ.

Obtention de renseignements pour l'aéroport international de Halifax

Il y a deux façons d'obtenir des renseignements sur les pistes de l'aéroport international de Halifax au moyen du MCDU :

  1. sélectionner la page de référence; ou
  2. sélectionner la page TAKE-OFF/APPROACH.

Page de référence

Pour afficher la page de référence, l'équipage de conduite sélectionne la touche de mode REF, puis sélectionne l'option WAYPOINT.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - index de référence ».)

La page de référence des points de cheminement s'affiche vide, sauf pour le titre. L'équipage de conduite entre CYHZ06 à côté de la première touche de sélection de ligne à gauche. Les renseignements pour la piste 06 s'affichent.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - page WAYPOINT ».)

Page TAKE-OFF/APPROACH

L'équipage de conduite sélectionne la touche de mode TO/APPR une fois la nouvelle destination insérée dans le plan de vol.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - page TAKE-OFF/APPROACH ».)

Approche sur faisceau arrière

Bien que l'équipement FMS à bord des MD-11 de Swissair n'affiche ni ne permette de sélectionner les renseignements sur les approches sur faisceau arrière, Swissair se sert d'une procédure d'utilisation normalisée pour exécuter des approches non-FMS sur faisceau arrière. L'équipage de conduite entre les renseignements dans le MCDU en sélectionnant la touche de mode NAV/RAD. Puis, il entre manuellement la fréquence d'approche et la trajectoire en rapprochement sur faisceau avant appropriée à côté de la quatrième touche de sélection de ligne à gauche (le champ ILS.CRS). L'avion vole alors sur les vecteurs de l'ATC pour l'approche finale au moyen du mode HDG. Lorsqu'il est établi sur la trajectoire en rapprochement, l'équipage de conduite passe au mode TRK.

(Voir les illustrations « Panneau de commandes de vol » et
« Affichage du MCDU - mode NAV RAD ».)

Programmation du FMS pour une approche à l'aéroport international de Halifax

Lorsque l'équipage de conduite sélectionne la touche de mode F-PLN, le plan de vol actif s'affiche. Lorsque la touche de sélection de ligne à gauche à côté de CYHZ est sélectionnée, la page LATERAL REVISION s'affiche.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - page LAT REV ».)

L'équipage de conduite sélectionne alors la touche de sélection de ligne à droite à côté de STAR. Une liste des approches aux instruments en mémoire dans le FMS pour l'aéroport international de Halifax s'affiche sur le côté droit de la page, tandis que les arrivées normalisées en région terminale (STAR) disponibles apparaissent sur le côté gauche de la page.

(Voir l'illustration « Affichage du MCDU - page STAR vers CYHZ ».)

L'équipage de conduite sélectionne alors l'approche désirée. Comme il n'y a aucune approche sur faisceau arrière dans la base de données du FMS, le radiophare non directionnel pour la piste 06 peut être sélectionné.