Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

Hydraulic System

  1. Hydraulic System Description
  2. Hydraulic System Examination
    1. RMP Examination
    2. RMP Determination
  3. Hydraulic System Determination

Hydraulic System Description

The MD-11 hydraulic system consists of three parallel, continuously pressurized systems that operate between 2 800 and 3 200 psi. All three systems power each of the primary flight controls. Combinations of two of the three systems supply parallel power to the remaining flight controls, nosewheel steering, and wheel brakes.

(See illustration of "Simplified hydraulic system - schematic.")

Hydraulic System 2 shares control over the following hydraulic actuators: the left and right outboard elevator; the left inboard elevator, and the left and right outboard ailerons; the left inboard aileron; the left and right inboard and outboard flaps; and the spoiler drive actuator. Hydraulic System 2 has full control over the Engine 2 thrust reverser, the lower rudder actuator, and spoilers 1 and 5 on both the left and right wings.

Each system is powered by two EDPs. Two electrically driven auxiliary hydraulic pumps, 1 and 2, supply hydraulic pressure to Hydraulic System 3 on the ground or in flight. When electrically powered by the ADG, Auxiliary Pump 1 can provide emergency hydraulic power to Hydraulic System 3. Two RMPs, the 1-3 RMP and the 2-3 RMP, connect Hydraulic System 3 to hydraulic systems 1 and 2. In the event of a loss or shutdown of an engine or a decrease in engine speed, the RMPs can transfer power from an operating system to an inoperative system without transferring any fluid through the openings of their respective shut-off valves. Landing gear hydraulic power is supplied by Hydraulic System 3 or, if Hydraulic System 3 is unavailable, by either RMP.

When the RMP shut-off valves are in the closed position, the RMPs are non-operational. Power to open and close the RMP valves is supplied by the battery bus through CBs B1-599 and B1-598, located in the overhead CB panel at positions A-04 and A-05, respectively. Wires from both CBs are routed through connector P1/R5-394, located in the overhead disconnect panel, and then down the right side of the fuselage behind the right observer's station to the HSC in the avionics compartment.

Two NRMPs, namely the 2-1 NRMP and the 3-2 NRMP, automatically transfer hydraulic power to the rudders and to the stabilizer trim.

Under normal conditions, the HSC controls hydraulic power and operates in the auto mode. The HSC can be switched to manual mode through a push-button selection on the hydraulic system control panel. In the event of a loss of electrical input to the HSC's Channels A and B, the HSC will automatically revert to manual mode. In manual mode, the RMP valves are automatically opened and both RMPs are commanded ON.

The HSC Channel A is powered by the 28 V  DC Bus 3 through CB B1-373, located at position S-3 on the upper main CB panel. The HSC Channel B is powered by the 115 V AC Bus 2 through CB B1-372, located at position M-3 on the upper main CB panel. In auto mode, the HSC is designed to configure the hydraulic system based on the phase of flight.

In the landing configuration (i.e., the aircraft is in the air at a barometric-corrected altitude ≤ 17 750 ft., and either the slats or landing gear are extended or the flaps are extended greater than 0 degrees), both RMPs will be commanded ON when the HSC detects a drop in any of the engine speeds below 45% N2. Independent of the engine speed, if the HSC senses a drop in hydraulic pressure below 2 400 psi, it will automatically open the applicable RMP valve and the RMP will be commanded ON. In the event of multiple failures, the HSC is programmed to respond to a loss or shutdown of an engine, or a decrease in engine speed, before responding to a loss of system pressure.

In the cruise configuration, the HSC will not reconfigure the hydraulic system in the event of a loss or shutdown of an engine, or a decrease in engine speed. The RMP valves will remain closed. The HSC receives flap data from the DEUs; according to HSC logic, a loss of flap data will default the flap data to the retract configuration.

Hydraulic System Examination

The examination of the upper main CB panel determined that it had not been subjected to heat or fire damage. The wires from both CBs to the HSC were not routed through an area of fire damage. Based on the functioning of other mechanisms (e.g., fans, pumps) dependent on the same power supply, it was determined that the 115 V AC Bus 2 supply for the HSC Channel B was available at the time of impact. As it is likely that at least Channel B was powered at the time of impact, the HSC should have, other than by crew selection, remained in auto mode. As there was no indication of a failure associated with the hydraulic systems, the crew would not have had a need to select the manual mode. The wires from RMP shut-off valve CBs were routed through an area of fire and high heat behind the upper avionics CB panel.

RMP Examination

Both of the RMPs were recovered intact and were identified by tag or data plate as PN BYG7001-5511K. Only one RMP had retained a legible serial number: SN 138538A. Since the SNs of the two RMPs could not be found in the aircraft technical documents, the RMPs could not be linked to a specific location (i.e., the 1-3 or the 2-3 position).

On one RMP (SN 138538A), the two motor-operated shut-off valves were still attached to the pump and the valves were in the normal closed position. The two electric motors had broken off from the valves and were not recovered; the actuator base for one of the motors, however, was still attached to the valve. A portion of the handle cover plate was still in place and the red actuator handle was in the closed position. There was no damage to the handle to indicate that the handle was in other than the normal closed position at the time of impact.

(See photographs of "Reversible motor pump" and "Reversible motor pump - close-up.")

On the other RMP, one motor-operated shut-off valve was still attached to the pump and the other was recovered as a separate unit. Both valves were recovered in the normal closed position. The two electrical motors had broken off from the valves and were not recovered; the actuator base for one of the motors, however, was still attached to the valve. The red actuator handle was in the closed position and there was no damage to the handle to indicate that it was in other than the normal closed position at the time of impact.

(See photograph of "Second reversible motor pump.")

RMP Determination

As the aircraft was in the landing configuration phase of flight at the time of impact (the flaps were extended) (STI) and it had been determined that Engine 2 had shut down prior to impact, (STI) the HSC should have opened one or both of the RMP valves. The unexpected closed position of the 1-3 and 2-3 RMP valves may have been caused by one of several scenarios:

  • A loss of DEU data to the HSC. In the event of a total loss of DEU data, the HSC will revert to a cruise configuration. A partial loss of DEU data (flap input) will cause the HSC to switch to the flaps retract mode. With a loss of flap data and the slats and landing gear retracted, the HSC will also revert to, or stay in, a cruise configuration. In either case, when the HSC is in the cruise configuration, the RMPs will not be commanded ON with the shutdown of Engine 2, even with a drop in system pressure below 2 400 psi.
  • A loss or interruption of electrical power to the RMP valves. This would prevent the RMP valves from opening. The RMP valve's CBs are electrically powered by the battery bus. Since the Engine 2 FUEL switch is also electrically powered by the battery bus and was required for the shutdown of Engine 2, it is unlikely that a loss of battery bus power prevented the RMP valves from opening. A loss of electrical power could be caused by heat or fire, and could either trip the RMP valve CBs, or short or open the wiring from the CBs to the HSC.
  • A loss of N2 input to the HSC. With the loss of N2 input, the HSC would not receive data indicating an engine shutdown. In this case, and if the HSC reverts to the land configuration (with the extension of the flaps), the 2-3 RMP valve would only be opened in response to a System 2 pressure drop below 2 400 psi, and the 1-3 RMP would also remain closed. In this scenario, Hydraulic System 2 pressure would have to remain above 2 400 psi after the shutdown of Engine 2.

Hydraulic System Determination

An examination of the six hydraulic EDPs found no faults with the pumps that would have affected their operation. With engines 1 and 3 running, hydraulic systems 1 and 3 should have been operational.

With the shutdown of Engine 2 (via the engine FUEL switch), in the land configuration phase of flight and the HSC selection in auto mode, both Engine 2 hydraulic EDPs would have remained in the normal position when the engine speed dropped below 45% N2. If the same conditions had occurred in the cruise configuration, the HSC would have turned off the EDPs.

With Engine 2 shut down (minimal rotation) and the 2-3 RMP not operating, Hydraulic System 2 pressure would only be retained by the Hydraulic System 2 pressure accumulator. Any pressure demand on Hydraulic System 2 (e.g., to the flaps, aileron, elevator, rudder, spoiler, or thrust reverser) would cause Hydraulic System 2 pressure to drop. A drop in Hydraulic System 2 pressure would subsequently cause the 3-2 NRMP to be commanded ON through a pressure operated valve. With the 3-2 NRMP operating, hydraulic pressure to the lower rudder actuator would be maintained. In the event of a shutdown of Engine 2, the loss of hydraulic pressure to the Engine 2 thrust reverser would be of little consequence, as there would not be any thrust supplied by the engine for thrust reverser action once on the ground. The loss of spoilers 1 and 5 would have little effect on lateral control, as the remaining three spoilers on the wing would be operational, the outboard aileron actuators would be active (with flap extension), and spoiler control would not come into effect until the aileron deflection exceeded five units. Control of the primary and secondary flight control actuators, parallel with Hydraulic System 2, would be picked up by the other operating system. In view of the above factors, it was determined that a loss of, or reduction in, Hydraulic System 2 operating pressure would have had little or no adverse effect on aircraft operation.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Système hydraulique

  1. Description du système hydraulique
  2. Examen du système hydraulique
    1. Examen des motopompes réversibles
    2. Conclusion relative aux motopompes réversibles
  3. Conclusion relative au système hydraulique

Description du système hydraulique

Le système hydraulique du MD-11 comprend trois circuits parallèles constamment sous pression qui fonctionnent entre 2 800 et 3 200 lb/po2. Les trois circuits font chacun fonctionner les gouvernes principales. La combinaison de deux des trois circuits fournit une énergie en parallèle aux gouvernes qui restent, à l'orientation de l'atterrisseur avant et aux freins de roues.

(Voir l'illustration « Système hydraulique simplifié - schéma ».)

Le circuit hydraulique 2 partage la commande des actionneurs hydrauliques suivants : la gouverne de profondeur extérieure gauche et droite, la gouverne de profondeur intérieure gauche ainsi que les ailerons extérieurs gauche et droit; l'aileron intérieur gauche, les volets intérieurs et extérieurs gauche et droit ainsi que le vérin de commande des déporteurs. Le circuit hydraulique 2 commande entièrement l'inverseur de poussée du moteur 2, l'actionneur du gouvernail de direction inférieur et les déporteurs 1 et 5 sur les ailes droite et gauche.

Chaque circuit est alimenté par deux pompes hydrauliques entraînées par moteur (EDP). Deux pompes hydrauliques auxiliaires, 1 et 2, à commande électrique fournissent de l'énergie hydraulique au circuit hydraulique 3 au sol ou en vol. Lorsqu'elle est alimentée électriquement par l'alternateur éolien (ADG), la pompe auxiliaire 1 peut fournir de l'énergie hydraulique de secours au circuit hydraulique 3. Deux motopompes réversibles (RMP), soit la motopompe 1-3 et la motopompe 2-3, relient le circuit hydraulique 3 aux circuits 1 et 2. En cas de perte ou d'arrêt d'un moteur ou d'une diminution du régime moteur, les motopompes réversibles peuvent transférer l'énergie d'un circuit opérationnel à un circuit inopérant sans transfert de liquide par les ouvertures de leurs robinets d'arrêt respectifs. L'énergie hydraulique du train d'atterrissage est fournie par le circuit hydraulique 3 ou, si ce dernier n'est pas disponible, par l'une ou l'autre des motopompes réversibles.

Lorsque les robinets d'arrêt des motopompes réversibles sont en position fermée, les motopompes ne fonctionnent pas. L'alimentation électrique nécessaire à l'ouverture et à la fermeture des robinets des motopompes est fournie par le bus batterie par l'intermédiaire des disjoncteurs B1-599 et B1-598, situés sur le tableau de distribution supérieur aux positions A-04 et A-05, respectivement. Les fils des deux disjoncteurs sont acheminés par le connecteur P1/R5-394, situé sur le tableau de distribution supérieur, puis descendent le long du côté droit du fuselage, derrière le poste de l'observateur de droite, pour arriver au contrôleur du système hydraulique (HSC) situé dans le compartiment avionique.

Deux motopompes non réversibles (NRMP), soit les motopompes 2-1 et 3-2, transfèrent automatiquement l'énergie hydraulique aux gouvernails de direction et au compensateur du stabilisateur.

Dans des conditions normales, le HSC commande l'énergie hydraulique et fonctionne en mode auto. On peut faire passer le HSC en mode manuel au moyen d'un bouton-poussoir situé sur le tableau de commande du système hydraulique. En cas de perte d'alimentation électrique aux canaux A et B du HSC, ce dernier passe automatiquement en mode manuel. Dans ce mode, les robinets des motopompes réversibles s'ouvrent automatiquement et les deux motopompes sont mises en marche.

Le canal A du HSC est alimenté par le bus 3 de 28 V c.c. par l'intermédiaire du disjoncteur B1-373, situé en position S-3 sur le tableau de distribution principal supérieur. Le canal B du HSC est alimenté par le bus 2 de 115 V c.a. par l'intermédiaire du disjoncteur  B1-372, situé en position M-3 sur le tableau de distribution principal supérieur. En mode auto, le HSC est conçu pour configurer le système hydraulique en fonction de la phase du vol.

En configuration d'atterrissage (c.-à-d. lorsque l'avion est en vol à une altitude barocorrigée ≤ 17 750 pi, et que les becs ou le train d'atterrissage sont sortis ou que les volets sont sortis à plus de 0°), les deux motopompes réversibles sont mises en marche lorsque le HSC détecte une chute du régime de n'importe quel moteur sous 45 % de N2. Quel que soit le régime du moteur, si le HSC détecte une chute de pression hydraulique sous 2 400 lb/po2, il ouvre automatiquement le robinet de la motopompe réversible pertinente, et cette motopompe est mise en marche. En cas de défaillances multiples, le HSC est programmé pour réagir d'abord à une perte de moteur ou à un arrêt de ce dernier, ou à une diminution du régime moteur, avant de réagir à une perte de pression du système.

En configuration de croisière, le HSC ne reconfigure pas le système hydraulique en cas de perte d'un moteur ou d'arrêt de ce dernier, ou d'une diminution de régime moteur. Les robinets des motopompes réversibles demeurent fermés. Le HSC reçoit des données sur la position des volets à partir des modules éélectroniques numériques; selon le circuit logique du HSC, une perte des données de position des volets aura pour conséquence de ramener par défaut les volets en configuration rentrés.

Examen du système hydraulique

L'examen du tableau de distribution principal supérieur a permis de déterminer qu'il n'avait pas été soumis à la chaleur ni à des dommages causés par un incendie. Les fils des deux disjoncteurs allant au HSC ne passaient pas par un endroit endommagé par le feu. Compte tenu du fonctionnement d'autres mécanismes (p. ex. ventilateurs, pompes) dépendant de la même alimentation électrique, on a déterminé que l'alimentation du bus 2 de 115 V c.a. du canal B du HSC était présente au moment de l'impact. Comme au moins le canal B était probablement alimenté au moment de l'impact, le HSC aurait dû demeurer en mode auto, indépendamment d'une intervention de l'équipage. Comme rien n'indique qu'une défaillance était associée aux circuits hydrauliques, l'équipage n'aurait pas eu besoin de sélectionner le mode manuel. Les fils des disjoncteurs des robinets d'arrêt des motopompes réversibles passaient par une zone d'incendie et de chaleur intense derrière le tableau de distribution avionique supérieur.

Examen des motopompes réversibles

Les deux motopompes réversibles ont été repêchées intactes et étaient identifiées par une étiquette ou une plaque signalétique portant le numéro de pièce BYG7001-5511K. Seule une des motopompes présentait un numéro de série lisible : 138538A. Comme les numéros de série des deux motopompes réversibles ne pouvaient être retrouvés dans les documents techniques de l'avion, on n'a pu déterminer quelle était leur position spécifique (c.-à-d. la position 1-3 ou 2-3).

Sur une motopompe réversible (numéro de série 138538A), les deux robinets d'arrêt motorisés étaient toujours fixés à la pompe et étaient en position fermée normale. Les deux moteurs électriques s'étaient brisés sur les robinets et n'ont pas été retrouvés; par contre, la base de l'actionneur d'un des moteurs était toujours fixée au robinet. Une partie de la plaque-couvercle de la poignée était toujours en place, et la poignée rouge de l'actionneur était en position fermée. Aucune trace de dommage sur la poignée n'indiquait qu'elle se trouvait dans une position autre que la position fermée normale au moment de l'impact.

(Voir les photos « Motopompe réversible » et « Motopompe réversible (vue rapprochée) ».)

Sur l'autre motopompe réversible, récupérée comme un élément distinct, un robinet d'arrêt motorisé était toujours fixé à la pompe. Les deux robinets ont été récupérés en position fermée normale. Les deux moteurs électriques s'étaient brisés sur les robinets et n'ont pas été récupérés; par contre, la base de l'actionneur d'un des moteurs était toujours fixée au robinet. La poignée rouge de l'actionneur était en position fermée, et il n'y avait aucune trace de dommage sur la poignée indiquant qu'elle se trouvait dans une position autre que la position fermée normale au moment de l'impact.

(Voir la photo « Seconde motopompe réversible ».)

Conclusion relative aux motopompes réversibles

Comme l'avion se trouvait en configuration d'atterrissage au moment de l'impact (les volets étaient sortis) (DIT) et qu'on avait déterminé que le moteur 2 s'était arrêté avant l'impact (DIT), le HSC aurait dû ouvrir un robinet des motopompes réversibles ou les deux. La position fermée inattendue des robinets des motopompes réversibles 1-3 et 2-3 pourrait avoir été causée par un des scénarios suivants :

  • une perte des données du module électronique d'affichage (DEU) au HSC. En cas de perte totale des données du module électronique d'affichage, le HSC se replie en configuration de croisière. Une perte partielle de ces données (entrée volets) amène le HSC à passer en mode de rentrée des volets. En cas de perte des données de position des volets, et si les becs de bord d'attaque et le train d'atterrissage sont rentrés, le HSC va aussi se replier en configuration de croisière et y demeurer. Dans un cas comme dans l'autre, lorsque le HSC est en configuration de croisière, les motopompes réversibles ne seront pas mises en marche à l'arrêt du moteur 2, même si la pression du système chute sous 2 400 lb/po2.
  • une perte ou une interruption de l'alimentation électrique aux robinets des motopompes réversibles. Ce scénario empêcherait les robinets des motopompes réversibles de s'ouvrir. L'alimentation du bus batterie passe par les disjoncteurs des robinets des motopompes réversibles. Comme le commutateur FUEL du moteur 2 est aussi alimenté par le bus batterie et qu'il était nécessaire à l'arrêt du moteur 2, il est peu probable qu'une perte d'alimentation du bus batterie ait empêché les robinets des motopompes réversibles de s'ouvrir. Une perte d'alimentation électrique pouvait être causée par la chaleur ou un incendie, ce qui aurait pu avoir pour conséquence de déclencher les disjoncteurs des robinets des motopompes, ou de court-circuiter ou mettre en circuit ouvert les fils allant des disjoncteurs au HSC.
  • une perte de l'entrée N2 au HSC. L'entrée N2 étant perdue, le HSC ne recevrait pas de données indiquant l'arrêt d'un moteur. Dans ce cas, et si le HSC se replie en configuration d'atterrissage (avec sortie des volets), le robinet de la motopompe réversible 2-3 ne s'ouvrirait qu'en réaction à une chute de pression du circuit 2 sous 2 400 lb/po2, et la motopompe 1-3 demeurerait fermée aussi. Dans ce scénario, la pression du circuit hydraulique 2 devrait demeurer au-dessus de 2 400 lb/po2 après l'arrêt du moteur 2.

Conclusion relative au système hydraulique

Un examen des six pompes hydrauliques entraînées par moteur (EDP) n'a permis de découvrir aucune anomalie sur les pompes qui aurait compromis leur fonctionnement. Les moteurs 1 et 3 étant en marche, les circuits hydrauliques 1 et 3 fonctionnaient sans doute.

L'arrêt du moteur 2 (par l'intermédiaire du commutateur FUEL), dans la phase du vol correspondant à la configuration d'atterrissage, et la sélection du HSC en mode auto auraient eu pour conséquence que les deux pompes entraînées par le moteur 2 seraient demeurées en position normale lorsque le régime moteur aurait chuté sous 45 % de N2. Si la même situation s'était produite en configuration de croisière, le HSC aurait arrêté les deux pompes entraînées par le moteur.

L'arrêt du moteur 2 (rotation minimale) et le fait que la motopompe réversible 2-3 ne fonctionnait pas auraient eu pour conséquence que seul l'accumulateur de pression du circuit hydraulique 2 aurait conservé la pression de ce circuit. Toute demande de pression au circuit hydraulique 2 (p. ex. pour les volets, les ailerons, la profondeur, la direction, les déporteurs ou les inverseurs de poussée) ferait chuter la pression du circuit hydraulique 2. Une chute de la pression du circuit hydraulique 2 mettrait de ce fait en marche la motopompe non réversible 3-2 par l'intermédiaire d'un robinet manométrique. La motopompe non réversible 3-2 étant en service, la pression hydraulique au gouvernail de direction inférieur serait maintenue. En cas d'arrêt du moteur 2, la perte de pression hydraulique à l'inverseur de poussée du moteur 2 n'aurait que peu de conséquences, puisqu'il n'y aurait aucune poussée exercée par le moteur pendant le fonctionnement de l'inverseur de poussée une fois l'avion au sol. La perte des déporteurs 1 et 5 n'aurait que peu de conséquences sur la stabilité transversale, puisque les trois autres déporteurs sur l'aile fonctionneraient, les actionneurs d'ailerons extérieurs fonctionneraient (ainsi que la sortie des volets), et l'effet des déporteurs ne se ferait pas sentir avant que les ailerons se soient déplacés de cinq unités. La commande des vérins des gouvernes principales et secondaires, parallèle au circuit hydraulique 2, serait reprise par l'autre circuit opérationnel. Compte tenu des facteurs ci-dessus, on a déterminé qu'une perte ou une réduction de la pression de service du circuit hydraulique 2 aurait peu compromis, ou n'aurait pas compromis, l'exploitation de l'avion.