Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

Landing Gear

  1. Landing Gear System Description
  2. Landing Gear System Examination
    1. Main Landing Gear
      1. Left Main Landing Gear
      2. Right Main Landing Gear
    2. Center Gear
    3. Nose Gear
  3. Landing Gear System Determination

Landing Gear System Description

The landing gear system consists of two main gear (left and right main landing gear), a center gear, and a nose gear. The left and right main landing gear incorporate a four-wheel twin bogie beam assembly with individual wheel brakes. The center gear incorporates a dual wheel assembly with individual wheel brakes. The nose gear has a steerable shock strut with dual wheels and no brakes. The left and right main landing gear retract inward and, in the stowed position, the gear strut is aligned horizontally with the wheels oriented inboard. The forward wheel assemblies on the left main landing gear are numbered 1 and 2, and the aft wheel assemblies are numbered 5 and 6. The forward wheel assemblies on the right main landing gear are numbered 3 and 4, and the aft wheel assemblies are numbered 7 and 8. The center gear retracts forward, and the wheel assemblies are numbered 9 and 10. The nose gear retracts forward and, in the stowed position, the shock strut is inclined slightly upward.

The landing gear system is hydraulically operated. Hydraulic System 3 provides normal gear extension and retraction.

Landing Gear System Examination

Main Landing Gear

Left Main Landing Gear

The left main landing gear was recovered as a single unit.

(See photograph of "Left main landing gear.")

The upper trunnion pivot points were attached to the landing gear wing box structure, which had torn free from its surrounding structure. The landing gear was in the stowed position as oriented to the wing box structure. The landing gear assembly was intact; the truck beam and its four wheel and tire assemblies were attached. Tires 1, 2, and 5 were ruptured and deflated. Tire 6 was inflated. The fixed side brace link, the upper and lower side brace links, the downlock link, and the retract cylinder were attached and oriented in the retracted position.

(See photograph of "Left main landing gear - actuator in stowed position.")

Right Main Landing Gear

The right main landing gear was recovered in several pieces.

(See photograph of "Right main landing gear and center gear.")

The upper trunnion pivot points were attached to the landing gear wing box structure, which had torn free from its surrounding structure. The landing gear was in the stowed position as oriented to the wing box structure. The lower truck assembly was detached from the lower strut and was fractured in numerous locations. Wheel assemblies 3 and 4 were separated into individual components. The rim of Wheel Assembly 4 was fractured into small segments and the tire was detached. Wheel Assembly 3 was intact, but the tire was ruptured and deflated. Wheel assemblies 7 and 8 were detached from the truck assembly as a unit. Both tires were ruptured; Tire 8 exhibited greater damage. The upper and lower side braces, the downlock link, and the retract cylinder were intact. The upper end of the upper side brace was detached from the support structure and the side brace was pulled away from the strut. The retract cylinder had a partial extension of 60 mm, which is consistent with the movement of the lower gear leg at the time of impact or during the recovery phase.

(See photograph of "Right main landing gear - actuator partially extended.")

Center Gear

The center gear was extensively damaged and was recovered in several pieces. The retract actuator had broken away from the gear assembly and the actuator was in the fully retracted position.

(See photograph of "Center gear - actuator retracted.")

The strut assembly was detached from the upper strut housing. The lower leg assembly was intact, but tires 9 and 10 were ruptured and deflated.

Nose Gear

The nose gear was recovered in several pieces. The upper trunnion pivot points were attached to structural support members. The nose gear actuator had separated from the nose gear assembly and the actuator was in the fully retracted position.

(See photograph of "Nose gear - actuator retracted.")

The left tire and wheel assembly were detached, and the axle was fractured at mid-span.

(See photograph of "Nose gear.")

The right wheel was attached to the axle and the tire was torn free from the rim. The strut was fully compressed; the strut air valve and cylinder cap were not recovered.

(See photograph of "Nose gear strut - air valve cylinder cap location.")

The strut outer cylinder wall had two longitudinal cracks—one on the right side of the strut between the trunnion frames, (see photograph of "Nose gear - upper strut (cracked)") and one on the left side of the strut below the trunnion lower frame (see photograph of "Nose gear - lower strut (cracked)").

The damage to the strut outer cylinder wall and to the strut air valve is consistent with the lower leg assembly being driven rearward into the strut housing with the landing gear in the retracted position.

Landing Gear System Determination

An examination of the landing gear system indicated that all four landing gear assemblies were in the stowed position at the time of impact. The right main landing gear displayed greater overall damage than the left main landing gear.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Train d'atterrissage

  1. Description du train d'atterrissage
  2. Examen du train d'atterrissage
    1. Train d'atterrissage principal
      1. Atterrisseur gauche
      2. Atterrisseur droit
    2. Atterrisseur central
    3. Atterrisseur avant
  3. Conclusion relative au train d'atterrissage

Description du train d'atterrissage

Le train d'atterrissage se compose de deux atterrisseurs principaux (atterrisseurs gauche et droit), d'un atterrisseur central et d'un atterrisseur avant. Les atterrisseurs gauche et droit comprennent un ensemble balancier de bogie jumelé à quatre roues, chacune étant munie de freins. L'atterrisseur central est un train à roues jumelées, chacune étant munie de freins. L'atterrisseur avant se compose d'un amortisseur orientable équipé de roues jumelées dépourvues de freins. Les atterrisseurs gauche et droit rentrent vers l'intérieur et, en position rentrée, l'amortisseur de la jambe est aligné horizontalement, tandis que les roues sont orientées vers l'intérieur. Les roues avant de l'atterrisseur gauche sont numérotées 1 et 2, et les roues arrière, 5 et 6. Les roues avant de l'atterrisseur droit sont numérotées 3 et 4, et les roues arrière, 7 et 8. L'atterrisseur central rentre vers l'avant, et ses roues sont numérotées 9 et 10. L'atterrisseur avant rentre vers l'avant et, en position rentrée, l'amortisseur est légèrement incliné vers le haut.

Le train d'atterrissage est manœuvré par un circuit hydraulique. Le circuit hydraulique 3 rentre et sort normalement le train d'atterrissage.

Examen du train d'atterrissage

Train d'atterrissage principal

Atterrisseur gauche

L'atterrisseur gauche a été repêché d'un seul tenant.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur gauche ».)

Les points d'articulation des tourillons supérieurs étaient fixés au caisson d'aile de l'atterrisseur, lequel caisson a été arraché de la structure avoisinante. L'atterrisseur était en position rentrée par rapport au caisson d'aile. L'atterrisseur était intact; le balancier de bogie ainsi que ses quatre roues et pneus étaient en place. Les pneus 1, 2 et 5 étaient fendus et dégonflés. Le pneu 6 était gonflé. La contrefiche latérale fixe, les contrefiches latérales supérieure et inférieure, la biellette du verrou train sorti et le vérin de rentrée étaient en place et orientés en position rentrée.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur gauche - vérin en position rentrée ».)

Atterrisseur droit

L'atterrisseur droit a été récupéré en plusieurs morceaux.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur droit et atterrisseur central ».)

Les points d'articulation des tourillons supérieurs étaient fixés au caisson d'aile de l'atterrisseur, lequel caisson a été arraché de la structure avoisinante. L'atterrisseur était en position rentrée par rapport au caisson d'aile. Le bogie inférieur était détaché de la partie inférieure de l'amortisseur et était brisé en plusieurs endroits. Les roues 3 et 4 étaient déjumelées. La jante de la roue 4 était brisée en petits fragments, et le pneu était détaché. La roue 3 était intacte, mais le pneu était fendu et dégonflé. Les roues 7 et 8 s'étaient détachées d'un bloc du bogie. Les deux pneus étaient brisés, le pneu 8 étant le plus endommagé. Les contrefiches latérales supérieure et inférieure, la biellette de verrou train sorti et le vérin de rentrée étaient intacts. La partie supérieure de la contrefiche latérale supérieure était détachée de sa structure de soutien, et la contrefiche latérale avait été arrachée de l'amortisseur. Le vérin de rentrée était déployé partiellement sur 60 mm, ce qui correspond au mouvement de la partie inférieure de la jambe de train au moment de l'impact ou lors du repêchage.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur droit - vérin partiellement déployé ».)

Atterrisseur central

L'atterrisseur central a été gravement endommagé et il a été récupéré en plusieurs morceaux. Le vérin de rentrée s'était rompu de l'atterrisseur, et le vérin se trouvait en position complètement rentrée.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur central - vérin rentré ».)

L'amortisseur s'était détaché de son logement supérieur. La partie inférieure de la jambe était intacte, mais les pneus 9 et 10 étaient fendus et dégonflés.

Atterrisseur avant

L'atterrisseur avant a été récupéré en plusieurs morceaux. Les points d'articulation des tourillons supérieurs étaient fixés aux membrures structurales de soutien. Le vérin de l'atterrisseur avant s'était séparé de l'atterrisseur et il était en position complètement rentrée.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur avant - vérin en position rentrée ».)

L'ensemble pneu et roue gauche était détaché, et la fusée était fracturée à mi-longueur.

(Voir la photo « Atterrisseur avant ».)

La roue droite était fixée à sa fusée, et le pneu avait été arraché de la jante. L'amortisseur était complètement comprimé; la valve d'air de l'amortisseur et le capuchon du vérin n'ont pas été récupérés.

(Voir la photo « Amortisseur d'atterrisseur avant - emplacement de la valve d'air et du capuchon de vérin ».)

La paroi extérieure du vérin d'amortisseur présentait deux fissures longitudinales : une du côté droit de l'amortisseur, entre les châssis des tourillons (voir la photo « Atterrisseur avant - partie supérieure de l'amortisseur (fissurée) ») et une du côté gauche de l'amortisseur sous le châssis inférieur des tourillons (voir la photo « Atterrisseur avant - partie inférieure de l'amortisseur (fissurée) »).

Les dommages relevés sur la paroi extérieure du vérin de l'amortisseur et sur la valve d'air de ce dernier correspondent à l'enfoncement de la partie inférieure de l'atterrisseur vers l'arrière dans le logement de ce dernier alors qu'il était en position rentrée.

Conclusion relative au train d'atterrissage

Un examen du train d'atterrissage a révélé que les quatre atterrisseurs étaient rentrés au moment de l'impact. L'atterrisseur droit était plus endommagé que l'atterrisseur gauche.