Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

Personnel Training

  1. Swissair MD-11 Flight Crew Training
    1. MD-11 Aircraft Training
    2. Emergency Procedures Training
  2. Swissair Cabin Crew Training
    1. General
    2. Fire/Smoke Emergency Procedures
  3. Air Traffic Controller Training
    1. Basic Emergency Response Training
    2. Continuation Emergency Response Training

Swissair MD-11 Flight Crew Training

MD-11 Aircraft Training

The Swissair standard pilot training for the MD-11 was a six-week course conducted in Swiss German. The course was adopted from the McDonnell Douglas FAA-approved course.

The first week of the MD-11 training consisted of computer-based training and fixed-based simulator training with a technical instructor. Classroom time was scheduled with captains and first officers together for a question-and-answer session with the instructors.

The computer and simulator work continued in the second week. To ensure consistent instruction, only three instructors provided this training. During this week, pilots were instructed on the use of the MD-11 flight guidance system and on the need to operate as a crew. Students were expected to study flight procedures in order to be prepared for the simulator session when the instructor demonstrated normal operations. The philosophy used was to train the crew to a very high level of skill in normal procedures. Crews well-schooled and knowledgeable in normal procedures would be better prepared to handle the higher workload associated with abnormal procedures. Crews were also trained in procedures for abnormal situations, such as smoke of unknown origin in the cockpit.

Aircraft performance training was also scheduled during the second week.

Computer and simulator training continued in the third week, and the students practised door operations on a mock-up aircraft and hands-on training with fire extinguishers.

Ten full flight simulator sessions were provided in weeks four through six. Simulator sessions 1 to 7 were conducted by a simulator flight instructor. Simulator sessions 8, 9, and 10, which were the qualification sessions for pilots, were conducted by a flight instructor. Each session was approximately 3 hours, 30 minutes.

The syllabus for simulator sessions 8 and 9 was line-oriented flight training. The session 9 scenario involved departing from Hong Kong with a smoke of unknown origin emergency on take-off. The crew implemented the associated checklist and used the SMOKE ELEC/AIR selector; the syllabus is written so that the smoke clears at the 3/1 position. The session also included a cargo fire that necessitates an emergency descent and then landing, and an evacuation of the aircraft with an uncontrolled cargo fire. Session 10 is a standard line flight from Zurich to Geneva. The session deals with high-altitude training, with a focus on engine, fuel, and one-engine fire with fuel dumping.

None of the Swissair training scenarios included flight on the stand-by instruments only, nor is such training normally provided to crew of other airlines.

Emergency Procedures Training

Flight crew members receive the following yearly training on the emergency and safety equipment:

  • Actual donning of the life jackets;
  • Actual donning of the protective breathing equipment;
  • Actual handling of fire extinguishers;
  • Instruction on the location and use of all emergency and safety equipment.

Flight crew members receive the following training every three years on the emergency and safety equipment:

  • Actual operation of all types of exits;
  • Demonstration of the aircraft evacuation slides;
  • Actual firefighting using equipment representative of that carried in the aircraft on an actual or simulated fire except that, with Halon extinguishers, an alternative method acceptable to the FOCA may be used;
  • The effects of smoke in an enclosed area, and actual use of all relevant equipment in a simulated smoke-filled environment;
  • Security procedures.

Although aircraft crew were trained to fight in-flight fires, there were no requirements that cabin and flight crew train together, or that they be trained to follow an integrated firefighting plan and checklist procedure. At the time of the occurrence, neither flight crew nor cabin crew were trained to fight in-flight fires in the cockpit, nor was such training provided in other airlines.

Swissair Cabin Crew Training

General

During initial training, cabin crew received approximately 46 hours of emergency procedures training. Training methodologies included classroom training, computer-based training, and mock-ups and hands-on activities. Annual recurrent training included approximately eight hours of emergency procedures training.

Emergency procedures training did not include "rapid clean-up" drills in the event of a "prepared emergency." Generally speaking, Canadian and American air carriers do not include "rapid clean-up" drills in their emergency procedures training. As at Swissair, this topic is covered during classroom training.

Fire/Smoke Emergency Procedures

Initial, non-aircraft-specific fire/smoke training for cabin crew included

  • the responsibilities of cabin crew to deal promptly with emergencies involving fire and smoke, including the importance of identifying the actual source of the fire;
  • the importance of informing the flight crew immediately, as well as the specific actions necessary for coordination and assistance when fire or smoke is discovered;
  • the necessity for frequent checking of potential fire risk areas, including toilets, and the associated smoke detectors;
  • classification of fires, and the appropriate use of extinguishing agents and procedures for particular fire situations, the techniques of application of extinguishing agents, the consequences of misapplication, and use in confined spaces; and
  • the general procedures of ground-based emergency services at aerodromes.

During initial aircraft-specific fire/smoke training, and during conversion training, each cabin crew member was given realistic and practical training in the use of all firefighting equipment, including protective clothing representative of that carried in the aircraft. The training required that each cabin crew member extinguish a fire characteristic of an aircraft interior fire and that each cabin crew member don and use protective breathing equipment in an enclosed, simulated smoke-filled environment.

During recurrent training, each cabin crew member received instruction in the location and handling of emergency equipment, including firefighting equipment and the donning of protective breathing equipment. Every third year, recurrent training included live firefighting as described in the previous paragraph.

Fire/smoke emergency procedures training received by cabin crew was restricted to a cabin environment. Mock-ups and drills simulated fire/smoke in the overhead bins, waste baskets, passenger seats, lavatories, and galleys. There were no mock-ups or drills simulating fire/smoke in cabin ceilings, attic spaces, other hidden areas, cockpit, or E&E bays. Flight crew trained together with cabin crew during fire/smoke drills.

Fire/smoke training for cabin crew did not address situations involving fire/smoke in the cockpit. Emergency procedures training personnel reported that, in the opinion of the operator, the fire/smoke training provided to cabin crew adequately prepared them to perform fire/smoke emergency duties in the cockpit.

As at Swissair, fire/smoke emergency procedures training for Canadian and American cabin crews does not include drills set in the cockpit.

Air Traffic Controller Training

Basic Emergency Response Training

Air traffic controllers must pass a Radiotelephone Operator's Restricted Certificate examination prior to being granted a licence. The Study Guide for the Radiotelephone Operator's Restricted Certificate (Aeronautical) (RIC-21) contains information on the meaning and use of distress and urgency communications.

Basic ATC training provided in the Nav Canada Training Institute provided information, in separate lesson plans, on the responsibilities of controllers in dealing with aircraft accidents, emergencies in general, other specific emergencies, and fuel dumps and emergency descents. In their emergency training, controllers are expected to use their best judgement in handling situations not specifically covered, because it is impossible to detail procedures for all emergency situations. Information provided reminds controllers that "when an emergency occurs, time is of the essence, so all questions must be clear and concise. In order to respond effectively, the controller must rely on the information that the pilot provides." The Canadian Aeronautical Information Publication, Part 6, "Rules of the Air and Air Traffic Services," provides the following information:

6.3.1 Declaration of Emergency

Whenever pilots are faced with an emergency situation, ATC expects the pilot to take whatever action is considered necessary. ATC will assist pilots in any way possible whenever an emergency is declared. Pilots are requested to advise ATC, as soon as it is practicable, of any deviations from IFR altitudes or route necessitated by an emergency situation in order that every effort can be made to minimize confliction with other aircraft.

Information in ATC MANOPS, and the basic training lesson plans used by the Nav Canada Training Institute, emphasized the separation requirements and administrative responsibilities of controllers. There was little or no coverage of pilot actions or of aircraft flight characteristics in the event of various contingencies. The enabling objectives for the Fuel Dump and Emergency Descent Lesson Plan were as follows:

  • List information to be obtained from the aircraft.
  • State the option to request a different track.
  • State the procedures that the pilot should be encouraged to follow.
  • State the minimum altitude and restriction.
  • State the separation required from the fuel dumping area.
  • State the procedures for "Fuel dumping warnings and completion messages."
  • Describe emergency situations that can cause a risk of collision.
  • State the procedures to be followed to have aircraft operate on either side of track.

The lesson plan also described the responsibility of the controller:

This fuel dumping constitutes an emergency situation and the pilot has the ultimate responsibility for the safety of the aircraft. Our job is to offer assistance and obtain information about the operation that could affect other traffic.

Continuation Emergency Response Training

Nav Canada conducts annual refresher training for controllers on relevant topics. The Nav Canada Technical Training Division provided regional ATC schools with the 1998 master training plans. Two lesson plans covered emergency-response topics: the appropriate response to various pilot-initiated communications regarding hijacking, and the proper safety alert phraseology for altitude and traffic alert in accordance with ATC MANOPS.

Prior to the SR 111 occurrence there was no detailed training—either basic or continuation—covering the flight and operating requirements of modern aircraft during abnormal or emergency situations or the indications that controllers might expect to receive from such aircraft. Nav Canada distributed to regional training authorities, as part of its National ATC Refresher Training package for the 1999/2000 and 2000/2001 training years, one-day human factors training modules on communications and teamwork. Controllers received an additional day of training on emergency preparedness and response. For area and terminal controllers this training constituted a half day of classroom and a half day of simulation.

Pilots from Canada's major airlines agreed to speak to refresher groups on the subject of aircraft emergencies, what activities are occurring in the cockpit, and how ATC can best assist the crew.

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98H0003

Formation du personnel

Formation des équipages de conduite de Swissair sur MD-11

Formation sur l'avion MD-11

La formation standard des pilotes de Swissair sur MD-11 était un cours d'une durée de six semaines, offert en alémanique. Le cours était une adaptation du cours de McDonnell Douglas approuvé par la FAA.

La première semaine de formation sur MD-11 consistait en une formation assistée par ordinateur et en une formation sur simulateur sans système de mouvement en compagnie d'un instructeur. Le temps passé en classe réunissait les commandants de bord et les copilotes pour une période de questions et réponses avec des instructeurs.

Le travail sur ordinateur et simulateur s'est poursuivi la deuxième semaine. Pour assurer l'uniformité de l'instruction, seulement trois instructeurs donnaient la formation. Au cours de cette semaine, les pilotes ont appris à utiliser le système de guidage en vol du MD-11 et à travailler en équipe. Les stagiaires devaient étudier les procédures de vol pour se préparer à la session en simulateur au cours de laquelle l'instructeur faisait la démonstration des opérations normales. Le principe consistait à amener l'équipage à être très compétent dans les procédures normales. Des équipages bien formés et connaissant bien les procédures normales sont mieux préparés à affronter la charge de travail plus élevée associée à des procédures anormales. Les équipages étaient aussi formés aux procédures en cas de situations anormales, comme la présence de fumée d'origine inconnue dans le poste de pilotage.

La formation sur les performances de l'avion a aussi été offerte pendant la deuxième semaine.

La formation sur ordinateur et sur simulateur s'est poursuivie la troisième semaine, et les stagiaires se sont exercés à manipuler les portes sur une maquette de l'avion et ont appris à se servir des extincteurs.

Il y a eu dix sessions en simulateur de vol complet pendant les semaines quatre à six. Les sessions 1 à 7 en simulateur étaient dirigées par un instructeur de pilotage en simulateur. Les sessions 8, 9 et 10, qui étaient des sessions de qualification pour les pilotes, étaient dirigées par un instructeur de pilotage. Chaque session durait environ 3 heures 30 minutes.

Le plan de cours des sessions 8 et 9 en simulateur comprenait un entraînement de type vol de ligne. La session 9 consistait à quitter Hong Kong alors que de la fumée d'une origine inconnue se manifestait lors du décollage. L'équipage exécutait la liste des vérifications pertinente et utilisait le sélecteur SMOKE ELEC/AIR. Le plan de cours est ainsi rédigé que la fumée se dissipe à la position 3/1. La session comprenait aussi un incendie de soute qui nécessitait une descente d'urgence suivie d'un atterrissage et de l'évacuation de l'avion alors que l'incendie dans la soute n'était pas maîtrisé. La session 10 est un vol de ligne standard de Zurich à Genève. La session porte sur l'entraînement à haute altitude et elle accorde une attention particulière aux moteurs, au carburant, à l'incendie d'un moteur avec largage de carburant.

Aucun des scénarios de formation de Swissair ne comprenait un vol aux instruments de secours seulement, et ce type de formation n'est normalement pas fourni aux équipages des autres lignes aériennes.

Formation aux procédures d'urgence

Les membres des équipages de conduite reçoivent la formation annuelle suivante sur l'équipement de secours et de sécurité :

  • enfilage réel des gilets de sauvetage;
  • enfilage réel des inhalateurs protecteurs;
  • manipulation réelle des extincteurs;
  • instruction sur l'emplacement et l'utilisation de l'équipement de secours et de sécurité.

Les membres des équipages de conduite reçoivent la formation suivante tous les trois ans sur l'équipement de secours et de sécurité :

  • utilisation réelle de tous les types de sortie;
  • démonstration des glissières d'évacuation de l'avion;
  • lutte réelle contre un incendie réel ou simulé au moyen d'un équipement représentatif de celui qui se trouve à bord de l'avion, sauf que dans le cas des extincteurs au halon, une autre méthode acceptée par l'OFAC peut être utilisée;
  • effets de la fumée dans un lieu fermé et utilisation réelle de tout équipement pertinent dans une simulation d'environnement rempli de fumée;
  • consignes de sécurité.

Si les équipages d'un avion étaient entraînés à lutter contre des incendies en vol, rien n'exigeait que les équipages de cabine et les équipages de conduite s'entraînent ensemble, ou qu'ils soient entraînés à suivre un plan intégrant lutte contre les incendies et liste de vérifications. Au moment de l'accident, ni l'équipage de conduite, ni l'équipage de cabine n'étaient entraînés à combattre des incendies en vol dans le poste de pilotage, et cet entraînement n'était pas offert par d'autres lignes aériennes.

Formation des équipages de cabine de Swissair

Généralités

Au cours de la formation initiale, l'équipage de cabine a reçu environ 46 heures de formation aux procédures d'urgence. Les méthodes de formation comprenaient de la formation en classe, de la formation assistée par ordinateur ainsi que l'utilisation de maquettes et des activités pratiques. La formation périodique annuelle comprenait environ huit heures de formation aux procédures d'urgence.

La formation aux procédures d'urgence ne comprenait pas d'exercices de « nettoyage rapide » en cas d'« urgence préparée ». Généralement, les transporteurs aériens canadiens et américains n'incluent pas d'exercices de « nettoyage rapide » dans leur formation aux procédures d'urgence. Tout comme chez Swissair, ce sujet est traité lors de la formation en classe.

Procédures d'urgence en cas de fumée ou d'incendie

La formation initiale de l'équipage de cabine en cas de fumée ou d'incendie non spécifique à un avion comprenait :

  • les responsabilités de l'équipage de cabine à traiter promptement les urgences mettant en cause des incendies ou de la fumée, y compris l'importance de détecter la source réelle de l'incendie;
  • l'importance d'informer immédiatement l'équipage de conduite ainsi que les mesures spécifiques nécessaires à la coordination et à l'assistance en cas de découverte d'un incendie ou de fumée;
  • la nécessité de vérifier fréquemment les zones de risque potentiel d'incendie, notamment les toilettes, ainsi que les détecteurs de fumée connexes;
  • la classification des feux et l'utilisation appropriée des agents extincteurs et des procédures pour des types de feu donnés, les techniques d'application des agents extincteurs, les conséquences d'une mauvaise application et l'utilisation dans des endroits exigus; et
  • les procédures générales des services d'urgence au sol aux aérodromes.

Au cours de la formation initiale en cas de fumée ou d'incendie propre à un avion, et durant la formation de conversion, chaque membre d'équipage de cabine recevait une formation pratique et réaliste sur l'utilisation de l'équipement de lutte contre les incendies, y compris les vêtements de protection représentatifs de ceux qui se trouvent dans l'avion. La formation exigeait que chaque membre d'équipage de cabine éteigne un incendie caractéristique d'un incendie à l'intérieur de l'avion et qu'il enfile et utilise les inhalateurs protecteurs lors d'une simulation dans un environnement fermé, rempli de fumée.

Au cours de la formation périodique, chaque membre d'équipage de cabine a appris à situer et à utiliser l'équipement de secours, y compris l'équipement de lutte contre les incendies, et à enfiler un inhalateur protecteur. Tous les trois ans, la formation périodique comprenait une lutte réelle contre les incendies, comme le décrit le paragraphe précédent.

La formation aux procédures d'urgence en cas de fumée ou d'incendie reçue par l'équipage de cabine se limitait à la cabine. Les maquettes et les exercices simulaient la présence de fumée ou un incendie dans les porte-bagages, les poubelles, les sièges passagers, les toilettes et les offices. Aucune maquette ni aucun exercice ne simulait la présence de fumée ou un incendie dans les plafonds de la cabine, les espaces inoccupés, d'autres zones dissimulées, le poste de pilotage ou les baies d'équipement électrique ou électronique. L'équipage de conduite s'entraînait avec l'équipage de cabine lors des exercices en cas de fumée ou d'incendie.

La formation en cas de fumée ou d'incendie destinée à l'équipage de cabine n'abordait pas les situations mettant en cause de la fumée ou un incendie dans le poste de pilotage. Le personnel de formation aux procédures d'urgence a indiqué que, de l'avis de l'exploitant, la formation en cas de fumée ou d'incendie fournie à l'équipage de cabine préparait suffisamment bien ce dernier à exécuter ses fonctions en cas de fumée ou d'incendie dans le poste de pilotage.

Tout comme chez Swissair, la formation aux procédures d'urgence en cas de fumée ou d'incendie offerte aux équipages de cabine canadiens et américains ne comprend aucun exercice dans le poste de pilotage.

Formation des contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne

Formation élémentaire en intervention d'urgence

Les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne doivent réussir l'examen du Certificat restreint du radiotéléphoniste avant de se voir attribuer une licence. Le Guide d'étude du Certificat restreint du radiotéléphoniste (service aéronautique) (CIR-21) renferme l'information relative à la signification et à l'utilisation des communications d'urgence et de détresse.

La formation élémentaire en ATC fournie à l'Institut de formation de Nav Canada donnait de l'information, dans des plans de leçon distincts, sur les responsabilités des contrôleurs face aux accidents d'aéronefs, aux urgences en général, à d'autres urgences spécifiques, au largage de carburant et aux descentes d'urgence. Dans la formation aux situations d'urgence, on demande aux contrôleurs de faire preuve de leur meilleur jugement pour traiter des situations non couvertes spécifiquement, parce qu'il est impossible de détailler les procédures s'appliquant à toutes les situations d'urgence. L'information fournie rappelle aux contrôleurs que « lorsque se produit une urgence, le temps est primordial, donc, toutes les questions doivent être claires et concises. Pour réagir de façon efficace, le contrôleur doit se fier à l'information fournie par le pilote. » La Publication d'information aéronautique (AIP) canadienne fournit les renseignements suivants à la Partie 6 des Règles de l'air et services de la circulation aérienne :

6.3.1 Déclaration d'une situation d'urgence

Lorsqu'un pilote fait face à une situation d'urgence, l'ATC s'attend à ce qu'il prenne toutes les mesures jugées nécessaires. L'ATC aidera les pilotes par tous les moyens possibles lorsqu'une situation d'urgence est déclarée. Les pilotes sont tenus d'informer l'ATC le plus tôt possible de tout changement d'altitude ou de route IFR nécessité par une situation d'urgence, afin que tout puisse être mis en œuvre pour minimiser le risque de conflit avec d'autres aéronefs.

L'information contenue dans le MANOPS ATC et les plans de leçon de la formation élémentaire utilisés par l'Institut de formation de Nav Canada mettaient l'accent sur les exigences d'espacement et les responsabilités administratives des contrôleurs. On y traitait peu ou pas des mesures que doit prendre le pilote ou des caractéristiques de vol de l'avion dans diverses situations d'urgence. Les objectifs de compétence du plan de leçon relatif au largage de carburant et aux descentes d'urgence étaient les suivants :

  • Dresser la liste des renseignements à obtenir de l'avion.
  • Mentionner l'option de demander une route différente.
  • Énoncer les procédures que le pilote devrait être encouragé à suivre.
  • Indiquer l'altitude minimale et les restrictions.
  • Indiquer l'espacement requis par rapport à la zone de largage du carburant.
  • Indiquer les procédures relatives aux « Avertissements de largage de carburant et messages de largage terminé ».
  • Décrire les situations d'urgence qui peuvent causer un risque d'abordage.
  • Indiquer les procédures à suivre pour que l'avion vole d'un côté ou de l'autre de la route.

Le plan de leçon décrivait aussi la responsabilité du contrôleur :

Ce largage de carburant constitue une situation d'urgence, et le pilote a la responsabilité ultime de la sécurité de l'avion. Notre travail consiste à offrir de l'assistance et à obtenir de l'information au sujet de l'opération, qui pourrait toucher d'autres aéronefs.

Poursuite de la formation en intervention d'urgence

Nav Canada offre des cours de recyclage annuels aux contrôleurs sur des sujets pertinents. La division Formation technique de Nav Canada a fourni aux écoles régionales de l'ATC les plans de formation principaux de 1998. Deux plans de leçon couvraient des sujets liés aux interventions d'urgence : la réponse appropriée à diverses communications des pilotes relativement à un détournement d'avion, et la phraséologie d'alerte de sécurité pertinente en cas d'alerte d'altitude et d'alerte au trafic, conformément aux MANOPS ATC.

Avant l'accident du SR 111, il n'y avait pas de formation détaillée—élémentaire ou continue—couvrant les exigences de vol et d'exploitation des avions modernes lors de situations anormales ou d'urgence, ou les indications que les contrôleurs pourraient s'attendre à recevoir de ces avions. Nav Canada a distribué aux autorités de formation régionales, comme partie intégrante de la trousse de recyclage ATC nationale pour les années 1999-2000 et 2000-2001 des modules de formation aux facteurs humains d'une durée d'une journée sur les communications et le travail en équipe. Les contrôleurs ont reçu une journée additionnelle de formation sur la préparation et l'intervention en cas de situations d'urgence. Pour les contrôleurs régionaux et les contrôleurs terminaux, cette formation a représenté une demi-journée en classe et une demi-journée de simulation.

Les pilotes des grandes lignes aériennes du Canada se sont entendus pour entretenir les groupes de recyclage des urgences à bord, de ce qui se passe dans le poste de pilotage et de la façon dont l'ATC peut être le plus utile à l'équipage.