Aviation Investigation Report A98O0034

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

t Runway Overrun<br /> Reliant Airlines Inc.
Dassault/Sud Fan Jet Falcon N212R
Peterborough Airport, Ontario
18 February 1998

Summary

The Dassault/Sud Fan Jet Falcon aircraft, serial number N212R, operated as Kitty Hawk Flight 2182 (KHA 2182), departed from Kansas International airport, Kansas, on a night instrument flight rules flight to Peterborough airport, Ontario. The flight had a crew of two and was transporting 2 922 pounds of automobile parts for a major automobile manufacturer.

The crew carried out a non-directional beacon (NDB) straight-in approach to runway 09 at Peterborough. The aircraft touched down within the runway touchdown zone but overran the 5 000 foot runway by 236 feet. The aircraft nose landing gear collapsed and the aircraft came to rest on the main landing gear and nose. The accident occurred at 0555 eastern standard time (EST)(1) during night hours at an elevation of 628 feet above sea level (asl) in instrument meteorological flight conditions. The crew were not injured and exited the aircraft unassisted through the main cargo door.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français

Other Factual Information

The Peterborough airport is served by a single, east/west (09/27) oriented, 5 000-foot asphalt-surface runway that is 100 feet wide. The instrument approach to the airport is a non-precision NDB approach to runway 09. The runway final approach fix is the Peterborough low frequency non-directional radio beacon located 3.8 nautical miles from the threshold of runway 09. The inbound final approach fix crossing altitude is 1 800 feet asl with a minimum descent altitude of 1 200 feet asl (575 feet above ground level (agl)).(2) Landing from the approach is straight in. The flight crew did not report any difficulty receiving the radio signal from the Peterborough beacon or tracking to, or from, the non-directional radio beacon.

Runway 09 lighting consisted of high intensity runway threshold, runway end, and runway edge lighting. A precision approach path indicator system for aircraft with eye-to-wheel height of up to 10 feet is installed for runway 09. All available runway lighting was reported "ON" and set at strength 5 for the approach. The lighting was reported selected "ON" manually by airport personnel. The flight crew did not report any difficulty with the airport lighting system.

Runway conditions prior to KHA 2182's approach were reported as bare and wet with braking action reported as good by a Learjet aircraft flight crew that had landed on runway 09 a short time before KHA 2182. The airport runway maintenance crew reported sanding the runway, and they considered braking action to be good just prior to KHA 2182's landing. All of the above runway information was passed to and acknowledged by KHA 2182 flight crew on radio contact with company dispatch at Detroit, Michigan, while they were en route, and just prior to their approach when they were in radio communication on unicom frequency with a fixed-base operator at the Peterborough airport.

The aircraft landed within the touchdown zone with full trailing edge flap extended, and the speed brakes were extended immediately after touch down. The crew reported that the anti-skid braking action was fair for the initial portion of the landing roll but decreased to near nil as the aircraft decelerated from a touchdown speed of 125 knots. The captain, the pilot-flying, selected the anti-skid brake system off and deployed the aircraft drag chute when it became apparent that he might not be able to stop the aircraft before it ran off the end of the runway. He continued to apply maximum brakes but was not successful in stopping the aircraft on the runway. The aircraft drag chute was recovered 3 200 feet from the runway threshold at about the point the crew recollected deploying it. The crew reported that they had not released the drag chute from the aircraft after deploying it. The drag chute mechanism was examined after the occurrence and no mechanical defects were found. It was not determined why the chute released from the aircraft after it was deployed by the crew. The aircraft was not equipped with reverse thrust.

Weather observations at Peterborough airport are taken by a weather person between 0600 and 1600, Monday to Friday, and by an automated weather observation system (AWOS) during other hours, Monday to Friday. The AWOS weather observation, recorded at 0559, showed overcast cloud at 500 feet agl and a visibility of 2.5 statute miles in light rain, while the observation taken by a weather person at 0600 reported overcast cloud at 700 feet agl and a visibility of 1.5 statute miles in light rain and snow. The wind was from 070 degrees true at 9 knots. Light rain was reported falling throughout the night and early morning hours with the temperature at 1 to 2 degrees above freezing. The visibility deteriorated to 3/8 of a mile in moderate snow, and wet snow accumulated on the runway surface immediately after the occurrence. The flight crew did not observe snow on the approach until after they had descended below the cloud base just inside the final approach fix, and it did not appear to them that there was any build-up of snow on the runway during the approach.

All four tires on the dual-wheeled aircraft main landing gear had an area of reverted rubber present (see Figure 1), indicative of hydroplaning. When hydroplaning occurs, the tires of the aircraft are completely separated from the actual runway surface and will continue to hydroplane until a reduction in speed permits the tire to regain contact with the runway surface. During total dynamic hydroplaning, the tire lifts off the runway and rides on the wedge of the water, causing such a complete loss of tire friction that wheel spin-up will not occur. On wet runways, where there is not enough water to cause dynamic hydroplaning, viscous hydroplaning can occur. This term describes the normal slipperiness or lubricating action of water. Viscous hydroplaning does not reduce the friction to such a low level that wheel spin-up will not occur. On the other hand, reverted rubber hydroplaning can occur when a locked tire is skidded along a very slippery water- or slush-contaminated runway, at any speed above about 20 knots, where the heat generated by friction produces steam and begins to revert the rubber, on a portion of the tire, back to its uncured state. The increase in stopping distance as a result of hydroplaning is impossible to predict accurately, but it has been estimated to increase by as much as 700 per cent. Performance graphs for the aircraft indicate that a landing distance of 4 400 feet was required for the aircraft at the calculated landing weight of 22 198 pounds. Landing distance was calculated for a bare, dry runway condition.

Main Landing Gear Tire

The captain was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had a total flying time of 10 540 hours, of which 6 852 were on type, and had been employed by the company since 1989. He was familiar with the Peterborough airport, having operated the Falcon-type aircraft in there on many previous occasions. The first officer was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had a total flying time of 3 575 hours, of which 585 were on type, and had been employed by the company for six months.

Analysis

Based on the runway and weather reports received en route and just prior to their approach at Peterborough, the flight crew anticipated and planned for a landing on a bare, wet runway. This runway condition would not likely have significantly increased the aircraft landing distance from that of a landing on a bare, dry runway, and the crew would have had sufficient runway to land the aircraft and successfully stop on the runway. The precipitation changed to light snow and rain at about the time the flight crew commenced the approach into Peterborough. A film of slush and water that accumulated on the runway was sufficient to cause hydroplaning but not of sufficient depth to be visible to the crew on approach.

The reduced braking action on the wet runway prevented the aircraft from decelerating normally with the anti-skid brake system activated. Despite the fact that an anti-skid brake system would provide a better braking action than a conventional braking system, the captain decided to switch off the anti-skid braking system. When the anti-skid system was deactivated, the wheels locked in a skid, the hydroplaning reduced the braking action to near nil, and the aircraft travelled off the end of the runway.

The crew deployed the aircraft drag chute but, for undetermined reasons, the aircraft drag chute did not remain attached to the aircraft to help achieve a shorter landing distance.

Findings

  1. Precipitation changed from light rain to snow and rain at or near the time at which the flight crew commenced their approach to the airport.
  2. The runway surface was contaminated with a thin layer of slush at the time the aircraft landed.
  3. The aircraft main landing gear tires hydroplaned on landing roll, reducing the aircraft braking action.
  4. The aircraft main landing gear wheels locked in a skid when braking was applied with the brake anti-skid system deactivated.
  5. The drag chute, when deployed , did not remain attached to the aircraft.
  6. The aircraft overran the end of the runway.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The aircraft hydroplaned and overran the runway, probably as a result of the anti-skid brake system being selected off and maximum brakes being applied. It was not determined whether having the anti-skid system selected would have prevented the overrun, but the distance to a full stop would have been reduced. Contributing to this occurrence was the lack of aerodynamic braking, a result of the drag chute becoming detached.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles H. Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 29 October 1998.


1. All times are EST (coordinated universal time minus five hours) unless otherwise noted.

2. A specified altitude referenced to sea level for a non-precision approach below which descent must not be made until the required visual reference to continue the approach to land has been established.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98O0034

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n' est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Sortie en bout de piste
Reliant Airlines Inc.
Dassault / Sud Fan Jet Falcon N212R
Aéroport de Peterborough (Ontario)
18 février 1998

Résumé

L'avion Dassault / Sud Fan Jet Falcon portant le numéro de série N212R et le numéro de vol 2182 de Kitty Hawk (KHA 2182) effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments entre l'aéroport international de Kansas (Kansas) et l'aéroport de Peterborough (Ontario). L'avion transportait deux pilotes et un chargement de 2 922 livres de pièces destinées à un grand fabricant d'automobiles.

L'équipage a effectué une approche directe au NDB (radiophare non directionnel) sur la piste 09 de Peterborough qui mesure 5 000 pieds de longueur. L'avion s'est posé dans la zone de toucher des roues de la piste, mais il est sorti en bout de piste et a poursuivi sa course sur 236 pieds. Le train d'atterrissage avant s'est affaissé, et l'avion a fini sa course sur le nez et sur les atterrisseurs principaux. L'accident est survenu à 5 h 55, heure normale de l'Est (HNE)(1), avant le lever du soleil, à une altitude de 628 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), dans des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments. Les pilotes ont évacué l'appareil sans aide par la porte cargo principale. Personne n'a été blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'aéroport de Peterborough possède une seule piste (09/27). Elle est orientée d'est en ouest et sa surface est asphaltée. Elle mesure 5 000 pieds de longueur sur 100 pieds de largeur. L'approche aux instruments de l'aéroport est une approche de non-précision au NDB vers la piste 09. Le NDB à basse fréquence de Peterborough situé à 3,8 milles marins du seuil de la piste fait fonction de repère d'approche finale. L'altitude de survol en rapprochement du repère d'approche finale est fixée à 1 800 pieds asl avec une altitude de descente minimale(2) de 1 200 pieds asl (575 pieds au-dessus du sol ou agl). L'atterrissage se fait dans l'axe d'approche. L'équipage de conduite a indiqué qu'il n'avait eu aucune difficulté avec la réception du signal radio en provenance du NDB de Peterborough ni avec la poursuite du signal, que ce soit avant ou après le survol du NDB.

Le balisage lumineux de la piste 09 se composait de feux de seuil, de feux d'extrémité et de feux de bord de piste haute intensité. La piste 09 possède un système indicateur de trajectoire d'approche de précision utilisable par des appareils pour lesquels la distance entre les yeux du pilote et les roues de l'appareil ne dépasse pas 10 pieds. Tout le balisage lumineux disponible était, semble-t-il, sur ON et réglé à l'intensité 5 au moment de l'approche. Le balisage avait, semble-t-il, été mis manuellement sur ON par le personnel de l'aéroport. L'équipage de conduite n'a signalé aucun problème relatif au balisage lumineux de l'aéroport.

D'après les rapports, la surface de la piste était sèche et dégagée avant l'approche de KHA 2182. L'équipage d'un Learjet qui s'était posé sur la piste 09 peu de temps avant l'arrivée de KHA 2182 avait signalé que le freinage était bon. L'équipe d'entretien de la piste de l'aéroport a déclaré que la piste avait été sablé et que la qualité du freinage avait été jugée bonne par un véhicule d'entretien juste avant l'atterrissage de KHA 2182. Tous les renseignements mentionnés ci-devant avaient été reçus et collationnés par l'équipage de conduite de KHA 2182 alors qu'il était en liaison avec le centre de régulation des vols de la compagnie situé à Detroit (Michigan) pendant que l'appareil était en croisière, et juste avant l'approche alors qu'il était en communication radio UNICOM avec un exploitant de services aéroportuaires à l'aéroport de Peterborough.

L'avion s'est posé dans la zone de toucher des roues, avec les volets de bord de fuite complètement sortis. Les déporteurs de l'avion ont été déployés immédiatement après le toucher des roues. L'équipage a déclaré que le freinage avec le système antidérapage avait été passable dans la première partie de la course à l'atterrissage mais qu'il avait diminué pour devenir presque nul pendant la décélération de l'avion à une vitesse de toucher des roues de 125 noeuds. L'approche a été effectuée par le commandant de bord. Il a indiqué qu'il avait coupé l'antidérapage et avait commandé la sortie du parachute de freinage après s'être rendu compte qu'il n'arriverait peut-être pas à immobiliser l'avion sur la piste. Il a continué à freiner à fond mais il n'a pas réussi à immobiliser l'appareil sur la piste. Le parachute de freinage a été retrouvé à 3 200 pieds du seuil de piste, à peu près là où l'équipage a indiqué qu'il l'avait sorti. L'équipage de conduite a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas commandé le largage du parachute de freinage après avoir commandé sa sortie. Le mécanisme du parachute a été examiné après l'accident, mais aucun ennui mécanique n'a été décelé. L'enquête n'a pas révélé pourquoi le parachute s'est détaché de l'avion après s'être déployé. L'appareil ne possédait pas d'inverseurs de poussée.

À l'aéroport de Peterborough, les observations météorologiques sont faites par un météorologue entre 6 h et 16 h du lundi au vendredi, et par un système automatique d'observations météorologiques (AWOS) pendant le reste du temps du lundi au vendredi. L'observation faite par l'AWOS et enregistrée à 5 h 59, faisait état d'un ciel couvert à 500 pieds agl et d'une visibilité de deux milles et demi dans une petite pluie, tandis que l'observation faite par le météorologue à 6 h signalait un ciel couvert à 700 pieds agl et une visibilité d'un mille et demi dans un peu de pluie et de neige. Les vents soufflaient du 070 degrés vrai à 9 noeuds. De petites chutes de pluie avaient été signalées durant toute la nuit et tôt le matin, la température se situant entre 1 et 2 degrés au-dessus du point de congélation. La visibilité s'est dégradée pour tomber à 3/8 de mille dans de la neige modérée. De la neige mouillée s'est accumulée sur la piste immédiatement après l'accident. Les pilotes ont indiqué qu'ils n'avaient vu aucune neige en approche, mais qu'ils avaient observé de la neige après être descendu sous la base des nuages, juste en aval du repère d'approche finale. Il ne leur a toutefois pas semblé qu'il y avait une accumulation de neige sur la piste pendant l'approche.

figure 1

L'examen des pneus a révélé que les quatre pneus des deux roues jumelées du train d'atterrissage principal présentaient tous une zone de dévulcanisation (voir figure 1), ce qui est un signe d'aquaplanage. Quand ce phénomène se produit, les pneus de l'avion n'adhèrent plus du tout à la surface de la piste et continuent à glisser sur l'eau jusqu'à ce qu'une diminution de la vitesse leur permette de reprendre contact avec la surface de la piste. Pendant un aquaplanage dynamique total, les pneus n'adhèrent plus à la piste et se déplacent sur l'eau, ce qui se traduit par une perte complète de friction du pneu au point où il n'y a même plus de rotation de la roue. Sur une piste humide, là où il n'y a pas suffisamment d'eau pour provoquer un aquaplanage dynamique, il peut y avoir aquaplanage visqueux. Ce terme désigne l'action glissante ou lubrifiante normale de l'eau. Un aquaplanage visqueux ne réduit pas la friction au point de provoquer un arrêt de la rotation des roues. Par ailleurs, il peut y avoir aquaplanage avec dévulcanisation si une roue bloquée patine sur une piste très glissante recouverte d'eau ou de névasse à une vitesse supérieure à 20 noeuds, alors que la chaleur générée par la friction produit de la vapeur qui commence à dévulcaniser le caoutchouc, sur une partie du pneu, pour le ramener à son état d'avant-vulcanisation. L'augmentation de la distance d'arrêt en cas d'aquaplanage ne peut être prédite avec exactitude, mais on a jugé qu'elle pouvait atteindre les 700 %. Les tableaux de performances de l'avion indiquent que si la masse à l'atterrissage est de 22 198 livres, l'avion a besoin d'une distance d'atterrissage de 4 400 pieds pour s'immobiliser. Cette distance a été calculée pour un atterrissage sur une piste sèche et dégagée.

Le commandant de bord possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait 10 540 heures de vol, dont 6 852 sur type, et il travaillait pour le compte de cette compagnie depuis 1989. Il connaissait bien l'aéroport de Peterborough car il s'y était déjà rendu à maintes reprises à bord d'un Falcon. Le copilote possédait lui aussi la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait 3 575 heures de vol, dont 585 sur type, et il travaillait pour le compte de cette compagnie depuis 6 mois.

Analyse

Compte tenu des rapports sur l'état de la piste et sur les conditions météorologiques qu'il avait reçus en route et juste avant l'approche à Peterborough, l'équipage de conduite s'attendait à atterrir sur une piste humide et dégagée. Un tel état de piste n'aurait probablement pas dû augmenter de façon notable la distance d'atterrissage de l'avion par rapport à la distance sur piste sèche et dégagée, et l'équipage aurait donc dû disposer d'une longueur suffisante pour se poser et réussir à s'immobiliser sur la piste. Les précipitations se sont transformées en un léger mélange de pluie et de neige à peu près au moment où l'équipage a commencé son approche sur l'aéroport de Peterborough. Une pellicule de névasse et de pluie s'est accumulée sur la piste, provoquant un aquaplanage. Cette pellicule n'était pas suffisamment épaisse pour que l'équipage remarque sa présence pendant l'approche.

La mauvaise qualité du freinage sur la piste humide a empêché l'avion de décélérer normalement, une fois le dispositif antipatinage en marche. Bien que ce dispositif soit censé améliorer la qualité du freinage par rapport à un circuit de freinage conventionnel, le commandant a décidé de couper le dispositif d'antipatinage. Les roues se sont alors bloquées et se sont mises à glisser, l'aquaplanage a quasiment réduit le freinage à zéro, et l'avion est sorti en bout de piste.

L'équipage de conduite avait sorti le parachute de freinage mais, sans que l'on sache pourquoi, le parachute n'est pas resté accroché à l'avion et n'a pas permis de réduire la distance d'atterrissage.

Faits établis

  1. Les précipitations composées à l'origine d'une petite pluie se sont transformées en un mélange de pluie et de neige à peu près au moment où l'équipage de conduite commençait son approche sur l'aéroport.
  2. La surface de la piste était recouverte d'une fine couche de névasse à l'atterrissage.
  3. Le freinage a été moins efficace parce que les roues du train principal ont aquaplané pendant la course à l'atterrissage.
  4. Les roues du train principal de l'avion se sont bloquées et se sont mises à glisser au moment du freinage, alors que le dispositif d'antipatinage était coupé.
  5. Après s'être déployé, le parachute de freinage s'est détaché de l'avion.
  6. L'avion est sorti en bout de piste.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'avion a aquaplané et est sorti en bout de piste après que l'équipage de conduite eut coupé le dispositif d'antipatinage et sollicité les freins à fond. Il n'a pas été déterminé si l'utilisation du dispositif d'antipatinage aurait empêché l'avion de sortir en bout de piste, mais la distance nécessaire pour immobiliser l'appareil aurait été moins grande. On a jugé que le manque de freinage aérodynamique du parachute de freinage a contribué à l'accident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 29 octobre 1998 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.

2. Dans le cas d'une approche de non-précision, il s'agit d'une altitude exprimée par rapport au niveau de la mer au-dessous de laquelle il ne faut pas continuer à descendre à moins que les références visuelles nécessaires à la poursuite de l'approche en prévision de l'atterrissage n'aient été établies.