Aviation Investigation Report A98O0184

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Main Landing Gear Collapsed
Transport Canada
Beech A100 King Air C-FDOR
Ottawa MacDonald-Cartier
International Airport, Ontario
16 July 1998

Summary

The Beech A100 King Air, serial number B-103, departed Ottawa MacDonald-Cartier International Airport at 0830 eastern daylight saving time on an instrument flight rules (IFR) training flight to North Bay, Ontario, with two flight crew on board. At North Bay, the crew conducted a radar-vectored back-course approach to runway 26 with a touch-and-go landing followed by two visual flight rules touch-and-go landings, then a full-stop landing. The flight crew switched seat positions in the aircraft and departed on a return IFR flight to Ottawa. At Ottawa, when the landing gear was selected down, the crew observed an unsafe landing gear indication in the cockpit and requested and received overshoot instructions from air traffic control. Visual observation from the ground during the overshoot confirmed the landing gear was not extended. The flight crew carried out the emergency landing gear extension procedure, but still observed an unsafe landing gear position indication for the right main landing gear; however, the landing gear appeared to be extended when observed from the ground. The flight crew discussed how the landing would be carried out, requested emergency rescue services for the landing, and proceeded to land on runway 25. On the landing roll, the right main landing gear collapsed and the aircraft went off the right side of the runway. There were no injuries. The accident occurred during the hours of daylight in visual meteorological conditions.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

As the aircraft decelerated on the landing roll and the supported weight of the aircraft transferred from the wings to the landing gear, the right main landing gear began to collapse. The number two engine propeller, right wing trailing edge flap, and right wing tip contacted the ground when the landing gear fully collapsed. The aircraft veered to the right, went off the right side of the runway onto the grass infield area of the airport, and came to rest on a northerly heading, 3 000 feet from the threshold of runway 25. The runway, an asphalt surface 8 000 feet long by 200 feet wide, was bare and dry at the time.

The weather at the time of the occurrence was scattered cloud at 25 000 feet , a visibility of five miles in haze, with a temperature of 29 degrees Celsius, and a dew point of 22 degrees Celsius. The wind was from 210 degrees magnetic at eight knots.

The flight crew was certified and qualified in accordance with existing regulations to conduct the flight. The pilot in command had flown 20 hours and the co-pilot 15 hours in the last 90 days, all on type.

Aircraft records indicated the aircraft was certified and equipped in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

The aircraft was originally equipped with an electrically-operated landing gear retraction and extension system. The circuit breaker used to protect the electric motor that operated the electric landing gear system was a 120-amp circuit breaker. As a result of reported electrical fires associated with the electric motor, Airworthiness Directive 95-13-03 was issued instructing operators of the aircraft to replace the 120-amp circuit breaker with a 60-amp breaker. Aviadesign Incorporated, an American company, developed and had approved a supplemental type certificate (STC), SA 4013WE, to allow the landing gear on the Beech A100 aircraft to be modified from electric operation to hydraulic operation. In February 1996, the occurrence aircraft was modified in accordance with the STC, using the same type of electric motor and the same rated 60-amp circuit breaker to operate the hydraulic pump. An STC does not require consultation with or endorsement by the aircraft manufacturer.

During normal operation of aircraft equipped with Aviadesign STC hydraulic landing gear, the nose and main landing gear are retracted and extended by hydraulic actuators, which receive hydraulic fluid under pressure from an electrically-driven pump. The electric motor for the hydraulic pump is protected by a 60-amp circuit breaker located on the aircraft cockpit floor between the pilot seats. On the accident aircraft, the 60-amp circuit breaker was located on the floor at the front of the aircraft passenger cabin, recessed for protection, and not accessible by the pilots from the cockpit. (The Transport Canada, Aircraft Services Directorate (ASD), standard operating procedures (SOPs) for the Beech A100 King Air aircraft generally do not permit pilots in flight to reset circuit breakers with values as high as 60 amps.) System pressure is maintained by a pressure switch, which cycles the electric motor on and off via a relay. The hydraulic system incorporates a nitrogen-charged accumulator to prevent spike pressures and to provide a hydraulic cushion within the system. An amber light in the cockpit illuminates and remains illuminated when electric power is applied to the hydraulic pump motor. All three landing gear are held in the retracted position by system hydraulic pressure.

A red light in the landing gear selector handle is illuminated any time the landing gear is in transit. Extinguishing of the red light with the landing gear selector handle in the gear-up position indicates that the landing gear is fully retracted. The nose landing gear hydraulic actuator has an internal lock that provides a positive downlock for the nose landing gear. Mechanical over-centre downlocks located on the main landing gear drag braces provide downlocks for the main landing gear. Individual green light indicators in the cockpit illuminate when the respective landing gear is fully down and locked. Illumination of all three green lights and extinguishing of the gear in-transit light with the landing gear selector handle in the down position indicate the landing gear is fully extended and locked in the down position. If the landing gear is not down and locked and either or both engine power levers are retarded below an engine setting sufficient to maintain flight, a warning horn will sound intermittently.

In the event the landing gear fails to extend by the normal method, extension of the landing gear is accomplished by the flight crew actioning the "Landing Gear Emergency Extension Checklist." The checklist instructs the crew to slow the aircraft to 120 knots indicated airspeed, manually open the landing gear relay circuit breaker located in the cockpit, and select the landing gear handle to the landing gear down position. The pilots rotate the manual hydraulic vent valve and the emergency gear extension nitrogen valve(1) to the full open position and check that all three green landing gear lights are illuminated.

The manual hydraulic vent and nitrogen valves are located on the aircraft cockpit floor between the two pilot seats. Several counterclockwise rotations are required to fully open each valve. The valves rotate with little or no resistance. When the hydraulic vent valve is fully open, all three landing gear free fall to the extended position. When the nitrogen valve is fully open, pressure from a nitrogen bottle forces the main landing gear beyond the over-centre locks to lock the landing gear in the down position. Maximum pressure in a fully charged nitrogen bottle is 1 500 pounds per square inch (psi). The normal landing gear extension system cannot be operated after the emergency system has been activated until the landing gear system has been returned to normal by maintenance personnel on the ground.

When the aircraft was examined at the accident site, the landing gear handle was in the down position, the landing gear relay circuit breaker was open, and both the hydraulic landing gear vent and the nitrogen valves were in the full open position. The nitrogen gauge was indicating 800 psi, which would be normal following bottle use. The 60-amp circuit breaker for the landing gear hydraulic pump electric motor was open. As the right wing of the aircraft was raised off the ground during recovery after the accident, the right main landing gear extended and locked in the down position. The aircraft was then towed to the hangar and placed on aircraft jacks.

The landing gear hydraulic and emergency extension systems were returned to normal. The 60-amp hydraulic pump electric motor circuit breaker and the landing gear relay circuit breaker were reset, and the landing gear was cycled in the normal mode several times without malfunction. The 60-amp circuit breaker was then opened, and the landing gear was extended by the emergency extension procedure several times without malfunction. It was determined that the landing gear would not free-fall during the emergency extension procedure until the hydraulic vent valve was in the full open position.

Subsequent to the normal and emergency landing gear extensions in the hangar, the nitrogen charge for the hydraulic system accumulator was found to be depleted. The accumulator was recharged, and after two days the nitrogen charge was found to be depleted again. The accumulator was dismantled and found to be unserviceable. Damaged and deteriorated O-rings were found leaking at both ends of the accumulator. In accordance with the STC, nitrogen pressure was to be checked every 1 000 hours of aircraft operation or during every major inspection; however, the operator routinely checked the pressure every 200 hours. The nitrogen charge for the accumulator is separate from the emergency landing gear extension system. No other defects were found during examination of the landing gear and landing gear retraction and extension systems.

Analysis

The aircraft landing gear did not extend when the flight crew selected it down for landing at Ottawa because the circuit breaker for the electric motor that operated the hydraulic pump had opened. The landing gear will not extend by the normal method without the operation of the electric motor to operate the hydraulic pump.

The depleted nitrogen charge in the landing gear accumulator would result in more frequent cycling of the hydraulic pump motor to maintain system hydraulic pressure. The combination of repeated landing gear cycling at North Bay and more frequent cycling of the electric hydraulic pump motor because of the depleted nitrogen charge in the hydraulic system accumulator likely caused the 60-amp circuit breaker to overheat and open, shutting off electric power to the hydraulic pump motor.

Operation of the emergency landing gear extension system resulted in all three landing gear extending, but the right main landing gear did not lock in the down position and collapsed as the aircraft weight settled on it during the landing roll. It could not be determined why the right main landing gear did not lock in the down position during the emergency extension.

Findings

  1. The crew was certified and qualified for the flight.
  2. Aircraft records indicated the aircraft was certified and equipped in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The 60-amp circuit breaker for the electric hydraulic pump motor opened, rendering the aircraft normal hydraulic landing gear system inoperable.
  4. The aircraft right main landing gear indicator did not indicate the down and locked position following extension of the aircraft landing gear by the emergency method.
  5. The aircraft right main landing gear collapsed during the landing roll.
  6. The aircraft landing gear hydraulic system accumulator was found defective and would not maintain the required nitrogen charge.
  7. The depleted landing gear hydraulic system accumulator should not affect the ability of the landing gear system to actuate in normal or emergency operation.

Causes and Contributing Factors

For undetermined reasons, the right main landing gear did not lock down following extension of the landing gear by the emergency method, causing it to collapse on the landing roll. The normal aircraft hydraulic landing gear extension and retraction system was rendered inoperable when the circuit breaker for the electric hydraulic pump motor opened, likely due to overheating from repeated cycling of the electric motor. A defective landing gear hydraulic system accumulator contributed to the repeated cycling of the electric hydraulic pump motor.

Safety Action

Actions Taken

Since the occurrence Transport Canada, ASD, has taken the following actions:

  1. The Beech A100 King Air SOPs have been amended to allow a single, in-flight reset of the electric hydraulic pump motor 60-amp circuit breaker.
  2. The 60-amp circuit breaker in the accident aircraft has been relocated to the aircraft cockpit. This location is now the same as on the other Beech King Air aircraft in the ASD fleet that have the Aviadesign STC hydraulic landing gear.
  3. A mirror has been installed on the inboard side of the Beech A100 King Air engine cowlings to provide a means for pilots to observe the nose landing gear position from the aircraft cockpit.
  4. The ASD Flight Operations Manual was amended to read, "where practicable, it is recommended that the pilot contact the applicable ASD operations centre, and state the nature of the problem, the assistance required, and the time remaining before a landing is necessary."

Actions Required

The safety actions taken by Transport Canada, ASD, have possible continuing airworthiness operational implications for the fleet of similar aircraft operating elsewhere in Canada and in other countries. These actions include permitting a single in-flight reset of the electric hydraulic pump motor 60-amp circuit breaker, relocating the 60-amp circuit breaker to the cockpit, and installing a mirror to provide a means for the pilot to observe the nose landing gear position from the cockpit. Dissemination of this information to other King Air operators in Canada and around the world for the purpose of possible similar safety actions by other operators would reduce the risk of similar accidents.

Annex 8, "Airworthiness of Aircraft," to the Convention on International Civil Aviation contains provisions urging the State of Registry of an aircraft to notify the State of Design about information that might cause adverse effects on the continuing airworthiness of an aircraft. It seems appropriate that the changes to the configuration and operating procedures for the Transport Canada King Air fleet should be brought to the attention of the Federal Aviation Administration in the United States, the State of Design, for possible fleet-wide safety action. Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport ensure that all Canadian operators of the Beech King Air with the Aviadesign landing gear modification are advised of the circumstances of this accident and the safety actions taken, with the view toward implementing similar changes to prevent a future similar accident.
A00-07

Assessment/Reassessment Rating: Fully Satisfactory

The Department of Transport notify the United States Federal Aviation Administration, in accordance with Annex 8, "Airworthiness of Aircraft," to the Convention on International Civil Aviation, about the circumstances of this accident and the safety actions taken, with the view toward wider application of the safety actions.
A00-08

Assessment/Reassessment Rating: Fully Satisfactory

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 1 March 2000.


1. The nitrogen bottle associated with the emergency landing gear extension system is not associated with the hydraulic system accumulator.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98O0184

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Affaissement du train d'atterrissage principal
Transports Canada Beech A100 King Air C-FDOR
Aéroport international d'Ottawa/
MacDonald-Cartier (Ontario)
Le 16 juillet 1998

Résumé

À 8 h 30, heure avancée de l'Est, le Beech A100 King Air portant le numéro de série B-103 et ayant à son bord deux membres d'équipage décolle de l'aéroport international d'Ottawa/MacDonald-Cartier (Ontario) pour effectuer un vol d'entraînement selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) à destination de North Bay (Ontario). À North Bay, l'équipage effectue sous guidage radar une approche alignement arrière de la piste 26, un posé-décollé suivi de deux posés-décollés selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), puis un atterrissage avec arrêt complet. Les membres de l'équipage de conduite changent de siège et effectuent le vol de retour vers Ottawa en IFR. À Ottawa, l'équipage commande la sortie du train d'atterrissage et observe une indication train non verrouillé dans le poste de pilotage. Il demande alors au contrôle de la circulation aérienne l'autorisation de remettre les gaz, ce qui lui est accordé. Pendant la manoeuvre, une observation visuelle faite à partir du sol permet de confirmer que le train d'atterrissage n'est pas sorti. L'équipage de conduite suit la procédure de sortie d'urgence du train d'atterrissage et observe malgré tout une indication de train principal droit non verrouillé; cependant, vu du sol, le train d'atterrissage semble sorti. L'équipage de conduite discute de la façon dont il va atterrir et demande la présence des services d'intervention d'urgence (SIU) avant d'atterrir sur la piste 25. Pendant la course à l'atterrissage, le train principal droit s'affaisse et l'appareil sort du côté droit de la piste. L'accident est survenu de jour, dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue et n'a fait aucun blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Pendant la course à l'atterrissage, alors que l'appareil décélérait et que sa masse était transférée des ailes au train d'atterrissage, le train d'atterrissage droit a commencé à s'affaisser. L'hélice du moteur no 2, le volet de bord de fuite de l'aile droite et l'extrémité de l'aile droite ont raclé le sol au moment où le train d'atterrissage s'affaissait complètement. L'appareil a viré à droite et est sorti sur le côté droit de la piste avant de s'immobiliser, cap au nord, dans la partie gazonnée de l'entrepiste de l'aérodrome, à 3 000 pieds du seuil de la piste 25. La piste mesure 8 000 pieds de longueur sur 200 pieds de largeur, et sa surface asphaltée était nue et sèche.

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 25 000 pieds, visibilité de 5 milles dans la brume sèche, température de 29 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de 22 degrés Celsius, et vents du 210 degrés magnétique à 8 noeuds.

Les membres de l'équipage de conduite possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Le commandant de bord et le copilote avaient effectué respectivement 20 heures et 15 heures sur type dans les 90 jours précédents.

Les dossiers de l'avion indiquent que l'appareil était certifié et équipé conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

À l'origine, l'appareil était équipé d'un système électrique d'escamotage du train. Le moteur électrique du système était protégé par un disjoncteur de 120 ampères. Des incendies d'origine électrique associés à ce moteur ayant été signalés, on a publié la consigne de navigabilité 95-13-03 demandant aux exploitants de l'appareil de remplacer le disjoncteur de 120 ampères par un disjoncteur de 60 ampères. L'entreprise américaine Aviadesign Incorporated avait élaboré et fait approuver le certificat de type supplémentaire (CTS) SA 4013WE permettant de modifier le train d'atterrissage du Beech A100 pour qu'il soit actionné de façon hydraulique plutôt qu'à l'aide d'un moteur électrique. En février 1996, l'avion avait été modifié conformément à ce CTS, avec le même type de moteur électrique et le même disjoncteur de 60 ampères pour le fonctionnement de la pompe hydraulique. Dans le cas d'un CTS, il n'est pas obligatoire de consulter l'avionneur ni que ce dernier accepte la modification en question.

En exploitation normale, les trains avant et principaux d'un appareil équipé du train d'atterrissage hydraulique mentionné dans le CTS d'Aviadesign sont actionnés grâce à des vérins hydrauliques alimentés en liquide hydraulique sous pression par une électropompe. Le moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique est protégé par un disjoncteur de 60 ampères situé au niveau du plancher du poste de pilotage, entre les sièges des pilotes. Sur l'avion accidenté, le disjoncteur de 60 ampères se trouvait au niveau du plancher, à l'avant de la cabine passagers; encastré par mesure de protection, il était inaccessible aux pilotes à partir du poste de pilotage. (Les procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) des Services des aéronefs de Transports Canada relatives au Beech A100 King Air ne permettent pas aux pilotes de réenclencher en vol des disjoncteurs ayant une valeur nominale de 60 ampères.) La pression du circuit est maintenue par un manocontacteur qui met en marche et arrête le moteur électrique au moyen d'un relais. Le circuit hydraulique comporte un accumulateur chargé d'azote pour empêcher les pointes de pression et pour fournir un coussin hydraulique à l'intérieur du circuit. Un voyant ambre s'allume dans le poste de pilotage et reste allumé lorsque le moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique est alimenté. Les trois trains d'atterrissage sont maintenus en position rentrée grâce à la pression hydraulique du circuit.

Un voyant rouge s'allume sur le levier de commande de train lorsque le train d'atterrissage est en mouvement. Si le levier de commande de train est en position rentrée et que le voyant rouge est éteint, cela signifie que le train d'atterrissage est complètement rentré. Le vérin hydraulique du train avant est muni d'un verrou interne permettant de verrouiller le train avant en position sortie. Des verrous d'arc-boutement se trouvant sur les contrefiches du train d'atterrissage principal permettent de verrouiller le train en position sortie. Des voyants verts, correspondant chacun à une jambe de train, s'allument dans le poste de pilotage pour indiquer que le train est complètement sorti et verrouillé. Si les trois voyants verts s'allument et que le voyant train en mouvement s'éteint lorsque le levier de commande de train est en position sortie, cela signifie que le train d'atterrissage est complètement sorti et verrouillé. Si le train d'atterrissage n'est pas sorti et verrouillé et que la position d'au moins l'une des deux manettes des gaz ne correspond pas à une puissance moteur suffisante pour maintenir l'avion en vol, un klaxon retentit alors de façon intermittente.

Si le train d'atterrissage ne peut être sorti en suivant la procédure normale, l'équipage de conduite le sort en suivant la procédure figurant sur la liste de vérifications de sortie d'urgence du train d'atterrissage. La procédure stipule que l'équipage doit ralentir jusqu'à ce que la vitesse indiquée (KIAS) soit de 120 noeuds, qu'il faut ouvrir manuellement le disjoncteur à relais du train d'atterrissage qui se trouve dans le poste de pilotage et qu'il faut placer le levier de commande train sur la position sortie. Les pilotes ouvrent complètement le robinet manuel de mise à l'air libre du circuit hydraulique et le robinet d'azote(1) de sortie d'urgence du train en les tournant, et ils vérifient si les trois voyants verts du train d'atterrissage s'allument.

Le robinet manuel de mise à l'air libre du circuit hydraulique et le robinet d'azote se trouvent au niveau du plancher du poste de pilotage de l'appareil, entre les deux sièges des pilotes. Pour ouvrir complètement les robinets, il faut les tourner plusieurs fois dans le sens contraire des aiguilles d'une montre. Les robinets offrent peu ou pas de résistance à la rotation. Lorsque le robinet manuel de mise à l'air libre du circuit hydraulique est ouvert complètement, les trois trains d'atterrissage sortent par gravité et demeurent en position sortie. Lorsque le robinet d'azote est complètement ouvert, la pression à l'intérieur de la bouteille d'azote pousse le train d'atterrissage principal au-delà des verrous d'arc-boutement et verrouille le train d'atterrissage en position sortie. La pression maximale à l'intérieur d'une bouteille d'azote pleine est de 1 500 livres par pouce carré (lb/po2). Une fois que le système de sortie d'urgence du train a été activé, le système normal de sortie du train d'atterrissage ne peut être utilisé avant que le personnel de maintenance au sol n'ait remis le système du train d'atterrissage dans son état normal.

Lors de l'examen de l'appareil sur les lieux de l'accident, le levier de commande du train d'atterrissage était à la position sortie, le disjoncteur à relais du train d'atterrissage était ouvert et le robinet manuel de mise à l'air libre du circuit hydraulique ainsi que le robinet d'azote étaient complètement ouverts. L'indicateur d'azote indiquait 800 lb/po2, ce qui semble normal, compte tenu de l'utilisation de la bouteille. Le disjoncteur de 60 ampères du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique du train d'atterrissage était ouvert. Pendant la récupération de l'épave après l'accident, au moment où l'on soulevait l'aile droite de l'appareil, le train d'atterrissage principal droit est sorti et s'est verrouillé en position sortie. L'appareil a ensuite été remorqué jusqu'au hangar où il a été placé sur des vérins.

Le circuit hydraulique d'escamotage du train et le système d'urgence du train ont été remis dans leur état normal. Le disjoncteur de 60 ampères du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique ainsi que le disjoncteur à relais du train d'atterrissage ont été réenclenchés et le fonctionnement en mode normal du train d'atterrissage a été vérifié plusieurs fois. Aucune anomalie n'a été observée. Le disjoncteur de 60 ampères a ensuite été ouvert, et le train d'atterrissage a été sorti plusieurs fois sans problème en suivant la procédure d'urgence. Il a été établi que, pendant la procédure de sortie d'urgence, le train d'atterrissage ne pouvait pas sortir par gravité avant que le robinet manuel de mise à l'air libre ne soit complètement ouvert.

Après la sortie normale et la sortie d'urgence du train d'atterrissage dans le hangar, on a découvert que la charge d'azote de l'accumulateur du circuit hydraulique était nulle. L'accumulateur a été rechargé et, après deux jours, la charge d'azote était de nouveau nulle. L'accumulateur a été démonté et déclaré inutilisable. Aux deux extrémités de l'accumulateur, on a trouvé des joints toriques endommagés et usés qui fuyaient. Selon le CTS, la pression d'azote doit être vérifiée toutes les 1 000 heures de vol de l'appareil ou lors de chaque inspection majeure; néanmoins, l'exploitant la vérifiait systématiquement toutes les 200 heures. La charge d'azote de l'accumulateur n'est pas liée au système d'urgence du train d'atterrissage. Aucune autre anomalie n'a été décelée pendant l'examen du train d'atterrissage et de ses systèmes d'escamotage.

Analyse

Lorsque l'équipage de conduite a commandé la sortie du train avant l'atterrissage à Ottawa, le train n'est pas sorti parce que le disjoncteur du moteur électrique actionnant la pompe hydraulique s'était ouvert. Le train ne sort pas de façon normale sans que le moteur électrique actionne la pompe hydraulique.

L'absence de charge d'azote dans l'accumulateur du train d'atterrissage serait attribuable à l'utilisation plus fréquente du moteur de la pompe hydraulique pour maintenir la pression hydraulique du circuit. Il semble que l'utilisation répétée du train d'atterrissage à North Bay combinée à l'utilisation plus fréquente du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique à cause de l'absence de charge d'azote dans l'accumulateur du circuit hydraulique aient provoqué la surchauffe et l'ouverture du disjoncteur de 60 ampères, ce qui a coupé l'alimentation électrique du moteur de la pompe hydraulique.

Les trois trains d'atterrissage ont été sortis grâce au système d'urgence du train d'atterrissage, mais le train d'atterrissage principal droit ne s'est pas verrouillé en position sortie et s'est affaissé sous le poids de l'appareil pendant la course à l'atterrissage. L'enquête n'a pas révélé pourquoi le train d'atterrissage principal droit ne s'est pas verrouillé en position sortie après que l'équipage eut commandé la sortie du train à l'aide du système d'urgence du train d'atterrissage.

Faits établis

  1. L'équipage possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol.
  2. Les dossiers de l'avion indiquent que l'appareil était certifié et équipé conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. Le disjoncteur de 60 ampères du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique s'est ouvert, et le circuit hydraulique d'escamotage du train d'atterrissage est devenu inutilisable.
  4. Après la sortie du train d'atterrissage de l'appareil effectuée conformément à la procédure d'urgence, rien n'indiquait que le train d'atterrissage principal droit de l'appareil était sorti et verrouillé.
  5. Le train d'atterrissage principal droit de l'appareil s'est affaissé pendant la course à l'atterrissage.
  6. L'enquête a révélé que l'accumulateur du circuit hydraulique du train d'atterrissage de l'appareil était défectueux et qu'il ne pouvait conserver la charge d'azote nécessaire.
  7. L'absence de charge dans l'accumulateur du circuit hydraulique du train d'atterrissage ne devrait pas gêner le fonctionnement du système d'escamotage normal du train ni du système d'urgence du train.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Pour une raison qui n'a pas été déterminée, le train d'atterrissage principal droit ne s'est pas verrouillé après avoir été sorti selon la procédure d'urgence et il s'est affaissé pendant la course à l'atterrissage. Le circuit hydraulique d'escamotage normal du train d'atterrissage est devenu inutilisable parce que le disjoncteur du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique s'est ouvert, à cause, semble-t-il, de la surchauffe due à l'utilisation répétée du moteur électrique. Un accumulateur défectueux dans le circuit hydraulique du train d'atterrissage a contribué à l'utilisation répétée du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Depuis cet incident, les Services des aéronefs de Transports Canada ont pris les mesures suivantes :

  1. Les SOP relatives au Beech A100 King Air ont été modifiées afin de permettre un seul réenclenchement en vol du disjoncteur de 60 ampères du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique.
  2. Le disjoncteur de 60 ampères de l'avion se trouve dorénavant dans le poste de pilotage de l'appareil, soit au même endroit que dans les autres Beech King Air de la flotte des Services des aéronefs qui sont équipés du train d'atterrissage hydraulique décrit dans le CTS d'Aviadesign.
  3. Un miroir a été installé du côté intérieur des capots moteurs du Beech A100 King Air pour permettre aux pilotes de voir la position du train d'atterrissage avant à partir du poste de pilotage.
  4. Le manuel d'exploitation des Services des aéronefs a été modifié et prévoit ce qui suit : il est recommandé, dans la mesure du possible, que le pilote communique avec le centre des opérations des Services des aéronefs concerné et qu'il mentionne la nature du problème, l'aide dont il a besoin et le temps qu'il lui reste avant d'être forcé d'atterrir.

Mesures à prendre

Les mesures de sécurité prises par les Services des aéronefs de Transports Canada peuvent avoir des répercussions sur le maintien de la navigabilité de la flotte des appareils semblables exploités ailleurs au Canada et à l'étranger. Les mesures en question sont les suivantes : il est maintenant permis de faire un seul réenclenchement en vol du disjoncteur de 60 ampères du moteur électrique de la pompe hydraulique; un disjoncteur a été installé dans le poste de pilotage et un miroir a été installé pour permettre au pilote de voir la position du train d'atterrissage avant à partir du poste de pilotage. La diffusion de cette information aux autres exploitants de King Air au Canada et à l'étranger pour qu'ils puissent prendre des mesures de sécurité semblables permettrait de réduire les risques d'accident de ce genre.

L'annexe 8 à la Convention relative à l'aviation civile internationale, intitulée Certificats de navigabilité d'aéronefs, renferme des dispositions obligeant l'État d'immatriculation d'un appareil à mettre au courant l'État de conception des renseignements qui pourraient nuire au maintien de la navigabilité. Il semble de mise que les modifications apportées à la configuration et aux procédures d'exploitation de la flotte de King Air de Transports Canada soient signalées à la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis, qui est l'État de conception, pour que des mesures de sécurité puissent être prises au niveau de la flotte. En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

le ministère des Transports s'assure que tous les exploitants canadiens de Beech King Air ayant exécuté la modification du train d'atterrissage suggérée par Aviadesign soient mis au courant des circonstances entourant cet accident et des mesures de sécurité qui ont été prises pour qu'ils puissent mettre en oeuvre des mesures de sécurité similaires pour éviter la récurrence de ce genre d'accident.
A00-07

Évaluation/Réévaluation Catégorie : intention entièrement satisfaisante

et que

le ministère des Transports, conformément à l'annexe 8 à la Convention relative à l'aviation civile internationale, intitulée Certificats de navigabilité d'aéronefs, mette la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis au courant des circonstances entourant cet accident et lui signale les mesures de sécurité qui ont été prises pour que ces mesures puissent être mises en oeuvre à plus grande échelle.
A00-08

Évaluation/Réévaluation Catégorie : intention entièrement satisfaisante

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 1er mars 2000.


1. La bouteille d'azote liée au système de sortie d'urgence du train d'atterrissage n'est pas liée à l'accumulateur du circuit hydraulique.