Aviation Investigation Report A98O0190

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the

Stall/Collision with Trees on Take-off
Piper PA 28-151 C-GDVL
Espanola West, Ontario
27 July 1998

Summary

The pilot and three passengers were departing in the Piper PA 28, serial No. 28-7615332, on a visual flight rules (VFR) flight from Espanola West to Ottawa, Ontario. The runway surface was grass on uneven, sandy soil, made soft from recent rain. The pilot made two excursions down the runway before the aircraft became airborne on the third excursion. After the aircraft got airborne, it struck trees to the left of the departure path and crashed into a wooded area. An intense, post-crash, fuel-fed fire immediately broke out which consumed the cabin of the aircraft. One passenger, an infant, perished in the aircraft fire. The pilot and the other two passengers escaped the burning aircraft and were found about 40 feet from the wreckage by ambulance and fire-fighting personnel. They were transported to hospital where they died later from burns.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid Private Pilot - Aeroplanes licence and was qualified to conduct the flight. He had accumulated approximately 350 hours of total flying time.

Visual meteorological weather conditions (VMC) existed in the area at the time of the occurrence, and the temperature was 23 degrees Celsius. It had been raining earlier in the day, and the pilot had delayed his departure until the weather improved. Hourly weather observations for the airport were not available; however, the 2300Z hourly weather observation for Elliot Lake, 33 miles to the northwest, recorded the winds from 300 degrees at 15 with gusts to 25 knots. The reported winds at Sudbury, 54 miles to the northeast, at 2200Z, were variably from 270 to 330 degrees at 17 knots; at 2300Z, the winds were from 270 degrees at 14 knots. The winds at Sault Ste. Marie, 115 miles to the west, at 2300Z, were reported from 290 degrees at 10 knots with gusts to 21 knots.

The runway, approximately 250 feet wide and 2 900 feet long, was surrounded by trees and was oriented on a heading of 283 degrees magnetic. There were patches of ground on the runway surface where the soil was very soft. The grass had been cut recently and was two to three inches long. It was learned from an operator familiar with the airport that their tricycle-equipped aircraft were not permitted to use the airstrip after rain had fallen because the soil becomes very soft when wet. Higher ground is located at the end of the departure runway and to the west. (See Appendix A.)

There were two witnesses to the occurrence; an aural witness near the runway threshold and an eyewitness about 200 feet off the threshold of the runway. They reported that the aircraft's engine, based on the noise it produced, seemed to be developing considerable power and that they did not note any change in the sound of the engine until after the aircraft struck the trees. The aircraft's flight after lift-off was described as floating and hovering. The nose of the aircraft was then observed to lower, and the aircraft started to bank to the left just before it struck the first tree.

Information gathered at the scene indicated that the aircraft, while flying straight ahead, first struck two trees with the left wing, which yawed the aircraft to the left, then it struck more trees while travelling sideways from left to right. The aircraft struck the ground still travelling from left to right and came to rest in an upright position with the right wing failed at the root and supported by a tree trunk. An intense fuel-fed fire erupted on or immediately after impact. The most intense fire was in the cabin of the aircraft and broke out before the occupants exited the aircraft.

The wreckage was examined at the site. The engine still rotated easily by hand. The propeller had struck some trees, and the marks on the trees and the condition of the propeller showed that the engine was producing high power. Although much of the aircraft was burned away, durable materials such as hinges, steel cables, and heavy metal remained. All of the aircraft flight control surfaces were accounted for, and the control cables were intact at the time of the crash. The flaps were completely burned away; however, the flap control handle was found locked in the 40-degree position. There are four flap settings: retracted, 10 degrees, 25 degrees, and 40 degrees (full flaps). The flap handle is located between the pilot seats and is mechanically connected to the flaps by a torque tube. The handle is flush with the floor of the aircraft, when the flaps are retracted, and near vertical with full flap selected. It was determined that the three adults were probably wearing the available seat belts; the infant was strapped into a forward facing car seat.

The maximum allowable take-off weight for the aircraft was 2 325 pounds. It was not possible to determine the exact weight of the aircraft at take-off because the baggage, which was loaded on board the aircraft, was never weighed and the exact fuel quantity is not known. However, the weight of the aircraft at take-off was estimated to be between 2 300 and 2 400 pounds.

The Pilot's Operating Manual for the aircraft contains performance figures for take-off from a paved, level, dry runway at the maximum gross take-off weight of 2 325 pounds. Using a temperature of 23 degrees Celsius and the preceding conditions, the take-off run was calculated to be 1 255 feet using no flaps and 965 feet using 25 degrees of flap. The take-off distance to clear a 50-foot obstacle at the end of the runway, using 25 degrees of flap, was 1 760 feet. A Transport Canada publication, entitled Light Aircraft Operating Tips - Rules of Thumb for Operations at Unimproved Strips, provides supplementary information to a manufacturer's approved take-off performance charts for conditions not covered by the manufacturer's tests. The publication suggests that, for a runway surface that is rough, rocky, or covered with short grass (up to four inches), the take-off ground roll should be increased by 10 per cent. It further suggests that, for a runway with a soft surface (mud, snow, etc.), the ground roll should be increased by 75 per cent or more. With the flaps set at 25 degrees, the combined penalties would result in a required take-off ground roll of at least 1 858 feet and, to clear a 50-foot obstacle, at least 2 653 feet. There are no take-off/performance charts available for the aircraft if it is operated above the maximum gross take-off weight.

The Pilot's Operating Manual for the aircraft notes that take-offs are normally made with the flaps up; however, for short field take-offs and for take-offs under difficult conditions, such as deep grass or a soft surface, take-off distances can be reduced appreciably by lowering the flaps to 25 degrees and rotating at lower airspeeds. However, the Pilot's Operating Manual for the aircraft does not recommend nor contain any performance charts for take-offs with full flaps extended. Extending some flap during take-off will generally result in a shorter take-off run and a better angle of climb; however, using full flaps results in a low lift-to-induced-drag ratio, and the climb angle is reduced. When effectively performed, the soft field take-off technique will result in a shorter take-off ground roll; however, any attempt to force the aircraft into the air prematurely results in an increased take-off distance and degraded climb performance.

The aircraft battery is located beneath the floorboards in the area of the right, rear-seat passenger. Large gauge electrical cables connect the battery to the aircraft's electrical system, with current flowing to and from the battery through these cables.

There was no indication that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

Analysis

Based on the wind information obtained, it is likely that the wind at Espanola was from 270 to 300 degrees at 10 to 15 knots with gusts. As the runway take-off direction was 283 degrees, it is unlikely that the aircraft was greatly affected by the wind conditions and the local topography, except that a headwind would have increased aircraft take-off performance.

Based on the three excursions down the runway, witness description of the engine noise, and the examination of the engine, it was concluded that the engine was producing the required power. A complete examination of the aircraft was not possible because of the substantial fire damage. However, there was nothing found to indicate that there was any aircraft structural failure or system malfunction before the crash.

The aircraft was at or near the maximum allowable weight and would, therefore, require the maximum calculated take-off distance and possibly more. The runway surface conditions and the fully extended flaps further increased the take-off distance and the distance required to climb to an altitude to safely pass over the trees. It is possible that the first excursion down the runway may have been made by the pilot in an attempt to establish runway surface conditions and that the second and third excursions were take-off attempts. Based on witness accounts and the fact that a pilot would normally change some parameter of the aircraft configuration after experiencing a failed take-off attempt, if the first excursion down the runway was a take-off attempt, it is probable that the first attempt was conducted without any flaps extended and the second attempt with the flaps extended to 25 degrees, the manufacturer's recommended flap extension for a soft-field take-off. It was concluded that the flaps were set at 40 degrees during the last take-off attempt because of the manner in which the flaps are operated and the lever locked in position. Take-offs with flaps extended fully are not a recommended practice, but the aircraft did become airborne. However, with the flaps fully extended, the high drag resulted in a loss of climb performance, which made it impossible for the aircraft to climb fast enough to clear the trees off the end of the runway. In an attempt to clear the trees, the pilot probably raised the nose of the aircraft, but because of the low speed and high drag, the aircraft stalled.

Corrections can be made to published take-off distance estimates using published information; however, there is no manufacturer's published take-off/performance information available for the conditions of the occurrence flight. It is not possible, therefore, to estimate the take-off run required or the distance required to reach 50 feet above ground at the end of the runway for an aircraft above the maximum certificated take-off weight with full flaps extended. The distance to clear a 50-foot obstacle at the end of the runway would undoubtedly be more than with the flaps set to 25 degrees.

The impact was survivable, most probably because the impacts with the trees and the angles at which they were struck absorbed most of the aircraft's momentum and because the passengers were wearing their restraints; however, the fire that followed the impact led to the fatalities. The likely source for the fire would have been an electrical short in the area of the battery causing arcing in the presence of gasoline vapours from the ruptured fuel system.

Findings

  1. Records show that the aircraft was maintained in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. There was no indication of any pre-impact damage to the engine which would have prevented it from developing rated power.
  3. There was no indication of malfunction or component failure of the aircraft that would contribute to the accident.
  4. Records show that the pilot was licenced and certified to conduct the flight.
  5. There was no indication that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.
  6. The estimated weight of the aircraft at take-off was at or near the maximum allowable gross take-off weight.
  7. It is possible that the pilot may have made the first excursion down the runway in an attempt to establish the runway surface conditions and that the second and third excursions were take-off attempts.
  8. The occurrence take-off was conducted with full flaps extended.
  9. A combination of the runway surface condition, aircraft weight, and pilot take-off technique, in that he used full flaps, combined to extend the distance required to pass safely over obstacles in the departure path after take-off.
  10. Based on the wind direction, runway orientation , and the local topography, it is unlikely that the aircraft encountered adverse wind conditions on take-off.
  11. The aircraft struck trees in its departure path.
  12. An intense, fuel-fed fire erupted at or immediately after impact, before the occupants exited the aircraft.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot attempted to take off in conditions where a successful take-off could not be made; the conditions being the high aircraft weight and the soft, grassy runway. The fully extended flaps contributed to the occurrence when they prevented the aircraft from climbing quickly enough to safely pass above trees at the end of the runway after the aircraft became airborne.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros and Henry Wright, authorized the release of this report on 17 November 1999.

Appendix A - Runway and Crash Site

Runway

Crash Site

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98O0190

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décrochage et collision avec des arbres au décollage
Piper PA 28-151 C-GDVL
Espanola West (Ontario)
Le 27 juillet 1998

Résumé

Le pilote a décollé d'Espanola West (Ontario) avec trois passagers à bord du Piper PA 28 portant le numéro de série 28-7615332 pour se rendre à Ottawa (Ontario) selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR). La surface de la piste était en herbe mais le terrain sablonneux et accidenté était devenu mou à cause de la pluie. Le pilote a effectué deux courses au décollage sur la piste et a décollé à la troisième tentative. Après avoir pris son envol, l'avion a percuté des arbres à gauche de la trajectoire de départ et s'est écrasé dans le bois. Un violent incendie alimenté par le carburant a immédiatement éclaté et a consumé la cabine de l'avion. Un des passagers, un bébé, a perdu la vie dans l'incendie. Le pilote et les deux autres passagers ont évacué l'appareil pendant qu'il brûlait et ont été retrouvés à quelque 40 pieds de l'épave par les ambulanciers et les pompiers. Ils ont été transportés à l'hôpital mais ils n'ont pas survécu à leurs brûlures.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé - avion en état de validité et il était qualifié pour effectuer le vol. Il totalisait environ 350 heures de vol.

Au moment des faits, des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC) prévalaient dans la région, et la température s'élevait à 23 degrés Celsius. Il avait plu un peu plus tôt dans la journée, et le pilote avait retardé son départ jusqu'à ce que la météo s'améliore. Des observations météorologiques horaires n'étaient pas disponibles à l'aéroport. Toutefois, les observations météorologiques horaires faites à 23 h Z à Elliot Lake, localité située à 33 milles au nord-ouest, faisaient état de vents du 300 degrés à 15 noeuds avec des rafales pouvant atteindre les 25 noeuds. Les vents signalés à 22 h Z à Sudbury, situé à 54 milles au nord-est, soufflaient du 270 au 330 degrés à 17 noeuds; à 23 h Z, les vents soufflaient du 270 degrés à 14 noeuds. À 23 h Z, à Sault Ste. Marie, situé à 115 milles à l'ouest, les vents soufflaient du 290 degrés à 10 noeuds avec des rafales pouvant atteindre les 21 noeuds.

La piste mesure environ 250 pieds de largeur sur 2 900 pieds de longueur. Entourée d'arbres, elle est orientée au 283 degrés magnétique. Le sol était très mou par endroits. L'herbe qui avait été tondue récemment était haute de deux ou trois pouces. Un exploitant habitué de l'aéroport a déclaré que ses aéronefs équipés de train tricycle n'étaient pas autorisés à utiliser la piste après des chutes de pluie, car une fois humide le sol devenait très mou. Le relief est plus élevé au bout de la piste et à l'ouest (voir l'annexe A).

Deux personnes ont été témoins de l'accident. Le témoin qui a entendu ce qui s'est passé se trouvait près du seuil de la piste; celui qui a vu l'accident se trouvait à quelque 200 pieds à l'écart du seuil de piste. Les deux témoins ont déclaré que le moteur semblait produire une puissance considérable et qu'ils n'ont remarqué aucun changement dans le bruit du moteur avant que l'avion percute les arbres. Le comportement de l'avion dans les airs a été décrit comme une sorte de flottement ou de vol stationnaire. Selon les observations, l'avion a piqué du nez et s'est incliné à gauche juste avant de percuter le premier arbre.

D'après les renseignements recueillis sur les lieux, l'avion en vol rectiligne a d'abord percuté deux arbres de l'aile gauche, a pivoté vers la gauche, puis a percuté d'autres arbres tout en se déplaçant latéralement de gauche à droite. L'avion se déplaçait ainsi quand il a percuté le sol. L'avion a fini sa course à l'endroit; son aile droite rompue à l'emplanture reposait sur un tronc d'arbre. Un violent incendie alimenté par le carburant a éclaté à l'impact ou tout de suite après et a été plus violent dans la cabine de l'avion. L'incendie a éclaté avant que les occupants évacuent l'appareil.

L'épave a été examinée sur les lieux. Il était encore possible de faire tourner facilement le moteur à la main. L'hélice avait percuté quelques arbres. Les marques observées sur les arbres ainsi que l'état de l'hélice indiquent que le moteur fournissait une puissance élevée. La majeure partie de l'avion a été consumée par l'incendie, mais on a retrouvé des matériaux durables comme des articulations, des câbles en acier et du métal résistant. Toutes les gouvernes ont été examinées, et les câbles des commandes étaient intacts au moment de l'accident. Les volets avaient complètement brûlés; cependant, la poignée de réglage des volets a été retrouvée verrouillée à la position 40 degrés. Les volets ont quatre positions différentes : position rentrée, 10 degrés, 25 degrés et 40 degrés (sortie complète). La poignée de commande des volets se trouve entre les sièges des pilotes, et elle est reliée mécaniquement aux volets par un tube de conjugaison. La poignée affleure le plancher de l'avion quand les volets sont rentrés, et elle est quasiment verticale lorsque les volets sont complètement sortis. Les trois adultes portaient probablement leur ceinture de sécurité. Le bébé était sanglé dans un siège pour véhicule automobile faisant face vers l'avant.

La masse maximale autorisée au décollage de l'avion était de 2 325 livres. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la masse exacte de l'appareil au décollage, car les bagages qui ont été embarqués n'avaient pas été pesés et la quantité exacte de carburant n'est pas connue. On a estimé que la masse de l'avion au décollage se situait entre 2 300 et 2 400 livres.

Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion fournit des données sur les performances de l'avion au décollage à la masse maximale de 2 325 livres sur une piste en dur, de niveau et sèche. À 23 degrés Celsius, dans les conditions qui précèdent, les calculs donnent une course au décollage de 1 255 pieds sans volets, et une course de 965 pieds si les volets sont sortis à 25 degrés. La distance de décollage avec franchissement d'un obstacle de 50 pieds en bout de piste, volets sortis à 25 degrés, est de 1 760 pieds. La publication de Transports Canada intitulée Conseils sur l'utilisation des petits aéronefs : des méthodes empiriques pour des opérations sur des pistes improvisées donne des renseignements complémentaires aux tableaux des performances au décollage approuvées par les avionneurs qui portent sur des conditions que ces derniers n'abordent pas. La publication suggère d'augmenter la longueur de la course au décollage de 10 % si le terrain est irrégulier, rocailleux ou recouvert d'herbe rase (quatre pouces ou moins). La publication suggère également d'augmenter la course au sol d'au moins 75 % si le terrain est mou (présence de boue, de neige, etc.). Si les volets sont sortis à 25 degrés, cette double pénalité peut occasionner une course au décollage d'au moins 1 858 pieds. Ce chiffre passe à au moins 2 653 pieds s'il faut franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds. Il n'existe pas de tableau de performances pour des décollages à des masses supérieures à la masse maximale au décollage.

Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion stipule que les décollages se font habituellement volets rentrés; toutefois, sur terrain court ou dans des conditions difficiles (herbe épaisse ou terrain mou), il est possible de réduire considérablement la distance de décollage en sortant les volets à 25 degrés et en déjaugeant à des vitesses plus faibles. Cependant, le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion ne recommande pas les décollages avec les volets complètement sortis et il ne contient pas de tableaux de performances pour cette configuration. Le fait de sortir un peu les volets au décollage raccourcit habituellement la course au décollage et donne un meilleur angle de montée; par contre, la sortie complète des volets entraîne une dégradation de la finesse, d'où une réduction de l'angle de montée. Une bonne technique de décollage sur terrain court occasionne une course au sol plus courte, mais toute tentative d'arracher l'avion du sol prématurément augmente la distance de décollage et diminue les performances en montée.

La batterie de l'avion est située sous les panneaux du plancher près du siège passager arrière droit. De gros câbles électriques relient la batterie au circuit électrique de l'avion. Du courant en provenance et en direction de la batterie passe dans ces câbles.

Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote.

Analyse

D'après les renseignements sur le vent, il est probable que le vent à Espanola soufflait par rafales du 270 au 300 degrés entre 10 et 15 noeuds. La piste utilisée au décollage étant orientée au 283 degrés, il est peu probable que le vent et la topographie locale aient eu un effet important sur les performances de l'avion; toutefois, la présence d'un vent de face aurait augmenté les performances de l'avion au décollage.

Compte tenu des trois courses au décollage sur la piste, de la description du bruit du moteur faite par les témoins et de l'examen du moteur, il a été conclu que le moteur produisait la puissance nécessaire. Un examen complet de l'avion s'est avéré impossible à cause des importants dommages causés par l'incendie. Toutefois, rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu une défaillance de la cellule ou un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système avant l'accident.

La masse de l'avion avoisinait la masse maximale autorisée au décollage, ce qui veut dire que l'avion avait besoin de la distance maximale calculée au décollage et peut-être plus. L'état de la piste et le braquage à fond des volets ont augmenté davantage la distance de décollage ainsi que la distance nécessaire pour que l'avion puisse atteindre une altitude suffisante pour franchir les arbres en toute sécurité. Il se peut que le pilote ait fait la première course au décollage pour évaluer la piste et que les deux autres aient été de véritables tentatives de décollage. Compte tenu des déclarations des témoins et du fait qu'un pilote doit normalement modifier certains paramètres de la configuration de son avion en cas de tentative infructueuse de décollage, et si la première course a été une tentative de décollage, il est probable que celle-ci a eu lieu volets rentrés et que la seconde a été effectuée volets sortis à 25 degrés (le braquage recommandé par l'avionneur en cas de décollage sur terrain mou). Il a été conclu que les volets étaient sortis à 40 degrés au cours de la dernière tentative de décollage, à cause de la façon dont les volets sont actionnés et du verrouillage de la poignée à cette position. Il n'est pas recommandé de décoller avec les volets braqués à fond, mais l'avion a réussi à quitter le sol. Toutefois, la forte traînée générée par le braquage à fond des volets a fait diminuer les performances de montée, et l'avion n'a pas pu prendre de l'altitude assez tôt pour franchir les arbres en bout de piste. Dans l'espoir de franchir les arbres, le pilote a probablement mis l'avion en cabré, mais l'appareil a décroché à cause de la faible vitesse et de la traînée importante.

Il est possible d'apporter des corrections aux estimations des distances de décollage publiées en se servant des renseignements publiés; toutefois, l'avionneur n'a publié aucune donnée sur les performances au décollage adaptées aux conditions qui prévalaient lors du vol de l'accident. Par conséquent, il n'est pas possible d'estimer la longueur de la course au décollage nécessaire, ni la distance nécessaire pour franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds en bout de piste dans le cas d'un avion qui décolle à une masse supérieure à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage et avec les volets braqués à fond. Il ne fait aucune doute que la distance nécessaire pour franchir un obstacle de 50 pieds en bout de piste est supérieure à celle qu'il faut pour décoller avec les volets sortis à 25 degrés.

L'accident offrait des chances de survie, fort probablement parce que les impacts avec les arbres ainsi que les angles sous lesquels ils se sont produits ont absorbé la majeure partie de l'énergie de l'avion et parce que les passagers portaient leur ceinture de sécurité; toutefois, un incendie a éclaté après l'impact et les passagers n'ont pas survécu à leurs blessures. La cause de l'incendie a été attribuée à un court-circuit dans la région de la batterie, qui aurait provoqué un arc électrique en présence des vapeurs d'essence attribuables à la rupture du circuit carburant.

Faits établis

  1. Les dossiers montrent que l'avion était entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Rien n'indique que le moteur ait subi des dommages avant l'impact qui l'aurait empêché de produire sa puissance nominale.
  3. Rien n'indique qu'un mauvais fonctionnement ou qu'une défaillance d'un composant de l'avion ait contribué à l'accident.
  4. L'examen des dossiers révèle que le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol.
  5. Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote.
  6. On a estimé que la masse de l'avion au décollage avoisinait la masse maximale autorisée au décollage.
  7. Il se peut que le pilote ait effectué la première course au décollage pour évaluer l'état de la piste et que les deuxième et troisième courses aient été des tentatives de décollage.
  8. Le décollage de l'accident a été entrepris avec les volets braqués à fond.
  9. L'état de la piste, la masse de l'avion et la technique utilisée par le pilote au décollage (c'est-à-dire avec les volets braqués à fond) ont rallongé la distance nécessaire pour franchir en toute sécurité les obstacles sur la trajectoire de départ.
  10. D'après la direction du vent, l'orientation de la piste et la topographie locale, il est peu probable que l'avion ait rencontré des conditions de vent défavorables au décollage.
  11. L'avion a percuté des arbres qui se trouvaient sur sa trajectoire de départ.
  12. Un violent incendie alimenté par le carburant a éclaté à l'impact ou tout de suite après, avant que les occupants évacuent l'avion.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a essayé de décoller avec un avion lourd sur un terrain mou en herbe, ce qui rendait la manoeuvre impossible. Le braquage à fond des volets a contribué à l'accident, c'est-à-dire qu'il a empêché l'appareil de monter suffisamment vite pour franchir en toute sécurité les arbres en bout de piste.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 17 novembre 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros et Henry Wright.

Annexe A - Piste et lieu de l'accident

Piste d'atterrissage

Site de l'accident