Aviation Investigation Report A98P0156

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Tail Rotor Pitch Link Failure
Helijet Airways Inc.
Sikorsky S-76A (Helicopter) C-GHJL Vancouver, British Columbia
17 June 1998

Summary

The Sikorsky S-76A helicopter, serial number 760214, departed Vancouver Harbor helipad at about 1238 Pacific daylight time (PDT) with two pilots and eight passengers on board for a flight to the Vancouver International Airport. When the pilot decelerated for landing, he experienced a high-frequency vibration in the collective pitch lever. He continued the approach using the minimum power required and noted that the intensity of the vibrations was reduced. During the final phase of the approach, the pilot noticed low intensity vibrations in the tail rotor pedals. He carried out a no-hover landing and taxied to the hangar without further incident. There were no injuries or damage.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Company maintenance personnel determined that the vibrations were the result of a broken tail rotor pitch control rod assembly (Sikorsky part number 76103-05003-041, serial number A063-00899). The broken pitch control rod assembly was removed and forwarded to the TSB Engineering Branch for inspection and analysis.

The tail rotor pitch control rod assembly consists of a link and two rod end assemblies. The rod end assemblies, each consisting of a rod end and a bearing, are threaded into the ends of the link and are retained in place by a nut and locking device. Following installation on the helicopter, the tail rotor pitch control rod assemblies are maintained as "on condition" units and are not required to be removed or overhauled in accordance with any specified time frame.

Item 8 in the 50-hour inspection checklist, detailed in maintenance manual SA 4047-76-2-1, Dec.98, Chapter 5-20-00, states "Tail rotor pitch control rods and pitch beam for damage and security. Rod end bearings for condition." There is also no requirement to track the part's service history. The broken component of the pitch control rod assembly was the rod end (Sikorsky part number 76103-05002-102), and it was found broken adjacent to the nut.

The Sikorsky S-76A four-bladed tail rotor consists of two opposing blade pairs, joined at the hub, constituting an "inner" pair and an "outer" pair. The pitch control rod assemblies for each of the two pairs are identical, except that the assemblies connected to the inner blade pair are longer than those connected to the outer blade pair. This length differential is achieved by adjustment of the rod ends.

The rod end assemblies are the subject of Sikorsky Alert Service Bulletin (ASB) 76-65-45, first issued 11 March 1994 and reissued 08 June 1994 as ASB 76-65-45A. The Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) do not require operators to comply with a manufacturer's bulletins. Neither the U.S. Federal Aviation Authority, who oversees the S-76 design, nor Transport Canada has issued an Airworthiness Directive in relation to this Service Bulletin. The purpose of Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45 and 76-65-45A is to perform a one-time inspection of the tail rotor control rod assemblies for cracks in the exposed threaded areas of the rod ends. A visual inspection is to be performed for cracks and corrosion pits using a 10X power magnifying glass. If no crack indication or corrosion pits are found, a fluorescent penetrant inspection is to be performed on the exposed threaded areas on both rod ends of the four control rod assemblies to determine if a crack is present. If a crack indication or corrosion pits are found, the rod end is to be replaced.

Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45 and 76-65-45A inspections are specific to the rod ends (Sikorsky part number 76103-05002-102 and 76103-05002-101) and not to the helicopter. The ASB requires, upon accomplishment of the instructions, an appropriate logbook entry be made to show compliance with this ASB. Helijet Airways Inc. recorded compliance with Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45 on the incident helicopter on 14 May 1994 with an accumulated airframe time of 14 940 hours total time since new (TTSN). At the time of the pitch control rod assembly removal, the helicopter had accumulated 21 412 hours TTSN. The pitch control rod assembly failed after 6472 hours, and about four years and one month after the Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45 had been complied with. Helijet Airways Inc. did not have a record of the TTSN for the pitch control rod assembly, nor were they required to.

With respect to detecting cracks in the tail rotor pitch control rod ends, the Sikorsky S-76 approved Maintenance Manual (Revision 31) does not specify an inspection, nor does it contain details as to how to perform such an inspection. The Maintenance Manual does, however, identify the need to inspect the pitch control rod assemblies for corrosion, but only on the exposed threads of the rod ends, and only if the protective paint /corrosion preventive compound has been degraded. The Maintenance Manual details the inspection procedures for the pitch control rod and damper bearings and identifies corrosion prevention procedures for the tail rotor pitch control rods including the rod end threaded area.

The mode of failure was determined to be high cycle fatigue; the fracture propagated under normal service loads from fatigue-generated pre-cracks originating from the region of the thread root, close to the corners of the keyway. The crack initiated in the first full thread outboard of the bearing housing, an area that is exposed. Fatigue was found to be coincident with the stress concentration provided by the thread roots in the presence of corrosion pitting. Similar failures have been recorded by Sikorsky.

The TSB Engineering Branch report states the tail rotor pitch control rod bearing radial play was found to be within Sikorsky's published limits; however, the metal-to-metal contact between the inner and outer bearing races appears to meet the Maintenance Manual requirement for replacement of the rod end. The TSB Engineering Branch report also states that the exposed threaded portions of the broken tail rotor pitch control rod did not have the required corrosion-preventative compounds applied. No traces of paint or other surface protection materials were detected.

Analysis

A rod assembly installed on an inner blade requires the rod ends to be adjusted so that there are more exposed threads than what would be found on a rod assembly used on an outer blade. If a rod assembly--specifically a rod end that was previously used on an inner blade--was reinstalled on an outer blade, the need to thread the rod end further into the link could result in a crack being hidden by the link, the locking devise, or the nut. Because the inspections in the Sikorsky S-76 Maintenance Manual (Revision 31) and in ASB 76-65-45A are specific to only the exposed threaded area of the rod end, it is possible that a such a crack could be hidden. Furthermore, since the Maintenance Manual does not specify a requirement to check for cracks in the tail rotor pitch control rod assembly rod ends, it is possible that a crack could remain undetected.

A logbook entry must be made showing compliance with Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45A. However, if a rod assembly or rod end were changed, and no service history on the part was available (including whether the ASB inspection had been performed on the part), the aircraft records could show compliance with the ASB although the rod end could be cracked. If an inspection (as defined in the ASB) were not performed, such a crack could remain undetected.

The ASB details a procedure for positively identifying cracks. The Maintenance Manual requirements--to check for damage and security--are general in nature, and do not include instructions on how to perform a crack inspection. Without a specific requirement to check for cracks, including instructions on how to perform such an inspection, it is likely the operator will perform a general inspection, which will not produce the same results as required in the ASB.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 81/98 T/R Pitch Link Assembly

Findings

  1. The rod end (part number 76103-05002-102) failed as a result of high cycle fatigue under normal service loads. Fatigue was found to be coincident with the stress concentration provided by the thread roots in the presence of corrosion pitting.
  2. The exact TTSN and service history of the rod end could not be determined.
  3. The tail rotor pitch control rod assemblies are maintained as an "on condition" item.
  4. The integrity of the rod end cannot be accurately determined unless the entire threaded area is inspected.
  5. Sikorsky Alert Service Bulletin 76-65-45, first issued 11 March 1994 and reissued 8 June 1994 as 76-65-45A, highly recommends an inspection be performed on the exposed threaded areas of the rod ends.
  6. The inspection requirements of Sikorsky ASB 76-65-45 and ASB 76-65-45A are specific to the rod ends; however, the documentation showing compliance is specific to the helicopter records.
  7. The Sikorsky S-76 Maintenance Manual (Revision 31) does not identify a unique requirement to inspect the tail rotor pitch control rod assembly rod ends for cracks.
  8. The tail rotor pitch control rod bearing radial play was found to be within Sikorsky's published limits; however, the metal-to-metal contact between the inner and outer bearing races appears to meet the Maintenance Manual requirement for replacement of the rod end.
  9. The exposed threaded portions of the broken tail rotor pitch control rod did not have either of the required corrosion preventative compounds applied, as per the Maintenance Manual.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The tail rotor pitch control rod assembly failed because of high cycle fatigue under service loads probably augmented by the deteriorated condition of the rod end bearing. Fatigue was found to be coincident with the stress concentration provided by the thread roots in the presence of corrosion pitting. Contributing to the incident was the absence of specific instructions to check for cracks in the tail rotor pitch control rod ends after the ASB had been complied with and the restricted requirement to inspect only the exposed threads of the rod ends. Also contributing to the incident was the absence of corrosion preventative coating materials and the failure to replace the rod end bearing.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 14 October 1999.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98P0156

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Rupture d'une biellette de pas de rotor de queue
Helijet Airways Inc.
Sikorsky S-76A (Hélicoptère) C-GHJL
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
17 juin 1998

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Sikorsky S-76A, portant le numéro de série 760214 et ayant à son bord deux pilotes et huit passagers, avait décollé de l'hélisurface du port de Vancouver vers 12 h 38, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP), en direction de l'aéroport international de Vancouver. Lorsque le pilote a décéléré en vue d'atterrir, il a senti une vibration rapide sur le levier de collectif. Il a poursuivi son approche en utilisant la puissance minimale requise et il a constaté que l'intensité des vibrations avait diminué. Pendant la phase finale de l'approche, le pilote a remarqué de faibles vibrations sur les pédales du rotor de queue. Il a atterri sans se mettre en stationnaire et a roulé sans problème jusqu'au hangar. Il n'y a eu ni blessures ni dommages.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le personnel de maintenance de l'entreprise a établi que ces vibrations étaient dues à la rupture d'une biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue (portant la référence Sikorsky 76103-05003-041 et le numéro de série A063-00899), laquelle a été déposée et envoyée au laboratoire du BST pour inspection et analyse.

La commande de pas du rotor de queue est constituée d'une biellette et de deux embouts à rotule vissés aux extrémités de la biellette et maintenus en place par un écrou et un dispositif de blocage. Après leur installation sur un hélicoptère, les biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue font l'objet d'inspections selon état et il n'est pas nécessaire qu'elles soient déposées et révisées conformément à un calendrier particulier.

L'article 8 de la liste de vérifications d'inspection aux 50 heures du chapitre 5-20-00 du manuel de maintenance SA 4047-76-2-1, en date de décembre 1998, mentionne de vérifier que les biellettes et le montant de la commande de pas du rotor de queue n'ont pas été endommagés et qu'ils sont bien fixés et également de vérifier l'état des paliers des embouts. Il n'est pas non plus nécessaire de suivre les antécédents de la pièce. Le composant de l'embiellage qui s'était rompu était l'embout (portant la référence Sikorsky 76103-05002-102), lequel avait été endommagé près de l'écrou.

Le rotor de queue quadripale du Sikorsky S-76A est constitué de deux paires de pales opposées raccordées au moyeu, à savoir une paire « intérieure » et une paire « extérieure ». Les biellettes de commande de pas de chacune des deux paires de pales sont identiques, sauf que celles raccordées à la paire intérieure sont plus longues que celles raccordées à la paire extérieure. Cette différence de longueur est obtenue par l'ajustement des embouts.

Le bulletin service d'alerte (BSA) 76-65-45 de Sikorsky, d'abord publié le 11 mars 1994 et publié à nouveau le 8 juin 1994 sous l'appellation BSA 76-65-45A, traite des embouts. Le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) n'exige pas que les exploitants se conforment aux bulletins d'un constructeur. Ni la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis, qui supervise la conception du S-76, ni Transports Canada n'ont publié de consigne de navigabilité en rapport avec ce bulletin service d'alerte. Les BSA 76-65-45 et 76-65-45A de Sikorsky ont pour objet la conduite d'une inspection non répétitive visant à déceler des criques dans les parties filetées visibles des embouts des biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue. Une inspection visuelle visant à déceler des criques et des piqûres de corrosion doit être effectuée au moyen d'une loupe grossissant 10 fois. Si aucun signe de criques ni de piqûres de corrosion n'est décelé, un contrôle par ressuage fluorescent des parties filetées visibles des deux embouts des quatre biellettes doit être effectué pour vérifier la présence de criques. Si un embout présente des signes de criques ou de piqûres de corrosion, il doit être remplacé.

Les inspections mentionnées dans les BSA 76-65-45 et 76-65-45A de Sikorsky sont particulières aux embouts (portant la référence Sikorsky 76103-05002-102 et 76103-05002-101) et non à l'hélicoptère. Lorsque les inspections mentionnées dans un BSA sont effectuées, cela doit être indiqué correctement dans le carnet de bord pour montrer que ce BSA est respecté. Le 14 mai 1994, alors que l'appareil totalisait un temps depuis mise en service initiale de 14 940 heures de vol cellule, Helijet Airways Inc. a inscrit que l'hélicoptère en cause dans cet incident respectait le BSA 76-65-45 de Sikorsky. L'appareil totalisait un temps depuis sa mise en service initiale de 21 412 heures au moment de la dépose de la biellette de commande de pas, laquelle s'est rompue après 6 472 heures, c'est-à-dire environ quatre ans et un mois après la conduite de l'inspection demandée dans le BSA 76-65-45. Le temps depuis mise en service initiale de la biellette de commande de pas ne figurait pas dans les dossiers d'Helijet Airways Inc. et il n'était d'ailleurs pas nécessaire qu'il y figure.

Le manuel de maintenance agréé (Révision 31) du Sikorsky S-76 ne fait état d'aucune inspection ni d'aucuns détails d'inspection relativement à la détection de criques dans les embouts des biellettes de rotor de queue. Il mentionne cependant la nécessité d'inspecter les biellettes de commande de pas pour vérifier si elles présentent des signes de corrosion, mais uniquement au niveau de la partie filetée visible des embouts et seulement si la peinture de protection ou l'enduit anticorrosion a subi des altérations. Il comporte de plus les procédures d'inspection détaillées des paliers de biellette de commande de pas et d'amortisseur ainsi que les procédures de prévention de la corrosion des biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue, y compris de la partie filetée des embouts.

Il a été établi que la fatigue mégacyclique constituait le mode de défaillance; la fissure s'est propagée sous des charges normales d'utilisation à partir de précriques de fatigue ayant pris naissance dans la région du fond de filet, près des coins de la rainure. La crique a débuté à l'extérieur du premier filetage du boîtier du palier, donc à un endroit visible. Il a été établi que la fatigue coïncidait avec la concentration des contraintes que constituent les fonds de filet comportant des piqûres de corrosion. Sikorsky avait déjà constaté des défaillances similaires.

Le rapport de laboratoire technique du BST mentionne que le jeu radial du palier de la biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue respectait les limites publiées par Sikorsky; cependant, si l'on se fie au manuel de maintenance, le contact métal sur métal entre la butée intérieure et la butée extérieure du palier semble nécessiter le remplacement de l'embout. Ce même rapport mentionne également que les parties filetées visibles de la biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue qui s'est rompue n'étaient pas recouvertes de l'enduit anticorrosion approprié. Aucune trace de peinture ni d'autre enduit de protection n'a été décelée.

Analyse

Le montage d'une biellette sur une pale intérieure nécessite l'ajustement de ses embouts de façon à ce qu'une plus grande partie filetée soit visible que lors de son montage sur une pale extérieure. Si une biellette--particulièrement une biellette munie d'un embout utilisé antérieurement sur une pale intérieure--est réinstallée sur une pale extérieure, la nécessité de visser plus à fond l'embout sur cette biellette pourrait faire qu'une crique se retrouve cachée par l'embout, par le dispositif de verrouillage ou par l'écrou. Les inspections décrites dans le manuel de maintenance (Révision 31) et dans le BSA 76-65-45A du Sikorsky S-76 étant propres à la seule partie filetée visible de l'embout, il est possible qu'une crique soit ainsi cachée. De plus, puisque le manuel de maintenance ne recommande d'aucune façon de vérifier la présence de criques dans les embouts de biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue, il est possible que la présence d'une crique ne soit pas décelée.

Une inscription doit être faite au carnet de bord pour montrer que le BSA 76-65-45A de Sikorsky est respecté. Cependant, si une biellette ou un embout a été modifié et que ses antécédents ne sont pas disponibles (y compris pour indiquer que l'inspection de cette pièce décrite dans le BSA a été effectuée), les dossiers de l'appareil peuvent indiquer qu'il y a respect du BSA même si l'embout comporte une crique. Si une inspection (telle que définie dans le BSA) n'a pas été effectuée, il se peut qu'une telle crique ne soit pas décelée.

Le BSA décrit en détail une procédure permettant d'identifier des criques avec certitude. Les exigences figurant dans le manuel de maintenance--relativement aux dommages et à la bonne fixation--sont d'ordre général et ne comportent pas d'instructions sur la façon d'effectuer une inspection visant à déceler des criques; c'est pourquoi il est fort probable que l'exploitant effectuant une inspection générale n'aura pas les mêmes résultats que ceux exigés par le BSA.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 81/98 T/R Pitch Link Assembly (Biellette de pas de rotor de queue)

Faits établis

  1. L'embout (portant la référence 76103-05002-102) a cédé en raison d'une fatigue mégacyclique résultant de charges normales d'utilisation. Il a été établi que cette fatigue coïncidait avec la concentration des contraintes que constituent les fonds de filet comportant des piqûres de corrosion.
  2. Le temps total exact depuis la mise en service initiale de l'embout ainsi que ses antécédents n'ont pu être déterminés.
  3. Les biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue font l'objet d'inspections selon état.
  4. L'intégrité de l'embout ne peut être établie de façon précise à moins que toute la partie filetée ne soit inspectée.
  5. Le bulletin service d'alerte 76-65-45 de Sikorsky, d'abord publié le 11 mars 1994 et publié à nouveau le 8 juin 1994 sous l'appellation BSA 76-65-45A, recommande fortement l'inspection des parties filetées visibles des embouts.
  6. Les exigences d'inspection mentionnées dans les BSA 76-65-45 et 76-65-45A de Sikorsky sont particulières aux embouts; cependant, la documentation attestant qu'il y a conformité est particulière aux dossiers de l'hélicoptère.
  7. Le manuel de maintenance (Révision 31) du Sikorsky S-76 ne fait pas état d'une exigence propre à l'inspection des embouts des biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue en vue de déceler des criques.
  8. Il a été établi que le jeu radial du palier de la biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue respectait les limites publiées par Sikorsky; cependant, si l'on se fie au manuel de maintenance, le contact métal sur métal entre la butée intérieure et la butée extérieure du palier semble nécessiter le remplacement de l'embout.
  9. Les parties filetées visibles de la biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue qui s'est rompue n'étaient recouvertes d'aucun des enduits anticorrosion mentionnés dans le manuel de maintenance.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue s'est rompue en raison d'une fatigue mégacyclique résultant de charges d'utilisation qui ont probablement été augmentées par la détérioration du palier de l'embout. Il a été établi que cette fatigue coïncidait avec la concentration des contraintes que constituent les fonds de filet comportant des piqûres de corrosion. Ont contribué à cet incident l'absence d'instructions spécifiques à la détection de criques dans les embouts de la biellette de commande de pas du rotor de queue après que le BSA eut été respecté et l'exigence ne portant que sur l'inspection de la partie filetée visible des embouts. Ont également contribué à cet incident l'absence d'enduits anticorrosion et le non-remplacement du palier de l'embout.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 14 octobre 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.