Aviation Investigation Report A98Q0043

The Transportation Safety Board (TSB) of Canada investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Impact with the Ground
Hémisph-Air Services Ltd.
Piper PA-34-200T, C-FCYV
Québec/Jean-Lesage
International Airport, Quebec
28 March 1998

Summary

The pilot of the Piper PA-34-200T, registration C-FCYV, serial number 34-7870286, was making a night intrument flight rules flight between Montréal/Dorval Airport, Quebec, and Québec/Jean-Lesage International Airport, Quebec, with four passengers on board. At destination, the pilot made an approach on runway 06 with the instrument landing system (ILS), but the pilot could not land because of the weather conditions. The pilot made an overshoot, and undertook a second approach on the same runway. Taking into account the prevailing weather conditions, the pilot advised the Québec control tower of his intention to return to Dorval if he was unable to land. On short final, the pilot initiated a missed approach, but the aircraft struck the ground and came to a stop 3 342 feet from the threshold of runway 06. Only one occupant was slightly injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He held a Class 4 instructor rating and an instrument rating. He had a total of some 630 hours' flight time, including 65 on the Piper PA-34-200T. He was making the flight to maintain his instrument proficiency. In fact, this was the last day before the six-month deadline prescribed in the regulations. He had obtained his instrument rating 18 months prior to the occurrence and had completed 63 hours of instrument time. Over the preceding six months the pilot had completed six hours of instrument time as an instructor and had himself flown one hour of instrument time.

Section 401.05 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) entitled "Recency Requirements" states in paragraph 3(b) that:

  • No holder of an instrument rating shall exercise the privileges referred to in section 401.47 unless the holder has
    • (b) within the six months preceding the flight, acquired six hours of instrument time and completed six instrument approaches to the minima specified in the Canada Air Pilot in an aircraft, in actual or simulated weather conditions, or in a Level B, C or D simulator of the same category as the aircraft.

The pilot had accessed the forecasts issued at 1207 local time and valid for the next 24 hours. For the planned flight period, the weather forecasts for the Québec area were for fluctuation between a ceiling of 1,200 feet above ground level (agl) with visibility of six statute miles and a ceiling of 800 feet agl in rain showers and fog with visibilities of two statute miles. An amendment issued at 1837 local time and valid for the next 24 hours reported for the estimated time of approach to Québec a temporary situation associated with visibility of one statute mile in fog and vertical visibility of 400 feet. The pilot did not have this information in hand on take-off.

The aircraft was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The investigation did not reveal any mechanical malfunction. The pilot had been authorized by the carrier to make the flight.

On initial contact with the Québec tower, the pilot was informed by the controller that the runway visual range (RVR) was 1 400 feet, the observed visibility was half a mile in fog, and the vertical visibility was 100 feet. Approaches are limited by the RVR. In fact, with few exceptions, no pilot is allowed to continue an instrument approach beyond the outer marker or the final approach fix to a runway equipped with RVR measuring equipment when the values detected are below the published minimum, or 1 200 feet in the case of Québec.

While the aircraft was approaching, the crew of a Boeing 727 announced that they were doing a missed approach and that they wanted to turn back to Montréal without attempting another approach. Later, during the approach, the pilot of the Piper PA-34-200T was informed that the RVR had fallen to 1 200 feet. At 200 feet, or the published minimum approach height, the pilot initiated a missed approach, nearly four minutes after the Boeing 727 had overshot. CARs section 602 specifies that landings are managed by the decision height (DH) or the minimum descent altitude (MDA), and that no pilot is to continue the descent unless the required visual reference necessary to complete a safe landing has been established.

While the aircraft was pulling up, the Québec terminal controller reviewed with the pilot the published missed approach procedure for runway 06. The procedure specifies that the pilot must climb on a heading of 063 degrees, which is the extension of the runway centre line, to an altitude of 3 300 feet, and then make a right turn to intercept inbound radial 090 from Québec very high frequency omnidirectional radio range (VOR). Shortly after initiating the missed approach, before reaching the altitude of 3 300 feet, the pilot began a right turn that did not allow him to intercept radial 090, but caused him, instead, to pass the intercept heading, so that the aircraft flew back over the airport. The controller intervened, using the radar to guide the pilot for a second approach on runway 06. The airport, whose altitude is 244 feet above sea level (asl), is bound on the north side by mountains rising to 2 091 feet asl.

At the time of the second approach, the Québec tower controller told the pilot that the RVR was then 1 200 feet. About two minutes later, when the pilot had just crossed the final approach fix, the RVR had dropped to 1 100 feet. An aircraft can legally continue its approach if the RVR is received after the aircraft has crossed the final approach fix. The pilot acknowledged the message and continued the descent. At the minimum approach altitude, the pilot initiated the missed approach procedure by overshooting, but the aircraft struck the ground and slid 243 feet before coming to a stop 3 342 feet from the runway threshold. The radar data indicates that the aircraft accelerated and that its rate of descent did not change until impact.

The landing gear separated from the aircraft on impact. The two propellers separated from the engines and were found lying along the wreckage trail. The tail assembly separated from the fuselage and left a gaping hole at the rear of the aircraft. The flaps were extended at 25 degrees. During a missed approach, a gradual transition should normally be made towards zero-degree flaps. According to the pilot, all the navigation systems were operating normally except for the VOR number two (NAV 2). Examination of the altimeter did not reveal any malfunction.

Analysis

The aircraft was certified and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. All the aircraft's systems were operating normally. The pilot was qualified for the flight, but had flown only one hour in instrument flight conditions during the past six months.

When the pilot planned the flight to Québec, the weather information led him to believe that the ceiling was going to remain at acceptable levels. On approach, however, the weather conditions had deteriorated to the point where landing became hardly possible. In fact, a Boeing 727 that preceded the Cessna by four minutes had made a missed approach and had not requested a new approach for Québec.

At the time of the overshoot, the pilot did not follow the missed approach procedure. The controller had to intervene to bring him back to the south of the airport and eventually on a heading for a second approach. The ILS missed approach procedure for runway 06 at Québec is not complicated, because the first part of the procedure simply requires staying on the centre line of the runway and climbing to 3 300 feet, which allows the pilot to contact air traffic services and prepare for the second part of the procedure. Although this procedure is simple, things quickly become complicated if the workload increases, which is the case during a missed approach. The situation can further deteriorate if the pilot has little experience and training and is the only crew member.

The pilot also performed a missed approach procedure on the second approach. The radar data indicates that the aircraft's speed increased while its altitude continued to drop. The pilot did not modify the aircraft's attitude to begin a pull-up after the overshoot, and the aircraft crashed.

Findings

  1. The pilot was qualified for the flight, and the aircraft was maintained in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. On the first approach, the weather conditions had deteriorated, and the landing became hardly feasible.
  3. The controller intervened because the pilot was not following the missed approach procedure.
  4. The pilot had little instrument flight experience or training.
  5. The pilot was the sole crew member.
  6. The aircraft crashed shortly after the pilot initiated a missed approach.
  7. The pilot did not modify the aircraft's attitude after initiating the missed approach procedure.

Causes and Contributing Factors

During the missed approach, the pilot, due to insufficient instrument flight experience and lack of training, did not modify the aircraft's attitude to initiate the climb, and the aircraft continued its descent and struck the ground.

Safety Action

Since the accident, the air carrier has established a clear policy on the use of aircraft for personal purposes. This policy details the kind of authorization that must be obtained from the management and the weather conditions required for such flights.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 9 March 2000.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98Q0043

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le sol
Services Hémisph-Air Ltée
Piper PA-34-200T C-FCYV
Aéroport international de Québec/Jean-Lesage (Québec)
Le 28 mars 1998

Résumé

Le pilote du Piper PA-34-200T immatriculé C-FCYV, numéro de série 34-7870286, effectuait un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments, de nuit, entre l'aéroport de Dorval (Québec) et l'aéroport de Québec (Québec) avec quatre passagers à bord. À destination, le pilote a effectué une approche sur la piste 06 à l'aide du système d'atterrissage aux instruments ( ILS ), mais les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas permis un atterrissage. Après la remontée, le pilote a entrepris une deuxième approche sur la même piste. Compte tenu des conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient, le pilote a signifié, à la tour de contrôle de Québec, son intention de retourner à Dorval s'il était dans l'impossibilité de se poser. En courte finale, le pilote a remis les gaz mais l'appareil a heurté le sol et s'est immobilisé à 3 342 pieds du seuil de la piste 06. Un seul des occupants a été blessé légèrement.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il possédait une licence d'instructeur de classe 4 et une qualification de vol aux instruments. Il totalisait quelque 630 heures de vol dont 65 sur le Piper PA-34-200T. Il effectuait le vol en question pour assurer le maintien de ses compétences de vol aux instruments. En fait, pour lui, c'était la dernière journée avant la date limite de six mois prévue dans la réglementation. Il avait obtenu sa qualification de vol aux instruments 18 mois avant l'accident et avait effectué 63 heures de vol aux instruments. Au cours des six derniers mois, le pilote avait effectué six heures de vol aux instruments en tant qu'instructeur, et en tant que pilote, il avait effectué une heure de vol aux instruments.

L'article 401.05 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) intitulé «Mise à jour des connaissances» stipule à l'alinéa 3 b) que :

  • Il est interdit au titulaire d'une qualification de vol aux instruments d'exercer les avantages visés à l'article 401.47 à moins qu'il ne satisfasse à l'une des conditions suivantes :
    • (b) dans les six mois qui précèdent le vol, il a accumulé six heures de temps de vol aux instruments et a effectué six approches aux instruments aux minimums précisés dans le Canada Air Pilot à bord d'un aéronef dans des conditions météorologiques réelles ou simulées, ou d'un simulateur de niveau B, C ou D de la même catégorie que l'aéronef.

Le pilote avait pris connaissance des prévisions émises à 12 h 7, heure locale, et valables pour les 24 heures suivantes. Pour la période de vol planifiée, les prévisions météorologiques pour la région de Québec devaient osciller entre un plafond de 1 200 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl) et une visibilité de six milles terrestres, jusqu'à un plafond de 800 pieds agl dans les averses de pluie et la bruine, avec des visibilités de deux milles terrestres. Un amendement émis à 18 h 37, heure locale, et valable pour les 24 heures suivantes faisait état, pour l'heure prévue de l'approche à Québec, d'une situation temporaire associée à une visibilité de un mille terrestre dans la brume et d'une visibilité verticale de 400 pieds. Le pilote n'avait pas cette information en main lors du décollage.

L'appareil était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'enquête n'a révélé aucune anomalie mécanique. Le pilote avait été autorisé par le transporteur à effectuer le vol.

Lors du contact initial avec la tour de Québec, le contrôleur a informé le pilote que la portée visuelle de piste (RVR) était de 1 400 pieds, que la visibilité observée était d'un demi-mille dans le brouillard et que la visibilité verticale était de 100 pieds. Les approches sont limitées par la RVR. En effet, à part quelques exceptions, il est interdit au pilote de tout aéronef de poursuivre une approche aux instruments au-delà de la radioborne extérieure ou du repère d'approche finale, vers une piste desservie par un dispositif de mesure de la RVR, lorsque les valeurs détectées sont inférieures au minimum publié, soit 1 200 pieds dans le cas de Québec.

Pendant que l'appareil était en approche, l'équipage d'un Boeing 727 a annoncé qu'il effectuait une remontée et qu'il désirait retourner à Montréal sans tenter une autre approche. Plus tard, au cours de l'approche, le pilote du Piper PA-34-200T a été informé que la RVR avait chuté à 1 200 pieds. À 200 pieds, soit la hauteur minimale publiée pour l'approche, le pilote a amorcé une remontée, soit près de quatre minutes après la remontée du Boeing 727. L'article 602 du RAC précise que les atterrissages sont gérés par la hauteur de décision (DH) ou l'altitude minimale de descente (MDA), et que les pilotes n'ont pas le droit de continuer la descente s'ils n'ont pas établi la référence visuelle nécessaire pour réaliser un atterrissage sûr.

Lors de la remontée, le contrôleur du terminal de Québec a revu avec le pilote la procédure publiée en cas d'approche manquée sur la piste 06. La procédure stipule que le pilote doit monter sur le cap de 063 degrés, soit le prolongement de l'axe de piste, jusqu'à une altitude de 3 300 pieds, avant d'effectuer un virage à droite pour intercepter le radial 090 en rapprochement du radiophare omnidirectionnel (VOR) à très haute fréquence (VHF) de Québec. Peu après avoir entrepris la remontée, sans avoir atteint l'altitude de 3 300 pieds, le pilote a amorcé un virage à droite qui ne lui a pas permis d'intercepter le radial 090 mais qui l'a plutôt fait dépasser le cap d'interception si bien que l'appareil est revenu au-dessus de l'aéroport. Le contrôleur est intervenu à l'aide du radar pour guider le pilote pour une deuxième approche sur la piste 06. L'aéroport, dont l'altitude est de 244 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), est bordé du côté nord par des montagnes qui culminent à 2 091 pieds asl.

Au moment de la deuxième approche, le contrôleur de la tour de Québec a mentionné au pilote que la RVR était maintenant de 1 200 pieds. Près de deux minutes plus tard, alors que le pilote venait de franchir le repère d'approche finale, la RVR avait chuté à 1 100 pieds. Un appareil peut légalement continuer son approche si la RVR est reçue une fois que l'appareil a franchi le repère d'approche finale. Le pilote a accusé réception du message et a poursuivi la descente. À l'altitude minimale pour l'approche, le pilote a amorcé la procédure d'approche manquée en remettant les gaz, mais l'appareil a heurté le sol et a glissé sur une distance de 243 pieds avant de s'immobiliser à 3 342 pieds du seuil de piste. L'information fournie par le radar indique une accélération de l'appareil sans changement du taux de descente jusqu'à l'impact.

Le train d'atterrissage s'est détaché de l'avion lors de l'impact. Les deux hélices se sont détachées des moteurs et reposaient le long du sillon laissé par l'avion. L'empennage s'est détaché du fuselage et a laissé un trou béant à l'arrière de l'appareil. Les volets étaient sortis à 25 degrés. Lors d'une approche manquée, une transition progressive vers zéro degré de volets devrait normalement être effectuée. Selon le pilote, tous les systèmes de navigation fonctionnaient normalement sauf le VOR VHF numéro 2 (NAV 2). L'examen de l'altimètre n'a révélé aucune anomalie.

Analyse

L'appareil était certifié et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Tous les systèmes de l'appareil fonctionnaient normalement. Le pilote possédait les qualifications nécessaires pour le vol, mais, en tant que pilote, il n'avait effectué qu'une heure de vol dans des conditions de vol aux instruments dans les six derniers mois.

Lorsque le pilote a planifié le vol vers Québec, les informations météorologiques lui permettaient de croire que le plafond allait se maintenir à des niveaux acceptables. Par contre, au moment de l'approche, les conditions météorologiques s'étaient dégradées au point où l'atterrissage devenait difficilement réalisable. En effet, un Boeing 727, qui le précédait de quatre minutes, a effectué une remontée sans demander à faire une nouvelle approche sur Québec.

Au moment de la remontée, le pilote n'a pas suivi la procédure d'approche manquée. Le contrôleur a dû intervenir pour le ramener vers le sud de l'aéroport et, éventuellement, sur la route pour une deuxième approche. La procédure d'approche manquée pour l'ILS de la piste 06 de Québec n'est pas complexe en soit puisque pour faire la première partie de la procédure, il suffit de maintenir l'axe de piste et de monter jusqu'à 3 300 pieds, ce qui permet au pilote de contacter les services de la circulation aérienne et de se préparer pour la deuxième partie de la procédure. Bien qu'à priori cette procédure soit simple, les choses se compliquent rapidement si la charge de travail augmente comme dans le cas d'une remontée. Cette situation peut se détériorer davantage si le pilote a peu d'expérience, peu d'entraînement et qu'il est le seul membre d'équipage.

Lors de la deuxième approche, le pilote a également effectué une procédure d'approche manquée. L'information fournie par le radar indique que la vitesse de l'appareil augmentait mais que l'altitude continuait à chuter. Le pilote n'a pas modifié l'assiette de l'appareil afin d'amorcer une montée après la remise des gaz, et l'avion s'est écrasé.

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait les qualifications nécessaires au vol et l'appareil était entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur .
  2. Au moment de la première approche, les conditions météorologiques s'étaient dégradées et l'atterrissage devenait difficilement réalisable.
  3. Le contrôleur est intervenu parce que le pilote ne suivait pas la procédure d'approche manquée.
  4. Le pilote avait peu d'expérience et d'entraînement au vol aux instruments.
  5. Le pilote était le seul membre d'équipage.
  6. L'appareil s'est écrasé peu après que le pilote eut amorcé une approche manquée.
  7. Le pilote n'a pas modifié l'assiette de l'appareil après avoir amorcé la procédure d'approche manquée.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Lors de la remise des gaz pour interrompre l'approche, le pilote, par manque d'expérience et d'entraînement au vol aux instruments, n'a pas modifié l'assiette de l'appareil pour amorcer la remontée et l'avion a poursuivi sa descente jusqu'au sol.

Mesures de sécurité

Depuis l'accident, le transporteur a établi une politique claire sur l'utilisation des appareils pour des fins personnelles. Cette politique décrit le type d'autorisation qui doit être obtenue de l'administration ainsi que les conditions météorologiques qui doivent régner pour ces vols.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 9 mars 2000.