Aviation Investigation Report A98W0079

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Risk of Collision
Between Canada 3000
Airbus SA320-212 C-GVXF
and Semitool Inc.
Rockwell International 690C N48BA
Calgary, Alberta
21 April 1998

Summary

At about 1935 mountain daylight time (MDT), a Canada 3000 Airbus 320, designated CMM368, took off from runway 28 at the Calgary International Airport for Toronto Lester B. Pearson International Airport, to climb to 7,000 feet for vectors. On contact with Calgary Departure, CMM368 was cleared to climb runway heading to maintain flight level (FL) 250. At about this time, a Turbo-Commander 690, designated N48BA, departed Calgary runway 34 for Kalispell, Montana. On contact with Calgary Departure, N48BA was cleared to climb to FL 210, and was given two right turns, the last to a heading of 150°M. During initial climb, CMM368 was given two left turns then cleared direct to the Empress Intersection; the heading was 090°M. When CMM368 was at about 12,000 feet and 300 KIAS, a traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS) Traffic Advisory (TA) was received, with the target displayed at the eleven o'clock position at 3 to 4 miles, 700 feet below and climbing. Immediately thereafter, a Resolution Advisory (RA) was received with the command "DESCEND CROSSING DESCEND". The captain initiated a descent. At this time, the pilot of N48BA sighted CMM368, turned right, and increased his rate of climb. At about the same time, a second RA commanded the pilot of CMM368 to "INCREASE

DESCENT". CMM368 came within 500 feet horizontally and 500 feet vertically of N48BA in an area where either 3 nm horizontal or 1,000 feet vertical separation is required. Prior to the risk of collision, the last air traffic control (ATC) communication with either aircraft was at 1939:50 MDT.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Assignment of take-off runways are predicated, in part, by noise abatement procedures as published in the Canada Air Pilot and, in part, by NAV CANADA ATC Sector Procedures Manual. Canada Air Pilot published Noise Abatement Procedures for Calgary state:

  • Subject to operational requirements ICAO Annex 16 Chapter 2 aircraft with northern or eastern designations will be assigned runway 34 for take-off.

CMM368 requested and was cleared for a runway 28 departure. Noise abatement procedures require an A320 type aircraft using runway 28 to "climb on the LOC 281o to 6 500 feet ASL before proceeding on course." ATC issued climb and turn restrictions based on noise abatement requirements and subsequently turned the aircraft left, based on arriving and departing traffic, after it had climbed sufficiently not to be a noise problem.

ATC Operations Letter #97/12 specifies procedures to be used for the control and coordination of flights operating within airspace assigned to the Calgary Terminal Specialty. At the time of the occurrence, a two-runway system (co-active runways) was being used in Calgary. Based on these standard operating procedures, north and eastbound traffic were being released from runway 34, and south and westbound traffic were being released from runway 28. CMM368 was eastbound and requested and received clearance to depart from runway 28. N48BA was taxiing from the south end of the airport and, to reduce taxi time, was cleared to depart from runway 34. Departing instrument flight rules (IFR) traffic is maintained at altitudes of 9,000 feet and below until clear of arriving IFR aircraft which is restricted to 10,000 feet until over specific geographical locations, unless otherwise coordinated between the arrival and departure controllers.

The Departure Controller was coordinating traffic with the Arrival Controller and, based upon arriving traffic, cleared both aircraft to their flight planned altitudes as soon as he considered it to be practical. On initial contact with the Departure Control, CMM368 was cleared to FL 250. Two minutes later, N48BA first contacted the Departure Controller and was cleared to FL 210. At the time, CMM368 was in a climb, west of Calgary at 8,500 feet and 190 knots.

The NAV CANADA ATC Manual of Operations (MANOPS) provides direction for controllers with respect to vertical separation standards. Part 4, paragraph 482.3, states in part:

  • You may assign an altitude to an aircraft, only after an aircraft previously at the altitude, or an aircraft climbing or descending through the altitude, has reported or is observed (JETS):
    • leaving or passing the altitude;

or Part 5, paragraph 503.8 states in part:

  • You may use validated altitude readouts to determine aircraft altitudes as follows:
    • Consider an aircraft to have passed an altitude, when its altitude readout value has changed by 300 feet or more in the appropriate direction.

At the time, N48BA was cleared to FL 210, CMM368 was passing through 8,500 feet and had been cleared to FL 250. The aircraft were being vectored towards the same airspace, thus requiring positive separation.

On initial climb off runway 28, the speed and rate of climb of CMM368 was about 190 KIAS and 3,200 feet per minute (fpm). Once on course to Empress Intersection, the captain selected a managed speed to 320 KIAS which resulted in a rate of climb of about 800 fpm while the aircraft was accelerating. N48BA was climbing at about 180 KIAS and 1,800 fpm.

At 1939:50(1), 1 minute 20 seconds before CMM368 communicated a TCAS descent, CMM368 was about 10 nm south-west of the airport in a left turn climbing through 10,100 feet at 230 KIAS and N48BA was about 4 miles north-east of the airport in a right turn climbing through 7,200 feet. The air traffic controller assessed that the vertical and lateral spacing would remain adequate for the intended tracks. He then turned his attention to other aircraft under his control. He recalls that it was not until CMM368 called a TCAS descent that he looked at the two aircraft targets on his radar screen.

During the period from just before CMM368 took off and the time of the loss of separation, traffic conditions at Calgary International Airport were reported as being moderate and of moderate complexity. Staffing in the Calgary Terminal Specialty met unit standards. The shift supervisor was staffing one of the terminal positions in a relief capacity, as is customary for the scheduling of staff breaks. The weather at the time was visual meteorological conditions (VMC) with high thin scattered cloud.

Calgary Airport and Aircraft Radar Tracks

Flight CMM368 operated from Calgary International Airport at the same time each weekday. With exposure and experience, air traffic controllers gain knowledge of aircraft climb profiles and are able to predict, with a high level of confidence, climb rates and ground speeds for various types of aircraft. However, where more that one flight profile is available to the pilot, such as is the case for the A320 aircraft, and when the pilot has not received any restrictions based on altitude, airspeed, or geographic location, the air traffic controller may not be aware of the pilot's intentions.

The original performance specifications for the ATC radar data processing system (RDPS) software included provisions for aircraft conflict alert detection. During testing in the late 1980s and early 1990s, the RDPS conflict alert function was found to have several faults and was not considered acceptable for operational use. Software testing of a conflict alert function is currently underway with on-site testing planned for late in 1998. Operational acceptance is expected to be a lengthy process.

Analysis

When a two-runway system is in use at Calgary International Airport, normal departure procedures result in north and eastbound traffic departing from one runway while west and southbound traffic depart from the other runway. This procedure eliminates the need to have flight paths cross after departure, and provides positive lateral separation. Normal procedure for the two aircraft involved would have been for CMM368 to take off from runway 34 and N48BA to take off from runway 28. However, due to the location on the airport of executive aircraft, they are normally released from runway 34 when that runway is active. The controller's willingness to shorten the taxi distances for both aircraft resulted in a change to the normal flow of departure traffic. Furthermore, had both aircraft departed runway 34, separation would have been assured because of the direction of flight after departure.

As the aircraft were being vectored to crossing tracks, adherence to appropriate ATC MANOPS would have assured separation. When N48BA contacted the Departure Controller, CMM368 was climbing and passing through 8,500 feet. Thus, the appropriate altitude clearance limit for N48BA would have been 8,000 feet.

Any deviation from defined procedures adds to the workload of a controller in the form of extra vigilance and communications. If extra safeguards are not put in place at the time of the deviation or additional time available to monitor the situation until positive separation is achieved is not available, then there is a higher risk of something going wrong. The pressure to move traffic quickly, without undue delay, was the overriding factor in the decision to allow the two aircraft to depart from non-standard runways. The tower and departure controllers have available to them an electronic display which indicates, among other information, the departing runway. The Departure Controller can deny a non-standard departure if traffic warrants. In this case, the controller chose to allow the departures to proceed. Based on previous experience and judgement, the Departure Controller vectored both aircraft to a position from which they could commence their own navigation to the cleared outbound route. At this point, the Departure Controller determined that adequate spacing existed to allow each aircraft an unrestricted climb. Previous experience with these types of aircraft reinforced this perception. In the mind of the controller, the task to separate these two aircraft was now completed and only required sufficient radar monitoring of the flights to ensure a timely hand-off to the next sector.

The change in rate of climb of the A320 aircraft was not detected because the Departure Controller did not sufficiently monitor the progress of this flight. His experience did not include the possibility of the aircraft performance changing and affecting the spacing established with the other aircraft. The distraction caused by other control responsibilities and an inadequate periodic scan of the radar display resulted in the failure of the controller to detect this change. There have been a number of recent TSB reports (A97C0144, A97H0007, A98H0002) where controllers have not detected impending conflicts because of inadequate scanning techniques and the absence of additional progress reports requested by the controller. A deviation from normally expected procedures therefore requires additional safeguards to ensure that the safety margins intended by the standard procedures are maintained. This usually requires extra vigilance by the controller or additional checks and balances to be incorporated to ensure that the required separation standards are satisfied.

Once the air traffic controller turned CMM268 east towards the Empress Intersection and N48BA south, he checked their respective altitudes and ground speeds. Based on the experience he had gained in controlling other A320 aircraft departures at Calgary, he expected the A320 to continue its climb rate of about 2,500 fpm thus achieving greater than the minimum separation requirements for the two aircraft during their crossing. He did not anticipate that the pilot of the A320 would change his flight profile and thus reduce the aircraft climb rate to about 800 fpm while increasing the speed by about 100 knots. He assumed that certain profiles would be flown and did not recheck the progress of either aircraft until collision avoidance was being taken by the aircraft.

Prior to reaching 10,000 feet, the pilot was cleared to a higher altitude without airspeed restrictions. On reaching 10,000 feet, the pilot selected a higher speed which results in the aircraft rate of climb being reduced until that speed is attained. The profile flown by the A320 aircraft was consistent with normal operating procedures for the A320 aircraft.

There are several tools available to controllers to assist them in monitoring traffic under their control. One non-radar tool is specifying reports from the crew of the aircraft such as altitude or position reports in addition to any already prescribed. This alerts the controller should a situation change from what was expected, and allows the controller to confirm that the originally envisaged plan is unfolding as desired. The RDPS provides two functions to assist the controller in accurately determining the position of the aircraft. The first is called a predicted track line (PTL), which projects a line from selected aircraft along its current heading, and which can be set for any variable time period from 1 minute to 20 minutes. The second tool is called a range bearing line (RBL) which will display a line joining two aircraft targets, an aircraft to a ground position or two ground positions, and show range and bearing data. This information is updated for each sweep of the radar. Neither of these two tools would have prevented the loss of separation or provided an audible or visual alarm to the controller. However, had either been used in this situation, it may have provided a reminder to the controller that the unusual flight path of the two aircraft, different from the normally used procedures, required an extra level of monitoring.

The PTL and RBL do not satisfy the requirements of a conflict alert tool. This type of system would provide some type of warning to the controller that a loss of separation is imminent and that action is required to resolve it. The RAMP radar system was to have this capability functioning when the system was commissioned. Technical problems, which persist to this day, have prevented the conflict alert system from being implemented. There are operational conflict alerting systems in use in other parts of the world. This type of tool would provide an additional safeguard, much as TCAS does, to avoid losses of separation or mid-air collisions.

Findings

  1. Staffing in the Calgary Terminal Specialty met unit standards.
  2. The controller's workload was assessed as moderate with moderate complexity.
  3. The supervisor was staffing a position in relief during scheduled break rotation.
  4. All necessary equipment was serviceable at the time of the occurrence.
  5. Co-active runways were being used at Calgary International Airport.
  6. North and eastbound traffic normally depart from runway 16/34 and south and westbound traffic normally depart from runway 10/28 during co-active runway operations.
  7. Based on their direction of flight, both aircraft took off on the non-standard runways.
  8. Procedures for assuring positive separation of aircraft, as specified in NAV CANADA ATC MANOPS, were not followed.
  9. The air traffic controller did not monitor the progress of the two aircraft for a period of about two minutes prior to the TCAS alert.
  10. A risk of collision occurred when CMM368 came within 500 feet horizontally and 500 feet vertically of N48BA in an area where either 3 nm horizontal or 1,000 feet vertical separation is required.

Causes and Contributing Factors

A risk of collision occurred when the departure air traffic controller did not follow ATC MANOPS separation criteria for two aircraft which were to occupy the same airspace, and then did not adequately monitor the progress of the two aircraft for a period of about two minutes. The reason for not monitoring the aircraft involved was based on controller expectations.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 28 April 1999.


1. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98W0079

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Risque de collision entre
l'Airbus SA320-212 C-GVXF de Canada 3000
et le Rockwell International 690C N48BA
de Semitool Inc. Calgary (Alberta)
21 avril 1998

Résumé

Vers 19 h 35, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR), l'Airbus 320 de Canada 3000 (CMM368) a décollé de la piste 28 de l'aéroport international de Calgary à destination de l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto, en montée vers 7 000 pieds pour guidage radar. En contactant le contrôle des départs de Calgary, CMM368 a été autorisé à monter au niveau de vol (FL) 250 dans l'axe de la piste. À peu près à ce moment, un Turbo-Commander 690 (N48BA) décollait de la piste 34 à Calgary à destination de Kalispell (Montana). En contactant le contrôle des départs de Calgary, N48BA a été autorisé à monter au FL 210 et on lui a demandé d'effectuer deux virages à droite, le dernier vers un cap de 150 ° M. Au cours de la montée initiale, on a demandé à CMM368 d'effectuer deux virages à gauche, puis on l'a autorisé à se diriger directement vers l'intersection Empress; son cap était de 90 ° M. Alors qu'il volait à environ 12 000 pieds et à 300 KIAS, CMM368 a reçu de son système anticollision (TCAS) un avis de trafic (TA) indiquant une cible ascendante à onze heures, 700 pieds au-dessous, à 3 ou 4 milles. Immédiatement après, l'équipage a reçu un avis de résolution (RA) sous la forme d'une commande « DESCEND CROSSING DESCEND ». Le commandant de bord a amorcé une descente. À ce moment, le pilote de N48BA a vu CMM368; il a viré à droite et a augmenté sa vitesse ascensionnelle. Presque au même moment, le pilote de CMM368 a reçu un deuxième avis de résolution sous la forme d'une commande « INCREASE DESCENT ». CMM368 s'est approché de N48BA à une distance horizontale inférieure à 500 pieds et à une distance verticale inférieure à 500 pieds, dans une zone où un espacement horizontal de 3 nm ou un espacement vertical de 1 000 pieds sont requis. Avant le risque de collision, le dernier message du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) destiné à l'un des appareils a été transmis à 19 h 39 min 50 s HAR.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'assignation des pistes de décollage est assujettie en partie aux procédures d'atténuation du bruit publiées dans le Canada Air Pilot et en partie au manuel de procédures des secteurs ATC publié par NAV CANADA. Selon les procédures d'atténuation du bruit publiées dans le Canada Air Pilot à propos de Calgary :

  • Sous réserve de contraintes opérationnelles, les avions répondant aux normes du chapitre 2 de l'annexe 16 de l'OACI qui se dirigent vers le nord ou vers l'est se verront attribuer la piste 34.

CMM368 a demandé à décoller sur la piste 28 et y a été autorisé. Les procédures d'atténuation du bruit nécessitent qu'un appareil de type A320 utilisant la piste 28 « monte sur le 281o du LOC jusqu'à 6 500 pieds ASL avant de suivre sa route ». En se basant sur les exigences des procédures d'atténuation du bruit, l'ATC a émis des restrictions relativement à la montée et aux virages. Par la suite, lorsque l'appareil a atteint une altitude suffisante pour ne pas créer de problèmes de bruit, et en tenant compte des appareils au départ et à l'arrivée, l'ATC l'a fait virer à gauche.

La lettre d'exploitation no 97/12 de l'ATC fait mention des procédures à utiliser pour le contrôle et la coordination des vols à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien assigné à la sous-unité de contrôle terminal de Calgary. Au moment de l'incident, un système à deux pistes en service était utilisé à Calgary. À partir de ces procédures d'exploitation normalisées, on autorisait les appareils allant vers le nord et vers l'est à décoller de la piste 34 et ceux allant vers le sud et vers l'ouest, à décoller de la piste 28. CMM368 allait vers l'est. Il a demandé l'autorisation de décoller de la piste 28 et il l'a obtenue. N48BA roulait en provenance de l'extrémité sud de l'aéroport et, pour réduire son temps de roulement, on l'a autorisé à décoller de la piste 34. Les appareils décollant selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) sont maintenus à une altitude inférieure ou égale à 9 000 pieds jusqu'à ce qu'ils n'interfèrent plus avec les appareils IFR à l'arrivée, lesquels sont limités à 10 000 pieds jusqu'à ce qu'ils survolent des emplacements géographiques particuliers, à moins de coordination contraire entre le contrôleur des départs et celui des arrivées.

Le contrôleur des départs coordonnait le trafic avec le contrôleur des arrivées et, en se basant sur le trafic à l'arrivée, dès qu'il l'a cru opportun, il a autorisé les deux appareils à monter à l'altitude prévue dans leur plan de vol. À son premier contact avec le contrôle des départs, CMM368 a été autorisé à monter au FL 250. Deux minutes plus tard, N48BA a communiqué pour la première fois avec le contrôleur de départs et a été autorisé à monter au FL 210. À ce moment, CMM368 passait 8 500 pieds en montée à l'ouest de Calgary, à 190 noeuds.

Le Manuel d'exploitation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne de NAV CANADA (MANOPS) comporte des directives sur les normes d'espacement vertical destinées aux contrôleurs. Le paragraphe 482.3 de la partie 4 comporte notamment le texte suivant :

  • Vous pouvez assigner une altitude à un aéronef, lorsque l'aéronef qui occupait cette altitude, ou qui franchit cette altitude en montée ou en descente
    • a signalé qu'il quittait ou franchissait cette altitude, ou a été observé (JETS) quittant ou franchissant cette altitude;

Par ailleurs, le paragraphe 503.8 de la partie 5 contient ce qui suit.

  • Vous pouvez utiliser des affichages d'altitude validés pour déterminer l'altitude d'un aéronef, de la façon suivante:
    • Considérez qu'un aéronef a franchi une altitude lorsque l'affichage d'altitude a changé en passant l'altitude en question, dans la direction appropriée, et diffère de cette altitude de 300 pieds ou plus.

Au moment où N48BA a obtenu l'autorisation de monter au FL 210, CMM368 franchissait 8 500 pieds et avait été autorisé à monter au FL 250. Les appareils ont été guidés vers le même espace aérien. Ils avaient donc besoin d'un espacement formel.

Au moment de sa montée initiale après décollage de la piste 28, CMM368 possédait une vitesse indiquée et une vitesse ascensionnelle de 190 KIAS et 3 200 pieds par minute (pi/min), respectivement. Une fois en direction de l'intersection Empress, le commandant de bord a choisi une vitesse de 320 KIAS qui a entraîné une vitesse ascensionnelle d'environ 800 pi/min pendant l'accélération de l'appareil. N48BA montait à environ 180 KIAS et à 1 800 pi/min.

À 19 h 39 min 50 s(1), soit 1 min 20 s avant que CMM368n'ait fait part d'une descente TCAS, CMM368 se trouvait à environ 10 nm au sud-ouest de l'aéroport et effectuait un virage à gauche en franchissant 10 100 pieds en montée à 230 KIAS. N48BA se trouvait à environ 4 milles au nord-est de l'aéroport et effectuait un virage à droite en franchissant 7 200 pieds en montée. Le contrôleur aérien a estimé que les espacements vertical et latéral demeureraient suffisants, compte tenu des trajectoires prévues. Il a ensuite dirigé son attention vers les autres appareils qu'il devait contrôler. Il se rappelle ne pas avoir regardé les deux cibles représentant les appareils sur son écran radar avant que CMM368 n'appelle à propos de la descente TCAS.

aéroport de calgary et trajectoreis radar des appareils

Au cours de la période débutant juste avant le décollage de CMM368 et se terminant au moment de la perte d'espacement, la circulation aérienne à l'aéroport international de Calgary a été modérée et de complexité moyenne. Les effectifs de la sous-unité de contrôle terminal de Calgary étaient conformes aux normes de l'unité. Le surveillant de quart relevait l'un des contrôleurs, tel que prévu pour permettre aux effectifs de prendre une pause. Des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC) prévalaient à ce moment-là, le ciel étant parsemé de minces nuages épars en haute altitude.

Le vol CMM368 décollait de l'aéroport international de Calgary chaque jour de semaine à la même heure. Avec l'expérience, les contrôleurs aériens connaissent les profils de montée des appareils et peuvent prévoir avec un degré élevé de certitude les vitesses ascensionnelles et les vitesses de différents types d'appareil. Cependant, lorsque le pilote dispose de plus d'un profil de vol, comme c'est le cas pour l'appareil A320, et qu'il ne reçoit aucune restriction relativement à son altitude, à sa vitesse ou à son passage à divers emplacements géographiques, il se peut que le contrôleur aérien ne connaisse pas ses intentions.

Les spécifications initiales de performances du logiciel du système de traitement des données radar (RDPS) de l'ATC incluaient la capacité de détecter les conflits et d'émettre une alerte en cas de conflit. Au cours d'essais effectués à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990, il a été établi que la fonction d'alerte de conflits du RDPS comportait plusieurs anomalies et elle a été déclarée inutilisable. Les essais logiciels de cette fonction sont en cours et des essais en milieu opérationnel sont prévus pour la fin de 1998. On s'attend à ce que sa réception opérationnelle prenne du temps.

Analyse

Lorsque deux pistes sont utilisées simultanément à l'aéroport international de Calgary, des procédures normales de départ s'appliquent : le trafic se dirigeant vers le nord et vers l'est décolle sur une piste, alors que le trafic qui s'en va vers l'ouest et vers le sud décolle sur l'autre piste. Cette procédure élimine le croisement des trajectoires après le décollage et permet de garantir un espacement latéral. Si la procédure normale avait été appliquée aux deux appareils, CMM368 aurait dû décoller de la piste 34 et N48BA, de la piste 28. Cependant, à cause de l'emplacement où se trouvent les avions d'affaires sur le terrain, ceux-ci sont habituellement autorisés à décoller de la piste 34 lorsque cette dernière est en service. Le désir du contrôleur de réduire la distance de roulement des deux appareils s'est traduit par une modification du cheminement normal des avions au départ. De plus, si les deux appareils avaient décollé de la piste 34, l'espacement aurait été assuré grâce à la direction des vols après le décollage.

Comme les appareils évoluaient sous guidage radar sur des routes sécantes, le respect des dispositions appropriées du MANOPS ATC en aurait garanti l'espacement. Lorsque N48BA a communiqué avec le contrôleur des départs, CMM368 franchissait 8 500 pieds en montée. Ainsi, la limite appropriée d'altitude autorisée aurait dû être de 8 000 pieds pour N48BA.

Tout écart par rapport aux procédures définies augmente la charge de travail du contrôleur qui doit accroître sa vigilance et son volume de communications. Si des mesures de protection supplémentaires ne sont pas prises au moment de cet écart et que le contrôleur ne dispose du temps supplémentaire nécessaire à la surveillance de la situation jusqu'à ce qu'il y ait un espacement garanti, le risque qu'un problème survienne est alors plus élevé. Le désir de faire partir rapidement les avions, sans retard indu, a été le facteur primordial motivant la décision de permettre aux deux appareils de décoller sur des pistes non standard. Le contrôleur de la tour et celui des départs ont à leur disposition un afficheur électronique indiquant, entre autres, la piste de départ. Si le trafic le justifie, le contrôleur des départs peut refuser un départ non standard. Dans le présent cas, le contrôleur a choisi d'autoriser les départs. En se fiant à son expérience antérieure et à son jugement, le contrôleur des départs a guidé les deux appareils vers une position à partir de laquelle ils ont pu commencer à naviguer seuls sur la trajectoire d'éloignement autorisée. À ce moment, le contrôleur des départs a estimé que l'espacement entre les appareils était suffisant pour permettre à chacun de monter sans restriction. Son expérience antérieure avec ces types d'appareils a renforcé sa perception. Dans son esprit, la procédure d'espacement entre ces deux appareils était maintenant terminée et seule la surveillance radar nécessaire pour assurer, au moment opportun, le transfert de contrôle au secteur suivant était requise.

La variation de la vitesse ascensionnelle de l'appareil A320 n'a pas été détectée parce que le contrôleur des départs n'a pas surveillé suffisamment le déroulement de ce vol; il s'est fié à son expérience antérieure, ne tenant pas compte de la possibilité que les performances de l'appareil changent et nuisent à l'espacement entre les deux appareils. La distraction inhérente aux autres responsabilités de contrôle ainsi que le balayage visuel inadéquat de l'écran radar ont fait que contrôleur n'a pas détecté cette variation. Un grand nombre de rapports récents du BST (A97C0144, A97H0007, A98H0002) font état de contrôleurs n'ayant pas détecté des conflits imminents à cause de techniques de balayage inadéquates et du manque de demande de rapports de progression de vol par le contrôleur. Un écart par rapport aux procédures habituelles nécessite des mesures de protection additionnelles afin d'assurer le maintien des marges de sécurité prévues par les procédures standard, ce qui nécessite une vigilance accrue de la part du contrôleur ou l'intégration de vérifications et de compensations additionnelles afin d'assurer le respect des normes d'espacement nécessaires.

Après avoir fait tourner CMM268 vers l'est en direction de l'intersection Empress et N48BA vers le sud, le contrôleur aérien a vérifié l'altitude et la vitesse de chacun de ces appareils. Selon l'expérience qu'il avait acquise lors d'autres départs de Calgary d'appareils de type A320, il s'attendait à ce que l'appareil A320 continue de monter à environ 2 500 pi/min, permettant ainsi un espacement supérieur à l'espacement minimal requis pendant son croisement avec l'autre appareil. Il n'avait pas prévu que le pilote de l'A320 modifierait son profil de vol et réduirait ainsi sa vitesse ascensionnelle à environ 800 pi/min, tout en augmentant sa vitesse d'environ 100 noeuds. Il a supposé que certains profils seraient utilisés en vol et n'a revérifié l'évolution d'aucun des appareils jusqu'à ce que l'un d'eux prenne des mesures anti-collision.

Avant d'atteindre 10 000 pieds, le pilote a été autorisé à monter à une altitude supérieure sans restriction quant à sa vitesse. Lorsqu'il a atteint 10 000 pieds, le pilote a choisi une vitesse supérieure, ce qui a provoqué une réduction de la vitesse ascensionnelle de l'appareil jusqu'à ce que cette vitesse soit atteinte. Le profil de vol de l'appareil A320 était conforme aux procédures d'exploitation normales de l'appareil A320.

Les contrôleurs disposent de plusieurs outils pour les aider à surveiller le trafic qu'ils doivent contrôler. Parmi leurs outils non radar, on compte les rapports spéciaux demandés aux pilotes, comme des rapports de passage d'altitude ou des comptes rendus de position, en plus des autres rapports normalement exigés. Cela a pour effet d'avertir le contrôleur dans le cas d'une modification de la situation prévue et de lui permettre de confirmer que le plan initial se déroule tel que prévu. Le RDPS comporte deux fonctions aidant le contrôleur à déterminer de façon précise la position d'un appareil. La première se nomme fonction de prédiction de trajectoire (PTL) et elle affiche une ligne représentant la trajectoire de l'appareil sélectionné pendant une période allant de 1 à 20 minutes. La deuxième se nomme droite azimut-distance (RBL), et elle affiche une droite joignant les cibles soit de deux appareils, soit d'un appareil et d'une ou deux positions-sol, donnant ainsi des données de distance et d'azimut. Ces renseignements sont mis à jour à chaque balayage radar. Aucune de ces deux fonctions n'aurait pu empêcher la perte d'espacement ou fournir au contrôleur un signal d'alarme sonore ou visuel. Cependant, si l'une d'elles avait été utilisée, cela aurait pu rappeler au contrôleur que la trajectoire de vol inhabituelle des deux appareils, différente de celle normalement utilisée dans les procédures, nécessitait une plus grande surveillance.

La PTL et la RBL ne satisfont pas aux exigences d'un outil d'alerte de conflits. Un tel système avertit le contrôleur de l'imminence d'une perte d'espacement et qu'il lui faut agir pour régler le problème. Le système radar RAMP devait disposer d'un tel outil lors de son entrée en servie. Des problèmes techniques ayant persisté jusqu'à ce jour ont empêché la mise en oeuvre du système d'alerte de conflits. Des systèmes opérationnels d'alerte de conflits sont utilisés ailleurs dans le monde. L'utilisation de ce type d'outil constituerait une mesure de protection additionnelle, tout comme le TCAS, contre les pertes d'espacement et les collisions en vol.

Faits établis

  1. Au moment de l'incident, les effectifs étaient conformes aux normes de l'unité.
  2. La charge de travail était d'un volume moyen et d'une complexité moyenne.
  3. Le surveillant de quart relevait l'un des contrôleurs, tel que cela était prévu pour permettre aux effectifs de prendre une pause.
  4. Au moment de l'incident, tout l'équipement nécessaire était en bon état.
  5. Deux pistes étaient utilisées simultanément à l'aéroport international de Calgary.
  6. Habituellement, lorsque deux pistes sont utilisées simultanément, le trafic vers le nord et vers l'est décolle de la piste 16/34, tandis que celui vers le sud et vers l'ouest décolle de la piste 10/28.
  7. Les deux appareils ont décollé sur des pistes ne correspondant pas à leur direction de vol.
  8. Les procédures de garantie d'espacement des appareils que comporte le MANOPS ATC de NAV CANADA n'ont pas été suivies.
  9. Pendant une période d'environ deux minutes avant l'alerte du TCAS, le contrôleur aérien n'a pas surveillé l'évolution des deux appareils.
  10. Il y a eu risque de collision lorsque CMM368 s'est approché de N48BA à une distance horizontale inférieure à 500 pieds et à une distance verticale inférieure à 500 pieds, dans une zone où un espacement horizontal de 3 nm ou un espacement vertical de 1 000 pieds sont nécessaires.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Il y a eu risque de collision lorsque le contrôleur des départs n'a pas respecté les critères d'espacement énoncés dans le MANOPS ATC pour deux appareils qui allaient emprunter le même espace aérien et dont il n'a pas surveillé correctement l'évolution pendant environ deux minutes parce qu'il croyait qu'il n'y avait pas lieu de s'attendre à un problème.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 28 avril 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné moins 6 heures), sauf indication contraire.