Aviation Investigation Report A98W0086

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Directional Control
Highland Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 206B JetRanger II (Helicopter) C-GHHT
Whitecourt, Alberta 30 nm N
07 May 1998

Summary

The pilot of a Bell 206B helicopter, serial number 2118, accompanied by a provincial forestry officer and a photographer, was flying in support of the video filming of a helicopter water bucketing operation near the Virginia Hills forest fire site, 30 nautical miles north of Whitecourt, Alberta. The forestry officer had requested video footage of a Bell 205 that was water bucketing. The Bell 206B pilot was flying above the trees in a westerly direction at about 30 miles per hour, just north of the pond being used for water-bucket pick-up, when the helicopter suddenly began to rotate to the right. The forestry officer was able to send a MAYDAY call on the radio. Attempts by the pilot to arrest the rotation were unsuccessful, and the helicopter entered the tree canopy while spinning. A main rotor blade cut off the tail boom, and the fuselage struck the forest floor in a nose-down attitude, resulting in substantial damage. The pilot received head injuries, while the passengers were not injured. Other helicopters in the area reported the accident to forestry dispatchers, and the occupants were picked up by helicopter and taken to hospital. Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter came to rest in a steep, nose-down, but upright, position. The nose of the helicopter was crushed, and the forward windscreen was broken. The main rotor blades were heavily strike-damaged. The tail boom had been cut off by a main rotor blade. The vertical fin, complete with the tail rotor gear box and tail rotor blades, separated and fell to the forest floor. The tail rotor blades did not display the usual heavy damage, although the leading edges indicated evidence of tree strikes, and the blade skin was torn. Both tail rotor blades were still attached to the root fittings and had been bent near their inboard ends. The tail rotor drive shaft segments were found to have numerous fractures, including one at a bonded coupler.

Examination of the tail rotor drive shaft fractures by the TSB Engineering Laboratory determined that there was a torsional overload failure at the number-4 shaft, indicative of a tail rotor strike. Examination of the bonded coupler indicated that the fracture had taken place after the tail rotor drive shaft had stopped rotating. The bonded coupler had been struck by a main rotor blade when the tail boom was cut off. A hole in the left engine cowl was found to be the result of an engine to transmission coupler fracture that typically occurs when the main rotor blades are stopped abruptly. Examinations of the freewheel and splines in the oil cooler fan shafting section of the tail rotor drive shaft did not reveal any pre-impact failures. The tail rotor control system was examined to the degree possible, and no evidence of a malfunction was found. Records indicate that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

The helicopter's rotating descent into the tree canopy resulted in the tail rotor disc (located on the left side of the vertical fin) initially contacting the upper tree branches horizontally as the tail boom rotated in a clockwise direction, producing an unusual damage pattern. The tree strike damage to the leading edge of the tail rotor blades confirms that the tail rotor drive system was intact and rotating up to the point of tree contact. The TSB Engineering Laboratory examination of the tail rotor drive shaft determined that the direction of the torsional overload failure indicated a sudden stoppage of the tail rotor blades, with no evidence of any progressive failure. The torsional failure in the tail rotor drive shaft appears to have occurred early in the impact sequence, resulting in a sudden loss of drive to the tail rotor and a subsequent reduction in damage to the blades as compared to that normally seen.

The weather conditions at the time of the occurrence, at 1545 mountain daylight time(1), were clear sky, visibility obscured in smoke, wind from the southwest at 6 miles per hour, temperature 25 degrees Celsius, and relative humidity 20 per cent.

The Bell 205 that was being video taped was flown in a westerly direction during the water bucket pick-up and climb-out. The Bell 205 pilot observed the Bell 206B on a parallel course about 300 feet horizontally off his right side, at low speed and just above the trees. The pilot of the Bell 205 indicated that his track, while flying toward the fire, may have converged with the course of the slower moving Bell 206B which was by then below and behind him in the rear right quarter. Studies have found that the rotor wash from a helicopter in forward flight forms a pair of rotating vortices that act exactly like those generated by a fixed wing aircraft. The turbulence intensity is directly proportional to the weight, and inversely proportional to the rotor span and speed of the helicopter. The trailing vortices settle or move downward with time, and they can be potentially dangerous for several minutes after the generating helicopter has left the scene.

A series of unexplained accidents and incidents in the U. S. Army OH-58 helicopter fleet involving loss of directional control resulted in a research project that identified a condition known as loss of tail rotor authority also called loss of tail rotor effectiveness or unanticipated right yaw. This can occur during certain wind conditions in flight operations of single rotor helicopters at airspeeds of 30 knots and less. It has been defined as the occurrence of an uncommanded right yaw rate which does not subside of its own accord and which, if not corrected, can result in loss of helicopter control. Four helicopter characteristics during low speed flight have been identified through extensive flight and wind tunnel tests as contributing factors in loss of tail rotor authority. In one characteristic known as "Main Rotor Disc Vortex", there is a loss of tail rotor authority as a result of the tail rotor entering the main rotor vortex and causing a reduction in tail rotor blade angle of attack and thrust. The relative wind azimuth in this characteristic is from 285 to 315 degrees. This condition can culminate in a rapid, flat spin and sudden ground contact. Recovery technique would normally require a collective pitch reduction; however, in this case there was insufficient height available to prevent obstacle contact.

main Rotor Disk Vortex Interference

The pilot was properly licenced and certified for the flight. He had flown a total of about 15 000 hours of which 4 000 hours were on Bell 206 aircraft. The pilot was not wearing a helmet, nor was he using the available shoulder harness. His facial injuries were the result of his striking the instrument glare shield during the impact sequence. The pilot indicated that he was just about to initiate a right turn when the helicopter spun four to five turns before striking the trees.

The forestry officer sitting in the front left seat was wearing the available shoulder harness and was uninjured. The photographer, who was in the rear seat, was using a special tether harness and had laid down across the back of the front seat bulkhead before the helicopter struck the trees. The rear-left door had been removed to provide the photographer with unobstructed video camera access. The passengers did not report any unusual noises or vibrations prior to the helicopter starting to spin.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) was mounted on the left side of the instrument console, and had not functioned during the occurrence. It was set to the ARM position but did not activate at impact. It was undamaged and, when removed and tested, it functioned normally.

Analysis

Since there was no evidence found of pre-impact mechanical failure, the analysis will focus on the operational aspects of this occurrence.

The loss of directional control experienced by the pilot could have been the result of a self-generated loss of tail rotor authority, or the same effect may have been caused by encountering drifting main rotor vortices. While filming the Bell 205 picking up water with a bucket, the pilot of the Bell 206B was flying a slow, parallel course in a westerly direction, low over the trees on the right side. As the Bell 205 climbed away, it flew above and ahead of the Bell 206B. Since the wind was from the southwest, conditions were favourable for the main rotor vortices from the Bell 205 to drift into the path of the Bell 206B. These vortices could cause a sudden reduction in tail rotor thrust with a resultant uncommanded right yaw that could develop into a high rate of turn. The pilot's low height over the trees precluded the reduction of collective pitch to effect recovery.

A comparison of the facial injuries experienced by the pilot and the lack of injury to the forestry officer sitting in the left front seat following ground impact, leads the Board to conclude that use of a shoulder harness would have reduced the pilot's upper body injuries.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 63/98 - Tail Rotor Drive Shaft Examination

Findings

  1. The pilot was qualified and certified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. Records indicate that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.
  3. The pilot lost directional control and was unable to recover.
  4. There were no pre-impact mechanical failures found.
  5. The wind conditions and the helicopter's position and speed were favourable for a loss of tail rotor authority condition to develop.
  6. The pilot was not wearing the available shoulder harness, and suffered facial injuries.

Causes and Contributing Factors

It is likely that the loss of directional control experienced by the Bell 206B helicopter pilot resulted from a loss of tail rotor authority when he encountered main rotor vortices of the Bell 205 helicopter.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 10 February 1999.


1. Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98W0086

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise en direction
Highland Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 206B JetRanger II (hélicoptère) C-GHHT
30 nm au nord de Whitecourt (Alberta)
7 mai 1998

Résumé

Le pilote d'un hélicoptère Bell 206B, numéro de série 2118, accompagné d'un garde forestier provincial et d'un cameraman, effectuait un vol pour le tournage vidéo d'une opération d'écopage par hélicoptère, près du lieu du feu de forêt de Virginia Hills, à 30 milles marins au nord de Whitecourt. Le garde forestier avait demandé de filmer un Bell 205 en train d'écoper. Le pilote du Bell 206 volait au-dessus des arbres, en direction ouest, à environ 30 milles à l'heure, juste au nord de l'étang utilisé pour l'écopage, lorsque l'hélicoptère a brusquement commencé à pivoter sur la droite. Le garde forestier a été en mesure d'envoyer un message MAYDAY par la radio. Les tentatives du pilote d'arrêter la rotation ont été vaines, et l'hélicoptère s'est enfoncé dans la couverture forestière alors qu'il était en vrille. Une pale du rotor principal a sectionné la poutre-fuselage, et le fuselage s'est écrasé au sol en piqué, subissant d'importants dommages. Le pilote a été blessé à la tête, mais les passagers n'ont pas été blessés. D'autres hélicoptères dans les environs ont signalé l'accident aux répartiteurs forestiers, et les occupants ont été recueillis par hélicoptère et amenés à l'hôpital.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère s'est immobilisé dans un piqué prononcé, mais à l'endroit. Le nez de l'hélicoptère était écrasé et le pare-brise fracassé. Les pales du rotor principal avaient été gravement endommagées par les impacts. La poutre-fuselage avait été sectionnée par une pale de rotor principal. La dérive, ainsi que le boîtier d'engrenages du rotor de queue et les pales du rotor de queue, se sont détachés et sont tombés au sol. Les pales du rotor de queue ne présentaient pas les dommages importants habituels, mais leur bord d'attaque indiquait qu'elles avaient heurté des arbres, et leur revêtement était déchiré. Les deux pales du rotor de queue étaient toujours fixées à leur manchon et elles étaient déformées près de leurs extrémités intérieures. On a découvert de nombreuses fractures sur les sections d'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue, dont une sur un accouplement collé.

L'examen des fractures de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue par le Laboratoire technique du BST a permis de déterminer qu'il y avait eu une défaillance due à une surcharge en torsion de la section numéro 4 de l'arbre, indiquant que le rotor de queue avait heurté quelque chose. L'examen de l'accouplement collé a indiqué que la fracture s'est produite après que l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue s'est arrêté de tourner. L'accouplement collé avait été heurté par une pale du rotor principal lorsque la poutre-fuselage avait été sectionnée. Un trou a été découvert dans le capotage du moteur gauche, et il avait été causé par la rupture de l'accouplement moteur-boîte de vitesses qui se produit habituellement lorsque les pales du rotor principal cessent brutalement de tourner. L'examen de la roue libre et des cannelures de la ligne d'arbres de la soufflante du refroidisseur d'huile connectée à l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue n'a révélé aucune défaillance avant impact. On a examiné le plus en détail possible le circuit de commande du rotor de queue, et rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu défectuosité. Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.

La descente en rotation dans le sens horaire de l'hélicoptère sur la couverture forestière a eu pour effet d'amener le disque du rotor de queue (situé du côté gauche de la dérive) d'abord horizontalement en contact avec les branches supérieures des arbres, produisant un type de dommage inhabituel. Les dommages causés par les impacts avec les arbres au bord d'attaque des pales du rotor de queue confirment que le circuit de d'entraînement du rotor de queue était intact et qu'il tournait jusqu'au moment de l'impact avec les arbres. L'examen de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue par le Laboratoire technique du BST a permis de déterminer que le sens dans lequel s'était produite la défaillance par surcharge en torsion indiquait un brusque arrêt des pales du rotor de queue, sans signe de défaillance progressive. La défaillance en torsion de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue semble s'être produite assez tôt dans la séquence d'impacts, causant une brusque perte de transmission au rotor de queue. De ce fait, les dommages aux pales étaient beaucoup moins importants que ce qu'on observe normalement.

Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'accident, à 15 h 45, heure avancée des Rocheuses(1), étaient les suivantes : ciel dégagé, visibilité obscurcie par la fumée, vent du sud-ouest à 6 milles à l'heure, température de 25 degrés Celsius et humidité relative de 20 pour cent.

Le Bell 205 filmé volait en direction ouest pendant l'écopage et la montée initiale. Le pilote du Bell 205 a observé le Bell 206B sur une trajectoire parallèle, à environ 300 pieds horizontalement à sa droite, à faible vitesse, juste au-dessus des arbres. Le pilote du Bell 205 a indiqué que sa trajectoire, tout en se dirigeant vers le feu de forêt, pourrait avoir convergé avec celle du Bell 206B se déplaçant plus lentement et qui se trouvait alors sous lui et derrière dans le secteur arrière droit. Des études ont montré que le souffle du rotor d'un hélicoptère en vol en translation crée une paire de tourbillons en rotation qui agissent exactement comme ceux qui sont produits par un avion. L'intensité de la turbulence est directement proportionnelle à la masse, et inversement proportionnelle à l'envergure du rotor et à la vitesse de l'hélicoptère. Les tourbillons de sillage descendent progressivement, et ils peuvent être dangereux pendant plusieurs minutes après que l'hélicoptère qui les a produits a quitté les lieux.

Une série d'accidents et d'incidents inexpliqués au sein de la flotte d'hélicoptères OH-58 de l'armée américaine ayant trait à la perte de maîtrise en direction a donné lieu à un projet de recherche qui a isolé une condition, connue sous le nom de perte d'autorité du rotor de queue, aussi appelée perte d'efficacité du rotor de queue ou lacet intempestif à droite.

Ce phénomène peut se produire dans certaines conditions de vent lors des vols des hélicoptères monorotor à des vitesses de 30 noeuds ou moins. On l'a défini comme étant un lacet intempestif sur la droite qui ne s'élimine pas de lui-même et qui, s'il n'est pas corrigé, peut causer une perte de maîtrise de l'hélicoptère. Grâce à des essais en vol poussés et à des essais en soufflerie, on a cerné quatre cas de figure d'hélicoptères volant à basse vitesse comme étant des facteurs contributifs à la perte d'autorité du rotor de queue. Dans un cas de figure, connu sous le nom de « tourbillon du disque rotor principal », on constate une perte d'autorité directionnelle due au fait que le rotor de queue qui entre dans le tourbillon généré par le rotor principal subit une diminution d'angle d'attaque des pales et donc une diminution de poussée. Le secteur du vent relatif qui influence cette caractéristique se situe entre 285 et 315 degrés. Ce phénomène peut aboutir à une vrille à plat rapide et à un brusque contact avec le sol. La technique de rétablissement nécessiterait normalement de réduire le pas collectif; toutefois, dans le cas qui nous occupe, il n'y avait pas suffisamment de hauteur pour éviter un contact avec les obstacles.

Sectur D'Influence du Tourbillion du Disque Rotor Principal

Le pilote était titulaire des licences appropriées et il était certifié pour le vol. Il avait totalisé environ 15 000 heures de vol, dont 4 000 sur Bell 206. Le pilote ne portait pas de casque, ni n'utilisait le harnais disponible. Ses blessures au visage ont été causées par un contact avec l'auvent du tableau de bord pendant la séquence d'impacts. Le pilote a indiqué qu'il était tout juste sur le point d'entamer un virage à droite lorsque l'hélicoptère a effectué quatre ou cinq tours sur lui-même avant de heurter les arbres.

Le garde forestier assis en place avant gauche portait son harnais et il n'a pas été blessé. Le photographe, qui était assis sur le siège arrière, utilisait un harnais d'arrimage spécial et il s'était étendu le long de l'arrière de la cloison des sièges avant tout juste avant que l'hélicoptère ne heurte les arbres. La porte arrière gauche avait été enlevée pour que le photographe ait un accès libre pour sa caméra vidéo. Les passagers n'ont signalé aucun bruit ni aucune vibration inhabituels avant que l'hélicoptère commence à tourner sur lui-même.

La radiobalise de détresse (ELT) était montée sur le côté gauche de la console des instruments, et elle n'a pas fonctionné pendant l'accident. Elle était réglée sur ARM, mais elle ne s'est pas déclenchée à l'impact. Elle était intacte et, une fois retirée de l'hélicoptère et testée, elle a fonctionné normalement.

Analyse

Comme on n'a découvert aucun signe de défaillance mécanique avant impact, l'analyse porte sur les aspects opérationnels de l'accident.

La perte de maîtrise en direction subie par le pilote pourrait avoir été causée par une perte d'autorité du rotor de queue infligée par l'hélicoptère lui-même, ou le même effet pourrait avoir été causé par la dérive des tourbillons produits par le rotor principal. Pendant que le Bell 205 écopait et qu'il était filmé, le Bell 206B utilisé pour le tournage, sur son côté droit, volait lentement à faible hauteur au-dessus des arbres, suivant une trajectoire parallèle en direction ouest. Comme le Bell205 montait pour quitter les lieux, il est passé au-dessus et devant le Bell 206B. Comme le vent venait du sud-ouest, les conditions étaient propices à la production de tourbillons par le rotor principal du Bell 205, lesquels ont dérivé dans la trajectoire du Bell 206B. Ces tourbillons peuvent avoir entraîné une brusque réduction de la poussée du rotor de queue et, de ce fait, un lacet intempestif sur la droite pouvant se transformer en une rotation à vitesse élevée. La faible hauteur du pilote au-dessus des arbres interdisait toute réduction du pas collectif pour effectuer un rétablissement.

Une comparaison entre les blessures au visage subies par le pilote et l'absence de blessures chez le garde forestier assis sur le siège avant gauche après l'impact au sol amène le Bureau à conclure que l'utilisation d'un harnais aurait réduit le nombre et l'importance des blessures à la partie supérieure du corps du pilote.

L'accident a donné lieu au rapport suivant du Laboratoire technique :

  • LP 63/98 - Tail Rotor Drive Shaft Examination (examen de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue)

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote était qualifié et certifié pour le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise en direction et il n'a pas été en mesure de rétablir l'appareil.
  4. On n'a découvert aucune défectuosité mécanique avant impact.
  5. Les conditions de vent ainsi que la position et la vitesse de l'hélicoptère étaient propices à ce que se produise une perte d'autorité du rotor de queue.
  6. Le pilote ne portait pas le harnais disponible et il a subi des blessures au visage.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Il est probable que la perte de maîtrise en direction subie par le pilote de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B ait été causée par une perte d'autorité du rotor de queue lorsque ce dernier s'est retrouvé dans le sillage des tourbillons du rotor principal de l'hélicoptère Bell 205.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 10 février 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


1. Temps universel coordonné moins six heures.