Aviation Investigation Report A98W0216

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Separation
Between Air Canada
Boeing 747-238 C-GAGC
and Air Canada
Boeing 747-400 C-GAGM
55 North Latitude and 10 West Longitude
North Atlantic Ocean
27 September 1998

Summary

Air Canada flight number 003 (ACA003), a Boeing 747-238, departed London, England, at 1255 coordinated universal time (UTC) for Montreal, Canada. Shortly thereafter, Air Canada flight number 857 (ACA857), a Boeing 747-400, departed London, England, for Toronto, Canada. For the oceanic crossing, ACA003 was cleared to flight level (FL) 360 and ACA857 was cleared to FL350; both aircraft attained their assigned altitude. At approximately 1332, Scottish Oceanic En Route air traffic control centre received a separation monitoring function (SMF) alert which showed that ACA003 was descending through FL350, with about two nautical miles (nm) lateral separation from ACA857. Because ACA003 was at the extreme limits of the very high frequency (VHF) radio range, initial attempts to communicate by both the controllers and the flight crew were unsuccessful. At about 1343, ACA003 and Scottish Oceanic Area Control Centre (Scottish Centre) established communications on frequency 121.5 megahertz (MHz) and then on 125.675 MHz. ACA003 was re-cleared to maintain FL320 and separation with other aircraft was established.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

After departure, ACA003 was initially cleared to FL330, and upon reaching that altitude, the flight crew completed the cruise checklist. The second officer, with concurrence of the captain, contacted Scottish Centre and requested oceanic track Charlie at an altitude of FL350. The centre advised that FL350 was not available, but that FL360 was available if ACA003 could accept it. After the crew reviewed the performance charts, the second officer advised the centre that FL360 was acceptable for the oceanic crossing. ACA003 was subsequently cleared to cross 55 degrees north latitude and 10 degrees west longitude (55 N, 10 W) at FL360, the entry point to the oceanic track Charlie.

Aircraft performance during the climb from FL330 to FL360 was good, with the aircraft climbing at about 500 feet per minute (fpm). At level-off at FL360, the aircraft weight was 679 100 pounds, and the speed was just over Mach 0.85. The cruise target speed was Mach 0.84. The engine thrust levers were set at the pre-determined engine pressure ratio (EPR) values of 1.60, and the speed was seen to be approaching Mach 0.84. The flight crew then continued with various activities on the flight deck. As the captain, who was the pilot flying, was making a passenger address (PA) announcement, the aircraft experienced a slight ripple-type vibration. The captain checked the airspeed which was passing through Mach 0.750/248 knots indicated airspeed (KIAS) and decreasing. The first officer called airspeed, power, and maximum continuous thrust and the captain increased the engine power to maximum continuous thrust (MCT). The airspeed stabilized for a short time and then began to decrease again. The crew requested a descent clearance from Scottish Centre on VHF radio while the captain began a descent to maintain airspeed. ACA857 heard ACA003's attempted calls and relayed the request to Scottish Centre also advising that he had ACA003 visual and was maintaining separation.

ACA857 had observed ACA003 in descent visually and on the traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS), and had moved left of track to remain clear of ACA003's wake turbulence and to maintain some lateral separation. After passing through FL350, ACA003 established communications with Scottish Centre on frequency 121.5 MHz and later with Scottish Control on 125.675 MHz. Once ACA003 passed below the altitude of ACA857, the captain elected to turn left so as to remain clear of other traffic he knew was in the area. As soon as practical, the crew advised Scottish Centre of their offset. After establishing that the flight could continue to Montreal, ACA003 was cleared to maintain FL320. The remainder of the flight was uneventful.

The flight crew of ACA003 met all the training and operational requirements as prescribed for operation of the Boeing 747-238. The captain had been on the aircraft type for about two years, and had flown in the week before the incident. The first officer had been on the aircraft type for about four months, but had not flown for the previous month. The second officer had been on the aircraft type for approximately seven months, and had flown in the week before the incident. The crew had dead-headed to London and the first officer and second officer met each other the day before the flight. The captain met the first officer and second officer in the lobby of the hotel the morning of the flight. The captain and second officer had not met each other before this flight. The captain and first officer had flown together on a previous occasion.

According to the Boeing 747-200 performance charts, the aircraft is capable of maintaining FL360 under the conditions of this occurrence; however, the technique in handling the aircraft while at critical performance limits requires special attention and very careful monitoring until the aircraft is stabilized.

The aircraft departed London with 238 passengers and 10 infants. The estimated take-off weight was 716 100 pounds and the mean aerodynamic chord (MAC) was 5.3 units. The aircraft departed London within the allowable weight and centre of gravity range. On arrival at Montreal, the aircraft cargo was weighed and found to be 1 800 pounds more than indicated on the pre-take-off calculations. This weight discrepancy would not have affected the balance or cruise calculations, and is not considered a factor in this occurrence.

The upper level wind charts available to the crew indicated a veering wind from the south-south-west to generally a westerly flow in the area of 10 W. Wind speed varied from 45 knots in the south-westerly flow to 35 knots in the westerly flow. Temperatures varied from minus 51 degrees Celsius to minus 54 degrees Celsius. The aircraft was operating during daylight in visual meteorological conditions (VMC) from departure to the time of the occurrence.

The digital flight data recorder (DFDR) was removed and sent for analysis. The data from the DFDR was found to be limited for analysis purposes due to a problem with the acquisition function of the recorder. Most of the engine parameters, including engine thrust settings and altitude readouts, were missing. Airspeed, two fuel flows, pitch, static air temperature, angle of attack, magnetic heading, and some non-relevant parameters were available. The DFDR confirmed the reduction of airspeed which occurred over a period of about six minutes and a change in angle of attack from about 3 degrees nose up to about 5.5 degrees nose up. There were significant fuel flow discrepancies between the No. 1 and No. 2 fuel flow recordings. The flows are, however, indicative of the thrust setting changes which the captain reported.

At the time of the incident, Scottish air traffic control (ATC) was not monitoring the progress of ACA003 as it was beyond the 250 nm range set on its monitors; however, ACA003 was still operating in the area covered by the radar. Radar data recorded by Scottish Centre show ACA003 in level flight with the ground speed slowly reducing. Because of its slower ground speed (decline of airspeed), ACA003 was slowly being overtaken by ACA857, on near identical ground tracks. As ACA003 began to descend and encroach on the protected flight space of ACA857, the separation monitoring function detected the loss of separation and alerted Scottish Centre staff.

Analysis

Because of the limited value of the DFDR data, a reconstruction of the flight was not possible. Crew reports, radar data, and ATC radio transcripts were used to reconstruct events which led to the loss of separation between the two aircraft. Because the weather was clear and the TCAS was operating, the crew members of ACA857 were able to observe and monitor the progress of ACA003 and offset the aircraft track so as to avoid wake turbulence and reduce the risks of proximity flight.

After ACA003 levelled at FL360, the DFDR indicates that about six minutes elapsed before there was a reaction by the flight crew to the loss of airspeed. As the speed decreased and the pitch angle changed to about 5.5 degrees, the captain was making a PA announcement and the first officer and second officer were preparing a position report required for 55 N, 10 W crossing. Thus, there was no effective monitoring of the aircraft performance just after reaching a cruising altitude, which the crew were aware was at or near the performance limits of the aircraft. The better-than-anticipated aircraft performance during the climb to FL360 gave the crew little concern regarding the need to monitor the aircraft's performance after level-off.

Because of the problem of the acquisition function of the DFDR, it could not be determined if the thrust was set at the required levels, nor could it be determined what setting may have been selected to other cockpit systems.

After levelling at FL360, the captain had the thrust levers set to pre-determined levels for the altitude/weight/airspeed configuration. Once the altitude was captured, the autopilot compensated for the reduction in airspeed by increasing the pitch angle. The pitch angle changed slowly and was not perceived by the flight deck crew who were preoccupied with duties not associated directly with the monitoring of aircraft performance. Thus, it was not until the captain noted a slight ripple through the aircraft, which was likely a pre-stall buffet, that his attention was diverted away from the PA announcement he was making to the passengers and refocused on the aircraft. Because of the low airspeed, moving the thrust levers to MCT did not provide sufficient thrust to regain airspeed without descending the aircraft. Further complicating the recovery was the crew's inability to communicate immediately with the appropriate ATC authority. Communications were eventually established, but not until after a loss of separation occurred.

Because of the TCAS indication and because the crew of ACA857 could see ACA003, they were able to offset their track and pass ACA003 with about 2 nm lateral separation. The captain of ACA003 was aware that, by offsetting his track during the descent, he would avoid flight in proximity to other following aircraft.

Findings

  1. The flight crew of ACA003 were certified and qualified for the flight.
  2. ACA003 was capable of sustaining flight at FL360 under the conditions present during the occurrence.
  3. After levelling the aircraft at FL360, the flight deck crew became preoccupied with tasks not associated with monitoring aircraft performance and the airspeed decayed to Mach 0.75; the target speed was Mach 0.84.
  4. As the airspeed decreased, the pitch angle increased from about 3 degrees to about 5.5 degrees and buffet was felt through the airframe directing the crew's attention to the aircraft's deteriorating performance.
  5. To regain airspeed, the thrust was increased to MCT and the nose was lowered. The lowering of the nose resulted in a loss of altitude.
  6. The loss of altitude resulted in a loss of separation with a following aircraft, ACA857.
  7. Because of the TCAS indication and because the crew of ACA857 could see ACA003, the crew of ACA857 moved laterally off course to avoid wake turbulence and to provide lateral separation.
  8. Communications difficulties resulted in the appropriate ATC agency not being made aware of the intentions of ACA003 until after the loss of separation occurred.
  9. The loss of separation was detected and displayed by the ATC separation monitoring function.

Causes and Contributing Factors

After levelling at an altitude which was at or near the performance limits of the aircraft, the crew did not adequately monitor the performance of the aircraft and the airspeed decreased to an unsafe level. The flight crew of ACA003 had to descend the aircraft to increase airspeed and a loss of separation occurred.

Safety Action

Air Canada published an internal Aircraft Technical Bulletin #405, dated 98-11-06, which discussed a recent change to the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The change requires periodic FDR correlation checks in operation, with each aircraft being checked once per C-check cycle. When a check is due, flight crew perform and record the required correlation checks during flight. Maintenance personnel then retrieve the completed form and the FDR and ensure that the FDR is recording properly.

Although this change is not related to this occurrence, the required correlation checks will ensure that an FDR is more likely to perform properly during flight.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros and Henry Wright, authorized the release of this report on 24 November 1999.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A98W0216

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement entre
le Boeing 747-238 d'Air Canada C-GAGC et
le Boeing 747-400 d'Air Canada C-GAGM
par 55 Nord de latitude
et 10 Ouest de longitude
27 septembre 1998

Résumé

À 12 h 55, temps universel coordonné (UTC), le Boeing 747-238 assurant le vol numéro 003 d'Air Canada (ACA003) a quitté Londres, en Angleterre, à destination de Montréal, au Canada. Peu de temps après, le Boeing 747-400 assurant le vol numéro 857 d'Air Canada (ACA857) a quitté Londres, en Angleterre, à destination de Toronto, au Canada. Pour la traversée océanique, ACA003 avait été autorisé à monter au niveau de vol (FL) 360, et ACA857 au FL350; les deux appareils ont atteint l'altitude qui leur avait été assignée. Vers 13 h 32, le centre de contrôle écossais de la circulation aérienne océanique (Scottish Oceanic Enroute) a reçu une alerte provenant de la fonction de surveillance des espacements (SMF), laquelle montrait qu'ACA003 passait le FL350 en descente, l'espacement latéral avec ACA857 étant de quelque deux milles marins (nm). Comme ACA003 se trouvait à la limite extrême de la portée radio très haute fréquence (VHF), les premières tentatives de communications, tant par les contrôleurs que par l'équipage, ont été vaines. Vers 13 h 43, ACA003 et le centre de contrôle écossais de la circulation aérienne océanique (le centre de contrôle écossais) ont pu établir la communication sur les fréquences de 121,5 mégahertz (MHz) puis de 125,675 MHz. ACA003 a été autorisé à maintenir le FL320, et l'espacement avec les autres avions a été établi.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Après le départ, ACA003 a d'abord été autorisé à monter au FL330 et, une fois cette altitude atteinte, l'équipage de conduite a passé en revue la liste de vérifications de croisière. Le second officier, avec l'accord du commandant de bord, a contacté le centre de contrôle écossais et a demandé la route océanique Charlie au FL350. Le centre a répondu que le FL350 n'était pas disponible mais que le FL360 l'était, si ACA003 pouvait l'accepter. Après que l'équipage eut examiné les tableaux des performances, le second officier a répondu que le FL360 était acceptable pour la traversée océanique. Par la suite, ACA003 a été autorisé à survoler au FL360 le point situé à la latitude de 55 degrés Nord et à la longitude de 10 degrés Ouest (55 N, 10 W), coordonnées du point d'entrée de la route océanique Charlie.

Entre les FL330 et 360, les performances de l'avion en montée ont été bonnes, l'appareil ayant un taux de montée de quelque 500 pieds à la minute (pi/min). Au moment de la mise en palier au FL360, l'avion avait une masse de 679 100 livres et une vitesse légèrement supérieure à Mach 0,85. La vitesse cible en croisière était de Mach 0,84. Les manettes des gaz ont été réglées à la valeur préétablie du rapport de pression moteur (EPR), à savoir 1,60, et il a été constaté que la vitesse s'approchait de Mach 0,84. Puis, l'équipage a poursuivi son travail en exécutant diverses autres tâches dans le poste de pilotage. Le commandant de bord, qui était le pilote aux commandes, était en train de donner des renseignements aux passagers lorsqu'une légère vibration ressemblant à un soubresaut a secoué l'avion. Le commandant de bord a vérifié la vitesse, laquelle passait Mach 0,750/248 noeuds de vitesse indiquée (KIAS) en diminuant. Le copilote a lu à haute voix la vitesse et la puissance affichées; il a également vérifié quelle était la poussée maximale continue (MCT), et le commandant de bord a augmenté la puissance à la MCT. La vitesse s'est stabilisée un court instant avant de recommencer à diminuer. L'équipage a demandé l'autorisation de descendre au centre de contrôle écossais en utilisant la radio VHF pendant que le commandant entamait la descente afin de conserver la vitesse. ACA857 a entendu les tentatives d'appel radio d'ACA003 et a relayé la demande au centre de contrôle écossais, précisant en même temps qu'il voyait ACA003 et qu'il maintenait l'espacement.

L'équipage d'ACA857 a observé la descente d'ACA003 visuellement et sur son système de surveillance de trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS), s'écartant à gauche de sa route afin d'éviter la turbulence de sillage d'ACA003 et de conserver un certain espacement latéral. Après avoir traversé le FL350, ACA003 a établi la communication avec le centre de contrôle écossais sur la fréquence de 121,5 MHz et, par la suite et toujours avec ce même centre, sur 125,675 MHz. Quand ACA003 s'est trouvé au-dessous de l'altitude d'ACA857, le commandant de bord a décidé de virer à gauche afin de rester à l'écart des autres appareils qu'il savait être dans les parages. Dès que cela a été possible, l'équipage a avisé le centre de contrôle écossais de sa situation. Une fois établi que l'avion pouvait poursuivre sa route vers Montréal, ACA003 a été autorisé à maintenir le FL320. Le reste du vol s'est déroulé sans autre incident.

L'équipage de conduite d'ACA003 satisfaisait à toutes les exigences opérationnelles et de formation nécessaires à l'exploitation du Boeing 747-238. Le commandant de bord pilotait ce type d'appareil depuis deux ans environ, et il avait volé dans la semaine ayant précédé l'incident. Le copilote se trouvait sur ce type d'appareil depuis quelque quatre mois, mais il n'avait pas volé au cours du dernier mois. Quant au second officier, il travaillait sur ce type d'appareil depuis approximativement sept mois, et il avait volé dans la semaine ayant précédé l'incident. Les membres d'équipage s'étaient rendus à Londres en tant que passagers, et le copilote et le second officier s'étaient rencontrés la veille du vol. De son côté, le commandant de bord avait rencontré le copilote et le second officier dans le foyer de l'hôtel le matin du vol. Si le commandant de bord et le second officier ne s'étaient jamais rencontrés avant ce vol, le commandant de bord et le copilote avaient déjà volé ensemble à une reprise.

D'après les tableaux des performances du Boeing 747-200, l'avion est capable de voler au FL360 dans les conditions qui prévalaient au moment des faits; toutefois, la technique de pilotage aux limites de performances critiques exige une attention spéciale et une surveillance très étroite jusqu'à ce que l'avion soit stabilisé.

Au départ de Londres, 238 passagers et 10 bébés se trouvaient à bord de l'avion. La masse au décollage a été estimée à 716 100 livres, la corde aérodynamique moyenne (MAC) se situant à 5,3 unités. La masse et le centre de gravité se trouvaient à l'intérieur des limites permises quand l'avion a quitté Londres. À l'arrivée à Montréal, le fret de l'avion a été pesé, ce qui a donné un résultat supérieur de 1 800 livres au chiffre calculé avant le décollage. Cette différence de masse n'aurait pas eu de conséquence sur les calculs de masse et centrage, et il a été considéré qu'elle n'avait joué aucun rôle dans les faits.

D'après les cartes des vents en altitude dont disposait l'équipage, les vents soufflant du sud-sud-ouest devaient tourner essentiellement à l'ouest dans la région située à la longitude de 10 Ouest. La vitesse de ces vents devait aller de 45 noeuds pour ceux soufflant du sud-ouest, à 35 noeuds pour ceux venant de l'ouest. Les températures étaient comprises entre moins 51 et moins 54 degrés Celsius. Du départ au moment de l'incident, l'avion a évolué durant les heures de clarté et dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC).

L'enregistreur numérique des données de vol (DFDR) a été déposé et envoyé à l'analyse. Les données du DFDR se sont révélées être d'un intérêt limité aux fins de l'analyse, et ce, à cause d'un problème au niveau de la fonction d'acquisition des données. La plupart des paramètres des moteurs, y compris les réglages de poussée, et les lectures d'altitude manquaient. La vitesse, deux débits de carburant, le tangage, la température de l'air statique, l'angle d'attaque, le cap magnétique et certains autres paramètres non pertinents à l'incident étaient disponibles. Le DFDR a confirmé la réduction de la vitesse, laquelle s'est étalée sur une période de quelque six minutes, ainsi qu'une modification de l'angle d'attaque, le cabré passant de 3 degrés environ à 5,5 degrés approximativement. Il y avait des écarts notables dans les enregistrements des débits carburant no 1 et no 2. Toutefois, ces débits sont cohérents avec les modifications du réglage de la poussée signalées par le commandant de bord.

Au moment de l'incident, le centre écossais de contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) ne surveillait pas l'évolution d'ACA003, l'avion se trouvant au-delà de la limite d'affichage de 250 nm choisie pour les écrans; toutefois, ACA003 se trouvait encore à l'intérieur de la zone sous couverture radar. Les données radar enregistrées par le centre de contrôle écossais montrent ACA003 en palier alors que sa vitesse sol diminue doucement. À cause de cette vitesse sol plus lente (réduction de la vitesse de vol), ACA003 s'est fait rattraper tout doucement par ACA857, les deux suivant des routes au sol pratiquement identiques. Quand ACA003 a commencé à descendre et est entré dans la zone de protection de l'espace de vol d'ACA857, la fonction de surveillance de l'espacement a détecté la perte d'espacement et a alerté le personnel du centre de contrôle écossais.

Analyse

Compte tenu de la valeur limitée des données tirées du DFDR, il a été impossible de reconstituer le vol. Les comptes rendus des équipages, les données radar ainsi que les transcriptions des messages radio de l'ATC ont servi à reconstituer les événements qui ont mené à la perte d'espacement entre les deux avions. Comme il faisait beau et que le TCAS fonctionnait, les membres d'équipage d'ACA857 ont pu observer et surveiller les évolutions d'ACA003 et s'écarter de la route de l'appareil afin d'éviter la turbulence de sillage et de réduire les risques d'une situation de proximité en vol.

Une fois ACA003 en palier au FL360, le DFDR indique qu'il s'est écoulé quelque six minutes avant que l'équipage de conduite ne réagisse à la diminution de la vitesse. Alors que la vitesse diminuait et que l'angle d'attaque atteignait presque 5,5 degrés, le commandant de bord donnait des renseignements aux passagers sur le circuit de sonorisation de la cabine, et le copilote ainsi que le second officier préparaient le compte rendu de position exigé au point situé à 55 N, 10 W. Par conséquent, il n'y a eu aucune réelle surveillance des performances de l'avion juste après la mise en palier à l'altitude de croisière, alors que l'équipage savait que cette altitude se situait aux limites ou presque des performances de l'avion. Les performances ayant été meilleures que prévues pendant la montée au FL360, l'équipage n'a pas été conditionné outre mesure au besoin de surveiller les performances de l'avion après la mise en palier.

Compte tenu des ennuis éprouvés par la fonction d'acquisition des données du DFDR, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si la poussée avait été réglée aux niveaux nécessaires, pas plus qu'il n'a été possible d'établir les réglages qui ont été sélectionnés pour d'autres systèmes du poste de pilotage.

Une fois en palier au FL360, le commandant de bord a vu au réglage des manettes de gaz au niveau préétabli en fonction de la configuration altitude/masse/vitesse. Une fois l'altitude acquise, le pilote automatique a compensé la réduction de vitesse par une augmentation de l'angle de tangage. Ce dernier s'est modifié en douceur, si bien que l'équipage de conduite, absorbé par d'autres tâches n'ayant pas de lien direct avec la surveillance des performances de l'avion, ne s'en est pas rendu compte. Ainsi, c'est seulement lorsque le commandant de bord a remarqué un petit soubresaut de l'avion, probablement un tremblement avant décrochage, qu'il a détourné son attention du message qu'il communiquait aux passagers pour revenir se concentrer sur l'avion. Compte tenu de la vitesse peu élevée, le fait de mettre les manettes des gaz à la MCT n'a pas donné une poussée suffisante pour que l'avion puisse reprendre de la vitesse sans mise en descente. Pour compliquer davantage la situation, l'équipage n'a pu communiquer immédiatement avec les autorités ATC pertinentes. Les communications ont finalement pu être rétablies, mais pas avant que la perte d'espacement ne se soit déjà produite.

Grâce aux indications du TCAS et au fait que l'équipage d'ACA857 pouvait voir ACA003, celui-ci a pu s'écarter et dépasser ACA003 avec un espacement latéral de l'ordre de 2 nm. Le commandant de bord d'ACA003 était conscient qu'en s'écartant de sa route pendant la descente, il pouvait éviter de voler à proximité d'autres appareils qui le suivaient.

Faits établis

  1. L'équipage de conduite d'ACA003 détenait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol.
  2. ACA003 était capable de voler au FL360 dans les conditions qui prévalaient au moment des faits.
  3. Après avoir mis l'avion en palier au FL360, l'équipage de conduite s'est préoccupé de tâches qui n'étaient pas liées à la surveillance des performances de l'avion, et la vitesse de ce dernier a diminué à Mach 0,75; la vitesse cible était de Mach 0,84.
  4. À mesure que la vitesse a diminué, l'angle de cabré a augmenté, passant de quelque 3 degrés à 5,5 degrés environ, et des tremblements ont été ressentis à travers la cellule, ce qui a attiré l'attention de l'équipage sur la dégradation des performances de l'avion.
  5. Pour reprendre de la vitesse, la poussée a été augmentée à MCT et il y a eu mise en piqué. L'assiette en piqué s'est traduite par une perte d'altitude.
  6. La perte d'altitude a entraîné une perte d'espacement avec un avion qui suivait, à savoir ACA857.
  7. Compte tenu des indications fournies par le TCAS et du fait que l'équipage d'ACA857 pouvait voir ACA003, l'équipage d'ACA857 s'est écarté latéralement de sa route afin d'éviter la turbulence de sillage et de disposer d'un espacement latéral.
  8. À la suite de difficultés de communications, il a fallu attendre après la perte d'espacement pour que l'organisme ATC compétent puisse être informé des intentions d'ACA003.
  9. La perte d'espacement a été détectée et affichée par la fonction de surveillance de l'espacement de l'ATC.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Après une mise en palier à une altitude qui était à la limite ou presque des performances de l'avion, l'équipage de conduite n'a pas surveillé correctement le comportement de l'appareil, et sa vitesse a diminué dangereusement. Il a fallu que l'équipage d'ACA003 se mette en descente pour faire reprendre de la vitesse à l'avion, et il y a alors eu une perte d'espacement.

Mesures de sécurité

Air Canada a publié le bulletin technique interne (Aircraft Technical Bulletin) no 405 daté du 6 novembre 1998, lequel traitait d'une récente modification apportée au Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Cette modification exige des vérifications périodiques de corrélation des FDR utilisés, chaque avion devant faire l'objet d'une vérification par cycle d'inspection C. Quand vient le temps de faire cette vérification, l'équipage de conduite effectue et consigne les vérifications de corrélation exigées pendant un vol. Ensuite, le personnel de maintenance récupère le formulaire et le FDR et s'assure que le FDR fonctionne correctement.

Bien que cette modification ne soit pas reliée au présent incident, de telles vérifications de corrélation obligatoires devraient augmenter les chances qu'un FDR fonctionne correctement en vol.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 24 novembre 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros et Henry Wright.