Aviation Investigation Report A99C0127

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Power Loss / Forced Landing
Athabaska Airways Ltd.
Sikorsky S55B/T (Helicopter) C-FUNT
Pelican Narrows, Saskatchewan 16 nm NW
09 June 1999

Summary

The helicopter was on the second flight of the day, flying contract missions for the Fire Management and Forest Protection Branch of the Province of Saskatchewan. The pilot was bucketing hot spots on a fire that was almost out. The pace was leisurely and pilots in the area were picking their own targets. The pilot of the S55B/T was making right-hand circuits from the fire line to a nearby lake. He estimated that he had dumped 10 to 15 buckets on the fire when he returned to a bay in the lake to charge the bucket for the next drop. The bucket was in the water, suspended on a 20-foot line below the helicopter. The pilot had moved the helicopter off to the side and had his head out the side window to watch the progress of the fill, and he was not in a position to monitor the engine gauges.

While hovering 10 to 15 feet above the water's surface, with the throttle in the full-open position, the pilot heard the engine begin to spool down. He did not have time to tell if the engine had stopped completely or if it had decelerated to flight idle, but it was apparent that the helicopter would not maintain its altitude. The pilot pulled the collective to arrest the descent, and then rolled the throttle off in an attempt to reduce the main rotor revolutions per minute (rpm). He did not have time to pull the fuel shut-off or to pull the rotor brake before the helicopter struck the water. The helicopter settled onto its left side, and the main rotor blades were substantially damaged. When it was apparent that the helicopter was sinking, the pilot departed the helicopter and swam to the nearest shoreline. He did not think to reach for his life jacket that was stored overhead in the cockpit of the helicopter. The pilot, who was wearing his helmet, suffered a blow to the head during the occurrence and experienced some soreness in his neck afterwards.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The 1000 central standard time (CST) weather, as observed by the Fire Management Branch at Pelican Narrows, 16 nautical miles (nm) from the occurrence site, was as follows: temperature of 16 degrees Celsius, relative humidity of 78 per cent, wind from 180 degrees magnetic, and wind speed of 5 kilometres per hour. It was indicated that the conditions were similar at the occurrence site.

Persons on the shoreline observed that the helicopter was in a stable hover, and the bucket was resting in the water when the engine noise decreased and the helicopter settled in the water.

The helicopter was recovered from the water after being submerged for two days. A fuel sample taken from between the engine fuel shut-off and the engine-driven pump showed the fuel to be clean and free from water contamination. While the helicopter was submerged, water displaced the fuel from the main fuel tanks, and the quantity of fuel on board at the time of the occurrence could not be accurately determined. The fuelling records for the aircraft indicated that there would have been ample fuel to complete the assigned flights. Samples taken from the fuel dispensing pump and tank system were clean and free from contamination. No problems were reported by operators of other aircraft that were fuelled from the same source.

Although the main rotor blades had suffered significant damage, the main rotor and tail rotor controls maintained their integrity and were found to function normally. Inspection of the cockpit indicated that the ground/flight switch was in the flight position. The helicopter engine did not incur a catastrophic internal failure; the engine compressor and turbine sections turned freely without grinding or restriction; and there was continuity between the main engine components and the accessories of the accessory drive section. All engine linkages and controls were found to be secure and to function normally.

Records indicated that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The helicopter was operating within its maximum gross weight limit, and the centre of gravity was within the prescribed limits.

The pilot held a valid commercial pilot licence appropriately endorsed for the S55B/T helicopter and a valid Category 1 medical certificate. His recurrent training was up-to-date, and he had accumulated more than 3 000 hours as pilot-in-command for the helicopter type and a total flight time of approximately 5 500 hours. The pilot and helicopter had been on contract for about three weeks prior to the occurrence. During that time, the pilot had accumulated approximately 80 hours of flight time. The day before the occurrence, the pilot had flown eleven hours. Information provided indicated that he had slept for more than eight hours prior to the day of the accident and he felt that he was well rested. The pilot reported that he had been accomplishing under-speed governor (USG) checks before the first flight of the day, in accordance with company policy and the requirements of the helicopter operating manual. He reported that the helicopter had operated within allowable limits when this test was conducted on the day of the occurrence. The helicopter was being operated in a low-load role at the time of the occurrence. The pilot was aware of the tendency for this engine to decelerate if additional power was required when the engine rpm was at 99%, and he believed that the helicopter was operating above this critical 99% engine rpm at the time of the occurrence.

In an information letter dated 28 July 1975, Helitec Corporation identified a possibility whereby S55T helicopters, equipped with AiResearch TSE331-3U-303 turbo shaft engines, may encounter power loss at lowered engine speed. Under normal operating conditions, the USG regulates the fuel delivered to the engine to maintain a nearly-constant engine speed under various engine power conditions. As the power requirement of the engine is increased, the USG increases the fuel flow. The engine speed typically decreases about three per cent in going from no-load to 650 shaft-horsepower. To facilitate engine starting and to prevent surges or serious over-temperatures, a limit, described as the acceleration schedule, was provided beyond which the fuel flow will not be increased. If the engine is operating near this acceleration schedule limit, any additional load will cause the engine speed (rpm) to decrease. Unless the load on the engine is reduced, the engine will experience a rapid loss of engine power and rpm but will not flame out.

The letter further suggested the following: the engine tachometer must be verified for accuracy; pilots must be aware of the possibility of deceleration if the engine is operated below 99 per cent engine speed in flight; the USG setting and throttle linkage must be confirmed to provide full-travel operation; and the specific gravity setting for the fuel control must be appropriate for the fuel being used. Airworthiness Directive (AD) 75-22-12 was subsequently issued. It mandated accomplishment of these preventative measures and further required that a fuel enrichment valve system be installed. Records indicate that company maintenance personnel had completed calibration tests for the engine tachometer and the engine tachometer generator, in accordance with the requirements of AD 75-22-12, and the required fuel enrichment valve system was installed on the engine.

Athabaska Airways Ltd. owned several S55T helicopters. At the time of the occurrence, C-FUNT was the only one of these helicopters that was operational. After this accident, the operator sold all of its S55T helicopters and shipped them to the United States. There were no other S55T helicopters operating in Canada.

The engine was in the process of spooling down at the time of the submersion and was exposed to the thermal shock of sudden cooling in the cold water of the lake. As a result of the detrimental effects of this cooling exposure, it was not deemed feasible to test run the engine. Despite this shock loading, there was no evidence of internal failure, and it was deemed to be unnecessary to tear the engine down. The electrical system was on-line and powered when the helicopter sank and would have been subjected to arcing of the electrical components due to moisture-related conductivity. It would be difficult to differentiate between pre-submergence arcing and arcing caused by submersion, and any arcing damage would be inconclusive. With the exception of a non-water contaminated sample of fuel, which was trapped between the engine-driven fuel pump and the firewall shut-off, all of the fuel in the helicopter and the engine was displaced by lake water when the helicopter was submerged.

As a result of the foregoing, the scope of the investigation was limited to testing those items which had previously been suspected to cause problems with TSE331-3U-303-equipped S55T helicopters, in particular those components that provide fuel delivery control to the engine.

During disassembly of the fuel system and removal of the primary components, all lines and orifice fittings were found to be secure. After removal, they were examined for blockages or contaminants. Other than water that had entered the system while submerged in the lake, there were no contaminants or blockages. The fuel control Ps3 rolling diaphragm was checked for leaks and found to be secure. The fuel system components were sent to their respective manufacturer facilities, where they were tested in the presence of Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) inspectors. Despite the effects of submersion and the time between the accident and the testing, each component was deemed to function in a manner which would not have caused an engine deceleration. The following minor anomalies were noted during testing: during initial testing of the engine-driven fuel pump (Garrett P/N 89370-2) the vanes were stuck in a retracted position and the pump did not immediately produce flow; and, when the pump vanes released, the pump discharge rate was 115 pounds per hour (pph) instead of the standard 120 pph. This difference in flow rates was deemed to be insufficient to cause an engine deceleration.

The flow divider and drain assembly (Garrett P/N 394300-3-1) functioned at 85 pounds per square inch differential pressure (psid) rather than the standard pressure of 75 psid. The safety wire crimp seal for the bellows assembly was reported to be other than that of the manufacturer, and a thin, white, oxidation substance was noted in the vicinity of the bellows adjustment screw assembly. The presence of the oxidization substance and the difference in psid were assessed as not contributory to an engine deceleration.

The manufacturer of the fuel control (Woodward part number (P/N) 8070-113, Garrett P/N 89309-4) found that the lockwire on the speed setting shaft was not the same as that installed by the manufacturer, indicating that a field adjustment had probably been made. According to the manufacturer, the "USG max stop was high out of limits, 4700 rpm required to meet 220 pph requirement when 4627 rpm should achieve. This shows a change in the USG max. setting of approximately 1.5%." In a follow-up discussion, the manufacturer indicated that this would have resulted in the engine being less likely to reach its acceleration schedule. When tested with the Tt2 sensor (Woodward P/N 8901-013) installed, all test parameters for the assembly were satisfactory. Nothing was found to indicate that the fuel control or the Tt2 sensor could have contributed to the reported problem.

Analysis

The pilot was aware that the engine could decelerate if flight loads reduced the engine rpm to below 99% and the engine began operating on the acceleration schedule. Because the pilot had his head out of the side window, he did not see the engine rpm indicated on the gauge. The helicopter engine should have been operating at greater that 99% rpm and should not have been operating on the acceleration schedule because the helicopter was in a stable hover and it was not lifting a heavy load.

Because the fuel supply for the helicopter and the fuel in the fuel line to the engine-driven pump were found to be uncontaminated, it is unlikely that the engine power loss resulted from fuel contamination. The fact that other aircraft fuelled from the same source operated without fuel-related problems indicates that it is unlikely that fuel quality was a factor in the occurrence. The information as to the fuel quantity in the helicopter makes it unlikely that the power loss resulted from fuel starvation.

As the electrical system was active and running when the helicopter became submerged, the electrical system was not analyzed. While it is possible that arcing in the electrical control system could cause a loss of engine rpm, it would be extremely difficult to differentiate between pre-impact and submersion-related arcing. Therefore, the electrical system was not investigated further.

There was no evidence of catastrophic engine failure. Despite being subjected to thermal shock and submersion, the engine was free-turning without grinding or binding and the accessory drives were intact. The shock loading precluded ground running or engine-stand running of the engine. The engine's free-turning condition after recovery suggests that the engine did not suffer a pre-impact internal failure.

Testing of the fuel control, the Tt2 sensor, the fuel pump, and the flow divider valve at their respective manufacture facilities did not disclose conditions that would have caused a loss of engine power. Several minor anomalies were noted during testing, but it was not determined whether these anomalies were present prior to the occurrence or if they resulted from the effects of the immersion of the helicopter. Even if the abnormalities existed before immersion, none of these individual anomalies should have resulted in an uncommanded loss of engine power. In addition, it is unlikely that their combined effect would have resulted in a complete loss of engine power. However, because the engine could not be ground run or test run with the components in place, it was not feasible to assess the combined effect of these anomalies.

The following TSB Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 90/99 - Engine Fuel Delivery Components.

Findings

  1. The pilot was experienced on type and certified and qualified for the occurrence flight.
  2. Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained and certified in accordance with existing standards and procedures.
  3. The weather conditions were not a factor in the occurrence.
  4. The operating parameters at the time of the occurrence did not contribute to the cause of the loss of engine power.
  5. Neither the fuel quality nor the fuel quantity was a likely factor in the occurrence.
  6. The effects of submersion of the helicopter precluded post-occurrence engine run testing.
  7. Component testing did not identify a cause for the deceleration of the engine.

Causes and Contributing Factors

For undetermined reasons, the engine experienced an uncommanded power reduction when the helicopter was at a low height above water. While functional testing of the fuel control, fuel pump, and the USG indicated that none of these components should have caused the reduction of power, some slight test parameter deviations were noted. The combined effects of these slight deviations could not be assessed.

Action Taken by the Operator

The operator sold this machine and all others that it owned to a company in the USA, where the helicopters are scheduled to be converted to a more successful engine/airframe combination. There are no other S55B/T helicopters operating in Canada.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 23 March 2000.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99C0127

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance et atterrissage forcé
Athabaska Airways Ltd.
Sikorsky S55B/T (hélicoptère) C-FUNT
16 nm au nord-ouest de Pelican Narrows (Saskatchewan)
Le 9 juin 1999

Résumé

L'hélicoptère effectuait son deuxième vol de la journée. Il exécutait des contrats pour la direction de la gestion des incendies et de la protection des forêts de la province de la Saskatchewan. Le pilote arrosait les zones menaçantes d'un incendie qui était presque éteint. Le travail s'effectuait lentement, et les pilotes se trouvant dans la zone choisissaient leurs propres cibles. Le pilote du S55B/T effectuait des circuits à droite de la ligne de feu jusqu'à un lac avoisinant. Après avoir déversé le contenu de 10 à 15 réservoirs d'eau sur l'incendie, il est retourné dans une baie du lac recharger son réservoir pour le largage suivant. Le réservoir était suspendu au-dessous de l'hélicoptère au bout d'une élingue de 20 pieds de longueur. Le pilote avait placé l'hélicoptère de côté et il s'était sorti la tête par la fenêtre latérale pour observer le remplissage du réservoir qui était alors immergé. Dans cette position, le pilote ne pouvait surveiller les instruments moteur.

L'appareil évoluait pleins gaz en stationnaire entre 10 et 15 pieds au-dessus de la surface de l'eau quand le pilote a entendu le moteur décélérer. Il n'a pas eu le temps de déterminer si le moteur s'était arrêté ou s'il tournait simplement au ralenti, mais il lui a semblé évident que l'hélicoptère ne pourrait maintenir son altitude. Il a alors tiré sur la commande de pas collectif pour stopper la descente, puis il a coupé les gaz dans l'espoir de réduire le régime du rotor principal. Il n'a pas eu le temps de couper l'arrivée de carburant ni le temps d'actionner le frein rotor avant que l'hélicoptère ne s'abîme dans l'eau. L'appareil s'est immobilisé sur le côté gauche. Les pales du rotor principal ont été lourdement endommagées. Quand il est devenu évident que l'hélicoptère coulait, le pilote l'a abandonné et a nagé jusqu'à la rive. Il n'a pas pensé à prendre son gilet de sauvetage qui se trouvait au plafond dans le poste de pilotage. Le pilote a reçu un coup à la tête lors de l'accident. Il portait son casque mais il a par la suite souffert de douleurs au cou.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les conditions météorologiques obervées par la direction de la gestion des incendies à Pelican Narrows à 10 heures, heure normale du Centre (HNC), à 16 milles marins (nm) des lieux de l'accident, étaient les suivantes : température de 16 degrés Celsius, humidité relative de 78 %, vents du 180 degrés magnétique à 5 km/h. Il a été mentionné que des conditions semblables prévalaient sur les lieux de l'accident.

Des gens qui se trouvaient sur la rive ont observé que l'hélicoptère se trouvait en stationnaire stable et que le réservoir était dans l'eau lorsque le bruit du moteur a diminué et que l'hélicoptère s'est abîmé dans l'eau.

L'hélicoptère a été récupéré après avoir été immergé pendant deux jours. Un échantillon de carburant prélevé entre le robinet coupe-feu et la pompe entraînée par le moteur a révélé que le carburant était propre et ne contenait pas d'eau. Pendant que l'hélicoptère était immergé, l'eau a chassé le carburant des réservoirs principaux, ce qui fait que la quantité de carburant à bord au moment de l'accident n'a pu être déterminée avec précision. Selon les dossiers d'avitaillement en carburant de l'appareil, il y aurait eu suffisamment de carburant à bord pour effectuer les vols prévus. L'examen des échantillons prélevés dans la pompe et du réservoir de carburant a révélé que le carburant était propre et ne contenait ni eau ni impureté. Les pilotes des autres appareils ravitaillés en carburant à la même source n'ont signalé aucun problème.

Les pales du rotor principal ont subi des dommages importants, mais les commandes du rotor principal et du rotor de queue n'ont pas été endommagées et fonctionnaient normalement après l'accident. L'inspection du poste de pilotage a révélé que le sélecteur sol/air était à la position air. Le moteur de l'hélicoptère n'a subi aucune défaillance interne catastrophique; les sections compresseur et turbine tournaient librement sans grincement ni gêne, et il y avait continuité entre les principaux composants du moteur et les accessoires de la section d'entraînement des accessoires. Il a été établi que la tringlerie et toutes les commandes du moteur étaient bien fixées et fonctionnaient normalement.

D'après les dossiers, l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. La masse de l'hélicoptère se trouvait dans les limites prescrites, et son centre de gravité se situait dans la plage normale.

Le pilote possédait une licence de pilote professionnel en état de validité avec une annotation pour l'hélicoptère S55B/T. Il possédait également un certificat médical de catégorie 1 en état de validité pour valider sa licence. Sa formation périodique était à jour. Il totalisait plus de 3 000 heures comme commandant de bord sur type et, au total, il avait 5 500 heures de vol à son actif. Au moment de l'accident, le pilote utilisait l'hélicoptère depuis environ trois semaines dans le cadre d'un contrat et il avait effectué environ 80 heures de vol. La veille de l'accident, le pilote avait effectué 11 heures de vol. Selon l'information recueillie, il avait pris plus de huit heures de sommeil la veille de l'accident et il se sentait frais et dispos. Le pilote a déclaré avoir vérifié le régulateur de sous-vitesse avant le premier vol de la journée, conformément à la politique de l'entreprise et aux exigences du manuel de vol de l'hélicoptère. Il a déclaré que lors de cette vérification, qui avait été effectuée le jour de l'accident, l'hélicoptère avait respecté les limites permises. Au moment de l'accident, l'hélicoptère était utilisé dans le cadre d'opérations à faible charge. Le pilote savait que ce moteur avait tendance à décélérer si de la puissance additionnelle était nécessaire lorsque le régime du moteur était de 99 %. Selon lui, le régime du moteur de l'hélicoptère devait être supérieur à ce régime critique de 99 % au moment de l'accident.

Helitec Corporation avait mentionné, dans une lettre d'information en date du 28 juillet 1975, qu'il était possible que les hélicoptères S55T équipés d'un turbomoteur AiResearch TSE331-3U-303 subissent une perte de puissance à faible vitesse. Dans des conditions de fonctionnement normales, le régulateur de sous-vitesse régule le carburant injecté dans le moteur de façon à maintenir la vitesse du moteur presque constante malgré les différentes puissances demandées. Lorsque la puissance que doit fournir le moteur augmente, le régulateur de sous-vitesse augmente le débit de carburant. La vitesse du moteur diminue habituellement de 3 % lorsqu'il passe d'un fonctionnement à vide à une puissance sur l'arbre de 650 hp. Pour faciliter le démarrage du moteur et empêcher les pompages ainsi que les surchauffes importantes, une limite appelée valeur maximale d'accélération, au-delà de laquelle le débit de carburant n'est pas augmenté, a été établie. Si le régime du moteur dépasse cette valeur maximale d'accélération, il diminue. À moins que la charge du moteur ne soit réduite, le moteur subit une perte de puissance rapide et le régime diminue sans que le moteur ne s'éteigne.

La lettre d'information suggérait également de vérifier la précision du tachymètre du moteur, de mettre les pilotes au courant qu'il y a risque de décélération si le moteur tourne à moins de 99 % de sa vitesse en vol, de vérifier le réglage du régulateur de sous-vitesse ainsi que la tringlerie de la manette des gaz pour s'assurer qu'il y a plein débattement, et de s'assurer que le réglage de la densité pour la régulation du carburant convient au carburant utilisé. Par la suite, la consigne de navigabilité (CN) 75-22-12 a été publiée. Elle exigeait que ces mesures de précaution soient prises et qu'un robinet d'enrichissement de carburant soit installé. Selon les dossiers, le personnel de maintenance de l'entreprise avait effectué des essais d'étalonnage sur le tachymètre du moteur et sur la génératrice tachymétrique, conformément aux exigences de la CN 75-22-12, et le système faisant appel au robinet d'enrichissement de carburant exigé avait été installé sur le moteur.

Athabaska Airways Ltd. possédait plusieurs hélicoptères S55T. Au moment de l'accident, le C-FUNT était le seul hélicoptère opérationnel. Après l'accident, l'exploitant a vendu tous ses hélicoptères S55T et les a expédiés aux États-Unis. Il n'y avait aucun autre S55T en exploitation au Canada.

Au moment de l'immersion dans l'eau, le moteur décélérait. Son refroidissement rapide dans les eaux froides du lac l'a donc exposé aux effets d'un choc thermique. On a jugé qu'il n'était pas possible de faire des essais de fonctionnement du moteur. À part les effets du choc thermique, aucun signe de défaillance interne n'a été décelé, et l'on a jugé qu'il n'était pas nécessaire de démonter le moteur. Le circuit électrique était connecté et sous tension lorsque l'hélicoptère a coulé, ce qui a pu provoquer le claquage des composants électriques à cause de la conductivité due à l'humidité. Il serait difficile de faire la différence entre un claquage survenu avant l'immersion et un claquage survenu pendant l'immersion; par conséquent, tout dommage attribuable à un claquage ne permettrait pas de tirer de conclusions. À l'exception d'un échantillon de carburant qui ne contenait pas d'eau, qui a été prélevé entre la pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur et le robinet coupe-feu, tout le carburant à bord de l'hélicoptère, y compris celui dans le moteur, a été chassé par l'eau du lac lorsque l'hélicoptère a été immergé.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, l'enquête s'est limitée à la vérification des éléments qui avaient déjà été soupçonnés d'avoir causé des problèmes sur des hélicoptères S55T équipés de turbomoteur TSE331-3U-303, en particulier les composants servant à réguler l'alimentation en carburant du moteur.

Pendant le démontage du circuit de carburant et la dépose des principaux composants, il a été établi que toutes les conduites et toutes les fixations des diaphragmes étaient bien en place. Après leur dépose, elles ont été examinées pour voir si elles étaient obstruées ou si elles contenaient des impuretés. Mise à part l'eau qui a pu pénétrer dans le circuit pendant l'immersion de l'appareil dans le lac, aucune impureté ni élément obstruant n'ont été décelés. L'étanchéité de la membrane à enroulement Ps3 de régulation de carburant a été vérifiée, et il a été établi que la membrane était bien fixée. Les composants du circuit de carburant ont été expédiés à leurs fabricants respectifs qui les ont vérifiés en présence d'inspecteurs de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Malgré les effets de l'immersion ainsi que le temps qui s'est écoulé entre le moment de l'accident et les vérifications, il a été établi que chaque composant fonctionnait convenablement et qu'aucun d'entre eux n'avait pu provoquer la décélération du moteur. Pendant les vérifications, les petites anomalies suivantes ont été décelées : pendant le premier essai de la pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur (Garrett réf. 89370-2), ses ailettes étaient coincées en position rentrée et la pompe n'a pas immédiatement généré de débit; une fois les ailettes décoincées, le débit de la pompe a été de 115 livres à l'heure (lb/h) au lieu du débit standard de 120 lb/h. Il a été établi que cette différence entre les débits n'avait pu suffire à provoquer la décélération du moteur.

L'ensemble des soupapes distributrices et de purge (Garrett réf. 394300-3-1) fonctionnait à une pression différentielle de 85 livres par pouce carré (lb/po2) plutôt qu'à la pression différentielle standard de 75 lb/po2. Il a été signalé que la bague de sertissage du fil frein du soufflet ne provenait pas du constructeur, et une mince couche d'une substance oxydante blanche a été observée près de la vis de réglage du soufflet. Il a été établi que la présence de cette substance oxydante et la différence de pression différentielle n'avaient pu contribuer à la décélération du moteur.

Le fabricant du régulateur de carburant (Woodward réf. 8070-113 et Garrett réf. 89309-4) a découvert que le fil frein n'était pas le même que celui qu'il avait installé, ce qui signifie qu'un réglage sur place avait probablement été effectué. Selon lui, le régulateur de sous-vitesse dépassait sa limite supérieure, un régime de 4 700 tr/min étant nécessaire pour fournir 220 lb/h, alors qu'il n'aurait dû être que de 4 627 tr/min, ce qui correspond à une différence de réglage d'environ 1,5 %. Par la suite, le fabricant a signalé que cette différence aurait pu nuire à l'atteinte de la valeur maximale d'accélération du moteur. Lors des essais avec le capteur Tt2 (Woodward réf. 8901-013) en place, tous les paramètres d'essai se sont avérés satisfaisants, et rien n'a indiqué que le régulateur de carburant ou le capteur Tt2 avaient pu contribuer au problème signalé.

Analyse

Le pilote savait qu'il y avait un risque de décélération du moteur si des charges en vol réduisaient son régime à moins de 99 % et s'il commençait à respecter la valeur maximale d'accélération. Le pilote ne pouvait voir le régime affiché sur le tachymètre parce qu'il avait la tête sortie par la fenêtre latérale. Le régime du moteur devait être supérieur à 99 % et le moteur ne devait pas être assujetti à la valeur maximale d'accélération, car l'hélicoptère était en stationnaire stable et ne soulevait pas une charge lourde.

Comme il a été établi que la source d'approvisionnement en carburant de l'hélicoptère et le carburant se trouvant dans la conduite menant à la pompe carburant entraînée par le moteur ne contenaient pas d'impuretés, il est peu probable que la perte de puissance soit attribuable à des impuretés dans le carburant. Étant donné que d'autres appareils ravitaillés en carburant à partir de la même source n'ont pas eu de problème lié au carburant, il est peu probable que la qualité du carburant ait joué un rôle dans l'accident. Selon l'information recueillie sur la quantité de carburant à bord de l'hélicoptère, il est peu probable que la perte de puissance soit attribuable à une panne d'alimentation en carburant.

Le circuit électrique n'a pas été analysé parce qu'il était fonctionnel et sous tension au moment de l'immersion de l'hélicoptère dans l'eau. Il se peut qu'un claquage dans le circuit de commande électrique ait provoqué une réduction du régime du moteur, mais il serait extrêmement difficile de faire la différence entre un claquage survenu avant l'impact et un claquage attribuable à l'immersion de l'hélicoptère dans l'eau. Le circuit électrique n'a donc pas fait l'objet d'un examen plus poussé.

Aucun signe de défaillance catastrophique du moteur n'a été décelé et, bien qu'il ait subi un choc thermique et une immersion, le moteur tournait librement sans grincement et sans grippage, et les arbres d'entraînement des accessoires étaient intacts. L'effet de choc a empêché tout essai au sol ou au banc. Comme le moteur tournait librement après la récupération de l'appareil, il y a lieu de croire qu'il n'a subi aucune défaillance interne avant l'impact.

Les essais du régulateur de carburant, du capteur Tt2, de la pompe carburant et de la soupape distributrice à leurs usines de fabrication respectives n'ont révélé aucune condition qui aurait pu causer une perte de puissance. Pendant les essais, plusieurs petites anomalies ont été signalées, mais il a été impossible de déterminer si elles existaient avant l'accident ou si elles sont attribuables à l'immersion de l'hélicoptère. Même si les anomalies existaient avant l'immersion, aucune d'entre elles n'aurait pu provoquer une perte de puissance intempestive. De plus, il est peu probable que l'effet global de toutes ces anomalies ait pu provoquer une perte totale de puissance; cependant, le moteur n'ayant pu faire l'objet d'essais au sol ou au banc avec ces composants en place, il a été impossible d'évaluer l'effet global des anomalies.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 90/99 - Engine Fuel Delivery Components (Composants d'alimentation en carburant du moteur).

Faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et il avait de l'expérience sur type.
  2. Selon les dossiers, l'hélicoptère était certifié et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées.
  3. Les conditions météorologiques n'ont joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.
  4. Les paramètres d'exploitation utilisés au moment de l'accident n'ont pas contribué à la perte de puissance.
  5. Il est peu probable que la qualité ou la quantité de carburant aient contribué à l'accident.
  6. Les effets de l'immersion de l'hélicoptère dans l'eau ont empêché de procéder à des essais moteur après l'accident.
  7. Les essais sur les composants n'ont pas permis d'identifier la cause de la décélération du moteur.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Pour une raison qui n'a pas été déterminée, le moteur a subi une perte de puissance intempestive pendant que l'hélicoptère volait à basse altitude au-dessus de l'eau. Même si les essais de fonctionnement du régulateur de carburant, de la pompe carburant et du régulateur de sous-vitesse ont révélé qu'aucun de ces composants n'avait pu provoquer la perte de puissance, de petits écarts des paramètres d'essai ont été constatés. L'effet global de ces petits écarts n'a pu être évalué.

Mesures prises par l'exploitant

L'exploitant a vendu cet appareil et tous les autres qu'il possédait à une entreprise américaine qui avait l'intention de les convertir et de les équiper d'un moteur mieux adapté à leur cellule. Aucun autre hélicoptère S55B/T n'est exploité au Canada.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 23 mars 2000.