Aviation Investigation Report A99C0208

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Power Loss / Forced Landing
Sowind Air Ltd.
Piper PA-31-350 C-GHMK
Princess Harbour, Manitoba
29 August 1999

Summary

The Piper PA-31-350 Navajo, C-GHMK, departed from St. Andrews, Manitoba, on a visual flight rules charter flight to Berens River. One pilot and ten passengers, including one infant, were on board, and a dog was stowed in the baggage compartment behind the right, rear seat. At approximately 1530 central daylight saving time (CDT), while the aircraft was at an altitude of about 2 500 feet and about 30 nautical miles south of Berens River, the pilot heard a loud sound from the left engine. He saw deformation of the left engine cowling and smoke coming from the engine, and the aircraft yawed to the left. Part of the engine cowling departed in flight. The pilot could not pull the left propeller lever beyond half of its normal travel, nor could he move it into the feather position. He set maximum power on the right engine, but the aircraft did not maintain altitude. The pilot advised company dispatch over the radio that he would attempt a forced landing, then force landed in a mossy marsh area. Everyone on board, including the dog, deplaned. Five of the passengers sustained minor injuries during the evacuation. A fire ensued, completely destroying the aircraft except for the empennage aft of the horizontal stabilizers.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Before departure, the pilot performed a run-up in accordance with the operator's standard operating procedures and did not notice any discrepancies. The aircraft weight at take-off was 6 676 pounds. Calculations indicate that the aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within the specified limits.

The aircraft left a wreckage trail approximately 700 feet long and came to rest perpendicular to the flight path, with the landing gear retracted, in a mossy marsh. The landing area contained small trees, approximately two to three inches in diameter, which were severed by the aircraft on approach. The aircraft descended from 20 feet to ground level over a distance of 300 feet. The landing gear and flaps were in the up position.

All passengers were wearing their lap belts except for the infant, who was held by the mother on her lap. A passenger occupying the first officer's seat wore a lap belt and a shoulder harness. No fire or smoke entered the cabin area during the flight, and the cabin remained intact during the forced landing. The passengers and the dog deplaned through the cabin emergency exit on the right side of the aircraft. After evacuation of the aircraft, the pilot instructed all passengers to move away from the aircraft. The pilot exited through the cockpit crew door and, using a handheld fire extinguisher, attempted, unsuccessfully, to extinguish the fire in the area of the left engine. The fire was eventually extinguished by a water bomber that was in the area at the time.

An emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal was detected after the accident. The ELT was mounted underneath a fairing, between the top of the aft section of the fuselage and the bottom of the vertical fin leading edge. The ELT was not visible from the outside of the aircraft and was accessible only by removing the fairing with a screwdriver. In addition to the switch on the ELT itself, there was a remote off/on/arm switch mounted on the instrument panel in the cockpit. The ELT had received extensive burn damage to the case, and both the remote switch and the switch on the ELT itself were destroyed. The aircraft's passenger briefing card shows how to operate the ELT unit in the event of an emergency. However, because the ELT is only accessible with the use of tools, operation of the ELT in an emergency may be more difficult than the briefing card indicates. No tools to gain access to the ELT were found, nor are they required by regulation.

Engine Diagram

Figure 1 - Engine Diagram

The left engine's number two cylinder had separated from the crankcase at the cylinder studs and was found adjacent to the engine, still connected to the oil sump by its oil return line. The connecting rod and piston were not found, and the fuel injector line was severed. The subject cylinder is mounted immediately aft of the propeller governor control and immediately forward of the number four cylinder. The lower left cowling remained in place but was destroyed by fire; however, it was able to contain the separated cylinder. Half of the cylinder skirt was missing, and the remainder of the skirt was badly damaged. The left propeller was found in a mid-range pitch setting, while the right propeller was found fully feathered. The right propeller was feathered by the pilot just before the aircraft touched down. Recovered at the site, next to the left engine, were two ½-inch base nuts with fractured stud material in them, one -inch base nut with fractured stud material in it, and one ½-inch base nut with no fractured stud material in it.

The aircraft's journey log was destroyed by the fire. The left engine had a total time of approximately 972 hours. The aircraft's technical records revealed that the left engine sustained a failure of the number three cylinder 79.5 hours prior to the accident. In this instance, all the studs of the number three cylinder failed, and the cylinder was held in place by the two ½-inch through studs. During the repair all studs, through studs, and the cylinder were replaced. The aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) who replaced the cylinder indicated that all cylinder base nuts on the left engine were checked for proper torque values after he replaced the number three cylinder. The torque wrench used for the installation was checked for accuracy by the TSB and was well within the required specifications. The pilot and AME reported that the engine had not been over-boosted.

Examination of the left engine revealed that the lower, forward, ½-inch through stud on the number three cylinder had no cylinder base nut. The upper, forward through stud of the number three cylinder was backed up against the cylinder fins. Teardown of the subject engine was difficult because of the fire. The lower, rear, ½-inch through stud of the number one cylinder fractured during the attempt to remove the base nut.

Teardown of the subject engine revealed that the base nut was missing from the lower, forward, ½-inch through stud of the number three cylinder. It is likely that the one ½-inch base nut without the fractured stud material, found at the site next to the left engine, came from that through stud. Insufficient clamping force of this through stud leaves both the number two and number three cylinders without the required clamping force. The required clamping force is achieved by applying proper torque values to the cylinder hold-down nuts. After installing a cylinder, it is not sufficient to simply torque the cylinder base nuts of the cylinder being replaced; the opposing cylinder sharing the through studs must also be checked for proper torque. If these opposing cylinder nuts do not receive the required torque, then the through stud cannot apply the necessary clamping force to both cylinders.

The engine manufacturer advised that cylinders are occasionally replaced in the field under conditions in which paint or other foreign material can become trapped either between the cylinder and the mounting flange or under hold-down nuts. Operation of the engine results in vibration, which can cause the foreign material to migrate away from the mounting flange or the hold-down nuts and result in a loss of cylinder clamping force. Fire damage precluded a determination as to whether any such foreign matter was involved in this occurrence. However, the hold-down nuts were examined during a routine maintenance inspection about three flight hours after the cylinder change, and no foreign material was noted in the area.

The engine manufacturer indicated that insufficient clamping force by any cylinder base nut will transfer the hold-down force of the cylinder to the remaining seven studs, which will take on the full load of the cylinder and eventually cause fatigue failure. Lycoming Service Instruction No. 1029D (Part II) and the

Lycoming Operator's Manual (part number 60297-23) prescribe torque procedures when replacing cylinders. Both require that the base nuts of the opposing cylinder, which share the through studs of the cylinder that has been replaced, be re-torqued.

At 1500 CDT on the day of the accident, the Berens River automatic weather observation system recorded a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius, dew point six degrees Celsius, and altimeter setting 31.09 inches. The ceiling, visibility, and wind speed data were missing. The area forecast for the area of the accident site predicted scattered cloud at 5 000 feet to 6 000 feet, high thin scattered cloud, visibility greater than six miles, and surface winds southeasterly at 10 knots gusting to 20 knots. The weather at the time of the accident, visual meteorological conditions, played no role in the accident.

The pilot held a commercial pilot licence valid for single- and multi-engine land and sea aeroplane, with a Group 1 instrument rating. The pilot had successfully completed a pilot proficiency check for the subject aircraft type, valid until 1 May 2000. The pilot had a valid Category 1 medical certificate. There was no indication that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

The aircraft flight manual indicates that the aircraft should have been capable of maintaining a rate of climb of about 250 feet per minute with one engine operating, the propeller of the other engine feathered, and the landing gear and flaps in the up position.

Analysis

After the left engine lost power, the pilot tried to shut the engine down but was unable to feather the left propeller because he could not get full travel on the left propeller lever. The drag from the unfeathered left propeller and the deformed left engine cowling resulted in the aircraft being incapable of maintaining its altitude.

Although the number two cylinder separated from the crankcase, it was contained in the engine area by the propeller governor, the number four cylinder, and the lower engine cowling. Because there is very little clearance between the propeller governor control and the number two cylinder, the number two cylinder was in a position to interfere with the operation of the propeller governor control after it separated, preventing full travel of the propeller lever. With the separation of the number two cylinder, engine oil and raw fuel from the severed fuel injector line likely sprayed onto the hot exhaust stack, resulting in the smoke and fire that eventually destroyed the aircraft.

Damage to the trees on the approach path indicated that the pilot was able to maintain control of the aircraft during the approach and was able to execute a very gradual descent. The aircraft came to a rest in an upright position, which aided the evacuation process. The pilot was in touch with the company dispatch by very high frequency radio and assisted in coordinating the rescue operation.

Although it was the number three cylinder that was missing a base nut, the through stud is shared by the lower rear hold-down point of the number two cylinder. The missing base nut of the through stud indicates that the base nut did not have sufficient clamping force; however, it could not be determined if the base nut did not receive the required torque during installation or if the base nut lost its clamping force during engine operation. The insufficient torque led to insufficient clamping force by the lower rear base nut of the number two cylinder. Without the required clamping force of the lower ½-inch hold-down point of the number two cylinder, the remaining studs took on the load of the cylinder and eventually failed in fatigue. Analysis of the fractured studs and through studs by the TSB Engineering Branch indicated signs of fatigue failure.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 117/99--Cylinder hold-down stud and through bolt failure.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The number three cylinder lower forward through stud was missing its base nut, which allowed the lower rear base nut of the number two cylinder to loosen.
  2. The missing base nut of the through stud indicates that the base nut did not have sufficient clamping force; however, it could not be determined if the base nut did not receive the required torque during installation or if the base nut lost its clamping force during engine operation.
  3. The -inch studs and the ½-inch through studs of the number two cylinder failed in fatigue, and the number two cylinder of the left engine separated from the crankcase.
  4. The left propeller could not be feathered because of interference between the propeller governor control and the separated number two cylinder.
  5. The drag from the unfeathered left propeller and the deformed left engine cowling resulted in the aircraft being incapable of maintaining its altitude.

Other Findings

  1. The pilot was certified and qualified for the accident flight.
  2. The aircraft's weight and balance were within the specified limits at the time of the accident.
  3. The ELT was not readily accessible without tools.

Safety Action

The company has relocated the ELT on the remainder of its fleet for easier access.

Transport Canada shall write an article in the AME safety newsletter,

Maintainer, stressing the importance of following the proper torque procedures, especially when changing a cylinder. Additionally, Transport Canada has a national training program, Human Performance in Aviation Maintenance, that addresses human factor errors found in aviation maintenance.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 3 August 2000.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99C0208

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance et atterrissage forcé
Sowind Air Ltd.
Piper PA-31-350 C-GHMK
Princess Harbour (Manitoba)
Le 29 août 1999

Résumé

Le Piper PA-31-350 Navajo, portant le numéro d'immatriculation C-GHMK, avait décollé de St. Andrews (Manitoba) pour effectuer un vol d'affrètement selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR) à destination de Berens River. Il y avait à bord un pilote et dix passagers, dont un jeune enfant, ainsi qu'un chien qui avait été placé dans le compartiment à bagages derrière le siège arrière droit. Vers 15 h 30, heure avancée du Centre (HAC), alors que l'avion volait à une altitude de quelque 2 500 pieds et qu'il se trouvait à environ 30 milles marins au sud de Berens River, le pilote a entendu un grand bruit en provenance du moteur gauche. Il a vu que le capot du moteur gauche était déformé et il a aperçu de la fumée qui sortait du moteur. L'avion a également amorcé un mouvement de lacet à gauche. Une partie du capot moteur s'est détachée en vol. Le pilote n'a pas pu tirer la manette de pas de l'hélice gauche au-delà de la moitié de sa course normale, et il n'a donc pas pu mettre l'hélice en drapeau. Il a réglé le moteur droit à pleine puissance, mais l'avion n'a pas pu maintenir son altitude. Le pilote a avisé le répartiteur de la compagnie par radio qu'il allait tenter un atterrissage forcé, et il s'est posé dans une tourbière. Toutes les personnes à bord, ainsi que le chien, sont sortis de l'appareil. Cinq des passagers ont été légèrement blessés au cours de l'évacuation. Un incendie s'est déclaré et a détruit l'avion, sauf la partie de l'empennage située à l'arrière des stabilisateurs.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Avant le départ, le pilote avait effectué un point fixe, conformément aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées de l'exploitant, et il n'avait noté aucune anomalie. La masse de l'avion au décollage était de 6 676 livres. Selon les calculs, la masse et le centrage de l'appareil étaient dans les limites prescrites.

L'avion a laissé un sillon de quelque 700 pieds de longueur. Il a fini sa course dans la tourbière, train rentré perpendiculairement à la trajectoire de vol. Sur l'aire d'atterrissage se trouvaient de petits arbres d'environ deux à trois pouces de diamètre qui ont été sectionnés par l'avion au cours de l'approche. L'appareil est descendu d'une hauteur de 20 pieds jusqu'au sol, sur une distance de 300 pieds. Le train d'atterrissage et les volets étaient rentrés.

Tous les passagers portaient leur ceinture de sécurité, à l'exception du jeune enfant, qui était sur les genoux de sa mère. Le passager qui occupait le siège du copilote portait une ceinture et des bretelles de sécurité. Aucune fumée ni flamme n'a pénétré à l'intérieur de la cabine pendant le vol, et la cabine est demeurée intacte pendant l'atterrissage forcé. Les passagers et le chien sont sortis de la cabine par l'issue de secours du côté droit. Après l'évacuation, le pilote a ordonné à tous les passagers de s'éloigner de l'avion. Le pilote est sorti par la porte du poste de pilotage et, à l'aide d'un extincteur portatif, il a tenté vainement d'éteindre les flammes qui s'échappaient de la région du moteur gauche. L'incendie a finalement été maîtrisé par un bombardier d'eau qui se trouvait dans la région au moment de l'accident.

Après l'accident, on a capté le signal d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT). L'ELT était montée sous un carénage, entre la partie supérieure de la section arrière du fuselage et la partie inférieure du bord d'attaque de la dérive. L'ELT n'était pas visible de l'extérieur de l'avion, et pour y avoir accès il fallait enlever le carénage à l'aide d'un tournevis. En plus de l'interrupteur situé sur l'ELT même, il y avait un interrupteur de télécommande d'armement situé sur le tableau de bord du poste de pilotage. Le boîtier de l'ELT a été lourdement endommagé par l'incendie, et l'interrupteur situé sur l'ELT ainsi que l'interrupteur de télécommande ont été détruits.

Les cartons de consignes passagers indiquaient comment faire fonctionner l'ELT en cas d'urgence, mais comme on ne pouvait atteindre l'ELT sans l'aide d'outils, son utilisation en cas d'urgence était plus compliquée que ce que laissaient entendre les consignes. On n'a découvert aucun outil qui aurait permis d'atteindre l'ELT, et aucun règlement n'exigeait la présence de tels outils.

Schéma du moteur

Figure 1 - Schéma du moteur

Le cylindre numéro deux du moteur gauche s'est détaché du bloc-cylindres au niveau des goujons de cylindre et on l'a retrouvé à côté du moteur, où il était encore relié au carter d'huile par sa propre conduite de retour d'huile. On n'a pas retrouvé la bielle ni le piston, et la conduite de l'injecteur de carburant était sectionnée. Le cylindre numéro deux est monté juste à l'arrière de la commande du régulateur d'hélice et juste à l'avant du cylindre numéro quatre. Le capot inférieur gauche est resté en place, mais il a été détruit dans l'incendie; néanmoins, il est parvenu à retenir le cylindre détaché. La moitié de la jupe du cylindre était manquante, et le reste de la jupe était lourdement endommagé. On a trouvé l'hélice gauche à un réglage de pas moyen, tandis que l'hélice droite était complètement en drapeau. Le pilote a mis l'hélice droite en drapeau juste avant que l'avion ne touche le sol. On a récupéré sur les lieux de l'accident près du moteur gauche deux écrous à embase d'un demi-pouce qui contenaient des fragments de boulons fracturés, un écrou à embase de pouce qui contenait également un fragment de boulon, et un écrou à embase d'un demi-pouce qui ne contenait pas de fragment de boulon.

Le carnet de bord de l'avion a été détruit dans l'incendie. Le moteur gauche totalisait environ 972 heures de fonctionnement. Les dossiers techniques de l'avion ont révélé que le moteur gauche avait subi une panne du cylindre numéro trois 79,5 heures avant l'accident. À ce moment-là, tous les goujons du cylindre numéro trois s'étaient rompus, et le cylindre avait été retenu en place par deux boulons traversants d'un demi-pouce. Lors de la réparation, on avait remplacé tous les goujons et boulons traversants ainsi que le cylindre. Le technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs (TEA) qui a remplacé le cylindre numéro trois du moteur gauche a déclaré qu'il avait vérifié le couple de serrage de tous les écrous à embase du moteur gauche après le remplacement du cylindre. Le BST a vérifié la précision de la clé dynamométrique utilisée par le TEA et il a constaté qu'elle respectait largement les normes prescrites. Le pilote et le TEA ont déclaré que le moteur n'avait pas été surchargé (surrégime).

L'examen du moteur gauche a révélé que le boulon traversant inférieur avant d'un demi-pouce du cylindre numéro trois n'avait pas d'écrou à embase de cylindre. Le boulon traversant supérieur avant du cylindre numéro trois était reculé contre les ailettes du cylindre. L'inspection en cours de démontage du moteur gauche a été difficile en raison des dommages causés par l'incendie. Le boulon traversant inférieur arrière d'un demi-pouce du cylindre numéro un s'est fracturé lorsqu'on a tenté de retirer l'écrou à embase.

L'inspection en cours de démontage du moteur gauche a révélé que l'écrou à embase du boulon traversant inférieur avant d'un demi-pouce du cylindre numéro trois était manquant. Il est probable que l'écrou à embase d'un demi-pouce retrouvé sans fragment de boulon sur les lieux de l'accident à proximité du moteur gauche provenait de ce boulon traversant. Lorsque ce boulon traversant n'exerce pas une force de serrage suffisante, ce sont à la fois les cylindres numéro deux et numéro trois qui ne sont pas serrés avec la force requise. La force de serrage requise s'obtient en exerçant les couples de serrage prescrits sur les écrous de fixation du cylindre. Après l'installation d'un cylindre, il n'est pas suffisant de simplement serrer les écrous à embase de cylindre du cylindre que l'on remplace; il faut également vérifier le couple de serrage du cylindre opposé qui partage les mêmes boulons traversants. Si les écrous du cylindre opposé ne sont pas suffisamment serrés, alors les boulons traversants ne peuvent exercer la force de serrage nécessaire sur les deux cylindres.

Le motoriste a indiqué que le remplacement sur place des cylindres se faisait parfois dans des conditions où de la peinture ou autres corps étrangers risquaient de se loger entre le cylindre et la bride de fixation ou sous les écrous de fixation. Les vibrations engendrées par le fonctionnement du moteur peuvent subséquemment déloger les corps étrangers présents sous la bride ou les écrous de fixation, ce qui peut entraîner une perte de force de serrage du cylindre. En raison des dommages causés par l'incendie, il a été impossible de déterminer si de tels corps étrangers étaient en cause dans l'accident. Cependant, on avait examiné les écrous de fixation lors d'une inspection d'entretien de routine quelque trois heures de vol après le changement de cylindre, et on n'avait noté aucun corps étranger dans cette zone.

Le motoriste a indiqué que, lorsque la force de serrage exercée par tout écrou à embase d'un cylindre est insuffisante, la force de retenue est transférée sur les sept autres goujons de cylindre restants qui prennent alors la pleine charge du cylindre, ce qui peut éventuellement causer une rupture par fatigue. La consigne de service de Lycoming numéro 1029D (partie II) et le manuel d'utilisation de Lycoming (référence 60297-23) stipulent les procédures de serrage à suivre pour le remplacement des cylindres. Les deux documents précisent qu'il faut serrer à nouveau les écrous à embase du cylindre opposé qui partage les mêmes boulons traversants que le cylindre qui a été remplacé.

À 15 h HAC, le jour de l'accident, le système d'observation météorologique automatique (AWOS) de Berens River faisait état des conditions suivantes : température de 20 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de six degrés Celsius et calage altimétrique de 31,09 pouces. Les données sur le plafond, la visibilité et le vent étaient manquantes. La prévision de zone pour la région de l'accident faisait état des conditions suivantes : nuages épars à une altitude comprise entre 5 000 et 6 000 pieds, mince couche de nuages épars en altitude, visibilité supérieure à six miles, et vents de surface soufflant du sud-est à 10 noeuds avec des rafales à 20 noeuds. Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'accident étaient favorables au vol à vue et elles n'ont joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel en état de validité pour monomoteur, multimoteur et hydravion. Il possédait une qualification de vol aux instruments du groupe 1. Il avait subi avec succès une vérification compétence pilote (PPC) sur le type d'avion en cause qui était valide jusqu'au 1er mai 2000. Le pilote possédait un certificat médical de catégorie 1 valide. Rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote.

Le manuel de vol de l'avion indique que l'avion devrait être en mesure de maintenir un taux de montée de quelque 250 pieds par minute sur un seul moteur si l'hélice de l'autre moteur est en drapeau et que le train d'atterrissage et les volets sont rentrés.

Analyse

Après la perte de puissance du moteur gauche, le pilote a tenté de couper le moteur, mais il a été incapable de mettre l'hélice gauche en drapeau, car il ne pouvait pas déplacer la manette de pas de l'hélice gauche sur toute sa course. L'avion a été incapable de maintenir son altitude sur le seul moteur droit à cause de la traînée engendrée par l'hélice gauche qui n'était pas en drapeau et par le capot du moteur gauche déformé.

Même si le cylindre numéro deux s'est séparé du bloc-cylindres, il a été retenu à l'intérieur du compartiment moteur par le régulateur d'hélice, le cylindre numéro quatre, et le capot inférieur du moteur. Il y a très peu d'espace entre la commande du régulateur d'hélice et le cylindre numéro deux, et en se séparant, le cylindre numéro deux est venu entraver le fonctionnement de la commande du régulateur d'hélice, ce qui a empêché le déplacement de la manette de pas sur sa course. Lors de la séparation du cylindre numéro deux, l'huile moteur et le carburant en provenance de la conduite sectionnée de l'injecteur ont sans doute éclaboussé le tuyau d'échappement chaud, ce qui a engendré de la fumée et a provoqué l'incendie qui a subséquemment détruit l'avion.

Les dommages aux arbres sur la trajectoire d'approche de l'avion laissent croire que le pilote a réussi à garder la maîtrise de l'appareil pendant l'approche et à effectuer une descente très graduelle. L'avion s'est immobilisé à l'endroit, ce qui a facilité l'évacuation. Le pilote est resté en contact avec le répartiteur de la compagnie par radio VHF (à très haute fréquence) et il a participé à la coordination des opérations de sauvetage.

Même si c'est le cylindre numéro trois auquel il manquait un écrou à embase, le boulon traversant est partagé avec le point de fixation inférieur arrière du cylindre numéro deux. Le fait que l'écrou à embase du boulon traversant se soit détaché indique qu'il n'était pas suffisamment serré; toutefois, il a été impossible de déterminer si l'écrou à embase n'a pas été serré suffisamment lorsqu'il a été posé ou s'il s'est desserré pendant le fonctionnement du moteur. Le couple de serrage insuffisant de l'écrou à embase du cylindre numéro trois a empêché l'écrou à embase inférieur arrière d'exercer une force de serrage suffisante sur le cylindre numéro deux. Puisqu'il n'y avait pas la force de serrage requise au niveau du point de fixation inférieur d'un demi-pouce du cylindre numéro deux, la charge a été répartie sur les autres boulons du cylindre qui se sont finalement rompus par fatigue. L'analyse des goujons et des boulons traversants fracturés effectuée par le Laboratoire technique du BST a révélé des signes de rupture par fatigue.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 117/99 - Cylindre hold-down stud and through bolt failure (Rupture de goujons de fixation et de boulons traversants de cylindre).

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. L'écrou à embase du boulon traversant inférieur avant du cylindre numéro trois était manquant, ce qui a permis à l'écrou à embase inférieur arrière du cylindre numéro deux de se desserrer.
  2. Le fait que l'écrou à embase du boulon traversant était absent indique que l'écrou n'était pas suffisamment serré, mais il a été impossible de déterminer si l'écrou n'avait pas été suffisamment serré au moment de sa pose ou s'il s'est desserré pendant que le moteur tournait.
  3. Les goujons de trois huitièmes de pouce et les boulons traversants d'un demi-pouce du cylindre numéro deux se sont rompus par fatigue, et le cylindre numéro deux s'est détaché du bloc-cylindres du moteur gauche.
  4. Le pilote n'a pas réussi à mettre l'hélice gauche en drapeau parce que le cylindre numéro deux qui s'était séparé a gêné le fonctionnement de la commande du régulateur de pas de l'hélice.
  5. L'avion n'a pas pu maintenir son altitude à cause de la traînée engendrée par l'hélice gauche qui n'était pas en drapeau et par le capot déformé du moteur gauche.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol.
  2. La masse et le centrage de l'avion se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites au moment de l'accident.
  3. L'ELT se trouvait dans un endroit qui n'était pas facile d'accès sans l'utilisation d'outils.

Mesures de sécurité

La compagnie a modifié l'emplacement des ELT sur les autres appareils de sa flotte pour que les ELT soient plus faciles d'accès.

Transports Canada doit publier un article dans le Mainteneur, son bulletin de nouvelles destiné aux TEA pour souligner l'importance de bien suivre les procédures de serrage recommandées, en particulier lors du remplacement d'un cylindre. De plus, Transports Canada offre un programme de formation national intitulé « Les facteurs humains en maintenance des aéronefs » qui porte sur la façon d'éviter les erreurs de maintenance liées aux facteurs humains.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 3 août 2000.