Aviation Investigation Report A99P0056

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Mid-air Collision
Between Cessna 172D C-FBVW
and Cessna 172 C-GWAC
108 Mile Airport, British Columbia
16 May 1999

Summary

The pilot of a Cessna 172D, C-FBVW, with one passenger on board, was conducting left-hand circuits to runway 32 at 108 Mile Airport. Shortly after C-FBVW turned onto final and descended toward the runway, the aircraft collided with a second Cessna 172, C-GWAC, which was inbound to the airport from the south on an established straight-in approach to the same runway. The collision took place at about 300 feet above ground level. Both aircraft were locked together by the collision and became uncontrollable. They descended at a steep angle and crashed into the corner of a warehouse building at the south end of the 108 Mile shopping centre. The shopping centre is about 2 000 feet south of the approach end of the runway and about 500 feet east of the runway's extended centre-line. The three people involved in this in-flight collision were seriously injured by impact forces but were rescued by first responders. There was no fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilots of both aircraft were certified and qualified, and there was no evidence that any physiological factors affected their ability to conduct the flights safely. There were no mechanical discrepancies found with either aircraft that would have contributed to the occurrence.

The 108 Mile Airport is a registered, uncontrolled aerodrome, at an elevation of 3 127 feet above sea level (asl), operated by the Caribou Regional District. The aerodrome has a single, asphalt runway 4 877 feet long by 75 feet wide, oriented on a 320/140 degree magnetic heading. The aerodrome traffic frequency (ATF) is 123.2 megahertz and is used within a radius of 5 nautical miles and to an altitude of 6 100 feet asl.

A.I.P. Canada, published by Transport Canada (TC), prescribes the procedures that pilots should follow when operating at an uncontrolled airport. These procedures are widely distributed and establish a fundamental basis for safe aircraft operations in Canada. Prior to joining a traffic circuit, all pilots should announce their intentions. Where no mandatory frequency (MF) procedures are in effect, aircraft should approach the traffic circuit from the upwind side or, once having ascertained without any doubt that there will be no conflict with other traffic entering the circuit or established within the circuit, the aircraft may join the circuit on the downwind leg. There are no MF procedures in effect at 108 Mile Airport. Designation of an ATF is aimed at ensuring that all radio-equipped aircraft operating on the ground or within the specified ATF area are listening on a common frequency and following common reporting procedures.

Standard Right-Hand Circuit at 108 Mile Airport

Figure 1 - Standard Right-Hand Circuit at 108 Mile Airport

Canadian Aviation Regulations require that all turns be to the left while operating in the circuit, unless a right-hand circuit has been specified in the Canada Flight Supplement (CFS). The CFS specifies right-hand circuits for runway 32 at 108 Mile Airport during daylight hours.

The pilot of C-FBVW had flown to 108 Mile Airport from Prince George on the day before the accident and had remained in the area overnight. He planned to continue his trip to Vernon on the morning of the accident and had called the Kamloops Flight Service Station for a weather briefing. Based on the content of that briefing, he concluded that the en route weather in the vicinity of Bonaparte Lake was below the minimum required for visual flight rules (VFR) flight and he decided to delay his departure until the weather improved later in the day. At 1100 Pacific daylight time (PDT),(1) he decided to do some local flying while waiting for an improvement in the weather to the south. The wind at 108 Mile Airport was light out of the northwest, and the pilot and his one passenger (who also held a valid private pilot's licence) took off from runway 14 with a slight tail wind. The pilot was flying the aircraft from the right-hand seat. His passenger was wearing the only available headset and was handling the radio work associated with the flight. This assignment of work was required because the headset connected to the aircraft dash on the left side of the aircraft. The aircraft was equipped with navigation lights and a landing light, neither of which were on at the time of the accident.

The pilot did several left-hand circuits on runway 14 and then proceeded to 100 Mile House, about eight miles to the south. He overflew that aerodrome, assessed that the runway and wind conditions were unsuitable for a landing, and completed a left turn back toward 108 Mile Airport. That turn placed the aircraft to the east of Highway 97, as well as to the east of the extended centre-line of runway 32 at 108 Mile Airport. He approached 108 Mile Airport from the southeast and crossed the aerodrome at midfield about 1 000 feet above the aerodrome elevation. After he crossed the airfield, he turned left to join downwind, left-hand for runway 32. His passenger made radio calls before entering the ATF area, when crossing midfield, and when established on final for runway 32 and did not hear any radio calls from any other aircraft in the vicinity.

The pilot of C-FBVW completed a touch-and-go landing from this first circuit, then entered into a second left-hand circuit for runway 32. His passenger reportedly made radio calls downwind and on turning final; again she heard no response from any other aircraft. It was following the completion of the final turn on this second circuit that C-FBVW was involved in a mid-air collision. C-FBVW descended onto C-GWAC, which was completing a straight-in approach to runway 32.

The pilot of C-GWAC had filed a VFR flight plan from Merritt to his destination of 100 Mile House. When he reached 100 Mile House, the pilot decided to overfly that aerodrome and to continue on to 108 Mile Airport. He reportedly made a radio call prior to entering the 108 Mile Airport ATF area, using a handheld radio that he carried in the breast pocket of his shirt. He reported that he was setting up for a straight-in approach to runway 32. He did not hear any response from any other aircraft in the area and continued inbound to the airport. During the straight-in approach, the pilot concentrated his lookout upwards and to the right, in anticipation of any unannounced traffic that may have been operating in a right-hand traffic pattern. While on short final to runway 32, C-GWAC was involved in a mid-air collision when it was struck from above by C-FBVW. C-GWAC was equipped with navigation lights, a rotating anticollision light, and a landing light. The first two of these lighting systems were operating at the time of the collision, but the landing light was selected off. A post-crash examination of the handheld radio showed that the correct ATF was not selected in either the active or memory locations of the radio. The radio is equipped with a keyed entry pad for frequency selection, as well as two SCAN buttons which are used to scan either up or down the available frequency spectrum. These buttons protrude from the face of the radio and are activated by pressure contact.

Safe VFR flight is predicated on the "see and avoid" principle. The effectiveness of this procedure in collision avoidance is dependent on flight crew detecting other aircraft on collision courses and on the pilots' abilities to take evasive action in time to avoid an in-flight collision.

A pilot's ability to visually detect another aircraft is affected by many factors, including, the pilot's awareness of the presence of another aircraft, the pilot's available field of view, obstructions to that field of view, aircraft conspicuousness, pilot scanning techniques, and normal physiological limitations of the human visual and motor-response systems.

In general terms, assuming that a pilot is looking in the correct direction, general aviation aircraft similar to the ones involved in this occurrence should, under good conditions, be detectable at an approximate range of 1 to 1.5 nautical miles. Contrast with the background, aircraft attitude, and the relative flight path of an aircraft can affect this detection range, often reducing it significantly.

The human visual system has physical limitations that can reduce its performance. For example, the human eye is particularly attuned to detect movement but is less effective at detecting stationary objects. However, because of the geometry of collision flight paths, an aircraft on a collision course will appear to be a stationary object in the pilot's field of view. The use of high intensity strobe lights, anticollision lights, landing lights, and navigation lights, as well as high contrast paint schemes all help in making an aircraft more visible to others.

Aircraft and cockpit designs can affect a pilot's ability to see effectively. Airframe structures such as wings, window posts, and engine cowls, as well as crew or passenger seating locations may mask certain areas around the aircraft from the pilot's view.

It is generally recognized that traffic advisories will improve a pilot's ability to visually acquire another aircraft. First, the advisory provides advance warning of a potential conflict and will tend to increase the time that the crew will devote to the visual search for the traffic. Second, the advisory will aid the pilot in concentrating the visual search in the proper direction. Research indicates that, if alerted to the presence of another aircraft, a pilot is eight times more likely to acquire the target.(2)

Analysis

In this occurrence, the pilot of C-FBVW had given the only available radio headset to his passenger and had delegated the operation of the aircraft radio to her. By doing so, the pilot gave up any ability he had to monitor the ATF directly, and, by doing so, he reduced the effectiveness of the established radio protocols as a defence to support the see and avoid principle.

The pilot of C-GWAC used a handheld radio to transmit his position and intention when he entered the ATF area. Based on a post-crash examination of that radio, it was determined that the radio (as found) was not on the appropriate ATF. Although this examination cannot confirm what frequency was selected at the time the aircraft entered the ATF area, it is known that neither the pilot of C-GWAC nor the passenger of C-FBVW heard any radio transmissions from the other aircraft. The cause for the incorrect frequency selection is not known, but it is possible that a frequency selection or scan button may have inadvertently activated after the pilot put the radio in his shirt pocket. Once the radio was de-tuned from the correct ATF, then any transmission made by the pilot of C-GWAC would have been ineffective in alerting other aircraft in the area of his presence. Similarly, any transmissions made by other aircraft in the area would not have been received by the pilot of C-GWAC.

The pilot of C-FBVW was conducting left-hand traffic patterns to runway 32 at 108 Mile Airport, whereas the CFS states right-hand circuits should be flown to runway 32. By not following the published circuit procedure, this pilot increased the risk of an in-flight collision. Additionally, while in the downwind leg, and during the final turn, his ability to see the conflicting traffic would have been impaired by visual interference from the cockpit dash, the aircraft's engine section, and the passenger. The result was that the visual search procedure used by the occupants of C-FBVW was ineffective.

The pilot of C-GWAC had made a radio call prior to entering the ATF area and had not heard any response from other aircraft. He therefore concluded no other aircraft were in the area and continued to the airport for a straight-in approach to runway 32. This circuit-joining procedure is not recommended when operating in an ATF area. During the approach, the pilot of C-GWAC concentrated his lookout upward and to the right in anticipation of any unannounced traffic operating in a right-hand traffic pattern. This visual search procedure was ineffective because the opposing traffic was operating in a left-hand pattern and approached from above and to the pilot's left side.

C-FBVW was equipped with navigation lights and a landing light, neither of which were selected on at the time of the collision. The non-use of available lighting systems reduces the visual conspicuousness of an aircraft and thereby increases the risk of it not being seen by other pilots.

C-GWAC was equipped with navigation lights, a rotating anticollision beacon, and a landing light. The navigation lights and rotating anticollision beacon were on at the time of the collision, but the landing light was off.

Because neither pilot detected the potential collision, neither took avoidance action prior to the collision.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The see and avoid principle was ineffective as a method of separating aircraft because neither pilot saw the other aircraft prior to the in-flight collision.
  2. The pilot of C-FBVW was conducting left-hand traffic patterns to runway 32 at 108 Mile Airport whereas right-hand traffic patterns were published.
  3. The pilot of C-GWAC conducted a straight-in approach to runway 32 rather than using the recommended circuit joining procedure, thereby reducing the opportunity to be seen by other traffic.
  4. The pilot of C-GWAC used a handheld radio to transmit his position and intention prior to entering the ATF area. However, based on a post-crash examination of that radio, it appears likely that the radio was not on the appropriate ATF.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The pilot of C-FBVW had given the only available radio headset to his passenger and had delegated the operation of the aircraft's radio to her. By doing so, the pilot gave up any ability he had to monitor the ATF directly.
  2. Neither pilot was using all available aircraft lighting systems to increase the visual conspicuousness of his aircraft.

Safety Action

A review of mid-air collisions occurring between August 1989 and August 1999 indicates that there were 17 accidents of this type in Canada during this 10-year period. Of these accidents, 8 involved some form of formation flight. Of the remaining 9 accidents, 3 occurred in practice training areas and 6 occurred in the vicinity of uncontrolled airports between aircraft that were not associated with each other.

Following a mid-air collision on 01 May 1995, to improve safety in this area of flight the TSB recommended that:

  • The Department of Transport ensure that aircraft are flown at reduced airspeeds, consistent with safe manoeuvring, in the vicinity of aerodromes where separation relies primarily on the see-and-avoid concept.

    (A96-05)

and that

  • The Department of Transport take both long- and short-term action to increase the ability of pilots to recognize in-flight collision geometry and optimize avoidance manoeuvring.

    (A96-06)

TC responded positively to both recommendations. In 1996, TC published four articles about collision avoidance in issue 2/96 of the Aviation Safety Newsletter. Additionally, TC has provided relevant information in A.I.P. CanadaM and has produced and distributed a poster entitled "MF/ATF Communications Requirements" to highlight and review applicable pilot reporting and communication requirements within MF and ATF areas. More recently, TC has published a series of Human Factors in Aviation manuals, developed a video on procedures to be used at uncontrolled aerodromes, and amended the Flight Instructor Guide to provide more comprehensive training and education in related issues.

Recently, there have been three in-flight collisions in British Columbia involving a total of six aircraft and 12 people. All but three of the involved people died in the accidents. With the increasing concerns brought on by these accidents, NAV CANADA developed, and recently began conducting, pilot education sessions on air traffic procedures that are used at controlled and uncontrolled aerodromes. Both the TSB and TC have participated in these sessions to provide information on recent mid-air collisions and on the limitations of human recognition and response. This active program is expected to raise the awareness of operators, owners, and pilots of the importance of using all available equipment and procedures to reduce the risk of an in-flight collision.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 01 November 2000.


1. All times are PDT (coordinated universal time [UTC] minus 7 hours).

2. J.W. Andrews, Modeling of Air-to-Air Visual Acquisition, The Lincoln Laboratory Journal, Volume 2, Number 3 (1989) p 478.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99P0056

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision en vol entre
le Cessna 172D C-FBVW et
le Cessna 172 C-GWAC
à l'aéroport de 108 Mile
(Colombie-Britannique)
le 16 mai 1999

Résumé

Le pilote du Cessna 172D immatriculé C-FBVW exécutait des circuits à gauche de la piste 32 à l'aéroport de 108 Mile, avec une passagère à bord. Peu de temps après avoir viré en finale et être descendu vers la piste, le C-FBVW est entré en collision avec un autre Cessna 172 (le C-GWAC) qui se trouvait en rapprochement de l'aéroport depuis le sud, établi sur une trajectoire d'approche directe de la piste en question. Le premier impact a eu lieu à quelque 300 pieds-sol. Les deux appareils sont restés coincés et sont devenus ingouvernables. Ils sont descendus en piqué prononcé avant d'aller s'écraser sur le coin d'un entrepôt situé à l'extrémité sud du centre commercial de 108 Mile. Ce centre se trouve à environ 2 000 pieds au sud de l'extrémité approche de la piste et à quelque 500 pieds à l'est du prolongement de l'axe de piste. Les trois occupants des avions ont été grièvement blessés dans l'accident, mais ils ont été secourus par les premières personnes arrivées sur les lieux. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les pilotes des deux avions possédaient les licences et les qualifications nécessaires au vol. Rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités des pilotes. Aucune anomalie mécanique ayant pu contribuer à l'accident n'a été décelée sur les deux appareils.

L'aéroport de 108 Mile est un aérodrome enregistré non contrôlé qui se trouve à une altitude de 3 127 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl) et qui est exploité par le Caribou Regional District. L'aérodrome possède une seule piste qui mesure 4 877 pieds de longueur sur 75 pieds de largeur, et sa surface est asphaltée. Elle est orientée au 320/140 degrés magnétique. La fréquence de trafic d'aérodrome (ATF) est de 123,2 mégahertz (MHz) et est utilisée dans un rayon de 5 milles marins autour de l'aéroport et jusqu'à une altitude de 6 100 pieds asl.

L'A.I.P. Canada, publié par Transports Canada (TC), donne les procédures que les pilotes devraient suivre quand ils évoluent à un aéroport non contrôlé. Ces procédures sont largement diffusées et constituent la base fondamentale sur laquelle repose l'exploitation en toute sécurité des aéronefs au Canada. Avant d'entrer dans un circuit, tous les pilotes devraient faire connaître leurs intentions. Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de procédures relatives à la fréquence obligatoire (MF), les aéronefs devraient s'approcher du circuit du côté vent debout ou, si le pilote est absolument sûr qu'il n'y aura aucun conflit avec d'autres appareils entrant dans le circuit ou s'y trouvant déjà, il peut rejoindre le circuit en vent arrière. Il n'y a pas de procédures MF à l'aéroport de 108 Mile. Le recours à une fréquence ATF permet de s'assurer que tous les aéronefs possédant une radio qui évoluent au sol ou dans une zone ATF bien précise sont à l'écoute de la même fréquence et suivent des procédures de compte rendu identiques.

Circuit normal à droite de l'aéroport de 108 Mile

Figure 1 - Circuit normal à droite de l'aéroport de 108 Mile

En vertu du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, tous les virages dans un circuit doivent se faire à gauche, à moins qu'il soit fait mention d'un circuit à droite dans le Supplément de vol - Canada (CFS). Le CFS indique que les virages dans le circuit doivent se faire à droite pour la piste 32 de l'aéroport de 108 Mile pendant les heures de jour.

La veille de l'accident, le pilote du C-FBVW était arrivé à l'aéroport de 108 Mile en provenance de Prince George et il avait passé la nuit dans la région. Il avait l'intention de poursuivre son voyage en direction de Vernon le matin de l'accident, et il avait appelé la station d'information de vol de Kamloops pour obtenir un exposé des conditions météorologiques. D'après le contenu de cet exposé, il avait conclu que les conditions en route aux abords de Bonaparte Lake étaient au-dessous des minimums exigés pour les vols selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), ce qui l'avait amené à retarder son départ cette journée-là jusqu'à ce que les conditions s'améliorent. À 11 h, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP)(1), il a décidé de voler dans les environs, vers le sud, en attendant que les conditions s'améliorent. Le vent à l'aéroport de 108 Mile était léger et soufflait du nord-ouest, et le pilote accompagné de sa passagère (qui détenait elle aussi une licence de pilote privé valide) a décollé de la piste 14 en léger vent arrière. Le pilote était aux commandes en place droite. Sa passagère portait l'unique casque d'écoute et s'occupait des communications radio puisque le casque d'écoute se branchait dans la console de gauche de l'avion. L'aéronef était équipé de feux de navigation et d'un phare d'atterrissage, mais ils étaient éteints au moment de l'accident.

Le pilote a effectué plusieurs circuits à gauche de la piste 14, puis il s'est dirigé vers 100 Mile House, à quelque huit milles au sud. Il a survolé l'aérodrome, a estimé que l'état de la piste et les conditions du vent ne lui permettaient pas de se poser, puis il a viré à gauche afin de revenir vers l'aéroport de 108 Mile. À la suite de ce virage, l'avion s'est retrouvé à l'est de la route 97, ainsi qu'à l'est du prolongement de l'axe de la piste 32 de l'aéroport de 108 Mile. Il s'est approché de l'aéroport de 108 Mile par le sud-est et a survolé l'aérodrome à mi-longueur, à une altitude de 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'aérodrome. Après avoir survolé le terrain, le pilote a viré à gauche pour rejoindre la branche vent arrière du circuit à gauche de la piste 32. Sa passagère avait fait des appels radio avant l'entrée dans la zone ATF, au moment du passage à mi-longueur du terrain et une fois l'avion établi en finale de la piste 32, et elle n'a entendu aucun appel radio provenant d'autres aéronefs se trouvant dans les environs.

Le pilote du C-FBVW a fait un posé-décollé à la fin de son premier circuit, puis il est reparti pour faire un second circuit à gauche de la piste 32. Sa passagère a, semble-t-il, fait des appels radio en vent arrière et au moment du virage en finale; une fois de plus, elle n'a entendu aucune réponse en provenance d'un autre appareil. C'est à la fin du virage en finale de ce second circuit que le C-FBVW en descente est entré en collision avec le C-GWAC qui était en approche directe de la piste 32.

Le pilote du C-GWAC avait déposé un plan de vol VFR pour se rendre de Merritt jusqu'à 100 Mile House, qui devait être sa destination. Quand il est arrivé à 100 Mile House, il a décidé de survoler l'aérodrome et de poursuivre le vol jusqu'à l'aéroport de 108 Mile. Il a, semble-t-il, fait un appel radio avant de pénétrer dans la zone ATF de l'aéroport de 108 Mile, en utilisant une radio portative qui se trouvait dans la poche de sa chemise. Il a fait savoir qu'il se préparait à faire une approche directe de la piste 32. N'ayant entendu aucune réponse en provenance d'autres appareils dans les environs, il a poursuivi sa route en direction de l'aéroport. Pendant l'approche directe, le pilote a essentiellement porté son attention vers le haut et vers la droite, au cas où un autre appareil qui ne se serait pas annoncé aurait été en train d'exécuter un circuit à droite. En finale de la piste 32, le C-GWAC a été heurté par le dessus par le C-FBVW. Le C-GWAC était équipé de feux de navigation, d'un feu rotatif anticollision et d'un phare d'atterrissage. Les deux premiers dispositifs lumineux étaient allumés au moment de la collision, mais le phare d'atterrissage était éteint. Après l'accident, un examen de la radio portative a montré que la bonne fréquence n'était pas affichée et ne se trouvait pas dans les fréquences gardées en mémoire par la radio. Cette dernière possède un clavier à touches permettant de choisir une fréquence ainsi que deux boutons de balayage qui servent soit à monter soit à descendre dans le spectre des fréquences disponibles. Ces boutons font saillie sur la face avant de la radio et sont activés par un contact à pression.

Le vol VFR en toute sécurité repose sur le principe « voir et éviter ». Ce principe permet d'éviter les collisions en autant que les équipages sont capables de détecter les autres aéronefs qui se trouvent sur une trajectoire de collision et sont capables de prendre à temps les mesures qui s'imposent pour éviter la collision.

La capacité du pilote à détecter visuellement la présence d'un autre aéronef dépend de nombreux facteurs; par exemple, cela dépend si le pilote est conscient de la présence de l'autre aéronef; du champ de vision sur lequel le pilote peut compter et des obstacles dans ce champ de vision; si l'appareil est très visible ou peu visible; des méthodes de balayage visuel du pilote; et des limites physiologiques normales des systèmes visuel et de réactions motrices de l'être humain.

Grosso modo, en supposant que le pilote regarde dans la bonne direction, des avions de l'aviation générale similaires à ceux impliqués dans le présent accident devraient, dans de bonnes conditions, être détectables à une distance comprise entre 1 nm (mille marin) et 1,5 nm. Des facteurs comme le contraste avec l'arrière-plan, l'assiette des aéronefs et la trajectoire relative d'un aéronef par rapport à l'autre peuvent avoir un effet sur cette distance et la réduire de façon importante.

Le système visuel de l'être humain a des limites qui affectent son efficacité. Par exemple, l'oeil est particulièrement bien adapté à détecter les mouvements, mais il est beaucoup moins efficace pour détecter les objets immobiles. Toutefois, compte tenu de l'angle fait par les trajectoires de collision en vol, il se peut qu'un avion sur une trajectoire de collision apparaisse comme un objet immobile dans le champ de vision du pilote. Pour rendre l'aéronef plus visible, le pilote peut allumer les feux stroboscopiques à haute intensité, les feux anticollision, les phares d'atterrissage ou les feux de navigation. On peut rendre un aéronef plus visible en le peignant avec des motifs offrant un grand contraste.

La conception des aéronefs et des postes de pilotage peut également gêner la vision du pilote. Les éléments structuraux de la cellule, comme les ailes, les montants des fenêtres et les capots moteur, tout comme l'emplacement des sièges de l'équipage ou des passagers, peuvent créer des angles morts qui réduisent le champ de vision du pilote.

Il est généralement admis que les avis de circulation peuvent aider le pilote à repérer visuellement un autre aéronef. L'avis avertit d'abord le pilote d'une éventuelle source de conflit et a tendance à faire augmenter le temps que le pilote va consacrer à la recherche visuelle de l'autre appareil. Ensuite, l'avis aide le pilote à concentrer ses recherches dans la bonne direction. Des recherches(2) montrent que le pilote qui est averti de la présence d'un autre aéronef a huit fois plus de chances de repérer la cible.

Analyse

Dans le présent accident, le pilote du C-FBVW avait donné le seul casque d'écoute disponible à sa passagère pour qu'elle s'occupe des communications radio pour le vol. Ainsi, il n'avait plus de moyen direct pour surveiller l'ATF. Ce faisant, il a rendu moins efficaces les protocoles radio établis comme dispositifs de protection pour renforcer le principe « voir et éviter ».

Le pilote du C-GWAC s'est servi d'une radio portative pour signaler sa position et ses intentions lorsqu'il a pénétré dans la zone ATF. L'examen effectué après l'accident a permis d'établir que la radio (telle qu'elle a été retrouvée) n'était pas réglée sur la bonne ATF. Bien que cet examen ne puisse confirmer sur quelle fréquence était réglée la radio au moment de l'entrée de l'avion dans la zone ATF, on sait que ni le pilote du C-GWAC ni la passagère du C-FBVW n'ont entendu le moindre message en provenance de l'autre avion. La cause du mauvais choix de fréquence n'est pas connue, mais il se peut qu'un bouton de sélection ou de balayage de fréquences ait été enfoncé par inadvertance après que le pilote a mis la radio dans sa poche de chemise. Une fois la radio sur une fréquence autre que la bonne ATF, tous les messages ultérieurs transmis par le pilote du C-GWAC n'auraient aucunement pu alerter l'autre aéronef de sa présence dans les environs. De la même façon, le pilote du C-GWAC n'aurait pu recevoir aucun des messages transmis par l'autre avion qui évoluait dans les environs.

Dans le cas qui nous occupe, le pilote du C-FBVW effectuait des circuits à gauche de la piste 32 à l'aéroport de 108 Mile, alors que le CFS précise qu'il faut faire des circuits à droite de cette piste. En ne suivant pas la procédure de circuit publiée, le pilote a augmenté les risques de collision en vol. De plus, en vent arrière et pendant le virage en finale, sa capacité à voir l'avion en conflit a dû être limitée par la présence du tableau de bord du poste de pilotage, de la partie du moteur de l'avion et de la passagère. En conséquence, la surveillance extérieure exercée par les occupants du C-FBVW à la recherche d'autres aéronefs s'est avérée inefficace.

Le pilote du C-GWAC avait fait un appel radio avant d'entrer dans la zone ATF et n'avait entendu aucune réponse d'autres aéronefs. Par conséquent, il en a conclu qu'aucun autre appareil se trouvait dans la zone et il a poursuivi son approche directe de la piste 32 de l'aéroport. Cette procédure d'entrée dans le circuit n'est pas recommandée dans une zone ATF. En approche, quand le pilote du C-GWAC a fait sa surveillance extérieure, il a concentré son attention vers le haut et vers la droite au cas où un autre appareil qui ne se serait pas annoncé se serait trouvé dans le circuit à droite. Cette procédure de recherche s'est révélée inefficace puisque l'autre avion effectuait un circuit à gauche et s'est approché par le dessus et par la gauche du pilote.

Le C-FBVW était muni de feux de navigation et d'un phare d'atterrissage, mais ces feux n'étaient pas allumés. Le fait de ne pas utiliser les feux de l'avion rende ce dernier moins visible et augmente les risques de ne pas être repéré par les autres pilotes.

Le C-GWAC était muni de feux de navigation, d'un feu rotatif anticollision ainsi que d'un phare d'atterrissage. Ses feux de navigation et son feu rotatif anticollision étaient allumés au moment de la collision, mais pas son phare d'atterrissage.

Comme aucun des deux pilotes n'a détecté la présence de l'autre et ne se doutait pas qu'il y avait risque de collision, ni l'un ni l'autre n'a pris de mesures pour éviter la collision.

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. Le principe « voir et éviter » ne s'est pas avéré une méthode d'espacement efficace dans ce cas-ci puisque ni l'un ni l'autre des deux pilotes n'a vu l'autre avion avant la collision en vol.
  2. Le pilote du C-FBVW effectuait des circuits à gauche de la piste 32 à l'aéroport de 108 Mile, alors que la publication aéronautique pertinente mentionne que les circuits doivent se faire à droite.
  3. Le pilote du C-GWAC a effectué une approche directe de la piste 32 plutôt que d'utiliser la procédure recommandée pour rejoindre le circuit, ce qui a réduit ses chances d'être repéré par les autres aéronefs.
  4. Le pilote du C-GWAC s'est servi d'une radio portative pour signaler sa position et ses intentions avant de pénétrer dans la zone ATF. Toutefois, d'après l'examen de la radio effectué après l'accident, il semble que la radio n'était pas réglée sur la bonne ATF.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote du C-FBVW avait passé le seul casque d'écoute à sa passagère pour qu'elle s'occupe des communications radio pendant le vol. En procédant de la sorte, le pilote s'est privé de tout moyen pour surveiller directement l'ATF.
  2. Ni l'un ni l'autre des pilotes n'utilisait tous les feux de son appareil pour être plus visible.

Mesures de sécurité

Un examen des cas de collision en vol survenues entre août 1989 et août 1999 montre que, pendant ces 10 années, 17 collisions sont survenues au Canada. Huit d'entre elles ont eu lieu dans le cadre d'un vol de formation. Quant aux neuf autres collisions, trois sont survenues dans des zones réservées aux vols d'entraînement et six se sont produites aux abords d'aéroports non contrôlés, entre des aéronefs n'ayant aucun lien entre eux.

À la suite d'une collision en vol survenue le 1er mai 1995, le BST a fait deux recommandations en vue d'améliorer la sécurité dans ce domaine. Il a recommandé que :

  • le ministère des Transports s'assure que les aéronefs évoluent à des vitesses réduites, mais sûres, aux abords des aérodromes où l'espacement repose principalement sur le principe « voir pour éviter ».

    (A96-05)

et que

  • le ministère des Transports prenne des mesures à court et à long terme pour permettre aux pilotes d'améliorer leur habileté à reconnaître les facteurs géométriques de collision en vol et pour leur permettre d'être en mesure d'exécuter les meilleures manoeuvres d'évitement possible.

    (A96-06)

Transports Canada a répondu de façon positive à ces deux recommandations. En 1996, Transports Canada a publié quatre articles sur l'évitement des collision dans le numéro 2/96 de sa publication Sécurité aérienne - Nouvelles. De plus, Transports Canada a fourni les renseignements nécessaires dans l'A.I.P. Canada et a préparé et diffusé une affiche intitulée « Exigences de communication relatives à la MF et à l'ATF » soulignant et précisant les exigences pertinentes en matière de compte rendu et de message à l'intérieur des zones MF et ATF. Plus récemment, Transports Canada a publié une série de manuels intitulés Facteurs humains en aviation; il a également préparé un film vidéo sur les procédures en vigueur aux aérodromes non contrôlés et il a modifié le Guide de l'instructeur de vol; toutes ces mesures ont été prises afin de rendre les programmes de formation plus complets et afin d'améliorer les méthodes d'enseignement dans ces domaines.

Récemment, il y a eu trois collisions en vol en Colombie-Britannique. Ces collisions mettaient en cause six aéronefs et 12 personnes. Il n'y a eu que trois survivants. Les inquiétudes grandissantes découlant de ces accidents ont amené NAV CANADA à élaborer et, depuis peu, à dispenser des séances de formation aux pilotes sur les procédures de circulation aérienne aux aérodromes contrôlés et non contrôlés. Tant le BST que Transports Canada ont participé à ces séances afin de donner des renseignements sur les récentes collisions en vol et sur les limites des capacités de reconnaissance et de réaction des êtres humains. Ce programme devrait permettre de sensibiliser davantage les exploitants, les propriétaires d'aéronefs et les pilotes à l'importance d'utiliser tout l'équipement et toutes les procédures à leur disposition dans le but de diminuer les risques de collision en vol.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 1er novembre 2000.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins 8 heures).

2. J.W. Andrews, Modeling of Air-to-Air Visual Acquisition, The Lincoln Laboratory Journal, volume 2, numéro 3 (1989), p. 478.