Aviation Investigation Report A99Q0075

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Obstructed Elevator Control
Cessna 172 C-FKHS
Lac-à-la-Tortue, Quebec
23 April 1999

Summary

The Cessna 172, registration C-FKHS, serial number 36821, with two persons on board, was on a visual flight rules training flight at the Lac-à-la-Tortue, Quebec, airport. The student was in the left-hand seat and the instructor was in the right-hand seat. The student was practising a landing on soft ground; he was making an approach at low speed with full flaps (40 degrees). In this exercise, the student was to pull the elevator control fully to the rear. As the aircraft was about to touch down on the runway, the instructor told the student to go around and climb to circuit altitude. The student re-applied throttle and, as he attempted to push the control column forward to gain speed, the control column was jammed. He then asked the instructor for help, but the instructor also was unable to push the control column forward. The aircraft banked to the left and came to rest in trees. The two occupants evacuated the aircraft. There were no injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The records indicate that the instructor was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had about 3,700 flying hours at the time of the occurrence. He held a commercial pilot licence and a class 2 instructor rating. The student was just starting his flight training.

The aircraft had flown 3,232 hours since it was manufactured in 1958. The new owners had purchased the aircraft on 19 March 1999. The annual inspection was performed and signed off by an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) on 19 March 1999, in accordance with Appendices B and C of Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) Standard 625.86. The aircraft had accumulated 80 hours since that inspection. On 20 April 1999, an approved maintenance organization had changed the oil and cleaned the engine.

Examination of the cabin revealed a deficiency in the right stationary panel brace, part number 0513035-1. The brace provides a rigid attachment for the stationary panel that secures the socket control tube in which the elevator moves. After the occurrence, the brace was found to be broken. The stationary panel that secures the socket control tube in place could move and was preventing the flight control from moving freely, especially when pulled fully to the rear.

The brace was sent to the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario, for analysis. The TSB Engineering report determined that the part was fractured crosswise. Cracks were observed at the point where the brace attaches to the stationary panel that secures the socket control tube in place. The fracture surface showed evidence of crack termination typical of progressive fatigue failure. In addition, several cracks were visible on each side of the part. Fatigue propagated under reverse bending loads until the part was weakened to the point where it separated in overload. A surface area of 60 to 70 per cent of the fracture surface would have weakened the brace by fatigue until it failed in overload.

Given the function of the brace, the fatigue was caused largely by the movement of the control column. It is also reasonable to suppose that vibration loads may have contributed to crack initiation and propagation. The defect on the stationary panel was visible from the right-hand seat in the cockpit.

Furthermore, when the control column was pulled back, it contacted and rubbed against the lower rear part of the attitude indicator housing. The left stationary panel brace had been repaired previously at roughly the same location as the failure that occurred on the right side. The tachometer exhibited marks caused by the broken part of the brace rubbing against it. The socket control tube in which the right-hand controls move also has an opening into which the control lock is inserted.

CAR 605.86 requires that "all aircraft, other than ultra-light or hang-gliders, shall be maintained in accordance with a maintenance schedule, approved by the Minister, that meets the requirements of these standards." Also, under CAR 625.86(2)(c), the schedule is considered to be approved by the Minister for use by the owners of non-commercially operated small aircraft. Owners need only make an entry in the aircraft technical records that the aircraft will be maintained pursuant to the maintenance schedule.

Part I of Appendix B of the schedule lists the scheduled inspections for aircraft other than balloons. The tasks listed in the schedule are outlined only in general terms, since the specific items that will apply to any particular aircraft depend on the aircraft type. The inspection method for each schedule item must be consistent with the manufacturer's recommendations or current industry practices. The scope of the inspection for each item must be determined by the person performing the inspection, depending on the general condition of the aircraft and the type of operation. The schedule is not an inspection checklist.

Item 5 of the Cabin and Cockpit section of form AERO 215, which was used by the AME on the annual inspection, covered inspection of the flight controls and engine controls. In particular, the AME was to check the controls for incorrect assembly and incorrect operation. Only the last page of the form was signed and no individual item was initialled or signed.

The following Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 53/99--Control Column Stationary Brace Failure.

Analysis

Privately owned aircraft must be maintained in accordance with a maintenance schedule. The owner can choose either a maintenance schedule provided by the manufacturer or a more general schedule like that proposed by Transport Canada at Appendices B and C of CARs Standard 625.86. The scope of the inspection for each item must be determined by the person performing the inspection, depending on the general condition of the aircraft and the type of operation. The annual inspection is an appropriate time to evaluate the airworthiness of the aircraft.

Item 5 of the Cabin and Cockpit section of form AERO 215 calls for a check of the condition and operation of the flight controls. The aircraft technical records show that no item on form AERO 215 was initialled by the person who performed the inspection and that the AME certified on the last page of the form that the aircraft was airworthy. The defect on the stationary panel was visible from the right-hand seat in the cockpit. However, it could not be determined when the brace progressive fatigue failure initiated, leading to the failure in overload.

Findings

  1. The records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations.
  2. The annual inspection was certified by an AME.
  3. The defect on the stationary panel was visible from the right-hand seat in the cockpit.
  4. Laboratory analysis determined that the part showed evidence of progressive fatigue failure. Fatigue developed under reverse bending loads until the part was weakened to the point where it separated in overload.
  5. It could not be determined when the brace progressive fatigue failure initiated, leading to the failure in overload.
  6. Failure of the right stationary panel brace prevented the elevator control from moving freely and from being pushed forward.

Causes and Contributing Factors

Failure of the right stationary panel brace jammed the elevator control in the full rearward position, resulting in the crash of the aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros and Henry Wright, authorized the release of this report on 13 January 2000.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99Q0075

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Blocage de la commande de profondeur
Cessna 172 C-FKHS
Lac-à-la-Tortue (Québec)
Le 23 avril 1999

Résumé

Le Cessna 172, immatriculé C-FKHS, portant le numéro de série 36821, avec deux personnes à son bord, effectuait un vol d'entraînement selon les règles de vol à vue à l'aéroport du Lac-à-la-Tortue (Québec). L'étudiant occupait le siège de gauche alors que l'instructeur occupait le siège de droite. L'étudiant pratiquait un atterrissage sur terrain mou; il effectuait l'approche à basse vitesse avec pleins volets (40 degrés). Pour les besoins de l'exercice, l'étudiant devait tirer à fond sur le manche (commande de gouverne de profondeur). Alors que l'avion s'apprêtait à toucher la piste, l'instructeur a demandé à l'étudiant de remettre les gaz et de reprendre l'altitude de circuit. L'étudiant a remis les gaz, mais en tentant de pousser le manche vers l'avant pour reprendre de la vitesse, le manche est resté bloqué. Il a alors demandé l'assistance de l'instructeur, mais celui-ci a également été incapable de pousser le manche vers l'avant. L'avion a alors effectué un virage vers la gauche avant de s'immobiliser dans les arbres. Les deux occupants ont évacué l'avion. Personne n'a été blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'examen des dossiers indique que l'instructeur possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait environ 3 700 heures de vol au moment de l'événement. Il était titulaire de la licence de pilote professionnel et de la qualification d'instructeur de classe 2. L'étudiant en était à ses premières heures de vol.

L'avion totalisait 3 232 heures de vol depuis sa construction en 1958. Les nouveaux propriétaires avaient acheté l'avion le 19 mars 1999. L'inspection annuelle avait été effectuée et attestée par un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) le 19 mars 1999, conformément aux appendices B et C de la norme 625.86 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Depuis cette inspection, l'aéronef avait effectué 80 heures de vol. Le 20 avril 1999, un organisme de maintenance agréé avait effectué une vidange d'huile et nettoyé le moteur.

L'examen de la cabine a permis de découvrir une anomalie au niveau du hauban du panneau fixe de droite, numéro de pièce 0513035-1. Le rôle du hauban est d'assurer une rigidité à la fixation du panneau fixe retenant le réceptacle dans lequel se déplace la gouverne de profondeur. Ce hauban a été trouvé rompu après l'incident. Le panneau fixe retenant le réceptacle pouvait bouger et empêchait la commande de se déplacer librement, surtout lors d'un mouvement vers l'arrière.

Le hauban a été acheminé au Laboratoire technique du BST à Ottawa (Ontario) pour analyse. Le rapport technique du BST démontre que la pièce s'est rompue sur le plan transversal. Le point de fixation du hauban au panneau fixe retenant le réceptacle présentait des fissures. La surface de la rupture présentait des marques d'arrêt de criques typiques d'une rupture progressive attribuable à de la fatigue. De plus, plusieurs criques étaient visibles de chaque côté de la pièce. La fatigue s'est propagée sous l'effet d'une charge de flexion inversée jusqu'à ce que la pièce affaiblie se rompe en surcharge. Une superficie équivalente à 60 à 70 % de la surface de la rupture aurait affaibli progressivement le hauban en fatigue avant que celui-ci ne cède en surcharge.

De par la fonction du hauban, la fatigue serait attribuable en bonne partie au déplacement du manche. Il est aussi raisonnable de supposer qu'une charge de vibration aurait contribué à l'amorce des criques et à leur propagation. L'anomalie du panneau fixe était visible du poste de pilotage, à partir du siège de droite.

De plus, lorsque le manche a été tiré vers l'arrière, on a constaté qu'il frottait sur la partie arrière du bas du boîtier de l'indicateur d'assiette. Le hauban du panneau fixe de gauche avait déjà été réparé, à peu près au même endroit où s'est produite la rupture sur le côté droit. Le tachymètre présentait des marques attribuables au frottement de la pièce du hauban rompue. Le réceptacle dans lequel se déplace les gouvernes du côté droit comporte aussi une ouverture dans laquelle est inséré le dispositif de verrouillage des gouvernes.

L'article 605.86 du RAC stipule que «tout aéronef, autre qu'un ultra-léger ou aile libre, doit être maintenu conformément à un calendrier de maintenance qui est approuvé par le ministre et est conforme aux présentes normes.» De plus, en vertu des dispositions de l'alinéa 625.86(2)c) du RAC, les propriétaires de petits aéronefs n'étant pas exploités commercialement sont autorisés d'office à utiliser ce calendrier. Ils n'ont qu'à préciser dans les dossiers techniques de l'aéronef que la maintenance sera effectuée en vertu des dispositions du calendrier de maintenance.

La partie I de l'appendice B du calendrier comprend les inspections périodiques pour les aéronefs autres que les ballons. Les tâches prescrites au calendrier ne sont décrites que de façon générale étant donné que les articles spécifiques relatifs à des aéronefs particuliers varient en fonction du type d'aéronef. La méthode d'inspection relative à chaque article du calendrier doit être conforme aux recommandations du constructeur ou aux pratiques courantes de l'industrie. L'importance de l'inspection relative à chaque article doit être déterminée par la personne qui effectue l'inspection; elle doit tenir compte de l'état général de l'aéronef et du type d'exploitation. Ce calendrier ne constitue pas une liste d'inspection.

Le point numéro 5 de la section intitulée «Cabine et poste de pilotage» du formulaire AERO 215, utilisé par le TEA lors de l'inspection annuelle, couvrait l'inspection des gouvernes et des commandes moteur. Plus spécifiquement, le TEA devait vérifier si elles étaient montées correctement et si elles fonctionnaient bien. Seule la dernière page du formulaire portait une signature et aucun point spécifique ne portait d'initiales ou de signature.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 53/99 - Control Column Stationary Brace Failure (Rupture du hauban fixe du manche).

Analyse

Un aéronef privé doit être entretenu selon un calendrier de maintenance. Le propriétaire peut choisir entre un calendrier de maintenance offert par le constructeur ou un calendrier plus général comme celui proposé par Transports Canada aux appendices B et C de la norme 625.86 du RAC. L'importance de l'inspection relative à chaque article doit être déterminée par la personne qui effectue l'inspection; elle doit tenir compte de l'état général de l'aéronef et du type d'exploitation. L'inspection annuelle est un moment propice à l'évaluation de l'état de navigabilité de l'aéronef.

Le point numéro 5 de la section intitulée «Cabine et poste de pilotage» du formulaire AERO 215 prévoit l'inspection des gouvernes et la vérification du fonctionnement des gouvernes. L'examen des dossiers techniques de l'avion révèle qu'aucun point sur le formulaire AERO 215 n'a été parafé par la personne qui a effectué l'inspection, mais que le TEA a attesté l'état de navigabilité de l'avion à la dernière page du formulaire. L'anomalie du panneau fixe était visible du poste de pilotage, à partir du siège de droite. Il a toutefois été impossible de déterminer à quel moment le hauban avait subi une rupture progressive sous l'effet de la fatigue, avant de se rompre en surcharge.

Faits établis

  1. L'examen des dossiers indique que le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur.
  2. L'inspection annuelle avait été attestée par un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef.
  3. L'anomalie du panneau fixe était visible du poste de pilotage, à partir du siège de droite.
  4. L'analyse en laboratoire a confirmé que la pièce avait subi une rupture progressive sous l'effet de la fatigue. La fatigue s'est propagée sous l'effet d'une charge de flexion inversée jusqu'à ce que la pièce affaiblie se rompe en surcharge.
  5. Il a été impossible de déterminer à quel moment le hauban a subi une rupture progressive sous l'effet de la fatigue avant de se rompre en surcharge.
  6. En raison de la rupture du hauban du panneau fixe de droite, la commande de gouverne de profondeur ne pouvait se déplacer librement et revenir vers l'avant.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La rupture du hauban du panneau fixe de droite a occasionné le blocage de la commande de gouverne de profondeur en position arrière, ce qui a provoqué l'écrasement de l'appareil.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 13 janvier 2000 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros et Henry Wright.