Aviation Investigation Report A99Q0134

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control / Impact with the Ground
Cosmos U.L.M. Inc.
Cosmos Phase II ES C-IFEK
Saint-Mathias-de-Richelieu, Quebec
11 July 1999

Summary

The aircraft, a Cosmos Phase II ES ultralight, registration C-IFEK, serial number 21221, took off from a private gravel runway at Saint-Mathias-de-Richelieu, Quebec, for a familiarization flight with one passenger on board as part of an air show. Shortly after take-off, around 1730 local time, the pilot departed from the circuit that had been used since the beginning of the show's activities. The aircraft was flying at low altitude when it banked sharply and struck the ground. The pilot and the passenger sustained fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held an ultralight aircraft licence with an instructor rating valid until May 2004. He had accumulated almost 60 hours' flying time, all on the Cosmos Phase II ES. As an instructor, he could give dual training on ultralight aircraft.

Based on the autopsy and toxicological test results, there is no indication that physiological factors affected the pilot's performance.

Specific procedures had been established for the circuit for the show. After taking off from runway 13, the instructor was to proceed towards Chambly Basin, west of the airport, and then turn left to fly over highway 10 until he joined the base leg for runway 13. The trip was to last about 15 minutes, during which the instructor was to initiate the passenger into flying an ultralight aircraft by demonstrating manoeuvres normally performed as part of a familiarization flight, such as the various aircraft attitudes. The term "familiarization flight" is borrowed here from the instructor's guide for conventional aircraft, because the term is not defined and the lessons are not structured in the ultralight field.

Several persons made ultralight flights at a preset rate during the weekend festivities. The purpose of these flights was to introduce the passengers to ultralight flying and possibly get them to enrol in a complete training course at the Cosmos U.L.M. Inc. training centre. The purpose of the flights, among other things, was to recruit new students.

At the time of the occurrence, the sky was clear. At 1700 local time, at the Saint-Hubert airport, Quebec, located about 10 miles northwest of the town, the winds were from 280 degrees magnetic at 9 knots gusting to 18 knots. At 1800 local time, the winds were from 270 degrees magnetic at 14 knots. Such winds can produce low-level mechanical turbulence.

Shortly before the flight, a company maintenance engineer made a check and indicated that everything was normal. The aircraft took off normally, proceeded away from Chambly Basin, flew over a hangar, and crashed near a heavy vehicle. Nearby, there were large fields bordered by big trees. The investigation revealed that the minimum descent gradient at the time of impact would have been greater than 45 degrees and that the engine was producing power at the time of impact.

These motorized ultralights are manufactured by the French company Cosmos, which provides a considerable amount of information on its product and makes technical manuals available to its clients. The manufacturer suggests assembly procedures, with information on techniques and the sequence of assembly. The user's manual provides the aircraft's performance data and available options. The maintenance manual also provides the aircraft's performance data and its handling characteristics. In addition, the manual sets out a schedule of maintenance and inspections to be carried out at various intervals. It was not possible to determine whether the flying school followed this maintenance schedule, because no relevant records were found. Canadian regulations do not require operators of ultralight aircraft to keep such records.

Several aircraft parts were sent to the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory to determine whether the fractures identified were caused by the impact with the ground or whether the fractures had occurred before impact. A microscopic examination of the attachments and the fractures identified on some parts was carried out at the TSB Laboratory. The examination revealed that the fractures were attributable to the violent impact with the ground.

Analysis

The damage to the ultralight was attributed to the impact with the ground. There is no indication that the aircraft experienced a malfunction before the accident. The tests performed on the parts sent to the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory ruled out the possibility of a structure break-up in flight.

The passengers who boarded the ultralight aircraft were to receive training as part of a familiarization flight. Such ultralight flights are neither supervised nor defined as they are for an aeroplane. It is therefore hard to distinguish between a familiarization flight and a simple ultralight tour.

The prevailing conditions in terms of winds and terrain profile were conducive to low-level mechanical turbulence. The pilot probably encountered turbulence conditions that he was unable to manage, resulting in loss of control of the aircraft.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 81/99 - Wing Structure.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The winds were blowing at 9 to 18 knots, possibly causing low-level mechanical turbulence.
  2. The pilot probably encountered turbulence conditions that could have caused a loss of control.

Other Findings

  1. A familiarization flight is neither defined nor supervised for ultralights.
  2. It is hard in this kind of operation to distinguish between a so-called familiarization flight and an ultralight tour.

Safety Action

In the document Flight 2005 Implementation Plan, Transport Canada indicates that it intends to bring about a 10-per-cent reduction in the accident rate and loss of life in recreational aviation by 2005. To achieve its objectives, Transport Canada wants to improve ultralight training by developing a ground and flight instruction program, developing guides and manuals, and developing a refresher training program for recreational flight instructors.

On 17 March 2000, the Quebec Region of Transport Canada's Civil Aviation Directorate held a symposium for ultralight flight instructors. A stakeholder working group was set up to develop a ground and flight training program. This exercise is being conducted nationwide.

Several notices of proposed amendment are under review by Transport Canada with a view to introducing a new qualification allowing the carriage of passengers on board ultralight aircraft.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 07 March 2001.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99Q0134

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de contrôle et collision avec le sol
Cosmos U.L.M. inc.
Cosmos Phase II ES C-IFEK
Saint-Mathias-de-Richelieu (Québec)
Le 11 juillet 1999

Résumé

L'appareil, un ultra-léger de type Cosmos Phase II ES, immatriculé C-IFEK, numéro de série 21221, a décollé d'une piste privée en gravier située à Saint-Mathias-de-Richelieu (Québec) pour effectuer un vol de familiarisation avec une passagère, dans le cadre d'un festival aérien. Peu après le décollage, vers 17 h 30, heure locale, le pilote s'est dirigé à l'extérieur du circuit qui avait été utilisé depuis le début des activités du festival. L'appareil volait à basse altitude lorsqu'il s'est incliné fortement avant de heurter le sol. Le pilote de l'appareil et la passagère sont morts sur le coup.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait un permis d'avion ultra-léger annoté d'une qualification d'instructeur valide jusqu'en mai 2004. Il avait accumulé presque 60 heures de vol, toutes sur Cosmos Phase II ES. En tant qu'instructeur, il pouvait dispenser de l'entraînement en double commande à bord d'un avion ultra-léger.

D'après les résultats d'autopsie et des analyses toxicologiques, rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote.

Des procédures spécifiques pour le circuit avaient été établies dans le cadre des festivités. Après le décollage de la piste 13, l'instructeur devait se diriger vers le bassin Chambly, situé à l'ouest de l'aéroport, pour ensuite tourner à gauche afin de survoler l'autoroute 10 jusqu'à ce qu'il rejoigne le parcours de base pour la piste 13. Le parcours devait durer près de 15 minutes durant lesquelles l'instructeur devait initier la passagère au vol en avion ultra-léger en faisant la démonstration de manoeuvres normalement effectuées dans le cadre d'un vol de familiarisation, comme les différentes assiettes de l'appareil. Le terme vol de familiarisation est ici emprunté au guide de l'instructeur pour avion classique, puisque le terme n'est pas défini et que la leçon n'est pas structurée dans le domaine de l'ultra-léger.

Plusieurs personnes ont fait des vols d'ultra-léger durant la fin de semaine de festivités moyennant un tarif fixé à l'avance. Ces vols avaient pour objet de permettre aux passagers de s'initier au vol en ultra-léger et, éventuellement, de s'inscrire à un cours complet de formation auprès du Centre de formation Cosmos U.L.M. inc. Les vols avaient pour objet, entre autres, de recruter de nouveaux élèves.

Au moment des faits, le ciel était clair. À 17 h, heure locale, à l'aéroport de Saint-Hubert (Québec), situé à environ 10 milles au nord-ouest, les vents soufflaient du 280 degrés magnétique à 9 noeuds avec des rafales à 18 noeuds. À 18 h, heure locale, les vents soufflaient du 270 degrés magnétique à 14 noeuds. De tels vents peuvent entraîner de la turbulence mécanique dans les bas niveaux.

Avant le vol, un mécanicien au service de la compagnie a fait une vérification et a déclaré que tout était normal. L'appareil a décollé normalement, s'est dirigé dans la direction opposée au bassin Chambly, a survolé un hangar et s'est écrasé près d'un poids lourd. Non loin de là, il y avait de grands champs bordés de grands arbres. L'enquête a établi que la pente minimale de descente lors de l'impact devait être supérieure à 45 degrés et que le moteur produisait de la puissance au moment de l'impact.

Ces ultra-légers motorisés sont construits par la société française Cosmos qui met une quantité importante de renseignements sur le produit à la disposition de ses clients ainsi que des guides techniques. Le constructeur propose des procédures d'assemblage qui fournissent des renseignements sur les techniques et la séquence d'assemblage. Le manuel de l'utilisateur décrit les performances de l'appareil ainsi que les options disponibles. Le manuel de maintenance décrit aussi les performances de l'appareil ainsi que ses caractéristiques de vol. De plus, le manuel présente un calendrier de vérifications et d'entretien à effectuer à divers intervalles. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si l'école de pilotage suivait ce programme d'entretien puisqu'aucune documentation à cet effet n'a été retrouvée. La réglementation canadienne n'oblige pas l'exploitant d'un avion ultra-léger à maintenir un tel dossier.

Plusieurs pièces ont été envoyées au Laboratoire technique du BST afin de déterminer si les ruptures identifiées avaient été causées par l'impact au sol ou si elles s'étaient produites avant l'impact. Un examen microscopique des fixations ainsi que des fractures sur une même pièce a été effectué au Laboratoire technique du BST. L'examen a révélé que les fractures étaient attribuables à l'impact violent avec le sol.

Analyse

Les dommages à l'ultra-léger ont été attribués à l'impact avec le sol. Rien n'indique que l'aéronef ait subi une défaillance avant l'accident. Les analyses effectuées sur les pièces envoyées au Laboratoire technique du BST ont permis d'écarter l'hypothèse d'une rupture de la structure en vol.

Les passagers qui embarquaient à bord de l'avion ultra-léger devaient recevoir de la formation dans le cadre d'un vol de familiarisation. Ce type de vol en ultra-léger n'est ni encadré, ni défini, comme c'est le cas pour un avion. Il devient donc difficile de faire la différence entre un vol de familiarisation et un simple tour d'ultra-léger.

Les conditions qui prévalaient, tant au niveau des vents que du profil du terrain, étaient favorables à la turbulence mécanique dans les bas niveaux. Il est probable que le pilote a rencontré des conditions de turbulence qu'il n'a pas été en mesure de gérer, entraînant une perte de contrôle de l'appareil.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 81/99 - Wing Structure (Structure de l'aile).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Les vents soufflaient à une vitesse de 9 à 18 noeuds pouvant entraîner de la turbulence mécanique à basse altitude.
  2. Le pilote a probablement rencontré des conditions de turbulence qui ont pu entraîner une perte de contrôle de l'appareil.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le vol de familiarisation n'est pas défini ni encadré dans le domaine de l'ultra-léger.
  2. Il est difficile, dans ce genre d'opération, de faire la différence entre le vol dit de familiarisation et le tour d'ultra-léger.

Mesures de écurité

Dans le document intitulé Vol 2005, Plan de mise en oeuvre, Transports Canada indique qu'il a l'intention de réduire de 10 % le taux d'accident et de pertes de vie dans l'aviation de loisir d'ici 2005. Afin de réaliser ses objectifs, Transports Canada désire améliorer la formation dans le domaine de l'ultra-léger en élaborant un programme d'instruction en vol et au sol, en élaborant des guides et des manuels et, finalement, en élaborant un programme de recyclage pour les instructeurs de l'aviation de loisir.

Le 17 mars 2000, la Direction générale de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada, Région du Québec, a tenu un colloque pour les instructeurs d'avions ultra-légers. Un groupe de travail formé d'intervenants du milieu a été mis sur pied pour élaborer un programme de formation en vol et au sol. Cet exercice se fait à l'échelle nationale.

À l'heure actuelle, Transports Canada examine plusieurs avis de propositions de modifications (APM) en vue d'intégrer une nouvelle qualification permettant le transport de passagers à bord d'un avion ultra-léger.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 7 mars 2001.