Aviation Investigation Report A99W0034

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Wire
Canadian Helicopters Limited
Bell 206B C-FOAH
Entrance, Alberta
26 February 1999

Summary

The pilot and two film crew were conducting an aerial photographic flight filming Canadian National (CN) train traffic in the area near Hinton, Alberta. As a train approached Entrance, Alberta, about five miles west of Hinton, the pilot manoeuvred the helicopter over the train cars. Once directly over the cars and about 40 cars behind the locomotives, the pilot descended the helicopter to a skid height of about 12 feet above the rolling stock and adjusted his flight speed so that he was slowly overtaking the locomotives. About 30 seconds into the film run, the helicopter struck two steel electrical wire conductors which crossed the rail line at a 90-degree angle. The wires contacted the helicopter just above the windshield and moved aft into the pitch control rods and main rotor mast. The pitch control rods were severed and aircraft control was lost. The aircraft pitched up, yawed left, then right, and descended in a 45-degree nose-down attitude, striking the ground about 90 feet left of the passing train and about 600 feet beyond the point where the wire strike occurred. The accident occurred at about 1610 mountain standard time (MST). All occupants of the aircraft were wearing both lap and shoulder harnesses, and the pilot was wearing a helmet. The passenger in the left front seat sustained serious injuries, and the pilot and other passenger, in a rear seat, received minor injuries. The helicopter was substantially damaged. Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

On the morning of the occurrence, the pilot attended a briefing at the Canadian Helicopters Limited facility at Edmonton City Centre Airport, Alberta. A pre-flight briefing was attended by members of the filming crew, including their ground support staff, Canadian Helicopters Limited management, and CN rail staff. During the briefing, the pilot was cautioned by the CN member present to be judicious in his choice of altitude when overflying the train as they did not want to startle the train crew. The film director requested that the pilot fly as low and as fast as possible, consistent with flight safety. The pilot briefed the passengers for the flight, and filed a flight plan with the Edmonton Flight Service Station. For the flight, the pilot occupied the right pilot seat, the cameraman, the left front seat, and the film director, the right rear seat. The film crew was briefed on normal and emergency procedures.

A Tyler 206 Nose Mount II was mounted on the lower forward section of the helicopter as per Federal Aviation Authority (FAA) STC SH2256NM. The camera was attached to the nose mount. The nose mount, as installed, provided 200-degree tilt for the film camera. The pan and roll axis were fixed to the helicopter yaw and roll axis. The camera operator, seated in the left front seat, held a control console in his lap. The control console had a monitor and tilt controls. The lens, as installed for this flight, was taped with duct tape to a fixed aperture. To compensate for the mass of the camera and mount, 50 pounds of ballast was placed at station 164.0.

The helicopter was not fitted with a wire strike protection system (WSPS) nor was it required to be by regulation. The company did not fit WSPS to helicopters except where helicopters were to be used extensively for low-level operations.

After departure from Edmonton, the crew conducted some filming before their arrival at Hinton. During the filming, the director maintained contact with his ground support team by cellular telephone, and the ground support team was in contact with CN staff at Edmonton.

The aircraft departed Hinton at about 1410 MST(1) and worked east of Hinton with some train traffic. After landing to reload the externally mounted camera, the pilot flew to the west of Hinton where the crew planned on filming a westbound train. Initially, the train was filmed with the helicopter situated in a hover alongside a trestle. The helicopter then moved vertically and into forward flight while passing over the train. As the train moved under a highway crossing, the helicopter made a right-hand 360-degree turn, manoeuvred directly over the train, and descended to a skid height of about 12 feet above the rail cars. Shortly thereafter, the helicopter struck two steel wire conductors which crossed the twin train tracks at 90 degrees.

The wires were about 35 feet above the tracks, supported by poles 75 m from the tracks. The pole to the south could not have been seen by the pilot, and the pole to the north could have been seen for about four seconds before the wire strike occurred. The wires were oxidized, and the background to the wires was dull terrain and trees. When viewing the film which was taken during the flight, the wires were not distinguishable from the background prior to the impact.

The train was being hauled by two locomotives. Cars 1 through 8 were transporting glycol; cars 9 through 20, liquid caustic soda; cars 21 through 32, flammable liquid; and cars 33 through 107, lumber products and agricultural products. The height of cars 1 through 32 was 15.6 feet to the top of the railings located at midpoint on the cars. The train crews had been advised that they might encounter a helicopter working at low altitude between Edmonton and Jasper, Alberta. This information was passed to the train crews as general information. When the CN dispatch in Edmonton became aware that the helicopter was working with a specific train, the crew members of that train were not advised so that they would not change their procedures.

Analysis of a film recovered from the camera after the accident shows the helicopter descending for a final run as the train passed under a road. As the helicopter moved over the train, the pilot descended to a skid height of about 12 feet above the cars. The helicopter speed was slightly higher than that of the train. As the helicopter passed over car 25, it struck the wire conductors. The film shows the helicopter pitching and rolling before impact. The last 2 to 3 seconds of film were exposed to light and the last visible information shows the helicopter in a steep descent into trees to the left (south) of the train.

Analysis of videotape provided to CN by the film company shows that, on numerous occasions during this and prior flights, low-level helicopter flights were conducted. On several of these flights, the helicopter was filming the train from below treetop level, and on at least two occasions, from about the roadbed level. Some of the filming was done in eastern Canada and the United States by a different aircraft operator.

Before all the filming runs, except the last run, the pilot carried out an aerial reconnaissance of the area to check for wires and other obstructions. Just before the last pass, the train was entering an area with a view of the mountains in the distance. The rails continued in a westward direction for several miles, thus providing a clear view of the mountains in the background for several minutes as the train moved westward. The pilot, in consultation with the film director, decided that, if one final pass was made, filming would be completed. The wire strike occurred about 30 seconds before the run was to have been terminated.

During the helicopter/ground impact, the pilot's left lap belt failed. Markings on the seat-belt indicated that it was manufactured by the Pacific Scientific Company in February 1973, that it conformed to FAA TSO C22, and that it was rated at 1,500 pounds. The right side of the belt, which had not failed, was pulled to destruction in a tensile testing machine and failed at 1,630 pounds. TSO C22 requires that belts rated at 1,500 pounds fail at no less than 2,250 pounds. Therefore, although this belt's strength exceeded the 1,500-pound rating, it no longer met the requirements of TSO C22. Although it is possible that this reduction in strength was the result of damage during the crash, there was no such visual evidence. Previous experience has found that exposure to sunlight at levels associated with normal service can cause this magnitude of strength reduction to seat-belt webbing after many years of use.

The following TSB Engineering Branch report was completed:

  • LP 30/99 - Seat-belt Examination, Bell 206B

Analysis

The pilot is responsible for the safe operation of an aircraft. Based on the type of flying that was planned and executed, the pilot was aware that obstacles, such as wires crossing the rail tracks, were his primary concern during low-altitude operations. The pilot stated that he had carried out aerial reconnaissances of all the film runs except the last film run. The area beyond where the film run was started provided several miles of track where an aerial reconnaissance could have been completed and the filming requirements met. The pilot's decision to complete the task without conducting an aerial reconnaissance resulted in his overlooking a vital safety precaution. As indicated by the CN representative, low flight was not required for the tasking; however, the pilot decided to fly at a skid height of about 12 feet above the train. This decision to fly at such a low altitude placed the helicopter in such a position that it struck the wires crossing the rail tracks. The resulting wire strike caused the pitch control rods to fail, and the pilot lost control of the helicopter.

More serious injuries to the occupants of the aircraft probably were prevented by the wearing of the lap and shoulder harnesses. The serious injuries to the cameraman probably were related to the camera console that he was carrying.

The helicopter was not equipped with a WSPS. The helicopter struck the wire at a position where a WSPS probably would have cut the wire.

Findings

  1. The helicopter was being used to film CN trains while flying at low altitude.
  2. The pilot had been briefed that he should not overfly the train at low altitude.
  3. The pilot and company chief pilot had discussed the hazards of low flight before the beginning of the operation.
  4. The portion of track being used for the final film run had not been reconnoitred by the pilot before the filming run.
  5. While at a height of about 12 feet above the rolling stock, the helicopter struck two electrical wires which spanned the track at right angles to the direction of flight.
  6. The wires contacted the pitch control rods which failed, and the pilot lost control of the helicopter.
  7. The helicopter was not fitted with a wire strike protection system.
  8. The pilot's lap belt failed. The failure was most likely attributed to a deterioration in strength due to long-term exposure to sunlight.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The pilot lost control of the helicopter when the pitch control rods failed following a wire strike while flying at low level. Contributing to the accident was the fact that the pilot did not conduct a reconnaissance flight to ensure that the flight path was free of obstacles.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Jonathan Seymour, Charles Simpson, W.A. Tadros and Henry Wright, authorized the release of this report on 23 December 1999.


1. All times are MST (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A99W0034

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec des câbles
Canadian Helicopters Limited
Bell 206B C-FOAH
Entrance (Alberta)
26 février 1999

Résumé

Le pilote et deux passagers faisant partie d'une équipe de tournage effectuaient un vol de prises de vues aériennes dans le but de filmer la circulation ferroviaire du Canadien National (CN), près de Hinton (Alberta). Alors qu'un train approchait d'Entrance (Alberta), environ cinq milles à l'ouest de Hinton, le pilote a placé l'hélicoptère au-dessus des wagons du train. Lorsqu'il s'est trouvé juste au-dessus du train, environ au quarantième wagon derrière les locomotives, il a fait descendre l'hélicoptère jusqu'à ce que les patins de se trouvent à environ 12 pieds au-dessus des wagons et il a accéléré doucement de façon à rattraper les locomotives. Environ 30 secondes après le début du tournage, l'hélicoptère a heurté deux câbles électriques en acier qui traversaient perpendiculairement la voie ferrée. Les câbles sont entrés en collision avec l'hélicoptère au-dessus du pare-brise puis, comme l'hélicoptère avançait, ils se sont pris dans les biellettes de commande de pas ainsi que dans le mât du rotor principal. Les biellettes de commande de pas ont été sectionnées et le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère qui s'est mis en cabré, a décrit un mouvement de lacet vers la gauche puis vers la droite et est parti dans un piqué de 45 degrés, percutant le sol environ 90 pieds à gauche du train en mouvement, à 600 pieds du lieu où s'était produite la collision avec les câbles. L'accident est survenu vers 16 h 10, heure normale des Rocheuses (HNR). Tous les occupants portaient des ceintures de sécurité et un baudrier; le pilote portait un casque. L'un des passagers assis sur le siège avant gauche a subi de graves blessures, alors que le pilote et l'autre passager assis à l'arrière n'ont subi que des blessures mineures. L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages importants.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le matin de l'accident, le pilote avait assisté à un exposé présenté dans les installations de Canadian Helicopters Limited à l'aéroport municipal d'Edmonton (Alberta). Les membres de l'équipe de tournage avaient assisté à un exposé avant vol auquel participaient leur équipe d'appui au sol, la direction de Canadian Helicopters Limited et un employé du CN. Au cours de cet exposé, l'employé du CN présent a demandé au pilote de choisir judicieusement son altitude de survol du train pour ne pas alarmer le personnel se trouvant à bord de ce dernier. Le réalisateur du film a demandé que le pilote vole aussi bas et aussi vite que lui permettaient les normes de sécurité aérienne. Le pilote a fait un exposé avant vol aux passagers et il a déposé son plan de vol à la station d'information de vol d'Edmonton. Pendant le vol, le pilote était assis en place avant droite, le cameraman occupait le siège avant gauche et le réalisateur du film, le siège arrière droit. L'équipe de tournage avait assisté à un exposé sur les procédures normales et d'urgence.

Un support avant (Tyler 206 Nose Mount II) avait été monté sur la partie inférieure avant de l'hélicoptère, conformément au CTS SH2256NM de la Federal Aviation Authority (FAA). Ce support, auquel avait été fixée la caméra, en permettait l'inclinaison de 200 degrés. L'axe panoramique et l'axe d'inclinaison latérale de la caméra correspondaient respectivement aux axes de lacet et de roulis de l'hélicoptère. Le caméraman, qui occupait le siège avant gauche, tenait sur ses genoux une console de commande comportant un moniteur et des commandes d'inclinaison. L'objectif installé pour ce vol avait été réglé à une ouverture fixe maintenue au moyen de ruban adhésif en toile. Pour contrebalancer la masse de la caméra et de son support, 50 livres de lest avaient été placées à la référence 164.0.

L'hélicoptère n'était pas équipé d'un dispositif coupe-câble (WSPS) et la réglementation n'exigeait pas l'installation d'un tel dispositif. L'entreprise n'équipait ses hélicoptères de WSPS que dans les cas où ils étaient largement utilisés dans des opérations à basse altitude.

Après avoir décollé d'Edmonton, l'équipe de tournage a pris quelques images avant d'atterrir à Hinton. Pendant le tournage, le réalisateur est demeuré en contact par téléphone cellulaire avec son équipe d'appui au sol, laquelle était en contact avec le personnel du CN à Edmonton.

L'hélicoptère a décollé de Hinton vers 14 h 10 HNR(1) et s'est dirigé vers l'est, là où il y avait de la circulation ferroviaire. Après avoir atterri pour recharger la caméra montée à l'extérieur, le pilote s'est dirigé vers l'ouest de Hinton, où l'équipe de tournage avait l'intention de filmer un train roulant en direction ouest. Le train a d'abord été filmé pendant que l'hélicoptère volait en stationnaire le long d'un pont à chevalets. L'hélicoptère s'est ensuite déplacé verticalement et vers l'avant tout en survolant le train. Lorsque ce dernier s' engagé sous un pont supportant une route, l'hélicoptère a effectué un virage à 360 degrés vers la droite, s'est placé juste au-dessus du train et est descendu jusqu'à ce que ses patins se trouvent à environ 12 pieds au-dessus des wagons. Peu après, il a heurté deux câbles électriques en acier qui traversaient perpendiculairement la voie ferrée double.

Les câbles qui se trouvaient à environ 35 pieds au-dessus du sol étaient soutenus par des poteaux situés à 75 m des voies. Le pilote n'aurait pas pu voir le poteau placé au sud, et il n'aurait pu voir celui placé au nord qu'environ quatre secondes avant l'impact. Les câbles étaient oxydés et l'arrière-plan était constitué d'un terrain de couleur neutre et d'arbres. Lors du visionnage du film, il a été constaté que les câbles ne ressortaient pas sur l'arrière-plan avant l'impact.

Le train était tiré par deux locomotives. Les wagons 1 à 8 transportaient du glycol; les wagons 9 à 20, de la soude caustique liquide; les wagons 21 à 32, un liquide inflammable; et les wagons 33 à 107, des copeaux de bois et des produits agricoles. En incluant les garde-corps qui se trouvaient en leur centre, les wagons 1 à 32 avaient une hauteur de 15,6 pieds. Le personnel à bord des trains avait été avisé qu'il était possible qu'il rencontre un hélicoptère volant à faible altitude entre Edmonton et Jasper (Alberta). Ces renseignements lui avaient été transmis à titre d'information générale. Lorsque le régulateur du CN à Edmonton a été averti que l'hélicoptère survolait un train en particulier, il n'a pas informé le personnel de ce train pour que celui-ci ne modifie pas ses procédures.

L'analyse d'une pellicule retrouvée dans la caméra après l'accident montre l'hélicoptère qui descend pour tourner une dernière séquence au moment où le train passe sous une route. Une fois l'hélicoptère au-dessus du train, le pilote est descendu jusqu'à ce que les patins de l'appareil se trouvent à environ 12 pieds au-dessus des wagons. La vitesse de l'hélicoptère était légèrement supérieure à celle du train. En passant au-dessus du wagon 25, l'hélicoptère a heurté les câbles. La pellicule montre l'hélicoptère se mettant en cabré et partant en roulis avant l'impact. La partie de la pellicule correspondant aux 2 à 3 dernières secondes a été exposée à la lumière et les dernières images visibles montrent l'hélicoptère qui descend rapidement dans des arbres situés à gauche (au sud) du train.

L'analyse de la bande vidéo fournie au CN par l'entreprise cinématographique démontre qu'à maintes reprises, au cours de ce vol et de vols antérieurs, l'hélicoptère avait évolué à basse altitude. Pendant plusieurs de ces vols, l'hélicoptère avait filmé le train d'une hauteur inférieure à la cime des arbres et, à au moins deux reprises, d'une hauteur égale ou presque à celle de la banquette de la voie. Une partie du tournage a été effectué dans l'Est du Canada et aux États-Unis par un autre exploitant aérien.

Avant chacune des séquences de tournage à l'exception de la dernière, le pilote avait effectué une reconnaissance aérienne de la région au cas où elle comporterait des câbles ou autres obstacles. Juste au moment de tourner la dernière séquence, le train est arrivé dans une région permettant de voir au loin les montagnes. La voie ferrée s'étendait en direction ouest sur plusieurs milles, ce qui permettait de voir clairement les montagnes en arrière-plan pendant plusieurs minutes pendant que le train roulait vers l'ouest. Après avoir consulté le réalisateur, le pilote a conclu qu'une dernière séquence suffirait à terminer le tournage. La collision avec les câbles est survenue environ 30 secondes avant la fin prévue de cette séquence.

Au moment de l'impact au sol de l'hélicoptère, la partie gauche de la ceinture de sécurité du pilote s'est rompue. Les inscriptions qu'elle portait indiquaient que la ceinture avait été fabriquée en février 1973 par Pacific Scientific Company, qu'elle était conforme à la TSO C22 de la FAA et que sa résistance nominale était de 1 500 livres. Sa partie droite, qui était intacte, a été testée au moyen d'une machine d'essai de traction et elle s'est rompue à 1 630 livres. La TSO C22 exige qu'une ceinture dont la résistance nominale est de 1 500 livres ne se rompe qu'à partir de 2 250 livres. Donc, bien que la résistance nominale de cette ceinture ait été supérieure à 1 500 livres, elle ne respectait plus les exigences de la TSO C22. Bien qu'il soit possible que cette réduction de la résistance nominale ait été la conséquence des dommages subis au moment de l'accident, aucun indice visuel ne permet de conclure qu'il en soit ainsi. Il a été démontré dans le passé qu'après de nombreuses années d'utilisation, une exposition normale à la lumière solaire pouvait provoquer une telle réduction de la résistance du tissu dont sont fabriquées les ceintures.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 30/99 - Seat-belt Examination, Bell 206B (Examen d'une ceinture de sécurité, Bell 206B)

Analyse

Un pilote est responsable de l'exploitation en sécurité d'un appareil dont il prend les commandes. D'après la nature du vol prévu et effectué, le pilote savait que des obstacles, comme des câbles traversant la voie ferrée, constitueraient son principal problème pendant les évolutions à basse altitude. Le pilote a mentionné avoir effectué une reconnaissance aérienne avant chacune des séquences de tournage, à l'exception de la dernière. La région où a commencé le tournage de la séquence comportait plusieurs milles de voie ferrée où il aurait été possible d'effectuer une reconnaissance aérienne et de satisfaire aux exigences du tournage. En prenant la décision de faire le tournage sans effectuer de reconnaissance aérienne, le pilote a fait fi d'une mesure de sécurité essentielle. Comme l'a souligné le représentant du CN, le vol à basse altitude n'était pas nécessaire; néanmoins, le pilote a décidé de voler en ne laissant qu'environ 12 pieds entre les patins de l'hélicoptère et le dessus du train. Cette décision de voler à une altitude si basse a eu pour effet de placer l'hélicoptère dans une position où il a heurté des câbles qui traversaient la voie ferrée. À la suite de cette collision avec les câbles, les biellettes de commande de pas ont été sectionnées et le pilote a perdu de maîtrise de l'hélicoptère.

Les occupants de l'hélicoptère ont évité des blessures plus sérieuses probablement grâce aux ceintures avec baudriers qu'ils portaient. Les blessures graves qu'a subi le cameraman ont probablement un lien avec le fait qu'il portait la console de la caméra.

D'après la position de l'hélicoptère au moment des faits, si celui-ci avait été équipé d'un WSPS, le dispositif aurait probablement coupé les câbles au moment de la collision.

Faits établis

  1. L'hélicoptère effectuait des évolutions à basse altitude dans le but de filmer des trains du CN.
  2. Le pilote avait été averti de ne pas survoler le train à basse altitude.
  3. Avant le début de l'opération, le pilote et le chef-pilote de l'entreprise avaient discuté des risques que comportait le vol à basse altitude.
  4. Le pilote n'a pas effectué de vol de reconnaissance au-dessus de la partie de la voie ferrée que le train devait emprunter pendant le tournage de la séquence finale.
  5. Alors qu'il se trouvait à environ 12 pieds au-dessus du train, l'hélicoptère a heurté deux câbles électriques qui traversaient la voie ferrée perpendiculairement à sa trajectoire de vol.
  6. Les câbles sont entré en contact avec les biellettes de commande de pas qui se sont rompues, faisant perdre au pilote la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère.
  7. L'hélicoptère n'était pas équipé d'un dispositif coupe-câble.
  8. La ceinture de sécurité du pilote s'est rompue. Selon toute vraisemblance, cette rupture serait due à la diminution de sa résistance, laquelle aurait été provoquée par une exposition prolongée à la lumière solaire.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère lors


que les biellettes de commande de pas de l'appareil se sont rompues, à la suite d'une collision avec des câbles, pendant un vol à basse altitude. A contribué à cet accident le fait que le pilote n'avait pas effectué de reconnaissance en vol pour s'assurer de l'absence d'obstacle sur sa trajectoire de vol.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 22 octobre 1999 par le Bureau qui est composé du Président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.

1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures), sauf indication contraire.