Aviation Investigation Report A00C0060

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advanThe Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Cessna 180J C-GRPR
Smoothstone Lake, Saskatchewan 10 nm SE
17 March 2000

Summary

A ski-equipped Cessna 180J, C-GRPR, with the pilot and one passenger on board, departed from the frozen surface of Delaronde Lake, Saskatchewan, at 1500 central standard time on a visual flight rules flight to a cabin at Swan Lake. As the aircraft was approaching the midpoint of the 80 nautical mile flight, the cloud ceilings lowered and snow began to fall, which reduced forward visibility. An area of heavier snow was noted further along the route of flight, and the pilot was in the process of deciding whether to make a precautionary landing on a nearby road to await improved weather conditions, or to return to his base at Delaronde Lake. As the aircraft was rolling out of a left turn at about 500 feet above ground level, it yawed to the right. Airframe buffeting was noted, and the pilot had difficulty maintaining pitch control. Despite the application of elevator pitch input and full engine power, the aircraft descended and crashed in a wooded area. The pilot called the La Ronge flight service station by satellite telephone, and a search was commenced. The two occupants were airlifted from the site and taken to hospital with serious injuries. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces. There was no fire. The accident occurred during daylight at latitude 54°20' north, longitude 104°30' west.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The nearest Environment Canada weather reporting station is located at La Ronge, about 60 nautical miles (nm) northeast of the accident site. The 1500(1) weather report for La Ronge was as follows: wind 270 degrees at 13 knots, visibility 15 miles, scattered cloud at 1500 feet and overcast ceiling at 3000 feet, temperature 2 degrees Celsius, dewpoint minus 3 degrees Celsius, and altimeter setting 29.41 inches. The terminal forecast for the La Ronge area predicted overcast cloud at 2000 feet and visibility 3 miles in light snow showers. The area forecast predicted ceilings of 3000 to 4000 feet with visibilities 3 to 6 miles in light snow and frequent embedded altocumulus castellanus cloud (ACC) giving visibilities 1 to 3 miles in light snow with frequent snow ceilings of 1000 to 2000 feet. Moderate turbulence was forecast in the vicinity of ACC.(2) The surface winds were reported to be from the southwest, and the aircraft encountered moderate low-level turbulence before and during the final descent.

The pilot held a private pilot licence valid for single-engine, land, and sea aeroplanes. His category-3 medical certificate was valid until 01 March 2001, with the conditions that glasses must be worn and a headband or cable frame must be available. Information provided indicated that those conditions were met at the time of the accident.

The aircraft had been modified in 1994 with the installation of a kit that modified the tail and increased the allowable gross weight to 3190 pounds. A reconstruction of the aircraft's load indicated that the aircraft's gross weight and centre of gravity were within approved limits.

The crash path was about 330 feet long. As the aircraft descended, it struck and severed trees up to 10 inches in diameter. The aircraft came to rest upright, facing the direction from which it had come. The right wing was severed by impact with the trees. Examination of the aircraft revealed no pre-impact structural defects. The engine oil and air filters were clear, and no pre-existing engine anomalies were noted. The propeller was intact and exhibited indications of significant engine power at impact. The flight controls were examined, and no pre-impact defects were found. The pilot's control column was broken off, in overload failure, flush with the instrument panel. The elevator push-pull tube was severed at the forward elevator bell crank, also in overload failure, in a manner consistent with impact forces.

The airframe was examined for indications of airframe icing. Some airframe parts that had been exposed to the forward airflow, including part of the right wing, had been surrounded by snow from the time of the accident to the time at which the wreckage was examined. The snow was considered to be an indication that temperatures at the surface of those airframe parts had remained below freezing levels. No indication of in-flight airframe icing was found on any part of the aircraft.

The aircraft's landing gear configuration was converted from floats to skis on 01 December 1999, and the aircraft had operated for 67 hours since that time (see Appendix A). The Federal Fluidyne C3200 wheel-skis that were installed were inspected before installation, and no defects were found. The skis were equipped with hydraulically operated attachment links that allow the skis to be retracted for wheel operations or extended for ski operations. Most of the take-offs and landings made since the skis were installed were made from lake surfaces near the pilot's home and at several other camp locations. The landing strip near the pilot's home had been mechanically smoothed, but the other locations were unprepared. During these operations, the skis occasionally encountered small snow drifts and irregular snow surfaces. The pilot usually stored the aircraft in a hangar adjacent to the landing strip between flights. His practice was to retract the skis to taxi the aircraft on land and into the hangar. He would extend the skis again for operation on the lake landing strip. The skis were normally retracted in flight for aerodynamic efficiency; however, the skis were left in the extended position during the accident flight.

The skis were examined at the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory. The left ski surface had sustained little damage. However, the mechanical link by which it is attached to the main landing gear was found to be twisted and broken. The break occurred at a repair that had been made to the link, in which the broken link had been welded and augmented with additional material. The date of the repair was not determined. The ski manufacturer has indicated that there is no approved method of making repairs to the ski link. In an analysis of the repair, it was determined that the strength of the repaired link was about 74 per cent of its original strength. However, the residual strength of the left link was considered sufficient to withstand aerodynamic loads in flight, and it was considered likely that the link separated on impact with the trees.

The right main ski surface had been bent up aft of the mechanical link. The damage was attributed to impact forces. The right mechanical ski link was found to be broken. A pre-existing crack was found at the break in the right link, which was found to have reduced the residual strength of the link to about 31 per cent of its original strength. Despite this reduction in strength, the right link's residual strength was also considered sufficient to withstand aerodynamic loads in flight. It was considered most likely that the link separated on impact with the trees.

The attitude of the skis in flight is maintained by rigging, with cable/bungee rigging lines. Wire rope limit cables are installed to prevent over-extension or failure of the rigging lines. Correct rigging of the lines and limit cables is required to maintain the skis in the proper attitude in flight; the skis do not trail naturally. If a ski is allowed to tilt up or down beyond specified limits in flight, air flow can be disrupted. In extreme situations, the resulting drag may overwhelm the aircraft's ability to maintain level flight. Rigging specifications are prescribed by the ski manufacturer and are established individually on each aircraft installation. The forward bungee cords, which comprise part of the rigging lines, were tested. It was found that the bungees were at least five years old, although their exact age was not determined. Elongation testing was done to determine whether the bungees met the requirements of MIL-C-5651. This standard specifies the resistance to stretching that the bungees should display at various elongation values. The tests indicated that the bungees in use on both of the aircraft's skis provided approximately one-half of the resistance to stretching specified in MIL-C-5651. The rigging lines on the skis maintain rigging trim of the skis, within the limits established by the limit cables. Damage to the aircraft precluded a determination as to whether the length of the rigging lines or the limit cables met the installation specifications, or whether the condition of the bungees allowed vibration or oscillation of the skis. However, the aircraft had operated without difficulty during the winter seasons since the initial installation of the skis in January 1996, without a change in the rigging of the cables. A TSB accident investigation report (A97Q0032) of a ski-equipped Cessna 185F found that non-compliance with an airworthiness directive (CF-80-18), and possibly an incorrectly torqued bolt, allowed an in-flight failure of the right ski and gear leg. An article entitled "In-flight Breakup Owing to Ski Attachment", discussing ski installation and maintenance issues, was later published in issue 3/98 of Transport Canada's publication Aviation Maintainer.

Analysis

The length of the crash path and the nature of the damage to the aircraft, the propeller, and the trees indicate that the aircraft had significant forward momentum at impact, and the engine was producing a considerable amount of power. It is most likely that the aircraft struck the trees in forward flight above the stall speed with the engine producing power.

Air turbulence was forecast for the route of flight in the area of ACC cloud, and it was noted by the aircraft occupants during the time of the aircraft's uncontrolled descent. The turbulence and the heavier snow observed along the route of flight both indicated the presence of ACC cloud in the vicinity of the accident site. Various degrees of convective turbulence may be associated with ACC cloud, and it is possible that the accident aircraft encountered turbulence of sufficient strength to result in the aircraft's descent.

Airframe parts that had been exposed to forward airflow were considered to have been preserved at below-freezing temperatures after the accident, and no airframe ice was noted. Therefore, it is unlikely that airframe icing had accreted on the aircraft at the time of the accident.

The weld repair made to the left ski link was not approved. However, the residual strength of the link was such that it is unlikely the link failed in flight. The fatigue cracking found in the right ski link had also weakened that link; however, it was also considered unlikely the right link failed in flight.

The forward bungee cords comprising part of the ski rigging lines for both skis were found to provide significantly less than the required resistance to stretching. The damage to the aircraft precluded testing to determine the effect of the substandard bungees on the rigging of the skis. It was not determined whether the condition of the bungees had allowed ski oscillation or vibration. However, if oscillation or vibration had occurred, it could have contributed to the aircraft's descent, in combination with weather-related turbulence.

The following TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory Report was completed:

  • LP 046/00 -- Ski Analysis.

This report is available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The accident aircraft may have encountered air turbulence of sufficient strength to result in the aircraft's descent.
  2. The forward rigging bungees for both skis had less than the required stretching resistance and may have allowed oscillation or vibration of either or both skis.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The right main ski attachment link failed on impact at a pre-existing fatigue crack.
  2. The left main ski attachment link failed on impact at the site of an unapproved repair.

Other Findings

  1. It is unlikely that airframe icing had accreted on the aircraft at the time of the accident.
  2. The aircraft's gross weight and centre of gravity were within approved limits.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 21 March 2001.

Appendix A - Aircraft Diagram

Appendix A - Aircraft Diagram


1. All times are central standard time (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus six hours) unless otherwise stated.

2. ACC clouds are often associated with precipitation and convective turbulence of various intensities. Such clouds are middle-level convective clouds and may have extensive vertical development. They are a sign of instability aloft and may precede the development of thunderstorms.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00C0060

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de contrôle et collision avec le relief
Cessna 180J C-GRPR
10 nm au sud-est du lac Smoothstone (Saskatchewan)
Le 17 mars 2000

Résumé

Le Cessna 180J équipé de skis immatriculé C-GRPR a décollé, avec un pilote et un passager à son bord, de la surface gelée du lac Delaronde (Saskatchewan) à 15 h, heure normale du Centre, pour un vol selon les règles de vol à vue à destination d'un chalet au lac Swan. Alors que l'appareil avait effectué la moitié du trajet de 80 milles marins, le plafond nuageux s'est abaissé et la neige a commencé à tomber, ce qui a réduit la visibilité. Une zone de chute de neige plus intense ayant été observée plus loin sur la route que devait suivre l'appareil, le pilote s'apprêtait à décider s'il devait effectuer un atterrissage de précaution sur une route voisine et attendre que les conditions météorologiques s'améliorent ou bien faire demi-tour vers sa base du lac Delaronde lorsque l'appareil, au sortir d'un virage sur la gauche à environ 500 pieds au-dessus du sol, s'est déporté sur la droite. La cellule s'est mise à trembler et le pilote a eu de la difficulté à maintenir l'inclinaison longitudinale de l'appareil. Bien qu'il ait agi sur la commande de profondeur et poussé le moteur à fond, l'avion a continué à descendre et s'est écrasé dans une zone boisée. Le pilote a appelé la station d'information de vol de La Ronge au moyen d'un téléphone par satellite, et des recherches ont été lancées. Les deux occupants, grièvement blessés, ont été évacués par les airs et transportés à l'hôpital. L'appareil a été détruit par le choc. Aucun incendie n'a éclaté. L'accident s'est produit de jour par 54° 20' de latitude nord et 104° 30' de longitude ouest.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

La station d'observation météorologique d'Environnement Canada la plus proche se trouve à La Ronge, à environ 60 milles marins (nm) au nord-est du lieu de l'accident. Le bulletin météo de 15 h(1) pour La Ronge faisait état des conditions suivantes : vents du 270 degrés à 13 noeuds, visibilité de 15 milles, nuages épars à 1 500 pieds et ciel couvert à 3 000 pieds, température de 2 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de moins 3 degrés Celsius et calage altimétrique à 29,41 pouces. Le bulletin terminal pour La Ronge prévoyait un ciel couvert à 2 000 pieds et une visibilité de 3 milles avec de légères chutes de neige. Le bulletin régional prévoyait des plafonds entre 3 000 et 4 000 pieds avec une visibilité comprise entre 3 et 6 milles ainsi que de la neige légère et de fréquents altocumulus castellanus(2) imbriqués offrant une visibilité de 1 à 3 milles dans la neige avec un plafond de neige fréquent entre 1 000 et 2 000 pieds. Des turbulences modérées avaient été annoncées à proximité des altocumulus castellanus. Les vents de surface observés venaient du sud-ouest. L'appareil a rencontré des turbulences modérées à basse altitude, avant et pendant la descente finale.

Le pilote possédait une licence de pilote privé en état de validité sur avions et hydravions monomoteurs. Son certificat médical de catégorie 3 était valide jusqu'au 1er mars 2001 et exigeait que le pilote porte des lunettes et dispose d'une bande élastique pour la monture de ses lunettes ou dispose d'une monture munie de branches-câbles (cable frame). Selon l'information recueillie, ces conditions étaient remplies au moment de l'accident.

En 1994, l'arrière de l'appareil avait été modifié avec un lot (kit), ce qui avait permis d'augmenter la masse brute autorisée à 3 190 livres. Un calcul de la charge de l'appareil a permis de déterminer que la masse et le centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.

L'appareil a laissé un sillon de quelque 3 300 pieds de long. Pendant la descente, l'appareil a heurté et sectionné des arbres d'un diamètre pouvant atteindre 10 pouces. L'appareil s'est immobilisé à l'endroit, le nez pointé dans la direction d'où il provenait. L'aile droite a été sectionnée par l'impact avec les arbres. L'examen de l'appareil n'a révélé aucune défectuosité structurale antérieure à l'impact. L'huile moteur et les filtres à air étaient propres et aucune anomalie du moteur antérieure à l'accident n'a été notée. L'hélice était intacte et son apparence indiquait que le moteur fournissait une puissance importante au moment de l'impact. Les commandes de vol ont été examinées, et aucune défectuosité antérieure à l'impact n'a été constatée. Le volant du pilote a cédé en surcharge, et s'est brisé juste au niveau du tableau de bord. Le tube double effet de la gouverne de profondeur a été sectionné, au niveau du renvoi avant, également par une surcharge probablement attribuable aux forces d'impact.

La cellule a été examinée à la recherche de traces de givrage. Certaines parties de la cellule, qui avaient été exposées au flux aérodynamique frontal, dont une partie de l'aile droite, sont demeurées enveloppées de neige entre le moment de l'accident et celui où l'épave a été examinée. On a a jugé que la présence de la neige indiquait que la température à la surface de la cellule était demeurée inférieure au seuil de congélation. Aucune partie de l'appareil ne présentait de trace de givrage en vol.

Les flotteurs du train d'atterrissage de l'appareil ont été remplacés par des skis le 1er décembre 1999. L'appareil avait effectué 67 heures de vol depuis lors (voir l'annexe A). Les roues-skis Federal Fluidyne C3200 qui équipaient l'appareil avaient été inspectées avant leur installation, et aucune défectuosité n'avait été constatée. Les skis étaient dotés de fixations hydrauliques grâce auxquelles on pouvait relever les skis pour utiliser les roues, ou abaisser les skis pour les opérations sur skis. La plupart des décollages et des atterrissages effectués depuis que les skis avaient été installés sur l'avion s'étaient déroulés sur des lacs non loin du domicile du pilote ou de divers autres camps. La piste proche du domicile du pilote était damée mécaniquement, mais les autres endroits utilisés n'étaient pas aménagés. À ces endroits, les skis avaient occasionnellement heurté de petites accumulations de neige ou des irrégularités de la surface neigeuse. Entre les vols, le pilote entreposait généralement l'appareil dans un hangar adjacent à la piste. Il avait l'habitude de relever les skis pour se déplacer sur la terre ferme et dans le hangar, et de les abaisser de nouveau pour se déplacer sur le lac. Les skis étaient normalement relevés durant les vols afin d'améliorer les performances aérodynamiques de l'appareil, mais ils avaient été laissés abaissés durant le vol ayant mené à l'accident.

Les skis ont été examinés par le Laboratoire technique du BST. La semelle du ski gauche ne présentait que quelques dommages. Toutefois, la fixation mécanique par laquelle il était rattaché au train d'atterrissage principal était tordue et brisée. La cassure sur la fixation s'est produite au niveau d'une réparation qui avait été faite pour souder et renforcer la fixation. La date de la réparation n'a pu être établie. Le fabricant des skis a indiqué qu'il n'existe pas de méthode approuvée pour réparer les fixations des skis. Une analyse de la réparation effectuée a permis d'établir que la fixation avait une résistance équivalente à quelque 74 % de sa résistance initiale. Toutefois, la résistance résiduelle de la fixation du ski gauche a été jugée suffisante pour résister à la charge aérodynamique en vol, et, selon toute vraisemblance, la fixation s'est brisée au moment de l'impact avec les arbres.

La semelle du ski principal droit a été tordue vers le haut en arrière de la fixation mécanique. Les dommages constatés ont été attribués aux forces d'impact. La fixation mécanique du ski droit était également brisée. Il a été établi qu'une crique présente avant l'accident, et qui a été découverte à l'endroit où le ski s'est brisé, avait réduit la résistance de la fixation à 31 % de sa résistance nominale. Malgré cette résistance moindre, la résistance résiduelle de la fixation droite a été jugée suffisante pour résister en vol à la charge aérodynamique, et, selon toute vraisemblance, la fixation s'est brisée au moment de l'impact avec les arbres.

En vol, l'assiette des skis est maintenue grâce à un haubanage composé de câbles et de tendeurs. Des câbles métalliques toronnés de retenue sont également installés pour éviter une sur-extension ou une défaillance des câbles du haubanage. Un bon réglage de tous ces câbles est nécessaire pour maintenir les skis dans l'assiette voulue en vol, car les skis n'ont pas tendance à demeurer parallèles et horizontaux. Si, en vol, l'un des skis pique vers le haut ou vers le bas au-delà des limites prescrites, l'écoulement aérodynamique peut être perturbé et, dans les cas extrêmes, la traînée résultante peut empêcher l'appareil de poursuivre le vol en palier. Les instructions de haubanage sont fournies par le fabricant de skis et sont établies pour chaque type d'appareil sur lequel les skis sont installés. Les tendeurs avant, qui constituent une partie du haubanage, ont été soumis à des essais. Il a été établi que ces tendeurs étaient au moins trop vieux de cinq ans, mais leur âge exact n'a pas pu être déterminé. Des essais d'élongation ont été effectués afin de déterminer si les tendeurs respectaient les exigences de la norme MIL-C-5651. Cette norme spécifie la résistance à l'élongation dont doivent faire preuve les tendeurs au regard de diverses valeurs d'élongation. Ces essais ont révélé que la résistance des tendeurs des deux skis de l'appareil était inférieure de moitié à la résistance à l'élongation spécifiée dans la norme MIL-C-5651. Des câbles sur les skis maintiennent l'assiette des skis dans les limites définies par les câbles de retenue. En raison des dommages à l'appareil, on n'a pas pu établir la longueur des câbles du haubanage, ni si l'installation des câbles de retenue répondait aux spécifications applicables, ni si l'état des tendeurs avait pu faire osciller ou vibrer les skis. Toutefois, l'appareil n'avait connu aucun problème en exploitation hivernale depuis l'installation des skis en 1996, et cela sans que les câbles du haubanage n'aient jamais été changés. Par ailleurs, le rapport d'enquête no A97Q0032 du BST mettant en cause un Cessna 185F équipé de skis a établi que le non-respect de la consigne de navigabilité no CF-80-18, et peut-être le serrage incorrect d'un boulon, avait entraîné une défaillance en vol du ski et de la jambe du train d'atterrissage droit. L'article intitulé Dislocation en vol causée par une fixation de ski défectueuse, consacré à l'installation et aux problèmes d'entretien des skis, avait par la suite été publié dans le numéro 3/98 du bulletin Sécurité aérienne - Mainteneur de Transports Canada.

Analyse

La longueur du sillon laissé par l'appareil et les dommages relevés sur l'aéronef, l'hélice et les arbres indiquent que l'appareil se déplaçait rapidement vers l'avant au moment de l'impact et que le moteur produisait une puissance importante. Il est fort probable que l'appareil a heurté les arbres alors qu'il se déplaçait vers l'avant à une vitesse supérieure à la vitesse de décrochage et que le moteur produisait de la puissance.

Des turbulences avaient été annoncées dans une zone d'altocumulus castellanus se trouvant sur la route suivie par l'avion. Ces turbulences ont été ressenties par les occupants de l'appareil au moment de la descente intempestive de l'appareil. Les turbulences et la neige plus abondante observées le long de la route suivie par l'avion indiquaient toutes deux la présence d'altocumulus castellanus dans les environs du lieu de l'accident. L'intensité des turbulences par convection associées aux altocumulus castellanus peut varier et il est possible que l'appareil ait rencontré des turbulences suffisamment fortes pour entraîner sa descente.

Il semble que les parties de la cellule ayant été exposées au flux aérodynamique frontal soient restées à des températures inférieures au point de congélation après l'accident. Aucune trace de givrage n'a été observée sur la cellule. Par conséquent, la présence de givre sur la cellule de l'appareil au moment de l'accident est peu probable.

La soudure de réparation effectuée sur la fixation du ski gauche n'avait pas été approuvée. Toutefois, la résistance résiduelle de la fixation était telle qu'il est peu probable qu'elle ait cédé en vol. La crique de fatigue découverte sur la fixation du ski droit avait également affaibli la fixation. Toutefois, il semble également peu probable que la fixation de droite ait cédé en vol.

Il est apparu que les tendeurs avant, qui constituent une partie du haubanage des deux skis, possédaient une résistance à l'élongation nettement inférieure à celle requise. En raison des dommages à l'appareil, on n'a pas pu faire d'essais pour déterminer les répercussions possibles de ces tendeurs (ne répondant pas aux normes) sur le haubanage des skis. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si l'état des tendeurs avait pu faire osciller ou vibrer les skis. Toutefois, s'il y a eu des oscillations ou des vibrations, elles peuvent avoir contribué, avec les turbulences, à la descente de l'appareil.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 046/00 - Ski Analysis (Analyse des skis).

On peut obtenir ce rapport en s'adressant au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'appareil accidenté peut avoir rencontré des turbulences suffisamment fortes pour entraîner sa descente.
  2. Les tendeurs avant du haubanage des deux skis possédaient une résistance à l'élongation inférieure à la norme établie, ce qui peut avoir fait osciller ou vibrer les skis.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La fixation du ski droit a cédé au moment de l'impact au niveau d'une crique de fatigue qui était présente avant l'accident.
  2. La fixation du ski gauche a cédé au moment de l'impact au niveau d'une réparation non approuvée.

Autres faits établis

  1. La présence de givre sur la cellule de l'appareil au moment de l'accident est peu probable.
  2. La masse et le centrage de l'appareil se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 21 mars 2001.

Annexe A - Schéma de l'avion

Annexe A - Schéma de l'avion


1.  Les heures sont exprimées en HNC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures), sauf indication contraire.

2.  Ces nuages sont souvent associés à des précipitations et à des turbulences par convection d'intensité variable. Ce sont des nuages de convection de moyenne altitude qu'on peut retrouver à haute altitude. Signe d'une instabilité en altitude, ils peuvent précéder un orage.