Aviation Investigation Report A00H0001

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight into Terrain
Athabaska Airways Ltd.
Piper Navajo Chieftain PA-31-350 C-FATS
Stony Rapids, Saskatchewan
27 February 2000

Summary

The Piper Navajo Chieftain PA-31-350, serial number 31-7952072, departed Edmonton, Alberta, on an instrument flight rules charter flight to Stony Rapids, Saskatchewan, with one pilot and six passengers on board. The pilot conducted a non-directional beacon approach at night in Stony Rapids, followed by a missed approach. He then attempted and missed a second approach. At about 2200 central standard time, while manoeuvring to land on runway 06, the aircraft struck trees 3.5 nautical miles west of the runway 06 button and roughly one quarter nautical mile left of the runway centreline, at an altitude of 1200 feet above sea level. The aircraft sustained substantial damage, but no fire ensued. The pilot and one passenger were seriously injured, and the remaining five passengers sustained minor injuries. Canadian Forces search and rescue specialists were air-dropped to the site at 0300 and provided assistance to the pilot and passengers. Local ground search parties later assisted with the rescue.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Records indicate that the aircraft was maintained and certified in accordance with existing regulations. Examination of the aircraft did not reveal any mechanical malfunctions that could have contributed to the accident. The occurrence aircraft was scheduled to undergo regular maintenance in Stony Rapids the day after the occurrence. The aircraft had sufficient fuel for the planned trip.

By weighing the contents of the aircraft, it was determined that on take-off the aircraft weight exceeded the maximum allowable take-off weight of 7368 pounds by about 115 pounds. It is estimated that at the time of the crash the aircraft was 225 pounds below the maximum landing weight of 7000 pounds. The pilot estimated the passenger and baggage weights, as no scale was available in Edmonton. The centre of gravity of the aircraft was slightly aft of the rear limit, out of envelope, by about half an inch at the time of the crash.

The airport at Stony Rapids has a single non-directional beacon (NDB) approach with a minimum descent altitude (MDA) of 1500 feet above sea level (asl). The aerodrome elevation is 805 feet asl. The NDB was serviceable at the time of the occurrence. The runway lights were functioning and were turned on at the time of the occurrence. Upon arrival at Stony Rapids, pilots communicated with the Regina Flight Service Station through a remote communications outlet (RCO).

A weather observer at Stony Rapids provides weather reports 24 hours per day. The weather at the time of the accident was reported as follows: ceiling 300 feet above ground level (agl), three statute miles visibility, winds calm, and temperature minus 11 degrees Celsius. A report was taken after the accident, and it indicated deteriorating conditions, with a ceiling of 200 feet above ground and a visibility of one statute mile. The reported weather was a consequence of fog forming over the nearby river, creating a localized phenomenon. The weather at the alternate, Fort McMurray, Alberta, was forecast to be, at 2300,(1) scattered clouds at 7000 and 25 000 feet agl, and visibility of more than six statute miles. No regulation prohibits a pilot from attempting an instrument approach in the conditions that prevailed on the occurrence night at Stony Rapids.

The company's remuneration structure does not penalize flight crew that have to proceed to an alternate, and arrangements can be made to provide accommodation to the passengers and crew in many locations in Northern Saskatchewan. No information indicates that the company exerts pressure on flight crews to influence them to reach their destination when the weather does not allow it in accordance with existing Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight under existing regulations. He was experienced flying in the Northern Saskatchewan environment and had approximately 7850 flying hours, including approximately 4370 hours on multi-engine aircraft, 1450 hours on type, and 3370 hours of instrument flying. Prior to the occurrence flight, the pilot had 36 hours off duty with his family in Saskatoon, including eight hours of sleep the evening before the occurrence. Examination of his flying schedule did not reveal excessive flying activity in the previous months. He was scheduled for an early flight the next day.

The occurrence flight's en route portion was accomplished in visual meteorological conditions. Based on weather information, it was necessary to conduct an instrument approach at the destination. Because of the height of the ceiling, on completion of his first NDB approach the pilot was not able to carry out a visual circling procedure, and land; instead, he executed a missed approach. He indicated to Regina RCO that he would fly to Fond-du-Lac, Saskatchewan, after his second approach if he was not able to land. The pilot knew that he did not have keys for the company accommodations available in Fond-du-Lac.

Following his second approach, he started heading for Fond-du-Lac, but changed his mind when he was able to see the runway momentarily. He then reverted to a visual approach and turned toward the airport in an attempt to fly under the cloud base. In trying to line up for a visual approach for runway 06, he ended up over higher ground in very poor weather conditions. Clouds were becoming thicker and closer to the ground as he was progressing toward the airport. While he was trying to acquire sight of the airport environment, using mainly ground references to provide vertical separation, the aircraft contacted the trees and crashed a few seconds after landing gear down had been selected. Information gathered at the crash site shows that the aircraft was in a descent angle of approximately four degrees when it contacted a stand of small trees.

During flight, at night, in overcast conditions, perception of the horizon may be affected by false visual cues. When flying in conditions where no stars are visible due to overcast conditions, unlighted areas of terrain can blend with the dark overcast to create the illusion that the unlighted terrain is part of the sky. When the horizon is obscured by low cloud or fog, the edge of the clouds tends to be perceived as the horizon; thus it is perceived to be lower on the windshield than it actually is. The tendency is to feel that the nose of the aircraft is too high, and thus lower it.

Approximately 300 pounds of baggage was secured in the aircraft cabin, behind the passengers, by a cargo net to prevent shifting of the baggage in flight. According to the Navajo Chieftain Pilot's Operating Handbook, the maximum baggage weight in the rear baggage area is 200 pounds. The forward end of the cargo net was anchored to tie down rings that were fitted to the seat tracks aft of the right rear cabin seat. During the crash sequence, the aft 18 inches of both right seat tracks separated from the floor and failed in bending, causing the seat, its occupant, and the baggage to be projected forward into the cabin. This failure contributed to some of the injuries that were sustained by passengers. Post-crash examination determined that two seat track attachment screws had been missing from each section of the broken seat tracks prior to the accident. A survey of two other company PA-31 aircraft and of several other Chieftains that are used by other air taxi operators identified additional instances of seat track attachment screws missing from the floor tracks.

The stitching failed on the outboard strap of the seat belt that was mounted on the right middle forward facing cabin seat. A 21 January 2000 Airworthiness Notice (AN) No. B050 Edition 1, "Airworthiness of Seat Belts and Shoulder Harnesses", issued by Transport Canada, warns owners, operators, and maintainers of the possibility of seat belt degradation, mostly due to long-term sunlight exposure. This AN also stresses the importance of examining safety restraint systems.

The aircraft was not equipped with a ground proximity warning system (GPWS) or a radio altimeter. Regulation requires that GPWS equipment be installed in all turbo-jet powered aircraft that have a maximum certified take-off weight greater than 33 069 pounds and a type certificate authorizing the carriage of 10 or more passengers. This regulation does not generally apply to air taxi operations because aircraft involved in these operations do not meet weight or propulsion criteria.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) activated on impact and helped in locating the survivors. At 2210, Regina Radio was notified by Athabaska Airways personnel that the signal emitted by an ELT had been picked up near Stony Rapids. The rescue coordination centre in Trenton deployed a C-130 Hercules aircraft from Winnipeg for the search and rescue operation. It was noted that accessing the ELT, in order to turn it on or off, required hand tools to remove the dorsal fin fairing screws. A remote ELT switch was located on the lower left side of the left instrument panel, but was not accessible due to impact damage.

In Stony Rapids, a command post was established in accordance with the company's emergency response plan, and a light aircraft was dispatched by a neighbouring company to assist in locating the missing aircraft. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police were advised, and a Civil Air Search and Rescue Association ground search party was organized. At 0258 the C-130 Hercules located the crashed aircraft, and search and rescue technicians were air-dropped to the scene at 0418. The ground search party arrived on the site shortly thereafter. The pilot and passenger who were seriously injured were airlifted to Saskatoon, and the remaining five passengers were transported to Uranium City for further medical assessment.

Analysis

Examination of the aircraft did not reveal any mechanical malfunctions that might have contributed to the accident. There was sufficient fuel for the flight. At the time of the occurrence, the centre of gravity was slightly aft of limits; it was determined that the aircraft was overweight on take-off. Although these factors did not contribute to the occurrence, the overweight and aft centre of gravity were a risk to safe operation.

During the crash sequence, the ELT activated normally, but its location did not allow easy access for deactivation. Tools were required to access the device. The cockpit remote switch was not accessible due to impact damage. In the event that it had not activated on impact, it would have been difficult to manually activate the ELT because of its restricted access.

During the crash sequence, the anchor points of the cargo net used to secure the baggage failed, causing baggage to be projected throughout the cabin. Such a failure contributed to some of the injuries sustained by passengers. The rear baggage area contained 300 pounds of baggage, 100 pounds more than the manufacturer's limitation. The missing seat track attachment screws combined with the additional loading of the cargo net contributed to the failure of the seat tracks.

Studies and statistics have shown that GPWS and radio altimeters provide a defence against "controlled flight into terrain" accidents. GPWS are designed to provide a warning of approach to terrain and thus enhance safety in high-risk operational environments. Although this equipment is required on larger, passenger-carrying jet aircraft, that requirement does not extend to air taxi operations even though similar risks are associated with visually conducting these flights at night.

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight under existing regulations. He had appropriate rest before the occurrence flight, had considerable experience flying in this environment, and was an experienced instrument pilot. The pilot was well aware of the prevailing weather conditions at the destination airport; he had obtained weather information at the time of filing his flight plan, as well as en route. During his first approach, he would have become aware of the prevailing ceiling and visibility at the airport.

Upon completion of his second approach at Stony Rapids, as he was proceeding toward Fond-du-Lac, the pilot was able to see the runway momentarily. As a result, he decided to turn toward the airport and conduct a visual approach. As he progressed in the poor weather conditions, trying to visually acquire the runway environment, the visibility gradually decreased. The trees became his main reference, resulting in a lack of awareness of the actual separation between the aircraft and the ground. It is also probable that the pilot perceived the edge of the clouds as the horizon, thus perceiving the natural horizon to be lower on the windshield than it really was. The tendency is to feel that the nose of the aircraft is too high and there is a strong urge to lower it. Subsequently, the aircraft crashed in a relatively flat but higher area covered with small trees.

Information gathered from various company employees confirms that there was no pressure from management to influence the pilot to land at the destination airport. The pilot knew that he had a flight the next day, and he felt the need to reach the destination and be ready for the next day. The fact that the pilot did not have the keys of the available accommodations in Fond-du-Lac was also a factor in his persistence to land in Stony Rapids rather than proceed to his selected alternate. It is also likely that the pilot's decision was shaped by his perception of the low risk involved, his determination to succeed, and the accepted nature of this practice amongst pilots operating in remote communities with non-precision approaches. The scheduled aircraft maintenance was not deemed a factor for the pilot to land at the destination airport.

As individuals gain experience performing tasks, their attitudes and perception of risk regarding those tasks often change. The more they successfully complete the task, the lower they believe the risks to themselves to be. Problems arise when the perceived risks no longer match the actual risks and dangers involved in an activity. As the subjective evaluation of personal risk decreases, the frequency of high-risk practices increases. Also, as group values shift, more adventurous decisions become normal and accepted within a given community. The conduct of low visibility visual approaches is a well-documented example of a high risk activity which is not uncommon amongst pilots operating in remote locations without the benefit of precision landing aids.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 23/00 - GPS Examination

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot executed a missed approach on his first NDB approach, and, during the second missed approach, after momentarily seeing the runway, he decided to conduct a visual approach, descending below MDA in an attempt to fly under the cloud base.
  2. In flying under the cloud base during the visual portion of his approach, the pilot likely perceived the horizon to be lower on the windscreen than it actually was.
  3. There was no indication that there was any form of pressure from management to influence the pilot to land at the destination airport. However, the pilot may have chosen to land in Stony Rapids because he had an early flight the following day, and he did not have the keys for the accommodations in Fond-du-Lac.

Findings as to Risk

  1. No scale was available to the pilot in Edmonton for weighing aircraft loads.
  2. The maximum allowable take-off weight of the aircraft was exceeded by about 115 pounds, and it is estimated that at the time of the crash, the aircraft was 225 pounds below maximum landing weight. The aircraft's centre of gravity was not within limits at the time of the crash.
  3. The rear baggage area contained 300 pounds of baggage, 100 pounds more than the manufacturer's limitation.
  4. Two screws were missing from each section of the broken seat track to which the anchor points were attached.
  5. Cargo net anchorage system failure contributed to passenger injuries.
  6. The stitching failed on the seat belt's outboard strap that was mounted on the right, middle, forward-facing cabin seat.

Other Findings

  1. Hand tools were required to access the ELT panel, since the cockpit remote switch could not be accessed.

Safety Action

In the magazine Maintainer (3/2000), Transport Canada has published an article about the importance of ensuring that seat retention rails are properly attached to the floor, and that no screws are missing where nut-plates are installed in the floor to accept them.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 28 November 2000.


1. All times are central standard time (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus six hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00H0001

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle
Athabaska Airways Ltd.
Piper Navajo Chieftain PA-31-350 C-FATS
Stony Rapids (Saskatchewan)
Le 27 février 2000

Résumé

Le Piper Navajo Chieftain PA-31-350 portant le numéro de série 31-7952072 effectuait un vol d'affrètement selon les règles de vol aux instruments entre Edmonton (Alberta) et Stony Rapids (Saskatchewan) avec à son bord un pilote et six passagers. Le pilote a fait une approche de nuit à l'aide du radiophare non directionnel de Stony Rapids, puis il a remis les gaz. Il a également interrompu l'approche suivante. Vers 22 h, heure normale du Centre, alors que le pilote se préparait à atterrir sur la piste 06, l'avion a percuté des arbres à 3,5 milles marins à l'ouest du seuil de la piste 06 et à environ 0,25 mille marin à gauche de l'axe de piste, à une altitude de 1  200 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. L'avion a été lourdement endommagé, mais il n'y a pas eu d'incendie. Le pilote et un passager ont été grièvement blessés; les cinq autres passagers ont subi des blessures légères. À 3 h, des spécialistes en recherches et sauvetage des Forces canadiennes ont été parachutés sur les lieux de l'accident et sont venus en aide au pilote et aux passagers. Par la suite, des équipes locales de recherches au sol se sont jointes aux opérations de sauvetage.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. L'examen de l'avion n'a révélé aucune défectuosité mécanique qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident. Le lendemain de l'accident, l'appareil devait faire l'objet de travaux de maintenance périodique à Stony Rapids. L'avion avait suffisamment de carburant pour effectuer le vol.

La pesée du contenu de l'appareil a permis d'établir que la masse de l'avion au décollage dépassait d'environ 115 livres la masse maximale autorisée au décollage qui était fixée à 7 368 livres. Au moment de l'écrasement, la masse de l'appareil était inférieure d'environ 225 livres à la masse maximale à l'atterrissage de 7 000 livres. Le pilote a estimé le poids des passagers et des bagages, car il n'y avait pas de balance à sa disposition à Edmonton. Au moment de l'écrasement, l'avion était en centrage arrière d'environ 0,50 pouce.

L'aéroport de Stony Rapids est desservi par un radiophare non directionnel (NDB) pour les approches. L'altitude minimale de descente (MDA) est établie à 1 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). L'altitude de l'aérodrome est de 805 pieds asl. Le NDB était utilisable au moment de l'accident. Les feux de piste fonctionnaient bien et étaient allumés au moment de l'accident. Lorsque les pilotes arrivent à Stony Rapids, ils doivent communiquer avec la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Regina à l'aide d'une installation radio télécommandée (RCO).

À Stony Rapids, un observateur météorologique fournit jour et nuit des bulletins météorologiques. Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'accident étaient les suivantes : plafond à 300 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), visibilité de 3 milles terrestres, vents calmes et température de moins 11 degrés Celsius. Une observation météorologique effectuée après l'accident indiquait que les conditions s'étaient dégradées; le plafond était alors à 200 pieds agl et la visibilité, de un mille terrestre. Ces conditions étaient attribuables à la formation de brouillard au-dessus de la rivière voisine, ce qui créait un phénomène localisé. Les prévisions météorologiques de 23 h, heure normale du Centre (HNC)(1) pour l'aéroport de dégagement de Fort McMurray (Alberta), étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 7 000 pieds agl et à 25 000 pieds agl et visibilité de plus de six milles terrestres. Aucun règlement n'interdit aux pilotes de tenter une approche aux instruments dans les conditions qui prévalaient à Stony Rapids le soir de l'accident.

Le système de rémunération de la compagnie ne pénalise pas les membres d'équipage qui doivent aller atterrir à un aéroport de dégagement. De plus, des dispositions peuvent être prises pour loger les passagers et les membres d'équipage à de nombreux endroits dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. Rien n'indique que la compagnie exerce des pressions sur les membres d'équipage pour les inciter à se rendre à destination lorsque les conditions météorologiques ne répondent pas aux exigences du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait l'habitude de voler dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. Il totalisait environ 7 850 heures de vol, dont quelque 4 370 sur des avions multimoteurs, 1 450 sur type et 3 370 selon les règles de vol aux instruments. Avant l'accident, le pilote avait bénéficié d'un congé de 36 heures avec sa famille à Saskatoon, dont 8 heures de sommeil le soir précédant l'accident. L'examen de son horaire de vol n'a révélé aucune activité de vol excessive au cours du mois précédent. Il devait effectuer un vol tôt le lendemain.

La phase de croisière a été faite dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. L'information météorologiques révèle qu'une approche aux instruments était nécessaire à l'aéroport de destination. À la fin de sa première approche NDB, le pilote n'a pas pu faire une approche indirecte à vue à cause de la hauteur du plafond, et il a dû interrompre l'approche. Il a indiqué au RCO de Regina qu'il se rendrait jusqu'à Fond-du-Lac (Saskatchewan) s'il devait interrompre sa deuxième approche. Le pilote était conscient qu'il n'avait pas les clés lui permettant d'accéder aux installations de la compagnie à Fond-du-Lac.

Après sa deuxième approche, le pilote a commencé à se diriger vers Fond-du-Lac, mais a changé d'idée après avoir aperçu la piste momentanément. Il a alors repris son approche à vue et a viré vers l'aéroport dans l'espoir de voler sous la base des nuages. Lorsque le pilote a tenté de s'aligner avec la piste 06 pour une approche à vue, il s'est retrouvé en terrain montagneux et dans de très mauvaises conditions météorologiques. Les nuages étaient de plus en plus denses et de plus en plus près du sol à mesure qu'il se rapprochait de l'aéroport. Alors que le pilote tentait d'établir le contact visuel avec les environs de l'aéroport et qu'il utilisait essentiellement des références au sol pour garder un espacement vertical suffisant, l'avion a heurté des arbres et s'est écrasé quelques secondes après que le pilote eut commandé la sortie du train d'atterrissage. L'information recueillie sur les lieux de l'accident révèle que l'avion avait un angle de descente d'environ quatre degrés lorsqu'il a heurté de petits arbres.

Lors d'un vol de nuit par mauvais temps, le pilote peut avoir une mauvaise perception de l'horizon à cause de fausses références visuelles. Si le vol se déroule dans un ciel sans étoiles à cause du mauvais temps, le pilote peut avoir l'impression que les parties du relief qui ne sont pas éclairées font partie du ciel. Lorsque l'horizon est masqué par des nuages à basse altitude ou du brouillard, la limite des nuages est souvent perçue comme étant l'horizon. Le pilote a donc l'impression que l'horizon qu'il voit sur le pare-brise est plus bas qu'il ne l'est véritablement. Le pilote a alors tendance à abaisser le nez de l'avion qu'il croit être trop haut.

Environ 300 livres de bagages étaient arrimés dans la cabine, derrière les passagers. Un filet à fret retenait les bagages pour qu'ils ne se déplacent pas durant le vol. Le manuel d'utilisation du Navajo Chieftain indique qu'on ne doit pas entreposer plus de 200 livres de bagages dans la partie arrière de la cabine. La partie avant du filet était attachée à des anneaux fixés aux rails de fixation situés à l'arrière du dernier siège du côté droit. Durant l'accident, la partie arrière des deux rails du siège arrière droit s'est détachée du plancher sur une longueur de 18 pouces et s'est rompue en flexion. Le siège, l'occupant du siège et les bagages ont alors été projetés vers l'avant de la cabine. Certaines blessures des passagers ont été attribuées à cette rupture. Un examen a permis d'établir que deux vis de fixation de chacune des sections de rails brisées étaient manquantes avant l'accident. Une enquête portant sur deux autres appareils PA-31 de la compagnie et sur d'autres appareils Chieftain utilisés par d'autres compagnies qui offrent des services de taxi aérien a permis d'identifier d'autres cas de rails de fixation de sièges dont certaines vis étaient manquantes.

Les coutures de la sangle extérieure du baudrier du siège droit (qui était situé au milieu et faisait face vers l'avant) ont cédé. L'avis de navigabilité no B050, édition 1, publié le 21 janvier 2000 par Transports Canada et intitulé « Navigabilité des ceintures de sécurité et des ceintures-baudriers » prévient les propriétaires, les exploitants et les techniciens d'entretien de la possibilité d'une dégradation des baudriers due en grande partie à une exposition prolongée à la lumière solaire. Cet avis de navigabilité souligne aussi l'importance d'inspecter les systèmes de retenue.

L'avion n'était pas équipé d'un dispositif avertisseur de proximité du sol (GPWS) ni d'un radioaltimètre. La réglementation exige qu'un GPWS soit installé dans tous les avions à turboréacteurs dont la masse maximale certifiée au décollage est supérieure à 33 069 livres et qui possèdent un certificat de type autorisant le transport de 10 passagers ou plus. Ce règlement ne s'applique généralement pas aux activités des taxis aériens parce que ces derniers ne répondent pas aux critères de masse et de type de propulseur.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) s'est déclenchée à l'impact et a permis de localiser les occupants de l'avion. À 22 h 10, la station de Regina a été prévenue par le personnel d'Athabaska Airways qu'un signal d'ELT avait été capté près de Stony Rapids. Le Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage (RCC) de Trenton a alors dépêché un C-130 Hercules de Winnipeg pour les opérations de recherches et sauvetage. On a constaté que pour atteindre l'ELT, pour la mettre en marche ou pour l'éteindre, il faut retirer les vis du carénage de l'arête dorsale à l'aide d'outils à main. L'interrupteur à distance de l'ELT se trouve sur le côté inférieur gauche du tableau de bord gauche, mais il était inaccessible en raison des dommages à l'avion dus à l'impact.

Un poste de commandement a été mis en place à Stony Rapids, conformément au plan d'intervention d'urgence de la compagnie, et un petit avion d'une compagnie voisine a été dépêché pour participer aux recherches. La Gendarmerie royale du Canada a été avisée, et l'Association civile de recherche et de sauvetage aériens a mis sur pied une équipe de recherches au sol. À 2 h 58, le C-130 a localisé l'épave, et à 4 h 18, des techniciens en recherches et sauvetage ont été parachutés sur les lieux de l'accident. L'équipe de recherches au sol est arrivée sur les lieux peu de temps après. Le pilote et un passager qui étaient grièvement blessés ont été transportés par avion à Saskatoon, tandis que les cinq autres passagers ont été transportés à Uranium City pour un examen médical plus poussé.

Analyse

L'examen de l'appareil n'a révélé aucun problème mécanique qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident. L'avion avait suffisamment de carburant pour effectuer le vol. Au moment de l'accident, l'avion était légèrement en centrage arrière. Il a été établi que l'avion était en surcharge au décollage. Ces facteurs n'ont pas contribué à l'accident, mais il n'en reste pas moins que la surcharge de l'appareil et le centrage arrière compromettait la sécurité du vol.

L'ELT s'est déclenchée normalement à l'impact, mais il était difficile de la mettre hors tension à cause de son emplacement. Des outils étaient nécessaires pour accéder au dispositif. L'interrupteur à distance n'était pas accessible en raison des dommages subis pas l'avion à l'impact. Si l'ELT ne s'était pas déclenchée à l'impact, il aurait été difficile de la déclencher manuellement parce qu'elle était difficile d'accès.

Les points d'ancrage du filet de fret utilisé pour retenir les bagages se sont rompus durant l'accident, et les bagages ont été projetés dans la cabine, ce qui a causé des blessures aux passagers. La partie arrière de la cabine contenait 300 livres de bagages, soit 100 livres de plus que les limites établies par le fabricant. Les vis de fixation manquantes sur les rails de fixation du siège ainsi que les bagages en trop dans le filet à fret ont contribué à la défaillance des rails de fixation du siège.

Des études et des statistiques ont permis de démontrer que les GPWS et les radioaltimètres sont de bons moyens de protection contre les impacts sans perte de contrôle (accident CFIT). Les GPWS sont conçus pour donner un avertissement en cas de proximité du relief; ils augmentent donc la sécurité dans les milieux opérationnels à hauts risques. Quoique ce dispositif soit obligatoire pour les plus gros avions à réacteurs qui transportent des passagers, il ne l'est pas pour les taxis aériens, même si les risques associés aux vols à vue de nuit sont les mêmes.

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait bénéficié d'une période de repos suffisante avant le vol, il avait l'habitude de voler dans cet environnement et il avait de l'expérience en vol aux instruments. Le pilote était au courant des conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient à l'aéroport de destination; il avait obtenu les renseignements météorologiques au moment de déposer son plan de vol, puis lorsqu'il était en route. Au cours de la première approche, il a dû se rendre compte de la hauteur du plafond et de la visibilité qui prévalaient à l'aéroport.

À la fin de sa deuxième approche à Stony Rapids alors qu'il commençait à se diriger vers Fond-du-Lac, le pilote a brièvement aperçu la piste. Il a alors décidé de virer vers l'aéroport et d'effectuer une approche à vue. Alors qu'il tentait d'établir le contact visuel avec les environs de la piste par mauvais temps, la visibilité est devenue de moins en moins bonne. Les arbres sont devenus sa principale référence, et il ne savait plus quelle était la véritable distance entre son avion et le sol. Selon toute vraisemblance, le pilote a pris la base des nuages pour l'horizon et il a cru que l'horizon sur son pare-brise était plus bas qu'il ne l'était en réalité. Les pilotes ont alors tendance à abaisser le nez de l'avion qu'ils croient être trop haut. L'avion s'est écrasé à un endroit situé un peu plus haut, sur un terrain relativement plat et couvert de petits arbres.

L'information recueillie auprès d'autres employés de la compagnie ont permis de confirmer que la direction de la compagnie n'avait exercé aucune pression sur le pilote pour qu'il atterrisse à l'aéroport de destination. Le pilote savait qu'il avait un vol à effectuer le lendemain et a ressenti le besoin de se rendre à destination pour être prêt pour le vol. Le fait que le pilote n'avait pas les clés des installations de la compagnie à Fond-du-Lac a aussi joué un rôle dans sa volonté d'atterrir à Stony Rapids au lieu de se diriger vers l'aéroport de dégagement qu'il avait choisi. Selon toute vraisemblance, le pilote a pris cette décision parce qu'il jugeait que les risques étaient peu élevés, parce qu'il était déterminé à réussir et parce que les pilotes volant en régions éloignées et effectuant des approches de non-précision estiment que cette pratique est acceptable. On a jugé que la maintenance périodique de l'avion n'avait pas été un facteur dans la décision du pilote d'atterrir à l'aéroport de destination.

L'attitude et la perception du danger lié à une tâche changent souvent à mesure que la personne acquiert de l'expérience dans l'exécution de cette tâche. Plus souvent la personne réussit la tâche, moins elle se croit en danger. Les problèmes surviennent lorsque les risques perçus par la personne ne correspondent plus aux risques et aux dangers réels que peut comporter l'exécution de la tâche. Plus la personne a l'impression que les risques associés à une tâche sont minimes, plus elle a tendance à prendre des risques. De plus, à mesure que les valeurs d'un groupe changent, il devient normal de prendre des décisions plus audacieuses qui finissent par être acceptées au sein du groupe. Effectuer une approche à vue par faible visibilité est une activité à hauts risques bien documentée qui n'est pas rare chez les pilotes qui volent en régions éloignées et qui ne bénéficient pas d'aides à l'atterrissage de précision.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 23/00 - GPS Examination (Examen du GPS).

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a interrompu sa première approche NDB. Lors de sa deuxième approche interrompue, il a décidé d'effectuer une approche à vue après avoir brièvement aperçu la piste, et il est descendu au-dessous de la MDA dans l'espoir de voler sous la base des nuages.
  2. Du fait qu'il volait sous la base des nuages lors de l'approche à vue, le pilote a fort probablement cru que l'horizon sur son pare-brise était plus bas qu'il ne l'était en réalité.
  3. Rien n'indique que la compagnie ait exercé des pressions sur le pilote pour qu'il atterrisse à l'aéroport de destination. Cependant, le pilote peut avoir choisi de se poser à Stony Rapids parce qu'il devait effectuer un vol tôt le lendemain et qu'il n'avait pas les clés des installations de la compagnie à Fond-du-Lac.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote n'a pas pu établir la masse de l'appareil, parce qu'il n'y avait pas de balance à sa disposition à Edmonton.
  2. La masse de l'avion dépassait d'environ 115 livres la masse maximale autorisée au décollage. Au moment de l'accident, la masse de l'appareil était inférieure de 225 livres à la masse maximale à l'atterrissage. Au moment de l'accident, le centre de gravité de l'avion ne se trouvait pas dans les limites prescrites.
  3. La partie arrière de la cabine contenait 300 livres de bagages, soit 100 livres de plus que les limites établies par le fabricant.
  4. Deux vis manquaient à chacune des parties des rails de fixation des sièges qui se sont détachées et auxquelles les points d'ancrage étaient fixés.
  5. Le dispositif de fixation du filet à fret s'est rompu et a causé des blessures aux passagers.
  6. Les coutures de la sangle extérieure du baudrier du siège droit (qui était situé au milieu et faisait face vers l'avant) ont cédé.

Autres faits établis

  1. Des outils étaient nécessaires pour accéder à l'ELT, car l'interrupteur situé dans la cabine était inaccessible.

Mesures de sécurité

Un article du bulletin Mainteneur (numéro 3/2000) publié par Transports Canada signale l'importance de s'assurer que les rails de fixation des sièges sont bien fixés au plancher et qu'aucune vis ne manque là où des plaques filetées sont installées sur le plancher.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 28 novembre 2000.


1.  Les heures sont exprimées en HNC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures).