Aviation Investigation Report A00P0019

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight onto Ice
TGH Holdings Limited (Terry Air)
Piper Navajo Chieftain C-GBFZ
Williston Lake, British Columbia
7 February 2000

Summary

The pilot of a Piper PA-31-350 Navajo Chieftain, serial number 31-7752151, encountered an area of heavy snow and reduced visibility while on a visual flight rules flight from Bear Valley, British Columbia, logging camp to Tsay Keh. The pilot was unable to maintain visual references and executed a 180-degree turn in an attempt to regain visual flight. Shortly after completing the turn, at about 1055 Pacific standard time, the aircraft collided with the ice on the Peace Reach Arm of Williston Lake, British Columbia. The pilot was the sole occupant of the aircraft and received serious injuries. There was no fire. The aircraft was destroyed during the collision.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was appropriately certificated for the flight. At the time of the accident, he had accumulated approximately 4500 hours total flying time___about 1 500 hours on type and about 150 on type in the preceding 90 days. He had been flying with Terry Air for two years and had flown the visual flight rules (VFR) route between Bear Valley and Tsay Keh on several occasions. The pilot was also instrument rated and was proficient for flight under instrument flight rules (IFR). Terry Air was approved for IFR operations on its Transport Canada Operating Certificate, and the pilot frequently conducted IFR flights.

The aircraft was examined by TSB personnel at the crash site. To the extent examined, there was no indication of pre-existing deficiencies that would have caused the aircraft to lose altitude and contact the ice. The aircraft was reportedly operating normally up to the time of the crash. Impact markings reveal that the aircraft contacted the ice in a slight left bank and near-level pitch attitude on a heading of about 050 degrees magnetic (M). The first contact was the left propellor, followed by the fuselage and then the right propellor.

The aircraft was dispatched out of Mackenzie, British Columbia, to transport one passenger to Bear Valley, then fly empty to Tsay Keh where seven passengers were awaiting transport back to Mackenzie. The aircraft departed Mackenzie at about 0956 Pacific standard time and proceeded on an IFR flight itinerary to Bear Valley.(1)

Weather conditions at Bear Valley were reported as mostly cloudy, with patches of blue sky visible to the east.(2) Visibility under the clouds was good; however, a few flakes of snow were falling and a wall of dark cloud was visible to the west. Upon arriving in the vicinity of Bear Valley, the pilot was able to locate an area of clear weather to the east of the airport where he flew the aircraft below the clouds and proceeded to the airport in visual meteorological conditions (VMC). The aircraft arrived in Bear Valley at about 1030 and the passenger disembarked.

The planned route for the VFR flight out of Bear Valley was to proceed west along the Peace Reach Arm, then northwest along the main body of Williston Lake, and then to Tsay Keh at the north end of the lake. The total distance was about 100 nautical miles (nm). The pilot was aware of the dark clouds to the west of Bear Valley before departure, and planned to take the aircraft airborne and have a closer look at the weather. The pilot planned to fly at an altitude of about 800 feet above ground level (agl), descending, if required, to as low as 300 feet to remain clear of cloud. If the clouds and visibility did not allow visual flight, he planned on turning around and returning to Bear Valley.

Photo 1 - Aircraft at crash site

Photo 1- Aircraft at crash site

The pilot departed at about 1040 and proceeded westward. He soon encountered snow, but the visibility allowed visual contact with the lakeshore and the pilot elected to continue. The aircraft was configured in a cruise profile, flying at about 160 nm/hour (knots) with landing gear and flaps retracted. About 25 nm west of Bear Valley, visibility diminished to the point where the pilot was unable to maintain visual references. He turned the aircraft around and attempted to regain visual references for a return flight to Bear Valley. However, the aircraft descended, unnoticed by the pilot, and struck the ice. Turn performance calculations indicate that, at 160 knots, the pilot would have to maintain an angle of bank of about 40 degrees (steep turn) to complete a 180-degree turn within the confined valley. The loss of altitude and eventual contact with the ice are results consistent with similar accidents investigated by the TSB.(3)

The crash site is at latitude 56º02' N, longitude 123º38' W, in a narrow valley section of the lake that is steep-sided and oriented east/west. The valley walls are only about one mile apart at lake level and terrain rises over 4000 feet on either side. The snow storm was progressing from west to east, and wind speed generally increases in this section of the Peace Reach Arm because of the funnel effect.(4) The pilot was navigating with reference to the north shoreline as he progressed westwards through the valley, and he biased his flight path to the northern side. When the pilot lost visual reference with the shoreline, the lateral distance within which to execute the 180 left turn was about one mile. By this time, the pilot had flown the aircraft down to an altitude of about 300 feet agl in an attempt to remain below the weather.

Routine aviation weather reports (METARs) for Williston Lake are not available. The METARs for Mackenzie Airport, about 50 miles south of the crash site, indicate that snow showers began in the area shortly after 1100, reducing visibility to as low as 1 miles. The applicable area forecast for northern British Columbia called for areas of visibility of 1 to 3 miles in light snow grains and mist. In addition, conditions of obscured ceilings at 500 to 1 000 feet agl were forecast to persist throughout the valleys.

The accident flight was conducted in uncontrolled airspace. VFR flights conducted in uncontrolled airspace at altitudes less than 1 000 feet agl require a minimum flight visibility of 2 miles and must remain clear of cloud.(5)

Analysis

Few options were available to the pilot if the flight were to be completed. Weather reports from Tsay Keh described overcast conditions, which would have precluded the pilot from finding a patch of clear air within which to descend, as he had done on approach to Bear Valley. The only aerodrome served by an IFR approach in the area was Mackenzie Airport, 50 miles away. Had there been an IFR approach procedure serving the aerodrome at Tsay Keh (or one of the neighbouring aerodromes), the pilot would have had the option of conducting the flight under IFR. He could have departed Bear Valley in the area of clear weather to the east of the airport, climbed to a minimum en route altitude, and flown to destination where an IFR approach could have been conducted. With no IFR approaches at the north end of Williston Lake and overcast cloud conditions, the pilot's only option for completing the flight was to attempt the flight under VFR.

The pilot encountered snowfall that reduced flight visibility to less than that required to maintain visual reference with the ground in an area where the terrain made it necessary to conduct a steep turn to exit the snow conditions. The pilot would have had to remain close to the ice during the turn to regain visual reference; just after rolling out of the turn, the aircraft contacted the ice surface. In conditions of low visibility in snow, and over a frozen, now-covered surface, it would be difficult, if not impossible, to visually acquire the snow surface as it would be indistinguishable from the snow in which the pilot was flying. The descent was made unwittingly, probably because the pilot was concentrating on regaining visual contact with the surface and not flying with reference to the aircraft's altimeter.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Weather conditions at the time and location of the occurrence were not suitable for visual flight.
  2. While the pilot was attempting to regain visual flight, he allowed the aircraft to descend and it struck the ice surface. The weather and surface conditions were such that it would have been virtually impossible to visually detect the ice surface.

Other Finding

  1. In the absence of en route weather reporting facilities, the pilot could only estimate weather conditions based on the area forecast and informal reports received from lay personnel.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 29 March 2001.


1. All times are Pacific standard time (Coordinated Universal Time minus eight hours).

2. There are no Environment Canada weather reporting facilities for Bear Valley. However, pilots receive layman accounts of the weather from logging camp personnel either by telephone (before flight) or radio (during flight).

3. Transportation Safety Board of Canada, Report of a Safety Study on VFR Flight into Adverse Weather Conditions, No. 90-SP002.

4. CFACM 2-700 Air Command Weather Manual , chapter 11, paragraph 27.

5. Canadian Aviation Regulation (CAR) 602.115.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00P0019

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle (CFIT)
avec une surface gelée
Piper Navajo Chieftain C-GBFZ
de TGH Holdings Limited (Terry Air)
lac Williston (Colombie-Britannique)
le 7 février 2000

Résumé

Le Piper PA-31-350 Navajo Chieftain portant le numéro de série 31-7752151 s'est retrouvé dans une zone de visibilité réduite à cause de la neige abondante lors d'un vol à vue à destination de Tsay Keh à partir d'un chantier forestier situé à Bear Valley (Colombie-Britannique). Le pilote a perdu ses repères visuels et a fait demi-tour pour retrouver des conditions de vol à vue. Peu après la fin du virage, vers 10 h 55, heure normale du Pacifique, l'avion a heurté la surface gelée du bras Peace Reach du lac Williston (Colombie-Britannique). Le pilote, qui était seul à bord, a subi de graves blessures. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie. L'avion a été détruit sous le choc.

This report is also availalbe in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol. Au moment de l'accident, il totalisait quelque 4 500 heures de vol, dont environ 1 500 sur type et 150 sur type dans les 90 derniers jours. Il travaillait pour Terry Air depuis deux ans et avait effectué plusieurs fois, selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), le trajet entre Bear Valley et Tsay Keh. Il possédait la qualification de vol aux instruments (IFR) et il était qualifié pour voler aux instruments. La compagnie Terry Air est autorisée à conduire des vols IFR en vertu du certificat d'exploitation qui lui a été délivré par Transports Canada. Le pilote effectuait fréquemment ce genre de vol.

L'avion a été inspecté par le personnel du BST sur le lieu de l'écrasement. L'avion a été examiné dans la mesure du possible, et l'examen n'a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l'accident qui aurait pu causer la perte d'altitude et l'impact avec la surface gelée du lac. Selon l'information recueillie, l'avion fonctionnait normalement avant l'accident. Les dommages attribués à l'impact révèlent que l'avion a percuté la glace l'aile gauche légèrement basse, avec une assiette en tangage presque horizontale et sur un cap orienté au 050 degrés magnétique environ. L'hélice gauche a touché la surface gelée en premier, suivie du fuselage et finalement de l'hélice droite.

L'avion avait été dépêché de Mackenzie (Colombie-Britannique) pour amener un passager à Bear Valley. Ensuite, l'appareil devait se rendre, sans passager, à Tsay Keh pour y prendre sept passagers qu'il devait ramener à Mackenzie. L'avion a quitté Mackenzie vers 9 h 56, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP)(1), et a entrepris le vol à destination de Bear Valley selon un itinéraire de vol IFR.

Les conditions météorologiques observées à Bear Valley étaient les suivantes : ciel nuageux avec des éclaircies visibles à l'est.(2) La visibilité au-dessous des nuages était bonne, toutefois quelques flocons de neige tombaient et on pouvait voir un mur de nuages sombres à l'ouest. Lorsque le pilote est arrivé dans les environs de Bear Valley, il a repéré une zone où le ciel était dégagé à l'est de l'aéroport et a volé au-dessous des nuages pour se rendre à cet endroit, avant de se diriger vers l'aéroport dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue (VMC). L'avion est arrivé à Bear Valley vers 10 h 30, et le passager est descendu.

La route prévue pour le vol VFR à partir de Bear Valley était la suivante : voler en direction ouest le long du bras Peace Reach, puis vers le nord-ouest le long du lac Williston, puis vers Tsay Keh, qui se trouve à l'extrémité nord du lac. La distance totale à parcourir était d'environ 100 milles marins (nm). Le pilote savait avant de partir que des nuages sombres se trouvaient à l'ouest de Bear Valley. Il avait l'intention de décoller et d'aller vérifier la météo d'un peu plus près. Il prévoyait voler à une altitude d'environ 800 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl) et descendre, si cela s'avérait nécessaire, à une hauteur aussi basse que 300 pieds pour rester à l'écart des nuages. Au cas où les nuages et la visibilité ne permettraient pas le vol à vue, le pilote avait prévu faire demi-tour et retourner à Bear Valley.

Le pilote a décollé vers 10 h 40 et s'est dirigé vers l'ouest. Il s'est rapidement trouvé en présence de neige, mais la visibilité lui permettait quand même d'apercevoir les rives du lac; c'est pourquoi le pilote a décidé de poursuivre le vol. L'appareil avait adopté son profil de croisière et volait à 160 nm/heure (noeuds), train d'atterrissage et volets rentrés. À environ 25 nm à l'ouest de Bear Valley, la visibilité a diminué au point où le pilote n'avait plus de repères visuels. Il a alors fait demi-tour et a tenté de trouver des repères visuels pour retourner à Bear Valley. Toutefois, l'avion a amorcé une descente à l'insu du pilote et a percuté la surface gelée du lac. Les calculs de performances de virage indiquent qu'à 160 noeuds, le pilote aurait dû maintenir un angle d'inclinaison d'environ 40 degrés (virage serré) pour terminer le demi-tour à l'intérieur de la vallée exiguë. Le BST a déjà fait enquête sur des accidents semblables où la perte d'altitude a fini par causer un impact avec la glace(3).

Photo 1 - Aéronef accidenté sur les lieux de l'accident

Photo 1 - Aéronef accidenté sur les lieux de l'accident

L'accident est survenu par 56º02' de latitude Nord et 123º38' de longitude Ouest, dans une partie du lac où la vallée est étroite et où les parois de la vallée sont abruptes et orientées d'est en ouest. Il n'y a qu'un mille de distance entre les parois de la vallée au niveau du lac, et chaque paroi a plus de 4 000 pieds de hauteur. La tempête de neige se déplaçait d'ouest en est, et la vitesse des vents augmente habituellement dans cette partie du bras Peace Reach en raison de l'effet d'entonnoir.(4) Le pilote s'est servi de la rive nord du lac comme repère visuel dans la vallée lorsqu'il s'est dirigé légèrement vers l'ouest, ce qui l'a amené à se diriger vers le nord. Lorsqu'il a perdu le contact visuel avec la rive, la distance latérale à l'intérieur de laquelle il devait effectuer le demi-tour vers la gauche était d'environ un mille. À ce moment du vol, le pilote avait fait descendre l'avion jusqu'à une hauteur de 300 pieds dans l'espoir de rester sous la zone de mauvais temps.

Il n'y a pas de service de message d'observation météorologique régulière pour l'aviation (METAR) pour le lac Williston. Les METAR de l'aéroport de Mackenzie, situé à environ 50 milles au sud du lieu de l'accident, indiquent que les chutes de neige ont commencé peu après 11 h dans cette région, réduisant la visibilité à 1 mille. Les prévisions régionales pour le nord de la Colombie-Britannique faisaient état de visibilités de 1 à 3 milles dans la faible neige en grains et la bruine. On annonçait également des plafonds entre 500 et 1 000 pieds agl avec un ciel obscurci, situation qui devait persister dans toutes les vallées.

Le vol ayant mené à l'accident s'est déroulé dans un espace aérien non contrôlé. Pour les vols VFR effectués à une altitude inférieure à 1 000 pieds agl dans un espace aérien non contrôlé, la visibilité en vol doit être d'au mois 2 milles et l'avion doit rester à l'écart des nuages.(5)

Analyse

Pour terminer son vol, le pilote n'avait pas beaucoup de choix. Les rapports météorologiques concernant la région de Tsay Keh faisaient état d'un ciel couvert, ce qui aurait empêché le pilote de trouver une zone dégagée pour faire une descente, comme il l'avait fait pendant son approche vers Bear Valley. Le seul aéroport de la région qui possède les équipements pour faire une approche IFR est l'aéroport de Mackenzie, situé à 50 milles de là.. S'il y avait eu une procédure d'approche IFR à l'aéroport de Tsay Keh (ou à l'un des aéroports voisins), le pilote aurait eu le choix de poursuivre son vol en IFR. Il aurait pu quitter Bear Valley pour atteindre la zone où le ciel était dégagé qui se trouvait à l'est de l'aéroport, pour monter jusqu'à l'altitude minimale de croisière et se rendre à destination, où il aurait pu effectuer une approche IFR. Vu l'absence d'approche IFR à l'extrémité nord du lac Williston et le ciel couvert, le pilote n'avait d'autre choix que d'essayer de terminer le vol en VFR.

Le pilote s'est retrouvé dans des averses de neige où la visibilité était inférieure à la visibilité minimale requise pour garder le contact visuel avec le sol dans une région où le relief faisait en sorte que le pilote devait effectuer un virage serré pour s'écarter des averses de neige. Le pilote aurait alors dû se tenir près de la surface gelée du lac pendant le virage pour retrouver des repères visuels. Au terme du virage, l'appareil a percuté la surface gelée du lac. Lorsque la visibilité est réduite dans la neige et qu'un appareil se trouve au-dessus d'un lac gelé recouvert de neige, il est alors très difficile, voire impossible, pour le pilote de l'appareil d'établir le contact visuel avec la surface puisqu'il n'est pas possible de distinguer la surface à cause de la neige. L'avion s'est mis en descente à l'insu du pilote, probablement parce que le pilote était concentré à rétablir le contact visuel avec la surface et qu'il ne surveillait pas son altimètre.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient dans les environs au moment de l'accident ne se prêtaient pas au vol à vue.
  2. Alors qu'il essayait d'établir de nouveau le contact visuel avec la surface, le pilote a laissé l'avion descendre au point où l'appareil a percuté la surface gelée du lac. Les conditions météorologiques et les conditions à la surface étaient telles qu'il était presque impossible de distinguer la surface gelée du lac.

Autres faits établis

  1. En l'absence d'installations d'observations météorologiques en route, le pilote ne pouvait qu'estimer les conditions météorologiques à partir des prévisions régionales et des rapports informels du personnel non spécialisé se trouvant au chantier.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 29 mars 2001.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins huit heures).

2. Il n'y a pas d'installations d'observations météorologiques d'Environnement Canada à Bear Valley. Cependant, les pilotes reçoivent par téléphone (avant le vol) ou par radio (en vol) des renseignements sur les conditions météorologiques de la part de non-spécialistes se trouvant au chantier forestier.

3. Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canda, Rapport au terme d'une étude de sécurité sur le vol VFR dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables. Rapport no 90-SP002.

4. Manuel du Commandement aérien des Forces canadiennes (MCAFC) 2-700, Manuel de météorologie du Commandement aérien, chapitre 11, paragraphe 27.

5. Article 602.115 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.