Aviation Investigation Report A00P0094

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Stits Playmate SA-11A (Amateur built) C-FWFU
Kamloops, British Columbia 3 nm N
01 June 2000

Summary

The pilot departed from his home base at the Kamloops, British Columbia, airport in his amateur-built Stits Playmate aircraft, C-FWFU, serial number S2, at 0707 Pacific daylight time for a local flight to the north of the airfield. The pilot, who was also the builder of the aircraft, was the only person on board. Between 0830 and 0900, the aircraft flew over Heffley Creek and Rayleigh, communities 9 and 13 nautical miles, respectively, north of Kamloops. At about 0900, the Kamloops Flight Service Station heard a weak radio call from C-FWFU indicating that the aircraft was losing power and that the pilot was going to attempt a forced landing. The aircraft was observed flying southbound, low and parallel to Highway 5, and losing altitude. Its engine was running rough. The highway at this location is on top of a built-up embankment. At the base of the embankment, parallel to the highway, are a row of poles, which support hydro lines and a telephone line, and a fence about four feet high.

Just before the crash, the aircraft's wings wobbled from side to side, the left wing dropped, and the aircraft made an abrupt left turn. The aircraft passed over the fence, struck and severed the telephone line, and struck the embankment below the highway. The pilot of a helicopter working in the area heard a "PAN PAN" call from C-FWFU and diverted to the scene.(1) Responders arrived at the scene almost immediately. Although effectively destroyed, the aircraft was still largely intact, and the cockpit was not compromised. The pilot received fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Stits Playmate is an amateur-built aircraft, constructed using plans that were first available in 1966. The accident aircraft was equipped with a Lycoming O-320-B1A engine, serial number L-4467-39. Information from the aircraft's logbooks showed that the owner began constructing the aircraft in 1967. He first flew the aircraft on 6 October 1998. Records indicate that on 18 November 1998 the aircraft was extensively damaged during a hard landing. The aircraft was repaired and signed out as ready for flight on 30 May 2000. The next flight was the fatal accident flight. The total accumulated airtime on the aircraft, not including the accident flight, was 12.5 hours.

The wreckage was initially examined at the accident site. There was no indication of fire. The aircraft was found upright on an embankment on the lower side of Highway 5, oriented 90 degrees to the highway, with the nose facing up the embankment. An impact mark on the embankment, approximately 15 feet above the wreckage, suggests that the aircraft struck the embankment about 10 feet below the level of the highway and slid down the slope.

The carburettor and the exhaust system were extensively damaged, and the carburettor was detached from the engine. Because of the damage, it could not be determined if the carburettor heat system was operable or if the carburettor heat had been selected "on". The fuel line fitting into the carburettor had fractured and detached from the carburettor, and the gascolator had broken from the firewall. The 24-gallon (US) fuel tank, located forward of the instrument panel, was found to be empty. The fuel selector was found in the "on" position immediately following the crash, although the selector was later moved by first responders to reduce the risk of fire. A small amount of fuel was found in the carburettor float bowl and in the fuel line between the gascolator and the carburettor. Both of these fuel samples were light red and smelled of MOGAS.(2) Because of the damage to the fuel system, any fuel that might have been in the fuel tank at impact would have drained onto the ground. The ground, under the engine, was discoloured and smelled like fuel; the volume of fuel that had spilled could not be determined.

The wreckage was recovered from the accident site for a more detailed examination. All airframe defects found were determined to have been caused by the impact at the time of the accident. The continuity of all flight controls was confirmed. The engine, which was too damaged to allow a run-up, was examined externally and then disassembled for internal inspection. The engine and its components were damaged in several areas during impact. The carburettor, part number IO-3678-12, was the subject of Lycoming Service Bulletin No. 258, issued 29 May 1959. The Service Bulletin states that some aircraft have experienced rough engine operation due to an excessively rich mixture in the cruise power range and recommends that the carburettor be replaced with a "-32" model. There are no airworthiness requirements for amateur-built aircraft owners to comply with engine manufacturer's service bulletins. The left and right magnetos were bench-tested and then disassembled for inspection. The left magneto operated only three of the four spark plugs below 750 rpm (revolutions per minute) and only two spark plugs below 300 rpm. The magneto should be able to operate all the spark plugs down to about 150 rpm.

The engine teardown revealed that the engine had been operated using automotive gasoline that was dyed red. Two plastic, five-gallon fuel containers, found in the pilot's vehicle, were full of gasoline identical to the fuel samples recovered from the aircraft wreckage. It is common for pilots to use automotive gasoline in light aircraft. The only aviation fuels available at the Kamloops Airport are 100LL AVGAS (aviation gasoline), which is dyed blue, and Jet A, which is straw-coloured. Neither of those fuels matches the characteristics of the fuel found in the aircraft wreckage or in the five-gallon containers.

The pilot held a valid Canadian private pilot licence and a current Canadian aviation medical examination certificate. He had accumulated about 500 hours of flight time and was the sole pilot of the accident aircraft, in which he had accumulated 12.5 hours before the accident flight. He had not recorded any flight time since November 1998. Results of the autopsy and the toxicology tests gave no indication that incapacitation or physiological factors would have affected the pilot's performance. The pilot was not using the available shoulder harness.

The exact route the pilot flew before the accident could not be determined. The amount of fuel on board the aircraft on departure from Kamloops and the amount of fuel that was consumed during the accident flight were also not determined.

The weather recorded at Kamloops Airport at the time of the accident indicated good visual flight conditions. The wind was southeasterly at eight knots, and the lowest cloud base was at 6000 feet above ground level. The temperature was 12 degrees Celsius, and the dew point was 7 degrees Celsius. According to Aeronautical Information Publication, section AIR (Airmanship) 2.3, this combination of temperature and dew point is conducive to "serious" (the most extreme of four possible conditions) carburettor icing at any engine power setting. This section also notes that engines operating on automotive gasoline are more susceptible to the formation of carburettor ice than are engines operated on AVGAS. The staff at the engine overhaul facility at Kamloops Airport were conducting an engine run-up at about the same time as the accident occurred. Serious carburettor icing reportedly occurred in the engine they were testing, an engine that was operating on AVGAS.

Analysis

Testing and examination of the carburettor and the magnetos revealed defects that may have led to a rough-running engine. However, by themselves, these defects are unlikely to have caused a loss of engine power extreme enough to have required the pilot to force land.

The outside air temperature and dew point at the time of the accident are known to have been highly conducive to the formation of carburettor ice, and the use of MOGAS increased the likelihood of this occurring. Based on these conditions, and the problems experienced by the engine test company at about the same time, carburettor icing was almost certainly the major factor in the aircraft's loss of engine power.

The pilot was seen to be flying parallel to the highway for some time before the crash occurred. It could not be determined why the pilot did not land on the highway as his aircraft was losing power.

Examination of the aircraft did not reveal any defect that would have led to a loss of aircraft control. It is concluded that the abrupt wing-drop and left turn immediately before impact were probably the result of an aerodynamic stall resulting from low airspeed. The pilot would not have had time to recover from a stall at such a low height before the aircraft struck the ground.

The severity of injury resulting from the crash was increased because the shoulder harness was not worn. Transport Canada regulations do not require the use of a shoulder belt or a harness for aircraft in this category.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Carburettor icing almost certainly contributed to engine loss of power, which led the pilot to attempt a forced landing.
  2. The aircraft stalled at a height above the ground that was too low for the pilot to recover.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The pilot did not wear the available shoulder harness, greatly increasing the risk of injury.
  2. Environmental conditions at the time of the accident presented a serious risk of carburettor icing.
  3. The aircraft was being operated on automotive gasoline, which is known to exacerbate carburettor icing problems.
  4. The model of carburettor used on the accident engine is known to have caused rough-running engines. As well, the accident aircraft's carburettor and magnetos had defects that may have led to a rough-running engine.
  5. The faulty left magneto may have caused the engine to run rough at lower rpm.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 09 May 2001.


1. "PAN PAN" is a radio communication used to indicate a situation where the safety of an aircraft or person is threatened but immediate assistance is not required.

2. MOGAS, unleaded automotive gasoline, is approved by Transport Canada for use in certain aircraft types under specific conditions. Aeronautical Information Publication, issued by Transport Canada, describes MOGAS as being either green or undyed.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00P0094

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact avec le relief
Stits Playmate SA-11A
(construction amateur) C-FWFU
3 nm au nord de Kamloops
(Colombie-Britannique)
le 1er juin 2000

Résumé

Le pilote de l'avion Stits Playmate de construction amateur immatriculé C-FWFU (numéro de série S2) a quitté sa base d'attache à l'aéroport de Kamloops à 7 h 7, heure avancée du Pacifique, pour effectuer un vol local au nord du terrain d'aviation. Le pilote avait construit l'avion lui-même. Il était seul à bord. Entre 8 h 30 et 9 h, l'avion a survolé les villages de Heffley Creek et de Rayleigh, situés respectivement à 9 et 13 milles marins au nord de Kamloops. Vers 9 h, la station d'information de vol de Kamloops a entendu un appel radio de faible intensité provenant du pilote du C-FWFU qui signalait que son appareil perdait de la puissance et qu'il allait tenter un atterrissage forcé. Des témoins ont vu l'avion voler à basse altitude vers le sud. L'appareil volait parallèlement à la route 5 en perdant de l'altitude. Le moteur de l'avion tournait de façon irrégulière. À cet endroit, la route 5 passe sur un remblai. Au pied du remblai, il y a une rangée de poteaux qui supportent des lignes de transport d'électricité et une ligne téléphonique aérienne, ainsi qu'une clôture d'environ quatre pieds, qui longent toutes deux la route.

Juste avant de s'écraser, l'avion a balancé des ailes, l'aile gauche s'est enfoncée et l'avion a amorcé un virage brusque à gauche. Il a survolé la clôture et a sectionné la ligne téléphonique aérienne, puis il s'est écrasé sur le remblai en contrebas de la route. Le pilote d'un hélicoptère qui travaillait dans les environs a entendu un appel PAN PAN(1) en provenance du C-FWFU et s'est dérouté vers le lieu de l'accident. Les secours sont arrivés sur les lieux presque immédiatement. L'avion est une perte totale, mais il est resté en grande partie intact et le poste de pilotage n'a pas été déformé. Le pilote a perdu la vie dans l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le Stits Playmate est un avion de construction amateur construit à partir de plans ayant été publiés pour la première fois en 1966. L'avion était équipé d'un moteur Lycoming O-320-B1A portant la référence L-4467-39. Les livrets techniques de l'avion révèlent que le propriétaire avait commencé à monter l'appareil en 1967. Le pilote avait effectué le premier vol à bord de l'avion le 6 octobre 1998. Les dossiers indiquent que le 18 novembre 1998, l'avion avait subi des dommages importants lors d'un atterrissage dur. L'appareil avait ensuite été réparé et certifié pour le vol le 30 mai 2000. Le vol suivant est le vol ayant mené à l'accident. L'avion totalisait 12,5 heures de vol, ce qui ne comprends pas le vol ayant mené à l'accident.

L'avion accidenté a d'abord été examiné sur les lieux de l'accident. Il n'y avait aucun signe d'incendie. L'avion a été trouvé sur le remblai en contrebas de la route 5. Il reposait à l'endroit et était orienté à 90 degrés par rapport à la route, le nez face au remblai. Une trace d'impact a été relevée sur le remblai à environ 15 pieds en contrehaut de l'endroit où reposait l'épave. Cette trace d'impact laisse croire que l'avion a percuté le remblai à environ 10 pieds en contrebas de la route, puis qu'il a glissé le long du remblai avant de s'immobiliser.

Le carburateur et le circuit d'échappement ont été lourdement endommagés. Le carburant s'est détaché du moteur. En raison des dommages, on n'a pas pu déterminer si le réchauffage carburateur était utilisable ou s'il avait été placé sur ON. Le raccord de la conduite de carburant qui se trouve sur le carburateur s'est rompu et s'est détaché du carburateur. Le filtre du carburant s'est rompu à partir de la cloison pare-feu. Le réservoir de carburant d'une capacité de 24 gallons américains, situé à l'avant du tableau de bord, était vide. Le sélecteur de carburant était sur ON après l'écrasement, mais les premiers intervenants ont déplacé le sélecteur pour réduire les risques d'incendie. Une petite quantité de carburant a été trouvée dans la cuve à flotteur du carburateur et dans la conduite de carburant qui va du filtre de carburant au carburateur. Ces deux échantillons de carburant était rouge pâle et sentait l'essence automobile (MOGAS)(2). En raison des dommages au circuit de carburant, le carburant qui aurait pu rester dans le réservoir au moment de l'accident s'est sans doute répandu sur le sol. Le sol sous le moteur était décoloré et sentait le carburant. La quantité de carburant déversée n'a pas pu être déterminée.

L'épave a été récupérée pour faire l'objet d'un examen plus poussé. Toutes les défaillances de la cellule ont été attribuées à l'impact. On a confirmé que toutes les commandes de vol étaient intactes. On a fait un examen externe du moteur, mais le moteur était trop endommagé pour qu'on puisse faire un point fixe; le moteur a été démonté pour une inspection interne. Le moteur et ses composants ont subi de nombreux dommages lors de l'impact. Le carburateur (réf. IO-3678-12) était visé par le bulletin de service numéro 258 de Lycoming publié le 29 mai 1959. Ce bulletin stipule que le moteur de certains avions tourne de façon irrégulière en raison d'un mélange trop riche en régime de croisière et recommande que le carburateur soit remplacé par un modèle « -32 ». Aucune exigence de navigabilité n'oblige les propriétaires d'avion de construction amateur à se conformer aux bulletins de service du motoriste. Les magnétos droite et gauche ont subi des essais au banc et elles ont été démontées pour inspection. La magnéto gauche faisait fonctionner seulement trois des quatre bougies au-dessous de 750 tours par minute (tr/min) et seulement deux au-dessous de 300 tr/min. Une magnéto doit pouvoir faire fonctionner toutes les bougies jusqu'à 150 tr/min.

Le démontage du moteur a révélé que le moteur était alimenté par de l'essence automobile colorée en rouge. Deux bidons d'essence en plastique de cinq gallons ont été trouvés dans le véhicule du pilote; ils contenaient le mêm e type d'essence que les échantillons prélevés de l'épave. Les pilotes ont l'habitude d'utiliser de l'essence automobile dans les avions légers. À l'aéroport de Kamloops, il y avait seulement deux types de carburant pour les aéronefs : de l'essence aviation 100LL (à basse teneur en plomb) à laquelle on donne une couleur bleue, et du carburéacteur Jet A qui est de couleur paille. Ces deux types de carburant ne correspondent pas au carburant trouvé dans l'épave et dans les bidons d'essence de cinq gallons.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence canadienne de pilote privé en état de validité. Le certificat de validation de sa licence était en état de validité et avait été délivré au Canada. Le pilote totalisait quelque 500 heures de vol, dont 12,5 heures sur le C-FWFU. Le pilote était le seul à piloter cet aéronef. Il n'avait consigné aucune heure de vol depuis novembre 1998. Selon l'autopsie et les résultats des analyses toxicologiques, rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote. Le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture-baudrier au moment de l'accident.

L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir le trajet exact emprunté par le pilote avant l'accident. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer la quantité de carburant à bord de l'avion au départ de Kamloops, ni la quantité de carburant consommé pendant le vol ayant mené à l'accident.

Au moment de l'accident, de bonnes conditions météorologiques de vol à vue prévalaient à l'aéroport de Kamloops. Le vent soufflait du sud-est à 8 noeuds; la base des nuages la plus basse se trouvait à 6 000 pieds au-dessus du sol, la température était de 12 degrés Celsius et le point de rosée de 7 degrés Celsius. Selon la section AIR (Discipline aéronautique) 2.3 de la Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada), la réunion de cette température et de ce point de rosée favorise la formation d'une quantité importante de glace dans le carburateur (givrage intense, le plus important des quatre types de givrage) à tout régime. Dans cette section de l'A.I.P. Canada, on spécifie également que les moteurs alimentés avec de l'essence automobile (MOGAS) sont plus sujets au givrage de carburateur que ceux qui sont alimentés avec de l'essence aviation (AVGAS). Au moment de l'accident, le personnel de l'atelier de révision de moteurs de l'aéroport de Kamloops était en train d'effectuer un point fixe sur un moteur alimenté avec de l'essence aviation, et ce moteur a présenté des signes de fort givrage de carburateur à plusieurs reprises.

Analyse

Les essais et l'examen du carburateur et des magnétos ont révélé des anomalies qui auraient pu faire tourner le moteur de façon irrégulière. Cependant, il est peu probable que ces anomalies aient pu causer une perte de puissance telle qu'elle ait obligé le pilote à faire un atterrissage forcé.

La température extérieure et le point de rosée au moment de l'accident favorisaient la formation de glace dans le carburateur; de plus, comme le moteur était alimenté en essence automobile, les risques de givrage de carburateur étaient plus grands. Sur les bases de ces faits et des difficultés rencontrées par la compagnie qui faisait un point fixe sur un autre moteur au moment de l'accident, on a conclu que le givrage du carburateur est la cause principale la plus vraisemblable de la perte de puissance du moteur.

Des témoins ont vu l'avion voler parallèlement à la route pendant quelque temps avant de s'écraser. L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir pourquoi le pilote ne s'est pas posé sur la route lorsque l'avion a commencé à perdre de la puissance.

L'examen de l'avion n'a révélé aucune anomalie qui aurait causé la perte de maîtrise. On a conclu que le soudain enfoncement de l'aile et le virage brusque vers la gauche immédiatement avant l'impact ont probablement été causés par un décrochage aérodynamique attribuable à la faible vitesse. Quand l'avion a décroché, la hauteur disponible était insuffisante pour permettre une sortie de décrochage et le pilote disposait de trop peu de temps.

Le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture-baudrier au moment de l'accident; les risques de blessures étant plus grands, le pilote a subi des blessures plus graves. Transports Canada n'exige pas le port de la ceinture de sécurité ni de la ceinture-baudrier dans les avions de cette catégorie.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Selon toute vraisemblance, la présence de glace dans le carburateur (givrage de carburateur) a contribué à la perte de puissance, ce qui a amené le pilote à tenter un atterrissage forcé.
  2. L'altitude disponible était insuffisante pour effectuer une sortie de décrochage.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture-baudrier; les risques de blessures étaient donc plus grands.
  2. Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques favorisaient la formation d'une quantité importante de glace dans le carburateur (fort givrage du carburateur).
  3. Le moteur de l'avion était alimenté avec de l'essence automobile; cette essence est reconnue pour aggraver les problèmes de givrage de carburateur.
  4. Le modèle de carburateur installé sur l'avion accidenté est reconnu pour faire tourner les moteurs de façon irrégulière. De plus, le carburateur et les magnétos de l'avion accidenté présentaient des anomalies qui peuvent avoir fait tourner le moteur de façon irrégulière.
  5. La magnéto gauche était défectueuse et peut avoir fait fonctionner le moteur de façon irrégulière à bas régime.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 9 mai 2001.


1. PAN PAN est un appel radio pour signaler une situation qui menace la sécurité de l'avion ou d'une personne mais qui ne nécessite pas d'intervention immédiate.

2. L'essence automobile sans plomb est approuvé par Transports Canada pour utilisation dans certains types d'avion et dans certaines conditions. La Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada), publiée par Transports Canada, indique que le MOGAS est vert ou incolore.