Aviation Investigation Report A00P0103

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control
Avnorth Aviation Ltd.
de Havilland DHC-2 C-GAXE
Hotnarko Lake, British Columbia
19 June 2000

Summary

The de Havilland DHC-2 (Beaver) floatplane, serial number 841, departed Hotnarko Lake, British Columbia, at about 1630 Pacific daylight time. The pilot and six passengers were on board, with fishing gear and fish. Soon after take-off, the pilot entered a left turn. Before the turn was completed, the aircraft rolled, without command, further left to about 40 degrees of bank and the nose dropped. The aircraft did not respond to initial pilot inputs and continued in a left, diving turn toward the trees at the edge of the lake. The pilot tried to get the aircraft back onto the lake. The aircraft started to recover from the bank and the nose started to come up; however, the aircraft struck the lake surface before a level attitude could be regained. It broke apart on contact with the water and sank soon after. The pilot and four of the passengers managed to free themselves from the wreckage, but only three passengers and the pilot managed to swim to shore. One passenger slipped below the water surface before reaching the shore and drowned. Two passengers remained in the aircraft below the water surface, one secured by his seat belt, and drowned.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

On the day of the accident, the area weather was being influenced by an upper trough of cold, unstable air. Witnesses report that the wind was from the northwest at about 20 knots with gusts to about 40 knots. There were "cat's paws" on the west end of the lake in the lee of rising terrain.(1) Other weather phenomena were unremarkable. Hotnarko Lake is near mountainous terrain in the interior of British Columbia. The highest terrain is to the northwest of the lake.

The pilot was the owner and operator of a lodge that offered fly-in fishing. At the time of the occurrence, he was employed as a pilot by Avnorth Aviation Ltd. He had received recurrent training on the type in the previous month and was certificated to operate the DHC-2, however a flight medical had not been conducted within the previous six months, as prescribed for commercial operations. He had about 10 years' experience operating in the area with float planes, with about 100 hours' flying time on the Beaver aircraft, including operations into Hotnarko Lake.

The pilot took off in the Beaver from Avnorth Aviation Ltd. on Nimpo Lake on the morning of the accident. He flew across the lake to his lodge where he picked up the six sport fishermen and gear. They flew to Hotnarko Lake where the fishermen disembarked for a day's fishing; the pilot flew back to Nimpo Lake. At about 1600,(2) the pilot flew to Hotnarko Lake to retrieve the fishermen and their gear. These flights were unremarkable. The winds were about 20 to 30 knots, with gusts to 40 knots from the northwest. Waves on the lake were about two feet high, with white caps. The gear loaded on the aircraft included three outboard motors, fuel, fish, and personal items. One passenger sat in the right front seat next to the pilot, three passengers sat on the bench seat in the middle, and two passengers sat in the aft hammock-style seat. All of the occupants, except one, apparently had their seat harnesses on; however, none was wearing a life jacket. The passenger seated in the aft seat, on the left side, had not found one end of his seat belt and had not secured his harness for the flight.

The pilot taxied the aircraft downwind approximately three-quarters of a mile before starting the take-off in a northwesterly direction into wind. The aircraft reached about 50 miles per hour (mph) indicated airspeed, became airborne, settled back onto the lake momentarily, then became airborne again. At about 100 feet above ground level, the pilot reduced power to 2000 revolutions per minute and 30 inches of manifold pressure and retracted the flaps.(3) The Pilot Operating Handbook (POH) for the DHC-2 states that as soon as safe altitude has been attained, pilots should reduce power to 33.5 inches of mercury and 2200 rpm if the aircraft is fully loaded, or 30 inches of mercury and 2000 rpm for normal weight. Pilots should then slowly increase airspeed to 70 knots (80 mph) and retrim. At 500 feet above ground level, pilots should set the flaps to 10 degrees and retrim. The aircraft was reportedly climbing at 300 feet per minute and indicating 80 mph. The pilot then commenced a left bank that was reported to be about 10 degrees. Soon after, the aircraft suddenly banked further left to about 40 degrees and the nose dropped. The pilot applied full right aileron and full right rudder. The aircraft did not respond to these control inputs and continued in the steep left bank, descending toward the trees at the edge of the lake. The pilot then pushed the flight control forward and turned into the left bank, attempting to get to a bay on the left and to avoid the trees. The aircraft then responded to right aileron and a pull-back on the controls but had not reached a level-flight attitude. About 15 feet above the lake, the pilot retarded the engine throttle. The aircraft struck the lake surface left wing first, with the nose down, broke apart, and flipped over.

On impact, the pilot's upper torso rotated around the left shoulder harness and the right side of his head struck an object in the cockpit. He started to lose consciousness but revived when the cold lake water entered the aircraft. The pilot was the first person to reach the surface after extricating himself from the submerged aircraft wreckage. He pulled one passenger free from the aircraft and directed him to hang onto the aircraft float. Two other passengers got out of the aircraft and were also clinging to a float. The pilot attempted to extricate another passenger, who appeared to be unconscious, but could not free him from the sinking wreckage. Of the five persons that were able to exit the aircraft, four were able to swim to shore. The parts of the aircraft that had remained afloat sank soon after the survivors reached shore. The following day, a dive team found two of the passengers still in the sunken wreckage. One was still secured to the centre seat by his seat belt.

Avnorth Aviation personnel were monitoring the company radio and had not heard the accident aircraft call departing Hotnarko Lake, so they dispatched an aircraft to the lake. It arrived at the lake at about 1800, identified the submerged aircraft wreckage and the survivors, called for assistance, and landed to help. Four of the seven persons involved in the accident survived. Medical examination determined that the three passengers who did not survive died from drowning.

Following the accident, the aircraft and the cargo were retrieved. Calculations using standard weights for the pilot, passengers, and fuel, together with the weight of the cargo, show that the aircraft was about 385 pounds above its maximum gross take-off weight of 5090 pounds. The calculated weight does not include the weight of the fish and some baggage and equipment that remained in the lake. At the time of the accident, the centre of gravity (C of G) was about 2.7 inches aft of the aft limit of 6.1 inches.

The aircraft was equipped with eight inflatable life jackets, located in pockets above the door exits. The pilot had briefed the passengers before the first flight in the morning, but no life jackets were removed or used during the flight or the survival sequence.

Inspection of the aircraft wreckage at the TSB regional wreckage examination facility revealed that all the aircraft control mechanisms functioned properly except where there was impact damage. There was no sign of mechanical failure or power loss before impact. The wing flaps were found to be at the cruise setting (up), and the fuel selector was on the centre tank. The cast-aluminium feet of the centre seat were broken, and the seat was detached from the cabin floor. The aircraft survival kit was secured in the tail section, aft of the baggage compartment.

The airspeed indicator was examined and revealed a mark that is consistent with it indicating 58 mph at impact. The stall speed, with the flaps up and the wings level, is 60 mph for this type of aircraft.

Washington-based Aeronautical Testing Service Inc. (ATS) is an aeronautical consulting and manufacturing company involved primarily in the engineering, development, and manufacture of modifications for general aviation aircraft. ATS completed flight tests on the DHC-2 aircraft as part of a vortex generator design for that aircraft type. These tests evaluated the stall characteristics, stall warning, and controllability of the stall in accordance with the requirements of the original British Civil Airworthiness Requirements.(4)

The flight test report of that activity indicates that with a forward C of G, the stall characteristics of the aircraft were acceptable. However, with an aft C of G and with power on, the characteristics were found to be unacceptable in wings-level, turning, and accelerated stalls.

When an aircraft is manoeuvred with an aft C of G, there is more pitch-up authority than with a forward C of G.(5) This permits a higher rate of pitch-up acceleration with the flight controls, which can force the aircraft into a deeper stall than would occur in an aircraft with a forward C of G position. When the aircraft stalls in a climbing turn, the high wing is at a greater angle of attack than the low wing and, therefore, stalls first. This results in a rolling motion toward the high wing, creating asymmetric lift and drag. The down-going wing will stall further as a result of less lift and more drag than the up-going wing. A deeper stall, generated by aft C of G, will aggravate these asymmetries, increasing aircraft rolling and yawing moments into the down-going wing. In addition, the aft C of G reduces the distance from the C of G to the centre of pressure of the vertical fin, thus reducing directional control authority, making recovery more difficult.

The TSB released safety studies in 1993 (SSA93001) and 1994 (SS9401) that made 16 recommendations aimed at reducing the number of seaplane accidents and improving the survivability of occupants should a seaplane accident occur. These studies cover issues of underwater escape and cold-water survival that are still issues in seaplane operations in Canada.

On 02 March 2000, the TSB sent a Safety Advisory Letter (A000003-1) to Transport Canada highlighting the demonstrated problems associated with underwater escape from aircraft. The letter referred to a de Havilland DHC-2 floatplane accident (TSB Report No. A98P0215) where five persons drowned because they did not escape from the submerged aircraft cabin.

In 1999, Transport Canada conducted "An Evaluation of Stall/Spin Accidents in Canada." Based on that study, Transport Canada changed the emphasis in its pilot training plans. These changes aim to improve pilots' abilities to recognize stall situations and to increase their knowledge and skills to prevent stalls from occurring. An underlying rationale for these changes was that accident statistics showed that a large percentage of stall-type accidents occurred during take-off and landing and at an altitude from which recovery was not possible. This shift in training emphasis is expected to improve pilots' awareness of impending stalls and should aid in reducing the accident rate through stall prevention rather than through stall recovery skills.

Analysis

Because of the force of gravity and the nose-down (diving) turn before impact, the aircraft likely reached a higher airspeed at impact than when control was lost. This suggests that the aircraft's airspeed was probably below 58 mph when control was lost. Since the stall speed for this aircraft in the configuration at the time control was lost is about 60 mph, it is concluded that the loss of control was due to an aerodynamic stall.

The increased g-loading in the turn, the reduction in power, the heavy weight of the aircraft, its aft C of G condition, and the retraction of the flaps would have contributed to reduced climb performance. Because of the wind conditions, the aircraft's airspeed may have been changing rapidly up and down. As well, the pilot's attempt to maintain a climb in the left turn out of wind would have caused the aircraft's airspeed to decrease. The airspeed likely decreased below the flaps-up stall speed during the left turn, and the left wing stalled. The aft C of G condition would have contributed to the adverse characteristics of roll, yaw, and pitch that followed the stall. The pilot's initial response, inputting right aileron, likely aggravated the stall. His attempt to reach the bay in the lake by turning into the left bank and pushing the flight control forward may have allowed the aircraft to start flying again; however, the aircraft's height above the lake was too low to allow the aircraft to reach level flight before striking the surface.

It is not known why the two passengers could not exit the aircraft. The centre seat, once it broke loose, may have injured and incapacitated the passengers or impeded their escape.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. When the pilot entered a turn, the combined effects of the increased g-forces, power reduction, the aircraft's heavy weight, the aft C of G, retraction of the flaps, and the wind conditions resulted in the aircraft stalling. The aircraft struck the lake surface before the pilot was able to re-establish a level-flight attitude.
  2. The aircraft was operating in excess of 385 pounds above the maximum gross take-off weight, and the C of G was about 2.7 inches aft of the aft limit. This loading configuration aggravated the stall characteristics of the aircraft.
  3. The pilot reduced power and raised the flaps before the climb was complete, contrary to the Pilot Operating Handbook, thereby increasing the aircraft's stall speed.

Other Findings

  1. The shoulder harnesses worn by the pilot and the front passenger likely prevented serious head injuries.
  2. The centre seat broke from its footings. This may have incapacitated the two passengers inside the aircraft or impeded their escape.
  3. One passenger drowned while trying to reach shore.
  4. Life jackets were available in the aircraft but were not used by the pilot or passengers.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 09 May 2001.


1. "Cat's paws" are marks on a water surface made by bursts of downward flowing wind.

2. All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

3. When flaps are extended, the camber of the wing is effectively increased, allowing the aircraft to be flown at a lower speed before the stall occurs. A Transport Canada training manual indicates "extreme care must be taken when retracting the flaps in flight, especially near the ground, because flap retraction will result in a sudden loss of lift and changes in the aircraft's balance."

4. The DHC-2 aircraft was designed and certified to meet British Civil Airworthiness Requirements, published in 1945.

5. TSB Report No. A94O0316: Bellanca Scout C-GQIM.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00P0103

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise
de Havilland DHC-2 C-GAXE
Avnorth Aviation Ltd.
Lac Hotnarko (Colombie-Britannique)
Le 19 juin 2000

Résumé

Le Beaver de Havilland DHC-2 sur flotteurs portant le numéro de série 841 a décollé du lac Hotnarko (Colombie-Britannique) vers 16 h 30, heure avancée du Pacifique, avec le pilote et six passagers à son bord. Il transportait également un attirail de pêche et des prises. Peu après le décollage, le pilote a amorcé un virage à gauche. Avant la fin du virage, l'avion s'est incliné sur la gauche, a pris une inclinaison de 40 degrés et a piqué du nez. L'appareil n'a pas répondu aux sollicitations du pilote et a continué son virage à gauche en descente en direction des arbres sur la rive. Le pilote a tenté de ramener l'avion au-dessus du lac. L'appareil a commencé à se redresser et le nez de l'avion a commencé à se relever, mais l'avion a percuté la surface du lac avant que le pilote ait le temps de remettre les ailes à l'horizontale. L'appareil s'est disloqué au moment de l'impact avec le plan d'eau et a sombré peu après. Le pilote et quatre des passagers ont réussi à évacuer l'épave, mais seuls trois passagers et le pilote ont réussi à atteindre la rive. Un des passagers s'est noyé avant d'atteindre la rive. Deux passagers, dont un qui est resté attaché à son siège, n'ont pas évacué l'hydravion qui se trouvait sous l'eau et se sont noyés.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le jour de l'accident, la région était sous l'influence d'un creux barométrique en altitude composé d'air froid et instable. Des témoins ont signalé que le vent soufflait du nord-ouest à 20 noeuds avec des rafales pouvant atteindre les 40 noeuds. Il y avait des « risées »(1) à l'extrémité ouest du lac du côté sous le vent du relief en pente ascendante. Il n'y avait aucun autre phénomène météorologique à signaler. Le lac Hotnarko est situé près d'une région montagneuse de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Le relief le plus élevé culmine au nord-ouest du lac.

Le pilote possédait un pavillon de pêche et travaillait comme pilote pour Avnorth Aviation Ltd. au moment de l'accident. Le mois précédent, il avait reçu de la formation périodique sur type. Il possédait la licence nécessaire pour piloter le Beaver DHC-2, mais il n'avait subi aucun examen médical dans les six derniers mois, contrairement à ce qui est exigé par les normes d'exploitation commerciale. Il possédait une dizaine d'années d'expérience du vol en hydravion dans la région et totalisait une centaine d'heures de vol sur Beaver, dont certaines avaient été effectuées au lac Hotnarko.

Le matin de l'accident, le pilote à bord du Beaver a décollé des installations de Avnorth Aviation Ltd., situées au lac Nimpo. Il a survolé le lac jusqu'à son pavillon où il a fait monter les six pêcheurs et leur attirail. Il s'est ensuite dirigé vers le lac Hotnarko où les pêcheurs sont descendus pour une journée de pêche, puis il est retourné au lac Nimpo. Vers 16 h, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)(2), le pilote s'est dirigé vers le lac Hotnarko pour prendre les pêcheurs et leur attirail. Ces vols se sont déroulés sans incident. Les vents soufflaient de 20 à 30 noeuds avec des rafales du nord-ouest pouvant atteindre les 40 noeuds. Il y avait des vagues d'environ deux pieds et des moutons sur le lac. L'avion transportait trois moteurs hors-bord, du carburant, des prises et des objets personnels. Un passager s'est assis en place droite à côté du pilote, trois autres sur la banquette du milieu et deux autres sur le siège de style hamac situé à l'arrière. Tous les occupants, sauf un, portaient, semble-t-il, leur ceinture-baudrier; cependant, aucun ne portait de gilet de sauvetage. Le passager en place gauche arrière n'a pas réussi à trouver l'une des extrémités de sa ceinture de sécurité et ne l'a donc pas attachée pour le vol.

Le pilote s'est déplacé en parcours vent arrière sur environ trois quarts de mille avant d'amorcer le décollage face au vent en direction nord-ouest. L'hydravion a atteint une vitesse indiquée de 50 mi/h et a quitté la surface de l'eau, mais il a touché de nouveau la surface du lac brièvement avant de reprendre son envol. À environ 100 pieds au-dessus du sol, le pilote a réduit le régime à 2 000 tours par minute, et la pression d'admission à 30 pouces, puis il a rentré les volets.(3) Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion DHC-2 sur flotteurs précise que dès que l'appareil a atteint une altitude de sécurité, le pilote doit réduire la puissance à 33,5 pouces de mercure, soit 2 200 tours par minute, si l'appareil est chargé à sa masse maximale ou à 30 pouces de mercure, soit 2 000 tours par minute, pour une masse normale. Le pilote doit ensuite augmenter lentement la vitesse à 70 noeuds (80 mi/h) et compenser de nouveau. À 500 pieds au-dessus du sol, le pilote doit régler les volets à 10 degrés et compenser de nouveau. Selon l'information recueillie, l'hydravion accidenté a effectué la montée à 300 pieds par minute à une vitesse indiquée de 80 mi/h et le pilote a amorcé un virage de 10 degrés. Peu après, l'avion s'est brusquement incliné sur la gauche jusqu'à 40 degrés et a piqué du nez. Le pilote a braqué le manche à droite et a mis du pied à fond à droite. L'hydravion n'a pas répondu aux sollicitations du pilote et a poursuivi son virage à gauche en piqué prononcé en direction des arbres au bord du lac. Le pilote a ensuite poussé le manche vers l'avant et a amorcé un virage à gauche dans l'espoir d'atteindre une baie sur la gauche et pour éviter les arbres. L'hydravion a alors répondu aux sollicitations du pilote, qui avait braqué le manche à droite en tirant dessus, mais les ailes de l'avion n'étaient toujours pas à l'horizontale. À environ 15 pieds au-dessus du lac, le pilote a réduit les gaz. L'hydravion a percuté la surface du lac en piqué, aile gauche en premier, et s'est disloqué avant de passer sur le dos.

À l'impact, le torse du pilote a fait une rotation autour de la sangle gauche de sa ceinture-baudrier, et sa tête (côté droit) a heurté un objet dans le poste de pilotage. Il a perdu connaissance pendant quelques secondes, mais il est revenu à lui lorsque l'eau froide du lac a commencé à s'engouffrer dans l'hydravion. Le pilote a été le premier à refaire surface après avoir évacué l'épave qui était submergée. Il a aidé un passager à évacuer l'appareil et lui a dit de s'agripper à un des flotteurs de l'hydravion. Deux autres passagers sont sortis de l'appareil et se sont également agrippés aux flotteurs. Le pilote a tenté d'aider un autre passager qui semblait inconscient, mais il n'a pas réussi à le dégager de l'appareil qui sombrait. Quatre des cinq personnes qui ont évacué l'hydravion ont réussi à atteindre la rive à la nage. Les parties de l'appareil qui flottaient encore ont sombré peu après que les survivants eurent atteint la rive. Le jour suivant, des plongeurs a découvert deux des passagers qui se trouvaient toujours à l'intérieur de l'épave submergée. L'un d'entre eux était toujours retenu à la banquette du milieu par sa ceinture-baudrier.

Le personnel d'Avnorth Aviation surveillait les communications radio de la compagnie. Étant sans nouvelles de l'hydravion accidenté parce qu'elle n'avait pas reçu d'appel du pilote au départ du lac Hotnarko, la compagnie a dépêché un avion au lac. L'avion est arrivé au lac vers 18 h, il a repéré l'hydravion accidenté qui était submergé ainsi que les survivants, il a appelé des secours et il s'est posé pour venir en aide aux survivants. Quatre des sept occupants de l'hydravion accidenté ont survécu. Un examen médical a révélé que les trois passagers décédés se sont noyés.

Après l'accident, l'épave et le fret ont été récupérés. Des calculs ont été effectués à partir des poids standard pour le pilote, les passagers et le carburant et à partir du poids du fret. Ces calculs révèlent que la masse de l'hydravion au décollage était supérieure de 385 livres à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage établie à 5 090 livres. La masse calculée ne tient pas compte du poids des prises et de certaines pièces de bagages et d'équipements qui sont restées au fond du lac. Au moment de l'accident, le centre de gravité se trouvait à environ 2,7 pouces au-delà de la limite arrière qui se situait à 6,1 pouces.

L'hydravion était équipé de huit gilets de sauvetage gonflables qui se trouvaient dans des pochettes au-dessus des portes de sortie. Le pilote avait donné des consignes de sécurité aux passagers avant le premier vol du matin, mais aucun gilet n'a été retiré des pochettes ni n'a été utilisé pendant le vol ou pendant la phase de survie.

L'inspection de l'épave aux installations du bureau régional du BST a révélé que tous les mécanismes et toutes les commandes fonctionnaient correctement sauf aux endroits endommagés lors de l'impact. Rien n'indique qu'un problème mécanique ou qu'une perte de puissance ait eu lieu avant l'impact. Les volets ont été trouvés en position de croisière (rentrés), et le sélecteur de carburant était réglé sur le réservoir du centre. Les pieds en aluminium moulé de la banquette du centre étaient brisés, et la banquette n'était plus fixée au plancher de la cabine. La trousse de premiers soins était rangée dans l'empennage, derrière le compartiment à bagages.

L'anémomètre affichait une marque qui indique que la vitesse était de 58 mi/h à l'impact. La vitesse de décrochage avec les volets rentrés et les ailes à l'horizontale est de 60 mi/h pour ce type d'appareil.

La société Aeronautical Testing Service Inc. (ATS), basée à Washington, est une entreprise de consultation et de fabrication en aéronautique oeuvrant principalement dans la conception, l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de modifications aux aéronefs de l'aviation générale. ATS a effectué des essais en vol sur un DHC-2 dans le cadre du processus de conception d'un générateur de tourbillons pour ce type d'aéronef. Les essais avaient pour objet d'évaluer les caractéristiques de décrochage, les avertissements de décrochage et la maîtrise des décrochages conformément aux British Civil Airworthiness Requirements.(4)

Le rapport des essais en vol indique que les caractéristiques de décrochage de l'appareil étaient acceptables avec un centrage avant. Cependant, avec un centrage arrière et lors d'un décrochage au moteur, les caractéristiques se sont avérées inacceptables avec les ailes à l'horizontale, en virage et à haute vitesse.

Avec un centrage arrière, le cabré est plus facile à obtenir que si l'avion est en centrage avant (5). Cette situation permet un cabrage plus rapide avec les commandes de vol, ce qui peut amener l'avion à faire un décrochage plus important que s'il était en centrage avant. Lorsque l'avion décroche pendant un virage en montée, l'aile haute présente un angle d'attaque plus grand que l'aile basse et elle décroche en premier, ce qui se traduit par un mouvement de roulis vers l'aile haute, et produit une portance et une traînée asymétriques. L'aile en descente décroche davantage parce que la portance est moins grande et que la traînée est plus importante que celles de l'aile en montée. Un décrochage important causé par un centrage arrière, aggrave ces asymétries, en augmentant les moments de roulis et de lacet de l'aile en descente. En outre, le centrage arrière réduit la distance du centre de gravité au centre de poussée du plan fixe vertical, ce qui réduit l'efficacité de la gouverne de direction et rend le redressement plus difficile.

Le BST a publié des études de sécurité en 1993 (rapport no SSA93001) et en 1994 (rapport no SS9401) qui ont donné lieu à 16 recommandations visant à réduire le nombre d'accidents d'hydravion et à améliorer les chances de survie des occupants en cas d'accident d'hydravion. Ces études portent sur les problèmes liés aux évacuations sous l'eau et sur la survie en eau froide, deux préoccupations d'actualité liées à l'exploitation des hydravions au Canada.

Le 2 mars 2000, le BST a envoyé l'avis de sécurité no A000003-1 à Transports Canada qui soulignait les problèmes connus liés à l'évacuation d'un avion submergé. L'avis faisait référence à l'accident de l'hydravion de Havilland DHC-2 (rapport du BST no A98P0215) dans lequel cinq personnes se sont noyées parce qu'elles n'ont pas réussi à évacuer la cabine de l'avion submergé.

En 1999, Transports Canada a présenté un « Rapport de décrochage-vrille ». Sur les bases de cette étude, il a modifié son programme de formation des pilotes. Ces modifications ont été faites pour permettre aux pilotes de reconnaître plus facilement l'imminence d'un décrochage et pour leur permettre d'améliorer leurs connaissances et d'acquérir les habiletés nécessaires pour prévenir les décrochages. Ces modifications ont été apportées parce que les statistiques sur les accidents révèlent qu'un bon pourcentage des accidents sont causés par un décrochage au décollage ou à l'atterrissage alors que l'altitude disponible ne permet pas de faire une sortie de décrochage. On espère que ce changement d'optique va permettre aux pilotes de reconnaître plus facilement les signes de décrochage et va permettre de réduire le nombre d'accidents en misant plus sur l'habileté du pilote à prévenir les décrochages plutôt que sur son habileté à faire une sortie de décrochage.

Analyse

En raison de la force de gravité et du virage en descente avant l'impact, l'hydravion avait sans doute une vitesse plus élevée à l'impact qu'au moment où le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'appareil, ce qui suppose que sa vitesse était probablement inférieure à 58 mi/h au moment de la perte de maîtrise. Puisque la vitesse de décrochage pour cet avion en fonction de sa configuration au moment de la perte de maîtrise est d'environ 60 mi/h, on a conclu que la perte de maîtrise était le résultat d'un décrochage aérodynamique.

L'augmentation de la force de gravité dans le virage, la réduction de la puissance, la masse importante de l'hydravion, le centrage arrière et la rentrée des volets seraient à l'origine de la diminution des performances en montée. La vitesse de l'hydravion peut avoir augmenté et chuté rapidement à cause des vents. En outre, le pilote en voulant poursuivre la montée pendant le virage à gauche par vent de travers a fait diminuer la vitesse de l'hydravion. Durant le virage à gauche, la vitesse a probablement diminué à une vitesse inférieure à la vitesse de décrochage avec volets rentrés, et l'aile gauche a décroché. Le centrage arrière doit avoir contribué aux caractéristiques défavorables du roulis, du lacet et du tangage qui ont suivi le décrochage. La première réaction du pilote, qui a été de braquer le manche à droite, a sans doute aggravé le décrochage. En voulant atteindre la baie du lac en faisant un virage vers la gauche et en poussant le manche vers l'avant, le pilote peut avoir permis à l'hydravion de reprendre le vol. Cependant, l'appareil se trouvait à une hauteur trop faible au-dessus du lac pour que le pilote ait le temps de remettre les ailes de l'avion à l'horizontale avant de percuter la surface du plan d'eau.

L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir pourquoi deux des passagers n'ont pas réussi à évacuer l'hydravion. Après s'être détachée du plancher, la banquette du milieu peut avoir blessé les passagers et les avoir empêchés de se déplacer ou de sortir de l'appareil.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'augmentation de la force de gravité, la réduction de la puissance, la masse élevée de l'hydravion, le centrage arrière, la rentrée des volets et les vents ont fait décrocher l'avion quand le pilote a amorcé le virage. L'appareil a heurté la surface du lac avant que le pilote ait le temps de remettre les ailes de l'avion à l'horizontale.
  2. La masse de l'hydravion au décollage dépassait de 385 livres la masse maximale autorisée au décollage et le centre de gravité se trouvait à 2,7 pouces derrière la limite arrière. Cette configuration a modifié les caractéristiques de l'avion et a augmenté les chances de décrochage de l'hydravion.
  3. Le pilote a réduit la puissance et a rentré les volets avant la fin de la montée, contrairement à ce qui est mentionné dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'appareil, ce qui a fait augmenter la vitesse de décrochage de l'hydravion.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le pilote et le passager en place avant portaient leur ceinture-baudrier, ce qui leur a sans doute évité des blessures graves à la tête.
  2. Les pieds de la banquette du milieu se sont brisés et la banquette s'est détachée du plancher, ce qui peut avoir blessé deux des passagers ou peut avoir diminué leurs chances d'évacuer l'appareil.
  3. Un des passagers s'est noyé en tentant d'atteindre la rive à la nage.
  4. Des gilets de sauvetage étaient disponibles à bord, mais aucun des occupants ne les ont utilisés.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du BST sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 9 mai 2001.


1. Une « risée » est un frémissement de la surface de l'eau sous l'effet d'une rafale de vent.

2. Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).

3. La sortie des volets augmente la cambrure de l'aile, ce qui permet à l'avion de voler à une vitesse inférieure avant que l'aile décroche. Le manuel de pilotage de Transports Canada indique qu'« il faut agir avec beaucoup de précaution lorsqu'on rentre les volets en vol, surtout près du sol, à cause de la perte soudaine de portance et de la variation du centrage qui en résultent ».

4. Le DHC-2 a été conçu et certifié en vertu des British Civil Airworthiness Requirements, publiées en 1945.

5. Rapport du BST no A94O0316 sur l'accident du Bellanca Scout C-GQIM.