Aviation Investigation Report A00P0197

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain on Take-off
Piper Aircraft PA-24-250 Comanche, N6917P
Rendell Creek Airstrip, British Columbia
12 October 2000

Summary

On the morning of 12 October 2000, the Piper Comanche, serial number 24-2051, departed the Rendell Creek airstrip, 30 nautical miles southeast of Kelowna, British Columbia, for a visual flight rules (VFR) flight to Colorado, USA. The pilot and three passengers were on board. The en route weather became unsuitable for VFR flight, and the aeroplane returned to Kelowna. In Kelowna, the pilot refuelled the aeroplane and departed for the Rendell Creek airstrip. At the airstrip, the three passengers exited the aircraft with their baggage, and three other passengers boarded for a local sightseeing flight. After the pilot checked that the passengers had their seat belts and their headsets on, he started the engine, carried out checklist items, and taxied along the airstrip. At the end of the airstrip, he turned the aeroplane around into wind and, at about 1740 Pacific daylight time, began a take-off run.

As the aeroplane approached the end of the airstrip, it abruptly became airborne. The aeroplane reached about 20 feet above ground level and flew in a noticeable nose-up attitude. During this short flight, the pilot moved the stabilator to a full nose-up position and reduced engine power seconds before initial impact. The Piper Comanche then snapped forward and landed heavily, sliding along felled trees for a short distance before striking tree stumps and stopping 450 feet off the end of the runway. The stumps penetrated the fuselage floor, causing massive damage and disruption to the airframe. No fire occurred. The pilot and the front passenger were fatally injured at impact. The two rear passengers received serious injuries and were removed from the wreckage and transported to hospital in Kelowna. Later that night, one of them succumbed to injuries in hospital.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

An examination of the wreckage revealed no pre-existing anomalies or deficiencies with the engine, propeller, airframe, flight controls, or ancillary systems that would have caused or contributed to the accident. All damage was assessed to have been caused by the impact forces. An examination of the maintenance documentation and records also revealed no pre-existing anomalies or deficiencies. The mixture and the throttle controls were found in the "off" and "closed" positions, respectively. The wing flaps were found in the retracted (0 degrees) position.

According to the standard take-off performance graph in the Piper Comanche PA-24-250 Pilot's Operating Handbook and FAA Approved Airplane Flight Manual (AFM), with 0 degrees of flap, the same atmospheric conditions, and an aircraft weight similar to the accident flight, the aeroplane would require more than 2500 feet to become airborne.

According to the short field take-off performance graph in the AFM, with 18 degrees of flap extended, the same atmospheric conditions, and an aircraft weight similar to the accident flight, the aeroplane would require about 1200 feet of paved runway to become airborne. The AFM advises that an additional 20 per cent of ground roll is required when the take-off surface is dry, short grass. The performance section of the AFM cautions: "the ground run distance can be expected to be approximately twice the distance shown when taking off without flaps extended."

The private airstrip is a hard surface about 1750 feet long and 120 feet wide and is comprised of gravel and short grass. The surface condition was sound and in good repair. Each end of the airstrip is delineated with orange markers, and the airstrip is completely surrounded by a four-foot-high wire fence.

The Piper Comanche had first flown into the airstrip four days before the accident and had taken off from the airstrip at least five times since then. On each of these previous take-offs, the pilot had set the wing flaps at an estimated setting of 18 degrees and became airborne between 1200 and 1300 feet down the runway. Each time, the aircraft would climb away without difficulty.

The 37-year-old pilot held a private pilot certificate issued by the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), with an airplane single-engine land rating, and a Class 2 medical certificate. He was required to wear corrective lenses (glasses) while flying. A pair of glasses was found smashed against the dash of the aircraft, indicating that the glasses were being worn at the time of the accident. Since starting flying in June 1980, the pilot had accumulated a total of about 500 flight hours, of which 220 hours were on the accident aircraft. He had carried out the mandatory biennial flight review on 10 August 2000.

The pilot was said to have been meticulous in his flying duties. He used a printed checklist for all his flight operations and would read the items aloud on the intercom for his passengers to hear. A review of the pilot's flying experience reveals that the bulk of his operational background was gained at larger, paved airports. Furthermore, it had been the pilot's recent habit, during the operations out of the Rendell Creek airstrip, to not extend the flaps until he had turned the aeroplane around at the end of the runway. He reportedly employed this procedure to prevent stone damage to the flaps during taxiing at the airstrip. The pilot followed this practice during the taxiing to the end of the airstrip immediately before the accident flight.

The printed checklist that the pilot assiduously used is a plastic-laminated card, made specifically for this aircraft; its origin is unknown. This checklist is remarkably different from the checklists in the AFM. The checklist in the Piper Comanche AFM, Normal Procedures section, includes three references to flap settings during the take-off phase:

  • BEFORE TAXIING
    •  Flaps - Retract
  • BEFORE TAKE-OFF
    • Flaps - Set for Takeoff (Zero, 9 or 18 Degrees as Desired)
  • SHORT FIELD TAKE-OFF
    • Flaps - 18 Degrees (Second Notch)

The laminated checklist used by the pilot includes only one reference to flap settings during the take-off phase:

  • RUN-UP
    •  Flaps - UP

The weather at the time of the accident exceeded the visual meteorological condition criteria and was suitable for visual flight rules flight. The wind was light, and there were no reports of local turbulence or downdrafts. The lighting at the time of the accident was bright and sufficient to provide good visual depth perception and visibility.

The Piper Comanche has a maximum certificated take-off weight of 2800 pounds. It was estimated that the aeroplane weight at the time of the accident was about 2750 pounds and that its centre of gravity was 88.6 inches. The certificated centre of gravity range for flight at this weight is from 87.2 to 93 inches.

A safety information brochure from the US Department of Transportation emphasizes that shoulder harnesses are effective in reducing injury and death in light aircraft mishaps.(1) Studies of serious accidents have shown that proper use of shoulder harnesses would reduce major injuries by 88 per cent and fatalities by 20 per cent.

Results of an autopsy and toxicology tests gave no indication that incapacitation or physiological factors would have affected the pilot's performance. It is likely that the level of injury to the occupants in this accident would have been lessened had they been wearing shoulder harnesses. Shoulder harnesses, however, were not fitted to this aeroplane, nor were they required by regulation. Shoulder harnesses have been required for all seats in small aeroplanes manufactured since 12 December 1986, but this aeroplane was manufactured in 1960, and accordingly, it was exempt.

Shoulder harness installation kits for the Piper Comanche are available from Piper Aircraft and have been the subject of two Piper Aircraft notifications: Piper Service Letter, number 953 (28 July 1983), and Piper Service Bulletin, number 980 (18 January 1995). Although the bulletin is not mandatory by FAA regulation, Piper Aircraft considers compliance with the service bulletin mandatory.

Analysis

This investigation included an examination of environmental, technical, and operational factors, as well as mechanical aspects of this aircraft and its component parts, and service history. No indication was found of any malfuction or pre-existing mechanical defect with the aeroplane, its engine, or its system that could have caused or contributed to the accident. Similarly, weather conditions and lightning were judged not to have been contributing factors. As a result, this analysis focuses on selected operational aspects of the accident.

According to the aircraft performance graphs for the environmental conditions at the time of the accident, the aeroplane required more than 2500 feet to become airborne from the airstrip without flaps extended. This was at least 750 feet more than available. It is most likely that during take-off, when the pilot approached the end of the airstrip and realized the aeroplane was not becoming airborne, he forced it off the ground to clear the fence. The airspeed and the aerodynamic performance were insufficient to sustain flight and climb away, and the aircraft settled back to the ground. The pilot's awareness of the situation is demonstrated by his attempt to keep the aeroplane airborne with his application of full up stabilator and his action of shutting the engine down seconds before impact.

It could not be determined why the pilot did not extend the flaps for take-off as he had on the five previous take-offs from the airstrip. It is most likely that the pilot inadvertently did not set take-off flap. It is possible that he was distracted during his routine of taxiing with the flaps retracted and selecting them when the aircraft was turned around. Nonetheless, the checklist he regularly used was designed specifically for the zero-degree flap take-off profile and did not include the requirement to check or review the flap setting before beginning the take-off roll.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot attempted a take-off with the flaps retracted on a runway of 1750 feet. At least 2500 feet of runway is required for an aircraft in this configuration.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The checklist that the pilot regularly used did not include any requirement to check or review the flap setting before beginning the take-off roll.
  2. The checklist that the pilot regularly used was remarkably different from the checklist approved by the Federal Aviation Administration in the aircraft flight manual.
  3. The injuries to the occupants likely would have been lessened had they been wearing shoulder harnesses. Shoulder harnesses were not installed in this aeroplane, nor were they required by regulation.

Other Findings

  1. On five previous occasions, the aeroplane had lifted off from the airstrip at about the 1300-foot point, with the flaps extended, then climbed away normally.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 03 July 2001.


1. United States, Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration, Smart Protection in Small Airplanes, AM-400-91/2, 1991.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00P0197

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact avec le relief au décollage
Piper Aircraft PA-24-250 Comanche, N6917P
Piste d'atterrissage de Rendell Creek (Colombie-Britannique)
12 octobre 2000

Résumé

Dans la matinée du 12 octobre 2000, le Piper Comanche portant le numéro de série 24-2051 et à bord duquel se trouvaient le pilote et trois passagers, a décollé de la piste d'atterrissage de Rendell Creek, qui se trouve à 30 milles marins au sud-est de Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique). Le but du vol était de se rendre au Colorado (États-Unis) selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR). Au cours du vol, les conditions météorologiques sont devenues impropres au vol VFR, et l'avion est retourné à Kelowna. Une fois au sol à Kelowna, le pilote a ravitaillé l'avion et est parti en direction de la piste d'atterrissage de Rendell Creek, où les trois passagers sont descendus avec leurs bagages et trois autres sont montés à bord pour un vol de tourisme dans les environs. Après s'être assuré que les passagers portaient leur ceinture et leur casque d'écoute, le pilote a démarré le moteur, a effectué la liste de vérifications et a roulé sur la piste. À l'extrémité de celle-ci, le pilote a fait demi-tour face au vent et, vers 17 h 40, heure avancée du Pacifique, il a amorcé la course au décollage.

L'avion s'approchait de l'extrémité de la piste lorsqu'il a brusquement pris son envol. Il s'est élevé à 20 pieds au-dessus du sol tout en volant avec une assiette en cabré perceptible. Durant ce court vol, le pilote a tiré à fond sur la commande de profondeur qui agit sur un stabilisateur monobloc et a réduit la puissance du moteur quelques secondes avant l'impact initial. Le Piper Comanche a ensuite basculé brusquement vers l'avant et a effectué un atterrissage dur, a glissé sur une courte distance à coté d'arbres abattus avant de percuter des souches et de s'arrêter 450 pieds après l'extrémité de la piste. Les souches ont percé le plancher du fuselage, ce qui a causé des dommages très importants et une dislocation de la cellule. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie. Le pilote et le passager assis en place avant ont subi des blessures mortelles à l'impact, et les deux passagers assis en place arrière ont été grièvement blessés. Les deux passagers qui ont survécu ont été retirés de l'épave et transportés vers un hôpital de Kelowna. Plus tard ce soir-là, l'un d'eux a succombé à ses blessures.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Un examen de l'épave n'a révélé aucune anomalie pré-existante ni défaillance du moteur, de l'hélice, de la cellule, des commandes de vol ou des systèmes auxiliaires qui aurait pu causer l'accident ou y contribuer. On a établi que tous les dommages avaient été causés par les forces d'impact. Un examen des documents et des dossiers de maintenance n'a révélé aucune anomalie ou défaillance pré-existante. La commande de mélange a été trouvée en position « off », et la manette des gaz, en position « closed ». Les volets étaient rentrés (zéro degré).

Selon le graphique des performances de décollage standard, qui se trouve dans le Pilot's Operating Handbook and FAA Approved Airplane Flight Manual (AFM) du Piper Comanche PA-24-250, un avion dont les volets seraient à zéro degré, qui évoluerait dans des conditions météorologiques similaires et dont la masse serait semblable à celle de l'avion en question au moment de l'accident, aurait besoin de plus de 2500 pieds de piste pour prendre son envol.

Selon le graphique des performances de décollage court, lequel se trouve dans l'AFM, un avion qui évoluerait dans des conditions météorologiques similaires, dont les volets seraient à 18 degrés et dont la masse serait semblable à celle de l'avion en question au moment de l'accident, aurait besoin d'environ 1 200 pieds de piste en dur pour prendre son envol. L'AFM ajoute cependant que la course au décollage augmente de 20 %, si la piste est recouverte de gazon court et sec. La section de l'AFM qui porte sur les performances fait la mise en garde suivante : [TRADUCTION] « on peut s'attendre à une course au sol environ deux fois plus longue lorsque le décollage s'effectue avec les volets rentrés. »

La piste privée, d'une longueur d'environ 1750 pieds et d'une largeur d'environ 120 pieds, est faite de gravier et de gazon court qui lui donnent une consistance dure. La surface était en bon état et bien entretenue. Chaque extrémité est délimitée par des bornes oranges, et une clôture en grillage de quatre pieds ceinture entièrement la piste.

Le Piper Comanche s'était posé sur la piste pour la première fois quatre jours avant l'accident et il avait décollé de celle-ci à au moins cinq reprises depuis son arrivée. À chacun de ces décollages, le pilote avait apparemment réglé les volets à 18 degrés et avait pris son envol après avoir parcouru 1 200 à 1 300 pieds. Chaque fois, l'avion n'avait eu aucune difficulté à se mettre en montée.

Le pilote était âgé de 37 ans. Il était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé délivré par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis, et il possédait la qualification sur monomoteur terrestre ainsi qu'un certificat médical de classe 2. Il avait l'obligation de porter des verres correcteurs (lunettes) lorsqu'il était aux commandes d'un avion. Une paire de lunettes a été trouvée écrasée contre le tableau de bord de l'avion, ce qui indique que le pilote portait ses lunettes au moment de l'accident. Depuis son premier vol en juin 1980, il avait cumulé environ 500 heures de vol, dont 220 heures aux commandes de l'avion en question. Il avait subi un contrôle bisannuel obligatoire le 10 août 2000.

On disait du pilote qu'il était méticuleux dans l'exécution des tâches liées au vol. Il se servait d'une liste de vérifications imprimée pour toutes ses opérations de vol et il lisait à voix haute dans l'interphone tous les points à vérifier pour que les passagers l'entendent. Un examen de l'expérience de vol du pilote a révélé que la majeure partie de son expérience avait été acquise à de plus grands aéroports dont les pistes étaient en dur. De plus, le pilote avait récemment pris l'habitude, pour les opérations à partir de la piste de Rendell Creek, de ne pas sortir les volets avant d'avoir fait demi-tour à l'extrémité de la piste. Il employait apparemment cette procédure afin de prévenir les dommages aux volets causés par les cailloux lorsqu'il effectuait le roulage sur la piste. Le pilote avait procédé de cette manière durant le roulage vers l'extrémité de la piste ayant immédiatement précédé l'accident en question.

La liste de vérifications dont le pilote se servait assidûment était une carte plastifiée conçue spécialement pour l'avion en question. Son origine est inconnue. Cette liste de vérifications est très différente des listes contenues dans l'AFM. La section de la liste de vérifications de l'AFM du Piper Comanche portant sur les procédures normales fait les trois références suivantes au réglage des volets durant la phase de décollage :

  • [TRADUCTION]
  • AVANT LE ROULAGE
    • Volets - RENTRÉS
  • AVANT LE DÉCOLLAGE
    • Volets - Réglés pour le décollage (zéro, 9 ou 18 degrés au choix)
  • DÉCOLLAGE COURT
    • Volets - 18 degrés (deuxième cran)

La liste de vérifications plastifiée dont se servait le pilote ne faisait que la référence suivante au réglage des volets durant la phase de décollage :

  • [TRADUCTION]
  • POINT FIXE
    • Volets - RENTRÉS

La liste plastifiée ne fait pas mention des volets dans les vérifications à faire avant le décollage. Une affichette de vérifications au décollage fixée sur le tableau de bord de l'avion indique que les volets doivent être « RÉGLÉS ».

Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'accident étaient supérieures à celles exigées pour effectuer un vol selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR). Les vents étaient légers, et on ne rapportait aucune turbulence ni aucun courant descendant dans les environs. Au moment de l'accident, il faisait suffisamment clair pour permettre une bonne perception visuelle de la profondeur et donner une bonne visibilité.

Le Piper Comanche a une masse maximale certifiée au décollage de 2800 livres. On a estimé la masse de l'avion au moment de l'accident à 2750 livres et la position du centre de gravité à 88,6 pouces. La plage certifiée de centrage pour une telle masse se situe entre 87,2 et 93 pouces.

Une brochure d'information sur la sécurité(1) publiée par le Department of Transportation des États-Unis souligne que les ceintures-baudriers réduisent efficacement les blessures et les décès lors d'accidents d'avions légers. Des études portant sur de graves accidents ont montré qu'une utilisation adéquate des ceintures-baudriers pourrait réduire les blessures graves de 88%, et les décès, de 20 %.

D'après les résultats de l'autopsie et des analyses toxicologiques, rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques ait perturbé le comportement du pilote. Il est probable que les occupants de l'avion en question auraient subi des blessures moins graves s'ils avaient porté une ceinture-baudrier. Cependant, l'avion n'en possédait pas, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas. Il est obligatoire d'installer une ceinture-baudrier à chaque siège dans les petits avions construits après le 12 décembre 1986, mais comme l'avion en question avait été construit en 1960, il en était exempté.

La compagnie Piper Aircraft offre des trousses d'installation de ceintures-baudriers pour le Piper Comanche, et ces trousses ont fait l'objet de deux avis de la part de Piper Aircraft; le premier publié dans la Piper Service Letter numéro 953 (28 juillet 1983) et le deuxième, dans le Piper Service Bulletin numéro 980 (18 janvier 1995). Le Bulletin de service n'a pas force réglementaire selon la FAA, mais la compagnie Piper Aircraft considère l'application de ce bulletin de service comme étant obligatoire.

Analyse

L'enquête a consisté en l'examen des facteurs environnementaux, techniques et opérationnels, des aspects mécaniques de l'avion en question et de ses composants ainsi que de l'historique de service de l'avion. Rien n'indique qu'une défaillance ou qu'une défectuosité mécanique pré-existante de l'avion, du moteur ou de ses systèmes ait causé l'accident ou y ait contribué. De la même manière, on considère que les conditions météorologiques et la luminosité n'ont pas été des facteurs contributifs. Par conséquent, l'analyse porte sur certains aspects opérationnels de l'accident en question.

Selon le graphique des performances de l'avion et les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient au moment de l'accident, l'avion avait besoin de plus de 2500 pieds de piste pour prendre son envol, soit 750 pieds de plus que la longueur de piste disponible. Il est probable que le pilote, ayant atteint l'extrémité de la piste en cours de décollage et s'étant rendu compte que l'avion ne prendrait pas son envol, a forcé le décollage pour éviter la clôture. La vitesse et les performances aérodynamiques étaient insuffisantes pour permettre le vol et la montée, c'est pourquoi l'avion est retombé au sol. On sait que le pilote était conscient de la situation puisqu'il a tenté de maintenir l'avion en vol en tirant à fond sur la commande de profondeur qui agit sur le stabilisateur monobloc et en coupant les moteurs quelques secondes avant l'impact.

Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer pourquoi le pilote n'avait pas sorti les volets pour le décollage comme il l'avait fait lors des cinq décollages précédents effectués sur la piste. Il est probable que, par inadvertance, le pilote n'a pas réglé les volets pour le décollage. Il se peut qu'il ait été dérangé dans sa routine, laquelle consistait à rouler avec les volets rentrés et à sortir les volets une fois qu'il avait fait demi-tour. Néanmoins, la liste de vérifications qu'il utilisait sur une base régulière était conçue spécialement pour les décollages avec volets à zéro degré et elle ne comprenait pas d'exigences en rapport avec la vérification ou la revue du réglage des volets avant le début de la course au décollage.

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a tenté de décoller avec les volets rentrés sur une piste de 1750 pieds de longueur, alors qu'il lui aurait fallu une piste d'au moins 2500 pieds de longueur dans cette configuration.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La liste de vérifications qu'utilisait le pilote sur une base régulière ne comprenait pas d'exigences en rapport avec la vérification ou la revue du réglage des volets avant le début de la course au décollage.
  2. La liste de vérifications qu'utilisait le pilote sur une base régulière était très différente de celle approuvée par la Federal Aviation Administration dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'aéronef.
  3. Il est probable que les occupants de l'avion en question auraient subi des blessures moins graves s'ils avaient porté une ceinture-baudrier. L'avion ne possédait pas de ceintures-baudriers, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas.

Autres faits établis

  1. À cinq reprises auparavant, l'avion avait pris son envol après avoir parcouru environ 1 300 pieds, volets sortis, puis avait effectué à chaque fois une montée normale.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 3 juillet 2001.


1. Smart Protection in Small Airplanes (AM-400-91/2), Department of Transportation des États-unis, Federal Aviation Administration, 1991.