Aviation Investigation Report A00P0244

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight Into Terrain - On Approach
Piper Aerostar 602P N88AT
Okanagan Mountain, British Columbia
31 December 2000

Summary

The Piper Aerostar 602P aircraft, registration N88AT, serial number 62P08628165003, with the pilot, who was also the owner, three passengers, and two dogs on board, took off from the Salt Lake City Airport, Utah, on an instrument flight rules flight to Penticton, British Columbia. At 1149 Pacific standard time, the Kamloops/Castlegar sector controller of Vancouver Centre passed N88AT a special weather observation for Penticton: "winds calm; visibility ¾ mile in snow; sky obscured; vertical visibility 700 feet; remarks snow eight [8/8 of the sky covered]; temperature zero; 1900 [1100 Pacific standard time] altimeter 30.21." When approaching Penticton, the pilot requested the localizer distance-measuring equipment B (LOC DME-B) approach to runway 16. When the pilot confirmed that he could complete the procedure turn within 13 miles of the Penticton airport, the controller issued an approach clearance for the LOC DME-B approach, with a restriction to complete the procedure turn within 13 miles of the Penticton airport. This restriction was to prevent possible conflicts between N88AT and aircraft taking off or carrying out missed approaches from runway 15 at Kelowna.

The pilot reported to the Penticton Flight Service Station at 1203 Pacific standard time that he was by the Penticton non-directional beacon (NDB) outbound on the localizer, and he was given the latest runway condition report. When the aircraft then failed to respond to numerous radio calls from the Penticton Flight Service Station and Vancouver Centre, search and rescue staff were notified and a search initiated. The wreckage was found two days later, near the summit of Okanagan Mountain, in a wooded area, at an elevation of about 5100 feet above sea level. There were no survivors. The aircraft was destroyed but did not catch fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a private pilot licence and a second class medical certificate, both issued by the United States Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). The licence was endorsed for single- and multi-engine aeroplanes and for an instrument rating. The medical certificate, which had a restriction that corrective lenses be worn while flying, was issued on 2 November 1998 and was valid for a period of 24 calendar months, and had therefore expired. The pilot had accumulated approximately 2500 flying hours, the majority on light, twin-engine aircraft, including the Aerostar 602P. He was qualified to operate the aircraft under instrument flight rules (IFR). An autopsy of the pilot did not reveal any condition that could have led or contributed to the accident.

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing FAA regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft was manufactured in 1981 and had flown a total of 3052.3 hours as of 28 December 2000. A review of the journey and technical logbooks and engine logbooks showed nothing remarkable. As of 28 December 2000, both the left engine, Lycoming IO-540 series, model AA1A5, serial number L-20934-48A, and the right engine, serial number L-20903-48A, had accumulated 3052.3 hours total since new.

The aircraft was equipped for instrument flight, including distance measuring equipment (DME), a radio altimeter, and a global positioning system.

The aircraft struck one of two communication towers on the summit of Okanagan Mountain, which is at an elevation of 5164 feet above sea level (asl). The left wing tip struck a microwave dish antenna, near the top of the 157-foot tower, while the aircraft was in a right bank, and aircraft debris from the wing tip was found at the base of the tower. The aircraft departed controlled flight and, likely tumbling, continued airborne down the slope just above the trees for a distance of about 160 metres in a direction of 140 degrees magnetic. The aircraft then struck a tree and broke apart. Because of the severity of the impact, the accident was not survivable.

Bad weather in the Penticton area precluded an air search, so a ground search using snowmobiles was organized. The wreckage was found two days later.

The wreckage was examined at the accident site for pre-impact defects; none was found, and all control surfaces were accounted for. An examination of the engines and their components and systems revealed no pre-impact defect or anomaly that could have caused a loss of engine performance. The condition of the propellers indicated that both engines were operating at the time of impact. All damage to the engines was determined to be associated with the impact. The power the engines were producing at impact, however, could not be precisely determined by site examination.

The emergency locator transmitter was found destroyed by impact forces. Its switch was found in the armed position, but the transmitter did not operate.

As shown in Appendix A, the LOC DME-B approach at Penticton, a non-precision approach, commences at the Penticton non-directional beacon (YYF NDB) at a minimum altitude of.7500 feet. A pilot carrying out this approach is expected to then do the following:

  • track outbound on the localizer, past the UNT (Naramata) NDB until 10 DME;
  • make a left procedure turn at a minimum altitude of 6500 feet, completing the turn within 14.1 DME [using DME from XYF 110.3];
  • proceed inbound on the localizer at a minimum altitude of 5900 feet until 10 DME;
  • descend to a minimum of 5500 feet at the UNT NDB; and
  • descend to a minimum of 2980 feet to the YYF NDB, the missed approach point.

Radar data show the aircraft passed the YYF NDB at 11 000 feet at a speed of 200 knots. It then tracked outbound on the localizer at a speed of 180 knots at a descent rate of 1100 feet per minute until passing the UNT NDB, whereupon the descent rate increased to 1500 feet per minute. After passing the UNT NDB at an altitude of 9000 feet, the aircraft continued to track the localizer for one minute to 13 DME, and then turned left to the outbound procedure turn heading of 295 degrees magnetic. The aircraft descended through the minimum procedure turn altitude of 6500 feet at a rate of 1740 feet per minute. After approximately 45 seconds the aircraft began a right turn and levelled off at 5500 feet, while continuing the turn to about 120 degrees magnetic at a distance of 16 DME. The aircraft disappeared from radar just prior to intercepting the localizer, coincident with a two-second carrier wave transmitted on the Flight Service Station frequency.

The altimeter was recovered; it was set to 30.21 inches, the latest Penticton setting. Pressure altimeters are calibrated to indicate true altitude under International Standard Atmospheric (ISA) conditions. Any deviation from ISA will result in an erroneous reading on the altimeter. When the temperature is lower than ISA, the true altitude will be lower than the figure indicated on the altimeter. Altitude correction charts are provided for pilots to assist in calculating the height correction to be applied for temperatures of zero and lower.

As there was no other traffic at Penticton, the controller, having issued the approach clearance to N88AT with a restriction to complete the procedure turn within 13 nautical miles of the Penticton airport, then turned his attention to traffic movements at two other airports and did not notice N88AT's deviations from the approach procedure.

The weather conditions at Penticton, at the time of the accident, were such that a successful landing was very unlikely. Under Canadian Aviation Regulations, however, a pilot may carry out an instrument approach in such conditions, even though the likelihood of completing it successfully may be minimal.

Analysis

The examination of the aircraft, engines and ancillary systems revealed no defects that could have led to the accident.

The pilot tracked outbound on the localizer for one minute from the UNT NDB, and his procedure turn commenced at 13 DME. This was 3 nautical miles (nm) past the 10 DME turning point depicted on the approach chart and already at the controller / pilot agreed limit. The delay in starting the procedure turn resulted in the aircraft reaching 16 DME before the turn was completed, 1.9 nm past the chart limit. The aircraft was 1000 feet below the minimum altitude for the procedure turn, and as the aircraft turned to intercept the localizer, it was 400 feet lower than the minimum safe altitude for that area, which is 5900 feet asl.

The aircraft was approximately 5500 feet asl when it struck the tower, and the top of the tower was at a true altitude of 5321 feet. The temperature at Penticton Airport was 0ºC, and the temperature correction for the aircraft's altimeter, when reading 5500 feet, was about 100 feet. The aircraft's true altitude was, therefore, about 5400 feet. Small errors in the aircraft's altimeter or a deviation from 5500 in the last few seconds of flight could easily have resulted in the aircraft being lower than the top of the tower.

It could not be determined why the pilot flew the aircraft below the minimum procedure turn altitude. The altimeter setting was correct, and the aircraft's altitude over the YYF NDB, as recorded on the radar tape, was exactly 11 000 feet asl, the altitude to which the flight was cleared. It is concluded from these facts that the pilot must have been seeing the altitudes on his altimeter that coincide with the recorded altitudes. Also, it is not known why he flew 3 nm past the procedure turn point prior to turning left onto the procedure turn.

It could be assumed from the reported weather conditions that the aircraft was in cloud or snow showers for the entire approach. The weather probably affected the flight, but the extent is not known.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. For reasons not determined, the pilot did not adhere to the procedures depicted for the LOC DME-B approach to runway 16 at Penticton. As a result, the aircraft did not remain within the confines of protected airspace, was below the minimum safe altitude for the procedure turn, and struck the tower.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The approach was flown in weather conditions that virtually precluded the pilot from completing a landing.

Other Findings

  1. The pilot's flight medical certificate had expired one month prior to the accident, and no information could be found that he had submitted to an FAA medical during that time.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 18 September 2001.

Appendix A - Penticton Approach Chart

Appendix A - Penticton Approach Chart.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A00P0244

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact sans perte de contrôle (CFIT) en approche
Piper Aerostar 602P N88AT
Mont Okanagan (Colombie-Britannique)
Le 31 décembre 2000

Résumé

L'avion Piper Aerostar 602P, immatriculé N88AT, numéro de série 62P08628165003,ayant à son bord le pilote-propriétaire de l'appareil, trois passagers et deux chiens, décolle de l'aéroport de Salt Lake City (Utah) aux États-Unis pour un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments à destination de Penticton (Colombie-Britannique). À 11 h 49, heure normale du Pacifique, le contrôleur du secteur Kamloops/Castlegar du centre de Vancouver communique à l'avion N88AT l'observation météorologique spéciale suivante pour Penticton : vents calmes, visibilité de ¾ de mille dans la neige, ciel obscurci, visibilité verticale de 700 pieds, neige à 8 (8/8 du ciel est couvert), température de zéro; 19 h [11 h, heure normale du Pacifique (HNP)], calage altimétrique de 30,21 pouces de mercure. À l'approche de Penticton, le pilote demande à effectuer une approche LOC DME-B [approche à l'aide du radiophare d'alignement de piste (LOC) et de l'équipement de mesure de distance (DME) B] pour la piste 16. Lorsque le pilote confirme qu'il peut exécuter le virage conventionnel à moins de 13 milles de l'aéroport de Penticton, le contrôleur l'autorise à effectuer une approche LOC DME-B avec la restriction d'exécuter le virage conventionnel à moins de 13 milles de l'aéroport de Penticton. Cette restriction vise à prévenir tout conflit entre l'appareil N88AT et des appareils décollant sur la piste 15 de Kelowna ou y effectuant des approches interrompues.

À 12 h 3 HNP, le pilote signale à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Penticton qu'il se trouve au radiophare non directionnel (NDB) de Penticton, en éloignement du LOC, et il reçoit alors le rapport le plus récent sur l'état de la piste. Comme l'appareil ne répond pas aux nombreux appels radio de la part de la FSS de Penticton et du centre de Vancouver, on prévient les équipes de recherche et sauvetage, et une recherche est lancée. L'épave est retrouvée deux jours plus tard, près du sommet du mont Okanagan, dans une région boisée, à une altitude de quelque 5 100 pieds-mer. Il n'y a pas de survivants. L'avion a été détruit à l'impact, mais n'a pas pris feu.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé et d'un certificat médical de seconde classe, tous deux délivrés par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis. Le pilote possédait une annotation sur monomoteurs et multimoteurs et une qualification de vol aux instruments. Son certificat médical portait une restriction relative au port de verres correcteurs pour le pilotage et avait été délivré le 2 novembre 1998 pour une période de 24 mois civils; il était donc périmé. Le pilote totalisait quelque 2 500 heures de vol, la plupart sur des bimoteurs légers, notamment sur l'Aerostar 602P. Il était qualifié pour piloter l'avion selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR). L'autopsie pratiquée sur le corps du pilote n'a révélé aucune condition qui aurait pu mener ou contribuer à l'accident.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation et aux procédures approuvées de la FAA qui étaient en vigueur. L'avion avait été construit en 1981 et totalisait 3 052,3 heures de vol au 28 décembre 2000. Un examen des carnets de bord et technique ainsi que des carnets techniques des moteurs n'a permis de découvrir aucune anomalie. Au 28 décembre 2000, le moteur gauche (Lycoming IO-540, modèle AA1A5, numéro de série L-20934-48A) ainsi que le moteur droit (numéro de série L-20903-48A, totalisaient 3 052,3 heures de fonctionnement depuis leur mise en service initiale.

L'avion était équipé pour le vol aux instruments, notamment d'un équipement de mesure de distance (DME), d'un radio-altimètre et d'un système de positionnement mondial (GPS).

L'avion a heurté une des deux tours de transmission situées au sommet du mont Okanagan qui culmine à 5 164 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). L'extrémité de l'aile gauche de l'avion a heurté une antenne parabolique à hyperfréquence, en contrebas du sommet de la tour de 157 pieds, alors que l'avion était incliné à droite. Des morceaux de l'extrémité d'aile de l'avion ont été retrouvés au pied de la tour. L'avion est devenu ingouvernable et a poursuivi son vol, probablement en culbutant, vers le bas de la pente, juste au-dessus de la cime des arbres, sur une distance d'environ 160 mètres sur un cap orienté au 140 degrés magnétique avant de heurter un arbre et de se disloquer. Compte tenu de la violence de l'impact, l'accident n'offrait aucune chance de survie.

Le mauvais temps dans la région de Penticton a interdit les recherches aériennes; des motoneiges ont été utilisées pour faire des recherches au sol. L'épave a été retrouvée deux jours plus tard.

L'examen de l'épave sur le lieu de l'accident n'a révélé aucune défectuosité antérieure à l'impact. Toutes les gouvernes de l'avion ont été retrouvées sur les lieux. L'examen des moteurs et de leurs composants et systèmes n'a révélé aucune défectuosité ou anomalie antérieure à l'impact qui aurait pu nuire aux performances des moteurs. L'examen des hélices indique que les deux moteurs fonctionnaient au moment de l'impact. Tous les dommages aux moteurs ont été attribués à l'impact. L'examen des moteurs sur les lieux n'a pas permis de déterminer avec précision la puissance produite par les moteurs à l'impact.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) a été retrouvée, mais elle avait été détruite par les forces de l'impact. Son interrupteur a été trouvé en position armée, mais la radiobalise ne fonctionnait pas.

Comme le montre l'Annexe A, l'approche LOC DME-B à Penticton est une approche de non-précision qui commence au NDB de Penticton (YYF) à une altitude minimale de 7 500 pieds. Quand un pilote effectue cette approche, on s'attend :
  • à ce qu'il se dirige en éloignement sur le LOC, au-delà du NDB UNT (Naramata) jusqu'à ce qu'il se trouve à 10 milles marins (nm) du DME;
  • à ce qu'il exécute un virage conventionnel à gauche à une altitude minimale de 6 500 pieds et qu'il termine son virage à moins de 14,1 nm du DME (en se servant du DME de XYF 110,3);
  • à ce qu'il se place en rapprochement sur le LOC à une altitude minimale de 5 900 pieds jusqu'à 10 nm du DME;
  • à ce qu'il descende à au moins 5 500 pieds au NDB UNT;
  • et à ce qu'il descende à au moins 2 980 pieds au NDB YYF, le point d'approche interrompue.

Les données radar montrent que l'avion a franchi le NDB YYF à 11 000 pieds à 200 noeuds. Il s'est alors dirigé en éloignement sur le LOC à 180 noeuds avec un taux de descente de 1 100 pieds par minute (pi/min) jusqu'à ce qu'il franchisse le NDB UNT où le taux de descente de l'avion a augmenté à 1 500 pi/min. Après avoir franchi le NDB UNT à une altitude de 9 000 pieds, l'avion a continué sa route sur le LOC pendant une minute jusqu'à 13 nm du DME, puis il a fait un virage à gauche sur le cap du virage conventionnel en éloignement de 295 degrés magnétique. L'avion a franchi en descente l'altitude minimale du virage conventionnel de 6 500 pieds à un taux de descente de 1 740 pi/min. Au bout de 45 secondes environ, l'avion a amorcé un virage à droite et s'est mis en palier à 5 500 pieds, tout en poursuivant son virage sur un cap au 120 degrés magnétique à une distance de 16 nm du DME. L'avion est disparu de l'écran radar tout juste avant d'intercepter le LOC, en même temps qu'apparaissait une onde porteuse de deux secondes sur la fréquence de la station d'information de vol (FSS).

L'altimètre a été récupéré; il était calé à 30,21 pouces, le dernier calage altimétrique de Penticton. Les altimètres barométriques sont étalonnés pour indiquer l'altitude vraie en atmosphère type internationale (ISA). Tout écart par rapport à l'ISA donne lieu à une lecture erronée sur l'altimètre. Lorsque la température est inférieure à l'ISA, l'altitude vraie est inférieure à la valeur affichée sur l'altimètre. Des tableaux de correction d'altitude sont fournis aux pilotes pour les aider à calculer la correction de hauteur à apporter pour des températures de zéro et moins.

Comme il n'y avait pas d'autre appareil à Penticton, le contrôleur, ayant communiqué l'autorisation d'approche à l'avion N88AT, avec la restriction d'exécuter le virage conventionnel à moins de 13 nm de l'aéroport de Penticton, s'est alors concentré sur les mouvements de trafic à deux autres aéroports et n'a pas remarqué les écarts de l'avion N88AT par rapport à la procédure d'approche.

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météo à Penticton étaient telles qu'il était très peu probable que l'avion puisse se poser. En vertu du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, toutefois, un pilote peut exécuter une approche aux instruments dans ces conditions, même si les chances de réussite sont minces.

Analyse

L'examen de l'avion, des moteurs et des systèmes auxiliaires n'a révélé aucune défectuosité qui aurait pu mener à l'accident.

Le pilote s'est dirigé en éloignement sur le LOC pendant une minute à partir du NDB UNT, et il a commencé son virage conventionnel à 13 nm du DME, soit à 3 nm au-delà du point de virage situé à 10 nm du DME figurant sur la carte d'approche et déjà à la limite convenue entre le contrôleur et le pilote. Le pilote ayant entamé le virage conventionnel tardivement a fait que l'avion s'est retrouvé à 16 nm du DME avant la fin du virage, soit 1,9 nm au-delà de la limite figurant sur la carte. L'avion se trouvait à 1 000 pieds au-dessous de l'altitude minimale du virage conventionnel, et pendant le virage pour intercepter le LOC, il se trouvait à 400 pieds plus bas que l'altitude minimale de sécurité dans ce secteur, laquelle est de 5 900 pieds asl.

L'avion se trouvait à environ 5 500 pieds asl quand il a heurté la tour, alors que la tour culminait à une altitude vraie de 5 321 pieds. La température à l'aéroport de Penticton était de 0º C, et la correction en fonction de la température pour l'altimètre de l'avion, pour une lecture de 5 500 pieds, était d'environ 100 pieds. L'altitude vraie de l'avion était donc de 5 400 pieds. De petites erreurs dans l'altimètre de l'avion ou un écart par rapport à 5 500 pieds dans les dernières secondes du vol peuvent facilement avoir pu amener l'avion à voler plus bas que le sommet de la tour.

L'enquête n'a pas révélé pourquoi le pilote avait volé au-dessous de l'altitude minimale du virage conventionnel. Le calage altimétrique était exact, et l'altitude de l'avion au-dessus du NDB YYF, enregistrée sur la bande radar, était exactement de 11 000 pieds asl, altitude à laquelle l'avion avait été autorisé. Compte tenu de ces faits, on a conclu que le pilote a dû voir que les altitudes de son altimètre coïncidaient avec les altitudes enregistrées. On ne sait pas pourquoi le pilote a dépassé de 3 nm le point de virage conventionnel avant de se mettre en virage à gauche pour entamer le virage conventionnel.

Compte tenu des conditions météo signalées, il est permis de supposer que l'avion se trouvait dans un nuage ou dans des chutes de neige pendant toute l'approche. Les conditions météo ont probablement eu une incidence sur le vol, mais on ne sait pas jusqu'à quel point.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Pour une raison qui n'a pas été déterminée, le pilote n'a pas respecté les procédures indiquées pour faire une approche LOC DME-B sur la piste 16 à Penticton. Résultat, l'avion n'est pas resté dans les limites de l'espace aérien protégé, il s'est retrouvé au-dessous de l'altitude minimale de sécurité pour le virage conventionnel et il a heurté une tour.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'approche s'est déroulée dans des conditions météo qui empêchaient pratiquement le pilote de se poser.

Autres faits établis

  1. Au moment de l'accident, le certificat médical du pilote pour valider sa licence était périmé depuis un mois; l'enquête n'a permis de découvrir aucune information comme quoi le pilote aurait subi un examen médical de la FAA après la date d'expiration de son certificat.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 18 septembre 2001.

Annexe A - Carte d'approche de Penticton

Ce document n'existe pas en français.

Annexe A - Carte d'approche de Penticton.