Aviation Investigation Report A01A0022

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control
Piper PA-30 N8736Y
St. John's, Newfoundland
14 March 2001

Summary

A US-registered Piper PA-30 Twin Comanche, N8736Y, serial number 30-1890, took off from Runway 16, St. John's International Airport, Newfoundland, at 0450 Newfoundland standard time. Only the pilot was on board this transatlantic ferry flight to Santa Maria, Azores, Portugal. Less than one minute after take-off, the aircraft appeared on air traffic control radar at 500 feet above sea level (asl), about 50 feet above ground level, tracking the runway centreline with a ground speed of 100 knots. By 350 feet above ground level, ground speed had increased to 120 knots, and the aircraft was accelerating.

At this point, the pilot acknowledged an instruction from the flight service station to contact Gander Area Control Centre. Radar data showed that the aircraft continued to climb steadily at about 350 feet per minute until about 900 feet asl. At 900 feet asl, the aircraft's speed began a gradual decrease from about 135 knots, and the aircraft began to climb at about 1200 feet per minute. On reaching 2200 feet asl and 70 knots, the aircraft descended vertically until impact. The aircraft crashed in a near-level attitude approximately 3 nautical miles from the departure end of Runway 16 in a residential area of St. John's. The aircraft was destroyed, and the pilot suffered fatal injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot, who had completed more than 30 transatlantic ferry flights, had been responsible for preparing the aircraft for the ferry trip and acquiring the necessary approval for aircraft modifications and for the ferry flight. Before departing from his base in Calgary, Alberta, a ferry fuel system was fitted in the cabin. The ferry fuel system consisted of two 45-gallon drums mounted transversely and strapped to a wooden platform.

An aircraft maintenance engineer (AME), whom the pilot had asked to visually inspect the installation, recognized that the aft ferry tank capacity was twice that permitted by centre-of-gravity (CG) limitations. The AME and the pilot discussed fuel loading limits, and the pilot understood that using the full capacity of the aft tank would place the aircraft outside of its aft CG limits. To stay within the aft CG limit, the aft tank could be filled to only half of its capacity.

The AME had assisted the pilot in completing the documentation required for approval of the ferry fuel system and the ferry flight by regulatory authorities; however, the documents were not submitted. No ferry flight permit was issued for the intended flight, nor was a maintenance release completed. When ferry flight permits are issued for light aircraft on transatlantic flights, a 10% increase in the maximum gross take-off weight is usually allowed; the CG limits remain the same.

Transport Canada (TC) Maintenance Staff Instruction 45, section 4, paragraph 4.4 states:

  • Gross Weight Increase: An aeroplane gross weight increase of a maximum of 10% is allowed without the need for substantiation, except in the case of aircraft where a Special Overweight Ferry Flight Authorization is specifically stated in the Type Certificate - e.g. the Cessna C-172.

The accident aircraft was registered in the US and therefore would require a special flight permit from the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to fly in a modified and overweight condition. According to Federal Aviation Regulation 21.197, FAA may issue a special flight permit, for many purposes, for an aircraft that may not currently meet applicable airworthiness requirements but is capable of safe flight. One purpose would be to authorize operation of an aircraft at a weight exceeding its maximum certificated take-off weight for flight beyond its normal range over water, or over land areas where adequate landing facilities or appropriate fuel is not available. Once a flight permit is issued, the aircraft would then be permitted to fly in US airspace. Before the aircraft enters Canadian airspace, the operator is required to forward details of the flight and the FAA-issued special flight permit to TC for review and validation. If the documentation is not submitted, apart from a general ramp inspection program for all aircraft, TC has no systematic means of detecting regulatory noncompliance in ferry flight operations.

There is no indication that TC or the FAA was aware of the planned flight, and there was no other known safety oversight of this flight by the regulator.

The aircraft departed Calgary for the journey on 07 March 2001. During the trip to St. John's, the pilot kept a detailed fuel log, which showed that he did not completely fill the aft ferry tank until the aircraft arrived in St. John's on March 13. In St. John's, the wing tanks and both ferry tanks were filled to capacity, placing the CG beyond the aft limit. The pilot had never flown the aircraft in this CG condition. After being refuelled, the aircraft was towed inside a hangar, where it remained overnight.


The pilot then purchased provisions from a local grocery store and checked into a hotel at about 2015. He arrived at the St. John's Flight Service Station (FSS) at about 0330 the next morning and was reported to be alert. He received a pre-flight briefing from the duty FSS specialist and proceeded to the hangar to complete the pre-flight check of the aircraft. The aircraft was then towed to the ramp.

After the aircraft was started, the pilot contacted the St. John's FSS at 0431 and requested an instrument flight rules clearance. He received the following weather information from the FSS: altimeter 30.05 inches of mercury; visibility 15 statute miles; ceiling 600 feet overcast; temperature -6ºC; dewpoint -9ºC; and wind calm. The pilot advised FSS of his intent to use Runway 16 for departure.1 The pilot received his instrument flight rules clearance and, at 0450, advised the FSS that he was on the take-off roll.

The aircraft crashed on the southern shore of Quidi Vidi Lake, approximately 300 feet from residential housing. An eyewitness quickly found the aircraft, and emergency response authorities were advised. The pilot was fatally injured at impact. Post-mortem examination did not reveal any indication that incapacitation or physiological factors had affected pilot performance.

At impact, the aircraft broke into three sections. Damage was consistent with the aircraft being in a left spin, which was confirmed by eyewitness accounts. Both engine nacelles were torn downward from the wings, and both propellers were slightly bent. The emergency locator transmitter, located in the empennage behind the aft cabin bulkhead, was damaged by impact forces and did not transmit. When the aircraft wreckage was examined, there was no indication of ice accumulation. At least two plastic grocery bags containing provisions for the flight were found on the floor in front of the right pilot's seat. The carrying handles of the bags were slung over the right arm of the pilot's right control yoke. By the way the handles were slung over the yoke, it is concluded that they were very likely placed there by the pilot.

Although a number of control cables were severed at impact, flight control system continuity was confirmed. The nose "up" stabilator trim-tab cable was severed and had several frayed strands; however, analysis determined that trim cable separation occurred at impact. The stabilator trim tab was found in a neutral trim position. The flap selector switch was found in a "down" position; however, because of conflicting impact signatures on the control surfaces, a flap position at impact could not be determined. According to the pilot's operating handbook, use of flaps is discretionary on take-off. It is not known if the pilot had selected any flap for take-off.

Both propellers had impact damage consistent with a low-power setting. Blades were on the fine pitch stops, consistent with the propeller pitch lever settings. Throttle controls were in the idle position, and mixture controls in the full-rich position. Throttle positions were consistent with the positioning required for recovery from a spin. All engine control cables were connected and functional. Fuel samples were drawn from each tank at the accident site; all samples were clear and free of contamination. After the aircraft was moved to a storage facility, further samples were drawn from both fuel injector inlet screens and respective fuel distribution manifolds. Fuel was present in supply lines between the engine firewall to the fuel injector servo. All samples were clean and showed no sign of contamination. The engines were transported to an engine overhaul facility where they were test run; they ran well and produced the required maximum-rated power.

A considerable amount of cargo, much of which was not necessary for the ferry flight, was on board. The cargo included tins of paint, engine parts, aircraft instruments, and unnecessary aviation publications. Passenger seats had been placed on top of the ferry tank system and were unrestrained. The cargo was removed from the aircraft and weighed. The aircraft was at least 425 pounds above its maximum allowable gross take-off weight of 3800 pounds, and the CG was approximately three inches beyond the aft limit. No record of a weight and balance calculation was found.

Position of the CG affects aircraft stability and manoeuvrability. An out-of-limits CG may cause an aircraft to become uncontrollable during configuration changes (such as lowering or raising the flaps or landing gear, increasing power, or decreasing speed). An aft CG would have reduced the forward control authority available to counter a sudden nose-up pitch and would have hampered the pilot's ability to recover from a nose-high attitude or a spin.

Analysis

Radar data indicated that, even with the overloading and a CG about three inches beyond the aft limit, the aircraft had at least a moderate climb capability and was capable of controlled flight. There was no apparent mechanical cause for the sudden departure from controlled flight, and flight controls were operable before impact. Both engines were operating at impact and were capable of producing rated power. Positioning of the engine controls at the idle position suggests that the pilot was conscious when he lost control and that he was attempting to recover the aircraft.

There was no indication that the aircraft encountered icing during its brief exposure (about 40 seconds) to instrument meteorological conditions. It is unlikely that the pilot became disorientated because he lost control below the reported cloud base.

It could not be determined why control of the aircraft was lost. However, several scenarios could have led to the sudden climb: the handles of the grocery bags, which were slung over the right control yoke, might have impeded control yoke movement; unsecured cargo might have shifted, worsening the CG condition; or retraction of the flaps might have induced the loss of control. The aft CG likely contributed to the suddenness of the aircraft pitch-up and would have made regaining control of the aircraft difficult or impossible. The heavy weight of the aircraft would also have affected controllability.

By failing to obtain the required approvals from regulatory authorities and by operating the aircraft outside of its flight envelope, the pilot appears to have disregarded normal safe operating practices and aviation regulations, thereby putting himself and others at risk. Had TC inspected the aircraft before the transatlantic flight, deficiencies in the approval process and operation of the flight would likely have been detected and corrected. However, no documentation had been submitted to TC, and TC was unaware of the proposed flight.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory Report was completed:

  • LP 20/2001 - Stabilator Trim Cable

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Control of the aircraft was lost for undetermined reasons three minutes after take-off, during the climb.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The aircraft was more than 11% above its maximum allowable gross take-off weight, and the centre of gravity was three inches beyond the aft limit, increasing the risk of control difficulties.
  2. Cargo stowed on top of the ferry tanks was not secured.
  3. The pilot showed a disregard for normal safe operating practices and aviation regulations.
  4. Transport Canada was not aware of the proposed ferry flight and therefore could not intervene.

Other Findings

  1. The "up" stabilator trim cable showed signs of fraying; however, it was determined the cable failed at impact.
  2. The emergency locator transmitter was damaged on impact and did not transmit.
  3. The ferry tank installation was not approved.
  4. A maintenance release was not completed after ferry tank system installation.
  5. Necessary documents for the ferry flight were not submitted to regulatory authorities.

Safety Action

This accident was the first of two fatal air accidents in Atlantic Canada in 2001. The other fatal accident (TSB Report No A01A0058) involved a Piper PA-31 that crashed shortly after take-off, killing the pilot and two passengers and seriously injuring a third passenger. Both occurrences involved overloading and incorrect stowage of cargo. On 13 July 2001, TSB released an occurrence bulletin to Transport Canada, giving details of the occurrences and identifying aircraft loading as a safety issue.

Since incorrect loading of aircraft can lead to catastrophic results, including loss of life, the Board is concerned that pilots continue to disregard safety by operating aircraft outside the maximum allowable weight and loading limitations. The Board will continue to monitor this safety issue.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 27 August 2002.


1. The track from St John's Airport to the first turning point (lat. 45º45' N, long. 50º W) was approximately 140º magnetic.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01A0022

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise
Piper PA-30 N8736Y
St. John's (Terre-Neuve)
le 14 mars 2001

Résumé

Le Piper PA-30 Twin Comanche immatriculé aux États-Unis (N8736Y), portant le numéro de série 30-1890, a décollé de la piste 16 de l'aéroport international de St. John's (Terre-Neuve) à 4 h 50, heure normale de Terre-Neuve. Le pilote, seul à bord de l'appareil, effectuait un vol transatlantique de convoyage à destination de Santa Maria, aux Açores (Portugal). Moins d'une minute après le décollage, l'avion est apparu sur l'écran radar du contrôle de la circulation aérienne. Il affichait une altitude de 500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl) et se trouvait à quelque 50 pieds au-dessus du sol, et il suivait l'axe de la piste à une vitesse sol de 100 noeuds. Lorsque l'appareil a atteint 350 pieds au-dessus du sol, sa vitesse sol avait atteint 120 noeuds et elle continuait d'augmenter.

À ce moment-là, le pilote a accusé réception d'une instruction reçue de la station d'information de vol qui lui indiquait de contacter le centre de contrôle régional de Gander. Les données radar indiquent que l'appareil a continué à monter de façon régulière à un taux d'environ 350 pieds par minute jusqu'à une altitude d'environ 900 pieds asl. La vitesse de l'appareil, qui était alors d'environ 135 noeuds, s'est alors mise à diminuer graduellement, et l'appareil a commencé à monter à un taux de 1 200 pieds par minute. À 2 200 pieds asl et à une vitesse de 70 noeuds, l'appareil est parti en descente verticale qui s'est poursuivie jusqu'à l'impact. L'avion s'est écrasé presque à l'horizontale à environ 3 milles marins de l'extrémité départ de la piste 16, dans un quartier résidentiel de St. John's. Le pilote a été tué sur le coup; l'appareil a été détruit.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote avait déjà effectué plus de 30 vols transatlantiques de convoyage. Il s'était occupé des préparatifs de l'avion en vue du vol de convoyage et il avait obtenu les approbations nécessaires pour le vol de convoyage et en ce qui concerne les modifications apportées à l'avion. Avant que le pilote quitte sa base située à Calgary (Alberta), un système de réservoirs de convoyage avait été installé dans la cabine. Il s'agissait de deux fûts de 45 gallons placés en diagonale et arrimés à une plate-forme en bois.

Le technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) à qui le pilote avait demandé d'effectuer une inspection visuelle de l'installation a constaté que le réservoir de convoyage arrière pouvait contenir le double de la quantité permise par les limites de centrage. Le TEA et le pilote ont discuté des limites de charge carburant, et le pilote a compris que le fait de voler avec un réservoir arrière rempli à ras bord placerait le centre de gravité de l'avion derrière la limite de centrage arrière. Le réservoir arrière ne pouvait donc être rempli qu'à moitié pour respecter la limite de centrage arrière.

Le TEA a aidé le pilote à remplir les documents nécessaires à l'approbation du système de réservoirs de convoyage et du vol de convoyage par les autorités réglementaires; cependant, les documents n'ont pas été soumis à qui de droit. Aucun permis de vol de convoyage n'a été délivré pour le vol ayant mené à l'accident, et aucune certification après maintenance n'a été effectuée. Lorsqu'un permis de vol de convoyage est délivré pour un avion léger en vue d'un vol transatlantique de convoyage, une augmentation de 10 % de la masse maximale au décollage est habituellement permise. Le centrage demeure le même.

Le paragraphe 4.4 de l'article 4 de la Directive visant le personnel de la Maintenance (DPM) 45, de Transports Canada, stipule ce qui suit :

  • Augmentation de la masse brute : Une augmentation maximale de 10 % de la masse brute de l'avion est autorisée sans justification, sauf dans le cas d'un aéronef dont le certificat de type comporte spécifiquement une autorisation spéciale de vol de convoyage en surcharge - p. ex. le Cessna C-172.

Du fait que l'appareil était immatriculé aux États-Unis, il nécessitait un permis de vol spécial de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pour pouvoir être utilisé en surcharge avec les modifications qui avaient été apportées. Selon la Federal Aviation Regulation (FAR) 21.197, la FAA peut délivrer un permis de vol spécial, pour de nombreuses raisons, à un appareil qui ne satisfait pas, au moment de la demande, aux exigences de navigabilité applicables mais qui peut effectuer un vol en toute sécurité. De cette manière, il est possible, par exemple, d'autoriser un avion dont la masse dépasse la masse maximale homologuée au décollage à effectuer un vol dépassant la distance normale au-dessus de l'eau ou au-dessus du sol lorsqu'il n'existe aucune installation d'atterrissage adéquate et qu'il n'est pas possible d'obtenir le carburant approprié. Après la délivrance du permis, l'avion peut être autorisé à évoluer dans l'espace aérien des États-Unis. Avant que l'avion entre dans l'espace aérien canadien, l'exploitant doit faire parvenir à Transports Canada les détails relatifs au vol ainsi que le permis de vol spécial délivré par la FAA pour examen et validation. Si les documents ne sont pas soumis, TC n'a aucun moyen systématique de détecter les cas de non-conformité au règlement en ce qui concerne les vols de convoyage, à moins qu'il ne décide de faire une inspection générale des avions se trouvant sur l'aire de trafic.

Rien n'indique que Transports Canada ou la FAA ait été au courant du vol ayant mené à l'accident, et selon l'information recueillie, il n'y a eu aucune autre supervision de sécurité effectuée par l'organisme de réglementation pour ce vol.

L'appareil a décollé de Calgary le 7 mars 2001. Pendant le vol à destination de St. John's, le pilote a tenu un carnet carburant qui indique que le réservoir de convoyage arrière n'a pas été rempli à ras bord, du moins jusqu'à l'arrivée de l'avion à St. John's le 13 mars. À St. John's, les réservoirs des ailes ainsi que les deux réservoirs de convoyage ont été remplis à ras bord, ce qui a placé le centre de gravité derrière la limite arrière. Le pilote n'avait jamais piloté cet avion dans de telles conditions de centrage. Après le ravitaillement en carburant, l'avion a été remorqué à l'intérieur d'un hangar où il a passé la nuit.


Le pilote a ensuite acheté des provisions à une épicerie de l'endroit et il s'est enregistré à l'hôtel vers 20 h 15. Il est arrivé à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de St. John's vers 3 h 30 le lendemain matin, et selon l'information recueillie, il était frais et dispos. Il a reçu un exposé avant vol de la part du spécialiste FSS de service, puis il s'est rendu au hangar afin de terminer les vérifications avant vol de l'appareil. L'avion a ensuite été remorqué jusqu'à l'aire de trafic.

À 4 h 31, après avoir procédé au démarrage de l'avion, le pilote a communiqué avec la FSS de St. John's et a demandé l'autorisation d'effectuer un vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR). Le pilote a reçu les renseignements météo suivants de la FSS : calage altimétrique de 30,05 pouces de mercure; visibilité de 15 milles terrestres ; plafond couvert à 600 pieds, température de  -6º C; point de rosée de -9º C; et vents calmes. Le pilote a indiqué à la FSS qu'il avait l'intention d'utiliser la piste 16 pour le décollage.1 À 4 h 50, le pilote a reçu l'autorisation d'effectuer le vol en IFR , et il a signalé qu'il effectuait la course au décollage.

L'avion s'est écrasé sur la rive sud du lac Quidi Vidi, à environ 300 pieds d'une zone résidentielle. L'épave a rapidement été découvert par un témoin de l'accident, et les services d'intervention d'urgence ont été prévenus. Le pilote a été tué sur le coup. D'après l'autopsie, rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé le comportement du pilote.

L'avion s'est rompu en trois parties au moment de l'impact. Les dommages relevés sont typiques d'une vrille vers la gauche, ce qui a été confirmé par les renseignements donnés par les témoins oculaires. Les deux fuseaux moteurs ont été arrachés de l'aile vers le bas, et les deux hélices étaient légèrement déformées. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) était située dans l'empennage derrière la cloison arrière de la cabine. Elle présentait des dommages attribuables au choc et elle ne s'est pas déclenchée à l'impact. L'examen de l'épave n'a révélé aucun indice lié à une accumulation de glace. Au moins deux sacs en plastique contenant des provisions pour le vol ont été trouvés sur le plancher, devant le siège pilote en place droite. Les sacs étaient suspendus par les poignées au côté droit du demi-volant droit. Selon toute vraisemblance, étant donné la façon que les poignées étaient suspendues au demi-volant, les sacs auraient été placés à cet endroit par le pilote.

Même si de nombreux câbles de commande ont été sectionnés à l'impact, il a été possible de confirmer la continuité des commandes de vol. Le câble du compensateur du stabilisateur monobloc qui commande le cabré de l'avion avait été sectionné et il comportait de nombreux torons éraillés; cependant, une analyse a permis d'établir que le câble du compensateur s'était rompu à l'impact. Le compensateur du stabilisateur monobloc a été trouvé en position neutre. Le sélecteur des volets a été trouvé à la position down; cependant, en raison des marques d'impact contradictoires trouvées sur les gouvernes, il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la position des volets à l'impact. Selon le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion, l'utilisation des volets est optionnelle au décollage. Il n'est pas possible d'affirmer que le pilote a sélectionné les volets au décollage.

Les deux hélices présentaient des dommages attribuables à l'impact et typiques d'un réglage à bas régime. Les pales reposaient sur les butées de petit pas, ce qui correspond au réglage de la commande de pas des hélices. Les manettes des gaz étaient en position de ralenti, et les commandes de richesse, en position plein riche. Les manettes des gaz étaient en position pour une sortie de vrille. Tous les câbles de commande des moteurs étaient raccordés et en état de fonctionner. Des échantillons de carburant ont été recueillis dans chaque réservoir sur le lieu de l'accident; les échantillons ne contenaient ni eau ni impuretés. L'avion a été amené à un autre endroit où il a été entreposé, et d'autres échantillons ont été recueillis dans la crépine d'entrée des deux injecteurs de carburant et dans leurs tubulures de distribution respectives. Il y avait du carburant dans les conduites d'alimentation entre la cloison pare-feu du moteur et l'asservisseur de l'injecteur de carburant. Les échantillons ne contenaient ni eau ni impuretés. Les moteurs ont été transportés à un atelier de révision de moteurs où ils ont subi des essais au banc. Les moteurs ont bien fonctionné et ils ont produit la puissance maximale nominale requise.

Au moment de l'accident, l'avion transportait une quantité considérable de fret qui n'était pas du tout nécessaire pour le vol de convoyage, notamment des pots de peinture, des pièces de moteur, des instruments d'aéronef et des publications aéronautiques non nécessaires. Des sièges passagers reposaient sur les réservoirs de convoyage sans être arrimés. Le fret a été retiré de l'avion et a été pesé. La masse de l'avion était supérieure d'au moins 425 livres à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage de 3 800 livres, et le centre de gravité se trouvait à environ trois pouces à l'arrière de la limite arrière. Aucun document n'a été trouvé permettant de penser que la masse et le centrage de l'avion avaient été calculés.

La position du centre de gravité a un effet sur la stabilité et la manoeuvrabilité d'un avion. Si le centre de gravité se trouve à l'extérieur des limites, il se peut que l'avion devienne impossible à maîtriser durant les changements de configuration (comme la sortie ou la rentrée des volets ou du train d'atterrissage, une augmentation de la puissance ou une diminution de la vitesse). Le centrage arrière aurait réduit l'efficacité du demi-volant vers l'avant pour compenser un cabré soudain de l'avion et aurait réduit les chances du pilote de redresser l'avion en cas de cabré ou de vrille.

Analyse

Malgré la surcharge et le fait que le centre de gravité se trouvait à trois pouces derrière la limite arrière, les données radar indiquent que l'avion pouvait au moins effectuer une montée modérée et qu'il était maîtrisable. Aucune cause mécanique apparente n'explique la perte de maîtrise soudaine, et les gouvernes fonctionnaient avant l'impact. Les deux moteurs tournaient à l'impact et étaient en mesure de produire la puissance nominale. La position des manettes des gaz au ralenti laisse croire que le pilote était conscient lorsqu'il a perdu la maîtrise de l'appareil et qu'il a tenté de redresser l'avion.

Rien n'indique que l'appareil ait volé dans des conditions de givrage durant le peu de temps (40 secondes) où il a volé dans des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments. Il est peu probable que le pilote ait été désorienté puisqu'il a perdu la maîtrise de l'appareil sous la base des nuages signalée.

Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la cause de la perte de maîtrise de l'avion. Plusieurs situations auraient toutefois pu donner lieu à un mouvement de cabré soudain : les sacs de provisions qui étaient suspendus au demi-volant droit ont pu gêner le déplacement de la commande; du fret non arrimé a pu se déplacer et aggraver le centrage; ou la rentrée des volets a pu provoquer la perte de maîtrise. Le centrage arrière a sans doute contribué au brusque mouvement de cabré et a pu rendre le redressement de l'avion difficile, voire impossible. La masse élevée de l'avion peut également avoir eu un effet sur la maîtrise de l'avion.

Il semble que le pilote n'a pas utilisé des méthodes d'exploitation sûres et n'a pas respecté la réglementation aérienne puisqu'il n'a pas obtenu les approbations nécessaires de la part des autorités réglementaires et qu'il a exploité l'avion à l'extérieur de son domaine de vol, ce qui a compromis sa sécurité et celle d'autres personnes. Selon toute vraisemblance, si Transports Canada avait inspecté l'avion avant le vol transatlantique, les anomalies liées au processus d'approbation et au vol auraient été détectées et corrigées. Cependant, du fait qu'aucun document n'avait été remis à Transports Canada, ce dernier n'était pas au courant du vol prévu.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 20/2001 - Stabilator Trim Cable(Câble du compensateur du stabilisateur monobloc).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Pour une raison qui n'a pas été déterminée, il y a eu perte de maîtrise de l'avion en montée, trois minutes après le décollage.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La masse de l'avion était supérieure de 11 % à la masse maximale autorisée au décollage, et le centre de gravité se trouvait à trois pouces derrière la limite arrière, ce qui a augmenté les risques de difficultés à maîtriser l'appareil.
  2. Le fret qui se trouvait sur les réservoirs de convoyage n'était pas arrimé.
  3. Le pilote n'a pas utilisé des méthodes d'exploitation sûres et n'a pas respecté la réglementation aérienne.
  4. Transports Canada n'était pas au courant du vol de convoyage; il n'a donc pas pu intervenir.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le câble du compensateur du stabilisateur monobloc qui commande le cabré de l'avion présentait des signes d'effilochage; cependant, l'enquête a établi que le câble s'était rompu à l'impact.
  2. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) a été endommagée à l'impact et elle ne s'est pas déclenchée.
  3. Le système de réservoirs de convoyage n'était pas approuvé.
  4. Une certification après maintenance n'a pas été exécutée pour l'installation du système de réservoirs de convoyage.
  5. Les documents nécessaires au vol de convoyage n'ont pas été soumis aux autorités réglementaires.

Mesures de sécurité

La région de l'Atlantique a connu deux accidents mortels en 2001; le présent accident s'est produit en premier. Pour ce qui est de l'autre accident mortel (rapport A01A0058 du BST), il s'agit d'un Piper PA-31 qui s'est écrasé peu après le décollage; le pilote et deux passagers ont été tués et un autre passager a été grièvement blessé. Dans les deux cas, on a constaté un problème de surcharge et de mauvais arrimage du fret. Le 13 juillet 2001, le BST a envoyé un bulletin d'événement aéronautique à Transports Canada faisant état des circonstances des accidents; dans ce bulletin, le BST signalait le chargement du fret comme étant un problème de sécurité.

Puisque les conséquences du chargement du fret dans un avion peuvent être catastrophiques, comme des pertes de vie, le Bureau est préoccupé par le fait que des pilotes ne se soucient pas de la sécurité et continuent d'exploiter leurs appareils à une masse supérieure à la masse maximale autorisée et en surcharge. Le Bureau va continuer de surveiller la situation étroitement.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée par le Bureau le 27 août 2002.


1.   La trajectoire entre l'aéroport de St John's et le premier point de virage (45º 45' de latitude N et 50º de longitude O) suivait un cap au 140 degrés magnétique.