Aviation Investigation Report A01C0064

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Forced Landing—Dynamic Roll-over
Heli-Max Ltd.
McDonnell Douglas 369E (HU50) C-FMHM
Baker Lake, Nunavut, 26 nm N
28 April 2001

Summary

The helicopter was transporting rock core samples from Meadowbank Camp, Nunavut, to Baker Lake, a distance of approximately 50 nautical miles. A loud bang occurred while flying in level cruise flight at 500 feet above ground level, and the helicopter cyclic control immediately began to vibrate. A second bang followed almost immediately, and the anti-torque pedals began to vibrate. All engine indications were normal. Nevertheless, the pilot decided to make a precautionary landing at a site 26 nautical miles north of Baker Lake. Just before the helicopter touched down, the pilot lost his visual reference in whiteout conditions and blowing snow. The tail stinger and the right skid touched the snow-covered surface, and the helicopter rolled onto its right side. During the rollover, the main-rotor blades, the main-rotor head, and their respective control components sustained extensive damage. As the helicopter rolled onto its side, the pilot reduced the throttle to flight-idle. When everything settled, the uninjured pilot pulled the fuel shut-off selector, climbed from the helicopter, and moved away a safe distance. The accident occurred at 2035 central daylight time; sunset was at approximately 2130.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot had been flying as a commercial helicopter pilot since 1993. He held a valid Transport Canada Category 1 medical with no limitations. His Transport Canada commercial helicopter licence was endorsed for operating BH06, S-350, HU50, and HU52 helicopters. At the time of the occurrence, he had accumulated a total flying time of 3327 hours, with 88 hours on the HU50 (the occurrence aircraft type) and 303.6 hours on the NOTAR HU52N. He was well rested on the day of the occurrence and had flown less than two hours within the previous 24 hours.

On the morning of the occurrence, the pilot completed his daily inspections and certifications so that the helicopter would be ready should a medevac flight be required. At supper, the pilot was advised that the camp was preparing a shipment of core samples. When the core samples were ready, there was an opening in the weather at the camp, and enough time remained to complete the return trip before dark.

The community aerodrome radio station (CARS) weather recorded at 2100 central daylight time(1) for the Baker Lake, Nunavut, airport indicated the following: wind 100º at 13 knots, visibility 10 statute miles with light snow and drifting snow, a few clouds at 1100 feet, overcast clouds at 2500 feet, temperature -6ºC, dewpoint -7ºC, and altimeter setting 29.71 inches of mercury.

The pilot did not contact the CARS for weather information before the flight. Camp personnel called Baker Lake on behalf of the pilot and determined that the weather in the community was clearing. The pilot's estimate of the weather at Meadowbank Camp was essentially the same as the conditions recorded by the CARS. Camp personnel advised the shipper in Baker Lake that the pilot had checked the weather and would be conducting the flight. The shipper went to the airport and waited in the CARS for the helicopter's arrival.

The pilot reasoned that the intent of a flight itinerary had been fulfilled because the camp had called the shipper to be waiting for his arrival at Baker Lake. Although the company operations manual requires a written flight itinerary, the pilot did not complete one. Furthermore, he did not call the CARS to advise of the flight. During the flight and just before the occurrence, the pilot deviated slightly from a direct-line course to fly around a cloud / local squall.

Because he was not injured in the accident, the pilot reasoned that his situation might not be an emergency, and he was unsure whether to use the emergency locator transmitter (ELT). He turned the ELT on for a short time then off. Procedures outlined in the company operations manual and in Transport Canada's Aeronautical Information Publication direct that the ELT be turned on and remain that way until rescue. The Rescue Co-ordination Centre (RCC) at Trenton, Ontario, received the short-duration signal and determined the crash site location. The shipper was at the CARS when the RCC called to advise of an ELT signal 26 nautical miles north of Baker Lake, and the CARS operator was able to confirm that a helicopter was operating in that vicinity. The shipper called the camp and confirmed that the helicopter had not returned, then he made appropriate calls to begin arranging search parties. A search-and-rescue Hercules aircraft was dispatched from Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The local Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) detachment was advised of the occurrence. Under the RCMP's direction, ground search parties were dispatched from Meadowbank Camp and from Baker Lake. When the downed pilot saw the lights of search vehicles, he tried to attract their attention using the three flares that were packed in the survival kit. None of the flares fired up into the sky; instead, they exited the flare tube and dropped almost immediately to the ground. The flares were two months from their date of expiry. The pilot turned on the helicopter lights and attracted the attention of the rescuers. The pilot was found approximately four hours after the accident. The crew of the Hercules aircraft were advised that the pilot was safe, and the aircraft returned to Winnipeg.

The survival kit flares were manufactured in January 1997, with an expiry date of July 2001. The flare manufacturer was unaware of any problems with the January 1997 production run. There are no specified requirements to test flare performance under extreme temperature conditions, but the flares have reportedly been tested under extreme cold, high heat, and high humidity. The flares were close to their expiry date and might have been on board the helicopter for nearly four years. It was thought that prolonged exposure of the flares to helicopter vibration might have caused the propellant within the flares to become packed down, reducing their performance. All three flares in the survival kit were used, so the condition of the propellant in the flares could not be determined. After the occurrence, the operator froze two flares from the January 1997 stock and tested them: neither flare fired.

Records indicate that the helicopter was being maintained in accordance with the provisions of the approved company maintenance manual. The helicopter had 66 hours remaining before the next maintenance inspection, and no defects were reported before the occurrence. The helicopter was equipped with main-rotor blades that were manufactured by Helicopter Technology Corporation. Technical records indicate that the blades had been inspected in accordance with the requirements of Helicopter Technology Corporation's Mandatory Service Bulletin No. 2100-2, issued 06 November 2000. While on remote contract, the pilot performed daily inspections of the helicopter and daily airworthiness directive inspections and certified them in the journey log. The pilot was appropriately trained and authorized to complete these tasks.

Inspection of the wreckage at the site revealed that the main-rotor head, the main-rotor blades, and the rotating and non-rotating flight control components for the main-rotor system had suffered extensive damage. Some failed components of the main-rotor control system were thrown from the helicopter and were not recovered. All components that remained with the helicopter and those that were subsequently recovered were visually inspected and found to have suffered brittle or bending overload failures. The damaged sections of all five main-rotor blades were recovered along with four of the five rotor blade dampers. The failure characteristics of the five main-rotor blades were consistent with the blades being intact, under control, and driven at the time of the dynamic rollover and the subsequent ground impact. It was considered unlikely that any component could separate, in flight, from the main-rotor control system and strike the tail-rotor system without causing a loss of control.

Inspection revealed that the tail-rotor drive components remained intact. The tail rotor turned normally when the main-rotor mast and main transmission were turned by hand. The tail boom was bent upwards, and the tail-rotor drive shaft sustained full-circumference scoring by contact with the internal surface of the tail boom. There was no indication of torsional twisting of the tail-rotor drive shaft. The tail-rotor pitch mechanism functioned appropriately at the tail-rotor assembly, but the control rod and bell crank in the vicinity of the control closet near the top of the helicopter had incurred overload failures.

Both tail-rotor blades, inboard of the leading-edge abrasion strips, had suffered a bending failure of approximately five degrees. The tip of each blade moved a uniform distance away from the tail boom. In addition to this uniform bending, the outer portions of each blade showed torsional twisting toward a more-coarse blade angle, with one of the blades twisted more than the other. Foreign object damage was noted at the tail-rotor drive fork and the tail-rotor pitch control links. The tail-rotor pitch control link attached to the less-twisted tail-rotor blade was bent to a greater degree than the pitch control link attached to the more-twisted tail-rotor blade.

To assess whether the tail-rotor blades failed in flight, the tail-rotor gearbox and the tail-rotor assembly were removed as a complete unit and forwarded to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for further inspection and analysis. It was determined that the outward bending of the tail-rotor blades most probably resulted from the tail-rotor blades contacting the snow-covered ground. The bends in the blades were unidirectional. It was assessed that the blades would have suffered two-way bending if they had failed in flight. The unequal bends in the pitch control links could have caused vibration but should not have caused in-flight bending of the blades in the manner noted.

The helicopter did not yaw to the left during the flight. Had the engine lost power, the helicopter would be expected to yaw to the left. Inspection of the engine and the engine compartment did not disclose any damage to the engine, engine mounts, or other engine-related components. The engine controls maintained continuity and functioned normally when operated from the cockpit. The fuel shut-off selector and valve were inspected and found to function normally. The engine fuel system was vacuum tested; no air leaks were present. The main-rotor drive shaft was removed. On inspection, it was evident that the shaft was torsionally twisted in a manner that was consistent with the shaft being driven when the main rotors struck the ground. The sprag clutch and the main transmission functioned normally, and the compressor and turbine sections of the engine could be turned freely by hand.

On the day before the occurrence, the helicopter had been fuelled from sealed drums at the camp. After the accident, a sample of fuel was obtained from the helicopter and forwarded to the TSB Engineering Laboratory. The fuel was tested and found to be good-quality Jet-B fuel with no sign of contaminants.

The operator had produced comprehensive maintenance, safety, and operations manuals. The operations manual outlined the pilot-in-command's procedures and responsibilities when away from base. These requirements included checking for current weather conditions before flight and filing a flight plan or a flight itinerary before flight. A company form was appended to the operations manual to complete these requirements. In the event of an accident, the ELT was to be turned on until rescue.

Analysis

Two distinct in-flight events occurred: one causing vibrations in the cyclic control; another causing vibrations in the anti-torque pedals. The bent tail boom and the bends in the tail-rotor blades were consistent with the stinger and the tail rotor contacting the snow-covered ground on landing. Both blades were bent in a consistent manner away from the tail boom, suggesting that the rotor blades were being driven at high speed when they contacted the denser medium of the snow. Additionally, the tail-rotor blades showed dissimilar torsional bending that could indicate that the blades were at different blade angles when they passed through the snow. The uneven bends in the tail-rotor pitch control links would result in dissimilar tail-rotor blade angles, and the blade with the greater blade angle was found to be more torsionally bent. It could not be determined what foreign object had come into contact with the tail-rotor pitch control links. Unequal blade angles, in flight, would result in anti-torque pedal vibrations similar to those described by the pilot.

The extensive damage to the main-rotor blades and the primary flight controls of the helicopter during the rollover precluded the determination of any subtle in-flight failure, loosening, or separation of a control component that might have resulted in the control vibrations. It was considered unlikely that a component could separate, in flight, from the main-rotor control system and strike the tail-rotor system without causing the helicopter to become uncontrollable. The fact that the pilot was able to arrest the descent, stop the forward motion, and control the yaw of the helicopter during the landing indicates that the helicopter was controllable.

The pilot did not follow the procedures outlined in the company operations manual that related to filing written flight itineraries and operation of the ELT.

It could not be determined why the flares failed to operate properly.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory reports were completed:

  • LP 034/01—Fuel Sample Analysis
  • LP 035/01—Examination of Damage to Tail Rotor Blades

These reports are available upon request from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. During the landing, the pilot lost visual reference in blowing snow, and the helicopter entered a dynamic rollover after touchdown.
  2. Foreign object damage was noted on the tail rotor.
  3. Extensive crash damage to the main-rotor blades, the main-rotor mast components, and the main-rotor control system precluded determining the cause of the pre-impact control vibrations.
  4. The pre-impact control vibrations did not affect the overall controllability of the helicopter during the power-on landing.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Although the company operations manual requires a written flight itinerary, the pilot did not complete one.
  2. Although the company operations manual requires the pilot to turn the emergency locator transmitter on and leave it on after an accident, the pilot did not do so.
  3. Flares from the survival kit did not function as intended and were ineffective as a means of attracting attention.

Safety Action Taken

  • The operator reviewed the flight-following procedures that were outlined in the company operations manual and found them to be satisfactory. Company pilots were provided additional training to ensure that they follow the specified procedures.
  • The company safety system was upgraded to emphasize the need for flight following and flight planning, with a preference for establishing a flight plan with local flight service stations.
  • The operator has established Internet access to procedures (in addition to previously existing 24-hour phone and fax access), further ensuring that pilots and engineers can contact the company at all times.
  • The operator has purchased two satellite phones to be used on those rare occasions when other communications methods are not available.
  • The flares that were in the survival kit for the accident aircraft were in their last year of service. They were replaced with flares from a different manufacturer as they expired.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 01 May 2002.


1.    All times are central daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus five hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01C0064

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Atterrissage forcé—Basculement dynamique
Heli-Max Ltée
McDonnell Douglas 369E (HU50), C-FMHM
26 NM au nord de Baker Lake (Nunavut)
28 avril 2001

Résumé

L'hélicoptère transportait des échantillons de roche dure sur une distance d'environ 50 milles marins, du camp de Meadowbank (Nunavut) à Baker Lake. Un violent bruit s'est fait entendre pendant la phase de croisière en palier à 500 pieds au-dessus du sol, et la commande cyclique de l'hélicoptère s'est mise immédiatement à vibrer. Un deuxième bruit s'est fait entendre presque aussitôt, et les pédales anticouple ont commencé à vibrer. Toutes les indications du moteur étaient normales, mais le pilote a néanmoins décidé d'effectuer un atterrissage de précaution à un endroit se trouvant à 26 milles marins au nord de Baker Lake. Juste avant le poser de l'hélicoptère, le pilote a perdu toute référence visuelle dans des conditions de voile blanc et de la poudrerie. Le sabot de queue et le patin droit ont touché la surface recouverte de neige, et l'hélicoptère a basculé sur son côté droit. Le pilote a réduit la puissance au ralenti de vol pendant le basculement au cours duquel les pales du rotor principal, la tête du rotor principal et leurs composants de commande respectifs ont subi d'importants dommages. Une fois l'appareil immobilisé, le pilote, indemne, a tiré sur le sélecteur d'arrêt carburant, s'est extirpé de l'hélicoptère et s'est éloigné à une distance où il n'y avait pas de danger. L'accident est survenu à 20 h 35, heure avancée du Centre; le soleil se couchait ce jour-là vers 21 h 30.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote volait en qualité de pilote d'hélicoptère professionnel depuis 1993. Il était titulaire d'un certificat médical de catégorie 1 valide de Transports Canada sans restriction. Sa licence de pilote d'hélicoptère professionnel de Transports Canada comportait une annotation qui lui permettait de piloter des hélicoptères BH06, S-350, HU50 et HU52. Au moment de l'accident, le pilote totalisait 3327 heures de vol, dont 88 sur le HU50 (le type d'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident) et 303,6 sur le NOTAR HU52N. Ayant volé moins de deux heures au cours des 24 heures précédentes, il était bien reposé au moment de l'accident.

Le matin de l'accident, le pilote a effectué ses inspections et certifications quotidiennes pour que l'hélicoptère soit prêt au cas où il devrait effectuer un vol d'évacuation médicale. Au souper, le pilote a été avisé que le camp préparait un chargement d'échantillons de roche dure. Lorsque ces échantillons ont été prêts, il y a eu amélioration passagère des conditions météorologiques au camp, et il restait suffisamment de temps pour effectuer le voyage aller et retour avant la tombée de la nuit.

Les données météorologiques de la station radio d'aérodrome communautaire (CARS) recueillies à 21 h, heure avancée du Centre (HAC)(1), pour l'aéroport de Baker Lake (Nunavut) faisaient état des conditions suivantes : vent du 100 degrés soufflant à 13 noeuds, visibilité de 10 milles terrestres dans de la faible neige et de la poudrerie basse, quelques nuages à 1100 pieds, couvert nuageux à 2500 pieds, température de moins 6 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de moins 7 degrés Celsius et calage altimétrique de 29,71 pouces de mercure.

Le pilote n'a pas communiqué avec la CARS pour s'enquérir des conditions météorologiques avant le vol. Le personnel du camp a appelé Baker Lake de la part du pilote et a estimé que les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient dans la communauté s'amélioraient. Les conditions météorologiques que prévoyait le pilote au camp de Meadowbank étaient essentiellement les mêmes que celles enregistrées par la CARS. Le personnel du camp a avisé l'expéditeur de Baker Lake que le pilote avait vérifié les conditions météorologiques et qu'il effectuerait le vol. L'expéditeur s'est rendu à l'aéroport et il a attendu l'arrivée de l'hélicoptère à l'intérieur de la CARS.

Le pilote a estimé que l'itinéraire de vol n'était pas nécessaire, puisque le camp avait appelé l'expéditeur pour que ce dernier attende l'arrivée de l'hélicoptère à Baker Lake. Même si le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie stipule qu'un itinéraire de vol écrit est requis, le pilote n'en a pas rempli. De plus, ce dernier n'a pas appelé la CARS pour l'aviser du vol. Pendant le vol et juste avant l'accident, le pilote s'est légèrement écarté de sa trajectoire rectiligne pour contourner un nuage et un grain localisé.

N'ayant pas été blessé dans cet accident, le pilote a estimé qu'il ne s'agissait peut-être pas d'une situation d'urgence et il n'était pas certain s'il devait utiliser la balise de repérage d'urgence (ELT). Il l'a activée pour une courte période, puis il l'a désactivée. Les procédures qui figurent dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie et dans la Publication d'information aéronautique de Transports Canada mentionnent que l'ELT doit être activée et qu'elle doit le demeurer jusqu'à l'arrivée des secours. Le Centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage (CCOS) de Trenton (Ontario) a reçu le signal de courte durée et a réussi à déterminer le lieu de l'écrasement.

L'expéditeur se trouvait à la CARS au moment où le CCOS a appelé pour signaler la présence d'un signal provenant d'une ELT située à 26 milles au nord de Baker Lake, et où l'opérateur de la CARS a été en mesure de confirmer qu'un hélicoptère volait dans cette région. L'expéditeur a appelé le camp et confirmé que l'hélicoptère n'était pas revenu, puis il a effectué les appels appropriés pour commencer à organiser les équipes de recherche. Un avion Hercules de recherche et sauvetage a été envoyé de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

Le détachement régional de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a été mis au courant de l'accident. Sous la direction de la GRC, des équipes de recherche au sol ont été envoyées du camp de Meadowbank et de Baker Lake. Lorsque le pilote victime de l'accident a vu les phares des véhicules de recherche, il a tenté d'attirer l'attention de leurs occupants au moyen des trois fusées éclairantes que comportait la trousse de survie. Aucune de ces fusées ne s'est allumée dans le ciel; elles sont plutôt tombées presque aussitôt au sol après être sorties de leur tube. Elles étaient à deux mois de leur date d'expiration. Le pilote a allumé les feux de l'hélicoptère, ce qui a attiré l'attention des secouristes. Il a été retrouvé environ quatre heures après l'accident. L'équipage du Hercules a été avisé que le pilote était hors de danger, puis l'appareil est retourné à Winnipeg.

Les fusées éclairantes de la trousse de survie avaient été fabriquées en janvier 1997 et leur date d'expiration était fixée à juillet 2001. Le fabricant de ces fusées n'était au courant d'aucun problème avec le lot de fabrication de janvier 1997. Il n'existe aucune exigence concernant la vérification du fonctionnement des fusées éclairantes à des températures extrêmes, mais il semble qu'elles aient été testées dans des conditions de froid extrême ainsi que de température et d'humidité élevées. Leur date d'expiration était proche et il est possible qu'elles se trouvaientà bord de l'hélicoptère depuis près de quatre ans. On a pensé que, peut-être, leur exposition prolongée aux vibrations produites par l'hélicoptère ait provoqué la compaction vers le bas de l'agent propulsif se trouvant à l'intérieur des fusées et en ait ainsi réduit l'efficacité. Les trois fusées de la trousse de survie ayant été utilisées, l'état de l'agent propulsif qu'elles contenaient n'a pu être évalué. Après l'accident, l'exploitant a congelé deux fusées du lot de fabrication de janvier 1997 et les a testées : aucune ne s'est allumée.

D'après les dossiers, l'hélicoptère était entretenu conformément au manuel de maintenance approuvé de la compagnie. Il lui restait 66 heures de vol avant la prochaine inspection de maintenance, et aucune anomalie n'avait été signalée avant l'accident. L'hélicoptère était équipé de pales de rotor principal fabriquées par Helicopter Technology Corporation. D'après les dossiers techniques, les pales avaient été inspectées conformément aux exigences figurant dans le bulletin de service obligatoire no 2100-2 de Helicopter Technology Corporation qui avait été publié le 6 novembre 2000. Quand il se trouvait assigné à une base éloignée, le pilote, dans le cadre de son contrat, effectuait des inspections quotidiennes de l'hélicoptère ainsi que des révisions quotidiennes conformément à une consigne de navigabilité qu'il certifiait dans le carnet de route. Le pilote possédait la formation pertinente et était autorisé à effectuer ces tâches.

L'inspection de l'épave sur les lieux de l'accident a révélé que la tête et les pales du rotor principal ainsi que les composants tournants et non tournants des commandes de vol de l'ensemble rotor principal avaient subi des dommages importants. Certains composants rompus du système de commande du rotor principal ont été éjectés de l'hélicoptère et n'ont pas été récupérés. Tous les composants qui étaient demeurés avec l'hélicoptère et ceux qui ont par la suite été récupérés ont été inspectés visuellement, et il a été établi qu'ils s'étaient rompus ou déformés à cause d'une surcharge. Les parties endommagées des cinq pales du rotor principal ont été retrouvées accompagnées de quatre des cinq amortisseurs de pale du rotor. D'après les caractéristiques de rupture des cinq pales du rotor principal, au moment du basculement dynamique et de l'impact avec le sol qui s'en est suivi, les pales étaient intactes, assujetties aux commandes et entraînées. Il a été jugé peu probable qu'un composant du système de commande du rotor principal se soit détaché en vol et ait heurté l'ensemble rotor de queue sans qu'il n'y ait perte de maîtrise.

L'inspection a permis d'établir que les composants d'entraînement du rotor de queue étaient demeurés intacts. Le rotor de queue tournait normalement lorsqu'on faisait tourner le mât du rotor principal et la transmission principale à la main. La poutre de queue était repliée vers le haut, et l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue avait été rayé sur toute sa circonférence à cause de son frottement avec la surface interne de la poutre de queue. Rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu torsion de l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue. Le dispositif de changement de pas du rotor de queue fonctionnait adéquatement dans la partie du rotor de queue mais, dans la région du poste de pilotage, près du toit de l'hélicoptère, la biellette et le guignol s'étaient rompus à cause d'une surcharge.

Les deux pales du rotor de queue étaient pliées d'environ cinq degrés à partir d'un point situé à l'intérieur des bandes d'usure des bords d'attaque. Les extrémités de chaque pale étaient écartées de la poutre de queue d'une même distance . En plus de cette déformation uniforme, l'extérieur de chaque pale comportait des marques de torsion produisant un angle de pale plus grand, l'une des pales étant davantage tordue que l'autre. Des dommages par corps étranger ont été décelés sur la chape d'entraînement du rotor de queue et sur les biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue. La biellette de commande de pas fixée à la pale de rotor de queue la moins tordue était davantage pliée que celle fixée à la pale de rotor de queue la plus tordue.

Pour vérifier si les pales du rotor de queue se sont rompues en vol, on a déposé la boîte de transmission du rotor de queue et le rotor de queue d'un seul bloc, et on les a envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST aux fins d'inspection et d'analyse plus poussées. Il a été établi que le pliage vers l'extérieur des pales du rotor de queue avait très probablement été provoqué par leur contact avec le sol recouvert de neige. Les déformations des pales sont unidirectionnelles. Il a été établi que les pales auraient subi des déformations bidirectionnelles si elles s'étaient rompues en vol. Les déformations inégales des biellettes de commande de pas auraient pu provoquer des vibrations, mais elles n'auraient pas dû provoquer de déformation en vol des pales de la façon mentionnée.

Pendant le vol, l'hélicoptère n'a pas effectué de lacet à gauche, ce qu'il aurait dû faire s'il y avait eu perte de puissance moteur. L'inspection du moteur et du compartiment moteur n'a permis de déceler aucun dommage au moteur, aux supports moteur ni aux autres composants reliés au moteur. Lorsqu'elles ont été utilisées à partir du poste de pilotage, les commandes moteur ont continué de fonctionner de façon continue et normale. L'inspection du sélecteur et du robinet d'arrêt carburant a révélé que ces derniers fonctionnaient normalement. Le circuit carburant du moteur a été testé sous vide; aucune fuite d'air n'a été décelée. L'arbre d'entraînement du rotor principal a été déposé. Son inspection a révélé de façon évidente qu'il était tordu comme s'il avait été entraîné par le moteur au moment où le rotor principal a heurté le sol. L'embrayage à roue libre et la transmission principale fonctionnaient normalement, et les parties compresseur et turbine du moteur pouvaient être tournées librement à la main.

La veille de l'accident, l'hélicoptère a été avitaillé en carburant au camp à partir d'un fût scellé. Après l'accident, un échantillon de carburant de l'hélicoptère a été prélevé et envoyé au Laboratoire technique du BST. Le carburant analysé était du Jet-B de bonne qualité et il n'était pas contaminé.

L'exploitant avait préparé des manuels de maintenance, de sécurité et d'exploitation complets. Le manuel d'exploitation décrivait les procédures et responsabilités du pilote aux commandes lorsqu'il se trouve loin de la base, lesquelles incluent la vérification des conditions météorologiques qui prévalent avant un vol et le dépôt d'un plan ou d'un itinéraire de vol avant un vol. Pour satisfaire à ces exigences, un formulaire de la compagnie avait été ajouté au manuel d'exploitation. En cas d'accident, l'ELT devait être activée et le demeurer jusqu'à l'arrivée des secours.

Analyse

Deux événements distincts sont survenus en vol : l'un a provoqué des vibrations de la commande cyclique et l'autre, des vibrations des pédales anticouple. Les déformations qu'ont subi la poutre de queue et les pales du rotor de queue correspondaient au contact du sabot et du rotor de queue avec le sol recouvert de neige au moment de l'atterrissage. Les deux pales étaient repliées de façon uniforme du côté opposé au rotor de queue, laissant croire que les pales du rotor étaient entraînées à une vitesse élevée lorsqu'elles ont heurté la neige dure. De plus, les pales du rotor de queue portaient des marques de torsion non uniformes, lesquelles pourraient laisser croire que les pales se trouvaient à différents angles lorsqu'elles ont heurté la neige. Les déformations inégales des biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue ont provoqué différents angles des pales du rotor de queue, et il a été établi que la pale qui présentait le plus grand angle était la plus tordue. Il a été impossible de déterminer quel corps étranger avait heurté les biellettes de commande de pas du rotor de queue. En vol, des angles de pale inégaux provoquent des vibrations des pédales anticouple semblables à celles qu'a décrites le pilote.

À cause des importants dommages qu'ont subis les pales du rotor principal et les commandes de vol principales lors du basculement de l'hélicoptère, il a été impossible de déceler toute défaillance subtile en vol, tout desserrage ou tout détachement d'un composant de commande qui auraient pu faire vibrer les commandes. Il a été jugé peu probable qu'un composant du système de commande du rotor principal se soit détaché en vol et ait heurté l'ensemble rotor de queue sans qu'il n'y ait perte de maîtrise de l'hélicoptère. Le fait que le pilote a réussi à stopper la descente et le déplacement vers l'avant ainsi qu'à maîtriser le mouvement de lacet de l'hélicoptère pendant l'atterrissage montre que l'appareil était maîtrisable.

Le pilote n'a pas suivi les procédures mentionnées dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie concernant le dépôt d'itinéraires de vol écrits et le fonctionnement de l'ELT.

Il a été impossible d'établir pourquoi les fusées éclairantes n'ont pas fonctionné correctement.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 034/01 — Fuel Sample Analysis (Analyse d'un échantillon de carburant)
  • LP 035/01 — Examination of Damage to Tail Rotor Blades (Examen des dommages aux pales du rotor de queue)

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Pendant l'atterrissage, le pilote a perdu toute référence visuelle dans de la poudrerie et, après avoir touché le sol, l'hélicoptère a effectué un basculement dynamique.
  2. Des dommages par corps étranger ont été décelés sur le rotor de queue.
  3. À cause des importants dommages qu'ont subis les pales du rotor de queue, les composants du mât du rotor principal et le circPt de commande du rotor principal, il a été impossible de déterminer pour quelle raison les commandes avaient vibré avant l'impact.
  4. Les vibrations des commandes avant l'impact n'ont pas altéré la manoeuvrabilité globale de l'hélicoptère pendant l'atterrissage au moteur.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote n'en a pas rempli un itinéraire de vol écrit alors que le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie l'exige.
  2. Même si le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie stipule que le pilote doit activer la balise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) et que cette dernière doit demeurer activée après l'accident, le pilote n'a pas suivi cette directive.
  3. Les fusées éclairantes de la trousse de survie n'ont pas fonctionné comme prévu et elles n'ont pas réussi à attirer l'attention.

Mesures de sécurité prises

  • L'exploitant a passé en revue les procédures de suivi de vol mentionnées dans le manuel d'exploitation de la compagnie et les a trouvées satisfaisantes; une formation additionnelle a été donnée aux pilotes de la compagnie afin d'assurer que ces derniers suivent les procédures mentionnées.
  • On a amélioré le système de sécurité de la compagnie en insistant sur la nécessité du suivi et de la planification des vols, en favorisant l'établissement des plans de vol en collaboration avec les stations régionales d'information de vol.
  • En plus des procédures d'accès 24 heures sur 24 par téléphone et par télécopieur qui existaient déjà, l'exploitant a mis sur pied un accès Internet garantissant que pilotes et mécaniciens peuvent communiquer en tout temps avec la compagnie.
  • L'exploitant a acheté deux téléphones satellitaires pour les rares occasions où les autres moyens de communication ne seraient pas utilisables.
  • Les fusées éclairantes qui se trouvaient dans la trousse de survie de l'hélicoptère en cause dans cet accident en étaient à leur dernière année de service et, à leur date d'expiration, elles ont été remplacées par des fusées éclairantes d'un autre fabricant.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 1er mai 2002.


1.     Les heures sont exprimées en HAC (temps universel coordonné moins cinq heures).