Aviation Investigation Report A01O0157

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Stoppage on Take-off
Cessna 172N Skyhawk C-GMHU
Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport,
Ontario, 1.4 nm WNW
17 June 2001

Summary

The pilot was conducting a visual flight rules local flight from the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario. When the aircraft reached about 400 to 500 feet above ground level during the initial climb after take-off from Runway 33, the aircraft engine (Lycoming O-320-H2AD) stopped. The pilot began a forced approach and attempted unsuccessfully to restart the engine. The aircraft struck a treetop and the back of a house and came to rest on the back deck of the house. The aircraft and the house were substantially damaged. The occupants of the house were not injured; however, the pilot received serious, non-life-threatening injuries. The accident occurred at 1952 eastern daylight time during daylight.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The accident occurred in visual meteorological conditions. The temperature was 22ºC, the dewpoint was 11ºC, the wind was 320º true at 8 knots, and visibility was 15 statute miles.

The pilot was properly licensed and qualified for the flight. He obtained his aeroplane private pilot licence in October 1996 and accumulated a total of 220 hours of flight time, all of which were on the aircraft type.

The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures.

Photo 1 - Aircraft resting on deck

Photo 1.  Aircraft resting on deck

During the take-off and the initial climb, the pilot did not observe any abnormalities except that the carburettor heat control knob was slightly extended. He pushed the control knob in and kept his hand on it to ensure that it stayed fully in (OFF). He did not detect any degradation of power before the engine stoppage. During the forced approach, the pilot attempted two engine restarts without success. He then moved the fuel selector to OFF before impact. The aircraft turned left toward a residential area and struck a house approximately 1.4 nautical miles west-northwest of the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario. After the aircraft came to rest on the back deck of the house (Photo 1), one of the occupants of the house assisted the pilot in exiting the aircraft. The aircraft windshield broke during the crash, and the pilot exited through the front of the aircraft. Numerous suitable forced landing sites were available off the departure end of Runway 33 had the aircraft continued straight ahead or altered course slightly to the right.

The aircraft was removed from the residential area and examined at the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport. While documenting the aircraft cockpit, it was noted that the fuel selector was OFF. All other controls and switches (mixture, magnetos, and master switch) were in the engine operating position and had not been moved. Damage to the fuel selector mechanism indicated that the fuel selector was OFF at impact. The aircraft fuel tanks were compromised at impact, and an undetermined amount of fuel leaked onto the residential yard. The local fire department responded to the scene, and the fuel remaining in the tanks was captured and contained. The propeller bent rearward when it struck the deck; there was no indication of propeller rotation.

Records indicated that the aircraft departed with ample fuel for the intended flight. There were no indications of contaminated fuel. A preliminary inspection of the engine revealed no mechanical abnormalities. The engine air filter was clean and free of any contamination that could have blocked the airflow to the engine.

The aircraft was secured to attempt an engine start. A fuel supply and an auxiliary power cart were attached to the aircraft, and the engine was started. The engine ran at idle and various power settings for approximately 10 minutes. About 12 seconds after the fuel supply was removed, the engine stopped while at high power. The in-flight loss of engine power could not be explained by any observed engine defect. Considering the phase of flight and the sudden stoppage of the aircraft engine with no prior indications of power degradation, carburettor icing was unlikely a factor in the power loss. The engine magnetos were tested and found to be functional, thereby eliminating the ignition source as a factor in the engine stoppage.

The emergency procedure to be followed in the event of an engine failure immediately after take-off, as stated in the Cessna Aircraft Information Manual, is as follows:

  1. Airspeed - 65 KIAS (flaps UP), 60 KIAS (flaps DOWN).
  2. Mixture - IDLE CUT-OFF.
  3. Fuel Selector Valve - OFF.
  4. Ignition Switch - OFF.
  5. Wing Flaps - AS REQUIRED.
  6. Master Switch - OFF.

The pilot's actions after the engine stoppage were to slow the aircraft to between 70 and 75 knots and to turn the fuel selector switch to OFF. He did not attempt to follow the emergency procedure outlined above.

Analysis

The engine operated successfully during the post-accident engine tests; it could not be determined why the engine stopped during the initial climb. The pilot turned the fuel selector OFF before impact; physical damage confirmed that the fuel selector was OFF before impact.

After the engine stopped, directional control of the aircraft was not maintained, and the aircraft turned left and crashed in a residential area. This occurred when the pilot removed his hand from the control column during his attempts to restart the engine. Because of the low altitude at which the engine stopped, the pilot believed that he did not have sufficient time to conduct the appropriate emergency checklist. He concentrated his efforts on restarting the engine to the detriment of maintaining aircraft control, completing the appropriate checklist items, and conducting an effective forced approach and landing.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. It was not determined why the aircraft engine stopped during the initial climb after take-off. The engine operated successfully during the engine tests, and no mechanical abnormalities were noted.
  2. The pilot did not complete the appropriate emergency checklist, but concentrated instead on attempting to restart the engine. Directional control of the aircraft was not maintained during the forced approach, and the aircraft proceeded toward and crashed in a residential area.

Other Findings

  1. Power did not degrade before the aircraft engine stoppage; carburettor icing was therefore likely not a factor in the occurrence.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 28 March 2002.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01O0157

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Arrêt de moteur au décollage
Cessna 172N Skyhawk C-GMHU
1,4 NM à l'ouest-nord-ouest de
L'aéroport municipal de Toronto / Buttonville
(Ontario)
17 juin 2001

Résumé

Le pilote effectuait un vol local selon les règles de vol à vue à partir de l'aéroport municipal de Toronto / Buttonville (Ontario). Lorsque l'avion a atteint environ 400 à 500 pieds au-dessus du sol au cours de la montée initiale suivant le décollage de la piste 33, le moteur (Lycoming O-320-H2AD) s'est arrêté. Le pilote a entamé une approche pour un atterrissage forcé et tenté en vain de redémarrer le moteur. L'avion a heurté la cime d'arbres et l'arrière d'une maison avant de s'immobiliser sur le patio arrière de celle-ci. L'avion et la maison ont subi de lourds dommages. Les occupants de la maison n'ont pas été blessés; par contre, le pilote a subi des blessures graves mais non mortelles. L'accident s'est produit à 19 h 52, heure avancée de l'Est pendant les heures de clarté.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'accident s'est produit dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue. La température était de 22 ºC, le point de rosée se situait à 11 ºC, le vent soufflait du 320º vrais à 8 noeuds, et la visibilité était de 15 milles terrestres.

Le pilote était titulaire des licences appropriées et il était qualifié pour le vol. Il avait obtenu sa licence de pilote privé en octobre 1996 et avait totalisé 220 heures de vol, toutes sur le type d'aéronef en question.

L'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation existante et aux procédures approuvées.

Photo 1 - Avion immobilisé sur le patio

Photo 1.  Avion immobilisé sur le patio

Au cours du décollage et de la montée initiale, le pilote n'a remarqué aucune anomalie, si ce n'est que le bouton de commande de réchauffage du carburateur était légèrement tiré. Il a repoussé le bouton de commande et a gardé la main dessus pour s'assurer qu'il demeurerait complètement repoussé (OFF). Il n'a décelé aucune détérioration de la puissance avant l'arrêt du moteur. Au cours de l'approche en vue d'un atterrissage forcé, le pilote a tenté en vain à deux reprises de redémarrer le moteur. Il a ensuite réglé le sélecteur de carburant sur OFF avant l'impact. L'avion a viré à gauche vers un quartier résidentiel et a heurté une maison à environ 1,4 mille marin à l'ouest-nord-ouest de l'aéroport municipal de Toronto / Buttonville (Ontario). Une fois que l'avion s'est immobilisé sur le patio arrière de la maison (photo 1), un des occupants de la maison a aidé le pilote à sortir de l'avion. Le pare-brise de l'avion s'est brisé au cours de l'écrasement, et le pilote est sorti par l'avant de l'avion. De nombreux endroits se prêtaient à un atterrissage forcé au-delà de l'extrémité de départ de la piste 33 si l'avion avait continué droit devant ou modifié sa trajectoire légèrement sur la droite.

L'avion a été retiré du quartier résidentiel et examiné à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto / Buttonville. Alors qu'on examinait l'habitacle de l'avion, on a remarqué que le sélecteur de carburant était réglé sur OFF. Toutes les autres commandes et tous les autres commutateurs (richesse, magnétos et interrupteur général) étaient en position correspondant à un fonctionnement du moteur et ils n'avaient pas été déplacés. Les dommages au mécanisme du sélecteur de carburant indiquaient que ce dernier était réglé sur OFF au moment de l'impact. Les réservoirs de carburant de l'avion se sont rompus à l'impact, et une quantité indéterminée de carburant a fui dans le jardin de la maison. Le service des incendies de l'endroit est intervenu, et le carburant qui restait dans les réservoirs a été récupéré et confiné. L'hélice s'est repliée vers l'arrière lorsqu'elle a heurté le patio; il n'y avait aucune indication que l'hélice tournait à ce moment.

Les dossiers ont indiqué que l'avion avait décollé avec amplement de carburant pour le vol prévu. Il n'y avait aucune trace de contamination du carburant. Une inspection préliminaire du moteur n'a révélé aucune anomalie mécanique. Le filtre à air du moteur était propre et exempt de toute contamination qui aurait pu bloquer l'arrivée d'air au moteur.

Les enquêteurs ont immobilisé l'épave pour qu'elle ne présente pas de danger et ont tenté de faire démarrer le moteur. Une alimentation en carburant et un groupe électrogène de parc ont été reliés à l'avion, et l'on a engagé le démarreur. Le moteur a démarré et tourné au ralenti et à divers réglages de puissance pendant environ 10 minutes. Environ 12 secondes après qu'on eut coupé l'alimentation en carburant, le moteur s'est arrêté alors qu'il tournait à haute puissance. Aucune défectuosité mécanique ne pouvait expliquer la perte de puissance du moteur en vol. Compte tenu de la phase du vol et de l'arrêt soudain du moteur de l'avion sans avertissement préalable d'une détérioration de la puissance, le givrage du carburateur n'a probablement rien eu à voir dans la perte de puissance. On a testé les magnétos du moteur et elles fonctionnaient bien, ce qui élimine la source d'allumage comme cause possible de l'arrêt du moteur.

La procédure d'urgence à suivre en cas de panne moteur immédiatement après le décollage, indiquée dans le Cessna Aircraft Information Manual, est la suivante :

  1. Vitesse - 65 KIAS (volets RENTRÉS), 60 KIAS (volets SORTIS).
  2. Richesse - IDLE CUT-OFF.
  3. Sélecteur de carburant - OFF.
  4. Contact d'allumage - OFF.
  5. Volets - AU BESOIN.
  6. Interrupteur général - OFF.

Après l'arrêt du moteur, le pilote a ralenti l'avion à 70 ou 75 noeuds et réglé le sélecteur de carburant sur OFF. Il n'a pas tenté de suivre la procédure d'urgence indiquée ci-dessus.

Analyse

Le moteur a bien fonctionné au cours des essais de moteur effectués après l'accident. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer pourquoi le moteur s'était arrêté au cours de la montée initiale. Le pilote a réglé le sélecteur de carburant sur OFF avant l'impact; les dommages matériels ont confirmé que le sélecteur de carburant était sur OFF avant l'impact.

Après que le moteur s'est arrêté, le pilote n'a pas gardé la maîtrise en direction de l'avion qui a alors viré à gauche pour s'écraser dans un quartier résidentiel. La perte de maîtrise est survenue quand le pilote a lâché le manche pilote pour tenter de redémarrer le moteur. À cause de la basse altitude à laquelle le moteur s'est arrêté, le pilote a cru qu'il n'aurait pas assez de temps pour effectuer la liste des vérifications d'urgence appropriée. Il a fait porter ses efforts sur le redémarrage du moteur au détriment du maintien de la maîtrise en direction de l'avion, de l'exécution de la liste de vérifications appropriée et de l'exécution d'une approche et d'un atterrissage forcé réussis.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer pourquoi le moteur de l'avion s'était arrêté au cours de la montée initiale suivant le décollage. Le moteur a bien fonctionné pendant les essais de moteur, et aucune anomalie mécanique n'a été relevée.
  2. Le pilote n'a pas exécuté la liste des vérifications en cas d'urgence, mais s'est plutôt préoccupé de tenter de redémarrer le moteur. Il a perdu de maîtrise en direction de l'appareil au cours de l'approche pour un atterrissage forcé et l'avion s'est dirigé vers un quartier résidentiel où il s'est écrasé.

Autres faits établis

  1. La puissance ne s'étant pas détériorée progressivement avant l'arrêt du moteur, le givrage du carburateur n'a probablement rien à voir dans cet accident.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 28 mars 2002.