Aviation Investigation Report A01O0164

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Collision
Between Robinson R22 Mariner Helicopter
C-FFFM and Cessna 170B C-GKGG
Uxbridge, Ontario
20 June 2001

Summary

At 2005 eastern daylight time, a Robinson R22 Mariner helicopter, serial number 1071M, with only the pilot on board, departed Lindsay, Ontario, for the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport. At 2022, a Cessna 170, serial number 26290, took off on Runway 18 from a private grass strip, locally known as Sandford Field, with only the pilot on board. The pilot planned to conduct one left-hand circuit and landing. At 2025, the two aircraft collided in visual meteorological conditions at approximately 700 feet above ground level. The accident occurred near Uxbridge, over a farmer's field one nautical mile south of Sandford Field. The helicopter's tail and the main-rotor system sustained catastrophic damage, rendering the helicopter uncontrollable. The helicopter pitched inverted and plunged to the ground, and the pilot was fatally injured. The Cessna 170 sustained substantial damage; however, the pilot was able to control the aircraft and conduct a forced landing in a nearby cornfield.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter pilot planned to fly to the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport for fuel before continuing to a private helicopter pad at the Toronto harbour. After liftoff, the pilot took up a heading of approximately 230º magnetic. The flight path of the helicopter was reconstructed from ground eyewitness reports, impact and collision marks, and an analysis of the accident debris field.

After take-off, the Cessna pilot climbed out at 70 mph on a southerly heading, establishing his aircraft on a 50º intercept angle with the helicopter. He did not see the helicopter until the Cessna was climbing through 700 feet above ground level (agl) and the helicopter was at his 11 o'clock position at very close range. The Cessna pilot initiated evasive action to the right immediately before impact with the helicopter. The Cessna 170 was in a climbing, right-banked attitude at impact. The helicopter was reported to be in straight and level flight at the time of the collision. The Toronto Area Control Centre radar did not record the flight paths of the helicopter or the Cessna before the collision.

The Cessna's twin-bladed, variable-pitch, constant-speed propeller was severely damaged from the impact with the helicopter's tail and main rotor. One propeller blade was severed in half perpendicular to the leading edge. The remaining blade sustained a trailing-edge radial cut, 5.5 cm deep, at the midpoint of the propeller blade. The propeller spinner separated from the aeroplane. The propeller hub was severely damaged, compromising the variable-pitch system's oil reservoir. Airframe vibration was significant, and the Cessna's windshield became contaminated with oil, dramatically reducing pilot visibility. The Cessna pilot realized that the aircraft was not capable of returning to the runway and elected to execute a forced landing into a cornfield one nautical mile south of the departure runway.

At 2000 eastern daylight time,1 the weather observation taken at the Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport was reported as follows: a few clouds at 16 000 feet agl, thin broken clouds at 24 000 feet agl, visibility 15 statute miles, temperature 20ºC, dew point 9ºC, wind from 140º true at 2 knots, and altimeter setting 30.18 inches of mercury.2

The helicopter pilot had been a pilot for 25 years. He held a valid medical certificate and a Canadian commercial pilot licence - helicopter endorsed for BH06, HU30, HU50, RH22, and SK76 helicopters and a current Group 4 instrument rating. He also held a commercial pilot licence - aeroplane and a current Group 1 instrument rating. In addition, he had held a Canadian glider pilot licence since 1992. The pilot was a well-known local flying enthusiast who, during the past 12 years, had been a frequent performer at air shows. He had accumulated more than 948 total flight hours, 688 of which were on rotary wing aircraft. During the previous 90 days, he had flown 74 hours, approximately 2 of which were flown on the day of the occurrence.

The Cessna pilot began flying lessons in 1978 but had not completed his flight training or undergone a flight test to obtain a pilot licence. His Canadian student pilot permit had expired in October 1995, and his aviation medical certificate had expired in August 1995. He had accumulated approximately 250 total flight hours at a rate of 10 to 20 hours per year.

The Robinson R22 Mariner helicopter, equipped for visual flight rules (VFR) operations, was manufactured in 1989 and had accumulated 2190 hours. Records indicate the helicopter was equipped and maintained in accordance with regulations. The helicopter had no known defects before the flight, and its weight and centre of gravity were within approved limits. The helicopter was equipped with a functioning two-way VHF (very high frequency) radio and a transponder.

The Cessna 170 was manufactured in 1954 and had accumulated 3535 hours as of November 1997, the date of the last recorded flight. Since then, no entries had been recorded. The Cessna pilot had owned the occurrence aircraft for 12 years. The Cessna's certificate of airworthiness had expired on 06 September 1999. Since then, the aircraft had not been inspected or maintained in accordance with Transport Canada regulations. The aeroplane had no defects or nonstructural restrictions to visibility through the front, back, or side windows. It was equipped with a VHF radio, but the pilot had not used it during the occurrence flight and regulations did not require its use.

The collision occurred at approximately 700 feet agl in Canadian Class G airspace. Section 2.8.7 of Rules of the Air and Air Traffic Services (RAC) in Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP) defines Class G airspace as all uncontrolled domestic airspace within which air traffic control (ATC) has neither the authority nor the responsibility for exercising control over air traffic. There is no requirement for pilots to make mandatory position or traffic advisory calls on a common VHF radio frequency or even to have a radio on board the aircraft. There is no requirement to have a transponder or any kind of collision-avoidance instrumentation installed in the aircraft.

For aircraft en route in Class G airspace, AIP RAC 8.10 advises: "When aircraft are manoeuvring in the vicinity of uncontrolled aerodromes or cruising in Class G airspace, the lack of information on the movements of other aircraft operating in close proximity may occasion a potential hazard to all concerned. To alleviate this situation, all pilots are advised that when operating in Class G airspace, they should continuously monitor frequency 126.7 MHz whenever practicable."

Analysis

The environmental conditions at the time of the occurrence were favourable for safe VFR flight; however, a number of factors combined to allow the collision to occur. The analysis will examine those factors, including procedures at uncontrolled aerodromes and minimum equipment required for flight in Class G airspace.

The helicopter was flying on a heading of approximately 230º magnetic as it passed one nautical mile south of Sandford Field. Simultaneously, the Cessna 170 was climbing out from Sandford Field to an altitude of between 500 and 700 feet agl on a heading of approximately 180º magnetic. The Cessna 170 pilot was climbing into the helicopter's flight path from below and to the right of the helicopter on an intercept heading of approximately 50º. The helicopter pilot did not see the Cessna because of the blind spot created by the lower right cabin wall/door of the helicopter. The Cessna pilot did not see the helicopter because of the blind spot created above and to the left by the aircraft's high wing. Although the Cessna pilot's forward visibility was not restricted, he did not see the helicopter while visually scanning the horizon during climbout.

As the helicopter came into the Cessna pilot's field of vision, it was slightly above at the pilot's 11 o'clock position, at extremely close range. Collision was imminent, and although the Cessna pilot initiated a climbing right-hand collision-avoidance turn, he was unable to gain positive separation. The helicopter tail rotor struck the under side of the Cessna's engine cowl, and the tail-rotor blades broke. Simultaneously, the helicopter's retreating main-rotor blade struck the top left side of the Cessna's engine cowl, and the blade separated from the main-rotor system. The helicopter became uncontrollable and pitched forward to an inverted attitude. This pitching movement caused a bending moment of the remaining main-rotor blade. The blade flexed downward and severed the tail boom from the main body of the helicopter. The helicopter then descended to the ground and was destroyed by impact forces.

Pilots are not required to make mandatory traffic advisory calls on a common frequency at uncontrolled aerodromes. The existing regulations only recommend that pilots monitor 126.7 MHz whenever practicable. Furthermore, aircraft are not required to be equipped with a functioning two-way VHF radio while operating in Class G airspace. Although see-and-avoid is the primary means of providing safe separation between aircraft operating under VFR, it has limitations and cannot always provide separation. All aircraft have inherent design limitations with respect to pilot visibility. In this occurrence, as the aircraft were merging, it was impossible for the helicopter pilot to see the Cessna approaching from below. Similarly, the Cessna pilot could not see the helicopter, because it was hidden from the pilot's view by the Cessna's high wing. Although neither pilot saw the other aircraft in time to avert the collision, the accident could have been averted had the pilots been aware of each other through other means. For example, had both pilots been monitoring the recommended VHF frequency and making position reports, they likely would have been aware of the other aircraft operating in the area and carried out a more vigilant lookout.

On-board equipment, such as a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system (TCAS), designed to operate independently of the ATC system, will provide pilots with traffic information to assist them in visually acquiring other aircraft. Aircraft without transponders are invisible to the TCAS. The helicopter was equipped with a transponder but the Cessna 170 was not. Aircraft operating in Class G airspace, without the benefit of ATC traffic advisories, are not required to be equipped with a TCAS or a transponder. TCAS, if installed and functioning, would have warned the pilots of their proximity to other aircraft operating with transponders. A TCAS warning could have provided either pilot with adequate warning to take appropriate action to avert the collision.

The Cessna pilot had been flying for more than 20 years and had accumulated approximately 250 hours' total flight time. He had not completed the training to obtain a pilot licence, and his skills had not been assessed by a Transport Canada-administered flight test. The pilot's skill level, therefore, cannot be assessed.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Neither pilot saw the other aircraft in time to avert the collision. The design limitations of both aircraft with respect to pilot visibility, combined with the intercept geometry, contributed to the pilots' failure to see and avoid the other aircraft.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Neither aircraft was equipped with a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system (TCAS), depriving the pilots of a defence against collision. TCAS equipment was not required by regulation.
  2. The pilot of the Cessna 170 was not appropriately licensed.
  3. The Cessna 170 did not have a valid certificate of airworthiness.
  4. In Class G airspace, where the aircraft were operating, aircraft are not required to be equipped with a functioning two-way VHF radio, and there is no mandatory frequency on which pilots must broadcast their positions or intentions. Had either pilot been aware of the proximity of the other aircraft through direct or indirect communication, the collision might have been averted.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 13 August 2002.

Appendix A - Impact Sequence

Appendix A - Impact Sequence


1.   All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus four hours).

2.   Toronto / Buttonville Municipal Airport is 35 nautical miles south of Sandford Field and is the closest weather reporting station to the accident site.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01O0164

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision en vol entre
L'hélicoptère Robinson R22 Mariner C-FFFM
Et le Cessna 170B C-GKGG
À Uxbridge (Ontario)
le 20 juin 2001

Résumé

À 20 h 5, heure avancée de l'Est, un hélicoptère Robinson R22 Mariner, portant le numéro de série 1071M, a quitté Lindsay (Ontario) pour l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville avec le pilote seul à bord. À 20 h 22, un Cessna 170, portant le numéro de série 26290, a décollé de la piste 18 d'un terrain gazonné connu sous le nom de Sandford Field également avec le pilote seul à bord. Le pilote avait prévu d'effectuer un circuit à gauche puis d'atterrir. Les deux appareils se sont percutés à 20 h 25, dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue, à une altitude d'environ 700 pieds au-dessus du sol. L'accident s'est produit à proximité d'Uxbridge, au-dessus du champ d'un agriculteur, à un mille marin au sud de Sandford Field. La queue et le mécanisme du rotor principal de l'hélicoptère ont subi de graves dégâts qui ont rendu l'hélicoptère incontrôlable. L'hélicoptère, basculant sur le dos, s'est écrasé en piqué et le pilote a succombé à ses blessures. Le Cessna 170 a subi des dégâts importants, mais le pilote a néanmoins réussi à conserver la maîtrise de son appareil et à effectuer un atterrissage forcé dans un champ de maïs se trouvant à proximité.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote de l'hélicoptère avait prévu de voler jusqu'à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville pour se ravitailler en carburant avant de poursuivre son vol jusqu'à une héliplate-forme se trouvant dans le port de Toronto. Après avoir décollé, le pilote a suivi un cap d'approximativement 230º magnétiques. La trajectoire de l'hélicoptère a été reconstituée à partir des comptes rendus de témoins se trouvant au sol, des traces d'impact et de collision ainsi que de l'analyse des débris de l'accident retrouvés dans le champ.

Après avoir décollé, le pilote du Cessna a effectué sa montée, à 70 mi/h, en direction du sud, avec un angle d'interception de l'hélicoptère de 50º. Il n'a pas vu l'hélicoptère avant que son Cessna n'atteigne les 700 pieds AGL et que l'hélicoptère se trouve, à 11 heures (position), à très courte distance. Le pilote du Cessna a entamé une manœuvre d'évitement sur la droite juste avant de percuter l'hélicoptère. Le Cessna 170, au moment de l'impact, se trouvait en montée avec une inclinaison latérale sur la droite. L'hélicoptère, d'après les témoignages, se trouvait, au moment de la collision, en vol rectiligne et en palier. Le radar du centre de contrôle régional de Toronto n'a pas enregistré les trajectoires de l'hélicoptère ou du Cessna avant leur collision.

L'hélice à vitesse constante et à pas variable du Cessna, munie de deux pales, a été gravement endommagée pour avoir percuté la queue et le rotor principal de l'hélicoptère. L'une des pales a été coupée en deux perpendiculairement au bord d'attaque, l'autre pale subissant, à mi-longueur, une entaille radiale de 5,5 cm de profondeur sur son bord de fuite. La casserole de l'hélice s'est détachée de l'avion. Le moyeu de l'hélice a été gravement endommagé, portant atteinte au réservoir d'huile du dispositif de pas variable. La cellule a subi des vibrations importantes et le pare-brise du Cessna a été éclaboussé par de l'huile, ce qui a réduit de façon importante la visibilité pour le pilote. Ce dernier, comprenant que l'appareil était incapable de retourner jusqu'à la piste, a décidé d'effectuer un atterrissage forcé dans un champ de maïs se trouvant à un mille marin au sud de la piste de départ.

À 20 h, heure avancée de l'Est1, les conditions météorologiques observées à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville2 étaient les suivantes : quelques nuages à 16 000 pieds AGL, une fine couche de nuages fragmentés à 24 000 pieds AGL, une visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, une température de 20 ºC, un point de rosée à 9 ºC, un vent de deux nœuds en provenance du 140º vrais et un calage altimétrique à 30,18 pouces de mercure.

Le pilote d'hélicoptère comptait 25 ans d'expérience. Il détenait un certificat médical en règle et une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel - hélicoptère portant des annotations pour les hélicoptères BH06, HU30, HU50, RH22 et SK76 ainsi qu'une qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 4 en règle. Il détenait également une licence de pilote professionnel-avion et une qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 1. Il était, de plus, détenteur d'une licence canadienne de pilote de planeur depuis 1992. Le pilote était un passionné du pilotage bien connu dans la région; depuis 12 ans, il avait participé à de nombreux spectacles aériens. Il totalisait plus de 948 heures de vol dont 688 sur giravion. Durant les 90 jours précédents, il avait volé 74 heures dont près de 2 effectuées le jour de l'accident.

Le pilote du Cessna avait commencé à suivre des leçons de pilotage en 1978, mais il n'avait pas terminé sa formation, ni passé l'examen requis pour se voir délivrer une licence. Son permis canadien d'élève-pilote avait expiré en octobre 1995 et son certificat médical était expiré depuis août 1995. Il avait accumulé approximativement 250 heures de vol à raison de 10 à 20 heures par an.

L'hélicoptère Robinson R22 Mariner, équipé pour une exploitation selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), datait de 1989 et comptait 2 190 heures de vol. Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Rien n'indique que l'hélicoptère ait eu une défaillance avant le vol et sa masse et son centrage se trouvaient dans les limites prescrites. L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un émetteur-récepteur VHF (très haute fréquence) et d'un transpondeur en état de fonctionner.

Le Cessna 170 datait de 1954 et totalisait, en novembre 1997, à la date du dernier vol consigné, 3 535 heures de vol. Depuis lors, aucune nouvelle inscription n'avait été faite. Le pilote du Cessna était propriétaire de l'appareil depuis 12 ans. Le certificat de navigabilité du Cessna avait expiré le 6 septembre 1999. Depuis lors, l'appareil n'était plus inspecté ou entretenu conformément à la réglementation de Transports Canada. L'avion ne présentait aucun défaut, ni aucune restriction non structurale de la visibilité à travers les fenêtres avant, arrière et latérales. Il était équipé d'une radio VHF, mais le pilote ne l'a pas utilisée durant le vol où s'est produit l'accident, ce qui ne contrevenait pas à la réglementation.

La collision s'est produite à environ 700 pieds AGL dans l'espace aérien canadien de classe G. La rubrique 2.8.7 des Règles de l'air et service de la circulation aérienne (RAC) de la Publication d'information aéronautique (AIP) définit l'espace aérien de classe G comme l'ensemble de l'espace aérien intérieur non contrôlé où l'ATC n'a pas l'autorité, ni la responsabilité de contrôler la circulation qui s'y déroule. Aucune disposition n'exige que les pilotes y effectuent des comptes rendus de position obligatoires ou des appels de circulation consultatifs sur une fréquence radio VHF commune ou bien même que l'appareil soit équipé d'une radio. Aucune disposition n'exige non plus que l'appareil soit équipé d'un transpondeur ou d'un quelconque dispositif d'évitement de collision.

La disposition 8.10 de la section RAC de l'AIP indique que, lorsque des aéronefs en route « évoluent à proximité d'aéroports non contrôlés, ou dans un espace aérien de classe G, le manque de renseignements sur les mouvements de ces aéronefs peut créer une situation dangereuse pour tous. Afin de réduire ce risque, tous les pilotes sont avisés que, lorsqu'ils évoluent en espace aérien de classe G, ils devraient dans la mesure du possible, garder l'écoute sur la fréquence 126,7 MHz. »

Analyse

Les conditions environnementales au moment de l'accident permettaient un vol en VFR sans danger. Néanmoins, un certain nombre de facteurs, en se combinant, ont fait qu'une collision a pu se produire. La présente analyse examinera ces facteurs et, notamment, les procédures en vigueur sur les aérodromes non contrôlés ainsi que l'équipement minimal requis pour un vol dans l'espace aérien de classe G.

L'hélicoptère volait selon un cap d'approximativement 230º magnétiques lorsqu'il est passé à un mille marin au sud de Sandford Field. Au même moment, le Cessna 170 montait, en provenance de Sandford Field, à une altitude comprise entre 500 et 700 pieds AGL selon un cap d'approximativement 180º magnétiques. Le pilote du Cessna 170 montait vers la trajectoire de vol de l'hélicoptère en volant au-dessous et à droite de l'hélicoptère selon une trajectoire d'intersection formant un angle d'approximativement 50º. Le pilote de l'hélicoptère n'a pas vu le Cessna en raison de l'angle mort créé par la partie inférieure droite du panneau / de la porte de l'hélicoptère. Le pilote du Cessna, quant à lui, n'a pas vu l'hélicoptère en raison de l'angle mort créé, en haut et à gauche, par la voilure haute de son appareil. Malgré l'absence de toute gêne à la visibilité vers l'avant, le pilote du Cessna n'a pas aperçu l'hélicoptère lorsqu'il balayait l'horizon du regard durant la montée.

Lorsque l'hélicoptère est apparu dans le champ de vision du pilote du Cessna, il se trouvait, à 11 heures, légèrement au-dessus et à très grande proximité de ce dernier. La collision était imminente et bien que le pilote du Cessna ait entamé un virage ascendant sur la droite afin d'éviter la collision avec l'hélicoptère, il a été incapable de s'éloigner suffisamment de ce dernier. Le rotor de queue de l'hélicoptère a percuté le dessous du capotage du moteur du Cessna et ses pales se sont brisées. Au même moment, la pale reculante du rotor principal de l'hélicoptère percutait le côté supérieur gauche du capotage du moteur du Cessna et se détachait du mécanisme du rotor principal. L'hélicoptère est alors devenu incontrôlable et a piqué vers l'avant sur le dos. Ce mouvement de piqué a fait subir un moment de torsion à la pale demeurant sur le rotor. Cette dernière s'est fléchie vers le bas et a sectionné la poutre de queue qui s'est séparée de la cabine de l'hélicoptère. L'hélicoptère est alors tombé jusqu'au sol où il a été détruit par les forces d'impact.

Les pilotes n'ont pas à effectuer de comptes rendus de position obligatoires ou d'appels de circulation consultatifs sur une fréquence commune aux aérodromes non contrôlés. La réglementation en vigueur ne fait que recommander au pilote de garder, dans la mesure du possible, l'écoute sur la fréquence 126,7 MHz. De plus, les appareils n'ont pas, lorsqu'ils volent dans l'espace aérien de classe G, à être équipés d'un émetteur-récepteur VHF en état de fonctionner. Quand bien même « voir et éviter » constitue, en VFR, le principal moyen d'assurer un espacement de sécurité entre les appareils, cette technique a ses limitations et n'est pas toujours à même d'assurer un tel espacement. Tous les appareils présentent également, de par leur conception, des limitations en matière de visibilité pour le pilote. Dans le cas de cet accident, il était impossible pour le pilote de l'hélicoptère, alors que les appareils convergeaient, d'apercevoir le Cessna s'approchant par en dessous. De même, le pilote du Cessna était dans l'incapacité de voir l'hélicoptère parce que ce dernier lui était caché par la voilure haute du Cessna. Bien qu'aucun des deux pilotes n'ait vu l'autre appareil à temps pour éviter la collision, un tel accident aurait pu être évité si chacun des pilotes avait été averti de la présence de l'autre par d'autres moyens. Ainsi, par exemple, les pilotes auraient-ils probablement été avertis de la présence d'un autre appareil dans les environs et scruté le ciel avec plus de vigilance s'ils avaient gardé l'écoute sur la fréquence VHF recommandée et y avait signalé leur position.

Des équipements de bord, tels que le système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS), conçus pour fonctionner indépendamment du système ATC, fournissent aux pilotes des renseignements sur le trafic aérien et les aident à repérer visuellement les autres appareils se trouvant à proximité. Les appareils sans transpondeur sont cependant invisibles pour le TCAS. L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un transpondeur, mais le Cessna 170 ne l'était pas. Les appareils volant dans l'espace aérien de classe G, où ils ne bénéficient pas des services consultatifs de la circulation aérienne, n'ont pas à être équipés d'un TCAS ou d'un transpondeur. Avec un TCAS actif, les pilotes auraient été avertis de la présence des autres appareils équipés d'un transpondeur se trouvant à proximité. L'avertissement fourni par le TCAS aurait permis aux pilotes de disposer du temps suffisant pour prendre les mesures requises en vue d'éviter la collision.

Le pilote du Cessna volait depuis plus de 20 ans et totalisait approximativement 250 heures de vol. Il n'avait pas terminé la formation de pilotage requise pour se voir délivrer une licence de pilote et ses compétences n'avaient pas été évaluées dans l'examen de pilotage administré par Transports Canada. Le niveau de compétence de ce pilote n'avait donc pu être évalué.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Aucun des deux pilotes n'a vu l'autre appareil suffisamment à temps pour pouvoir éviter la collision. Les limitations de conception des deux appareils en matière de visibilité pour les pilotes, associées à la position relative des appareils jusqu'à la collision, ont fait que les pilotes n'ont pas pu voir ni éviter l'autre appareil.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Aucun des deux appareils n'était équipé d'un système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS) qui aurait permis aux pilotes d'éviter la collision. Le TCAS n'est pas requis par la réglementation.
  2. Le pilote du Cessna 170 ne possédait pas de licence en bonne et due forme.
  3. Le Cessna 170 ne disposait d'aucun certificat de navigabilité en règle.
  4. Dans l'espace aérien de classe G, où volaient les deux appareils, les aéronefs n'ont pas à être équipés d'un émetteur-récepteur VHF en état de fonctionner et les pilotes ne sont pas tenus d'annoncer leur position et leurs intentions sur une fréquence obligatoire. Si l'un des pilotes avait pu être informé de la présence de l'autre appareil par un moyen de communication direct ou indirect, la collision aurait sans doute pu être évitée.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé sa publication le 13 août 2002.

Annexe A - Séquence de l'impact

Annexe A - Séquence de l'impact


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est (temps universel coordonné moins quatre heures).

2.   L'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville, qui se trouve à 35 milles marins au sud de Sandford Field, est la station d'observation météorologique la plus proche du lieu de l'accident.