Aviation Investigation Report A01P0010

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control
Cessna 172M, C-FFJF
Victoria, British Columbia 6 nm S
20 January 2001

Summary

The Cessna 172M, C-FFJF, departed Victoria International Airport, British Columbia, at 0808 Pacific standard time with the pilot and one passenger on board for a local sightseeing trip. The aircraft climbed on a southbound heading to 1500 feet above sea level (asl), and the pilot reported level at that altitude. Five minutes after take-off, while operating inside the Victoria control zone, the aircraft descended from 1500 feet to 300 feet asl in about 10 seconds. Observers on the ground saw the aircraft recover from a steep, nose-down, spiral dive to a near-level flight attitude before striking trees. The engine noise was loud, and the general impression was that the engine was operating at high power. When the aircraft first struck trees, it was in a level pitch attitude with slight right bank. After initial contact, the aircraft travelled about 130 yards before contacting a mature cedar tree; the secondary impact caused the aircraft to decelerate rapidly and break apart. The pilot of the aircraft died in the crash; the passenger suffered serious injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

At the time of the accident, the weather at the Victoria airport was as follows: wind calm, a few clouds at 2000 feet above ground level (agl), overcast cloud at 9500 feet agl, visibility 30 miles, temperature 4 degrees Celsius, dew point 3 degrees Celsius, and altimeter setting 30.08 inches.

The aircraft was registered for commercial operation and was rented by the pilot. It had a valid certificate of airworthiness and, based on a review of the aircraft documentation, was being maintained and operated in accordance with approved procedures and regulations. A review of available records indicated that the aircraft weight and centre of gravity were within the approved limits at take-off.

All major components of the aircraft were found at the accident site. A subsequent examination revealed that all damage to the aircraft's control systems and aerofoil sections were a result of the crash. The aircraft was not equipped, nor required to be equipped, with either flight data or voice recording devices and, as a result, no information was available to determine the activities in the cockpit immediately before the descent.

The pilot held an Airline Transport Pilot Licence and had been issued a Category 1 medical certificate with a restriction that glasses must be available. A review of the pilot's records showed that he suffered a number of medical conditions that are generally accepted as being cardiovascular risk factors. No increased medical monitoring was being applied to this pilot, beyond a routine aviation medical screening.

A post-mortem examination confirmed that the pilot had cardiovascular problems that would have increased his risk of sudden incapacitation or cardiac death. Results of a toxicology examination were negative for alcohol or drugs.

Cardiovascular Guidelines

The development of cardiovascular disease in licensed aviation personnel is a major concern among aviation medical practitioners. To address this concern, Canada has adopted a set of cardiovascular guidelines that are intended to assist in the medical assessment of cardiovascular fitness of licensed aviation personnel. These guidelines rely on the active monitoring of cardiovascular risk factors to identify aviation personnel having a higher likelihood of coronary artery disease.

Major risk factors associated with cardiovascular disease are family history, hypertension, obesity, diabetes, abnormal blood lipids, and cigarette smoking. The aim of monitoring these risk factors and applying the accepted cardiovascular guidelines is to ensure that the risk of asymptomatic coronary artery disease causing sudden incapacitation is below internationally accepted levels, for risk management purposes.

Analysis

A sudden, unexplainable descent from 1500 feet asl immediately preceded the aircraft's impact with the terrain. The aircraft recovered from a steep, nose-down, spiral dive to a near-level attitude just before impact; such a recovery would require the integrity of the aircraft control system and the airframe structure. All of the aerofoil surfaces were at the crash site, and all failures of structural and control components were overload failures. It can, therefore, be concluded that the rapid descent was not the result of an airframe or control system failure.

The rapid descent that preceded the crash could have been caused by an intentional act on the part of the pilot. However, it would be unusual for a pilot to change his altitude that abruptly, without clearance, while operating in a control zone and being actively monitored by radar systems and air traffic control personnel.

Results of a post-mortem examination confirmed that the pilot had advanced coronary artery disease and that he had other cardiovascular problems that would have increased his risk of sudden incapacitation or cardiac death. These medical indicators, the rapid and unexplained descent, and the lack of any radio coordination with air traffic control make it likely that the pilot suffered physiological distress or incapacitation, which precipitated the rapid descent and the subsequent crash.

Procedures and protocols are in place to evaluate and monitor the medical status of pilots. Despite the presence of known cardiovascular risk factors, the pilot was not subject to related restrictions or increased medical monitoring.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. It is likely the pilot suffered some form of physiological distress or incapacitation that resulted in his losing control of the aircraft.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The pilot had advanced coronary artery disease and suffered a number of other cardiovascular problems that would have increased the risk of sudden incapacitation or cardiac death.
  2. Despite the presence of known cardiovascular risk factors, no increased medical monitoring or related restrictions were being applied to this pilot.

Safety Action Taken

On 08 May 2001, the TSB sent Aviation Safety Advisory No. 615-A010023-1 to Transport Canada regarding the effectiveness of administrative procedures for the monitoring and follow-up of pilot medical assessments. Transport Canada's response, received 21 June 2001, indicates that it is taking action to address the issues.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 19 December 2001.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01P0010

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) du Canada a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de contrôle
Cessna 172M, C-FFJF
6 NM au sud de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
20 janvier 2001

Résumé

Le Cessna 172M, immatriculé C-FFJF, a quitté l'aéroport international de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), à 8 h 8, heure normale du Pacifique, avec à son bord un pilote et un passager pour un vol de tourisme local. L'avion est monté vers le sud à 1500 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl), et le pilote s'est signalé en palier à cette altitude. Cinq minutes après le décollage, alors qu'il évoluait dans la zone de contrôle de Victoria, l'avion est descendu de 1500 pieds à 300 pieds asl en 10 secondes environ. Des observateurs au sol ont vu l'avion sortir d'un piqué serré en spirale et revenir en vol presque en palier avant que l'appareil ne heurte les arbres. Le moteur produisait un bruit élevé, et l'impression générale était qu'il tournait à haute puissance. Lorsque l'avion est entré en collision avec les premiers arbres, son assiette en tangage était nulle, et il était légèrement incliné à droite. Après le contact initial, l'avion a parcouru environ 130 mètres avant d'entrer en collision avec un cèdre à maturité; l'impact secondaire a fait décélérer rapidement l'avion, qui s'est alors disloqué. Le pilote de l'avion a été tué dans l'écrasement, tandis que le passager a été grièvement blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques à l'aéroport de Victoria étaient les suivantes : vent calme, quelques nuages à 2000 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), ciel couvert à 9500 pieds agl, visibilité de 30 milles, température de 4 degrés Celsius, point de rosée de 3 degrés Celsius et calage altimétrique de 30,08 pouces.

L'avion était immatriculé pour des vols commerciaux et il avait été loué par le pilote. Il avait un certificat de navigabilité valide et, d'après l'examen de sa documentation, était entretenu et exploité conformément aux procédures approuvées et à la réglementation. Un examen des dossiers disponibles a indiqué que la masse et le centrage de l'avion s'inscrivaient dans les limites approuvées au décollage.

Tous les principaux composants de l'avion ont été retrouvés sur les lieux de l'accident. Un examen subséquent a révélé que tous les dommages aux circuits de commande de l'avion et aux plans aérodynamiques avaient été causés par l'accident. L'avion n'était pas équipé, ni tenu de l'être, d'un enregistreur de données de vol ou d'un enregistreur de la conversation dans le poste de pilotage. Par conséquent, on ne dispose d'aucune information permettant de déterminer les activités qui avaient cours dans le poste de pilotage avant la descente.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne et avait reçu un certificat médical de catégorie 1, assorti d'une restriction l'obligeant d'avoir des verres à sa disposition. Un examen des dossiers du pilote a montré qu'il avait souffert d'un certain nombre d'affections médicales qui sont généralement acceptées comme étant des facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires. Ce pilote n'avait fait l'objet d'aucune surveillance médicale accrue au-delà de l'examen médical de routine en aviation.

Une autopsie a confirmé que le pilote souffrait de problèmes cardiovasculaires qui auraient augmenté ses risques d'incapacité soudaine ou de mort cardiaque. Les résultats d'un examen toxicologique visant à déterminer la présence d'alcool ou de drogues ont été négatifs.

Lignes directrices relatives aux maladies cardiovasculaires

L'accroissement des maladies cardiovasculaires chez le personnel aéronautique titulaire d'une licence est une préoccupation importante des médecins en aéronautique. En vue de traiter cette question, le Canada a adopté un ensemble de lignes directrices relatives aux maladies cardiovasculaires qui visent à faciliter l'évaluation médicale de la santé cardiovasculaire du personnel aéronautique titulaire d'une licence. Ces lignes directrices se fondent sur une surveillance active des facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires afin de cerner le personnel aéronautique plus susceptible de souffrir de coronaropathie.

Les principaux facteurs de risque associés aux maladies cardiovasculaires sont les antécédents familiaux, l'hypertension, l'obésité, le diabète, une quantité anormale de lipides dans le sang et la cigarette. La surveillance de ces facteurs de risque et l'application de lignes directrices acceptées en matière de maladie cardiovasculaires visent à assurer que les risques d'une coronaropathie asymptomatique causant une incapacité soudaine se situent en deçà des niveaux acceptés mondialement aux fins de la gestion du risque.

Analyse

Une brusque descente inexpliquée à partir de 1500 pieds asl a immédiatement précédé l'impact de l'avion avec le relief. L'avion est sorti d'un piqué serré en spirale pour adopter une assiette quasiment en palier tout juste avant l'impact. Un tel rétablissement n'est possible que si le circuit de commande de l'avion et la structure de la cellule conservent leur intégrité. Tous les plans aérodynamiques se trouvaient sur le lieu de l'accident, et toutes les défaillances des composants structuraux et des commandes ont été causées par une surcharge. Par conséquent, on peut conclure que la descente rapide n'a pas été causée par une défaillance de la cellule ou du circuit de commande.

La descente rapide qui a précédé l'écrasement aurait pu être causée par un acte intentionnel de la part du pilote. Toutefois, il serait très inhabituel pour un pilote de modifier aussi abruptement son altitude, sans autorisation, alors qu'il vole dans une zone de contrôle et qu'il est activement surveillé par des systèmes radar et le personnel du contrôle de la circulation aérienne.

Les résultats de l'autopsie ont confirmé que le pilote présentait une coronaropathie avancée et qu'il souffrait d'autres problèmes cardiovasculaires qui auraient augmenté les risques d'une incapacité soudaine ou de mort cardiaque. Ces indicateurs médicaux, la descente rapide et inexpliquée ainsi que l'absence de toute coordination radio avec le contrôle de la circulation aérienne pointent vers le fait que le pilote a probablement souffert d'une détresse physiologique ou d'une incapacité, ce qui a précipité la descente rapide et l'écrasement qui a suivi.

Des procédures et des protocoles sont en place pour évaluer et contrôler l'état de santé des pilotes. Malgré la présence de facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires connus, le pilote n'a pas fait l'objet de restrictions connexes ni d'un suivi médical accru.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Il est probable que le pilote a souffert d'une forme de détresse physiologique ou d'une incapacité qui s'est traduite par la perte de contrôle de l'avion.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le pilote présentait une coronaropathie avancée et souffrait d'autres problèmes cardiovasculaires qui augmentaient le risque d'une incapacité soudaine ou d'une mort cardiaque.
  2. Malgré la présence de facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires connus, le pilote n'a pas fait l'objet de restrictions connexes ni d'un suivi médical accru.

Mesure de sécurité prise

Le 8 mai 2001, le BST a envoyé l'Avis de sécurité aérienne numéro 615-A010023-1 à Transports Canada en ce qui a trait à l'efficacité des procédures administratives relatives au contrôle et au suivi des évaluations médiales des pilotes. La réponse de Transports Canada, reçue le 21 juin 2001, indique que le ministère est en train de prendre des mesures sur ces questions.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du BST sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 19 décembre 2001.