Aviation Investigation Report A01P0047

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control—Tail-Rotor Drive Decoupling
Schweizer 269B, C-FRHO
Victoria International Airport, British Columbia
15 March 2001

Summary

The Schweizer 269B helicopter, C-FRHO, serial number 44-0055, was air taxiing from the north side of the Victoria Flying Club at Victoria International Airport, British Columbia, to the south ramp of the same property when it experienced a loss of anti-torque control. The helicopter abruptly yawed to the right. From a height of about 10 feet, the pilot lowered the collective rapidly and landed hard. A main-rotor blade cut through the upper surface of the tail boom, and the skid gear broke at all attachment points. The pilot was not injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter had accumulated about 13 hours since the last maintenance inspection. It had recently been ferried from a maintenance facility in Abbotsford to Sidney, British Columbia. At the time of the occurrence, the pilot/owner, who was not endorsed for helicopters, was flying solo and unsupervised. A private helicopter pilot (the ferry pilot) had given the pilot/owner some flying instruction.

Inspection of the helicopter anti-torque system revealed that the bumper plug (part number 269A5712) was missing from the recently installed tail-rotor (T/R) drive shaft. The bumper plug is mounted internally to the drive shaft end couplings; it restricts the aft movement of the T/R drive shaft and prevents the disengagement of the splined drive of the drive shaft from the T/R transmission input gear.

The helicopter had been partially assembled from an assortment of parts originating from three helicopters of similar type in various conditions. This work was performed at the Island Flight Support maintenance facility under the authority of Starwest Aviation (aircraft maintenance organization [AMO] 136-96) in Sidney. However, Starwest Aviation did not hold a helicopter rating on its maintenance approval. An aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) was hired to perform the assembly work. This AME took direction from the Starwest Aviation director of maintenance. The AME was instructed to install the tail boom assembly onto the helicopter,with its T/R drive components already installed. He was unfamiliar with the helicopter type and model and was unaware of the bumper plug. After installing the tail boom, he provided worksheets indicating that he had inspected the T/R drive shaft.

A&L Helicopter Maintenance (AMO 93-99) in Abbotsford completed the assembly work and signed off on the airworthiness certification. The maintenance logbook records furnished by this AMO were incomplete and lacking details for the extent of the work performed and the components exchanged and installed. There were no airframe log records for the replacement of the tail boom. The work was documented as a 200-hour inspection, and it was supported by worksheets for 25-, 50-, 100- and 200-hour inspections.

On 22 December 1999, A&L Helicopter Maintenance received Transport Canada AMO certification to perform maintenance on 269/300-series Hughes piston-powered helicopters. During the certification inspection/audit, Transport Canada commented on a lack of control ofmaintenance records and certifications.

The Schweizer 269B maintenance manual outlines a detailed procedure for replacing the bumper plug in the forward and aft T/R drive shaft couplings when the bumper plug fails to meet inspection and measurement specifications. The Schweizer illustrated parts catalogue for the 269B and earlier models does not have a reference for the bumper plug. After receiving the 269 type certificate from Hughes Helicopter, Schweizer made the bumper plug a replaceable part in all models; however, Schweizer elected not to update the parts catalogues for earlier models.

Analysis

The pilot lost yaw control of the helicopter when the T/R drive shaft became uncoupled. The uncoupling occurred because the bumper plug was missing. This allowed the drive shaft to move aft such that the splines of its coupling became disengaged from the T/R transmission input gear.

The contracted AME at Starwest Aviation provided worksheets for the initial build-up to A&L Helicopter Maintenance. These worksheets reflected that he had inspected the T/R drive shaft. However, the drive shaft was not adequately inspected. Because the contracted AME was unfamiliar with the helicopter type and model, he only inspected the visible ends of the T/R drive shaft and did not notice that the bumper plug was missing.

A&L Helicopter Maintenance personnel performed a 200-hour inspection and replaced the tail boom and installed the T/R drive shaft. A 200-hour inspection requires that all preceding inspections be carried out, namely the 100-, 50-, and 25-hour, daily, and special inspections. The 25-hour and daily inspections make specific reference to an end play and backlash check for the T/R drive shaft. Performed correctly, these checks are meant to detect an incorrect installation and a worn or missing bumper plug as per 269 Series - Basic HMI, sections 10-83 and 10-87. It is probable that these checks were incorrectly performed, and that the missing bumper plug went unnoticed after the installation of the drive shaft.

The Schweizer maintenance manual contains instructions for inspecting and replacing the bumper plugs. The AME at A&L Helicopter Maintenance was unaware of the requirement to check the bumper plug for wear; therefore, it is likely he did not refer to the manuals for this installation.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot lost yaw control when the tail-rotor drive shaft's splined drive became disengaged from the tail-rotor transmission input gear.
  2. The tail-rotor drive shaft became disengaged because the bumper plug was missing from the aft end of the drive shaft.
  3. The aircraft maintenance engineer at A&L Helicopter Maintenance likely did not refer to the manuals for this installation and did not detect that the bumper plug was missing. The fact that the bumper plug was not installed was not detected on subsequent inspections.

Other Findings

  1. The pilot was not endorsed for helicopters and was flying solo and unsupervised.
  2. The aircraft maintenance engineer hired to perform the assembly work under the direction of Starwest Aviation was unfamiliar with the helicopter type. This aircraft maintenance organization was not approved to carry out helicopter maintenance.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 19 December 2001.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01P0047

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise — Désaccouplement de la
transmission du rotor de queue
Schweizer 269B, C-FRHO
Aéroport international de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
15 mars 2001

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Schweizer 269B immatriculé C-FRHO et portant le numéro de série 44-0055, circulait près du sol entre le côté nord du Victoria Flying Club situé à l'aéroport international de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) et l'aire de stationnement sud de ce même aéroport, lorsque le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'anticouple. L'hélicoptère a viré brutalement à droite. À une hauteur de quelque 10 pieds, le pilote a abaissé rapidement le collectif et s'est posé brutalement. Une pale du rotor principal a transpercé la surface supérieure de la poutre de queue, et toutes les fixations des patins du train d'atterrissage se sont rompues. Le pilote n'a pas été blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère avait accumulé quelque 13 heures d'utilisation depuis sa dernière inspection de maintenance. Il avait été convoyé récemment d'un atelier de maintenance d'Abbotsford jusqu'à Sidney (Colombie-Britannique). Au moment de l'accident, le pilote et propriétaire, qui ne possédait aucune qualification sur hélicoptère, pilotait en solo et sans supervision. Un pilote d'hélicoptère privé (celui qui avait effectué le convoyage) avait donné au pilote une certaine formation au pilotage.

L'inspection du système anticouple de l'hélicoptère a révélé que l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue récemment installé était dépourvu d'embout amortisseur (référence 269A5712). Cet embout est fixé intérieurement aux raccords d'extrémité de l'arbre de transmission; il limite les déplacements arrière de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue et évite que la prise cannelée ne se désaccouple du pignon d'attaque de la transmission du rotor de queue.

L'hélicoptère avait été en partie assemblé à partir d'un assortiment de pièces provenant de trois hélicoptères de type similaire qui n'étaient pas tous dans le même état. Le travail avait été effectué dans l'atelier d'Island Flight Support, placé sous l'autorité de Starwest Aviation (organisme de maintenance agréé [OMA] 136-96), à Sidney. Toutefois, l'agrément accordé à Starwest Aviation n'autorise pas la maintenance d'hélicoptères. Un technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs (TEA) avait été engagé pour faire ce travail d'assemblage. Ce TEA avait pris ses instructions auprès du directeur de la maintenance de Starwest Aviation. On lui avait alors dit de poser sur l'hélicoptère la poutre de queue avec ses composants de transmission du rotor de queue déjà installés. Il ne connaissait pas bien ce type et ce modèle d'hélicoptère, et il n'était pas au courant de l'existence d'un embout amortisseur. Une fois la poutre de queue posée, il a remis des fiches de travail indiquant qu'il avait inspecté l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue.

A&L Helicopter Maintenance (OMA 93-99), une entreprise d'Abbotsford, a terminé l'assemblage et a délivré la certification de navigabilité. Les inscriptions faites dans le carnet de maintenance qui ont été fournies par cet OMA étaient incomplètes et manquaient de détail quant à l'étendue du travail accompli et des composants remplacés et posés. Il n'y avait aucune inscription dans le dossier de la cellule qui faisait état du remplacement de la poutre de queue. D'après les inscriptions, le travail avait consisté en une inspection aux 200 heures, le tout étant étayé par des fiches de travail portant sur les inspections aux 25, 50, 100 et 200 heures.

Le 22 décembre 1999, A&L Helicopter Maintenance avait reçu une certification d'OMA de Transports Canada lui permettant d'effectuer la maintenance des hélicoptères à pistons des séries 269/300 de Hughes. Au cours de l'inspection et vérification de certification, Transports Canada avait fait des commentaires sur le manque de contrôle des certifications et des dossiers de maintenance.

Le manuel de maintenance du Schweizer 269B donne une procédure de remplacement détaillée de l'embout amortisseur dans les raccords avant et arrière de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue lorsque l'embout amortisseur ne répond pas aux spécifications d'inspection et de dimensions. L'embout amortisseur n'est pas référencé dans le catalogue illustré des pièces de Schweizer consacré au modèle 269B et aux modèles antérieurs. Après avoir obtenu de Hughes Helicopter le certificat de type pour la construction du 269, Schweizer avait décidé que l'embout amortisseur serait une pièce remplaçable sur tous les modèles; toutefois, Schweizer n'avait pas décidé de modifier les catalogues de pièces des anciens modèles.

Analyse

Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise en lacet de l'hélicoptère à la suite d'un désaccouplement de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue. Le désaccouplement était dû à l'absence de l'embout amortisseur. L'arbre de transmission a ainsi pu se déplacer suffisamment vers l'arrière pour que les cannelures d'accouplement sortent du pignon d'attaque de la transmission du rotor de queue.

Le TEA engagé chez Starwest Aviation a fourni à A&L Helicopter Maintenance des fiches de travail correspondant à la reconstruction initiale. Ces fiches indiquaient qu'il avait inspecté l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue. Toutefois, cet arbre n'avait pas été inspecté correctement. Comme le TEA ne connaissait pas bien ce type et ce modèle d'hélicoptère, il n'a inspecté que les extrémités visibles de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue et n'a pas remarqué l'absence de l'embout amortisseur.

Le personnel chez A&L Helicopter Maintenance a effectué une inspection aux 200 heures, a remplacé la poutre de queue et a monté l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue. Une inspection aux 200 heures exige que toutes les inspections précédentes soient effectuées, soit celles aux 100, aux 50 et aux 25 heures ainsi que les inspections quotidiennes et spéciales. Les inspections aux 25 heures et les inspections quotidiennes font spécifiquement référence à une vérification du jeu et du recul de l'extrémité de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue. Bien effectuées, ces vérifications sont censées déceler un mauvais montage ou bien un embout d'amortisseur usé ou manquant, conformément aux rubriques 10-83 et 10-87 du 269 Series - Basic HMI. Il y a tout lieu de croire que ces vérifications n'ont pas été effectuées correctement et que l'absence de l'embout amortisseur est passée inaperçue après le montage de l'arbre de transmission.

Le manuel de maintenance de Schweizer renferme des instructions d'inspection et de remplacement des embouts amortisseurs. Le TEA chez A&L Helicopter Maintenance ne savait pas qu'il fallait vérifier l'usure de l'embout amortisseur; il est donc probable qu'il ne s'est pas référé aux manuels pour procéder au montage.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a perdu la maîtrise en lacet lorsque la prise cannelée de l'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue s'est désaccouplée du pignon d'attaque de la transmission du rotor de queue.
  2. L'arbre de transmission du rotor de queue s'est désaccouplé à cause de l'absence d'embout amortisseur à l'extrémité arrière de l'arbre de transmission.
  3. Le technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs chez A&L Helicopter Maintenance ne s'est probablement pas référé aux manuels pour faire le montage, et il ne s'est pas rendu compte de l'absence de l'embout amortisseur. Le fait que l'embout amortisseur n'ait pas été posé est passé inaperçu au cours des inspections subséquentes.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le pilote, qui ne possédait pas de qualification lui permettant de piloter des hélicoptères, volait en solo sans aucune supervision.
  2. Le technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs engagé pour faire le travail d'assemblage pour le compte de Starwest Aviation connaissait mal le type d'hélicoptère. Cet organisme de maintenance d'aéronefs n'était pas agréé pour faire de la maintenance sur des hélicoptères.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 19 décembre 2001.