Aviation Investigation Report A01P0100

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Break-up
BC Helicopters
Robinson R22B Helicopter, C-FHRL
Abbotsford, British Columbia, 10 nm E
16 May 2001

Summary

The Robinson R22B helicopter, C-FHRL, serial number 1361, was operating with a flying instructor and a student on board. About 10 nautical miles east of the Abbotsford airport, the helicopter was seen to break apart in flight and fall to the ground. No one observed the helicopter before the accident sequence began; however, several persons saw it descend in a flat attitude and pieces fall from it. They also observed that the main rotor was stationary and that the blades were coned. A mist with a strong smell of fuel was reported by the first person to arrive at the scene. No fire occurred. Both occupants were fatally injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français..

Other Factual Information

The instructor was conducting his first instructional flight with a student since qualifying for a Class 4 helicopter instructor rating. He held a commercial helicopter pilot licence and a type rating for the Robinson R22. He had flown about 2900 hours on helicopters, of which approximately 1600 hours were on the Robinson R22 and R44. His last medical, which included an electrocardiogram, was conducted on 18 April 2001 and was assessed as Category 1 with no limitations.

The student was receiving his initial familiarization flight as a student helicopter pilot. His medical examination was conducted on 25 April 2001, and he was assessed as Category 1, with the limitation that glasses must be worn.

Autopsies of the instructor and the student, including a full toxicology screening, did not reveal any conditions that could have led or contributed to the accident.

At the time of the accident, the weather conditions were suitable for flight in accordance with visual flight rules. The actual weather at the Abbotsford airport, 10 nautical miles west-southwest of the accident site, at 1400 Pacific daylight time,(1) 37 minutes before the accident, was as follows: wind 240º true at 12 knots gusting to 18 knots; visibility 25 statute miles; a few clouds at 2500 feet, broken clouds at 4500 feet, and broken clouds at 21 000 feet; temperature 14º C; and dew point 5º C. Weather data recorded at an agricultural locale bordering the accident site showed the wind speed to be 6 knots gusting to 14 knots at the approximate time of the accident. The wind direction was not recorded. According to the carburettor icing chart in Aeronautical Information Publication, section AIR 2.3, a temperature of 14º C and a dew point of 5º C falls right at the boundary between "serious icing at any power" and "moderate icing at cruise power or serious icing at descent power". The carburettor heat control was found in the OFF position.

Logbooks and maintenance records indicate that the Robinson R22B had been certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. It was reported that, on departure from Abbotsford, the helicopter had 50 litres of fuel on board, which would give an endurance of about two hours. The accident occurred about 20 minutes after the helicopter took off. The helicopter had no known deficiencies before the flight and was operating within its load and centre-of-gravity limits.

The wreckage was initially examined at the accident site. The helicopter struck the ground in a slightly right-banked, flat attitude. The debris field indicates that the helicopter was either stopped or proceeding very slowly in a north-northeasterly direction. The main-rotor blades were found bent into a tulip shape. This indicates low rotor-rpm during the descent to the ground.

The wreckage was recovered from the accident site for a more detailed examination at the TSB regional wreckage examination facility. Paint transfer marks indicate that the main-rotor blades contacted the fuselage at the strobe light mount area and chopped off the tail boom. This is supported by the deformation of both main-rotor blade spindle tusks, indicating excessive blade flap downward. The breaks on the tail-rotor drive shaft exhibited signature blade strikes to the tail boom at low rpm.

The main-rotor hub assembly showed some indications of mast bumping. The mast was bent immediately below the hub, but these indications were not severe. (In most instances of high-energy rotor/fuselage contact, the indications are severe.) Both teeter and droop stops were found in place. The main-rotor hub displayed "smile" marks on both sides from contact with the main-rotor pitch horn circumferences. These marks are consistent with both blades being coned upwards.

A teardown and an inspection of the Lycoming engine (model O-320-B2C, serial number L-7020-39A) was conducted at a Lycoming overhaul facility in Richmond, British Columbia, on 29 May 2001. Engine damage noted during this teardown was consistent with the engine contacting the ground and the airframe during the accident. The engine appeared to be mechanically capable of producing power before the accident, although it was not operating at impact. No indication was found of pre-existing damage or defects that could have contributed to the accident circumstances.

The engine was fitted with an electronic fuel control governor to help the pilot maintain rotor rpm and reduce the risk of low rotor-rpm leading to rotor stall. This installation featured a governor on/off switch on the end of the student pilot's collective lever. This collective governor switch was destroyed in the crash. All governor components, both magnetos, and the governor off and low-rpm warning light bulbs were sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. It was not determined whether the governor was operating when the accident sequence began, but information from laboratory analysis suggests that the governor was off at impact.

With two persons on board and full fuel, the R22 is operating at close to its maximum gross weight of 1370 pounds. This results in operations being routinely conducted near the upper limit of this helicopter's operating envelope, which, in turn, is near the maximum design lift capability of the main-rotor system. To gain the needed lift, the R22's main-rotor blade angle of attack will on occasions be near the stall angle of attack during normal operations. A simulation study conducted by the Georgia Institute of Technology revealed that large, abrupt control movements may cause a rapid decay of the rotor rpm due to the low inertia of the main rotor. The most effective technique to recover from low rotor-rpm is to immediately lower the collective to decrease the blades' angle of attack, flare to transfer airspeed energy to rotor energy, and roll on throttle.

In this accident, mast bumping marks and other damage to the main-rotor hub assembly are consistent with a low-energy situation, which would correspond to a low-rotor-rpm stall.

Rotor stall due to low rpm has resulted in many helicopter accidents. At the stalling angle, usually around 15º , the airflow over the rotor blades will abruptly separate, causing a sudden loss of lift and a large increase in drag. A rotor stall occurs because of low rotor-rpm. As the rotor rpm decreases, the angle of attack of the rotor blades must be increased to generate the lift required to support the helicopter, else the helicopter will descend. Once the rotor blades reach the stalling angle of attack, lift suddenly decreases and drag greatly increases. This increased drag acts like a huge rotor brake, causing the rotor rpm to decrease further, accentuating the effect of the rotor stall. Once the rotor rpm has decayed significantly, recovery is unlikely because, as the helicopter begins to descend, the upward rushing air further increases the angle of attack of the slowly rotating blades.

A tail boom chop often accompanies a low-rotor-rpm stall because of asymmetrical rotor stall, that is, the tendency for the helicopter to pitch nose-down due to the upward airflow under the tail surfaces and the application of aft cyclic by the pilot in an attempt to keep the nose from dropping.

A search of the TSB database has revealed that in Canada since 1993 there have been nine similar R22 helicopter occurrences in which rotor rpm was allowed to decay. A search of the US National Transportation Safety Board database revealed 27 similar occurrences in the US since 1983.

Analysis

Nothing was found to indicate that any mechanical malfunction initiated or contributed to the accident sequence, and there was usable fuel on board; therefore, this analysis focuses on the operational aspects of the flight. Weather is not considered to have been a factor in this accident, except that the conditions were conducive to carburettor icing.

Information gathered from the accident site and the examination of helicopter wreckage clearly indicate that the helicopter rotor-rpm decreased, likely to a stop, before the helicopter struck the ground. It is not clear what event or manoeuvre precipitated this condition of low rotor-rpm. However, the wreckage and site signatures, light bulb analysis, and the position of the carburettor heat control (cold) suggests two plausible scenarios that could have led to the final circumstances of this accident:

  • The first scenario is the demonstration of a helicopter descent without power, intending to make a power-on recovery at a comfortable height above the ground, as follows:

    • The instructor slows the helicopter and lowers the collective pitch control to the bottom of its travel.

    • He closes the throttle to idle, thus demonstrating that the engine is no longer driving the rotor.

    • To recover, he opens the throttle to match the engine rpm to the rotor rpm and raises the collective to arrest the rate of descent.

    • The rotor rpm decreases for one of two reasons:
      1. The instructor increases collective pitch before the engine throttle is open enough to power the rotor.
      2. Carburettor ice had formed during the power-off descent, and when the instructor increased collective pitch, the engine could not deliver enough power to drive the rotor.

The second scenario is as follows. The R22 helicopter has a record of accidents during flights with students having less than four hours' dual flight instruction, especially on initiation flights. While manipulating the flight controls, the student might have made a large, abrupt collective control input causing the rotor rpm to decay, and the instructor was not able to recover control of the helicopter. This scenario would be consistent with the carburettor heat being found in the OFF position and the information that the helicopter was moving very slowly just before the accident. Since rotor divergence and high-energy rotor/fuselage contact is not consistent with the known facts, mishandling of the cyclic control is not likely part of this scenario.

Why the instructor did not immediately recover the rotor rpm when it began to decrease is not clear. The Robinson R22B is susceptible to rapid loss of rotor rpm if mishandled. Quick recovery action is required by the pilot. Considerable airspeed, which can be traded for energy to the rotor system, is also necessary. If rotor rpm significantly decreases at a slow airspeed, rotor stall may be inevitable.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Rotor rpm decayed, for reasons that could not be determined, causing the main-rotor blades to sever the tail boom and, ultimately, to stall.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The Robinson R22B helicopter's low-inertia rotor design is susceptible to rapid loss of rotor rpm if mishandled. If rotor rpm significantly decreases at a slow airspeed, rotor stall may be inevitable.
  2. The carburettor heat was OFF, which increased the likelihood that carburettor ice adversely affected engine performance.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 15 May 2002.


1. All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01P0100

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Désintégration en vol
BC Helicopters
Robinson R22B (hélicoptère) C-FHRL
10 NM à l'est d'Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique)
16 mai 2001

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Robinson R22B, immatriculé C-FHRL et portant le numéro de série 1361, évoluait à environ 10 milles marins à l'est de l'aéroport d'Abbotsford avec un instructeur et un élève à bord lorsqu'on l'a vu se désintégrer en vol et tomber au sol. Personne n'a observé l'hélicoptère avant que l'accident se produise; cependant, plusieurs personnes ont vu l'hélicoptère effectuer une descente en assiette horizontale et ont pu voir des pièces tomber de l'appareil. Elles ont aussi remarqué que le rotor principal ne tournait pas et que les pales formaient un cône. Une bruine dégageant une forte odeur de carburant a été signalée par la première personne arrivée sur le lieu de l'accident. Il n'y a pas eu d'incendie. Les deux occupants ont subi des blessures mortelles.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'instructeur effectuait son premier vol d'instruction avec un élève depuis l'obtention de sa qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 4 - hélicoptères. Il était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel - hélicoptères et d'une qualification de type sur Robinson R22. Il cumulait environ 2900 heures de vol à bord d'hélicoptères, dont environ 1600 avaient été effectuées à bord d'appareils Robinson R22 et R44. Il avait subi son dernier examen médical le 18 avril 2001, lequel avait compris un électrocardiogramme, et il avait obtenu une catégorie médicale de classe 1 sans restrictions.

L'élève effectuait son premier vol de familiarisation à titre d'élève-pilote d'hélicoptère. Il avait subi son examen médical le 25 avril 2001 et avait obtenu une catégorie médicale de classe 1 avec obligation de porter des verres correcteurs.

Les autopsies pratiquées sur le corps de l'instructeur et de l'élève, qui ont compris des examens toxicologiques complets, n'ont rien révélé qui aurait pu mener à l'accident ou qui aurait pu y contribuer.

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques permettaient le vol selon les règles de vol à vue. À 14 h, heure avancée du Pacifique(1), soit 37 minutes avant l'accident, les conditions météorologiques à l'aéroport d'Abbotsford, situé à 10 milles marins à l'ouest-sud-ouest du lieu de l'accident, étaient les suivantes : vents du 240º vrais à 12 noeuds avec des rafales à 18 noeuds; visibilité de 25 milles terrestres; quelques nuages à 2500 pieds et nuages fragmentés à 4500 et à 21 000 pieds; température de 14º C; point de rosée à 5º C. Les données météorologiques recueillies à partir d'un bureau agricole situé près du lieu de l'accident indiquaient que, à peu près au moment de l'accident, des vents soufflaient à 6 noeuds avec des rafales à 14 noeuds. La direction des vents n'a pas été enregistrée. Selon le diagramme de givrage du carburateur se trouvant à la section AIR 2.3 de la Publication d'information aéronautique, une température de 14º C et un point de rosée de 5º C correspond exactement à la jonction des zones « Givrage intense - à tout régime » et « Givrage modéré - régime de croisière ou givrage intense - gaz réduits (en descente) ». La commande de réchauffage carburateur a été trouvée en position OFF.

Les livrets techniques et les dossiers de maintenance indiquent que le Robinson R22B avait été certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Des témoins ont signalé qu'au moment du départ d'Abbotsford, il y avait 50 litres de carburant à bord de l'hélicoptère, ce qui aurait permis une autonomie maximale d'environ deux heures. L'accident s'est produit environ 20 minutes après le décollage de l'hélicoptère. Il n'existait aucune anomalie connue avant le vol, et la masse et le centrage de l'hélicoptère se trouvaient dans les limites permises.

L'épave a d'abord été examinée sur le lieu de l'accident. L'hélicoptère a percuté le sol en assiette longitudinale nulle avec une légère inclinaison à droite. La zone où se trouvaient les débris indique que l'hélicoptère avait une vitesse de translation nulle ou qu'il se déplaçait très lentement vers le nord-nord-est. On a trouvé les pales du rotor principal pliées en forme de tulipe, ce qui indique que le rotor tournait à bas régime durant la descente vers le sol.

L'épave a été récupérée sur le lieu de l'accident pour être envoyée aux installations régionales d'examen des épaves du BST dans le but d'y subir un examen plus détaillé. Les marques de transfert de peinture indiquent que les pales du rotor principal ont percuté le fuselage au niveau du support du feu à éclats et qu'elles ont sectionné la poutre de queue. Cette constatation est renforcée par la déformation des deux cornes des paliers des pales du rotor principal, signe de battement excessif des pales vers le bas. Les fractures subies par l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue correspondent à des dommages causés par des pales qui percutent la poutre de queue à bas régime.

Le moyeu du rotor principal présentait certains signes de cognement du mât. Le mât était plié juste au-dessous du moyeu, mais pas de façon importante. (Dans la plupart des cas de contact violent entre le rotor et le fuselage, la déformation est importante.) Les butées de basculement et d'affaissement ont été trouvées en place. Le moyeu du rotor principal comportait des marques en forme de « sourire » de chaque côté, résultat du contact avec la circonférence des guignols de pas du rotor principal. Ces marques sont compatibles avec le fait que les deux pales avaient pris la forme d'un cône vers le haut.

Le 29 mai 2001, un démontage et une inspection du moteur Lycoming (modèle O-320-B2C, numéro de série L-7020-39A) ont été effectués aux installations de révision de Lycoming, à Richmond (Colombie-Britannique). Les dommages constatés lors de ce démontage correspondaient au contact du moteur avec le sol et la cellule au cours de l'accident. D'un point de vue mécanique, le moteur semblait en mesure de fournir de la puissance avant l'accident, même s'il ne fonctionnait pas à l'impact. Rien n'indiquait qu'il y avait eu des défectuosités ou des dommages pré-existants qui auraient pu contribuer aux circonstances entourant l'accident.

Le moteur avait été équipé d'un régulateur de carburant électronique afin d'aider le pilote à maintenir un régime rotor constant et afin de réduire les risques de bas régime rotor menant à un décrochage. Le dispositif possédait un interrupteur ON/OFF au bout du levier de pas collectif de l'élève-pilote. Cet interrupteur de régulateur fixé sur le levier de pas collectif a été détruit dans l'accident. Tous les composants du régulateur, les deux magnétos et les ampoules des voyants d'alarme signalant l'arrêt du régulateur et le bas régime rotor ont été envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour y être analysés. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si le régulateur était en marche lorsque l'accident a débuté, mais les renseignements tirés de l'analyse de laboratoire laissent croire que le régulateur n'était pas en marche au moment de l'impact.

Lorsqu'il y a deux personnes à bord et qu'on a fait le plein de carburant, la masse du R22 avoisine sa masse maximale totale de 1 370 livres. Cette situation fait en sorte que l'hélicoptère est souvent utilisé près de la limite supérieure de son domaine d'utilisation, ce qui, à son tour, signifie une utilisation qui s'approche de la capacité de portance maximale du rotor principal. Afin d'obtenir la portance nécessaire, l'angle d'attaque des pales du rotor principal du R22 sera, à l'occasion et en utilisation normale, près de l'angle d'attaque de décrochage. Une simulation effectuée au Georgia Institute of Technology a révélé que des déplacements de commandes brusques et à grande amplitude peuvent causer une diminution rapide du régime rotor en raison de la faible inertie du rotor principal. La technique la plus efficace pour rétablir une situation de bas régime rotor consiste à abaisser immédiatement le levier de pas collectif afin de diminuer l'angle d'attaque des pales, à relever le nez de l'hélicoptère à l'aide du cyclique afin de transférer l'énergie provenant de la vitesse en énergie utilisable par le rotor et à augmenter les gaz.

Dans le cas présent, les marques résultant du cognement du mât ainsi que les autres dommages subis par le moyeu du rotor principal correspondent à une situation de faible énergie, et donc, de décrochage à bas régime rotor.

Les décrochages de rotor causés par un bas régime rotor ont donné lieu à de nombreux accidents d'hélicoptère. À l'angle de décrochage, qui est habituellement autour de 15º, les filets d'air qui s'écoulent autour des pales du rotor se décollent brusquement, causant une perte soudaine de portance et une augmentation importante de la traînée. Un bas régime rotor provoque le décrochage du rotor. À mesure que le régime du rotor diminue, l'angle d'attaque des pales du rotor doit être augmenté dans le but de générer la portance nécessaire à la sustentation de l'hélicoptère, sinon, ce dernier se mettra à descendre. Une fois que les pales du rotor ont atteint l'angle d'attaque de décrochage, la portance diminue soudainement, et la traînée augmente de façon significative. Cette augmentation de traînée agit comme un énorme frein rotor, faisant diminuer de plus belle le régime du rotor et accentuant les effets du décrochage du rotor. Une fois que le régime rotor a grandement diminué, il est pratiquement impossible de faire un rétablissement, car, au moment où l'hélicoptère commence à descendre, le violent écoulement d'air dirigé vers le haut augmente encore davantage l'angle d'attaque des pales qui tournent à bas régime.

Le décrochage à bas régime rotor s'accompagne souvent du sectionnement de la poutre de queue en raison du décrochage asymétrique du rotor, c'est-à-dire la tendance de l'hélicoptère à piquer du nez à cause de l'écoulement d'air qui s'exerce vers le haut sous les surfaces arrières, et du fait que le pilote tire sur la commande cyclique dans le but d'empêcher le nez de piquer.

Une recherche dans la base de données du BST a révélé que, depuis 1993, neuf cas similaires impliquant des hélicoptères R22A dont on avait laissé diminuer le régime rotor, se sont produits au Canada. Une recherche dans la base de données du National Transportation Safety Board américain a permis de découvrir qu'il s'était produit 27 cas similaires aux États-Unis depuis 1983.

Analyse

Rien n'indique qu'une défaillance mécanique ait provoqué l'accident ou y ait contribué, et il y avait du carburant utilisable à bord. Par conséquent, cette analyse se concentre sur les aspects opérationnels du vol. Les conditions météorologiques ne sont pas considérées comme un facteur ayant contribué à l'accident, à l'exception des conditions qui étaient propices au givrage du carburateur.

Les renseignements recueillis sur le lieu de l'accident et l'examen de l'épave indiquent clairement que le régime rotor de l'hélicoptère a diminué, probablement jusqu'à l'arrêt, avant que l'appareil percute le sol. On ne sait pas exactement quel événement ou quelle manoeuvre a pu provoquer une situation de bas régime rotor. Cependant, l'épave et les traces laissées sur le lieu de l'accident, l'analyse des ampoules et la position de la commande du réchauffage carburateur (fermée) permettent d'envisager les deux scénarios suivants, lesquels auraient pu mener aux circonstances finales du présent accident :

  • Le premier scénario est une démonstration de descente, moteur réduit, avec l'intention d'effectuer une sortie au moteur à une altitude confortable au-dessus du sol, démonstration dont le déroulement est le suivant :

    • L'instructeur ralentit l'hélicoptère et abaisse complètement le levier de pas collectif;

    • Il règle la manette des gaz au ralenti, démontrant ainsi que le moteur n'entraîne plus le rotor;

    • Pour effectuer la sortie il règle la manette des gaz de manière à obtenir le régime du moteur et il tire sur le levier de pas collectif afin de stopper la descente.

    • Le régime du rotor diminue pour l'une des deux raisons suivantes :

      1. L'instructeur augmente le pas collectif avant que la manette des gaz soit suffisamment ouverte pour entraîner le rotor;
      2. Du givre s'est formé dans le carburateur durant la descente avec moteur réduit, et lorsque l'instructeur a augmenté le pas collectif, le moteur n'a pas été en mesure de fournir la puissance pour entraîner le rotor.

  • Le second scénario est le suivant. L'hélicoptère R22 a connu de nombreux accidents lors de vol avec des élèves ayant moins de quatre heures de vol de formation en double commandes, et particulièrement lors de vols de familiarisation. Il est possible que l'élève, au moment où il manipulait les commandes, ait sollicité brusquement et avec trop d'amplitude le levier de pas collectif, ce qui aurait causé la baisse du régime rotor, et que l'instructeur n'ait pas été en mesure de reprendre la maîtrise de l'hélicoptère. Ce scénario expliquerait le fait que le réchauffage carburateur ait été trouvé en position OFF et que, selon les renseignements recueillis, l'hélicoptère se déplaçait très lentement avant l'accident. Puisque la déformation du rotor et le contact violent entre le rotor et le fuselage ne correspondent pas aux faits connus, il est peu probable qu'une mauvaise manipulation de la commande cyclique fasse partie de ce scénario.

On ne sait pas très bien pourquoi l'instructeur n'a pas immédiatement rétabli le régime rotor lorsque celui-ci a commencé à diminuer. Le Robinson R22B est sujet aux baisses rapides de régime rotor s'il n'est piloté avec soin. Le pilote doit rapidement prendre des mesures de rétablissement. Il est aussi nécessaire d'avoir une vitesse propre considérable, laquelle peut être transformée en énergie utilisable par le rotor. Si le régime du rotor diminue de manière significative à une vitesse propre faible, un décrochage est alors quasiment inévitable.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le régime rotor a diminué, pour des raisons qu'il n'a pas été possible de déterminer, ce qui a mené au sectionnement de la poutre de queue par les pales du rotor principal et finalement, au décrochage du rotor.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La conception du rotor à faible inertie de l'hélicoptère Robinson R22B rend ce dernier sujet aux pertes rapides de régime rotor si l'appareil n'est pas piloté avec soin. Si le régime du rotor diminue de manière significative à basse vitesse, un décrochage est alors quasiment inévitable.
  2. Le réchauffage carburateur était en position OFF, ce qui a augmenté la probabilité que le givrage du carburateur ait nui aux performances du moteur.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 15 mai 2002.


1.     Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée du Pacifique (temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).