Aviation Investigation Report A01P0127

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Separation
Nav Canada Area Control Centre
Vancouver Terminal - Arrival Low
Vancouver International Airport,
British Columbia
09 June 2001

Summary

Air Canada Flight 163 (ACA163), a Boeing 767-200, was inbound to Vancouver from the northeast and vectored to Runway 26R. At the same time, Singapore Airlines Flight 018 (SIA018), an Airbus A340-300, was inbound from the southwest and vectored to Runway 26R. When ACA163 was on right base and descending from about 4800 feet to 3000 feet, SIA018 was established on left base and level at 4000 feet. During this turn onto final, a loss of separation occurred and both aircraft closed to within 600 feet and 1½ nautical miles of each other before the required separation was restored.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

ACA163 first contacted Vancouver's arrival low controller at 1102:48 Pacific daylight time1 and reported out of 6000 feet, descending to 5000 feet. At that time, the aircraft was turning left to a heading of 080º and descending at about 1000 feet per minute (fpm) while maintaining a speed of about 250 knots. The arrival low controller cleared ACA163 to maintain 3000 feet and cautioned the crew about turbulence because they would be following a heavy aircraft.

Figure 1 - Relative positions after initial contact with the arrival low controller. The stars show each aircraft's position. The dotted lines show each aircraft's respective previous track.

Figure 1. Relative positions after initial contact with the arrival low controller. The stars show each aircraft's position. The dotted lines show each aircraft's respective previous track.

SIA018 checked in with the arrival low controller about 20 seconds later, when their aircraft was in a descent and approaching 5000 feet. The controller acknowledged the check-in and cleared the aircraft to continue its descent to maintain 4000 feet on a heading of 070º. The relative positions of the two aircraft after this initial contact with the arrival low controller are shown in Figure 1.

At 1103:31, the controller directed ACA163 to turn right to a heading of 170º. Nine seconds later, the controller directed SIA018 to complete a left turn to a heading of 350º. Once established on this reciprocal track, the combined closing speed of the two aircraft was about 480 knots (8 nautical miles [nm] per minute).

At 1104:06, the arrival low controller vectored ACA163 right to a heading of 230º and cleared the aircraft for an instrument landing system (ILS) approach to Runway 26R with a speed restriction to maintain 170 knots. When ACA163 received the approach clearance and associated speed restriction, the aircraft was descending through about 4800 feet and maintaining a speed of about 250 knots. ACA163 commenced a right turn and began to reduce speed to meet the restriction; during that manoeuvre, the aircraft's rate of descent dropped to about 450 fpm.

Figure 2 - Relative position of both aircraft during the early stages of ACA163's turn to final.

Figure 2. Relative position of both aircraft during the early stages of ACA163's turn to final.

Figure 3 - Loss of separation.

Figure 3.Loss of separation.

The two aircraft closed to about 3.3 nm and were still converging at a rate of about 8 nm per minute when the controller directed SIA018 to turn to a heading of 290º at 4000 feet. (See Figure 2.) He then directed ACA163 to expedite its descent down to 3000 feet for traffic. On receipt of the direction to "expedite" descent, ACA163's rate of descent increased to about 1000 fpm, the turn radius tightened, and the speed remained at 170 knots.

A loss of separation occurred when the two aircraft closed to within 1½ nm and 600 feet in an area where 3 nm horizontal or 1000 feet vertical separation was required. Separation was re-established when ACA163 reached the cleared altitude of 3000 feet.

SIA018 subsequently reported the airport in sight and was given an amended clearance to conduct a visual approach to Runway 26L. ACA163 completed the ILS approach to Runway 26R.

Each aircraft was fitted with a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system (TCAS). Neither crew reported or responded to a TCAS traffic alert or resolution advisory, and crews of both aircraft had reported the opposing traffic in sight.

Nav Canada's primary role is to ensure safe and efficient movement of aircraft within Canadian airspace and international airspace for which it has accepted responsibility to provide air traffic services.

As part of their functions, Nav Canada's air traffic controllers are required to ensure adequate separation is maintained between aircraft. Specific separation standards vary and are detailed in the Canadian Aviation Regulations. To maintain appropriate separation, controllers must plan, take appropriate steps to execute the plan, and monitor the results of their plan. Any breakdown in planning, execution, or monitoring functions is considered to be an irregularity, which could lead to a loss of separation.

Aircrew and controllers follow standardized procedures; use of such procedures reduce the requirement for detailed explanations and excessive radio communication. When on radar vectors, it is important that aircrew follow the direction of a controller to ensure the success of a controller's plan. In general, however, aircrew will only know the part of a controller's plan that is conveyed to them through the communication system.

Under normal circumstances, when slowing an aircraft, there is a natural consequence that an aircraft's rate of descent will reduce.

Nav Canada recognizes an increased risk in directing altitude changes while vectoring aircraft on reciprocal tracks. This type of control plan is considered by Nav Canada to be very unforgiving; it increases a controller's monitoring requirement, increases the risk of error from distraction, and makes recovery from any potential error more difficult. Examples of previous events where this type of control procedure did not work properly have been disseminated to controllers through Nav Canada's internal communication system (Air Traffic Services Bulletin - Squawk 7700 Number 9501).

Analysis

Based on a review of available radar and radio communication information, it is likely that the controller anticipated that Air Canada (arriving from the north) would be down to his cleared altitude (3,000') before lateral separation was lost.

However, when the controller cleared ACA163 for the ILS approach, he also directed a speed reduction to 170 knots. ACA163 responded by commencing a turn and slowing the aircraft to meet the speed restriction. As ACA163 decelerated to meet the directed speed restriction, the aircraft's vertical velocity reduced as a natural consequence. When the controller recognized ACA163's reduced rate of descent, it was too late to correct the situation before losing separation. In part, the controller's time constraint was caused by the use of a vectoring procedure that placed the two aircraft on reciprocal tracks at nearly identical altitudes.

The controller responded by giving SIA018 a turn to the left; this turn helped to reduce the closure rate between the two aircraft. The controller also directed ACA163 to expedite the descent to 3000 feet for traffic. This transmission provided the first indication to ACA163 that a traffic conflict was imminent and that an increased rate of descent was required. The crew responded by increasing their descent rate, maintaining the speed restriction, and tightening the turn to the localizer on course.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The controller did not ensure that vertical separation was established before lateral separation was lost.

Other Findings

  1. Directing altitude changes while vectoring two arriving aircraft onto reciprocal tracks increases a controller's monitoring requirement, increases the risk of error from distraction, and makes recovery from any potential error more difficult because of the high closing speeds.
  2. A directed airspeed change is likely to cause a modification to an aircraft's rate of descent.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 20 August 2002.


1.   All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01P0127

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte d'espacement
Centre de contrôle régional de Nav Canada
Contrôle terminal de Vancouver -
Arrivées basse altitude
Aéroport international de Vancouver
(Colombie-Britannique)
Le 9 juin 2001

Résumé

Le Boeing 767-200 du vol 163 d'Air Canada (ACA163) arrive à Vancouver par le nord-est et se trouve sous guidage radar en prévision d'un atterrissage sur la piste 26R. Au même moment, l'Airbus A340-300 du vol 018 de Singapore Airlines (SIA018) arrive par le sud-ouest et se trouve sous guidage radar en prévision d'un atterrissage sur la piste 26R. Au moment où ACA163 se trouve en étape de base à droite en train de descendre d'environ 4 800 pieds à 3 000 pieds, SIA018 est établi en étape de base à gauche, en palier à 4 000 pieds. Pendant le virage en finale, une perte d'espacement se produit, et les deux avions se rapprochent à moins de 600 pieds et de 1½ mille marin avant que l'espacement exigé ne soit rétabli.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Figure 1 - Position relative des avions après le contact initial avec le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude. Les étoiles correspondent à la position de chaque avion, tandis que les pointillés montrent la trajectoire suivie par chaque avion dans les instants qui ont précédé.

Figure 1. Position relative des avions après le contact initial avec le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude. Les étoiles correspondent à la position de chaque avion, tandis que les pointillés montrent la trajectoire suivie par chaque avion dans les instants qui ont précédé.

L'équipage d'ACA163 contacte pour la première fois le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude de Vancouver à 11 h 02 min 48, heure avancée du Pacifique1 et signale qu'il passe 6 000 pieds en descente vers 5 000 pieds. À ce moment-là, l'avion vire à gauche au cap de 080º et descend à quelque 1 000 pieds par minute (pi/min) tout en maintenant une vitesse de l'ordre de 250 nœuds. Le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude autorise ACA163 à maintenir 3 000 pieds et met en garde l'équipage contre la présence de turbulence car son avion va suivre un gros-porteur.

L'équipage de SIA018 contacte pour la première fois le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude quelque 20 secondes plus tard, alors que son avion se trouve en descente et approche de 5 000 pieds. Le contrôleur accuse réception du message et autorise l'avion à poursuivre sa descente vers 4 000 pieds et à s'y mettre en palier à un cap de 070º. La figure 1 montre la position relative des deux avions après ce contact initial avec le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude.

À 11 h 03 min 31, le contrôleur ordonne à ACA163 de virer à droite au cap de 170º. Neuf secondes plus tard, le contrôleur ordonne à SIA018 de faire un virage à gauche jusqu'au cap de 350º. Une fois établis sur ces trajectoires inverses, les deux avions ont une vitesse de rapprochement combinée de quelque 480 nœuds [8 milles marins (nm) par minute].

Figure 2 - Position relative des deux avions dans les premiers instants du virage en finale d'ACA163.

Figure 2. CaptionPosition relative des deux avions dans les premiers instants du virage en finale d'ACA163.

Figure 3 - Perte d'espacement.

Figure 3.Perte d'espacement.

À 11 h 04 min 06, le contrôleur des arrivées basse altitude guide ACA163 au radar jusqu'à un cap de 230º et autorise l'avion à faire une approche de la piste 26R à l'aide du système d'approche aux instruments (ILS), le tout assorti de l'obligation de maintenir une vitesse de 170 nœuds. Quand l'équipage d'ACA163 reçoit l'autorisation d'approche ainsi que la limite de vitesse qui s'y rattache, l'avion est en train de passer 4 800 pieds en descente tout en maintenant une vitesse d'environ 250 nœuds. L'équipage d'ACA163 entame un virage à droite et commence à réduire la vitesse pour respecter la limite qui lui a été imposée; pendant la manœuvre, le taux de descente de l'avion diminue à quelque 450 pi/min.Les deux avions se rapprochent à quelque 3,3 nm l'un de l'autre et convergent toujours à un rythme d'environ 8 nm par minute lorsque le contrôleur ordonne à l'équipage de SIA018 de virer au cap de 290º à 4 000 pieds (voir la figure 2). Il ordonne ensuite à l'équipage d'ACA163 d'accélérer sa descente vers 3 000 pieds à cause du trafic. Après réception de l'ordre « d'accélérer » la descente, le taux de descente d'ACA163 augmente à quelque 1 000 pi/min, le rayon du virage se resserre et la vitesse reste à 170 nœuds.

Il y a perte d'espacement lorsque les deux avions se rapprochent à moins de 1½ nm et de 600 pieds dans une zone où un espacement horizontal de 3 nm ou un espacement vertical de 1 000 pieds est obligatoire. L'espacement est rétabli au moment où ACA163 arrive à l'altitude de 3 000 pieds à laquelle il a été autorisé.

Par la suite, l'équipage de SIA018 signale qu'il a l'aéroport en vue, et il reçoit une autorisation modifiée lui permettant d'effectuer une approche à vue de la piste 26L. De son côté, l'équipage d'ACA163 termine son approche ILS de la piste 26R.

Les deux avions possèdent un système d'avertissement de trafic et d'évitement d'abordage (TCAS). Aucun des deux équipages ne signale recevoir ou exécuter un avertissement de trafic ou un avis de résolution du TCAS, les équipages des deux avions faisant savoir qu'ils ont l'autre appareil en vue.

Le rôle principal de Nav Canada consiste à assurer un écoulement sûr et efficace de la circulation aérienne à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien canadien ainsi que de l'espace aérien international pour lequel l'organisme a accepté la responsabilité de fournir des services de circulation aérienne.

Dans le cadre de leurs fonctions, les contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne de Nav Canada sont tenus de s'assurer de la présence continue d'un espacement convenable entre les aéronefs. Les normes d'espacement précises varient et sont détaillées dans le Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Pour veiller au maintien d'un espacement approprié, les contrôleurs doivent planifier, prendre les mesures qui s'imposent pour exécuter leur plan et surveiller les résultats dudit plan. Toute défaillance dans la planification, l'exécution ou la surveillance est considérée comme une irrégularité susceptible de mener à une perte d'espacement.

Les équipages de conduite et les contrôleurs suivent des procédures normalisées, dont l'utilisation permet de ne pas avoir à donner des explications détaillées et à transmettre des messages radio trop longs. En cas de guidage radar, il est important que l'équipage de conduite respecte les directives du contrôleur si l'on veut garantir le succès du plan du contrôleur. Toutefois, l'équipage de conduite ne connaît généralement que la partie du plan du contrôleur qui lui parvient par l'entremise du système de communications.

Dans des circonstances normales, le fait de réduire la vitesse d'un avion a comme conséquence naturelle de faire diminuer le taux de descente de cet appareil.

Nav Canada est conscient des risques plus grands qu'il y a à ordonner des changements d'altitude à des appareils sous guidage radar qui suivent des trajectoires inverses. Au niveau du contrôle, Nav Canada considère qu'un tel plan ne pardonne pas la moindre erreur, car il impose au contrôleur une surveillance accrue, il augmente le risque d'erreur due à la distraction et il rend toute erreur potentielle beaucoup plus difficile à corriger. Des exemples d'événements antérieurs au cours desquels le recours à cette procédure de contrôle n'a pas donné de bons résultats ont été portés à la connaissance des contrôleurs par l'entremise du système de communication interne de Nav Canada (Bulletin de sécurité des Services de la circulation aérienne - Squawk 7700, numéro 9501).

Analyse

Après examen des renseignements disponibles tirés du radar et des radiocommunications, il y a tout lieu de croire que le contrôleur s'attendait à ce que l'avion d'Air Canada (qui arrivait par le nord) atteigne l'altitude à laquelle il avait été autorisé (3 000 pieds) avant la perte de l'espacement latéral.

Toutefois, quand le contrôleur a autorisé ACA163 à faire une approche ILS, il a également ordonné une réduction de vitesse à 170 nœuds. L'équipage d'ACA163 a réagi en entamant un virage et en réduisant la vitesse afin de respecter la limite imposée. Comme ACA163 décélérait dans le but de se conformer à la limite de vitesse, cette manœuvre a eu comme conséquence naturelle de faire diminuer la vitesse descensionnelle de l'appareil. Quand le contrôleur s'est rendu compte du taux de descente réduit d'ACA163, il était trop tard pour corriger la situation avant l'apparition de la perte d'espacement. La contrainte de temps imposée au contrôleur a été due en partie au recours à un guidage radar qui a amené les deux avions sur des trajectoires inverses à des altitudes quasiment identiques.

Le contrôleur a réagi en faisant virer SIA018 à gauche, ce qui a aidé à réduire la vitesse de rapprochement des deux avions. Le contrôleur a également ordonné à ACA163 d'accélérer la descente jusqu'à 3 000 pieds à cause du trafic. C'est ce message qui a fourni à l'équipage d'ACA163 la première indication comme quoi un conflit de trafic était imminent et qu'une augmentation du taux de descente s'imposait. L'équipage de conduite a réagi en augmentant le taux de descente, en continuant de respecter la limite de vitesse et en resserrant le virage pour aller chercher le faisceau du radiophare d'alignement de piste.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le contrôleur ne s'est pas assuré de la présence d'un espacement vertical avant la perte de l'espacement latéral.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le fait d'ordonner des changements d'altitude pendant le guidage radar de deux avions à l'arrivée sur des trajectoires inverses impose au contrôleur une surveillance accrue, il augmente le risque d'erreur due à la distraction et il rend toute erreur potentielle beaucoup plus difficile à corriger à cause de la vitesse de rapprochement élevée des avions.
  2. Il faut s'attendre à ce qu'une demande de modification de la vitesse d'un avion se traduise par une modification du taux de descente de celui-ci.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée par le Bureau le 20 août 2002.


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée du Pacifique (temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).