Aviation Investigation Report A01W0160

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Risk of Collision
NAV CANADA
Edmonton Area Control Centre-Alsask Sector
Empress VOR, Alberta, 40 nm W
04 July 2001

Summary

An Air Canada Boeing 737 (ACA3697) was en route from Winnipeg International Airport, Manitoba, to Calgary International Airport, Alberta, at flight level (FL) 350. A Canadian Regional Airlines Fokker F28 (CDR8510) departed Calgary en route to Regina International Airport, Saskatchewan, and was climbing to FL290 in a direction opposite to ACA3697. Both flights were in radar coverage under air traffic control. When ACA3697 was about 25 nautical miles east of the Empress VOR (VHF omnidirectional radio range), an air traffic controller cleared the aircraft to descend to FL290. After ACA3697 crossed the Empress VOR, the controller, to provide separation from another aircraft, instructed ACA3697 to maintain a heading that was nearly reciprocal that of CDR8510. When the two aircraft were about 6 nautical miles apart, a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system resolution advisory instructed CDR8510 to descend, which they did. The two aircraft passed with about 1000 feet horizontal and 1300 feet vertical spacing in an area where the required minimum separation was 5 nautical miles horizontally or 1000 feet vertically.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The aircraft were flying through the Alsask sector in the Calgary en route specialty. The specialty, situated in the Edmonton Area Control Centre (ACC), comprises six sectors. The Alsask sector is on the eastern boundary adjoining airspace controlled by Winnipeg ACC. For flights inbound to Calgary from the east, aircraft are issued descent to 12 000 feet and the appropriate standard terminal arrival routing (STAR).

After departure from Calgary, CDR8510 was established on Airway J504 eastbound on a track of 073º magnetic and cleared to flight level (FL) 250 while in Calgary Terminal Control airspace. Upon making contact with the Alsask controller at 1100 mountain daylight time,1 CDR8510 was cleared to climb to their flight-planned altitude of FL290.

ACA3697 was cleared to proceed westbound at FL350 on Airway J504 to the Empress VOR (VHF omnidirectional radio range) (YEA), Airway J476 to the ALOMO intersection, and then to the Calgary airport via a published STAR. When ACA3697 was about 25 nautical miles (nm) east of YEA, the Alsask controller cleared the aircraft to descend to FL290 in preparation for handing control of the flight over to the Calgary terminal sector of Edmonton ACC. After crossing YEA, ACA3697 turned right on J476 in accordance with the clearance. (See Figure 1.)

Figure 1 - Risk of collision between CDR8510 and ACA3697

Figure 1.  Risk of collision between CDR8510 and ACA3697

When ACA3697 was issued descent clearance, an Airbus A320 (ACA579) was westbound on a track of 252º at FL310 about 11 nm north of YEA. After determining ACA579's heading, the Alsask controller instructed ACA3697 to turn left to a heading of 250º, followed shortly by instructions to turn right to a heading of 270º. This manoeuvring assured separation between ACA3697 and ACA579, but placed ACA3697 on a track nearly reciprocal to CDR8510. ACA3697 leveled at FL290 approximately 5.9 nm in front of CDR8510, which was climbing through FL280 for FL290.

While climbing through FL280, CDR8510 received a traffic alert and collision-avoidance system (TCAS) resolution advisory (RA) to descend for traffic avoidance. Within 30 seconds, CDR8510 had descended to FL277, passing under ACA3697 at FL290. ACA3697 received a TCAS traffic advisory-information to assist the flight crew visually acquire conflicting traffic and to alert pilots of the possibility of an RA; the pilot took no evasive action. The sky was clear with unlimited visibility, and both flight crews had visual contact with the other aircraft when they passed. Aircraft flying in Canada are not required to be fitted with an on-board collision-avoidance system.

The radar data-processing system situational display (RSiT) includes a number of features that assist a controller in maintaining situational awareness. A controller normally tags radar targets with a number of parameters, including aircraft identity, altitude, and speed. S/he can select a halo2 around a particular aircraft target to represent horizontal separation minima. A projected track line (PTL) presents a controller with information on the predicted path that an aircraft will follow for a selected period of time. As an aircraft track changes, the PTL continually changes to indicate the revised track that the aircraft will fly. The PTL can be either displayed or suppressed for each radar target.

The controller had selected a PTL for ACA3697 but not for CDR8510. When the controller instructed ACA3697 to turn to a heading of 250º, its PTL intersected the target for CDR8510. However, the controller did not detect the conflict. Range halos were not selected for any of the aircraft involved in the incident.

Flight progress strips were available and showed direction of flight, altitude, and appropriate marks indicating that the estimates had been passed to concerned sectors. The controller had passed all relevant information about CDR8510 to Winnipeg ACC, including the estimated time at YEA and the aircraft's flight-planned altitude of FL290.

The RSiT system has been operational at Edmonton ACC since 2000. All controllers were given a two-day course in its use, and recurrent training is provided when the system is upgraded. The controller involved in this incident received his initial RSiT training in 2000, recurrent training in April 2001, and was considered to be competent using the display system.

The controller, who was licensed and current in accordance with existing regulations, had 30 years experience, with 20 years in the Calgary en route specialty. He was a specialty team supervisor and worked a controller position as required.

On the day of the occurrence, he reported for work at 0600 in a controller position; another supervisor was on duty. At the time of the occurrence, he was working the Alsask sector alone and performed data and controller duties. The incident occurred about 3½ hours before the end of his shift. Workload was described as light to moderate, with a total of five aircraft in the Alsask sector at the time of the occurrence. The controller considered himself to be well rested and without health problems.

Canadian Aviation Regulation (CAR) 602.34 specifies that FL290 is an altitude reserved for eastbound aircraft unless otherwise assigned by air traffic control (ATC). FL290 was assigned to westbound ACA3697, and although it was landing in Calgary, the flight was operating in the en route airway structure. Nav Canada Air Traffic Control Manual of Operations (ATC MANOPS), section 430, provides additional guidance and limitations for controllers when assigning an altitude inappropriate for the direction of flight, including the markup of flight progress strips in a distinct and standard manner. However, the controller was not in the habit of marking the flight progress strip altitude box to indicate an aircraft flying at an altitude not appropriate for direction of flight when an aircraft was landing at an airport. Controllers are not required to indicate an altitude inappropriate for direction of flight on the radar display using an available display tool. There was no other traffic in the vicinity that required ACA3697 to be level at FL290 to maintain the required separation. No other form of separation was applied between ACA3697 and CDR8510 during the time the two aircraft were both cleared to maintain FL290.

The Empress VOR is a common crossing point for eastbound and westbound traffic operating through the Alsask sector of Edmonton ACC. Since 1998, five recorded loss-of-separation incidents have occurred near the Empress VOR, with all of these incidents involving aircraft flying in opposite directions at the same altitude. Procedures had been modified in other Edmonton ACC specialties to minimize conflicts between opposite-direction traffic.

TSB recommended (A00-15) that NAV CANADA commit, with a set date, to the installation and operation of an automated conflict prediction and alerting system installed at the nation's ATC facilities to reduce the risk of midair collisions. Conflict alert was implemented in the North High and Edmonton En Route specialties of the Edmonton ACC on 07 July 2002, and is planned for the North Low and Calgary En Route specialties by 31 October 2002. Functionality will be established in all national high level airspace by the end of 2002.

Analysis

ACA3697 and CDR8510 were initially properly separated, both vertically (FL350 versus FL290) and laterally (J476 versus J504). The problem the controller faced was to descend ACA3697 to an appropriate altitude in order to hand over the flight to the next sector for landing at Calgary Airport. The controller chose to clear ACA3697 to FL290, a wrong-way altitude. However, he did not mark the flight progress strip for ACA3697 to indicate that the flight was at an altitude inappropriate for the direction of flight, nor was he in the habit of doing so in this situation. Controllers are not prevented, by regulation or procedures, from assigning altitudes not appropriate for the direction of flight to aircraft being positioned for landing at an airport. However, by clearing ACA3697 to FL290, the flight was placed at a higher risk of being involved in a loss-of-separation incident with opposite-direction traffic, with a resulting greater potential for a midair collision.

In order to descend ACA3697 to the required altitude before handoff to the Calgary arrival sector, the controller first had to ensure the appropriate lateral spacing with another westbound flight, ACA579 several miles to the north at FL310. The controller's attention then became focused on this separation problem, to the detriment of his overall situational awareness. To solve the separation problem between the two Air Canada flights, the controller chose to clear ACA3697 to FL290 and issue a vector to the southwest, away from the other aircraft. In doing so, the controller created a conflict with CDR8510 where none had existed.

The controller did not see the impending conflict with CDR8510. He did not indicate the conflict between ACA3697 and CDR8510 on the RSiT, nor did he perceive the conflict even though the PTL from ACA3697 pointed directly at CDR8510. The controller's attention was fixed on one separation problem to the exclusion of another, significantly increasing the risk of a midair collision. The controller relied solely on his own memory to retain situational awareness and did not establish other effective defences for CDR8510.

In the absence of ATC radar-based conflict alerting, only a TCAS RA to the pilots of CDR8510 prevented a much closer encounter between the two aircraft.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The Alsask controller lost situational awareness when his attention became focused on separating two of the five aircraft in his sector, to the detriment of seeing and resolving another separation problem involving CDR8510.
  2. The controller did not use appropriate procedures to mark the flight progress strips for ACA3697 and CDR8510 to indicate inappropriate altitudes or potential conflicts. As a result, two aircraft converged with a clearance to the same altitude.
  3. The controller did not adequately scan the radar display and detect the conflict between ACA3697 and CDR8510 because his attention was focused on two of the five aircraft he was controlling.

Finding as to Risk

  1. NAV CANADA radar systems in Edmonton ACC are not yet equipped with automatic defences to alert controllers to impending aircraft conflicts.
  2. TCASs/ACASs are not mandatory for transport-category aircraft in Canada. No other airborne defences are in place to assist pilots in preventing a midair collision in cases where aircraft are not provided with at least the minimum separation required by regulations.
  3. There are no air traffic control procedures in place that require controllers to indicate potential conflicts on the radar display in a standard manner, similar to that required for flight progress strips. This increases the risk that controllers will forget about a conflict because it may not be evident on the radar display.

Safety Action Taken

In response to a rising number of operating irregularities, NAV CANADA has re-issued a Staff Information Bulletin titled "A Reminder: NAV CANADA Focus on Safety In ATS". The bulletin reaffirms the goal of safety and identifies specific areas of concentrated attention.

Since this occurrence, NAV CANADA has taken steps to reduce the possibility of conflict between opposite-direction aircraft near the Empress VOR (VHF omnidirectional radio range). A new intersection, SHAWI, north of YEA will form part of a one-way routing for westbound aircraft destined for Calgary. J504 will be used primarily for eastbound traffic.

In addition to implementing conflict-alert functionality in the Moncton ACC high level sectors, NAV CANADA has established a conflict-alert system in the Winnipeg and Edmonton ACC high level sectors. In particular, the system has been established in the North High and Calgary en route specialties, including the Alsask sector on July 07, 2002. The system will be functioning in all national high level airspace by the end of 2002.

TSB Report No A00C0211 references Transport Canada's Notice of Proposed Amendment (NPA) 2000-130 to the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The NPA, which was presented initially at the June 2000 Canadian Aviation Regulations Advisory Council technical committee meeting, proposed essentially that after 01 January 2003, all turbine-powered aeroplanes certified to carry more than 30 passengers be equipped with ACAS. Further, NPA 2001-069, proposed in June 2001, ensures that software associated with the ACAS meets the higher standards required for operation in reduced vertical separation minima airspace.

This report concludes the TSB's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 9 October 2002.


1.   All times are mountain daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours).

2.   A halo is a display feature that places a green circular ring around a selected moving target. The user can select a radius according to modifiable system values.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01W0160

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Risque de collision
Secteur Alsask
du Centre de contrôle régional d'Edmonton
exploité par NAV CANADA
à 40 nm à l'ouest du VOR d'Empress (Alberta)
le 4 juillet 2001

Résumé

Le Boeing 737 d'Air Canada (ACA3697), en provenance de l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg (Manitoba) est en croisière à destination de l'Aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta) au niveau de vol 350. Le Fokker F28 de Canadian Regional Airlines (CDR8510) a décollé de Calgary en route pour l'Aéroport international de Regina (Saskatchewan) et monte au FL290 dans la direction opposée à celle d'ACA3697. Les deux vols sont sous la couverture radar du contrôle de la circulation aérienne. Lorsque le vol ACA3697 arrive à environ 25 milles marins à l'est du radiophare omnidirectionnel à très haute fréquence d'Empress, le contrôleur de la circulation aérienne lui donne l'autorisation de descendre au FL290. Une fois ACA3697 au-delà du VOR d'Empress, le contrôleur, afin d'assurer l'espacement avec un autre appareil, donne à ACA3697 l'instruction de garder un cap qui est presque l'inverse de celui de CDR8510. Lorsque les deux appareils arrivent à environ 6 milles marins l'un de l'autre, un avis de résolution du système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions demande à l'équipage de CDR8510 de descendre, ce que fait ce dernier. Les deux appareils se sont passés, horizontalement, à environ 1 000 pieds et, verticalement, à 1 300 pieds l'un de l'autre dans une zone où l'espacement minimal requis est, horizontalement, de 5 milles marins ou, verticalement, de 1 000 pieds.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les appareils volent dans le secteur Alsask de la sous-unité de contrôle en route de Calgary. Cette sous-unité, qui fait partie du Centre de contrôle régional (ACC) d'Edmonton, compte six secteurs. Le secteur Alsask se trouve en bordure est, au contact de l'espace aérien contrôlé par l'ACC de Winnipeg. Les vols arrivant sur Calgary de l'est reçoivent l'instruction de descendre à 12 000 pieds et de suivre l'arrivée normalisée aux instruments (STAR).

Après avoir décollé de Calgary, CDR8510 se place sur la voie aérienne J504, en direction de l'est selon un cap de 073º magnétiques, et reçoit l'autorisation de voler au niveau de vol (FL) 250 dans l'espace aérien du contrôle terminal de Calgary. Lorsqu'il communique avec le contrôleur du secteur Alsask, à 11 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses1, l'équipage reçoit l'autorisation de monter au FL290, altitude prévue à son plan de vol.

ACA3697 est autorisé à poursuivre vers l'ouest au FL350 sur la voie aérienne J504 jusqu'au VOR (radiophare omnidirectionnel VHF) d'Empress (YEA), puis sur la voie aérienne J476 jusqu'à l'intersection ALOMO, et enfin vers l'aéroport de Calgary selon la STAR publiée. Quand ACA3697 arrive à environ 25 milles marins (nm) à l'est de YEA, le contrôleur d'Alsask l'autorise à descendre au FL290 en préparation de son transfert au secteur de contrôle terminal de Calgary de l'ACC d'Edmonton. Après avoir passé YEA, ACA3697 vire à droite sur la J476 conformément à l'autorisation reçue (voir la Figure 1).

Figure 1 - Risque de collision entre CDR8510 et ACA3697

Figure 1.  Risque de collision entre CDR8510 et ACA3697

Quand ACA3697 reçoit l'autorisation de descendre, un Airbus A320 (ACA579) vole vers l'ouest au FL310, avec un cap de 252º, à environ 11 nm au nord de YEA. Après avoir établi le cap d'ACA579, le contrôleur d'Alsask donne à ACA3697 l'instruction de virer sur la gauche au 250º, puis, peu après, celle de virer sur la droite au 270º. Cette manoeuvre a pour objet de maintenir l'espacement entre ACA3697 et ACA579, mais elle place ACA3697 sur une trajectoire presque inverse de celle de CDR8510. ACA3697 se met en palier au FL290 à environ 5,9 nm en avant de CDR8510 qui passe au FL280 en montée vers le FL290.

Alors qu'il passe le FL 280 en montée, l'équipage de CDR8510 reçoit un avis de résolution (RA) du système de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS) lui demandant de descendre afin d'éviter une collision. Trente secondes plus tard, CDR8510, redescendu au FL277, passe sous ACA3697 se trouvant au FL290. ACA3697 reçoit un avis de circulation du TCAS (information visant à aider l'équipage de conduite à repérer un conflit de circulation et à alerter les pilotes d'un RA possible), mais le pilote ne prend aucune mesure d'évitement. Le ciel ést clair avec une visibilité illimitée et les équipages des deux vols se voient alors qu'ils se croisent. Les appareils volant au Canada n'ont pas l'obligation d'être équipés d'un système embarqué d'évitement de collision.

L'écran de visualisation du système de traitement des données radar (RSiT) comporte un certain nombre de caractéristiques qui aident le contrôleur à garder une vue d'ensemble de la situation. Le contrôleur associe normalement à chaque cible radar un certain nombre de paramètres dont l'identification de l'appareil, son altitude et sa vitesse. Il peut également afficher, autour d'un appareil donné, un halo2 définissant l'espacement horizontal minimal. La ligne de trajectoire prévue (PTL) permet au contrôleur de prévoir le déplacement d'un appareil pendant une période de temps donné. Lorsque l'appareil change de cap, la PTL se déplace également afin d'indiquer la nouvelle trajectoire de l'appareil. Il est possible, pour chaque cible radar, d'afficher ou non la PTL.

Le contrôleur a choisi d'afficher la PTL d'ACA3697, mais pas celle de CDR8510. Lorsque le contrôleur donne l'instruction à ACA3697 de virer au 250º, sa PTL coupe la cible de CDR8510, mais le contrôleur ne reconnaît pas le conflit. Les halos d'espacement ne sont affichés pour aucun des appareils impliqués dans l'incident.

Des fiches de progression de vol sont disponibles et elles indiquent la direction de vol et l'altitude et, des annotations indiquant qu'elles ont été transmises aux secteurs compétents. Le contrôleur a transmis à l'ACC de Winnipeg les renseignements pertinents sur CDR8510, dont son heure d'arrivée prévue à YEA et le FL290 comme altitude prévue au plan de vol.

Les RSiT sont utilisés à l'ACC d'Edmonton depuis 2000. Tous les contrôleurs ont suivi un cours de deux jours sur leur utilisation et une formation périodique est offerte lorsque le système est mis à niveau. Le contrôleur impliqué dans l'incident a reçu sa formation initiale sur RSiT en 2000, puis une formation périodique en avril 2001 et il était considéré comme à même d'utiliser ce type d'écran.

Le contrôleur, qui possédait une licence en règle conformément à la réglementation en vigueur, comptait 30 ans d'expérience, dont 20 ans dans la sous-unité de contrôle en route de Calgary. Il était le superviseur de l'équipe de la sous-unité et travaillait en tant que contrôleur lorsque les circonstances l'exigeaient.

Le jour de l'incident, il s'est présenté au travail à 6 heures et a occupé un poste de contrôleur tandis qu'un autre superviseur était à la tête de l'équipe. Au moment de l'incident, il s'occupait seul du secteur Alsask et se chargeait à la fois du radar et des données. L'incident s'est produit environ trois heures et demie avant la fin de son quart. La charge de travail était jugée de légère à modérée, avec un total de cinq appareils dans le secteur Alsask au moment de l'incident. Le contrôleur se sentait en forme et exempt de problème de santé.

L'article 602.34 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule que le FL290 est l'altitude réservée aux appareils se dirigeant vers l'est à moins qu'une autre altitude ne leur soit assignée par le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC). Le FL290 était assigné au vol ACA3697 qui se dirigeait vers l'ouest et, malgré son atterrissage prévu à Calgary, il volait sur une voie aérienne en route. La rubrique 430 du Manuel des opérations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS ATC) de NAV CANADA indique les directives et les limitations que doivent respecter les contrôleurs quand ils assignent une altitude non appropriée à la direction du vol ainsi que la façon d'annoter les fiches de progression de vol de façon distinctive et normalisée. Le contrôleur n'avait pas l'habitude d'annoter la case d'altitude de la fiche de progression de vol d'un appareil volant à une altitude non appropriée pour la direction du vol lorsque l'appareil devait atterrir à un aéroport. Les contrôleurs ne sont pas obligés d'indiquer une altitude inappropriée pour la direction du vol sur l'écran radar au moyen des outils d'affichage disponibles. Aucun autre mouvement aérien à proximité n'exigeait que ACA3697 soit en palier au FL290 afin de maintenir l'espacement requis. Aucune autre forme d'espacement n'avait été instaurée entre ACA3697 et CDR8510 durant le temps où les deux appareils ont été autorisés à se maintenir au FL290.

Le VOR d'Empress est un point de passage couramment utilisé pour les mouvements aériens vers l'est ou vers l'ouest traversant le secteur Alsask de l'ACC d'Edmonton. Depuis 1998, cinq pertes d'espacement à proximité du VOR d'Empress ont été signalées et toutes impliquaient des appareils volant à la même altitude dans des directions opposées. Les procédures ont été modifiées, dans les autres sous-unités de l'ACC d'Edmonton, afin de réduire les risques de conflit entre mouvements aériens de directions opposées.

Le BST a recommandé (A00-15) que NAV CANADA s'engage, en indiquant une échéance précise, à installer et à faire fonctionner dans toutes les installations ATC du pays, un système automatisé d'alerte et de prévision de conflit afin de réduire les risques de collision en vol. Des systèmes d'alerte de conflit ont été installés, à l'ACC d'Edmonton, dans les sous-unité de contrôle nord - haute altitude ainsi que dans celle de contrôle en route de Calgary le 7 juillet 2002 et d'autres doivent l'être dans la sous-unité de contrôle nord - basse altitude ainsi que dans celle de contrôle en route de Calgary au plus tard le 31 octobre 2002. Ils doivent être mis en service sur l'ensemble de l'espace aérien supérieur national au plus tard à la fin de 2002.

Analyse

L'espacement entre ACA3697 et CDR8510 était initialement adéquat, tant verticalement (FL350 et FL290) que latéralement (J476 est J504). Le problème auquel a été confronté le contrôleur a été de faire descendre le vol ACA3697 à une altitude appropriée à son transfert au secteur suivant en vue de son atterrissage à l'aéroport de Calgary. Le contrôleur a choisi d'autoriser ACA3697 à descendre au FL290, une altitude de direction contraire. Néanmoins, il n'a pas annoté la fiche de progression d'ACA3697 afin d'indiquer que ce dernier se trouvait à une altitude inappropriée à la direction du vol et il n'avait d'ailleurs pas l'habitude de le faire dans un tel cas de figure. Rien n'interdit, dans la réglementation ou dans les procédures en vigueur, à un contrôleur d'assigner une altitude inappropriée à la direction du vol à un appareil devant être positionné en vue d'un atterrissage sur un aéroport. Néanmoins, en autorisant ACA3697 à descendre au FL290, il a mis le vol dans une situation présentant des risques plus élevés de perte d'espacement avec un mouvement aérien de direction opposée, augmentant ainsi les risques de collision en vol.

Avant de faire descendre ACA3697 à l'altitude requise pour le confier au secteur d'arrivée de Calgary, le contrôleur a dû s'assurer de maintenir l'espacement latéral approprié au regard d'un autre vol se dirigeant vers l'ouest, à savoir ACA579, se trouvant au FL310 à plusieurs milles au nord. L'attention du contrôleur s'est alors fixée sur ce problème d'espacement au détriment d'une vue d'ensemble de la situation. Afin de remédier au problème d'espacement entre les deux vols d'Air Canada, le contrôleur a choisi d'autoriser ACA3697 à descendre au FL290 en lui assignant un cap au sud-ouest l'éloignant de l'autre appareil. Ce faisant, le contrôleur a créé une situation de conflit avec CDR8510 qui n'existait pas auparavant. Le contrôleur n'a pas vu ce conflit imminent avec CDR8510. Il n'a pas indiqué de conflit entre les vols ACA3697 et CDR8510 sur le RSiT et il n'a pas vu le conflit alors que la PTL d'ACA3697 pointait directement sur le vol CDR8510. Le contrôleur, dont l'attention était monopolisée par un problème d'espacement, a complètement ignoré l'autre problème existant, accroissant ainsi de façon significative les risques de collision en vol. Le contrôleur ne se fiait qu'à sa mémoire pour garder une vision d'ensemble de la situation et il n'a pris aucune mesure concrète pour résoudre le conflit avec CDR8510.

En l'absence de système d'alerte radar à l'ATC, seul le RA du TCAS reçu par les pilotes de CDR8510 a permis d'éviter que les deux appareils ne passent encore plus près l'un de l'autre.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le contrôleur du secteur Alsask a perdu la vue d'ensemble de la situation lorsque son attention s'est concentrée sur le problème d'espacement de deux des cinq appareils présents dans son secteur, et ce, au détriment d'un autre problème d'espacement, avec CDR8510, qu'il n'a ni décelé ni résolu.
  2. Le contrôleur n'a pas utilisé les procédures appropriées pour annoter les fiches de progression de vol d'ACA3697 et de CDR8510 afin d'indiquer les altitudes inappropriées ou la possibilité de conflits. Pour cette raison, les deux appareils se dirigeaient l'un vers l'autre à la même altitude.
  3. Le contrôleur n'a pas correctement balayé son écran radar du regard et n'a pas repéré le conflit existant entre ACA3697 et CDR8510 parce que son attention était monopolisée par deux des cinq appareils dont il assurait le contrôle.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Les systèmes radar de NAV CANADA à l'ACC d'Edmonton ne sont pas encore équipés de systèmes de prévention automatisés alertant les contrôleurs de l'imminence d'un conflit entre des appareils.
  2. Les TCAS/ACAS ne sont pas obligatoires sur les appareils de transport au Canada. Aucun autre moyen de prévention embarqué n'existe en vue d'aider les pilotes à éviter une collision en vol lorsque l'espacement entre les appareils n'est pas conforme à l'espacement minimal exigé par la réglementation.
  3. Aucune procédure de contrôle de la circulation aérienne n'exige que les contrôleurs indiquent les conflits possibles sur l'écran radar de façon normalisée, comme c'est le cas pour les fiches de progression de vol. Cet état de fait accroît les risques qu'un contrôleur oublie un conflit parce que ce dernier n'est pas manifeste sur l'écran radar.

Mesures de sécurité prises

À la suite d'un nombre croissant d'anomalies d'exploitation, NAV CANADA a republié son bulletin d'information intitulé « Rappel - Accent sur la sécurité dans les SCA à NAV CANADA ». Ce bulletin réaffirme l'objectif que constitue la sécurité et indique les domaines devant faire l'objet d'une attention particulière.

Depuis cet incident, NAV CANADA a pris des mesures en vue de réduire les risques de conflit entre des appareils volant en direction opposée à proximité du VOR (radiophare omnidirectionnel VHF) d'Empress. Une nouvelle intersection, SHAWI, au nord de YEA, marquera désormais une voie aérienne à sens unique pour les appareils à destination de Calgary. La voie aérienne J504 sera principalement utilisée pour les mouvements aériens à destination de l'est.

Après avoir mis en place un système d'alerte de conflit pour les secteurs de l'espace supérieur à l'ACC de Moncton, NAV CANADA a mis en place un système d'alerte de conflit pour les secteurs de l'espace supérieur aux ACC de Winnipeg et d'Edmonton. Ce système, en particulier, a été mis en place à la sous-unité de contrôle nord - haute altitude ainsi qu'à celle de contrôle en route de Calgary, dont le secteur Alsask, le 7 juillet 2002. Ce système sera mis en service sur l'ensemble de l'espace aérien supérieur national d'ici la fin de 2002.

Le rapport numéro A00C0211 du BST fait état d'un Avis de proposition de modification (APM) 2000-130 au Règlement de l'aviation canadien de Transports Canada. L'APM, qui a été initialement soumis lors d'une réunion d'un comité technique du Conseil consultatif sur la réglementation aérienne canadienne en juin 2002 propose principalement que, après le 1er janvier 2003, tous les appareils à turbines certifiés pour transporter plus de 30 passagers soient équipés d'ACAS. De plus, l'APM 2001-069, soumis en juin 2001, garantit que le logiciel associé à cet ACAS réponde aux normes plus strictes requises pour une exploitation dans un espace aérien où l'espacement vertical minimal est réduit.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 9 octobre 2003.


1.   Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée des Rocheuses (temps universel coordonné moins six heures).

2.   Le halo est un cercle vert qu'il est possible d'afficher autour d'une cible mobile donnée. L'utilisateur peut en choisir le rayon selon les valeurs modifiables du système.