Aviation Investigation Report A01W0190

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control - Uncontrolled Rotation
Canadian Helicopters
Aerospatiale AS 350BA C-FVVH
Grande Cache, Alberta, 13 nm W
30 July 2001

Summary

The Canadian Helicopters Aerospatiale AS 350BA helicopter, serial number 2612, was transporting five field geologists to unspecified mountain locations to the west and northwest of Grande Cache, Alberta. After rejecting several landing sites because of uncertain winds, the pilot attempted to land on a shoulder at the crest and end of a mountain ridge. As the pilot entered a low hover, he lost directional control and the low main-rotor rpm warning sounded. The helicopter rotated to the left about the main-rotor axis, contacted the terrain, and rolled onto the right side. One passenger was seriously injured; the helicopter sustained substantial damage.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot was certified and qualified in accordance with existing regulations. He had approximately 9400 hours of flight experience, of which approximately 60 hours had been accumulated on AS 350 helicopters. He had obtained the AS 350 type rating in March 2000, 16 months before the occurrence.

The weather at the time of the occurrence was suitable for visual flight rules flying. The sky condition reported at the crash site was as follows: high broken cloud, visibility unrestricted, winds from the southwest at 5 to 10 knots, temperature 12ºC, and altimeter setting 29.81 inches of mercury. The wreckage was at 6250 feet above sea level. Given the pressure and the temperature, the density altitude was approximately 7500 feet.

The aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The engine (Turbomeca Arriel 1B) continued to run after impact. The fuel shut-off control was jammed due to impact damage, preventing normal shutdown of the engine. The pilot discharged a dry chemical fire extinguisher into the air intake to accomplish the shutdown.

Field inspection of the wreckage revealed no pre-impact abnormalities. The engine was transported to an engine shop for examination, torn down, and visually inspected. Except for the presence of fire extinguisher residue, no discrepancies were identified. The bleed valve and all external engine fuel/air components were installed on a test-cell engine and function checked. Following the test-cell run, the fuel control unit was bench tested at the manufacturer's facility and found to meet the manufacturer's specifications. No engine discrepancies that would have contributed to the occurrence were identified, and no indication of any system malfunction before or during the flight was found.

The helicopter's weight at the time of the accident was estimated to be approximately 4600 pounds. The helicopter flew for approximately 30 minutes before the accident. The take-off weight in Grande Cache, Alberta, would therefore have been approximately 4760 pounds. The maximum gross take-off weight for the helicopter was 4630 pounds. Actual passenger weights exceeded the estimates given to the pilot by 25 pounds. Operational equipment, not included in the basic empty weight, totalled 90 pounds rather than the 60 pounds assumed by the pilot. In addition to this, 15 pounds of extra survival equipment, of which the pilot was not aware, was stored in the tail boom.

Analysis of the out-of-ground-effect (OGE) hover chart in the flight manual showed a maximum permitted weight for the ambient conditions to be 4400 pounds. The in-ground effect (IGE) hover chart indicated a maximum weight of 4630 pounds under the same conditions.

Conditions of high weight and high density altitude can place a helicopter in a flight condition that requires more than the available power. A demand for engine torque (increased collective) exceeding that available will result in reduced main-rotor rpm and further loss of lift. If a pilot further increases the main-rotor collective pitch to maintain height above ground, main-rotor rpm erodes further. A small reduction of main-rotor rpm results in a proportionately larger loss of tail-rotor effectiveness (LTE).

In hover flight, a pilot deflects the tail-rotor control pedals to maintain the helicopter's heading. If tail-rotor effectiveness deteriorates to the pedal deflection limit, the helicopter will uncontrollably rotate around the main-rotor axis. This rotation tends to increase the angle of attack of the tail-rotor blade section and may lead to a tail-rotor blade stall and further LTE. To recover from this condition, a pilot normally reduces collective pitch to unload the main rotor.

The main rotor of Aerospatiale helicopters rotates clockwise, and right pedal input is required to counteract main-rotor rotation torque. LTE will result in uncontrolled rotation of the aircraft to the left.

It was reported that the pilot flew two reconnaissance passes before his final approach to the accident site. About 15 feet above the ground, as the helicopter approached the landing zone, torque and N1 (gas generator rotation speed) were nearing their limits. Rotational control was lost just as the hover was initiated and was immediately followed by the low-rotor-rpm horn. The pilot did not lower the collective, and the helicopter contacted the ground while rotating to the left.

The shoulder at the intended landing site was relatively flat and level for a distance roughly equal to the width of the landing gear skids. The terrain dropped off rapidly to the right; it dropped off less steeply to the left. The helicopter came to rest 180º to the approach path heading, lying on its right side. The tail boom had broken off on a production rivet line just forward of the horizontal stabilizer. The forward end of the right skid had contacted the underside of the cabin. The main-rotor blades had struck the ground above the aircraft's final resting position.

The impact did not reduce the survival space in the cabin or the cockpit, and all occupants were wearing the available four-point lap belt / shoulder harness restraints. Four of the passengers were seated across the rear of the cabin. The seriously injured passenger was seated next to the right cabin door, to the right of the other three cabin passengers.

Analysis

The pilot was entering a low hover above a rounded shoulder, at the crest and end of a mountain ridge, when he lost directional control. The rapid terrain drop-off to the right of the landing site and the shallow drop-off to the left would have reduced the performance benefits of ground effect as the helicopter entered the hover. The drop-offs would have contributed to the emergence of a flight condition more characteristic of an OGE hover. As a result, the main rotor would have had to generate additional lift for the pilot to stabilize and maintain the hover.

The pilot had underestimated the take-off weight on departure from Grande Cache. At the time of the accident, the helicopter was approximately 225 pounds over the weight for a successful OGE hover. When the pilot raised the collective to enter the hover and the main-rotor blade pitch increased, the required power exceeded the available power and the main-rotor rpm decreased. The reduction in main-rotor rpm brought about a decrease in tail-rotor rpm, resulting in a loss of directional control at an altitude that was insufficient to allow the pilot to reduce the collective and effect a recovery. The low-rotor-rpm horn sounded, and the helicopter entered an uncontrolled rotational descent to the ground. An unexpected wind shift or gust might have contributed to the occurrence; however, this could not be determined.

The injuries sustained by the rear passenger are consistent with the helicopter rolling onto its right side. Lateral forces from the weight of the three passengers sitting beside him and the impact during the roll sequence contributed to his injuries.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot underestimated the gross weight of the aircraft, resulting in a take-off over maximum gross weight.
  2. The out-of-ground-effect (OGE) hover, at a weight exceeding the limits on the OGE hover charts, most likely resulted in reduced main-rotor rpm and loss of tail-rotor effectiveness.

Other Findings

  1. The pilot was not aware that survival equipment was stored in the tail boom of the helicopter.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 02 April 2002.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A01W0190

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise - Rotation involontaire
Canadian Helicopters
Aérospatiale AS 350BA C-FVVH
à 13 NM à l'ouest de Grande Cache (Alberta)
30 juillet 2001

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Aérospatiale AS 350BA de Canadian Helicopters, portant le numéro de série 2612, transportait cinq géologues de terrain vers une destination non précisée dans les montagnes se trouvant à l'ouest et au nord-ouest de Grande Cache (Alberta). Après avoir rejeté plusieurs sites d'atterrissage en raison de vents incertains, le pilote a tenté d'atterrir sur un épaulement situé au faîte et à l'extrémité d'une crête montagneuse. Alors que le pilote entamait un vol stationnaire bas, il a perdu la maîtrise en direction de l'appareil. Ce dernier a effectué une rotation sur la gauche autour de l'axe du rotor principal, percuté le relief et basculé sur le côté droit. Un des passagers a été grièvement blessé et l'hélicoptère a été gravement endommagé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait les licences et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait accumulé approximativement 9400 heures de vol dont environ 60 heures sur des hélicoptères AS 350. Il avait obtenu sa qualification sur type AS 350 en mars 2000, 16 mois avant l'événement.

Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'événement permettaient le vol selon les règles de vol à vue. L'état du ciel observé sur le lieu de l'écrasement était le suivant : nuages fragmentés en altitude, vent du sud-ouest de 5 à 10 noeuds, température de 12ºC et calage altimétrique à 29,81 pouces de mercure. L'hélicoptère s'est écrasé à 6250 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Étant donné la pression et la température, l'altitude-densité était d'approximativement 7 000 pieds.

L'appareil était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Le moteur (Turbomeca Arriel 1B) a continué à tourner après l'impact. La commande d'arrêt carburant, endommagée par l'impact, était coincée et empêchait un arrêt normal du moteur. Le pilote a vidé un extincteur à poudre dans l'entrée d'air pour arrêter le moteur.

L'inspection de l'épave sur le terrain n'a pas révélé d'anomalie antérieure à l'impact. Le moteur a été transporté dans un atelier moteurs, démonté et soumis à une inspection visuelle. À l'exception de la présence de résidus de poudre d'extincteur, aucune anomalie n'a été constatée. La vanne de décharge et tous les autres composants externes des circuits d'air et de carburant ont été montés sur une installation d'essai moteur et leur fonctionnement a été vérifié. Après ces essais, le régulateur de carburant a subi des essais chez le fabricant et s'est révélé satisfaire aux spécifications de ce dernier. Aucune anomalie du moteur ayant pu contribué à l'événement n'a été constatée et rien n'indique qu'il y ait eu un mauvais fonctionnement d'un système avant ou durant le vol.

La masse de l'hélicoptère au moment de l'accident a été estimée à approximativement 4600 livres. L'hélicoptère avait volé approximativement 30 minutes au moment de l'accident. La masse au décollage de Grande Cache devait donc être approximativement de 4760 livres. La masse brute maximale au décollage de cet hélicoptère est de 4630 livres. Le poids réel des passagers dépassait d'environ 25 livres les chiffres approximatifs fournis au pilote. Le matériel opérationnel, non inclus dans la masse à vide de base, pesait un total de 90 livres et non de 60 livres comme le pensait le pilote. De plus, 15 livres de matériel de survie additionnelles étaient embarquées, à l'insu du pilote, dans la poutre de queue.

L'analyse du diagramme de vol stationnaire hors effet de sol (HES) du manuel de pilotage indique, dans les conditions existantes, une masse maximale autorisée de 4400 livres. Le diagramme de vol stationnaire dans l'effet de sol (DES) indique, dans les mêmes conditions, une masse maximale autorisée de 4630 livres.

Des conditions de haute altitude et d'altitude-densité élevée peuvent placer un hélicoptère dans des conditions de vol requérant une puissance supérieure à celle disponible. Une demande excessive de couple moteur (augmentation du pas collectif) au-delà de la puissance disponible entraîne une baisse de régime du rotor principal et crée par conséquent une perte de portance. Si le pilote augmente encore le pas collectif du rotor principal afin de maintenir son altitude au-dessus de sol, le régime du rotor principal diminue encore. Une légère baisse de régime du rotor principal entraîne une perte importante d'efficacité du rotor de queue.

En vol stationnaire, un pilote utilise les pédales de commande du rotor de queue afin de maintenir le cap de l'appareil. Si, même avec la pédale en buttée, le rotor de queue n'est plus efficace, l'hélicoptère entre en rotation non contrôlée autour de l'axe de son rotor principal. Cette rotation a tendance à accroître l'angle d'attaque des pales du rotor de queue et peut causer un décrochage des pales du rotor de queue, aggravant encore la perte d'efficacité de ce dernier. Pour sortir d'une telle situation, le pilote doit normalement réduire le pas collectif afin de réduire la charge s'exerçant sur le rotor principal.

Le rotor principal des hélicoptères de l'Aérospatiale tourne dans le sens horaire et il est nécessaire d'agir sur la pédale de droite pour contrecarrer le couple de rotation du rotor principal. Une perte d'efficacité du rotor de queue entraîne une rotation de l'appareil vers la gauche.

Il a été rapporté que le pilote avait effectué deux passages de reconnaissance avant d'entreprendre son approche finale sur le lieu de l'accident. À environ 15 pieds du sol, et alors que l'hélicoptère s'approchait de la zone d'atterrissage, le couple et N1 (vitesse de rotation de la turbine à gaz) se sont approchés de leur limite. La perte de maîtrise en direction s'est produite juste au début du vol stationnaire et elle a immédiatement été suivie par le déclenchement du klaxon d'alarme de bas régime rotor. Le pilote n'a pas diminué le collectif et l'hélicoptère a percuté le sol alors qu'il était en rotation sur la gauche.

L'épaulement du lieu d'atterrissage prévu était relativement plat et à niveau sur une distance à peu près égale à l'écartement des patins d'atterrissage. Le terrain descendait rapidement sur la droite et un peu moins rapidement sur la gauche. L'hélicoptère s'est immobilisé, sur le côté droit, avec un angle de 180º par rapport à sa trajectoire d'approche. La poutre de queue s'est brisée au niveau d'une ligne de rivets juste en avant du stabilisateur horizontal. L'extrémité avant du patin droit est venue toucher le dessous de la cabine. Les pales du rotor principal ont percuté le sol au-dessus de l'endroit où l'appareil s'est finalement immobilisé.

L'impact n'a pas compromis l'espace de survie de la cabine ou du poste de pilotage, et tous les occupants avaient bouclé le harnais de sécurité complet à quatre points de fixation dont l'appareil était équipé . Le passager grièvement blessé était assis à côté de la porte droite de la cabine, à la droite des trois autres passagers.

Analyse

Le pilote entamait un vol stationnaire à basse altitude au-dessus d'un épaulement se trouvant au faîte et à l'extrémité d'une crête montagneuse, lorsqu'il a perdu la maîtrise en direction. Le dénivelé rapide sur la droite du lieu d'atterrissage et le dénivellement moins important sur la gauche de ce dernier ont dû réduire le rendement tiré de l'effet de sol lorsque l'hélicoptère s'est mis en vol stationnaire. Ces dénivelés ont dû créer des conditions de vol qui se rapprochaient plus de celles d'un vol stationnaire hors effet de sol (HES). Pour cette raison, le rotor principal avait à produire une portance additionnelle pour que le pilote puisse stabiliser et maintenir son appareil en vol stationnaire.

Le pilote avait sous-estimé la masse au décollage de l'appareil au départ de Grande Cache. Au moment de l'accident, la masse de l'hélicoptère était supérieure de 225 livres environ à la masse limite pour réussir un vol stationnaire HES. Lorsque le pilote a augmenté le pas collectif pour entamer le vol stationnaire et que le pas du rotor principal s'est accentué, la puissance requise a dépassé la puissance disponible et la vitesse de rotation du rotor principal a baissé. Cette baisse de la vitesse de rotation du rotor principal a causé une baisse de la vitesse de rotation du rotor de queue, entraînant une perte de maîtrise en direction à une altitude insuffisante pour que le pilote puisse réduire le pas collectif afin de sortir d'une telle situation. Le klaxon de bas régime du rotor a retenti et l'hélicoptère a entamé une descente non maîtrisée jusqu'au sol. Une saute de vent ou une rafale inopinée a dû contribuer à l'accident, mais cela n'a pu être établi.

Les blessures subies par le passager se trouvant à l'arrière reflètent le fait que l'hélicoptère a basculé sur le côté droit. Les forces latérales exercées par le poids des trois passagers se trouvant à ses côtés et l'impact durant le basculement ont causé ses blessures.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le pilote a sous-estimé la masse brute de l'appareil et a décollé avec une masse supérieure à la masse brute maximale.
  2. Le vol stationnaire hors effet de sol (HES), avec une masse supérieure aux limites indiquées par le diagramme de vol stationnaire HES, a très probablement entraîné une baisse de la vitesse de rotation du rotor principal et une perte d'efficacité du rotor de queue.

Autres faits établis

  1. Le pilote ne savait pas que du matériel de survie avait été embarqué dans la poutre de queue de l'hélicoptère.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 2 avril 2002.