Aviation Investigation Report A02A0098

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control/Collision With Ground
Canadian Helicopters
Bell Helicopter Textron 212 C-GDVG
Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador
18 August 2002

Summary

A Canadian Helicopters Bell 212, serial number 30762, C-GDVG, was departing Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, with a sling load. The sling load was a military utility trailer, on a 100-foot long line plus 20-foot chokers, being picked up from the tarmac across from the company ramp. About halfway across the 210-foot wide tarmac, the aft end of the trailer struck the tarmac, leaving a gouge 10 feet long. The trailer then struck the top of another sling load, positioned on the opposite side of the tarmac from the departure point. The helicopter then veered left about 45 degrees as it cleared the airport perimeter fence. Approximately 150 feet beyond the fence, the trailer entered a stand of alders, 20 to 25 feet tall, and cut a swath 75 feet long before being lifted clear of the trees. Over the next approximately 300 feet, the trailer and/or trailer tow bar struck or dug into the ground at least three times. At some point after clearing the fence, the helicopter was observed rotating to the left. It was estimated that the helicopter completed two 360-degree rotations before striking the ground in an upright attitude, 120 feet beyond the trailer, with the long line still attached to the cargo hook. (See Appendix A). The helicopter crashed in a wooded area outside the airport perimeter fence, approximately 800 feet from the departure ramp. The pilot, who was the sole occupant, suffered serious but non life-threatening injuries. The helicopter was substantially damaged. There was no post impact fire.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The surface weather record for Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, at the time of the accident was as follows: temperature 15.3ºC, dew point 7.5ºC, and wind 060 degrees true at 7 knots.

The helicopter maintenance engineer (AME), who had hooked up the load, observed the helicopter in difficulty and followed after it. When he arrived at the crash site, the engines were still running and main rotor blades were still turning. The AME entered the helicopter via the right cockpit door and attempted to shut down the engines, first by rolling off the throttles, then by turning off the fuel valves, and then by pulling the engine fire handles, all to no avail. (The engines stopped about 20 minutes later due to fuel exhaustion.) He then pulled all circuit breakers and turned off all electrical switches to reduce the hazard of fire as the ground was covered in fuel from ruptured fuel cells. The airport fire fighters, who had been alerted to the crash by the airport tower controller, arrived at the crash site shortly after the AME, and evacuated the pilot from the helicopter.

The pilot, who was flying from the left seat, reported that he had pulled about 97 per cent torque to lift the load off the ground. He also reported that he had encountered some pylon rock in the helicopter while slinging other heavy loads. When he encountered pylon rock during this flight, he expected it to abate as soon as he had gained some forward speed. He had not realized that he had dragged the load on the tarmac or that the load had hit the sling load on the ground, as he associated these events with pylon rock. After clearing the perimeter fence, the pilot was in the process of turning back toward the airport on his intended route. While in this turn, the airspeed decreased and the helicopter entered pylon rock again. During his recovery action, the load struck the ground again. The pilot had armed the cargo hook electrical release prior to picking up the load and had tried to release the load at some point during the flight, but could not recall exactly when.

Experienced Bell 212 helicopter pilots stated that this model helicopter is susceptible to pylon rock during sling operations, and that it is necessary to use very smooth control inputs in order to avoid it. Two other company pilots, who had flown this helicopter a few days prior to the accident flight, reported that it was possible to induce some pylon rock, but that it was well within acceptable limits.

Examination of the helicopter at the crash site showed that the landing gear cross tubes were splayed outward and driven up into the belly of the helicopter. As well, the aft cross tube had broken off in the area of the saddle mounts and had punctured the fuel cell. The nose of the helicopter was partially severed and bent downward. The tail boom in the area of the fin was twisted to the right and the tail rotor drive shaft had severed. The tail rotor blades were broken off about mid-span from contact with the alders and ground and the tail rotor gearbox output shaft was broken off. The twisting signature on the tail rotor drive shaft indicated that it was being driven by the engines at the time the tail rotor blades struck the ground.

After the helicopter was recovered from the site, an examination of the area below the transmission - the Hell Hole - revealed that the aft right quadrant and the aft quadrant had received substantial structural damage from the cargo hook being pulled back against these areas. The tail rotor control tube that runs along the right side of the Hell Hole was jammed in a full-left pitch position and the throttle control tubes that run up the aft wall were also jammed. The electrical cannon plug that supplies power to cargo hook release was broken off. The cannon plug was re-attached and the cargo hook electrical release was tested and found to be functional.

The emergency locator transmitter (ELT), Pointer Sentry, model number C4000, mounted on the door post just aft of the pilot's seat, had detached from its mounting bracket and was found laying on the floor of the helicopter. The ELT had activated during the crash; however, the antenna had pulled out of the ELT when it detached from the bracket and the signal was not being effectively transmitted. The ELT installation was tested in accordance with Canadian Aviation Regulations Standard 551-104; it was determined that the installation was capable of withstanding the ultimate inertia force of 22.5g downward, as required by regulation.

The maximum allowable gross weight for the Bell 212 is 11 200 pounds. The helicopter's empty weight was 6920 pounds, including the weight of the pilot, and there was approximately 1300 pounds of fuel on board at the time of the occurrence. The complete external load, including all attaching equipment, was weighed after the occurrence: the weight was 3200 pounds. The gross weight of the helicopter at the time of the occurrence was calculated to be 11 420 pounds, 220 pounds over the allowable gross weight.

The customer had reported that the trailer and its contents weighed about 3000 pounds. The operator did not weigh the load prior to the helicopter attempting to pick it up; however, the cargo hook has a load cell that is used to determine the weight of sling loads. The trailer was to be the first load, but when the helicopter lifted it, it was found to weigh 3500 pounds and was too heavy to sling. The pilot then set it down and departed with another load. While the helicopter was gone on this first trip, a portion of the cargo inside the trailer was removed to reduce the weight of the load; however, the weight reduction was apparently not recorded. It could not be established whether the load was weighed during the second pick-up.

According to the Hover Ceiling Out of Ground Effect chart found in the Bell 212 Flight Manual, section 4, pages 4-16, the maximum gross weight limit for out of ground effect hover for the conditions that existed on the day of the accident was 10 900 pounds. The helicopter would be out of ground effect during load pick up on a long-line slinging operation and, consequently, 520 pounds over the maximum gross weight limit for this flight.

Analysis

No pre-impact discrepancies were found on the helicopter that would have contributed to the accident. Although the cannon plug that supplies power to the electrical cargo hook release was found to be broken off, it was determined that electrical release was serviceable when the flight started. The damage inside the Hell Hole to the cannon plug, tail rotor control tube, and throttle control tubes most likely occurred when the trailer tow bar dug into the ground, as this would have created a sudden deceleration of the trailer, creating high rearward forces on the cargo hook. Damage in this area would have prevented the pilot from controlling the helicopter and releasing the load. It would also have prevented operation of the throttles. The downward bending to the nose of the helicopter resulted in discontinuities in the electrical systems.

The gross weight of the helicopter exceeded both the maximum allowable gross weight and the maximum allowable gross weight limit for out-of-ground-effect hover. Because the helicopter was so heavy, it was unable to cleanly lift the load clear of the ground and into forward flight. Consequently, during the transition to forward flight, the helicopter descended and the load struck the tarmac and then the other sling load. The load became unstable and started to oscillate. The pilot mistakenly associated this with pylon rock and continued the flight, believing that this condition would abate as soon as the helicopter gained forward speed. It is probable that the pilot did not attempt to release the load until after the tow bar dug into the ground near the end of the accident sequence. By this time, the damage had occurred to the Hell Hole area and the cargo hook electrical release was rendered unserviceable.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The gross weight of the helicopter exceeded both the maximum allowable gross weight and the maximum allowable gross weight limit for out-of-ground-effect hover.
  2. Because of its heavy gross weight, the helicopter was unable to cleanly lift the load clear of the ground during transition into forward flight. The helicopter descended after entering forward flight, causing the load to drag and become unstable.
  3. The pilot's attempt to release the load came too late in the accident sequence.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The ELT signal was not effectively transmitted because the antenna had pulled out of the transmitter when it detached from the ELT mounting bracket.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 03 April 2003.

Appendix A - Accident Area

Appendix A - Accident Area

Accident sequence

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02A0098

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le sol
du Bell Helicopter Textron 212 C-GDVG
exploité par Canadian Helicopters
à Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
le 18 août 2002

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 212 de Canadian Helicopters, immatriculé C-GDVG et portant le numéro de série 30762, quitte Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) avec une charge à l'élingue, soit une remorque utilitaire militaire au bout d'une élingue de 100 pieds et de colliers étrangleurs de 20 pieds. La charge est ramassée sur le tarmac qui se trouve de l'autre côté de l'aire de trafic de la compagnie. À peu près au milieu du tarmac de 210 pieds de largeur, la partie arrière de la remorque heurte le sol, laissant derrière elle un sillon de 10 pieds de longueur. La remorque heurte ensuite le haut d'une autre charge à l'élingue, qui se trouve du côté opposé au point de départ sur le tarmac. L'hélicoptère fait alors une embardée de 45 degrés vers la gauche alors qu'il franchit la clôture de l'aéroport. À environ 150 pieds au-delà de la clôture, la remorque pénètre dans un peuplement d'aulnes d'une hauteur de 20 à 25 pieds et fauche une bande de 75 pieds de longueur avant d'être soulevée au-dessus des arbres. Sur les quelque 300 pieds qui suivent, la remorque ou la barre de la remorque, ou les deux, heurtent ou labourent le sol au moins trois fois. On observe l'hélicoptère pivoter à gauche à un certain moment après qu'il eut franchi la clôture. On estime que l'hélicoptère tourne deux fois sur lui-même avant de percuter le sol à l'endroit à environ 120 pieds au-delà de la remorque, l'élingue étant toujours attachée au crochet de charge (voir l'annexe A). L'hélicoptère s'écrase dans un boisé à l'extérieur du périmètre de l'aéroport, à environ 800 pieds de l'aire de départ. Le pilote, qui est seul à bord, subit de graves blessures qui ne mettent cependant pas sa vie en danger. L'hélicoptère subit des dommages considérables. Il n'y a aucun incendie après l'impact.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les observations météorologiques en surface pour Goose Bay (Terre-Neuve et Labrador) au moment de l'accident étaient les suivantes : température de 15,3 ºC, point de rosée de 7,5 ºC et vents du 060 degrés vrais à 7 noeuds.

Le technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) de l'hélicoptère qui avait accroché la charge a observé l'hélicoptère en difficulté et l'a suivi. Lorsqu'il est arrivé sur le lieu de l'écrasement, les moteurs étaient toujours en marche et les pales du rotor principal tournaient. Le TEA est entré dans le poste de pilotage par la porte droite et a tenté de couper les moteurs, d'abord en tournant la manette des gaz, puis en fermant les robinets de carburant et enfin en tirant sur les poignées coupe-feu, mais en vain (les moteurs se sont arrêtés environ 20 minutes plus tard à bout de carburant). Le TEA a ensuite déclenché tous les disjoncteurs et a placé tous les interrupteurs électriques sur OFF afin de réduire les risques d'incendie puisque le sol était couvert de carburant provenant des réservoirs souples à carburant qui s'étaient rompus. Les pompiers de l'aéroport, qui avaient été avertis de l'écrasement par le contrôleur de la tour de l'aéroport, sont arrivés sur le lieu de l'accident peu après le TEA, et ils ont évacué le pilote de l'hélicoptère.

Le pilote, qui commandait l'hélicoptère à partir du siège gauche, a signalé qu'il avait réglé la puissance moteur pour obtenir un couple d'environ 97 pour cent dans le but de soulever la charge du sol. Il a aussi signalé qu'il avait déjà senti une certaine oscillation du pylône de l'hélicoptère lorsqu'il avait transporté d'autres charges lourdes à l'élingue. Lorsqu'il a senti que le pylône oscillait pendant le vol en question, il s'attendait à ce que le mouvement cesse dès qu'il aurait pris un peu de vitesse vers l'avant. Il ne s'était pas rendu compte qu'il avait traîné la charge sur le tarmac ni que la charge avait heurté une autre charge qui se trouvait au sol puisqu'il avait associé ces événements à l'oscillation du pylône. Après avoir franchi la clôture, le pilote s'apprêtait à revenir vers l'aéroport pour reprendre la route prévue. Pendant le virage, la vitesse a diminué, et le pylône de l'hélicoptère s'est remis à osciller. Au cours des mesures de rétablissement, la charge a heurté le sol une autre fois. Le pilote avait armé la commande de largage électrique du crochet de charge avant de ramasser la charge et il avait tenté de larger la charge pendant le vol, mais il n'a pu se rappeler le moment exact.

Des pilotes de Bell 212 expérimentés ont signalé que le pylône ce modèle d'hélicoptère est susceptible d'osciller pendant un élingage, et qu'il est nécessaire de solliciter très doucement les commandes afin d'éviter ce phénomène. Deux autres pilotes de la compagnie qui avaient pris les commandes de cet hélicoptère quelques jours avant le vol en question ont signalé qu'il était possible d'induire une certaine oscillation du pylône, mais que celle-ci se trouvait bien en deçà des limites acceptables.

Un examen de l'hélicoptère sur le lieu de l'accident a permis de découvrir que les traverses tubulaires du train d'atterrissage s'étaient écartées et qu'elles avaient été enfoncées dans le ventre de l'hélicoptère. De plus, la traverse tubulaire arrière s'était brisée près des attaches de la semelle et elle avait perforé le réservoir souple de carburant. Le nez de l'hélicoptère était partiellement sectionné et déformé vers le bas. La poutre de queue était tordue vers la droite près de la dérive, et l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue s'était rompu. Les pales du rotor de queue s'étaient cassées à mi-pale après être entrées en contact avec les aulnes et le sol, et l'arbre de sortie du boîtier d'engrenages du rotor de queue s'était rompu. Les dommages en torsion subis par l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue indiquent que les moteurs entraînaient l'arbre au moment où les pales du rotor de queue ont percuté le sol.

Un examen de la zone se trouvant sous la boîte de transmission - appelée trou de service - a été effectué après la récupération de l'hélicoptère sur le lieu de l'accident. Cet examen a révélé que le secteur arrière droit et le secteur arrière avaient subi des dommages structuraux considérables causés par le crochet de charge qui avait été tiré contre cette zone. Le tube de commande de pas du rotor de queue qui longe le côté droit du trou de service était coincé en position pas complètement vers la gauche, et les tubes de commande de la poignée des gaz qui longent la paroi arrière étaient également coincés.

La fiche encastrée qui fournit l'électricité à la commande de largage du crochet de charge s'était débranchée. La fiche encastrée a été rebranchée, et la commande de largage électrique du crochet de charge a fait l'objet d'un essai qui a montré que la commande fonctionnait.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence Pointer Sentry, modèle C4000, qui avait été fixée au montant de la porte, juste derrière le siège du pilote, s'était détachée de ses supports de fixation et elle a été retrouvée sur le plancher de l'hélicoptère. Elle s'est déclenchée durant l'écrasement, mais comme l'antenne a été arrachée de la radiobalise au moment où cette dernière s'est détachée de ses supports de fixation, le signal n'a pas été émis efficacement. La radiobalise a fait l'objet d'un essai conformément à la norme 551-104 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Il a été possible de déterminer que celle-ci était en mesure de supporter une force d'inertie ultime de 22,5 g vers le bas, comme l'exige la réglementation.

La masse maximale autorisée au décollage pour le Bell 212 est de 11 200 livres. La masse à vide de l'hélicoptère était de 6920 livres, incluant le poids du pilote, et il y avait environ 1300 livres de carburant à bord au moment de l'accident. Selon une pesée effectuée après l'accident, la masse de l'ensemble de la charge externe, y compris l'équipement de fixation, était de 3200 livres. Selon les calculs, la masse brute de l'hélicoptère au moment de l'accident était de 11 420 livres, soit 220 livres au-dessus de la masse autorisée au décollage.

Le client avait mentionné que la remorque et son contenu pesaient environ 3000 livres. L'exploitant n'a pas pesé la charge avant que l'hélicoptère tente de la soulever. Cependant, le crochet de charge possède une cellule de mesure qui est utilisée pour mesurer la masse de la charge à l'élingue. La remorque devait être la première charge, mais lorsque l'hélicoptère l'a soulevée, une masse de 3500 livres a été enregistrée, et la remorque était trop lourde pour être transportée à l'élingue. Le pilote a alors déposé la charge et est parti avec une autre charge. Pendant que l'hélicoptère effectuait le premier voyage, on a retiré une partie du fret de la remorque afin de réduire la masse de la charge. Cependant, la réduction de la masse n'a apparemment pas été consignée. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer si la charge avait été pesée durant le deuxième voyage.

Selon le tableau « Hover Ceiling Out of Ground Effect » (plafond de vol stationnaire hors de l'effet de sol) qui se trouve aux pages 4 à 16 de la section 4 du manuel de vol du Bell 212, la masse brute maximale en vol stationnaire hors de l'effet de sol dans les conditions qui prévalaient le jour de l'accident était de 10 900 livres. L'hélicoptère se serait trouvé hors de l'effet de sol au moment de ramasser la charge pour l'élingage et, par conséquent, sa masse aurait dépassé de 520 livres la masse maximale autorisée pour ce vol.

Analyse

Aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident n'a été découverte. Bien que la fiche encastrée, qui alimente en électricité la commande de largage électrique du crochet de charge, se soit débranchée, on a déterminé que la commande de largage était en bon état de marche lorsque le vol a commencé. La fiche encastrée, le tube de commande du rotor de queue et les tubes de commande de la poignée des gaz qui se trouvent à l'intérieur du trou de service ont probablement été endommagés lorsque la barre de la remorque a labouré le sol, ce qui aurait entraîné une décélération soudaine de la remorque et exercé une grande force vers l'arrière sur le crochet de charge. Les dommages subis à cet endroit auraient empêché le pilote de maîtriser l'hélicoptère, de larger la charge et de régler les gaz. La déformation vers le bas du nez de l'hélicoptère a causé des discontinuités dans le circuit électrique.

La masse brute de l'hélicoptère dépassait la masse maximale autorisée au décollage ainsi que la masse maximale autorisée au décollage en vol stationnaire hors de l'effet de sol. L'hélicoptère, ayant une masse très élevée, n'a pas été en mesure de soulever franchement la charge et de se mettre en vol vers l'avant. Par conséquent, durant la transition au vol vers l'avant, l'hélicoptère a descendu, et la charge a heurté le tarmac, puis l'autre charge. La charge est devenue instable et s'est mise à osciller. Le pilote a associé par erreur ce mouvement à l'oscillation du pylône et il a poursuivi le vol croyant que le mouvement s'estomperait dès que l'hélicoptère serait en vol vers l'avant. Il est probable que le pilote a tenté de larger la charge seulement après que la barre de la remorque eut labouré le sol vers la fin de l'accident. À ce moment-là, la zone du trou de service avait déjà subi des dommages, et la commande de largage électrique du crochet de charge était hors service.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La masse brute de l'hélicoptère dépassait la masse maximale autorisée au décollage ainsi que la masse maximale autorisée au décollage en vol stationnaire hors de l'effet de sol.
  2. L'hélicoptère, ayant une masse très élevée, n'a pas été en mesure de soulever franchement la charge et de se mettre en vol vers l'avant. L'hélicoptère est descendu après avoir pris de la vitesse vers l'avant, ce qui a fait en sorte que la charge a traîné au sol et est devenue instable.
  3. La tentative de largage de la part du pilote est venue trop tard dans la séquence d'accident.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le signal de la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence n'a pas été émis efficacement parce que l'antenne avait été arrachée de la radiobalise lorsque cette dernière s'était détachée de ses supports de fixation.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 3 avril 2003.

Annexe A - Endroit où s'est produit l'accident

Annexe A - Endroit où s'est produit l'accident

Séquence de l'accident