Aviation Investigation Report A02C0072

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Runway Excursion
Perimeter Airlines (Inland) Ltd.
Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II C-GIQF
Winnipeg, Manitoba
16 April 2002

Summary

Perimeter 610, a Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II, C-GIQF, serial number TC279, was on a scheduled flight, under instrument flight rules, from St. Theresa Point to Winnipeg, Manitoba, with 2 pilots and 13 passengers on board. The crew was anticipating a visual approach to Runway 36 at Winnipeg International Airport but, because of conflicting traffic, accepted vectors for the instrument landing system (ILS) approach to Runway 13. At approximately 1908 central daylight time, the aircraft landed to the right of the runway centreline, then drifted further right and departed the runway surface, damaging a runway edge light, a taxiway edge light, and a runway identification sign. It then travelled 1150 feet through the infield and came to rest near the intersection of Runways 13/31 and 18/36. There were no reported injuries. The aircraft's left engine (Garrett TPE 33) sustained damage from ingested mud and vegetation. The right wing, left wing, and fuselage were damaged when the aircraft struck the edge lights and the runway identification sign. After the aircraft stopped, the crew shut down the engines and advised the Winnipeg Airport air traffic controller of their position. The airport crash alarm was activated and emergency response personnel responded.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

On arrival in the Winnipeg terminal area, the aircraft was cleared to descend to 6000 feet above sea level1 (asl) and to proceed direct to the Winnipeg VOR. The Winnipeg automatic terminal information service (ATIS) indicated that Runway 36 was in use. Changing weather conditions during Perimeter 610's arrival period necessitated several runway changes for aircraft on approach to Winnipeg. The crew was in visual contact with the ground east of the airport, and planned to fly a visual approach to Runway 36. Thunderstorm activity to the south of the airport had precluded instrument approaches for Runway 36; however, visual approaches to Runway 36 were still possible. The arrival controller cleared Perimeter 610 to 4000 feet, reserving the airspace below this level for a possible overshoot by an aircraft landing on Runway 13. The altitude restriction would have required Perimeter 610 to initiate a steep descent to complete a visual approach to Runway 36.

Recognizing this, the arrival controller instructed Perimeter 610 to fly a heading of 310 ºM on initial vectors for an approach to Runway 13. The crew had completed a descent check but they had not completed an instrument approach briefing or discussed what weather conditions would require the approach to be discontinued. During the ILS approach to Runway 13, the aircraft encountered increasing rain, low visibility, wind shear, and turbulence, and the crew had difficulty maintaining the required course and glide path on final approach. The flight plan alternate destination was Grand Forks, North Dakota. The crew did not take action to divert the flight to the alternate destination; during the latter part of the approach, an overshoot would have taken the aircraft into the active storm cell over the airport. The airport controller assumed control of the flight when it was on final approach, provided wind condition updates, and cleared the flight to land. The aircraft was not visible to the controllers in the Winnipeg control tower during or after the occurrence. The accident occurred during daylight hours, at 1908 central daylight time (CDT)2. Emergency response personnel arrived on scene within two minutes of the call from the aircraft crew to the airport controller. The response team consisted of the airport duty manager in a utility vehicle and fire-fighters in two fire trucks. The aircraft captain exited the aircraft and inspected the exterior; no fire was observed. Inspection revealed a minor fuel leak which had resulted from puncture damage to the left wing. A Winnipeg Airports Authority medical bus was deployed to the scene and the passengers and the first officer, who had remained on board the aircraft, were moved to the terminal area.

Winnipeg International Airport comprises two main runways, 18/36 and 13/31, and one secondary runway, 07/25. Runway 13 is 8700 feet long and 200 feet wide. The accident aircraft came to rest about 100 feet from the edge of the intersection of Runways 13/31 and 18/36.

The observed weather at Winnipeg International Airport at 1900 was as follows: winds 340ºT at 11 knots gusting to 17 knots, visibility 10 statute miles in thundershowers and rain, overcast ceiling 1600 feet in cumulonimbus cloud, temperature 11ºC, dewpoint 9ºC, altimeter setting 29.32, remarks lightning in cloud. The observed weather at 1909 was as follows: winds 020ºT at 14 knots, thunderstorms with visibility one statute mile in rain and hail measuring 15 millimetres in diameter. The aircraft came to rest about one-half statute mile from the control tower. The terminal forecast issued at 1742 was as follows: winds 050ºT at 15 knots, scattered cloud at 1000 feet, overcast cloud at 2500 feet, temporarily visibility 5 statute miles in light showers and rain, probability 30 per cent chance of visibility one statute mile in heavy thundershowers and rain, broken cloud at 800 feet and overcast cumulonimbus cloud at 4000 feet. The airport controller observed a thundershower approaching Winnipeg Airport while the accident aircraft was in the terminal area; however, light rain obscured the controller's view of the low cloud ceilings, heavy rain and hail which moved over the airport while the aircraft was on approach. Visibility from the control tower at the time of the accident was one-quarter to one-half statute mile in rain. The airport controller noted hail falling on the tower cab shortly before the aircraft landed and broadcast that information on the tower frequency. Because of the limited visibility, the controllers could not estimate the amount of hail accumulation on the runways.

The crew was qualified for the flight in accordance with current regulatory requirements. The captain had approximately 13 600 hours flight time, with 4200 hours on the Metro II aircraft type. The first officer completed his initial training on the Metro II aircraft type about three weeks before the accident. He had approximately 1800 hours flight time, with 110 hours on the Metro II aircraft type. The Perimeter Airline Standard Operating Procedures provide for pilot-monitored approaches in instrument meteorological conditions. However, the captain elected to fly this approach himself because of the first officer's limited experience on the Metro aircraft type. The first officer provided call-outs of airspeed, altitude, and track and performed the required checks as requested by the captain.

The crew planned an approach airspeed of 140 knots and a touchdown speed of 118 knots, with one-half flap extended. Radar information showed the aircraft's ground speed at touchdown was approximately 130 knots. With the average tailwind component during the approach and landing of approximately 9 knots, the indicated airspeed at touchdown would have been approximately 121 knots.

Hydroplaning is a phenomenon in which a film of water on a runway results in a partial or complete loss of tire-to-runway contact3. Hydroplaning is a function of water depth, speed, and, in the case of dynamic hydroplaning, tire pressure. Hydroplaning reduces the friction between the tire and the surface, and may result in a loss of braking or directional control. The main wheel tire pressure for the occurrence aircraft is 70 psi. According to the Transport Canada AIP, the minimum speed at which hydroplaning will commence for a non-rotating, bald tire with a pressure of 70 psi is approximately 65 knots (7.7 x sqrt of 70). Under hydroplaning conditions, a 10-knot crosswind can drift an aircraft off the side of a 200-foot runway in about 7 seconds. The average wind during the period from 1900 to 1909 had a crosswind component of approximately 12 knots and a tailwind component of approximately 9 knots. Light rubber deposits, consistent with viscous hydroplaning, were left on the runway surface by the aircraft tires.

The aircraft's records indicate that it was certified, equipped and maintained in accordance with existing regulations. No pre-existing aircraft technical deficiencies were identified. The aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within approved limits throughout the flight.

The approach controller was using a radar data processing system (RDPS) situational display and the airport controller was using a Nav Canada auxiliary radar display system (NARDS). Both systems were designed to provide aircraft information; however, some weather information is also displayed. Doppler radar is an advanced radar which is designed to provide earlier prediction and detection of severe weather. By measuring the motion of precipitation within storms, it is able to provide radial velocity, microburst and shearline/gust data, along with other severe weather information. Doppler radar information was available for the Winnipeg area but it was not available on the display systems used by the approach or airport controllers. Winnipeg Airport was not equipped with wind shear detection equipment, nor was it required to be so equipped.

The Air Traffic Services Manual of Operations (MANOPS) directs controllers to select the runway most closely aligned with the winds, with a maximum crosswind component of 15 knots on wet runways. The MANOPS also states that a maximum of 5 knots of tailwind is acceptable on a dry runway. These values are not limiting, provided that flight crews are given wind speed and direction information. The approach controller and the airport controller broadcast the changing wind conditions to aircraft crews during the relevant period. The MANOPS states that the final decision on the acceptability of a particular runway rests with the pilot. The approach and airport controllers did not have the authority to close the airport during adverse weather conditions. They would clear aircraft for operations in winds which exceeded the MANOPS guidelines if another runway was not available. The airport authority had the authority to close the airport or parts of the airport, subject to the notification requirements contained in the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). The authority did not monitor the weather and runway situation to determine whether the guidelines contained in the MANOPS were being met, nor was it required to do so.

The operator's training program for Metro pilots did not include a formal course segment related to weather minima or operation of the aircraft's weather radar. New company pilots received instruction on the aircraft weather radar system during their line indoctrination training. The aircraft's weather radar system displayed rain in the area of the approach but the display was attenuated, in that rain immediately in front of the aircraft obscured the heavier rain further ahead.

Analysis

During their approach into Winnipeg, the crew encountered increasingly adverse weather conditions of rain, low visibility, wind shear, and turbulence. The crew anticipated a visual approach to land on Runway 36, because they were in visual contact with the ground and ATIS indicated that the active runway was Runway 36. They had not completed an instrument approach briefing when they received a short-notice clearance for an ILS approach to Runway 13. The approach change and the adverse weather conditions increased the crew's workload during the approach and made it more difficult for the crew to properly position the aircraft for landing. The crew continued the approach in deteriorating weather conditions and without the benefit of an instrument approach briefing. Because the captain flew the approach and did not initiate a pilot-monitored approach, he lost some supervisory overview of the situation. The aircraft landed on a wet runway with a crosswind, at a speed well above the minimum speed at which hydroplaning would be likely.

The weather radar display in the aircraft was attenuated and the air traffic controllers' radar displays contained limited weather information. As a result, the crew, and the air traffic controllers who were directing them, did not have an accurate picture of the severity of the weather in the terminal area. Doppler radar, which could have provided this information, was available for the Winnipeg area but not available to the controllers. The airport was not equipped with windshear detection equipment, and the controllers, therefore, did not have a direct indication of the windshear which accompanied the arrival of the storm cell over the airport.

The aircraft landed to the right of centre line, which increased the likelihood that it would depart the runway under the prevailing crosswind conditions. The amount of rain which had fallen likely provided a sufficient moisture film for aircraft hydroplaning, and the aircraft landed well above the speed at which hydroplaning can develop. It is likely that the crew lost directional control as the aircraft hydroplaned and moved off the side of the runway under the influence of the crosswind.

When weather conditions precluded instrument approaches for Runway 36, the airport controller arranged to use Runway 13. The tailwind at touchdown likely exceeded the MANOPS guidelines for operations on a wet runway, and the crosswind at touchdown approached the limit in those guidelines. However, the approach controller and the airport controller broadcast the changing wind conditions to the crew during the approach in accordance with the MANOPS. The crosswind and tailwind conditions increased the likelihood that the aircraft would hydroplane after touchdown on Runway 13.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft landed during heavy precipitation on a wet runway, and it likely hydroplaned, resulting in a loss of directional control and runway excursion.
  2. The aircraft was cleared, on short notice, for an approach to a runway with a tailwind that exceeded the Air Traffic Services Manual of Operations (MANOPS) guidelines for operations on a wet runway, and was cleared to land with a crosswind that approached the limit in those guidelines.
  3. The crew continued with an instrument approach in rapidly deteriorating weather conditions characterized by heavy rain, low visibility, wind shear, turbulence, and tailwind and crosswind components.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Air traffic controllers at Winnipeg International Airport have limited access to weather information for the terminal area and runway environment. Doppler weather information was available for the Winnipeg area but it was not displayed by the systems available to the controllers.
  2. Windshear detection equipment was not installed at Winnipeg International Airport: this was not a requirement.

Safety Action

After the occurrence, the operator, Perimeter Airlines (Inland) Ltd., added a crew resource management segment to its training programme for Metro pilots.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 09 December 2002.


1. Units are consistent with official manuals, documents, and instructions used by or issued to the crew.

2. All times are CDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus five hours) unless otherwise noted.

3. Transport Canada, AIP Canada, Section AIR, 1.6.5, TP2300.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02C0072

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Sortie de piste
du Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II C-GIQF
exploité par Perimeter Airlines (Inland) Ltd.
à Winnipeg (Manitoba)
le 16 avril 2002

Résumé

Le Swearingen SA226-TC Metro II immatriculé C-GIQF et portant le numéro de série TC279 assure le vol 610 de Perimeters Airlines. Il effectue un vol régulier selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) entre St. Theresa Point et Winnipeg (Manitoba); à bord se trouvent 2 pilotes et 13 passagers. L'équipage a l'intention de faire une approche à vue de la piste 36 à l'aéroport international de Winnipeg mais, à cause d'un conflit avec un autre appareil, il accepte un guidage radar en prévision d'une approche de la piste 13 à l'aide du système d'atterrissage aux instruments (ILS). Vers 19 h 8, heure avancée du Centre, l'avion se pose à droite de l'axe de piste avant de dériver encore plus à droite et de sortir de la piste, ce qui occasionne des dommages à un feu de bord de piste, à un feu de bord de voie de circulation et à un panneau d'identification de piste. L'appareil parcourt ensuite 1 150 pieds sur l'entrepiste et finit par s'immobiliser près de l'intersection des pistes 13/31 et 18/36. Personne n'est blessé. Le moteur gauche de l'avion (un Garrett TPE 33) est endommagé à cause de l'ingestion de boue et de végétation. Les ailes gauche et droite ainsi que le fuselage subissent des dommages lorsque l'avion percute les feux de bord et le panneau d'identification de piste. Une fois l'avion immobilisé, l'équipage coupe les moteurs et signale sa position au contrôleur de l'aéroport de Winnipeg. L'alarme de l'aéroport est déclenchée, et le personnel d'urgence intervient.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

En arrivant dans la région de contrôle terminal de Winnipeg, l'avion avait été autorisé à descendre à 6 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer1 (asl) et à se rendre directement au radiophare omnidirectionnel (VOR) de Winnipeg. Le service automatique d'information de région terminale (ATIS) indiquait que la piste 36 était en service. Des conditions météorologiques changeantes au moment de l'arrivée de Perimeter 610 ont nécessité plusieurs changements de piste pour des appareils en approche sur Winnipeg. L'équipage avait établi le contact visuel avec le sol à l'est de l'aéroport et avait l'intention de faire une approche à vue sur la piste 36. Il était impossible de faire des approches aux instruments sur la piste 36 à cause d'un foyer orageux situé au sud de l'aéroport, mais des approches à vue sur cette piste étaient toujours possibles. Le contrôleur des arrivées avait autorisé Perimeter 610 à descendre à 4 000 pieds, réservant l'espace aérien situé au-dessous pour un avion en train de se poser sur la piste 13 mais qui ferait peut-être une remise des gaz. Cette restriction d'altitude aurait obligé Perimeter 610 à effectuer une descente prononcée pour pouvoir terminer son approche à vue sur la piste 36.

Conscient de ce fait, le contrôleur des arrivées a donné instruction à Perimeter 610 de prendre le cap 310 ºM en vue d'une approche ILS de la piste 13. L'équipage avait effectué ses vérifications de descente, mais il n'avait pas fait d'exposé pour une approche aux instruments ni discuté des conditions météorologiques qui demanderaient une approche interrompue. Pendant l'approche ILS sur la piste 13, l'avion a rencontré de la pluie de plus forte intensité, une faible visibilité, un cisaillement du vent et de la turbulence, si bien que l'équipage a eu du mal à rester sur les trajectoires d'alignement de piste et de descente en approche finale. Grand Forks (Dakota du Nord) était l'aérodrome de dégagement prévu au plan de vol. L'équipage n'a pris aucune mesure de déroutement vers l'aérodrome de dégagement. Au cours de la dernière partie de l'approche, une remise des gaz aurait amené l'avion en plein dans la cellule orageuse active au-dessus de l'aéroport. Le contrôleur d'aéroport a assuré le contrôle de l'avion à partir de l'approche finale et lui a alors donné les derniers renseignements sur le vent et l'a autorisé à se poser. Pendant et après l'événement, les contrôleurs de la tour n'ont jamais pu établir le contact visuel avec l'avion. L'accident s'est produit de jour, à 19 h 8, heure avancée du Centre (HAC)2. Le personnel d'urgence est arrivé sur les lieux dans les deux minutes qui ont suivi l'appel transmis par l'équipage de l'avion au contrôleur d'aéroport. L'équipe d'intervention était composée du gestionnaire de l'aéroport qui est arrivé dans un véhicule utilitaire et de quelques pompiers qui sont arrivés dans deux camions de lutte contre les incendies. Le commandant de bord est sorti et a inspecté l'extérieur de l'avion et n'a observé aucun signe d'incendie. Une inspection a révélé une petite fuite de carburant due à une perforation au niveau de l'aile gauche. Un autobus médical des autorités aéroportuaires de Winnipeg a été dépêché sur place, et les passagers ainsi que le premier officier, toujours à bord, ont été amenés à l'aérogare.

L'aéroport international de Winnipeg possède deux pistes principales (la 18/36 et la 13/31) ainsi qu'une piste secondaire (la 07/25). La piste 13 mesure 8 700 pieds de longueur sur 200 pieds de largeur. L'avion accidenté s'est immobilisé à quelque 100 pieds du bord de l'intersection entre les pistes 13/31 et 18/36.

Les conditions météorologiques observées à 19 h à l'aéroport international de Winnipeg étaient les suivantes : vent du 340 ºT à 11 noeuds avec des rafales à 17 noeuds, visibilité de 10 milles terrestres dans des averses orageuses et de la pluie, plafond avec couvert nuageux à 1 600 pieds au milieu de cumulonimbus, température de 11 ºC, point de rosée de 9 ºC, calage altimétrique de 29,32, remarques faisant état d'éclairs dans les nuages. Les conditions météorologiques observées à 19 h 9 étaient les suivantes : vent du 020 ºT à 14 noeuds, orages avec visibilité de 1 mille terrestre dans de la pluie et des grêlons mesurant 15 mm de diamètre. L'avion s'est immobilisé à environ un demi-mille terrestre de la tour de contrôle. Les prévisions de région terminale publiée à 17 h 42 étaient les suivantes : vent du 050 ºT à 15 noeuds, nuages épars à 1 000 pieds, couvert nuageux à 2 500 pieds, visibilité temporaire de 5 milles terrestres dans de légères averses et de la pluie, probabilité de 30 % de visibilité réduite à 1 mille terrestre dans de fortes averses orageuses et de la pluie, nuages fragmentés à 800 pieds et couvert nuageux de cumulonimbus à 4 000 pieds. Le contrôleur d'aéroport a vu un orage approcher de l'aéroport de Winnipeg pendant que l'avion était en région terminale; toutefois, la petite pluie qui tombait a empêché le contrôleur de voir les bas plafonds avec couvert nuageux, la forte pluie et la grêle qui arrivaient au-dessus de l'aéroport pendant que l'avion était en approche. Au moment de l'accident, la visibilité depuis la tour de contrôle était comprise entre un quart de mille et un demi-mille terrestre dans de la pluie. Le contrôleur d'aéroport s'est rendu compte que de la grêle tombait sur la vigie de la tour peu de temps avant que l'avion se pose et il a transmis ce renseignement sur la fréquence de la tour. Compte tenu de la visibilité limitée, les contrôleurs n'ont pu estimer l'importance de l'accumulation de grêle sur les pistes.

L'équipage possédait les qualifications nécessaires au vol et en vertu de la réglementation en vigueur. Le commandant de bord totalisait quelque 13 600 heures de vol, dont 4 200 sur Metro II. Le premier officier avait terminé sa formation initiale sur Metro II environ trois semaines avant l'accident. Il totalisait quelque 1 800 heures de vol, dont 110 sur Metro II. Les procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) de Perimeter Airline prévoient des approches surveillées par le pilote dans des conditions météorologiques de vol aux instruments. Toutefois, le commandant de bord avait choisi d'exécuter l'approche lui-même, compte tenu du peu d'expérience du premier officier sur Metro. Le premier officier a annoncé les vitesses, les altitudes et les caps, en plus d'effectuer à la demande du commandant de bord les diverses vérifications requises.

L'équipage avait planifié une vitesse d'approche de 140 noeuds et une vitesse de toucher des roues de 118 noeuds, les volets braqués à moitié. Les données radar montrent que la vitesse sol de l'avion au moment du toucher des roues était de l'ordre de 130 noeuds. Compte tenu de la composante vent arrière moyenne en approche et à l'atterrissage qui était de quelque 9 noeuds, la vitesse indiquée au moment du toucher des roues était probablement aux environs de 121 noeuds.

L'hydroplanage est un phénomène qui se produit lorsqu'une pellicule d'eau provoque une perte de contact partielle ou totale des pneus avec la piste3. L'hydroplanage dépend de l'épaisseur de l'eau, de la vitesse et, dans le cas d'un hydroplanage dynamique, de la pression de gonflage des pneus. Il réduit le frottement entre les pneus et la surface et il peut se traduire par une perte de l'efficacité du freinage ou de la maîtrise en direction. La pression de gonflage des pneus du train d'atterrissage principal de l'avion en question est de 70 lb/po2. L'A.I.P. Canada indique que la vitesse à laquelle l'hydroplanage va commencer à se manifester, dans le cas d'un pneu lisse sans rotation gonflé à une pression de 70 lb/po2, est d'environ 65 noeuds (7,7 fois la racine carrée de 70). En situation d'hydroplanage, un vent traversier de 10 noeuds peut faire dériver un avion à l'extérieur d'une piste large de 200 pieds en quelque 7 secondes. De 19 h à 19 h 9, la composante de vent traversier était de l'ordre de 12 noeuds et la composante de vent arrière était de quelque 9 noeuds. De légers dépôts de caoutchouc en provenance des pneus de l'avion ont été relevés, signe d'un hydroplanage visqueux.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'avion était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Aucun problème technique préexistant n'a été identifié. La masse et le centrage de l'avion étaient dans les limites prescrites.

Le contrôleur d'approche utilisait un écran du système de traitement des données radar (RDPS) et le contrôleur d'aéroport se servait du système auxiliaire d'affichage radar de Nav Canada (NARDS). Ces deux systèmes ont été conçus de manière à fournir des renseignements sur les aéronefs; toutefois, quelques renseignements météorologiques sont également présentés. Le radar Doppler est un radar de type évolué qui est conçu pour prévoir et détecter le plus tôt possible les phénomènes météorologiques violents. En mesurant le déplacement des précipitations à l'intérieur des orages, il est capable de fournir des données sur la vitesse radiale du vent, sur les microrafales et sur le cisaillement du vent/les rafales ainsi que d'autres renseignements en cas de temps violent. Il est possible de disposer de renseignements de radar Doppler dans la région de Winnipeg, mais ils n'étaient pas disponibles sur les écrans des systèmes utilisés par les contrôleurs d'approche ou d'aéroport. Aucun équipement de détection du cisaillement du vent n'était installé à l'aéroport international de Winnipeg, ce qui ne contrevenait pas à la réglementation.

En vertu du Manuel d'exploitation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS ATC), les contrôleurs sont tenus de choisir la piste qui se trouve le plus dans le vent, la composante maximale de vent traversier étant fixée à 15 noeuds sur piste mouillée. Le MANOPS ATC indique également qu'une composante maximale de vent arrière de 5 noeuds est acceptable sur piste sèche. Ces chiffres ne sont pas limitatifs, à condition que les équipages de conduite soient informés de la vitesse et de la direction du vent. Pendant la période en question, le contrôleur d'approche et le contrôleur d'aéroport ont signalé aux équipages de conduite les conditions changeantes du vent. D'après le MANOPS ATC, la décision ultime d'accepter une piste en particulier revient au pilote. Les contrôleurs d'approche et d'aéroport n'avaient pas le pouvoir de fermer l'aéroport pendant les mauvaises conditions météorologiques. Ils auraient autorisé l'avion à évoluer dans des vents dépassant les chiffres indiqués dans le MANOPS ATC si aucune autre piste n'avait été disponible. Les autorités aéroportuaires ont le pouvoir de fermer l'aéroport en tout ou en partie, sous réserve de respecter les exigences de notification prévues dans le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Les autorités n'ont pas surveillé la situation entourant les pistes et les conditions météorologiques pour voir si les lignes directrices du MANOPS ATC étaient bien respectées, mais rien ne les obligeait à le faire.

Le programme de formation de l'exploitant qui est destiné aux pilotes de Metro ne comprend aucun volet spécifiquement consacré aux minimums météorologiques ou à l'utilisation du radar météo de l'avion. Les nouveaux pilotes de la compagnie avaient reçu une instruction portant sur le radar météo de l'avion pendant leur entraînement en ligne. Le radar météo de l'avion montrait de la pluie dans la zone d'approche, mais cette représentation était atténuée, en ce sens que la pluie immédiatement devant l'avion masquait la pluie plus forte encore plus en avant.

Analyse

Pendant l'approche sur Winnipeg, l'équipage a rencontré des conditions météo de plus en plus mauvaises (pluie, faible visibilité, cisaillement du vent et turbulence). L'équipage avait prévu de faire une approche à vue sur la piste 36, puisqu'il avait établi le contact visuel avec le sol et que l'ATIS indiquait que la piste 36 était la piste en service. Il n'avait pas fait d'exposé pour une approche aux instruments quand il a reçu avec un court préavis une autorisation d'approche ILS pour la piste 13. Le changement d'approche ainsi que les mauvaises conditions météo ont augmenté la charge de travail de l'équipage pendant l'approche et ont fait que l'équipage a eu encore plus de mal à bien positionner l'appareil en vue de l'atterrissage. L'équipage a poursuivi l'approche dans des conditions météo qui se dégradaient, alors qu'il n'avait pas fait d'exposé pour une approche aux instruments. Comme le commandant de bord a exécuté l'approche et n'a pas décidé de faire une approche surveillée par le pilote, il n'a pas pu profiter d'une certaine forme de surveillance de la situation. L'avion a touché des roues sur une piste mouillée en présence d'un vent traversier et à une vitesse bien supérieure à la vitesse minimale à laquelle les risques d'hydroplanage sont probables.

L'écran du radar météo de l'avion ne donnaient pas une représentation juste de la gravité de la situation et les écrans radar des contrôleurs contenaient un nombre limité de renseignements météorologiques. Par conséquent, l'équipage et les contrôleurs n'avaient pas une idée exacte de la violence des conditions météorologiques dans la région terminale. Le radar Doppler qui aurait pu fournir cette information était disponible dans la région de Winnipeg, mais il n'était pas à la disposition des contrôleurs. L'aéroport ne possédait pas d'équipement de détection du cisaillement du vent, en conséquence les contrôleurs n'avaient aucune indication directe du cisaillement du vent accompagnant l'arrivée de la cellule orageuse au-dessus de l'aéroport.

L'avion a touché des roues à droite de l'axe de piste, ce qui a augmenté les risques de sortie de piste compte tenu du vent traversier qui prévalait. En raison de la quantité de pluie accumulée, la piste était probablement recouverte d'une pellicule humide suffisante pour provoquer un hydroplanage; en outre, l'avion a touché des roues à une vitesse nettement supérieure à celle pouvant donner naissance à un tel phénomène. Il est probable que l'équipage a perdu la maîtrise directionnelle de l'avion pendant l'hydroplanage, et l'avion est sorti sur le côté de la piste sous l'effet du vent traversier.

Quand les conditions météo ont empêché de faire une approche aux instruments sur la piste 36, le contrôleur d'aéroport a pris les mesures nécessaires pour utiliser la piste 13. Le vent arrière au toucher des roues dépassait probablement les limites indiquées dans les lignes directrices du MANOPS ATC en cas d'utilisation d'une piste mouillée, et le vent traversier au moment du toucher des roues avoisinait les limites indiquées dans les lignes directrices. Toutefois, conformément au MANOPS ATC, le contrôleur d'approche et le contrôleur d'aéroport avaient signalé par radio les conditions changeantes du vent à l'équipage pendant l'approche. La présence d'un vent traversier et d'un vent arrière a augmenté les risques d'hydroplanage de l'avion après le toucher des roues sur la piste 13.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'avion a touché des roues au milieu de fortes précipitations sur une piste mouillée, et il a probablement hydroplané, ce qui a occasionné une perte de maîtrise directionnelle et la sortie de piste.
  2. L'avion a été autorisé, à court préavis, à faire une approche sur une piste en présence d'un vent arrière qui dépassait les limites pour une piste mouillée indiquées dans les lignes directrices du Manuel d'exploitation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (MANOPS ATC), et il a été autorisé à se poser en présence d'un vent traversier qui avoisinait les limites spécifiées dans ces mêmes lignes directrices.
  3. L'équipage a poursuivi l'approche aux instruments dans des conditions météorologiques qui se dégradaient rapidement, notamment fortes pluies, faible visibilité, cisaillement du vent, turbulence, vent arrière et vent traversier.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Les contrôleurs de l'aéroport international de Winnipeg avaient un accès limité aux renseignements météorologiques intéressant la région terminale et les abords des pistes. Des renseignements météorologiques de radar Doppler étaient disponibles dans la région de Winnipeg, mais ils n'étaient pas présentés sur les systèmes à la disposition des contrôleurs.
  2. Aucun équipement de détection du cisaillement du vent n'était installé à l'aéroport international de Winnipeg, ce qui ne contrevenait pas à la réglementation.

Mesures de sécurité

Après l'accident, l'exploitant, Perimeter Airlines (Inland) Ltd., a ajouté un volet sur la gestion des ressources de l'équipage à son programme de formation des pilotes de Metro.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 9 décembre 2002.


1. Les unités correspondent à celles des manuels officiels, des documents et des instructions utilisés ou reçus par l'équipage.

2. Les heures sont exprimées en HAC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins cinq heures), sauf indication contraire.

3. Transports Canada, Publication d'information aéronautique (A.I.P. Canada), Section AIR, 1.6.5 (TP 2300).