Aviation Investigation Report A02C0105

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Power Loss / Forced Landing
United States Department of the Interior
Cessna TU206F (Amphibious) N753
Swan River, Manitoba
27 May 2002

Summary

The amphibious Cessna TU206F aircraft, registration N753, serial number U20603401, with the pilot and one crew member on board, departed from Runway 20 at Swan River, Manitoba, en route to Dauphin. Immediately after take-off, the aircraft began to vibrate and engine power began to decrease. At this time, the aircraft was at a height of about 75 feet with about 1100 feet of runway remaining. The runway is 4130 feet long, and several ditches and a road cross the runway departure path. Based on his assessment that there was insufficient runway remaining on which to land and that the engine was producing sufficient power to maintain flight, the pilot decided to fly a right-hand circuit away from parked aircraft and terminal area buildings and return to Runway 20. The aircraft was turned to the right and levelled off. Engine power continued to decrease, and the pilot decided to make a forced landing in a plowed field ¼ mile west of the runway. On landing, the aircraft overturned and came to rest in an upright position. After the aircraft came to rest, the engine rpm suddenly increased; the pilot pulled the throttle back and the engine stopped. The pilot and the crew member were wearing their seatbelts and shoulder harnesses, and both exited the aircraft with minor injuries. The aircraft was destroyed by fire. The accident occurred at 1245 central daylight time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The weather in Dauphin, Manitoba, at the time of the accident was as follows: scattered clouds at 1600 feet and 3500 feet, visibility 9 statute miles, temperature 24ºC, dewpoint 2ºC, wind from 220º at 8 knots, and altimeter setting 29.78 inches of mercury. Weather in Swan River at the time was similar.

The pilot of the aircraft held a valid commercial pilot licence and a second class medical certificate, issued by the United States Federal Aviation Administration. He was instrument rated on single-engine land and sea airplanes. The pilot has held a commercial pilot licence since 1978, with a total of 9000 hours of flight time, including 1500 hours on the amphibious Cessna 206. During the previous 30 days the pilot had flown approximately 45 hours, 4 hours of which were on the day of the accident.

The Swan River airport does not have dedicated airport emergency response services. Witnesses who observed the accident ran or drove to the crash site with fire extinguishers and attempted without success to suppress the intense fuel-fed fire. Several forest fire retardant spray aircraft had been waiting for the accident aircraft to take off. An attempt by one of the spray aircraft to extinguish the fire by discharging its retardant was unsuccessful. The fire was eventually extinguished by the crew of a fire truck spraying water from a nearby pond.

The aircraft, owned by the United States Department of the Interior, was being used to collect waterfowl data in cooperation with the Canadian Wildlife Service. The pilot and the crew member were both employees of the Department of the Interior. The crew member was acting as an observer on the occurrence flight. On the day of the accident, the pilot and the crew member had been conducting low-level waterfowl surveys and were on their way back to Dauphin. En route to Dauphin, the pilot landed in Swan River and uplifted 120 litres of 100 LL fuel in the left fuel tank. Only the left fuel sump was checked before take-off on the occurrence flight, and no contamination was found. The pilot did not perform a run-up before take-off, but no operating anomalies were noted.

During the take-off roll, the engine achieved a maximum of 2700 rpm, and a fuel flow of 23.5 gallons per hour (gph). The Pilot's Operating Handbook Supplement (POH) for the Cessna 206 equipped with a TCM 550 engine indicates that maximum take-off rpm is 2700 and maximum fuel flow is 25.8 gph. The Cessna POH provides a landing distance over a 50-foot obstacle of about 1500 feet for a wheel-equipped aircraft.

Examination of the site indicated that the float tips had dug into the ground and then bent up into the propeller arc. Damage to the top of the vertical fin and scratch marks on the upper surface of the wings indicated that the aircraft had overturned on touchdown. The crew member reported seeing a steady stream of fuel coming from the left wing root after the aircraft came to rest. The aircraft was destroyed by a subsequent fire. As a result, fuel samples, fuel filter /sump condition, and instrumentation could not be obtained.

The propeller departed the engine and was found 14 metres ahead of the wreckage. Approximately six centimetres of all three blade tips were sheared off. Both nose-gear legs on the amphibious floats were broken off during the impact, and all four landing-gear actuators were extended. The fuel selector valve was selected to the left fuel tank. A continuity check of the flight controls revealed no pre-impact anomalies. A cargo net was used to prevent the movement of on-board materials.

A fuel sample was secured from the local fuel station from which the aircraft refuelled and was sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. The analysis revealed that the fuel sample consisted of 100 LL aviation gasoline with no contaminants. The fuelling station offered 100 LL aviation gasoline and Jet B fuel from separate tanks, each with its own fuel nozzle. Both fuel nozzles were of the same size and shape. The operator of the fuel station indicated that the fuel tank water separators / fuel filters were replaced two days before the occurrence and that the operator, flying several aircraft on daily schedules, did not experience any problem with the fuel.

The aircraft's engine and propeller were removed from the site and taken to the regional TSB office for further assessment. The engine was sent to the engine manufacturer (Teledyne Continental Motors) for teardown and examination, with a TSB investigator in attendance. The engine has six cylinders and six fuel injector nozzles. When disassembling the fuel manifold/distributor, the diaphragm steel shaft was extremely difficult to remove. Once removed, it was evident that the steel shaft was coated with rust. The rust was a result of the steel shaft contacting water. Further inspection of the manifold revealed a rust-like stain on the screen. The No. 1 and No. 2 fuel injectors were completely restricted. Initial inspection of the No. 3 and No. 6 fuel injectors suggested that they were partially restricted. However, on subsequent inspection at the regional TSB office, it was determined that they were clear. The cylinders and the pistons did not show any indication that the wrong type of fuel might have been used. No other pre-impact anomalies with the engine were found. The propeller and the propeller governor were sent to a local propeller overhaul facility where teardown of both components did not reveal any pre-impact anomalies.

The fuel manifold and both fuel injectors were sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory for analysis. The analysis confirmed that the steel shaft was coated with rust. The stain on the manifold screen comprised copper and zinc, the result of corrosion of the screen. The No. 1 fuel injector fuel orifice was restricted with copper and zinc that resembled the elements found on the manifold screen. The No. 2 fuel injector was restricted with a rubbery sealant used on the threads of the injector body. The restriction found in the No. 2 injector was considered to have occurred during disassembly.

Analysis

It is likely that landing straight ahead after the power loss would have resulted in a runway overrun and probable collision with the road or a ditch. The forced landing in the adjacent field provided a smoother landing surface with reduced impact forces. The crew's use of the seatbelts, shoulder harnesses, and cargo net probably prevented more serious injuries.

The pilot elected not to retract the landing gear based on his decision to fly a circuit for an immediate return to Runway 20. Leaving the landing gear down increased drag, making it more difficult to maintain flight. The landing gear in the down position likely contributed to the aircraft pitching forward on landing.

The initial impact bent the forward section of the right float upward and into the arc of the propeller, resulting in the damage to all three propeller blade tips. Separation of the propeller from the engine allowed the engine rpm to run away or increase.

Twisting and distortion of the airframe during the roll-over either dislodged or cracked the fuel line at the left wing root, resulting in a steady stream of fuel. The most likely scenario is that, as a result of the airframe damage, an electrical arc or a heat source (such as the engine exhaust) ignited the fuel leaking from the left wing root.

Water contamination in the fuel resulted in the corrosion of the fuel manifold / distribution screen. Corrosion particles then migrated to the No. 1 fuel injector during operation, restricting fuel flow to the No. 1 cylinder. This restricted fuel flow caused the No. 1 cylinder to stop firing, contributing to the engine power loss. Water in the fuel probably resulted in intermittent fuel delivery to the engine and partial fuel starvation, resulting in deteriorating engine power at take-off. The water was likely in the fuel cells at take-off, but the source of the contamination is not known.

The following TSB Engineering Laboratory reports were completed and are available on request:

  • LP 055/02 Fuel Analysis
  • LP 078/02 Fuel Manifold/Distributer & Fuel Injectors Contamination

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The aircraft's fuel was contaminated with water, deteriorating engine power.
  2. A restriction in the No. 1 fuel injector resulting from corrosion of the manifold screen caused the No. 1 cylinder to stop firing, contributing to the deteriorating engine power.
  3. The aircraft was destroyed by fire, most likely as a result of a fuel leak that started because of airframe damage during the forced landing.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The fuel delivery nozzles for 100 LL and Jet B were of the same size and shape, increasing the risk of using the wrong type of fuel.

Safety Action

To prevent misfuelling, the Jet B fuel nozzle at the Swan River airport fuelling station was replaced with a larger oblong nozzle.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 10 June 2003.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02C0105

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance/atterrissage forcé
Cessna TU206F (amphibie) N753
exploité par le Département de l'intérieur des
États-Unis
Swan River (Manitoba)
le 27 mai 2002

Résumé

Le Cessna amphibie TU206F, immatriculé N753 et portant le numéro de série U20603401, décolle de la piste 20 de Swan River pour effectuer un vol à destination de Dauphin (Manitoba) avec un pilote et un membre d'équipage à bord. Immédiatement après le décollage, l'avion se met à vibrer, et la puissance moteur commence à diminuer. À ce moment, l'avion se trouve à une hauteur d'environ 75 pieds, et il reste 1 100 pieds de piste. La piste mesure 4 130 pieds de longueur, et plusieurs fossés et une route croisent la trajectoire de départ. Estimant qu'il ne reste pas assez de piste pour un atterrissage et que le moteur ne produit pas assez de puissance pour maintenir l'avion en vol, le pilote décide d'effectuer un circuit à droite à l'écart d'avions stationnés et des bâtiments de l'aérogare, et de revenir vers la piste 20. L'avion vire à droite et se met en palier. La puissance moteur continue à diminuer, et le pilote décide d'effectuer un atterrissage forcé dans un champ labouré situé à ¼ de mille à l'ouest de la piste. À l'atterrissage, l'avion capote et s'immobilise à l'endroit. Après que l'avion s'est immobilisé, la vitesse de rotation du moteur augmente soudainement; le pilote réduit les gaz, et le moteur s'arrête. Le pilote et le membre d'équipage portaient leur ceinture et leur harnais, et ils évacuent l'avion en n'ayant subi que des blessures légères. L'avion est détruit par un incendie. L'accident s'est produit à 12 h 45, heure avancée du Centre.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Les conditions météorologiques qui prévalaient à Dauphin au moment de l'accident étaient les suivantes : nuages épars à 1 600 pieds et 3 500 pieds, visibilité de 9 milles terrestres, température de 24 ºC, point de rosée de 2 ºC, vents du 220 degrés à 8 noeuds et calage altimétrique de 29,78 pouces de mercure. Les mêmes conditions météorologiques prévalaient à Swan River au moment de l'accident.

Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel et d'un certificat médical de seconde classe délivrés par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis. Le pilote possédait une qualification de vol aux instruments sur avions et hydravions monomoteurs. Le pilote était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel depuis 1978 et il cumulait 9 000 heures de vol, dont 1 500 sur le Cessna 206 amphibie. Le pilote avait cumulé environ 45 heures de vol au cours des 30 jours précédents, dont 4 le jour de l'accident.

Il n'y avait pas de services d'intervention d'urgence à l'aéroport de Swan River. Des témoins de l'accident ont couru vers le lieu de l'accident et d'autres s'y sont rendus à bord de véhicules et, munis d'extincteurs, ils ont tenté d'éteindre l'intense brasier alimenté par le carburant. Plusieurs avions d'épandage de produits ignifuges contre les feux de forêt avaient attendu que l'avion en question décolle. Un de ces avions a tenté d'éteindre l'incendie en épandant le produit qu'il transportait, mais en vain. L'incendie a finalement été éteint par le personnel d'un camion incendie qui vaporisait de l'eau à partir d'un étang qui se trouvait non loin de là.

L'avion, qui appartenait au Département de l'intérieur des États-Unis, servait à recueillir des données sur la sauvagine en collaboration avec le Service canadien de la faune. Le pilote et le membre d'équipage étaient tous les deux des employés du Département de l'intérieur. Le membre d'équipage agissait à titre d'observateur au cours du vol en question. Le jour de l'accident, le pilote et le membre d'équipage retournaient à Dauphin après avoir effectué des relevés de sauvagines à basse altitude. Sur le chemin du retour, le pilote a atterri à Swan River et a embarqué 120 litres de carburant 100 LL dans le réservoir gauche. Seul le puisard du réservoir de carburant gauche a été vérifié avant le décollage de l'avion en question, et il n'y avait aucune contamination. Le pilote n'a pas effectué de point fixe avant le décollage, mais aucune anomalie n'a été remarquée.

Au cours du décollage, le moteur a atteint une vitesse de rotation maximale de 2 700 tours par minute (tr/min) et un débit de carburant de 23,5 gallons à l'heure (gal/h). Le supplément au manuel d'utilisation de l'avion pour le Cessna 206 équipé d'un moteur TCM 550 indique que la vitesse de rotation maximale du moteur au décollage est de 2 700 tr/min et que le débit maximum est de 25,8 gal/h. Le manuel d'utilisation fournit également une distance d'atterrissage d'environ 1 500 pieds au-dessus d'un obstacle de 50 pieds dans le cas d'un avion muni de roues.

Un examen du lieu de l'accident indique que l'extrémité des flotteurs a labouré le sol et a ensuite été déformée vers le haut dans le plan de rotation de l'hélice. Les dommages à la partie supérieure de la dérive et les égratignures sur l'extrados de l'aile indiquent que l'avion a capoté au moment du toucher des roues. Le membre d'équipage a signalé qu'il avait vu un jet de carburant continu s'échapper de l'emplanture de l'aile gauche après que l'avion s'est immobilisé. L'avion a été détruit par l'incendie qui a suivi. Par conséquent, il a été impossible de recueillir des échantillons de carburant et de vérifier l'état du filtre à carburant, du puisard et des instruments.

L'hélice s'est détachée du moteur et a été trouvée 14 mètres en avant de l'épave. Les pales ont été cisaillées à environ six centimètres de leur extrémité. Les deux jambes du train avant des flotteurs amphibies se sont rompues durant l'impact, et les quatre vérins de commande de train d'atterrissage étaient complètement déployés. Le sélecteur de carburant était réglé sur le réservoir gauche. Une vérification de la continuité des commandes de vol n'a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact.

Un échantillon de carburant a été prélevé du poste d'avitaillement local à partir duquel l'avion s'était avitaillé et cet échantillon a été envoyé au Laboratoire technique du BST pour analyse. L'analyse a révélé que l'échantillon de carburant était de l'essence aviation 100LL sans contaminant. Le poste d'avitaillement offrait de l'essence aviation 100LL et du carburant Jet B à partir de deux réservoirs différents, chacun équipé de son propre pistolet de distribution. Ces derniers étaient de la même dimension et de la même forme. L'exploitant du poste d'avitaillement a indiqué que les séparateurs d'eau et les filtres à carburant des réservoirs avaient été remplacés deux jours avant l'accident en question et que l'exploitant, qui utilise plusieurs avions quotidiennement, n'avait eu aucun problème de carburant.

Le moteur et l'hélice ont été retirés du lieu de l'accident et ont été envoyés au bureau régional du BST pour une évaluation plus poussée. Le moteur a été envoyé au motoriste (Teledyne Continental Motors) pour un démontage et un examen en présence d'un enquêteur du BST. Le moteur possède six cylindres et six injecteurs. Au cours du démontage de l'ensemble tubulure d'alimentation de carburant et distributeur, il a été très difficile de retirer l'arbre en acier du diaphragme. L'arbre a été déposé, et il est apparu évident que celui-ci était couvert de rouille. La rouille s'était formée à la suite d'un contact entre l'arbre en acier et de l'eau. Une inspection plus approfondie de la tubulure d'alimentation a permis de découvrir une tache ressemblant à de la rouille sur l'élément filtrant. Les injecteurs nos 1 et 2 étaient complètement bloqués. L'inspection initiale des injecteurs nos 3 et 6 laissait croire qu'ils étaient partiellement bloqués, mais des inspections subséquentes effectuées au bureau régional du BST ont permis de déterminer qu'ils ne l'étaient pas. Les cylindres et les pistons n'ont fourni aucune indication qui aurait pu permettre de conclure qu'on avait utilisé le mauvais type de carburant. Aucune anomalie antérieure à l'accident n'a été trouvée sur le moteur. L'hélice et le régulateur d'hélice ont été envoyés à une installation de révision d'hélice, et leur démontage n'a révélé aucune anomalie antérieure à l'impact.

La tubulure d'alimentation de carburant et les deux injecteurs ont été envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST pour analyse. L'analyse a permis de confirmer que l'arbre en acier était couvert de rouille. La tache sur l'élément filtrant de la tubulure d'alimentation était composée de cuivre et de zinc, et causée par la corrosion de l'élément filtrant. L'orifice de l'injecteur no 1 était bloqué par du cuivre et du zinc qui ressemblaient aux particules qui avaient été trouvées sur l'élément filtrant de la tubulure d'alimentation. L'injecteur no 2 était bloqué par un agent d'étanchéité caoutchouteux utilisé sur les filets du corps de l'injecteur. On a déterminé que le blocage constaté dans l'injecteur no 2 s'était produit pendant le démontage.

Analyse

Il est probable qu'un atterrissage droit devant après la perte de puissance aurait mené à un dépassement en bout de piste et à une collision avec la route ou un fossé. L'atterrissage forcé dans un champ adjacent a fourni une surface d'atterrissage plus lisse, et les forces d'impact ont ainsi été réduites. Le port des ceintures et des harnais par l'équipage et l'utilisation d'un filet à fret ont sans doute réduit les risques de blessures plus graves.

Le pilote a décidé de ne pas rentrer le train d'atterrissage puisqu'il allait effectuer un circuit et retourner immédiatement à la piste 20. Le fait de laisser le train sorti a augmenté la traînée, ce qui a rendu encore plus difficile le maintien en vol. Cette situation a probablement contribué au piqué de l'avion à l'atterrissage.

L'impact initial a déformé vers le haut la partie avant du flotteur droit, de sorte qu'elle s'est retrouvée dans le plan de rotation de l'hélice, ce qui a endommagé l'extrémité des trois pales. L'hélice s'est détachée du moteur, ce qui a entraîné une augmentation de la vitesse de rotation du moteur ou encore l'emballement du moteur.

La torsion et la déformation de la cellule durant le capotage ont délogé ou criqué la conduite de carburant à l'emplanture de l'aile, ce qui a provoqué un fuite continue de carburant. Le scénario le plus probable est le suivant : à la suite des dommages subis par la cellule, un arc électrique ou une source de chaleur, comme les gaz d'échappement, a allumé le carburant qui s'échappait de l'emplanture de l'aile gauche.

La contamination du carburant par l'eau a mené à la corrosion de l'élément filtrant de l'ensemble tubulure d'alimentation de carburant et distributeur. Les particules résultant de la corrosion ont ensuite migré vers l'injecteur no 1 lorsque le moteur fonctionnait, réduisant ainsi l'arrivée de carburant au cylindre no 1. Cette situation a fait cesser la combustion dans le cylindre no 1, contribuant ainsi à la perte de puissance. Il est probable que l'eau qui se trouvait dans le carburant a mené à une alimentation intermittente en carburant et à une panne d'alimentation partielle, ce qui a réduit la puissance du moteur au décollage. L'eau se trouvait probablement déjà dans les réservoirs de carburant au moment du décollage, mais il n'a pas été possible de déterminer la source de la contamination.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 055/02 - Fuel Analysis (Analyse de carburant)
  • LP 078/02 - Fuel Manifold/Distributer & Fuel Injectors Contamination. (Contamination de l'ensemble tubulure d'alimentation de carburant et distributeur ainsi que des injecteurs de carburant)

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La présence d'eau dans le carburant de l'avion a réduit la puissance du moteur.
  2. Une restriction dans l'injecteur no 1 causée par la corrosion de l'élément filtrant de la tubulure d'alimentation de carburant a fait en sorte que le cylindre no 1 a cessé de fonctionner, contribuant ainsi à la détérioration de la puissance du moteur.
  3. L'avion a été détruit par un incendie, lequel s'est probablement déclaré lorsque du carburant a commencé à s'échappé de la cellule qui avait été endommagée durant l'atterrissage forcé.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Les pistolets de distribution du carburant 100 LL et du Jet B étaient de la même grandeur et de la même forme, ce qui a augmenté les risques de confusion quant au type de carburant utilisé.

Mesures de sécurité

Le pistolet de distribution du carburant Jet B du poste d'avitaillement de l'aéroport de Swan River a été remplacé par un pistolet plus gros et de forme oblongue afin de prévenir tout risque de confusion quant au type de carburant.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 10 juin 2003.