Aviation Investigation Report A02C0114

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-Flight Engine Fire / Forced Landing
Campbell Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 205A-1 Helicopter C-FMQN
Tobin Lake, Saskatchewan
02 June 2002

Summary

A Bell 205A-1 helicopter, registration C-FMQN, serial number 30082, was engaged in forest fire suppression activities and was bucketing the southwest corner of a fire. The pilot had already made several drops on the day of the occurrence. While the helicopter was approximately 250 feet above ground level en route to Tobin Lake, Saskatchewan, to pick up a bucket of water, the engine fire warning light came on and the pilot saw smoke coming out of the engine cowling. Seconds later, the pilot noted that the master caution light and the engine chip detector had illuminated, and the oil pressure was decreasing to zero. The pilot elected to land the helicopter in a farmer's field. During the descent, the pilot kept power on the engine and discharged the fire bottle, but the fire did not extinguish. Immediately after the landing, the pilot shut the fuel off and, with the second crew member, evacuated the aircraft. Another helicopter working the same fire dropped a bucket of water and extinguished a majority of the fire. The rest of the fire was extinguished using a fire truck that arrived on the site. The helicopter sustained substantial damage to the engine, engine bay, and baggage compartment. The crew members were not injured.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The accident occurred during daylight hours at about 2000 central standard time1. The observed weather at 2000 at Prince Albert, 67 miles southwest of Tobin Lake, was as follows: winds 200 degrees at 13 knots, visibility 15 statute miles, scattered clouds at 6000 feet, broken clouds at 14 000 feet, temperature 18ºC, dew point 8ºC, and altimeter setting 29.92 inches of mercury. Similar conditions existed at Tobin Lake at the time of the accident, except that the wind was from the east at 5  to 10 knots.

The pilot of the helicopter held a valid commercial helicopter pilot licence and was properly trained and qualified for the intended flight.

The helicopter was operated by Campbell Helicopters Ltd., and was on contract to the Province of Saskatchewan to help fight forest fires in the area. The helicopter underwent some maintenance, including major repairs to the engine deck and firewall, approximately six weeks before the accident. The aircraft had flown 19.9 hours since the last 100-hour inspection. At 13.5 flight hours prior to the occurrence, the starter/generator had been removed to accommodate the replacement of the starter/generator seal, then re-installed.

Photo 1 - Subject fuel line was installed on another similar engine to show routing

Photo 1.  Subject fuel line was installed on another similar engine to show routing

Photo 2 - Subject fuel line

Photo 2.  Subject fuel line.

Inspection of the engine revealed extensive damage to the engine and surrounding engine bay area. The blown fire bottle plug and fire retardant material found in the engine bay indicated that the fire retardant had been discharged. The variable inlet guide vane actuator (VIGVA) hose, which provides fuel pressure to open the variable guide vanes, was found pinched between the top of the starter/generator and the impeller housing assembly (see Photo 1).

Further inspection of the pinched fuel hose revealed a hole through the steel braiding and inner lining (see Photo 2). Inspection of three similar helicopters, found that both lines coming from the VIGVA were routed behind and underneath the starter/generator, clear of any interference.The fire was confined to the engine bay and the baggage compartment, which is directly underneath the engine bay deck. All engine indication electrical harnesses and interfaces were destroyed by the fire. The cap that houses the cooling fan on the starter generator had separated from the generator housing. The cap was retained over the cooling fan by the pinched fuel line. The cooling fan blades were missing. The cap is normally held in place by six countersunk screws on the rear of the starter/generator.

Removal of the starter/generator revealed that the hold-down nut at the 12 o'clock position was missing, and the hold-down nut at the 10 o'clock position was backed off approximately 0.125 inch. It was reported that the retaining nut at the 12 o'clock position had been intentionally left off for ease of starter/generator removal and installation. The end of the starter/generator shaft showed signs of peening, indicating misalignment. The commutator and brushes of the starter/generator produce heat and sparks during normal operation.

The starter/generator and fuel hose assembly were forwarded to the TSB Engineering Branch Laboratory for analysis. The analysis revealed soot on the shoulders of the hold-down nut receptacles, on the attach flange of the starter/generator, at the 12, 10 and 8 o'clock positions. The starter/generator is normally held in place by six hold-down nuts. Analysis of the cooling fan indicated that the fan blades had been abraded away. No indication of a catastrophic failure of the fan blades was found. Analysis of the fuel hose indicates that the steel braid strands failed as a result of chafing.

Analysis

Fire damage to the engine indication electrical harness and interface disrupted the electrical system and resulted in the illumination of the master warning caution light, chip detector light, and caused the oil pressure indication to drop to zero.

The soot found on the shoulders of the 12, 10 and 8 o'clock hold-down nut receptacles on the attach flange of the starter/generator indicates that these three hold-down nuts were not fastened during the fire. Without these hold-down nuts being properly tightened, there would be insufficient clamping force holding the starter/generator in place, and it would vibrate. The vibration chafed a hole through the fuel line, allowing fuel to dribble past the cooling fan cap of the starter/generator and onto the commutator. It is likely that heat generated by the starter/generator and sparks emitted by the commutator and brushes acted as an ignition source, resulting in a fire. With power on, the engine produced fuel pressure in the chafed fuel line that kept feeding the fire. It was not determined how the fuel line became trapped between the top of the starter/generator and the diffuser housing.

It was considered likely that the vibration of the starter generator also induced the cooling fan cap screws to back out. After the cap separated, it was retained over the cooling fan blades by the pinched fuel line, resulting in abrasion of the cooling fan. The abrasion of the cooling fan did not contribute to the failure of the fuel line.

The fire bottle was discharged during the descent with engine power on. It is considered likely that the fire was momentarily suppressed, but because of the constant supply of fuel and ignition, it re-ignited after the retardant was spent.

The following TSB Engineering Lab Report was completed:

  • LP 104/02 - Starter/generator and Fuel Hose Analysis.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The fuel line to the VIGVA was pinched between the top of the starter/generator cooling fan housing and the diffuser housing.
  2. Three starter/generator hold-down nuts at the 12, 10 and 8 o'clock positions were not fastened, allowing the starter/generator to vibrate.
  3. Because the fuel line was pinched against the vibrating starter/generator, it chafed through, allowing fuel to enter the starter/generator, which resulted in an engine fire.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The hold-down nut at the 12 o'clock position was left off for ease of starter/generator removal and installation.

Other Findings

  1. The vibration of the starter/generator induced the separation of the cooling fan cap, resulting in the abrasion of the cooling fan blades.

Safety Action

Transport Canada is conducting a review of the applicable Bell 205A-1 instructions for continuing airworthiness to determine if action is necessary regarding the instructions for the installation of starter/generators and fuel lines.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 12 March 2003.


1. All times are central standard time (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02C0114

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incendie moteur en vol et atterrissage forcé
de l'hélicoptère Bell 205A-1 C-FMQN
exploité par Campbell Helicopters Ltd.
au lac Tobin (Saskatchewan)
le 2 juin 2002

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 205A-1, immatriculé C-FMQN et portant le numéro de série 30082, participe à une mission de lutte contre les incendies de forêt et largue de l'eau sur le front sud-ouest d'un incendie. Le pilote a déjà effectué plusieurs largages depuis le début de la journée. Alors que l'hélicoptère se trouve à quelque 250 pieds au-dessus du sol, en route vers le lac Tobin (Saskatchewan) pour écoper, le voyant d'incendie moteur s'allume et le pilote voit de la fumée s'échapper du capotage moteur. Quelques secondes plus tard, le pilote remarque que le voyant d'avertissement principal ainsi que celui du détecteur de particules du moteur sont allumés tandis que la pression d'huile chute à zéro. Le pilote décide alors de poser l'hélicoptère dans un champ. Pendant la descente, le pilote maintient la puissance du moteur et vide l'extincteur, mais ceci ne suffit pas à éteindre le feu. Immédiatement après l'atterrissage, le pilote coupe l'alimentation en carburant et évacue l'appareil avec l'autre membre d'équipage. Un autre hélicoptère qui se trouve sur les lieux largue sa charge d'eau et réussi à éteindre la plus grande partie de l'incendie moteur. Un camion d'incendie arrive sur les lieux et éteint le reste de l'incendie. Le moteur, le compartiment moteur et le compartiment à bagages de l'appareil ont été lourdement endommagés. Les membres de l'équipage n'ont pas été blessés.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

L'accident s'est produit avant le coucher du soleil, vers 20 h, heure normale du Centre (HNC)1. Les conditions météorologiques observées à 20 h à Prince Albert, à 67 milles au sud-ouest du lac Tobin, étaient les suivantes : vent du 200º à 13 noeuds, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres, nuages épars à 6 000 pieds, nuages fragmentés à 14 000 pieds, température de 18 ºC, point de rosée de 8 ºC et calage altimétrique de 29,92 pouces de mercure. Les conditions qui prévalaient au lac Tobin au moment de l'accident étaient similaires, à l'exception du vent qui soufflait de l'est de 5 à 10 noeuds.

Le pilote de l'hélicoptère était titulaire d'une licence de pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère en état de validité et possédait la formation et les qualifications nécessaires au vol.

L'hélicoptère était exploité par Campbell Helicopters Ltd. en vertu d'un contrat avec la province de la Saskatchewan dans le cadre de la lutte contre les incendies de forêt de la région. L'hélicoptère avait fait l'objet d'une maintenance importante, dont des réparations majeures au plancher moteur et au coupe-feu, environ six semaines avant l'accident. L'appareil avait effectué 19,9 heures de vol depuis sa dernière inspection aux 100 heures. Treize heures et demie avant l'accident, le démarreur/alternateur avait été déposé pour permettre le remplacement de son joint, puis il avait été réinstallé.

Photo 1 - La conduite de carburant en question, installée sur un moteur similaire, afin d'en montrer le parcours

Photo 1.  La conduite de carburant en question, installée sur un moteur similaire, afin d'en montrer le parcours

Photo 2 - La conduite de carburant en question

Photo 2.  La conduite de carburant en question.

L'enquête a révélé que le moteur ainsi que le compartiment moteur avait subi des dommages importants. L'amorce éclatée de l'extincteur et le produit retardant trouvés dans le compartiment moteur indiquent que l'extincteur s'est bien vidé. La conduite de carburant de l'actionneur de l'aubage directeur d'entrée orientable (VIGVA) qui fournit la pression de carburant nécessaire pour ouvrir l'aubage directeur orientable a été trouvée coincée entre le sommet du démarreur/alternateur et le boîtier du compresseur (voir la photo 1).

Un examen plus poussé de la conduite de carburant coincée a révélé que sa gaine en acier tressé et son revêtement intérieur étaient perforés (voir la photo 2). Sur trois hélicoptères similaires, les deux conduites en provenance du VIGVA passaient derrière et sous le démarreur/alternateur, sans être gênées dans leur parcours.

Seuls le compartiment moteur et le compartiment à bagages qui se trouve directement sous le plancher du compartiment moteur ont été la proie de l'incendie. Tous les faisceaux électriques et l'interface des indicateurs du moteur ont été détruits dans l'incendie. Le capot qui protège le ventilateur de refroidissement du démarreur/alternateur s'est détaché du boîtier du générateur. Le capot était maintenu sur le ventilateur de refroidissement par la conduite de carburant coincée. Les pales du ventilateur de refroidissement étaient manquantes. Son capot est habituellement maintenu par six vis plates à tête fraisée situées à l'arrière du démarreur/alternateur.

La dépose du démarreur/alternateur a révélé que l'écrou de fixation à 12 heures était manquant et que celui à 10 heures avait reculé d'environ 0,125 pouce. L'information recueillie indique que l'écrou de fixation à 12 heures n'aurait pas été remis en place délibérément afin de faciliter la dépose et l'installation du démarreur/alternateur. L'extrémité de l'arbre du démarreur/alternateur montrait des signes d'écrouissage typiques d'un mauvais alignement. Le collecteur et les balais du démarreur/alternateur produisaient de la chaleur et des étincelles en fonctionnement normal.

Le démarreur/alternateur et la conduite de carburant ont été envoyés pour analyse au Laboratoire technique du BST. L'analyse a révélé la présence de suie sur le bord des logements des écrous de fixation se trouvant, sur la semelle de fixation, à 12, 10 et 8 heures. Le démarreur/alternateur est habituellement maintenu en place par six écrous de fixation. L'analyse du ventilateur de refroidissement a révélé que les pales avaient disparues par abrasion. Rien n'indique que les pales du ventilateur aient connu une défaillance critique. L'analyse de la conduite de carburant a révélé que la défaillance de la gaine d'acier tressé était due au frottement.

Analyse

Les dommages causés par l'incendie aux faisceaux électriques et à l'interface des indicateurs du moteur ont entraîné des perturbations des circuits électriques qui ont fait que le voyant d'avertissement principal ainsi que celui du détecteur de particules du moteur se sont allumés et que l'indicateur de pression d'huile a chuté à zéro.

La présence de suie sur le bord des logements des écrous de fixation se trouvant, sur la semelle de fixation du démarreur/alternateur, à 12, 10 et 8 heures indique que ces trois écrous n'étaient pas serrés au moment de l'incendie. Si ces écrous de fixation ne sont pas bien serrés, la pression de serrage est insuffisante pour maintenir en place le démarreur/alternateur qui se met alors à vibrer. Ce sont ces vibrations qui, par frottement, ont usé la conduite de carburant qui a goutté, à travers le capot du ventilateur de refroidissement du démarreur/alternateur, sur le collecteur. La source d'inflammation à l'origine de l'incendie est probablement la chaleur dégagée par le démarreur/alternateur et les étincelles produites par le collecteur et les balais. Le moteur, qui continuait de tourner, maintenait la pression dans la conduite de carburant perforée qui continuait alors d'alimenter l'incendie. L'enquête n'a pas révélé comment la conduite de carburant a pu se retrouver coincée entre le sommet du démarreur/alternateur et le boîtier du compresseur.

Les vibrations du démarreur/générateur ont probablement causé le recul des vis du capot du ventilateur de refroidissement. Après d'être détaché, le capot a été maintenu en place sur les pales du ventilateur de refroidissement par la conduite de carburant coincée, ce qui a causé l'abrasion du ventilateur. L'abrasion n'a pas contribué à la défaillance de la conduite de carburant.

L'extincteur a été déchargé pendant la descente alors que le moteur tournait encore, ce qui a probablement permis d'éteindre l'incendie pendant quelque temps, mais la source de carburant et la source d'inflammmation étant toujours présentes, l'incendie a repris une fois le produit retardant dissipé.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 104/02 - Starter/generator and Fuel Hose Analysis (Analyse du démarreur/alternateur et de la conduite de carburant).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La conduite de carburant de l'actionneur de l'aubage directeur d'entrée orientable (VIGVA) a été trouvée coincée entre le sommet du démarreur/alternateur et le boîtier du compresseur.
  2. Trois des écrous de fixation du démarreur/alternateur, à 8, 10 et 12 heures n'étaient pas serrés, ce qui a permis au démarreur/alternateur de vibrer.
  3. Du fait qu'elle était coincée contre le démarreur/alternateur en vibration, la conduite de carburant s'est usée et a fini par se rompre, ce qui a permis à du carburant de pénétrer dans le démarreur/alternateur, causant un incendie.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'écrou de fixation à 12 heures n'avait pas été remis en place délibérément pour permettre la dépose et l'installation du démarreur/alternateur.

Autres faits établis

  1. Les vibrations du démarreur/alternateur ont provoqué la séparation du capot du ventilateur de refroidissement, ce qui a causé l'abrasion des pales du ventilateur.

Mesures de sécurité

Transports Canada effectue un examen des instructions de maintien de la navigabilité applicables aux Bell 205A-1 afin d'établir si des mesures s'imposent au regard de l'installation du démarreur/alternateur et des conduites de carburant.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 12 mars 2003.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures), sauf indication contraire.