Aviation Investigation Report A02C0161

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Drive Shaft Failure and Collision with Terrain
Helicopter Transport Services
Bell 205 C-FPAZ
Chitek Lake, Saskatchewan
11 July 2002

Summary

A Helicopter Transport Services Bell 205 helicopter, C-FPAZ, serial number 30016, was on contract to the Province of Saskatchewan's forest fire suppression program. At approximately 2000 central standard time, the provincial fire coordinator requested the pilot of C-FPAZ to resume water bucketing on a small fire approximately five miles east of Chitek Lake, Saskatchewan. While manoeuvring to the drop point, at less than 40 knots and approximately 150 feet, the pilot saw the reflection of a yellow caution light in the door window and heard an associated low-rotor-rpm warning. The corresponding N2 (main rotor rpm) indication was 97 to 98 per cent. The pilot released the water load and reduced the torque. The rotor rpm did not recover and the pilot prepared to make a forced landing. He kept power on until the bucket was clear of the trees below and then reduced collective in an attempt to regain rotor rpm. There was no resultant rotor rpm increase and the helicopter descended rapidly over a short distance, struck an earthen brush pile, and rolled onto its side. The accident occurred during daylight hours at 2010.

The pilot of another helicopter saw C-FPAZ go down, called the Chitek Lake Fire Base for emergency medical personnel, then landed adjacent to the crash site. The pilot of C-FPAZ was walking unsteadily away from the aircraft, and there were flames emanating from the exhaust stack. The engine was still running. Neither pilot attempted to extinguish the flames. The engine stopped several minutes after the two pilots exited the crash site. On receipt of the second helicopter's call, the fire coordinator at the Chitek Lake Fire Base dispatched emergency medical personnel and a water bomber aircraft to the site. The accident pilot, who had sustained serious injuries, was stabilized and evacuated to Saskatoon. The water bomber dropped water and retardant on the area immediately surrounding the crash site.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid Canadian commercial helicopter pilot licence, which was endorsed for several helicopter types, including the Bell 205. Available information indicated that the pilot was adequately rested, in accordance with company and Transport Canada requirements, on the day of the accident.

The observed weather at 2000 central standard time1 at the Vimy Fire Base, approximately five miles from the accident site, was as follows: temperature at 28ºC, with light winds out of the south.

On 08 July 2002, three days prior to the accident, a grease seal on the forward main input drive shaft coupling of the helicopter had failed. The failure was detected during a daily inspection, after the helicopter had operated for 6.1 hours. The grease seal was replaced and installed with Bell 204 grease, as recommended by the Bell 205 Component Repair and Overhaul manual. As part of the seal replacement procedure, the aircraft maintenance engineer (AME), disassembled, cleaned, and inspected the splined components of the forward coupling on the drive shaft. This inspection did not reveal any indication of wear or overheating of the splined components. The aft coupling assembly for the drive shaft was not disassembled. Temperature-sensing "temp-plates", installed on the outside of both coupling assemblies, were inspected and did not show that either coupling had experienced an over-temperature condition. Although the AME completed his work report and appropriate tag entries for the replacement of the forward coupling grease boot, there was no certification statement entered in the helicopter journey log for the accomplished work.

On 10 July 2002, C-FPAZ was returned to service and was engaged in fire-suppression operations, which involved several water bucketing trips and two crew moves. There were no reported abnormal vibrations or engine indications, with the exception of a slight main rotor rpm loss (droop) during the water pickups. Because of the high ambient temperatures, this was not considered abnormal by the pilot. A daily inspection was completed following that day's flying activities, during which the drive shaft couplings and temp plates were inspected with no apparent grease leakage or overheating of either coupling being detected.

On the day of the occurrence, C-FPAZ was again dispatched on fire-suppression operations, which initially involved a crew move, followed by approximately six hours of water bucketing and another crew move. During the bucketing operations, the main rotor rpm drooped slightly while picking up water with the bucket. There was no reported main rotor rpm droop while manoeuvring to the water drop position, until the time of the occurrence.

Examination of the wreckage and surrounding area yielded the following information:

  • The helicopter had sustained substantial damage from deceleration forces on impact. The main rotor, tail boom, and cabin areas were bent and sheared from the resulting overload forces. Damage to the main rotor and transmission mounts was consistent with a low rpm impact with the ground and subsequent contact with the fuselage.
  • The transmission mounting structure had been bent forward, which allowed the free-floating main input drive shaft to spin out of the forward coupling and eventually disengage from the engine and transmission.
  • The splined end (forward transmission side) of the main input drive shaft showed extensive wear and heat damage. There was helical scoring from the drive shaft coupling teeth into the plastic-state metal of the splined drive shaft. The inside teeth of the coupling showed indications of high heat and wear, but had remained relatively intact. The corresponding teeth on the shaft were almost completely ground off. The damage to this end of the shaft was so extensive that a determination of the pre-failure condition of the shaft was not possible.
  • Most of the rubber portion of the forward coupling grease seal was missing. Only the seal mounting hardware remained. The inner teeth of the outer coupling were filled with carbon and remnants of teeth from the drive shaft. The carbon material was subsequently tested and found to be representative of a substantial quantity of grease that had carbonised due to excessive heat. There was no indication of grease leakage in the surrounding area.
  • The aft drive shaft coupling failed as a result of overload forces, produced when the shaft spun out of the forward coupling. The grease seal on this end was in place, and there were indications of grease spatter on the forward side of the engine compartment.
  • The tail boom was bent and the tail rotor drive shaft coupling had separated.

The water bucket was connected to C-FPAZ's cargo hook by a 60-foot long-line, cinched at the 80 per cent setting, which corresponded to a calculated total sling load weight of about 3060 pounds. The helicopter had approximately 800 pounds of fuel on board. The maximum permissible gross weight for the helicopter was 10 500 pounds. The estimated total weight of the aircraft and sling load at the time of the accident was 9622 pounds. The electric cargo release system arming switch was in the "armed" position.

The main input drive shaft in the Bell 205 does not have a finite service life. It is maintained on an "on condition" basis, with a 600-hour inspection and re-grease interval. The shaft in the accident helicopter had operated for 187.4 hours from the time of its last 600-hour inspection to the time of the grease seal failure on 08 July 2002. The shaft requires a continuous internal coating of grease to reduce frictional heat and premature wear, and the grease seals, which are inspected daily for damage and leakage, retain the grease within the shaft coupling.

The recommended pilot procedure following an engine failure or loss of main rotor rpm is to execute an autorotative descent.2 Helicopters have critical flight regimes, from which the possibility of establishing a successful autorotation is extremely low.3 The Bell 205 pilot flight manual limitations section specifies these conditions in its height/velocity diagram.4 The height/velocity diagram directs pilots to avoid operating under specified conditions of altitude and airspeed. However, this direction does not constitute a regulatory limitation for external load operations.5 Helicopters engaged in water bucketing (external cargo) operations routinely operate under these critical conditions.

Analysis

The carbon residue from the burned grease and the absence of grease spatter surrounding the failed end of the main input drive shaft, suggest that it is unlikely that there was a second grease seal failure prior to the accident. The TSB Engineering Branch determined that a failure of the main input drive shaft forward coupling was the lead event in the accident sequence. There are two possible scenarios as to why this forward coupling failed:

  • There may have been a progressive failure occurring within the drive shaft coupling that was not or could not have been detected by visual inspection at the time of the grease seal replacement. Operation with less than the normal amount of grease at the time of the seal failure may have accelerated the progression of the coupling failure; or
  • Operation with less-than-normal lubrication at the time of the seal failure may have damaged the drive shaft coupling to the extent that it subsequently failed.

The helical scoring and wear damage on the splined end of the main input drive shaft indicated that it had been spinning inside the coupling prior to impact, the result of which was a decoupled engine that was no longer driving the rotors. Because the engine was no longer driving the main rotor, the rotor rpm began to decay with a corresponding low rotor rpm warning and subsequent loss of lift.

Because the decoupling occurred at an altitude of 150 feet and at an airspeed of less than 40 knots, the helicopter was operating in a flight regime from which the likelihood of establishing a successful autorotation was low.

The height velocity diagram of the Bell 205 helicopter is contained in the limitations section of the pilot's flight manual, as are the conditions attached to the limitation. Helicopters engaged in external load operations are not limited by the diagram. Consequently, pilots operating the Bell 205 helicopters in external load operations are exposed to a heightened level of risk because the potential to recover from a malfunction, such as power and drive train failure, is significantly reduced.

The following TSB Engineering Branch Report was completed:

  • LP 067/02 - Drive shaft Assembly Bell 205A-1, C-FPAZ.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The main input drive shaft of the helicopter failed at the forward coupling, most likely as a result of a progressive failure or damage that was not detected at the time of the grease seal replacement.
  2. Failure of the main input drive shaft decoupled the engine from the transmission, which resulted in a decrease in main rotor rpm and a rapid rate of descent that continued until the helicopter collided with the terrain.
  3. The main input drive shaft failure and subsequent descent occurred at an altitude and flight regime from which a successful steady state autorotation could not be achieved.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Helicopter pilots engaged in external load operations with Bell 205 helicopters are not limited by the restrictions specified in the height velocity diagram and are, therefore, exposed to a higher level of risk than are helicopter pilots who are not operating in this flight envelope.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 08 October 2003.


1. All times are central standard time (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus six hours).

2. Bell 205 Pilot's flight manual, Section 3, "Emergency Procedures".

3. Dynamics of Helicopter Flight, Saunders 1975.

4. Bell 205 Pilot's flight manual, Section 2, " Limitations".

5. Bell 205 Pilot's flight manual, Supplement for External Cargo Operation, Section 2, page 5, 3rd paragraph.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02C0161

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Défaillance de l'arbre d'entraînement
et collision avec le relief
du Bell 205 C-FPAZ
exploité par Helicopter Transport Services
à Chitek Lake (Saskatchewan)
le 11 juillet 2002

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 205 (C-FPAZ), exploité par Helicopter Transport Services et portant le numéro de série 30016, est utilisé dans le cadre d'opérations de lutte contre les feux de forêt pour le compte de la province de la Saskatchewan. Vers 20 h, heure normale du Centre, le coordonnateur provincial des incendies demande au pilote du C-FPAZ de reprendre les opérations en vue d'éteindre un petit incendie à environ cinq milles à l'est de Chitek Lake (Saskatchewan). Alors qu'il se rend à la zone de largage, à une vitesse de moins de 40 noeuds et à une hauteur d'environ 150 pieds, le pilote aperçoit la réflection d'un voyant d'avertissement jaune dans la fenêtre de la porte et entend l'alarme de bas régime rotor. Le régime N2 correspondant (régime rotor principal) se situe entre 97 et 98 %. Le pilote largue l'eau et réduit le couple. Le régime du rotor ne se rétablit pas, et le pilote se prépare pour un atterrissage forcé. Il maintient la puissance jusqu'à ce que le réservoir d'eau franchisse des arbres, puis abaisse le levier de pas collectif dans l'espoir de faire augmenter le régime du rotor, mais en vain. L'hélicoptère descend rapidement sur une courte distance, percute un amoncellement de broussailles et de terre et bascule sur le côté. Il est 20 h 10 et il fait encore jour.

Le pilote d'un autre hélicoptère voit le C-FPAZ s'écraser, communique avec le camp de coordination de la lutte contre les feux de forêt de Chitek Lake et demande l'intervention d'urgence du personnel médical. Il atterrit ensuite près du lieu de l'accident. Le pilote du C-FPAZ s'éloigne de l'appareil en titubant. Des flammes jaillissent de la pipe d'échappement, et le moteur tourne toujours. Aucun des pilotes ne tente d'éteindre l'incendie. Le moteur s'arrête plusieurs minutes après que les deux pilotes ont quitté le lieu de l'accident. Après avoir reçu l'appel du pilote du deuxième hélicoptère, le coordonnateur des incendies au camp de coordination de Chitek Lake dépêche d'urgence sur le lieu de l'accident du personnel médical et un avion de lutte contre les incendies. Le pilote du C-FPAZ, qui est grièvement blessé, est stabilisé et transporté à Saskatoon (Saskatchewan). L'avion de lutte contre les incendies largue de l'eau et un produit ignifugeant tout autour du lieu de l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote détenait une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère en état de validité comprenant une annotation lui permettant de piloter plusieurs types d'hélicoptères, dont le Bell 205. Selon les renseignements disponibles, le pilote était frais et dispos le jour de l'accident, conformément aux exigences de la compagnie et de Transports Canada.

Les conditions météorologiques observées à 20 h, heure normale du Centre (HNC)1, au camp de coordination de Vimy, soit à environ 5 milles du lieu de l'accident, étaient les suivantes : température de 28 ºC et vents légers du sud.

Le 8 juillet 2002, soit trois jours avant l'accident, un joint de graisse de l'accouplement avant de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal de l'hélicoptère avait subi une défaillance. La défaillance avait été détectée au cours d'une inspection quotidienne après que l'hélicoptère avait été utilisé pendant 6,1 heures. Le joint de graisse avait été remplacé, et de la graisse de type Bell 204 avait été utilisée, comme le recommande le manuel de réparation et de révision des composants du Bell 205. Au cours de la procédure de remplacement du joint, le technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs (TEA) avait démonté, nettoyé et inspecté les composants à cannelures de l'accouplement avant de l'arbre d'entraînement. Cette inspection n'avait révélé ni usure ni surchauffe des composants à cannelures. L'accouplement arrière de l'arbre d'entraînement n'avait pas été démonté. Les plaques thermosensibles installées à l'extérieur des deux accouplements avaient été inspectées, et rien n'indiquait que l'un ou l'autre des accouplements avait subi une surchauffe. Le TEA a rempli son rapport de travail ainsi que les étiquettes pour le remplacement de la gaine de graisse de l'accouplement avant, mais le travail accompli n'a pas été consigné ni certifié dans le carnet de route de l'hélicoptère.

Le 10 juillet 2002, le C-FPAZ a été remis en service et il a été utilisé pour des opérations de lutte contre les incendies où il a fait plusieurs voyages pour transporter l'eau et deux changements d'équipage. Aucune vibration ou indication moteur anormale n'a été signalée, à l'exception d'une faible chute du régime du rotor principal au cours des écopages. En raison de la température ambiante élevée, le pilote n'a pas jugé la situation anormale. Après les vols de la journée, une inspection des accouplements de l'arbre d'entraînement et des plaques thermosensibles n'a révélé aucune fuite de graisse apparente ni signe de surchauffe de l'un ou l'autre des accouplements.

Le jour de l'accident, le C-FPAZ a été assigné de nouveau à des opérations de lutte contre les feux de forêt. Il a d'abord fallu procéder à un changement d'équipage, puis six heures d'arrosage se sont écoulées avant un nouveau changement d'équipage. Pendant les opérations d'arrosage, le régime du rotor principal a légèrement baissé au moment de l'écopage. On n'a signalé aucune autre baisse du régime rotor au cours du trajet vers le point de largage, jusqu'au moment de l'accident.

Un examen de l'épave et des environs du lieu de l'accident a permis de recueillir les renseignements suivants :

  • L'hélicoptère a subi des dommages considérables causés par les forces de décélération à l'impact. Le rotor principal, la poutre de queue et la cabine avaient été déformés et cisaillés sous l'effet des forces en surcharge. Les dommages relevés sur le rotor principal et la boîte de transmission sont typiques d'un impact avec le sol à faible régime et d'un impact subséquent avec le fuselage de l'appareil.
  • La structure de fixation de la boîte de transmission a été déformée vers l'avant, ce qui a permis à l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal flottant de sortir de l'accouplement avant et de finalement se désaccoupler du moteur et de la boîte de transmission.
  • La partie cannelée (côté avant de la boîte de transmission) de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal présentait une usure importante et des dommages causés par la chaleur. Il y avait une rainure hélicoïdale qui allait de la denture de l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement jusqu'au métal à l'état plastique de l'arbre d'entraînement cannelé. Malgré l'usure et les dommages causés par la température élevée, la denture intérieure de l'accouplement est demeurée relativement intacte. La denture correspondante sur l'arbre avait été presque entièrement râpée. Les dommages à cette extrémité de l'arbre étaient si importants qu'il n'a pas été possible de déterminer dans quel état l'arbre se trouvait avant la défaillance.
  • Presque toute la partie en caoutchouc du joint de graisse de l'accouplement avant manquait. Seules les pièces de fixation étaient restées en place. La denture intérieure de l'accouplement extérieur était remplie de carbone et de morceaux de la denture provenant de l'arbre d'entraînement. Le carbone a fait l'objet d'un test qui a révélé qu'il s'agissait d'une quantité substantielle de graisse qui s'était carbonisée sous l'effet de la chaleur intense. Rien ne laisse croire à une fuite de graisse dans cette zone.
  • L'accouplement arrière de l'arbre d'entraînement a subi une défaillance qui a été attribuée aux forces en surcharge générées lorsque l'arbre est sorti de l'accouplement avant. Le joint de graisse est demeuré en place, et il y avait des éclaboussures de graisse sur la partie avant du compartiment moteur.
  • La poutre de queue était déformée, et l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue s'était détachée.

Le réservoir d'eau, réglé à 80 % de sa capacité, était attaché au crochet de charge du C-FPAZ à l'aide d'une élingue de 60 pieds de longueur, ce qui correspondait à une masse totale à l'élingue calculée d'environ 3 060 livres. Il y avait environ 800 livres de carburant à bord de l'hélicoptère. La masse brute maximale admissible de l'hélicoptère était de 10 500 livres. Selon des calculs, la masse totale de l'appareil et de la charge à l'élingue au moment de l'accident était de 9 622 livres. L'interrupteur du dispositif d'armement du système de largage électrique était en position « armée ».

L'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal du Bell 205 n'a pas une durée de vie déterminée. Son entretien est effectué conformément à un programme « selon état » qui comprend une inspection aux 600 heures et un intervalle entre deux graissages. Au moment de la défaillance du joint de graisse le 8 juillet 2002, l'arbre d'entraînement de l'hélicoptère totalisait 187,4 heures de fonctionnement depuis sa dernière inspection aux 600 heures L'arbre d'entraînement nécessite une couche interne de graisse en tout temps afin de réduire la chaleur due au frottement et l'usure prématurée. Les joints de graisse, qui sont inspectés quotidiennement à la recherche de dommages ou de fuite, retiennent la graisse dans l'accouplement de l'arbre.

En cas de panne moteur ou de perte de régime du rotor principal, on recommande au pilote de faire une descente en autorotation2. Les hélicoptères peuvent être exploités dans certains régimes de vol critiques où les chances de réussir une autorotation3 sont minces. Le tableau hauteur/vitesse de la section relative aux limites qui se trouve dans le manuel de vol du Bell 205 précise ces conditions4. Le tableau hauteur/vitesse enjoint les pilotes à éviter d'exploiter leur appareil à certaines altitudes et à certaines vitesses. Cependant, cette recommandation ne constitue pas une limite réglementaire dans le cas des opérations de transport de charge externe5. Les hélicoptères qui transportent des réservoirs d'eau (charge externe) sont couramment exploités dans ces conditions critiques.

Analyse

Les résidus de carbone provenant de la graisse brûlée et l'absence d'éclaboussure de graisse autour de l'extrémité de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal qui a subi une défaillance laissent croire qu'il est peu probable qu'il y ait eu une autre défaillance du joint de graisse avant l'accident. L'analyse du Laboratoire technique du BST a permis de déterminer que la défaillance de l'accouplement avant de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal est l'élément déclencheur de l'accident. La défaillance de l'accouplement avant peut s'expliquer des deux façons suivantes :

  • il peut y avoir eu une défaillance progressive de l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement qui n'a pas été détectée ou qui n'a pu l'être au moyen d'une inspection visuelle au moment du remplacement du joint de graisse. Au moment de la défaillance du joint, il est possible que la quantité insuffisante de graisse ait accéléré la progression de la défaillance de l'accouplement;
  • au moment de la défaillance du joint, il est possible qu'une lubrification insuffisante ait endommagé l'accouplement de l'arbre d'entraînement au point de provoquer sa défaillance.

La rainure hélicoïdale et l'usure de l'extrémité cannelée de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal indiquent que l'arbre tournait à l'intérieur de l'accouplement avant l'impact, ce qui a provoqué le désaccouplement du moteur qui a alors cessé d'entraîner les rotors. Comme le rotor principal n'était plus entraîné par le moteur, son régime s'est mis à chuter, ce qui a déclenché un avertissement de faible régime rotor et provoqué une perte de portance.

Le désaccouplement s'est produit à une hauteur de 150 pieds et à une vitesse inférieure à 40 noeuds, soit dans un régime de vol où les chances de réussir une autorotation sont minces.

Le tableau hauteur/vitesse de l'hélicoptère Bell 205 se trouve dans la section des limites du manuel de vol. On y trouve aussi les conditions associées à ces limites. Les hélicoptères qui effectuent des opérations de transport de charge externe ne sont pas assujettis à ce tableau. Par conséquent, les pilotes d'hélicoptères Bell 205 qui effectuent de telles opérations sont exposés à un niveau de risque plus élevé, car les chances de se sortir d'une situation comme une perte de puissance ou une défaillance de la transmission sont très minces.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 067/02 - Drive Shaft Assembly, Bell 205A-1, C-FPAZ (Arbre d'entraînement du Bell 205A-1, C-FPAZ).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal de l'hélicoptère a subi une défaillance au niveau de l'accouplement avant, probablement en raison d'une défaillance progressive ou d'un dommage qui n'avait pas été détecté au moment du remplacement du joint de graisse.
  2. En raison de la défaillance de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal, le moteur s'est désaccouplé de la boîte de transmission, ce qui entraîné une baisse du régime rotor et un taux de descente rapide, et l'hélicoptère a fini par s'écraser.
  3. La défaillance de l'arbre d'entraînement d'entrée principal et la descente subséquente se sont produites à une hauteur et à une vitesse insuffisante pour effectuer une autorotation.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Les pilotes d'hélicoptères Bell 205 qui effectuent des opérations de transport de charge externe ne sont pas assujettis aux restrictions du tableau hauteur/vitesse; par conséquent, ils sont exposés à un niveau de risque plus élevé que les pilotes qui n'exploitent pas leur appareil dans un tel domaine de vol.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 8 octobre 2003.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNC (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures).

2. Manuel de vol du Bell 205, section 3, Emergency Procedures.

3. Dynamics of Helicopter Flight, Saunders, 1975.

4. Manuel de vol du Bell 205, section 2, Limitations.

5. Manuel de vol du Bell 205, Supplement for External Cargo Operation, section 2, page 5, 3e paragraphe.