Aviation Investigation Report A02O0287

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Loss of Control and Collision with Terrain
Orillia Aviation Limited
Cessna 172P C-GNRJ
Lake St. John, Orillia, Ontario
07 September 2002

Summary

At 1130 eastern daylight time, C-GNRJ, a float-equipped Cessna 172P aircraft, serial number 17275283, with an instructor and student on board, departed from Lake St. John near Orillia, Ontario. The purpose of the flight was to allow the student to practise take-offs, landings, and simulated engine failures on departure. During the climb following the second takeoff, the instructor simulated an engine failure by pulling the throttle back to idle. The student executed a 180-degree turn as part of a simulated forced approach back to Lake St. John. During this simulated forced approach the aircraft stalled, pitched nose down and crashed into the swampy area along the shore line. The aircraft came to rest in an inverted position with its nose embedded in the swamp. Fishermen on the lake were able to rescue both occupants from the partially-submerged aircraft. Neither the instructor nor the student was wearing a shoulder harness, and both received serious injuries.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The aircraft was manufactured in 1981 and had accumulated 9826 flight hours before the accident. It was equipped with Canadian Aircraft Products (CAP) floats, model number 67-2000, and was used both as a rental aircraft and for flight instruction. Records indicate that the aircraft was equipped and certified in accordance with existing regulations. There were no known defects before the flight, and the aircraft's weight and centre of gravity were within approved limits.

The closest meteorological reporting office was at the Muskoka Airport, approximately 16 miles north of Lake St. John. At 1200 eastern daylight time,1 the weather recorded at the Muskoka, Ontario, airport was as follows: broken cloud ceiling at 25 000 feet above ground level, visibility 12 statute miles, temperature 26ºC, dew point 13ºC, wind variable 110º to 190º magnetic at 8 knots, and altimeter setting 30.24. The meteorological conditions were similar at Lake St. John.

Lake St. John is approximately 3.4 kilometres long and 2 kilometres wide and is oriented in a north/south direction (see Appendix A). Orillia Aviation Limited's float plane base is located on a bay on the south-eastern side of the lake. At the south end of the lake, where the occurrence took place, there is approximately 300 to 500 metres of swampy shoreline extending south to a tree line. The tree line marks the beginning of a forested area, with trees 20 to 30 feet tall.

The instructor pilot held a valid Canadian commercial pilot aeroplane licence and a Class 4 instructor rating. The instructor was licenced to fly gliders, and all single-pilot, non-high performance, single- and multi-engine land and sea aeroplanes. The instructor had accumulated 571 flight hours in powered aircraft, 150 of which were on float-equipped aircraft. The instructor pilot occupied the right seat during the occurrence flight.


The student pilot held a valid Canadian student pilot aeroplane permit and was taking ab initio pilot training on float-equipped aircraft. The student had been taking flying lessons since June 2001 and had accumulated 30.5 flight hours, of which 19.5 were on float-equipped aircraft. The student also had undocumented experience at the controls of a friend's float-equipped Cessna 206. The instructor and student had completed two training flights in the week preceding the accident. Circuits and emergencies were the primary focus of these trips. The accident flight was scheduled to allow for further enhancement of these skills and to determine if the student was ready to fly solo.

The student completed the aircraft pre-flight safety inspection before the instructor met her at the aircraft. The instructor conducted an informal pre-flight briefing with the student at the dock and in the aircraft as it was taxiing before the first takeoff. This was common practice at the flight school, and there was no time set aside between bookings for pre- and post-flight briefings. It was assumed by both the instructor and the student that this lesson would be a continuation of the previous day's lesson which had encompassed take-offs and landings combined with simulated engine failures. However, all previous simulated engine failures had been introduced at an altitude of at least 1000 feet above ground level.

In this instance the simulated engine failure was introduced during climb out, and the student was not prepared. Directly ahead of the aircraft, the terrain was forested, and the aircraft altitude was not considered sufficient to turn right and land on an adjacent lake, so the student turned back to land on Lake St. John.

As the student completed the turn back toward Lake St. John, control of the aircraft was either transferred to the instructor, or the instructor took control. During or subsequent to the transfer of control, the aircraft stalled and descended into the swamp. At no time during the simulated engine failure scenario did either the student or the instructor apply engine power to abort the simulated forced approach.


There is insufficient guidance provided in either the Transport Canada (TC) Flight Instructor Guide, the TC Flight Training Manual, 4th Edition (Revised), or the Cessna 172 Pilot Operating Handbook for a pilot to determine the minimum altitude required to safely execute a 180-degree turn following an engine failure after take-off. The TC Flight Training Manual (p. 128) states the following:

  • Numerous fatal accidents have resulted from attempting to turn back and land on the runway or aerodrome following an engine failure after take-off. As altitude is at a premium, the tendency is to try to hold the nose of the aircraft up during the turn without consideration for the airspeed and load factor. These actions may induce an abrupt spin entry. Experience and careful consideration of the following factors are essential to making a safe decision to execute a return to the aerodrome: 1) altitude 2) the glide ratio of the aircraft 3) the length of the runway 4) wind strength/ground speed 5) experience of the pilot and 6) pilot currency on type.

The Cessna 172 Pilot Operating Handbook (Section 3, Engine Failures) states the following:

  • In most cases, the landing should be planned straight ahead with only small changes in direction to avoid obstructions. Altitude and airspeed are seldom sufficient to execute a 180-degree gliding turn to the runway.

Although these documents recognize the inherent dangers associated with a 180-degree turn following an engine failure, they do not address the process by which a pilot or a student can determine the minimum safe altitude for an engine-out turn back. TC civil aviation document TP 13748E, An Evaluation of Stall/Spin Accidents in Canada 1999, discusses the need for clear and concise information regarding the altitude required before an engine-out 180-degree turn is initiated. TP 13748E states in part:

  • Turn Back After Takeoff

    Several stalls occurred when the pilot decided to turn back to the runway when the engine failed. Typically, guidance on this topic recommends that the pilot land straight ahead unless the aircraft has enough altitude to make the turn back to the runway. This constitutes a "fuzzy rule". That is, the rule requires interpretation, but the rule provides little or no guidance in making that interpretation. How much altitude is enough? Is it always the same? What variables may affect the requirement? The pilot is better off not having to consider these questions. Lives would be saved if the guidance required no thought or assessment. If an engine failure after takeoff results in an accident, the pilot is at least eight times more likely to be killed or seriously injured turning back than landing straight ahead. The easiest decisions to make are those which are prescriptive. As soon as the situation is known to exist, the procedure to follow is defined. Engine failure after take off should be such a decision.

Analysis

The aircraft was serviceable, and the meteorological conditions were favourable for flight training; however, the lack of communication between the instructor and student was problematic. The informal pre-flight briefing did not prepare the student for an engine failure shortly after take-off and, contrary to the recommendations in the Flight Training Manual, did not provide full consideration of the factors essential to making a successful turn back. The Flight Training Manual does not address forming a hard rule for the predetermined safe turn-back altitude recommended in TP13748E. If such a hard rule had been formulated prior to the simulated engine failure, the student would not have to analyse the factors after the simulated engine failure to determine if turning back was a feasible option.

The exact altitude of the aircraft when the engine failure was simulated could not be ascertained; however, the student pilot was able to complete the 180-degree turn which put the aircraft in a downwind approach to the lake. At this point the aircraft was both low enough and slow enough that a successful forced landing was not assured, and it was necessary for the instructor to take control of the aircraft. Due to the lack of pre-flight planning for this exercise, the instructor was not prepared for the dangerous situation which had quickly developed and, as a consequence, tried to salvage the forced landing rather than apply power to execute an effective abort procedure.

The student sustained serious head injuries during the crash. It is highly probable that the injuries would not have been so severe had the available shoulder harness been worn. The instructor suffered loss of memory as a result of head trauma during the occurrence. It is likely that this injury would have been less severe had the shoulder harness been worn.

Findings as to Cause and Contributing Factors

  1. The instructor allowed a dangerous situation to develop and continue until the aircraft stalled at an altitude from which recovery was not possible.
  2. Neither pilot wore the available shoulder harness, which likely contributed to their degree of injury.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Although the Transport Canada Flight Training Manual, 4th Edition (Revised), recognizes the inherent dangers associated with a 180-degree turn following an engine failure, it does not provide sufficient guidance for a student or an instructor to determine the minimum safe altitude for a 180-degree turn back to the take-off area in the event of an engine failure or simulated engine failure after take-off.
  2. The training flight was conducted without a detailed formal pre-flight briefing. Therefore, the student was not fully aware of the expected actions following a simulated engine failure at low altitude, increasing the risk that errors could be made.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 29 January 2004.

Appendix A - Lake St. John and Aircraft Track

Appendix A - Lake St. John and Aircraft Track


1. All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus four hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02O0287

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec le terrain
du Cessna 172P C-GNRJ
d'Orillia Aviation Limited
au lac St. John à Orillia (Ontario)
le 7 septembre 2002

Résumé

À 11 h 30, heure avancée de l'est, le Cessna 172P monté sur flotteurs immatriculé C-GNRJ et portant le numéro de série 17275283, décolle du lac St. John, situé près d'Orillia (Ontario), avec à son bord un instructeur et une élève-pilote. Le vol a pour but de permettre à l'élève d'effectuer des exercices de décollage, d'atterrissage et de panne moteur simulée au départ. Pendant la montée qui suit le deuxième décollage, l'instructeur simule une panne moteur en ramenant la manette des gaz au ralenti. L'élève exécute un virage de 180 degrés dans le cadre d'une simulation d'approche forcée vers le lac St. John. Au cours de l'approche forcée simulée, l'hydravion décroche, pique du nez et s'écrase dans une zone marécageuse située près de la berge du lac. L'appareil s'immobilise sur le dos, avec le nez enfoncé dans le marécage. Des pêcheurs qui se trouvaient sur le lac parviennent à sortir les deux occupants de l'hydravion partiellement submergé. Ni l'instructeur, ni l'élève-pilote ne portaient de harnais de sécurité, et les deux sont grièvement blessés.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'appareil avait été construit en 1981 et avait volé un total de 9 826 heures avant l'accident. Il était équipé de flotteurs Canadian Aircraft Products (CAP), de modèle numéro 67-2000, et il servait pour des vols d'affrètement et d'instruction. Les dossiers indiquent que l'hydravion était équipé et certifié conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il n'y avait aucune anomalie connue antérieure au vol, et la masse et le centrage de l'appareil s'inscrivaient à l'intérieur des limites prescrites.

Le bureau d'observations météorologiques le plus proche était situé à l'aéroport de Muskoka, à quelque 16 milles au nord du lac St. John. À 12 h, heure avancée de l'Est ( HAE)1, les conditions météorologiques enregistrées à l'aéroport de Muskoka étaient les suivantes : plafond de nuages fragmentés à 25 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol (agl), visibilité de 12 milles terrestres, température de 26 ºC, point de rosée à 13 ºC, vent variable de 110 à 190 degrés magnétiques à 8 noeuds, et calage altimétrique à 30,24 pouces de mercure. Les conditions météorologiques qui régnaient au lac St. John étaient similaires.

Le lac St. John mesure environ 3,4 kilomètres de longueur sur 2 kilomètres de largeur et il est orienté selon un axe nord/sud (voir l'annexe A). L'hydrobase d'Orillia Aviation Limited est située dans une baie du côté sud-est du lac. À l'extrémité sud du lac, à l'endroit où l'accident s'est produit, il y a une zone littorale marécageuse d'environ 300 à 500 mètres qui s'étend au sud de la limite des arbres marquant le début d'une région boisée. Les arbres à cet endroit mesurent de 20 à 30  pieds de hauteur.

Le pilote instructeur détenait une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel-avion valide avec une qualification de pilote instructeur de classe 4. L'instructeur était qualifié pour piloter des planeurs, ainsi que des avions et hydravions monomoteurs et multimoteurs monopilotes autres qu'à hautes performances. L'instructeur totalisait 571 heures de vol sur aéronef propulsé, dont 150 heures de vol sur hydravion. Pendant le vol en cause, le pilote instructeur occupait le siège droit.

L'élève-pilote était titulaire d'un permis canadien d'élève-pilote d'avion valide et elle suivait son entraînement initial sur hydravion. L'élève recevait des leçons de pilotage depuis juin 2001 et elle totalisait 30,5 heures de vol, dont 19,5 heures de vol sur hydravion. L'élève avait également accumulé un certain nombre d'heures de vol non consignées aux commandes d'un Cessna 206 monté sur flotteurs qui appartenait à un ami. Au cours de la semaine qui a précédé l'accident, l'instructeur et l'élève avaient effectué deux vols d'entraînement ensemble. Au cours de ces vols, l'accent avait surtout été mis sur les circuits et les situations d'urgence. Le vol en cause devait permettre d'améliorer ces habiletés et de déterminer si l'élève était prête à voler en solo.

L'élève avait déjà terminé l'inspection de sécurité pré-vol de l'hydravion lorsque l'instructeur est venu la rejoindre. L'instructeur a donné un exposé pré-vol non structuré à l'élève sur le quai et à l'intérieur de l'appareil pendant qu'ils circulaient à flots en vue du premier décollage. Il s'agissait là d'une pratique habituelle à cette école de pilotage, car aucun temps n'était prévu entre deux réservations pour les exposés avant et après vol. Tant l'instructeur que l'élève tenaient pour acquis que cette leçon serait la suite de la leçon de la veille où l'on avait fait des exercices de décollage et d'atterrissage combinés à des pannes moteur simulées. Toutefois, toutes les simulations précédentes de pannes moteur s'étaient déroulées à des altitudes d'au moins 1 000 pieds agl.

Dans le cas présent, l'instructeur a simulé la panne moteur au moment de la montée au décollage, et l'élève n'y était pas préparée. La zone située directement devant l'hydravion était boisée et l'altitude de l'appareil n'a pas été jugée suffisante pour virer à droite et se poser sur un lac voisin, ce qui explique pourquoi l'élève a choisi de faire demi-tour pour se poser sur le lac St. John.

Pendant que l'élève faisait demi-tour vers le lac St. John, elle a transféré les commandes à l'instructeur ou bien ce dernier lui a enlevé les commandes. Pendant ou après le transfert des commandes, l'hydravion a décroché et s'est écrasé dans la zone marécageuse. À aucun moment au cours du scénario de panne moteur simulée, l'élève ou l'instructeur n'a tenté de remettre les gaz pour interrompre la simulation d'approche forcée.

Ni le Guide de l'instructeur de vol de Transports Canada, ni le Manuel de pilotage, 4e édition (révisée), de Transports Canada, ni le manuel d'utilisation du Cessna 172 ne contenaient de lignes directrices suffisamment claires pour permettre à un pilote de déterminer l'altitude minimale requise pour effectuer en toute sécurité un virage de 180 degrés à la suite d'une panne moteur suivant le décollage. Le Manuel de pilotage de Transports Canada stipule ce qui suit, à la page 150 :

  • On compte de nombreux exemples de blessures ou de mortalités dans les accidents résultant d'un demi-tour pour se poser sur la piste ou sur l'aérodrome après une panne moteur suivant le décollage. Comme l'altitude est critique, on a alors tendance à essayer de garder le nez de l'aéronef relevé pendant le virage sans tenir compte de la vitesse et du facteur de charge. Ces mesures sont susceptibles de provoquer une brusque entrée en vrille. L'expérience et la prise en considération réfléchie des facteurs suivants sont essentielles pour réussir un demi-tour vers l'aérodrome : 1) l'altitude 2) la finesse du vol plané de l'aéronef 3) la longueur de la piste 4) la force du vent et la vitesse sol 5) l'expérience du pilote 6) l'expérience récente du pilote sur le type d'aéronef en cause.

La section 3 du manuel d'utilisation du Cessna 172 qui traite des pannes moteur stipule ce qui suit :

  • [traduction] Dans la plupart des cas, on devrait effectuer un atterrissage en ligne droite avec seulement les petits changements de direction requis pour éviter les obstacles. L'altitude et la vitesse sont rarement suffisantes pour permettre un virage de 180 degrés en vol plané vers la piste.

Même si ces documents signalent le danger inhérent à toute tentative de virage à 180 degrés après une panne moteur, ils ne disent rien sur la méthode par laquelle un pilote ou un élève-pilote pourrait déterminer l'altitude minimale de sécurité pour effectuer un demi-tour sans moteur. Le document de l'Aviation civile de Transports Canada TP 13748F intitulé « Rapport sur les accidents de décrochage-vrille survenus au Canada en 1999 » mentionne la nécessité de disposer de renseignements clairs et concis en regard de l'altitude requise pour tenter d'effectuer un virage de 180 degrés sans moteur. Le TP 13748F stipule notamment ce qui suit :

  • Retour après décollage Plusieurs décrochages se sont produits lorsque le pilote a décidé de revenir vers la piste suite à une panne de moteur. Normalement, les guides sur ce sujet recommandent que le pilote atterrisse en ligne droite à moins que l'avion n'ait suffisamment d'altitude pour effectuer le retour sur la piste. Cette règle est floue. C'est-à-dire que la règle exige une interprétation, mais offre peu ou pas de conseils pour faire cette interprétation. Dans quelle mesure une altitude est-elle suffisante? Est-ce toujours la même? Quelles variables peuvent influer sur l'exigence? Il est préférable que le pilote n'ait pas à penser à ces questions. On pourrait sauver des vies si l'on ne demandait pas au pilote de réfléchir ou d'évaluer en pareilles circonstances. Si une panne de moteur après décollage entraîne un accident, le pilote est au moins huit fois plus susceptible d'être tué ou gravement blessé en retournant plutôt qu'en atterrissant en ligne droite. Les décisions les plus faciles à prendre sont celles qui sont obligatoires. Dès qu'une situation se produit, la procédure à suivre est définie. Une panne de moteur après décollage devrait faire partie de ce genre de décision.

Analyse

L'appareil était en bon état de service, et les conditions météorologiques étaient propices à un vol d'entraînement; toutefois, le manque de communication entre l'instructeur et l'élève a posé un problème. L'exposé pré-vol non structuré n'a pas bien préparé l'élève pour une panne moteur peu après le décollage et, contrairement aux recommandations contenues dans le Manuel de pilotage, on n'a pas pris suffisamment en considération les facteurs essentiels à la réussite d'un demi-tour. Le Manuel de pilotage ne contient pas de règle stricte pour déterminer l'altitude de sécurité requise pour permettre un demi-tour comme le recommande le document TP 13748F. Si une telle règle avait été en vigueur avant la panne moteur simulée, l'élève n'aurait pas eu à analyser les facteurs après la panne moteur simulée pour déterminer si le retour vers le lac était une solution réalisable.

Il a été impossible de déterminer l'altitude exacte à laquelle l'instructeur a simulé la panne moteur, mais l'élève-pilote est néanmoins parvenue à compléter le virage à 180 degrés qui a placé l'hydravion en approche vent arrière vers le lac. À ce point cependant, l'appareil était trop bas et trop lent pour garantir la réussite d'un amerrissage forcé, et l'instructeur a dû prendre les commandes. Étant donné les lacunes au niveau de la planification du vol avant cet exercice, l'instructeur n'était pas prêt à faire face à la dangereuse situation dans laquelle il s'est trouvé et, par conséquent, il a tenté de poursuivre l'amerrissage forcé plutôt que de remettre les gaz pour effectuer une procédure d'approche interrompue efficace.

L'élève a été grièvement blessée à la tête au cours de l'écrasement. Il est très probable que ses blessures n'auraient pas été aussi sérieuses si elle avait porté le harnais de sécurité qui était à sa disposition. L'instructeur a souffert d'amnésie à la suite du traumatisme crânien qu'il a subi lors de l'accident. Il est probable que cette blessure aurait été moins grave s'il avait porté son harnais de sécurité.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. L'instructeur a laissé une situation dangereuse apparaître et se poursuivre jusqu'au moment où l'hydravion a décroché à une altitude trop basse pour permettre un redressement.
  2. Ni l'instructeur, ni l'élève-pilote ne portaient le harnais de sécurité qui était à leur disposition, ce qui a sans doute contribué à la gravité de leurs blessures.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Même si le Manuel de pilotage, 4e édition (révisée), de Transports Canada reconnaît les dangers inhérents liés à un virage de 180 degrés suivant une panne moteur, il ne fournit pas de lignes directrices suffisantes pour permettre à un élève ou à un instructeur de déterminer l'altitude minimale de sécurité requise pour effectuer un demi-tour vers la zone de décollage en cas de panne moteur réelle ou simulée après le décollage.
  2. Le vol d'entraînement s'est déroulé sans qu'il y ait eu au préalable un exposé pré-vol officiel détaillé. Par conséquent, l'élève-pilote ne connaissait pas exactement les mesures qu'elle devait prendre à la suite d'une panne moteur simulée à basse altitude.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 29 janvier 2004.

Annexe A -  Lac St. John et trajectoire de l'aéronef

Annexe A - Lac St. John et trajectoire de l'aéronef



1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.