Aviation Investigation Report A02P0010

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Cabin Entertainment System Fire
Air Canada
Airbus A330-300 C-GFAF
Vancouver International Airport, British Columbia
17 January 2002

Summary

An Air Canada Airbus A330-300, C-GFAF, was parked at Vancouver International Airport while the crew prepared the aircraft for boarding. A fault in the cabin entertainment system had been reported and a technician was in the passenger cabin, resetting the system in accordance with normal procedures. Shortly thereafter, the in-charge flight attendant observed a fire in the video system management unit (SMU), located in the forward galley area of the cabin. The technician used the main power switch to remove power from the cabin entertainment system; however, smoke continued to emanate from the SMU. The technician then removed power from the entire aircraft and discharged a halon fire extinguisher into the SMU to extinguish the fire. Airport emergency response personnel were alerted and responded promptly. Fire damage was contained within the SMU and there were no injuries. Maintenance personnel removed the SMU and the aircraft departed without further incident.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The P@ssport TM cabin entertainment system on the aircraft was manufactured by Rockwell Collins Inc. The system comprised the video system management unit (SMU), part number RV 970-0029-005, and approximately 20 other main components. The subject SMU, serial number 2006, was installed in the occurrence aircraft on 04 January 2002 after being repaired by the manufacturer. It subsequently operated for approximately 169 hours before the occurrence.

The SMU was installed in the video control centre (VCC) in the forward galley area of the aircraft. The VCC received 115-volt aircraft power, and an internal power supply produced other voltages required by the system. The cabin entertainment system was normally turned on and off by cabin crew using a touch-sensitive screen. To turn off the system in an emergency, a main power switch located in the VCC is used. However, the SMU and two other components continued to be powered for up to 120 seconds by two 6-volt, 4.5 amp hour batteries, as the SMU completes a systematic software shutdown. Battery power is provided to these components regardless of the position of the cabin entertainment system main power switch or the availability of aircraft power.

The SMU was removed from the aircraft after the occurrence and inspected. The outside of the SMU case was not damaged. The tamper-proof seal was intact and the rear electrical connector pins were clean with no indication of pitting, arcing, or heat damage. Inside the SMU case, the fan assembly for the central processing unit (CPU), on the processor board, was detached from the CPU. One of two plastic locking tabs was thermally deformed, allowing the fan to separate from the CPU. Burn patterns on the back of the fan assembly were consistent with the fan being attached to the CPU while the fire was in progress.

Components on the processor board adjacent to the CPU, and both faces of the processor board itself, had extensive heat damage. One of these components, a switching regulator integrated circuit (U18), received 12-volt power via a copper trace on the processor board. The copper trace exhibited signs of overheating, which were consistent with exposure to a high electrical current, particularly in the vicinity of the U18 switching regulator. A resettable fuse and two small capacitors, originally mounted on the processor board, had fallen onto the SMU mother board. The solder that held these components to the processor board had melted and all three components exhibited heat damage. The resettable fuse had thermally tripped.

An integrated circuit (U19) on the processor board will detect a short circuit condition external to the U18 switching regulator and remove power from the component; however, an internal failure within the U18 switching regulator will not be detected. The SMU, including the processor board, is normally powered by the SMU power supply. The voltage output of the SMU power supply is monitored and the power supply will shut down if an over-voltage condition is detected. The SMU power supply was tested after the occurrence and functioned normally. The backup batteries and the copper trace that deliver 12-volt power to the U18 switching regulator are not protected against over-current conditions.

Burn tests were conducted on similar electrical components in an attempt to replicate the heat damage to components on the occurrence processor board. The components did not exhibit the extensive damage observed on the SMU processor board after being exposed to a direct flame for approximately one minute. According to the manufacturer, a component failure on the processor board will typically produce high heat for less than one second.

The SMU had been repaired by Rockwell Collins on 01 October, 08 November and 06 December 2001. During the repairs in October the processor board, which includes the U18 switching regulator, was replaced. In November, the SMU was returned to Rockwell Collins after it had begun to smoke during installation. The SMU was again returned to Rockwell Collins in December, after it was installed in an aircraft but failed to operate. In December, repair technicians discovered that the U18 switching regulator was burnt. The processor board was again replaced and operated until the occurrence on 17 January 2002.

Rockwell Collins subsequently identified a manufacturing process deficiency for U18 components manufactured before July 2000. The manufacturing deficiency resulted in an incomplete seal around the U18 component, allowing contaminants to penetrate the plastic case and creating an environment conducive to premature component failure. The U18 component on the damaged processor board had been manufactured in 1999. U18 is common to 11 other processor boards in each P@ssport entertainment system. In total, 539 of these processor boards are in the P@ssport entertainment systems of 27 aircraft operating worldwide.

Most failures of electronic components occur within the first few weeks of operation. Manufacturers of aircraft electronics typically subject new components to a burn-in1 period prior to installation, to increase the reliability of the finished product and identify any manufacturing deficiencies. The SMU was subject to a burn-in period when it was initially manufactured. Spare SMU electrical components, however, including the processor board, are not subject to a burn-in period.

On 27 August 2001, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) of the United States of America issued a series of airworthiness directives2 (AD) that apply to aircraft with entertainment systems which cannot be completely powered off. The AD ensured that the main power switch in the VCC removes electrical power from all entertainment system components. This FAA AD series, however, does not apply to the P@ssport entertainment system and, with respect to Airbus aircraft, only to the A340-211 model.

On 07 December 2001, Airbus issued a service bulletin (SB-A340-23-4119), similar to the FAA AD, modifying the in-flight entertainment systems on all A340-313 aircraft. This SB ensured that the main power switch in the VCC removes electrical power from all entertainment system components. This SB, however, applies only to the A340-313 model and one specific entertainment system: it does not apply to other Airbus aircraft or the P@ssport entertainment system.

Analysis

The high current condition on the SMU processor board 12-volt trace could have been caused by one of the following.

  1. A mechanical short circuit - A mechanical short could have been caused by the dislodged CPU fan. However, the fan assembly did not exhibit signs of pitting or arcing, as it would have if it had contacted live electrical components. As well, the burn patterns on the fan assembly indicate that it remained properly attached to the CPU for some time after the fire started.
  2. An over-voltage condition at the SMU power supply - It is unlikely that the SMU power supply produced an over-voltage condition sufficient to cause electrical heating on the 12-volt copper trace. The SMU power supply is protected against over-voltage conditions, and it functioned normally after the occurrence.
  3. An internal failure of an electrical component on the processor board - The U18 switching regulator was replaced twice in the months prior to the occurrence. The U18 component was susceptible to premature failure and a manufacturing process deficiency was identified. Heat damage to U18 is consistent with an internal failure. Failure of the U18 switching regulator would not have been detected by the SMU and power would not have been removed from the component.

This investigation concluded that an internal failure of the U18 component on the processor board resulted in an excessive draw of current over the 12-volt trace, which produced excessive heat and caused the processor board to burn.

The duration and intensity of the fire was not characteristic of merely a component failure. When main power was removed from the SMU, the processor board continued to receive electrical energy from the backup batteries, likely contributing to the duration of the fire. There was no effective mechanism to disconnect the battery from the SMU, a deficiency not addressed in existing Airbus service bulletins or FAA airworthiness directives.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Internal failure of the U18 switching regulator caused a high current draw and excessive heat on the 12-volt input trace, causing the processor board to ignite.
  2. The main power switch does not remove battery power from the processor board and the 12-volt input trace is not protected. As a consequence, the over-current condition could not be interrupted, likely extending the duration of the fire.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The absence of a burn-in process increases the likelihood of electrical component failure on in-service equipment.
  2. The inability to remove all electrical power from the entertainment system, and potentially reduce the duration and intensity of a fire, is not addressed by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) airworthiness directives (AD) series, or the Airbus service bulletins (SB).

Safety Action

As a result of this occurrence, Rockwell Collins issued service bulletins 970-0029-005-23-02, 970-001-003-23-01, 970-0010-23-01 and 970-0002-003-23-01, which required the replacement of all U18 components manufactured before July 2000. These SBs, apply to all units in the P@assport system that contain the U18 component.

Airbus will issue SB A330-23-3109, SB A330-23-3122 and SB A340-23-4147 between January and April 2003. These SBs, in conjunction with Rockwell Collins SB A330-A340-23-02, will cover the installation of a main power switch to remove electrical power from all P@ssport entertainment system components installed on A330 and A340 aircraft.

Air Canada Technical Services will comply with all SBs issued by Airbus and Rockwell Collins involving the P@ssport entertainment system.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 30 January 2003.


1. Burn-in is the application of thermal and electrical stresses for the purpose of inducing the failure of electronic devices that have inherent defects resulting from manufacturing.

2. Airworthiness directives are mandatory modifications to an in-service aircraft, engine, or component.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02P0010

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Incendie du système de divertissement de bord
de l'Airbus A330-300 C-GFAF
exploité par Air Canada
à l'aéroport international de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
le 17 janvier 2002

Résumé

L'Airbus A330-300 d'Air Canada immatriculé C-GFAF est stationné à l'aéroport international de Vancouver où l'équipage le prépare en vue de l'embarquement. Une défaillance du système de divertissement de bord a été signalée et un technicien, dans la cabine passagers, est en train de réinitialiser le système conformément aux procédures normales. Peu après, l'agent de bord responsable remarque un début d'incendie dans l'unité de gestion du système vidéo se trouvant dans l'office avant de la cabine. Le technicien coupe l'alimentation électrique du système de divertissement de bord avec l'interrupteur principal, mais de la fumée continue à s'échapper de l'unité de gestion du système vidéo. Le technicien coupe alors l'alimentation électrique de tout l'avion et vide un extincteur au halon sur l'unité de gestion du système vidéo. On prévient le personnel d'intervention d'urgence de l'aéroport qui intervient rapidement. Seule l'unité de gestion du système vidéo est endommagée par l'incendie. Personne n'est blessé. Le personnel de maintenance dépose l'unité de gestion du système vidéo, et l'avion décolle sans autre incident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le système de divertissement de bord P@ssport TM de l'appareil a été fabriqué par Rockwell Collins Inc. Le système est composé de l'unité de gestion du système vidéo (SMU), référence RV 970-0029-005, et d'une vingtaine d'autres éléments principaux. Le SMU (numéro de série 2006) a été installé le 4 janvier 2002 sur l'avion après avoir été réparé par le fabricant. Au moment de l'incident, il totalisait environ 169 heures de fonctionnement depuis sa réinstallation.

Le SMU est installé dans le centre de commande vidéo (VCC) qui se trouve dans l'office avant de l'avion. Le VCC est alimenté par le courant 115 volts de l'appareil, et une source d'alimentation interne produit les autres tensions requises par le système. Le système de divertissement de bord est allumé ou éteint par le personnel de cabine au moyen d'un écran tactile. En cas d'urgence, le système peut être éteint avec l'interrupteur principal situé dans le VCC. Néanmoins, le SMU et deux autres composants continuent d'être alimentés jusqu'à 120 secondes de plus par deux piles de 6 volts, 4,5 ampères-heure, le temps que le SMU effectue un arrêt systématique du logiciel. Ces composants continuent à être alimentés par les piles, quelle que soit la position de l'interrupteur principal du système de divertissement de bord, et que l'alimentation électrique de l'appareil soit disponible ou non.

Le SMU a été retiré de l'avion après l'incident pour être inspecté. L'extérieur du boîtier du SMU n'était pas endommagé. Le sceau de sécurité était intact, et les broches du raccord électrique arrière étaient propres et ne présentaient aucun signe de piqûres, d'amorçage d'arc ou de dommages dus à la chaleur. À l'intérieur du SMU, le ventilateur de l'unité de traitement central (CPU), sur la carte processeur, s'était détaché du CPU. L'une des deux languettes de fixation était déformée par la chaleur, ce qui avait permis au ventilateur de se détacher du CPU. Des traces de brûlure, au dos du ventilateur, ont permis de confirmer que le ventilateur était fixé sur le CPU pendant que l'incendie faisait rage.

Les composants se trouvant, sur la carte processeur, à proximité du CPU ainsi que les deux faces de la carte processeur elles-mêmes ont été lourdement endommagées par la chaleur. L'un de ces composants, le circuit intégré d'un régulateur à découpage (U18) était alimenté en courant 12 volts par le biais d'un conducteur de cuivre de la carte processeur. Ce conducteur de cuivre présentait des signes de surchauffe correspondant à une exposition à un courant électrique important, particulièrement à proximité du régulateur à découpage U18. Un fusible réarmable et deux petits condensateurs, montés à l'origine sur la carte processeur, étaient tombés sur la carte mère du SMU. La soudure qui fixait ces composants sur la carte processeur avait fondu et les trois composants présentaient des dommages dus à la chaleur. Le fusible réarmable s'était déclenché sous l'effet de la chaleur.

Un circuit intégré (U19) de la carte processeur peut détecter un court circuit externe au régulateur à découpage U18 et couper l'alimentation de ce composant, mais il ne peut pas détecter une défaillance interne du régulateur à découpage U18. Le SMU, et notamment sa carte processeur, est habituellement alimenté par l'alimentation électrique du SMU. La tension de sortie de l'alimentation électrique du SMU est régulée et l'alimentation électrique est coupée si une surtension est détectée. L'alimentation électrique du SMU a fait l'objet d'essais après l'incident et s'est révélée fonctionner normalement. Les piles de secours et le conducteur de cuivre alimentant en courant 12 volts le régulateur à découpage U18 ne sont pas protégés contre les surintensités.

Des essais de combustion ont été effectués sur des composants électriques similaires dans l'espoir de reproduire les dommages causés par la chaleur sur les composants de la carte processeur. Les composants n'ont pas présenté les dommages importants observés sur la carte processeur du SMU après avoir été exposés pendant environ une minute à une flamme directe. Selon le fabricant, la défaillance d'un composant de la carte processeur produit généralement une haute température pendant moins d'une seconde.

Le SMU avait été réparé par Rockwell Collins le 1er octobre, le 8 novembre et le 6 décembre 2001. Durant la réparation d'octobre, la carte processeur, qui comprend le régulateur à découpage U18, avait été remplacée. En novembre, le SMU avait été renvoyé à Rockwell Collins parce qu'il avait commencé à dégager de la fumée durant l'installation. Le SMU avait de nouveau été renvoyé à Rockwell Collins en décembre, car il avait refusé de fonctionner après avoir été installé sur un aéronef. En décembre, les techniciens ont découvert que le régulateur à découpage U18 était brûlé. La carte processeur a été de nouveau changée et a fonctionné jusqu'à l'incident du 17 janvier 2002.

Rockwell Collins a par la suite identifié un défaut dans le processus de fabrication des composants U18 fabriqués avant juillet 2000. Ce défaut de fabrication consistait en une mauvaise étanchéité du composant U18 entraînant la pénétration, à l'intérieur de l'enveloppe plastique, de contaminant provoquant des conditions qui favorisaient une défaillance prématurée du composant. Le composant U18 qui se trouvait sur la carte processeur endommagée avait été fabriqué en 1999. Le U18 se trouve également sur 11 autres cartes processeurs du système de divertissement P@ssport. On compte 539 de ces cartes processeurs dans les systèmes de divertissement P@ssport de 27 aéronefs volant à travers le monde.

La plupart des défaillances de composant électronique se produisent dans les premières semaines de fonctionnement. Les fabricants d'électronique aéronautique soumettent habituellement les nouveaux composants, avant leur installation, à une période de rodage1 afin d'augmenter la fiabilité du produit fini et de détecter les défauts de fabrication. Le SMU a subi une période de rodage lors de sa fabrication, mais les composants électriques de rechange du SMU, dont la carte processeur, ne font pas l'objet d'une période de rodage.

Le 27 août 2001, la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis a publié une série de consignes de navigabilité2 applicables aux aéronefs sur lesquels l'alimentation électrique des systèmes de divertissement ne peut pas être complètement coupée. Ces consignes de navigabilité avaient pour objet de s'assurer que l'interrupteur principal du VCC coupe l'alimentation électrique de tous les composants du système de divertissement. Toutefois, cette série de consignes de navigabilité de la FAA ne s'applique pas au système de divertissement P@ssport et elle ne s'applique pas au Airbus A340-211.

Le 7 décembre 2001, Airbus a publié un bulletin de service (SB-A340-23-4119), similaire à la consigne de navigabilité de la FAA, pour modifier les systèmes de divertissement de bord de tous les avions A340-313. Ce bulletin de service vise à assurer que l'interrupteur principal du VCC coupe l'alimentation électrique de tous les composants du système de divertissement. Ce bulletin de service, cependant, ne s'applique qu'au modèle A340-313 et qu'à un seul système de divertissement; il ne s'applique pas à tous les Airbus, pas plus qu'il ne s'applique au système de divertissement P@ssport.

Analyse

La surintensité subie par le conducteur 12 volts de la carte processeur du SMU peut avoir pour cause :

  1. Un court-circuit d'origine mécanique - Un court-circuit peut avoir été causé par le déplacement du ventilateur du CPU, mais ce dernier ne présentait pas de signes de piqûre ou d'amorçage d'arc comme cela aurait été le cas s'il avait été en contact avec des composants électriques sous tension. Par ailleurs, les traces de brûlure sur le ventilateur révèlent qu'il est resté fixé correctement sur le CPU pendant un certain temps après le début de l'incendie.
  2. Une surtension de l'alimentation électrique du SMU - Il est peu probable que l'alimentation électrique du SMU ait connu une surtension suffisante pour causer une surchauffe électrique du conducteur 12 volts en cuivre. L'alimentation électrique du SMU est protégée contre les surtensions et elle a fonctionné normalement après l'incident.
  3. Une défaillance interne d'un composant électrique de la carte processeur - Le régulateur à découpage U18 a été remplacé à deux reprises dans les mois qui ont précédé l'incident. Le composant U18 était susceptible de subir une défaillance prématurée, et un défaut de fabrication avait été identifié. Les dégâts causés par la chaleur au U18 sont typiques d'une défaillance interne. Une défaillance du régulateur à découpage U18 n'aurait pas été détectée par le SMU, et l'alimentation électrique du composant n'aurait pas été coupée.

L'enquête a conclu qu'une défaillance interne du composant U18 de la carte processeur a entraîné un appel de courant excessif sur le conducteur 12 volts qui, dégageant une chaleur excessive, a brûlé la carte processeur.

La durée et l'intensité de l'incendie n'étaient pas typiques d'une défaillance de composant. Lorsque l'alimentation principale du SMU a été coupée, la carte processeur a continué d'être alimentée en électricité par les piles de secours, ce qui a sans doute prolongé la durée de l'incendie. Il n'existait pas de mécanisme efficace permettant de débrancher les piles du SMU, lacune qui n'est pas traitée dans les bulletins de service d'Airbus ni dans les consignes de navigabilité de la FAA.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Une défaillance interne du régulateur à découpage U18 a causé un appel de courant important sur le conducteur d'alimentation 12 volts et une élévation de température excessive de ce conducteur, qui sont à l'origine de la combustion de la carte processeur.
  2. L'interrupteur principal ne coupe pas l'alimentation à piles de la carte processeur, et le conducteur 12 volts n'est pas protégé. Il a donc été impossible de mettre un terme à la surtension, ce qui a sans doute prolongé la durée de l'incendie.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. L'absence de procédure de rodage augmente les risques de défaillance des composants électriques des équipements en service.
  2. L'impossibilité de couper complètement l'alimentation électrique du système de divertissement, ce qui pourrait permettre de réduire la durée et l'intensité de l'incendie, n'est pas traitée dans les consignes de navigabilité de la Federal Aviation Administration ni dans les bulletins de service d'Airbus.

Mesures de sécurité

À la suite de cet incident, Rockwell Collins a publié les bulletins de service 970-0029-005-23-02, 970-001-003-23-01, 970-0010-23-01 et 970-0002-003-23-01, qui exigent le remplacement de tous les composants U18 fabriqués avant juillet 2000. Ces bulletins de service s'appliquent à toutes les unités des systèmes P@ssport qui comportent un composant U18.

Airbus va publier, entre janvier et avril 2003, les bulletins de service A330-23-3109, A330-23-3122 et A340-23-4147. Ces bulletins de service, conjointement au bulletin de service A330-A340-23-02 Rockwell Collins, traiteront de l'installation d'un interrupteur principal permettant de couper l'alimentation électrique de tous les composants des systèmes de divertissement P@ssport installés sur les avions A330 et A340.

Les services techniques d'Air Canada vont se conformer aux bulletins de service publiés par Airbus et Rockwell Collins au sujet du système de divertissement P@ssport.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 30 janvier 2003.


1. Le rodage consiste en une série de stress thermiques et électriques visant à entraîner la défaillance des dispositif éélectroniques présentant un défaut inhérent à la fabrication.

2. Les consignes de navigabilité définissent des modifications obligatoires devant être apportées à des aéronefs, à des moteurs ou à des composants en service.