Aviation Investigation Report A02P0136

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Aircraft Stall on Take-off
Regency Express Flight Operations
Cessna 172N C-GRIL
Boundary Bay Airport, British Columbia
01 July 2002

Summary

On 01 July 2002, a rented Cessna 172N, C-GRIL, serial number 17268072, was taking off from Boundary Bay Airport, British Columbia, at 1214 Pacific daylight time with the pilot and three passengers on board for a local pleasure flight. The pilot had rented the aircraft from Regency Express Flight Operations. The take-off on Runway 25 appeared to be normal until the main wheels left the ground, whereupon the nose rose to a very steep attitude. The aircraft climbed to an estimated height of 100 to 150 feet, the right wing dropped, then the left wing, then the right wing again, and the aircraft struck the runway nose down and right wing low. A fire broke out in the area of the left cowling, fed by a broken fuel line from the left fuel tank, but was quickly extinguished by bystanders with portable fire extinguishers. Two passengers were fatally injured, the pilot sustained serious injuries, and the third passenger died in hospital the next day. The aircraft was destroyed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot held a valid private pilot licence and medical certificate, both issued by Transport Canada. The licence was endorsed for single-engine land aeroplanes. The medical certificate, which had a restriction that glasses must be worn while flying, was issued on 13 September 2001. The last medical was conducted on 21 August 2001 and was valid for a period of 60 months.

The pilot had accumulated 57 flying hours on light aircraft: 30.7 hours dual and 17 hours solo on the Piper PA-38 Tomahawk, and 7.7 hours dual and 1.6 hours solo on the Cessna 172N. He had completed his private pilot training with Regency Express between 13 August 2001 and 31 March 2002, mainly on the Piper PA-38 Tomahawk aircraft. During his training, he flew six dual instructional flights on the Cessna 172 and, since receiving his licence, flew an additional three dual flights and two solo flights on this aircraft.

The pilot sustained serious injuries in the accident and has no memory of any events on the day of the accident.

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures, except for two discrepancies described in subsequent paragraphs. The aircraft was manufactured in 1976 and had flown a total of 5762.4 hours since new. A review of the journey and technical logbooks and engine logbooks showed nothing remarkable. The engine, a Lycoming O-320-H2AD, serial number L-3626-76T, had accumulated 1575.3 hours total since new. The only defect noted was that the right-hand fuel gauge was unserviceable and deferred, awaiting parts. Pilots were advised to dip the right fuel tank before flight.

The aircraft was fuelled to full tanks the previous day and did not fly again until the accident flight.

Nothing could be found to indicate the pilot had completed a weight and balance calculation prior to the flight. Post-accident weight and balance calculations, using reported occupant weights, full fuel tanks, and no baggage, showed the aircraft take-off weight to be 2589 pounds and the centre of gravity to be at 45.16 inches aft of the datum. The maximum allowable take-off weight is 2300 pounds, and the allowable centre of gravity range is 35 to 47.30 inches.

At the time of the accident the weather conditions were suitable for flight in accordance with visual flight rules. Boundary Bay airport does not record hourly weather observations. The automatic terminal information service (ATIS) message "Bravo" that was made available to C-GRIL at start up, and valid from 1100 Pacific daylight time (PDT)1, was as follows: winds 260 degrees magnetic at 10 knots; visibility more than 15 statute miles; broken clouds at 2000 feet, broken above; altimeter setting 30.26 inches of mercury; instrument flight rules (IFR) approach in use was a very high-frequency omnidirectional range (VOR) approach for Runway 07, circling for Runway 30; landing runways 25 and 30; departure Runway 25. Weather is not considered to have been a factor in this accident.

The wreckage was initially examined at the accident site. The aircraft struck the runway nose down on its right side, damaging the right wing and right engine cowling, and forcing the nosewheel up between the pilot's seat and rudder pedals. Both propellor blades were twisted and showed leading edge damage. The twist and damage are consistent with considerable power being produced at the time of impact. The throttle and mixture controls were found in the full power (forward) position. The fuel selector was found positioned to the left fuel tank. The fuel line from the left fuel tank fractured at impact and allowed fuel to escape, much of which was consumed by fire, and very little fuel remained in the left tank. The right fuel tank was examined and found to be full of fuel.

All control surfaces were accounted for and all damage to the aircraft was attributable to the severe impact forces and fire, except that substantial cuts were made to the fuselage in the cabin area by rescue crews extricating the occupants. The wreckage was recovered from the accident site for a more detailed examination at the TSB regional wreckage examination facility.

Damage and contact markings to both front seat tracks indicates both front seats were locked into the sixth hole from the front at impact.

The aircraft's stall warning horn did not sound when suction was applied to the stall warning hole in the left wing leading edge. The stall warning horn was removed and examined; the reed was intact and in place, but the reed assembly was heavily corroded and the horn did not sound when suction was repeatedly applied to it.

The aircraft was found to have a post-production, metal, flap-position indicator cover installed, which physically limited maximum flap selection to 30 degrees instead of the normal 40 degrees. According to information provided by the manufacturer, starting with the 1978 model year, a similar metal cover was used for the flap control lever and indicator, but not until the 1981 model year was the maximum flap extension reduced from 40 to 30 degrees. Examination of the aircraft records confirmed that the aircraft had never been the subject of any supplemental type certificate (STC).

Efforts were made to determine the flap position on impact. The right flap inboard aft end was found extending into the cabin area by the rear side window. The flap trailing edge in that area was bent upwards locally by contact with the window lower edge. This indicates the right flap position was greater than 10 degrees on impact.

On the right wing, the total flap travel was measured and determined to be 40 degrees. With the right flap positioned so that its outboard aft roller sat in the largest of three dents in the outboard flap track, aft slot, upper surface, the flap was measured at 19.4 degrees down. With the right flap positioned so that its outboard forward roller sat in the beginning of a smear/dent in the outboard flap track, forward slot, lower surface, the flap was measured at 21.7 degrees down. When the right flap was positioned to where it would be if the flap actuator push-pull rod, which was bent, was straightened, the right flap was found to be at 20.2 degrees down. Using figures supplied by the aircraft manufacturer of flap position versus exposed flap actuator jack screw, the 4.2 inches of exposed jack screw measured on the wreckage corresponded to a flap position of 23 degrees down.

When the left flap was positioned with its outboard aft roller in the wing's outboard flap track, aft slot, at the point where the slot had been bent open to its widest point and the paint chipped off the side of the slot due to impact deformation, the left flap was measured at 19 degrees down.

The elevator trim tab actuator position was measured and, using figures supplied by the aircraft manufacturer, found to correspond to a spot halfway between the neutral (take-off) position and full nose up on the cockpit indicator.

The checklist provided to Cessna 172 pilots by Regency Express, a copy of which was carried in the pouch of aircraft documents, was examined. No challenge to verify the elevator trim tab position can be found on any of the lists of vital actions to be completed before take-off. The pilot confirmed this to be the checklist he used when flying the Cessna 172. By contrast, the before take-off checklist found in the manufacturer's pilot operating handbook , also carried in the aircraft, shows elevator trim set to the take-off position as an item on the before take-off checklist.

The pilot and the passenger seated in the right rear seat survived the relatively severe impact, but that passenger died in hospital the next day. All occupants were wearing seat belts; a diagonal shoulder strap was also available for and worn by the front seat occupants.

The armed emergency locator transmitter (ELT) was activated by impact forces and was turned off by first responders.

Analysis

The major element in this accident appears to be the incorrect position of the elevator trim tab at halfway between neutral (take-off) and full nose up, for take-off. The very strong nose-up pitching moment that occurred at lift-off clearly took the pilot by surprise and resulted in the aircraft stalling aerodynamically at a height from which recovery was not possible. A test flight flown by the manufacturer, replicating the accident aircraft's configuration, indicated the stick force should have been within the pilot's physical ability to counteract. But when unexpected, it is unlikely the pilot would have been able to react and counteract this considerable force in time to prevent the pitch-up and stall.

It could not be determined why the elevator trim tab was not properly set for take-off. It may have been left in the "as found" position at the conclusion of the last flight the previous day, or the pilot might have been distracted in the process of operating the trim tab to check for full travel during pre-flight checks. Had there been a requirement in the checklist to confirm the correct positioning of the elevator trim for take-off, the chance of taking off with it incorrectly set would be minimized.

Why the flaps were set to at least 19 degrees and possibly as much as 23 degrees for take-off could also not be determined. The pilot operating handbook limited the aircraft to no more than 10 degrees of flap for take-off, and that only for take-offs on soft or rough fields, or where a minimum ground run is required, neither of which is the case at Boundary Bay Airport. Information provided by the aircraft manufacturer indicates this flap setting would have slightly exacerbated the already strong nose-up pitching moment induced by the elevator trim setting.

A formal weight and balance calculation prior to flight would have revealed that, with four occupants and full fuel tanks, the aircraft's weight would be in excess of the maximum allowable take-off weight. As no indication could be found that such a calculation was completed, yet a take-off was attempted, it must be concluded that it probably was not done.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The elevator trim tab was set halfway between the neutral (take-off) position and full nose-up on the cockpit indicator, which resulted in a very strong nose-up pitching moment at lift-off, causing the aircraft to stall aerodynamically at a height from which recovery was not possible.
  2. The checklist used by the pilot contained no challenge to verify the position of the elevator trim tab before take-off.
  3. The flaps were set inappropriately for the attempted take-off, adding to the instability.
  4. The aircraft was overweight at take-off; it is unlikely a weight and balance calculation was completed prior to flight.
  5. The aural stall warning mechanism was defective and probably did not activate when the aircraft stalled during the accident sequence.
  6. The wrong flap selector plate for the particular Cessna 172 model was installed around the cockpit flap lever, which limited flap extension to a maximum of 30 degrees.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 24 February 2003.


1. All times are PDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02P0136

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décrochage au décollage
du Cessna 172N C-GRIL
exploité par Regency Express Flight Operations
à l'aéroport de Boundary Bay
(Colombie-Britannique)
le 1er juillet 2002

Résumé

Le 1er juillet 2002, le Cessna 172N de location, immatriculé C-GRIL, portant le numéro de série 17268072, décolle de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay (Colombie-Britannique) à 12 h 14, heure avancée du Pacifique, pour un vol de plaisance dans les environs avec à son bord le pilote et trois passagers. Le pilote a loué l'appareil auprès de Regency Express Flight Operations. La course au décollage sur la piste 25 semble se dérouler normalement jusqu'à ce que les roues du train principal quittent le sol. L'avion adopte alors une assiette de cabré prononcée et monte jusqu'à une hauteur comprise entre 100 et 150 pieds. L'aile droite s'enfonce, puis l'aile gauche, et de nouveau l'aile droite. L'avion s'écrase en piqué sur la piste, incliné sur la droite. Un incendie se déclare au niveau du capotage gauche, alimenté par le carburant de la conduite du réservoir gauche qui s'est rompue. Des personnes qui se trouvent sur les lieux éteignent vite l'incendie avec des extincteurs. Deux passagers perdent la vie; le pilote est grièvement blessé et le troisième passager succombera à ses blessures le lendemain à l'hôpital. L'appareil est détruit dans l'accident.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote possédait une licence de pilote privé et un certificat médical en état de validité délivrés par Transports Canada. Sa licence était annotée de la qualification sur avions terrestres monomoteurs. Son certificat médical avait été délivré le 13 septembre 2001 avec la restriction que le port des verres correcteurs aux commandes était obligatoire. Le dernier examen médical du pilote remontait au 21 août 2001 et il était valide pour 60 mois.

Le pilote totalisait 57 heures de vol sur avions légers : 30,7 heures en double commande et 17 heures en solo sur Piper PA-38 Tomahawk ainsi que 7,7 heures en double commande et 1,6 heure en solo sur Cessna 172N. Il avait suivi sa formation de pilote privé auprès de Regency Express du 13 août 2001 au 31 mars 2002, principalement sur Piper PA-38 Tomahawk. Il avait, durant sa formation, effectué six vols d'instruction en double commande sur Cessna 172 et, depuis l'obtention de sa licence, il avait effectué trois autres vols en double commande et deux en solo sur ce type d'appareil.

Le pilote a été grièvement blessé dans l'accident et n'a aucun souvenir des événements entourant l'accident.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'appareil était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées, à l'exception des deux anomalies décrites dans les paragraphes ci-après. L'appareil avait été construit en 1976 et totalisait 5 762,4 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale. Un examen du carnet de route, des dossiers techniques et du livret moteur n'a rien révélé de notable. L'avion était équipé d'un moteur Lycoming O-320-H2AD, numéro de série L-3626-76T, qui totalisait 1 575,3 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale. Une seule anomalie avait été notée : la jauge de carburant droite était inutilisable et elle avait fait l'objet d'un entretien différé (en attente de pièces). Les pilotes avaient reçu instruction qu'il fallait jauger le réservoir droit avant tout vol.

Le plein de carburant avait été fait la veille, et l'avion n'avait pas volé depuis, avant d'entreprendre le vol ayant mené à l'accident.

Aucun document indiquant que le pilote avait calculé la masse et le centrage de l'appareil avant le vol n'a été retrouvé. Les calculs de masse et centrage, effectués après l'accident en se fondant sur les poids fournis pour les passagers, le poids des réservoirs pleins et l'absence de bagages, indiquent que la masse de l'appareil au décollage était de 2 589 livres et que le centre de gravité se trouvait à 45,16 pouces en arrière de la ligne de référence. La masse maximale autorisée au décollage est de 2 300 livres, et la plage autorisée pour le centre de gravité va de 35 à 47,30 pouces.

Au moment de l'accident, les conditions météorologiques étaient favorables au vol à vue (VFR). L'aéroport de Boundary Bay ne consigne pas les observations météorologiques horaires. Le message « Bravo » du service automatique d'information de région terminale (ATIS) disponible au moment du démarrage du C-GRIL et valide à partir de 11 h, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)1 faisait état des conditions suivantes : vents du 260 degrés magnétique à 10 noeuds, visibilité supérieure à 15 milles terrestres, nuages fragmentés à 2 000 pieds et au-dessus, calage altimétrique de 30,26 pouces de mercure, approche selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) en vigueur sur la piste 07 avec radiophare omnidirectionnel (VOR) VHF , approche indirecte sur la piste 30, pistes d'atterrissage 25 et 30, piste de départ 25. On a jugé que la météo n'a joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.

L'épave a d'abord été examinée sur les lieux de l'accident. L'appareil s'est écrasé sur la piste en piqué, incliné sur le côté droit, ce qui a endommagé l'aile droite et le capotage moteur droit, et la roue de nez est venue s'encastrer entre le siège du pilote et les pédales du palonnier. Les deux pales de l'hélice présentaient des dommages en torsion et au bord d'attaque. La torsion et les dommages observés sont typiques d'un moteur qui produit une puissance élevée au moment de l'impact. La commande des gaz et la commande de richesse étaient poussées à fond (vers l'avant). Le sélecteur de carburant était sur le réservoir gauche. La conduite de carburant du réservoir gauche s'est rompue sous le choc, et le carburant qui a fui a brûlé; il restait très peu de carburant dans le réservoir gauche. Le réservoir de carburant droit était plein.

Toutes les gouvernes ont été retrouvées et les dommages observés sur l'appareil ont tous été attribués à la violence de l'impact et à l'incendie, à l'exception des ouvertures importantes pratiquées dans le fuselage de la cabine par l'équipe de secours pour dégager les occupants. L'épave a été transportée aux installations régionales d'examen des épaves du BST pour des examens plus poussés.

Les dommages et les marques de contact observés sur les rails des deux sièges avant indiquent que les sièges avant étaient verrouillés au sixième cran (depuis la position avant) au moment de l'impact.

L'avertisseur de décrochage de l'appareil ne s'est pas déclenché lorsqu'une succion a été exercée sur l'orifice situé sur le bord d'attaque de l'aile gauche. Le klaxon de l'avertisseur de décrochage a été déposé puis examiné : la lame mobile était en place et intacte, mais son support était très corrodé et le klaxon n'a pas retenti lorsque des succions ont été appliquées de façon répétée.

L'enquête a révélé que l'avion accidenté était équipé d'une plaque de métal qui avait été installée, après la construction de l'avion, sur l'indicateur de position des volets. Cette plaque limitait physiquement l'angle maximal des volets pouvant être sélectionné à 30 degrés au lieu des 40 degrés d'origine. Selon les renseignements fournis par l'avionneur, une plaque de métal semblable avait d'abord été installée sur l'indicateur et le levier des volets des modèles de l'année 1978, mais ce n'est qu'avec l'arrivée des modèles de l'année 1981 que le braquage maximal des volets est passé de 40 à 30 degrés. Un examen des dossiers a confirmé que l'avion n'avait jamais fait l'objet d'un certificat de type supplémentaire (CTS).

Des efforts ont été faits pour déterminer le braquage des volets au moment de l'impact. L'enquête a révélé que l'arrière intérieur du volet droit avait pénétré dans la cabine au niveau du hublot latéral arrière. Le bord de fuite du volet avait été tordu vers le haut au contact du bord inférieur du hublot, ce qui indique que le braquage du volet, au moment de l'impact, était supérieur à 10 degrés.

Le braquage maximal du volet droit a été mesuré et s'est révélé être de 40 degrés. Lorsque le volet droit a été placé de sorte que son galet arrière extérieur vienne se placer dans le plus grand des trois crans se trouvant sur la surface supérieure de la fente arrière du rail de volet extérieur, son braquage était de 19,4 degrés. Lorsque le volet droit a été placé de sorte que son galet avant extérieur vienne se placer au début du cran sur la surface inférieure de la fente avant du rail de volet extérieur, son braquage était de 21,7 degrés. Lorsque le volet droit a été placé à l'endroit où il se serait trouvé si la bielle à double effet du vérin du volet, qui a été tordue, avait été droite, son braquage était de 20,2 degrés. Grâce aux chiffres sur le braquage du volet en fonction de la partie visible de la vis du vérin du volet fournis par l'avionneur, il a été possible d'établir que les 4,2 pouces visibles sur l'épave correspondaient à un braquage de 23 degrés.

Lorsque le volet gauche a été placé de sorte que son galet arrière extérieur se trouve dans la fente arrière du rail de volet extérieur de l'aile au point où le cran était le plus largement ouvert et où la peinture, sur les bords du cran, s'était écaillée en raison de la déformation causée par l'impact, le braquage du volet était de 19 degrés.

La position du vérin du compensateur de profondeur a été mesurée, et les chiffres fournis par l'avionneur ont permis d'établir qu'elle correspondait à une position, sur l'indicateur du poste de pilotage, se trouvant à mi-chemin entre le neutre (décollage) et le plein cabré.

La liste de vérifications fournie par Regency Express aux pilotes de Cessna 172, dont un exemplaire se trouvait dans la sacoche de l'appareil, a été examinée. La vérification de la position du compensateur de profondeur ne figurait pas sur la liste des mesures essentielles à prendre avant le décollage. Le pilote a confirmé qu'il s'agissait bien là de la liste qu'il avait utilisée lorsqu'il avait piloté le Cessna 172. Par contre, la liste avant décollage figurant dans le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion fourni par l'avionneur, et également à bord de l'appareil, comporte le point Elevator trim set to the take-off position (régler le compensateur de profondeur en position décollage) dans la liste de vérifications avant décollage.

Le pilote et le passager en place arrière droite ont survécu au choc qui a été particulièrement violent, mais le passager a succombé à ses blessures le lendemain à l'hôpital. Tous les occupants avaient attaché leur ceinture de sécurité, et les deux occupants des sièges avant portaient également leur baudrier.

La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) était armée et s'est déclenchée sous le choc. Elle a été désactivée par les premiers secours.

Analyse

Le principal élément qui ressort de l'enquête semble être le mauvais réglage du compensateur de profondeur qui se trouvait, au décollage, à mi-chemin entre le neutre (décollage) et le plein cabré. Selon toute vraisemblance, le cabrage très prononcé de l'appareil au moment de quitter le sol a surpris le pilote et a causé un décrochage aérodynamique à une altitude insuffisante pour permettre une sortie de décrochage. Le vol d'essai effectué par l'avionneur pour reproduire la configuration de l'appareil au moment de l'accident a démontré que la pression sur le manche nécessaire pour contrecarrer la situation devait être dans les limites des forces physiques du pilote. Toutefois, il est peu probable que le pilote, surpris par la situation, ait été capable de réagir et de contrer une telle force assez tôt pour éviter le cabrage et le décrochage.

L'enquête n'a pas révélé pourquoi le compensateur de profondeur n'était pas réglé correctement pour le décollage. Il est possible qu'il ait été laissé comme ça à la fin du dernier vol de la veille, ou bien que quelque chose ait distrait le pilote pendant qu'il s'assurait du bon déplacement du compensateur de profondeur sur l'ensemble de sa plage durant les vérifications avant vol. Si l'obligation de vérifier la position du compensateur de profondeur pour le décollage avait figuré sur la liste de vérifications, les risques de décoller avec le compensateur mal réglé auraient été moindres.

L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir pourquoi les volets ont été braqués entre 19 et 23 degrés au décollage. Le manuel d'utilisation de l'avion indique que le braquage des volets au décollage ne doit pas dépasser 10 degrés et que ce braquage ne doit être utilisé que sur des terrains mous ou cahoteux, ou bien lorsqu'une course au décollage minimale est requise, deux conditions qui ne s'appliquaient pas à l'aéroport de Boundary Bay. Les renseignements fournis par l'avionneur indiquent que le braquage des volets aurait pu légèrement accentuer le cabré déjà très prononcé résultant du réglage du compensateur de profondeur.

Des calculs de masse et centrage effectués en bonne et due forme avant le vol auraient permis de constater que, avec quatre occupants et des réservoirs pleins, la masse de l'appareil dépassait la masse maximale autorisée au décollage. Du fait qu'aucun document indiquant que des calculs de masse et centrage ont été faits avant le décollage et que le décollage a toutefois été entrepris, il est permis de conclure que ces calculs n'ont sans doute pas été faits.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le compensateur de profondeur était réglé, sur l'indicateur du poste de pilotage, entre le neutre (décollage) et le plein cabré, ce qui a causé un cabrage très prononcé au décollage suivi d'un décrochage aérodynamique à une altitude insuffisante pour permettre une sortie de décrochage.
  2. La liste de vérifications utilisée par le pilote ne comprenait pas la vérification de la position du compensateur de profondeur avant le décollage.
  3. Le braquage des volets au décollage était incorrect, ce qui a accentué l'instabilité de l'appareil.
  4. L'avion était en surcharge au décollage, et il est peu probable que les calculs de masse et centrage de l'avion aient été effectués avant le vol.
  5. L'avertisseur de décrochage était défectueux et ne s'est probablement pas déclenché au moment du décrochage.
  6. La mauvaise plaque avait été installée sur l'indicateur de position des volets du Cessna 172 accidenté, et elle limitait physiquement l'angle maximal des volets pouvant être sélectionné à 30 degrés.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 24 février 2003.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures), sauf indication contraire.