Aviation Investigation Report A02P0168

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Engine Power Loss
Transwest Helicopters Ltd.
Bell 214B-1 (helicopter) C-GTWH
Smithers, British Columbia, 10 nm S
07 August 2002

Summary

The Bell 214B-1helicopter, C-GTWH, serial number 28017, with two pilots onboard, was engaged in heli-logging operations in Telkwa Pass, about 10 nautical miles south of Smithers, British Columbia. The helicopter was carrying a sling load of logs at about 500 feet above ground level when the engine lost power and the low-rotor warning horn sounded. The load was released and the pilot-in-command conducted an autorotation to a logged-off area at approximately 1530 Pacific daylight time. On landing, the main rotor blades struck terrain, and the aircraft rolled onto its side and was substantially damaged. Neither pilot was injured. The engine continued to operate until the crew shut it down by selecting the fuel shut-off valve off.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The helicopter was owned and operated by Transwest Helicopters Ltd. Both pilots were appropriately certificated and trained for the type of flight being conducted. At the time of the accident, the helicopter had about 500 pounds of fuel onboard and was operating in visual meteorological conditions.

The helicopter was equipped with a single, Honeywell (formerly Lycoming) model T5508D, turboshaft engine, serial number LE31958. The engine was imported from Japan on 24 January 2002 with 6055.5 hours TSN (time since new) and 2070.1 hours TSO (time since overhaul). Transwest Helicopters completed an overhaul of the engine on April 2, and on April 3, installed the engine in C-GTWZ (a Bell 214B helicopter operated by Transwest Helicopters). The engine remained in C-GTWZ for 652.9 hours during which time significant maintenance actions were performed on the engine. This maintenance included the following:

  • replacement of engine wiring harness part number 2-300-274-05 - twice;
  • replacement of the torquemeter kit - twice;
  • removal of the accessory gearbox to investigate ferrous metal on the chip plug;
  • replacement of the scavenge oil pump;
  • replacement of the starter gearbox due to metal generation;
  • replacement of a leaking oil line and a leaking oil fitting;
  • replacement of the second-stage turbine cylinder seal (bump gasket); and,
  • removal of the engine from C-GTWZ to investigate an oil leak.

The Engine Record Technical Logbook indicates that following removal from C-GTWZ (at 652.9 hours TSO) the engine was reassembled, inspected, and prepared for return to service on August 1. The engine was installed in C-GTWH on August 2, where it accumulated a further 31.3 hours in 6 days for a total of 684.2 hours TSO at the time of the accident.

A post-accident teardown revealed extensive internal damage to the combustion section of the engine. The turbine housing was heavily dented outwards in a band coincident with the third turbine (part number 2-140-050-36) blade path, and included at least one puncture. The exhaust diffuser showed heavy impact damage to the struts, and tearing and folding of the outer ring. No remarkable damage was noted to the bearings or bearing housing.

Figure 1 - Turbine cross section

Figure 1.  Turbine cross section


The gas flow through the engine downstream of the combustion chamber is through the first-stage nozzle, the first and second-stage turbines, the second-stage nozzle, and the third-stage turbine (see figures 1 and 2). The first-stage nozzle and first-stage turbine had no significant damage. The second-stage turbine (part number 2-140-040-45), which is coupled to the third-stage turbine via the power turbine disc inner spacer, showed tears and dents on the trailing edges of the blades, mostly toward the blade tips. Four of the blades had tip shrouds missing. The second-stage nozzle (part number 2-140-240-01) had largely disintegrated. A cluster of nine vanes remained attached; the vanes of that cluster were torn and dented from the trailing edge side, with the outboard half being the most affected. The third-stage turbine blading was completely destroyed; only blade roots and stubs remained in the disc.

Figure 2 - Second stage turbine and nozzle

Figure 2.  Second stage turbine and nozzle


Certain key components, including the second-stage nozzle and the third-stage turbine, were sent to the TSB Engineering Branch for further examination and analysis.

The fracture surfaces of the third-stage turbine blades were examined for signs of any progressive failure mechanism. All fracture surfaces exhibited topography consistent with an impact and overstress load condition. No indication of fatigue or other type of time dependant failure mode was found. The leading edges of the blade stubs had been abraded due to contact with the second nozzle.

Although the second-stage nozzle had largely disintegrated, a detailed examination of the remaining structure was conducted. The aft portion of the inner vane support was substantially worn away from being in contact with the forward side of the rotating third turbine. A sample of cracked aft inner support sheet metal was removed and an examination of the fracture surfaces was conducted revealing that the prevailing fracture topography was an oxidized intergranular surface with evidence of multiple secondary cracking. The second-stage nozzle is a brazed assembly. Examination of the remaining seams revealed that the braze between the aft seal and the inner shroud was not uniform and that several areas were nearly devoid of braze. Also, the second-stage nozzle had an unauthorised "window patch" weld repair on the outer ring, and the nozzle serial number appeared to have been altered.


Detailed examination of the serial number inscribed on the second-stage nozzle removed from the engine during the post-accident teardown determined the nozzle serial number to be OC002. This serial number does not match that of any second-stage nozzle manufactured by Honeywell/Lycoming. Maintenance records provided several months after the accident show that nozzle serial number OC002 was sent on 17 January 2002 to have cracks repaired, and that on 28 January 2002 the nozzle was inspected using fluorescent penetrant and subsequently rejected by the company performing the NDT (non-destructive testing). No documentation was found to show that the nozzle was subsequently repaired or determined to be serviceable. On 02 April 2002, four months before the accident, the nozzle was installed in the engine while the engine was in the test cell following the engine overhaul. No maintenance record was found documenting the installation of the subject nozzle. Transwest Helicopters component records (C. A. L. M. Maintenance Tracking Report) incorrectly indicate that on the day of the accident, the second-stage nozzle installed in the engine was serial number 78M005. The Lycoming Engine Log (Major Component Record) indicates that the first and second-stage nozzles installed in the engine were serial number 78M005, which is also not correct.

The engine run-up following overhaul was conducted in a test cell that was not approved by the engine manufacturer for the testing of aircraft engines. The unapproved test cell was not instrumented to measure several parameters required by the engine manufacturer. Calculations to determine engine performance were based in part on measurements that could not be taken in the unapproved test cell. As well, at least one of the calculations done using the test cell run data was done incorrectly.

Records of engine overhaul and engine installation in C-GTWH could not be found in several technical logs required to contain the information.

Honeywell's data base includes one other instance in which failure of the second-stage nozzle in a variant of the T5508D engine was the likely cause of engine failure.

Analysis

Immediately prior to the release of the sling load from the helicopter, the engine lost power. Although the engine continued to run during the autorotation and subsequent roll-over, it was not producing any useful power. Post-accident inspection of the engine revealed damage to the second-stage nozzle and third-stage turbine that would have caused the engine to stop producing power but continue to operate.

Damage to the second-stage nozzle and third-stage turbine indicate that the two components contacted each other while the engine was operating at significant rpm. The damage pattern suggests that the failure sequence was initiated by a loss of integrity of the second-stage nozzle, possibly due to extensive cracking or separation of a braze joint. Such damage is likely to have caused a remarkable loss in delivered engine power, yet insufficient to cause the engine to stop.

About six months before the accident, second-stage nozzle serial number OC002 was rejected following an NDT examination. However, the nozzle was installed in the engine while the engine was in the test-cell two months later. Several significant engine maintenance issues occurred during the 652.9 hours the engine was installed in C-GTWZ following the engine overhaul. It is not known if these issues were related to the failing nozzle.

The engine run-up following its overhaul was conducted in a test cell that was not approved by the engine manufacturer for the purpose of testing engines installed in aircraft. The test cell was not suitable because it lacked instruments to measure several parameters that the engine manufacturer required for re-certification of its engines. As a result, calculations to determine engine performance were based on incomplete and inaccurate data. As well, at least one of the calculations done using the test cell run data was done incorrectly. Accordingly, the engine did not meet the engine manufacturer's approved certification specifications, and it was not airworthy.

The following laboratory report was completed:

  • LP 075/2002-Turbine Components

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The engine failed as the result of the second-stage nozzle failing and coming into contact with the third-stage turbine.
  2. The second-stage nozzle failed, possibly due to extensive cracking or separation of a braze joint.
  3. The second-stage nozzle failed non-destructive testing and was not subsequently repaired or certified airworthy; however, it was installed in the engine.

Findings as to Risk

  1. The engine run following overhaul was performed in an unapproved test cell and was not conducted in accordance with the appropriate procedures resulting in incomplete and inaccurate engine performance data
  2. The documents relating to engine components, specifically for the second-stage nozzle and engine installation, were incomplete and incorrect.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 12 May 2004.

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02P0168

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Perte de puissance moteur
du Bell 214B-1 (hélicoptère) C-GTWH
exploité par Transwest Helicopters Ltd.
à 10 nm au sud de Smithers (Colombie-Britannique)
le 7 août 2002

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Bell 214B-1, immatriculé C-GTWH et portant le numéro de série 28017, effectue des opérations d'hélidébardage avec deux pilotes à bord à Telkwa Pass, endroit situé à quelque 10 milles marins au sud de Smithers (Colombie-Britannique), et il transporte des billots à l'élingue à une hauteur de quelque 500 pieds au-dessus du sol lorsque le moteur tombe en panne et que l'alarme sonore de bas régime rotor se fait entendre. L'équipage largue la charge et le commandant de bord effectue un vol en autorotation jusqu'à une zone bûchée, vers 15 h 30, heure avancée du Pacifique. Au cours de l'atterrissage, les pales du rotor principal heurtent le sol, l'appareil bascule sur le côté et il est lourdement endommagé. Les deux pilotes ne subissent aucune blessure. Le moteur continue de tourner jusqu'à ce que l'équipage le coupe à l'aide du robinet d'arrêt carburant.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère appartenait à l'entreprise Transwest Helicopters Ltd. qui l'exploitait. Les deux pilotes étaient dûment qualifiés et formés pour le type de vol en question. Au moment de l'accident, il y avait quelque 500 livres de carburant à bord de l'hélicoptère et les opérations se déroulaient dans des conditions météorologiques de vol à vue.

L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un unique turbomoteur, un Honeywell (anciennement Lycoming) de modèle T5508D, portant le numéro de série LE31958. Ce moteur avait été importé du Japon le 24 janvier 2002, alors qu'il totalisait 6055,5 heures depuis sa mise en service initiale (TSN) et 2070,1 heures depuis sa révision (TSO). Transwest Helicopters a procédé à une révision générale du moteur le 2 avril 2002 et, le 3 avril 2002, l'entreprise l'a installé sur l'hélicoptère Bell 214B, immatriculé C-GTWZ, qu'elle exploitait également. Ce moteur a équipé le C-GTWZ pendant 652,9 heures, période pendant laquelle il a fait l'objet de nombreux travaux de maintenance, qui comprenaient notamment les interventions suivantes :

  • remplacement du faisceau de câbles moteur de réf. 2-300-274-05 à deux reprises;
  • remplacement du couplemètre à deux reprises;
  • dépose du relais d'accessoires pour chercher la cause de la présence de métaux ferreux sur le bouchon détecteur de limaille;
  • remplacement de la pompe de récupération d'huile;
  • remplacement de la boîte d'engrenage du démarreur à cause de la production de limaille;
  • remplacement d'une conduite d'huile et d'un raccord d'huile qui fuyaient;
  • remplacement du joint d'étanchéité du cylindre de turbine du deuxième étage;
  • dépose du moteur de C-GTWZ pour chercher la cause d'une fuite d'huile.

Le livret technique du moteur indique qu'à la suite de la dépose du moteur du C-GTWZ (à 652,9 heures TSO), on a remonté le moteur, on l'a inspecté et on l'a préparé en vue de sa remise en service le 1er août 2002. Le moteur a été installé dans le C-GTWH le 2 août 2002, où il a accumulé encore 31,3 heures en 6 jours, ce qui donnait un total de 684,2 heures TSO au moment de l'accident.

Une inspection en cours de démontage effectuée après l'accident a révélé d'importants dommages internes au niveau de la chambre de combustion du moteur. Le carter de la turbine était fortement déformé vers l'extérieur au niveau d'une bande correspondant à la trajectoire des aubes de la turbine du troisième étage (réf. 2-140-050-36), et il y avait au moins une perforation. Le diffuseur d'échappement portait d'importants dommages d'impact au niveau de ses supports, et l'anneau extérieur était déchiré et plié. Les paliers et les corps de paliers ne présentaient pas de dommages significatifs.

Figure 1 - Vue en coupe de la turbine

Figure 1.  Vue en coupe de la turbine

L'écoulement des gaz dans le moteur en aval de la chambre de combustion se fait au travers du distributeur du premier étage, des turbines des premier et deuxième étages, du distributeur du deuxième étage et de la turbine du troisième étage (voir les figures 1 et 2). Le distributeur du premier étage et la turbine du premier étage ne portaient pas de dommages significatifs. Le deuxième étage de la turbine (réf. 2-140-040-45), qui est relié à la turbine du troisième étage par l'intermédiaire d'une entretoise interne de disque de turbine, montrait des marques d'usure et des bosselures au niveau du bord de fuite des aubes, surtout en direction de leurs extrémités. Le bout caréné de quatre des aubes manquait. Le distributeur du deuxième étage (réf. 2-140-240-01) était en grande partie désintégré. Un groupe de neuf aubes fixes était demeuré fixé; les aubes fixes de ce groupe étaient tordues et bosselées à partir de leur bord de fuite, et c'est leur moitié extérieure qui était la plus endommagée. L'aubage de la turbine du troisième étage était complètement détruit; seuls des talons et des moignons d'aube se trouvaient encore sur le disque.

Figure 2 - Deuxième étage de turbine et distributeur

Figure 2.  Deuxième étage de turbine et distributeur

Certains composants importants, comme le distributeur du deuxième étage et la turbine du troisième étage, ont été envoyés au Laboratoire technique du BST à des fins d'examen et d'analyse.

On a examiné les surfaces fracturées des aubes de la turbine du troisième étage à la recherche de signes de tout phénomène de défaillance progressive. Toutes les surfaces fracturées montraient une topographie typique d'un impact et de fractures en surcharge. On n'a constaté aucun signe de fatigue ni d'autre mode de défaillance tributaire du temps. Les bords d'attaque des moignons d'aube avaient été usés à la suite d'un contact avec le distributeur du deuxième étage.

Même si le distributeur du deuxième étage était en grande partie désintégré, on a néanmoins procédé à un examen approfondi de la structure restante. La partie arrière du support intérieur des aubes fixes avait subi une importante usure à la suite de son contact avec la partie avant de la turbine du troisième étage en rotation. On a prélevé un échantillon de la tôle du support intérieur arrière criqué, et l'examen des surfaces fracturées a révélé que la topographie de fracture prédominante était une surface intergranulaire oxydée avec des signes de criquage secondaire multiple. Le distributeur du deuxième étage est un composant brasé. L'examen des joints brasés restants a révélé que la brasure entre le joint arrière et l'enveloppe interne n'était pas uniforme et qu'en plusieurs endroits, il n'y avait pratiquement pas de brasure. En outre, le distributeur du deuxième étage avait fait l'objet d'une réparation par soudure de type « pièce rapportée en hublot » non autorisée au niveau de l'anneau extérieur, et le numéro de série du distributeur semblait avoir été modifié.

L'examen approfondi du numéro de série inscrit sur le distributeur du deuxième étage déposé du moteur après l'accident à des fins d'inspection en cours de démontage a révélé que ledit numéro était OC002. Ce numéro de série ne correspond à aucun distributeur de deuxième étage fabriqué par la firme Honeywell/Lycoming. Les dossiers de maintenance fournis plusieurs mois après l'accident ont révélé que le distributeur portant le numéro de série OC002 avait été envoyé en réparation le 17 janvier 2002 afin de corriger un problème de criques, qu'il avait fait l'objet d'une inspection par ressuage au liquide fluorescent le 28 janvier 2002 et que l'entreprise chargée de cet essai non destructif (END) avait rejeté le distributeur. On n'a trouvé aucun document pouvant confirmer si le distributeur a été par la suite réparé ou jugé en bon état de service. Le 2 avril 2002, soit quatre mois avant l'accident, on a installé le distributeur en question dans le moteur alors que ce dernier se trouvait au banc d'essai à la suite d'une révision générale. On n'a trouvé aucun dossier de maintenance portant sur l'installation de ce distributeur sur le moteur. Les dossiers de suivi des composants de Transwest Helicopters (rapport de suivi de maintenance C. A. L. M.) indiquaient à tort que, le jour de l'accident, le distributeur du deuxième étage installé dans le moteur portait le numéro de série 78M005. Le registre du moteur Lycoming (registre des composants principaux) indiquait que les distributeurs du premier et du deuxième étage installés dans le moteur portaient le numéro de série 78M005, ce qui est également erroné.

Le point fixe moteur qui a suivi la révision générale a été effectué sur un banc d'essai qui n'était pas approuvé par le motoriste pour les essais de moteurs installés dans des aéronefs. Ce banc d'essai non approuvé ne possédait pas les instruments nécessaires pour mesurer plusieurs paramètres exigés par le motoriste. Les calculs visant à déterminer les performances du moteur reposaient partiellement sur des éléments qu'il était impossible de mesurer à l'aide du banc d'essai non approuvé. En outre, au moins un des calculs effectués à partir des données obtenues à l'aide de ce banc d'essai n'avait pas été fait correctement.

Il a été impossible de trouver des inscriptions concernant la révision générale et l'installation du moteur dans le C-GTWH dans divers registres techniques qui auraient normalement dû contenir ces renseignements.

La base de données de la firme Honeywell contient un autre cas où la défaillance du distributeur du deuxième étage dans une variante du moteur T5508D était la cause probable de la panne moteur.

Analyse

Juste avant que l'équipage ne largue la charge à l'élingue de l'hélicoptère, le moteur a perdu de la puissance. Même s'il a continué à tourner pendant le vol en autorotation et lors du basculement au sol qui a suivi, il ne produisait plus aucune puissance utile. L'inspection du moteur après l'accident a révélé l'existence de dommages au niveau du distributeur du deuxième étage et de la turbine du troisième étage qui auraient pu empêcher le moteur de produire de la puissance tout en lui permettant de continuer à tourner.

Les dommages constatés sur le distributeur du deuxième étage et sur la turbine du troisième étage révèlent que ces deux composants sont entrés en contact au moment où le moteur tournait à un régime relativement élevé. Le profil des dommages laisse croire que la séquence de défaillance a débuté par une perte d'intégrité du distributeur du deuxième étage, éventuellement attribuable à un criquage important ou à la rupture d'un joint brasé. De tels dommages ont sans doute provoqué une baisse considérable de la puissance développée par le moteur, baisse néanmoins insuffisante pour que ce dernier cesse de tourner.

Environ six mois avant l'accident, le distributeur du deuxième étage portant le numéro de série OC002 avait été rejeté à la suite d'un examen de type END. Ce distributeur a néanmoins été installé dans le moteur alors que ce dernier se trouvait au banc d'essai deux mois plus tard. De nombreux travaux de maintenance importants ont été faits au cours de la période de 652,9 heures qui a suivi la révision générale du moteur et son installation dans le C-GTWZ. Il n'a pas été déterminé si ces travaux étaient reliés au distributeur défaillant.

Le point fixe moteur qui a suivi la révision générale a été effectué sur un banc d'essai qui n'était pas approuvé par le motoriste pour les essais de moteurs installés dans des aéronefs. Ce banc d'essai ne possédait pas tous les instruments nécessaires pour mesurer divers paramètres exigés par le motoriste pour la recertification de ses moteurs. Par conséquent, les calculs visant à déterminer les performances du moteur étaient basés sur des données incomplètes et imprécises. En outre, au moins un des calculs effectués à l'aide des données obtenues au moyen du banc d'essai non approuvé avait été mal fait. Par conséquent, le moteur ne répondait pas aux spécifications de certification approuvées du motoriste, et il n'était donc pas en état de navigabilité.

L'enquête a donné lieu au rapport de laboratoire suivant :

  • LP 075/2002 - Turbine Components (Composants de turbine)

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le moteur est tombé en panne à la suite de la défaillance du distributeur du deuxième étage qui est entré en contact avec la turbine du troisième étage.
  2. La défaillance du distributeur du deuxième étage a sans doute été causée par un criquage important ou par la rupture d'un joint brasé.
  3. Le distributeur du deuxième étage avait été rejeté au moment d'un essai non destructif et n'avait été par la suite ni réparé ni certifié en état de navigabilité, mais il a néanmoins été installé dans le moteur.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Le point fixe moteur effectué à la suite de la révision générale a été fait à l'aide d'un banc d'essai non approuvé, et les procédures utilisées n'étaient pas appropriées. Par conséquent, les données sur les performances du moteur étaient incomplètes et imprécises.
  2. Les documents relatifs aux composants du moteur, et plus spécifiquement à l'installation du distributeur du deuxième étage et du moteur, étaient incomplets et incorrects.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 12 mai 2004.