Aviation Investigation Report A02Q0021

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

In-flight Engagement of Collective Lever Lock
Héli-Inter Inc.
Eurocopter AS 350 BA C-FPOO
Val-d'Or Airport, Quebec
22 February 2002

Summary

Héli-Inter Inc. AS 350 BA, registration C-FPOO, serial number 2508, with one pilot and two aircraft maintenance engineers (AMEs) on board, was making a series of flights to adjust rotor blade alignment and autorotation rpm. On the second autorotation of the flight, the collective lever locking plate accidentally engaged without the pilot's knowledge and locked the flight control against the low stop. About 800 feet above ground level (agl), the pilot tried to arrest the descent and pulled on the locked collective lever, but he could not free it. The aircraft continued its descent and, after the flare, landed hard. The pilot was uninjured and the AMEs sustained minor injuries. The aircraft did not catch fire but sustained substantial damage. The time of the occurrence was 1348 eastern standard time.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

History of the Flight

Three days before the occurrence, the pilot and the company check pilot did several practice autorotations. They noted that autorotation rpm was 60 rpm slower than the speed specified for the aircraft weight at the chosen altitude.

On the day of the occurrence, an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) working for Héli Technik Inc., an approved maintenance organisation (AMO), backed off the collective low stop screw six turns to raise autorotation rpm. He also had to remove, adjust, and reinstall the collective lock located on the floor. The pilot and one AME then made three flights to adjust main rotor blade alignment. Those flights were without incident. The fourth flight, which was the occurrence flight, was to check the rotor rpm on autorotation. The pilot and two AMEs were on board the helicopter. At 1200 feet above ground level (agl), the pilot performed an autorotation with the collective against the low stop at a speed of 80 mph. On this check, he reduced drive power to idle. Rotor speed was 365 rpm. After increasing power, the pilot noticed a small amount of friction in the collective movement. He checked lever travel by raising and lowering it a few times. Noting that the control was moving normally, the pilot climbed to 1400 feet agl, where he initiated a second autorotation. The autorotation was normal down to 800 feet agl. After re-applying power, the pilot noticed that the collective locking plate was engaged and was impeding lever movement. The pilot tried unsuccessfully to disengage the locking plate with his thumb.

About 40 feet above ground, the pilot executed a flare and landed on Runway 36 at a speed of about 20 mph. After the initial touchdown, the aircraft bounced and fell hard on its belly. The tail rotor drive shaft was severed on the second impact, and the helicopter started to spin about its main rotor mast until an AME closed the throttle; the pilot was concerned that the collective would be released suddenly and cause the aircraft to lift off, so he used his left hand to hold the lever down rather than cut power. The helicopter came to rest and the pilot finished shutting down all systems before evacuating the aircraft.

When the aircraft came to rest, the pilot could not notify Val-d'Or radio because the radio was out of order. The emergency locator transmitter (ELT) activated at 13481. The airport security officer arrived at the occurrence site at 1350:50. Rescue 1 arrived at the site at 1356. An ambulance arrived at the emergency control centre at 1405, and was directed to the site 17 minutes after the crash.

The Pilot

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had about 4500 flying hours on helicopters, including about 900 hours on AS 350.

Helicopter Flight Manual

Section 4.1 of the AS 350 BA Flight Manual requires that the friction setting on the cyclic and collective levers be adjusted on the pre-flight check so as to prevent the levers from moving without pilot input during flight. During the pre-flight check, the pilot unlocked the collective control to adjust the friction setting, and could have noticed whether the locking tab interfered with the collective control.

Since the main rotor rpm was less than the speed published by the manufacturer, the pilot had to do autorotation checks. The correct range for autorotation rotor speed was 395-415 rpm. The target rpm would depend on the altitude and weight of the aircraft.

The procedure followed by the pilot, which was to reduce power when checking autorotation rpm, was different from the procedure published in the aircraft flight manual. First, the check should have been done at full power; and second, in the case of an engine-out drill, the fuel flow control should not have been returned to full power, while monitoring the T4 temperature, until the autorotation was completed and the aircraft was on the ground. The pilot followed the procedure he was taught during autorotation training on that type of helicopter.

The Helicopter

Eurocopter AS 350 BA, registration C-FPOO, serial number 2508, type certificate H83, had been repaired using structural/fuselage parts from a damaged AS 350 D aircraft, serial number 1131. Héli-Expert, who owned the two damaged helicopters, had obtained permission from Transport Canada to have the C-FPOO repaired and converted into an AS 350 BA. Héli Fix Services Inc., an approved maintenance organization (AMO), completed the project in one stage up to maintenance release.

Eurocopter had issued Service Bulletin (SB) 01-00-035 "Conversion AS 350 B Helicopter into AS 350 BA Version". But this SB was effective only if the AS 350 B was airworthy at the time of conversion. Transport Canada approved the conversion without regard to the effectivity limitation prescribed by Eurocopter. The project included 14 supplemental type certifications, including a powerplant change. Examination of the occurrence helicopter and its records indicate that modification 350A07-1995 (blanking of upper cavity in collective pitch lever stop), deriving from SB 01-00-035, was not completed. Moreover, modification 350A07-0679, which consisted of replacing the normal collective lever with a collective lever with a control box mounted at the end, was only partly completed; the collective lever low-pitch stop adjusting screw had not been inverted.

Upon receipt of a signed application for a Certificate of Airworthiness attesting that all applicable airworthiness requirements had been complied with and that the aircraft conformed to its type design, Transport Canada completed an inspection of the converted aircraft and issued a Certificate of Airworthiness on 08 June 2001. The helicopter had accumulated about 300 hours at the time of the occurrence.

Damage to the Helicopter

When examining the occurrence helicopter before it was moved, an AME noted and reported that the collective lever locking plate was not engaged and, after engagement, it disengaged normally with light pressure on the collective lever; these observations were corroborated by the TSB investigator. But the space between the end of the collective lever and the electrical console was about 5 mm (see Photo 1), which is 11 mm less than the Eurocopter specification (16 mm ± 0.5 mm) (see Photo 2).

Witness statements indicated that the space between the electrical console and the end of the collective lever was greater than was observed after the occurrence, and the locking plate did not interfere with collective lever travel.

Autorotation rotor rpm is set by adjusting the pitch links and rotor control links. Based on the rigging tool specified by Eurocopter, it was established that the adjustment of the pitch change links from the blades to the swash plate and the control links from the input rods to the servo-controls exceeded the manufacturer's dimensions by 5 mm and 8.9 mm, respectively. Consequently, the collective lever was lower than it should have been for a given blade pitch, resulting in low rotor rpm on autorotation.

Photo 1 - Space for locking plate: 5mm

Photo 1.  Space for locking plate: 5 mm

Photo 2 - Normal position with space of 16 mm

Photo 2.  Normal position with space of 16 mm

The Approved Maintenance Organization

Héli Fix Services Inc. held an approved maintenance organization (AMO) certificate and was incorporated on 22 March 2000. The AMO was managed and operated by its president, who was also director of maintenance and an AME. He also provided a helicopter importing and rebuilding service. For the previous 12 years, he had held an aircraft maintenance engineer licence for rotary-wing aircraft, which was valid for the AS 350, EC120, B 206 and R22. He was also director of maintenance for three air operators and maintained their aircraft.

Analysis

Records indicate that the pilot was certified and qualified for the flight. Examination of the occurrence helicopter revealed that the locking plate disengaged readily when pressure was applied on the collective lever. However, the pilot was unable to disengage the lock. The pilot discovered he was in a critical situation at an altitude of about 800 feet agl when he realized that the collective lever was locked. The helicopter's high rate of closing with the ground allowed him little time to locate the cause of the problem and take appropriate action. The stress of the situation and his heavy workload may have hindered his concentration and limited his ability to convey the urgency of the situation to the passengers. The pilot had to press on the collective lever to disengage the plate, then pull it back to arrest the descent. It is possible that incorrect timing of the pilot's actions to free the collective stick prevented him from disengaging the plate.

Autorotation rpm was low, and the in-flight checks were intended to correct that problem. When doing these checks, the pilot did not follow published procedures when he reduced engine power instead of leaving it at full as specified for a descent to check autorotation rpm. The procedure he had elected to use required more pilot inputs, thereby complicating his task.

Examination of the occurrence helicopter also revealed that some work had not been completed by the AMO. The stop screw was in an inverted position, and the connecting rods were shorter than those prescribed by the manufacturer, which allowed the collective control to overtravel down. This condition, combined with the down setting of the collective lever and the collective locking plate setting, contributed to the locking of the collective control by reducing the space between the electrical console and the collective lever.

Supervision by Transport Canada was inadequate before, during and after the rebuild and conversion of C-FPOO. The investigation determined that Transport Canada authorized the conversion of an AS 350 B into an AS 350 BA without regard to the effectivity limitation prescribed by Eurocopter; that supervision by Transport Canada did not detect the deficiencies in the work performed by the AMO; and that these deficiencies are not noted in the Transport Canada approval documentation for the aircraft. Consequently, Transport Canada should not have issued a certificate of airworthiness for this aircraft.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The collective lever locking plate accidentally engaged, and the pilot was unable to free the collective and slow his descent sufficiently before touching down.
  2. The stop screw was in an inverted position, and the connecting rods were shorter than those prescribed by the manufacturer, which allowed the collective control to overtravel down. This condition, combined with the down setting of the collective lever and the collective locking plate setting, contributed to the locking of the collective control by reducing the space between the electrical console and the collective lever.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Transport Canada authorized the conversion of an AS 350 B into an AS 350 BA without regard to the effectivity limitation prescribed by Service Bulletin 01-00-35.
  2. Transport Canada did not detect the deficiencies in the maintenance work related to the repair and conversion of the aircraft.
  3. Transport Canada issued a Certificate of Airworthiness although the helicopter was not airworthy.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 21 May 2004.


1. All times are eastern standard time (Coordinated Universal Time minus five hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02Q0021

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Blocage du levier de pas collectif en vol
de l'hélicoptère Eurocopter AS 350 BA C-FPOO
exploité par Héli-Inter inc.
à l'aéroport de Val-d'Or (Québec)
le 22 février 2002

Résumé

L'AS 350 BA de Héli-Inter inc., immatriculé C-FPOO, numéro de série 2508, avec un pilote et deux techniciens d'entretien d'aéronef à son bord, effectue une série de vols afin d'ajuster l'alignement des pales et de régler la vitesse rotor en autorotation. Lors de la deuxième autorotation, la lame de verrouillage du levier de pas collectif s'engage accidentellement à l'insu du pilote et bloque la commande de vol en butée minimum. À environ 800 pieds au-dessus du sol, le pilote tente d'arrêter la descente et tire sur le levier de pas collectif qui est bloqué, mais il ne peut le dégager. L'appareil continue sa descente, le pilote exécute un arrondi et fait un atterrissage lourd. Le pilote sort indemne de l'accident, mais les techniciens subissent des blessures légères. L'appareil n'a pas pris feu, mais est lourdement endommagé. L'accident s'est produit à 13 h 48, heure normale de l'Est.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Déroulement du vol

Trois jours avant l'accident, le pilote et le pilote vérificateur de la compagnie avaient effectué plusieurs exercices d'autorotation. Ils avaient constaté que le régime rotor en autorotation était de 60 tours par minute (tr/min) plus lent que le régime rotor spécifié pour la masse de l'appareil à l'altitude choisie.

Le jour de l'accident, un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA), qui travaillait pour l'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) Héli Technik inc., a dévissé la vis de butée minimum du levier de pas collectif de six tours afin d'augmenter la vitesse rotor en autorotation. Il a également dû enlever, ajuster puis replacer la lame de verrouillage du levier de pas collectif située sur le plancher. Le pilote et un TEA ont ensuite effectué trois vols afin d'ajuster l'alignement des pales du rotor principal. Les vols se sont déroulés sans problème. Le quatrième vol, celui ayant mené à l'accident, avait pour objet de contrôler la vitesse du rotor en autorotation. Le pilote et deux TEA étaient à bord de l'appareil. À 1200 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), le pilote a effectué une autorotation en butée minimale à une vitesse de 80 mi/h. Lors de cette vérification, il a diminué la puissance motrice jusqu'au régime ralenti. La vitesse rotor était de 365 tr/min. Après avoir remis les gaz, le pilote a ressenti une petite friction momentanée lorsqu'il a tiré sur le levier de pas collectif. Il s'est alors assuré du bon débattement du levier de pas collectif en le tirant et en l'abaissant à quelques reprises. Étant donné que la commande de vol se déplaçait normalement, le pilote est monté à 1400 pieds agl où il a effectué une deuxième autorotation. L'autorotation s'est déroulée normalement jusqu'à 800 pieds agl. Après la remise de puissance, le pilote a constaté que la lame de verrouillage du levier de pas collectif était engagée et bloquait la commande de vol. Le pilote a tenté de dégager la lame avec son pouce sans y parvenir.

À environ 40 pieds agl, le pilote a effectué un arrondi et exécuté un atterrissage à environ 20 mi/h sur la piste 36. Après avoir touché le sol, l'appareil a rebondi et est retombé brutalement sur le ventre. Étant donné que l'arbre de transmission de rotor de queue s'était sectionné après le second impact, l'hélicoptère s'est mis à tournoyer sur lui-même jusqu'à ce qu'un TEA coupe les gaz; craignant que le levier de pas collectif se libère inopinément et précipite l'appareil en vol, le pilote a préféré maintenir le levier abaissé avec sa main gauche plutôt que de couper lui-même les gaz. Une fois l'hélicoptère immobilisé, le pilote a complété l'arrêt des systèmes avant d'évacuer l'appareil.

Lorsque l'appareil s'est immobilisé, le pilote n'a pu aviser Val-d'Or radio parce que la radio de l'hélicoptère ne fonctionnait pas. La radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) s'est déclenchée à 13 h 48, heure normale de l'Est (HNE)1. L'agent de sécurité de l'aéroport est arrivé sur les lieux de l'accident à 13 h 50 min 50 s. Le camion Sauvetage 1 est arrivé sur les lieux à 13 h 56. Une ambulance est arrivée au centre de contrôle d'urgence à 14 h 5 avant d'être dirigée sur le site de l'accident 17 minutes après l'écrasement.

Le pilote

Le pilote possédait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait environ 4500 heures de vol sur hélicoptère, dont quelque 900 heures sur l'AS 350.

Le manuel de vol de l'hélicoptère

La section 4.1 du manuel de vol de l'AS 350 BA spécifie que lors des vérifications avant décollage, on doit ajuster la friction du cyclique et du levier de pas collectif de manière à ce que les commandes ne bougent pas sans l'intervention du pilote pendant le vol. Lors de cette vérification avant le décollage, le pilote a déverrouillé la commande de collectif pour ajuster la friction et aurait pu observer si la languette de verrouillage interférait avec le collectif.

Étant donné que la vitesse du rotor principal était inférieure à celle publiée par le constructeur, le pilote devait effectuer des vérifications en autorotation. La plage en autorotation devait se situer entre 395 et 415 tr/min. La valeur cible était déterminée en fonction de l'altitude et de la masse de l'appareil.

La procédure suivie par le pilote, qui consistait à réduire la puissance lors de la vérification du régime rotor en autorotation, divergeait de celle publiée dans le manuel de vol de l'appareil. D'une part, la vérification devait s'effectuer à plein régime; d'autre part, dans le cas d'un exercice de panne moteur, la manette de contrôle de débit de carburant ne devait être remise en position pleins gaz en contrôlant la température T4, qu'après l'autorotation, une fois au sol. Le pilote a utilisé la procédure qui lui avait été enseignée lors des exercices d'autorotation sur ce type d'appareil.

L'hélicoptère

Le C-FPOO, un Eurocopter AS 350 BA, numéro de série 2508, certification de type H83, avait été réparé en utilisant des composantes provenant d'un hélicoptère AS 350D accidenté, numéro de série 1131. Suite à la demande de Héli-Expert, propriétaire des deux hélicoptères accidentés, Transports Canada avait autorisé la réparation du C-FPOO et sa transformation en un AS 350 BA. Héli Fix Services inc., un organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA), assurait en une seule étape l'achèvement du projet jusqu'à la remise en service.

Eurocopter avait émis le bulletin de service (SB) no 01-00-035 « Transformation d'un appareil AS 350 B en AS 350 BA ». Toutefois, ce bulletin n'était applicable que si l'AS 350 B était en état de navigabilité au moment de la transformation. Transports Canada a approuvé la transformation sans tenir compte du critère d'applicabilité stipulé par Eurocopter. Quatorze certifications de type complémentaire, dont un changement de motorisation, ont été exécutées lors des travaux. L'examen de l'appareil en cause dans le présent accident et de ses dossiers a révélé que la modification 350A07-1995 (fermeture de la cavité supérieure de la butée du levier de pas collectif) découlant du bulletin 01-00-035 n'avait pas été accomplie. De plus, la modification no 350A07-0679, qui consistait à remplacer le levier de pas collectif habituel par un levier de pas collectif muni d'une boîte de commande située à son extrémité, avait été partiellement exécutée; le renversement de la vis de réglage butée petit pas du levier de pas collectif n'avait pas été effectué.

Suite à la demande d'un certificat de navigabilité qui attestait que toutes les conditions de navigabilité applicables avaient été respectées et que l'appareil était conforme à sa certification de type, Transports Canada avait effectué une inspection de l'appareil converti avant de délivrer un certificat de navigabilité le 8 juin 2001. L'aéronef totalisait environ 300 heures au moment de l'accident.

Examen des dommages de l'hélicoptère

Lors de l'examen de l'aéronef en cause dans l'accident avant qu'il soit déplacé, un TEA a observé et signalé que la lame de verrouillage du levier de pas collectif n'était pas engagée et que la lame se déverrouillait normalement après avoir été engagée en appliquant une légère pression sur le levier de pas collectif; ces observations ont été corroborées par l'enquêteur du BST. Cependant, l'espace entre l'extrémité du levier de pas collectif et la console était d'environ 5 mm (voir la photo 1) soit 11 mm inférieurs à l'espace spécifié (16 mm +/- 0.5 mm) par Eurocopter (voir la photo 2).

Photo 1 - Espace de 5 mm pour la lame de verrou

Photo 1. Espace de 5 mm pour la lame de verrou

Photo 2 - Position normale avec espace de 16 mm

Photo 2.  Position normale avec espace de 16 mm

Selon l'information recueillie, l'espace entre la console et l'extrémité du levier de pas collectif était supérieur à celui observé après l'accident, et la lame de verrouillage ne gênait pas le débattement du levier de pas collectif.

Le réglage de la vitesse rotor en autorotation est effectué en ajustant les biellettes et les bielles de la chaîne de commande rotor. Le gabarit de réglage spécifié par Eurocopter a permis d'établir que le réglage des biellettes de changement de pas, des pales au plateau cyclique, et des bielles d'attaque à l'entrée des servocommandes excédaient les dimensions du constructeur de 5 mm et 8.9 mm, respectivement. Par conséquent, le levier de pas collectif était plus bas qu'il aurait dû l'être pour un angle de pale donné, d'où un régime rotor bas en autorotation.

L'organisme de maintenance agréé

Héli Fix Services inc. était titulaire d'un certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) et avait été formé le 22 mars 2000. L'OMA était dirigé et exploité par son président qui cumulait aussi les fonctions de directeur de la maintenance et de TEA. Il offrait aussi un service d'importation et de reconstruction d'hélicoptères. Il possédait une licence de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef voilure tournante depuis 12 ans valide pour les AS 350, EC120, B 206 et R22. Il occupait également le poste de directeur de l'entretien chez trois exploitants aériens dont il entretenait les appareils.

Analyse

L'examen des dossiers a révélé que le pilote possédait les connaissances et les compétences pour effectuer le vol planifié. L'examen de l'appareil en cause dans l'accident a permis d'établir que la lame de verrouillage se désengageait sans peine quand on appuyait sur le levier de pas collectif. Toutefois, le pilote n'a pas réussi à repousser la lame. Le pilote s'est retrouvé dans une situation dramatique à quelque 800 pieds agl quand il a constaté que le levier de pas collectif était bloqué. En raison du taux de rapprochement élevé de l'hélicoptère avec le sol, le pilote avait peu de temps pour identifier la cause du problème et agir en conséquence. Le stress de la situation et une charge de travail élevée ont pu réduire sa concentration et limiter sa capacité de communiquer l'état d'urgence aux passagers. Le pilote devait appuyer sur le levier de pas collectif pour libérer la lame, puis le tirer pour arrêter la descente. Il est possible qu'un synchronisme imprécis des actions du pilote pour libérer le levier de pas collectif n'a pas permis de dégager la lame.

La vitesse rotor en autorotation était basse, et les vérifications en vol visaient à corriger le problème. Ce faisant, le pilote n'a pas suivi les procédures publiées lorsqu'il a réduit la puissance du moteur au lieu de la tenir à plein régime, tel que spécifié pour une descente de vérification du régime rotor. La procédure qu'il avait choisi d'accomplir demandait plus de manipulation et rendait la tâche plus compliquée.

L'examen de l'appareil en cause dans l'accident a aussi révélé que certains travaux n'avaient pas été complétés par l'OMA. La vis de butée, qui était en position inversée, et les bielles plus courtes que celles prescrites par le constructeur permettaient au collectif une course excessive vers le bas. Cette condition, combinée au réglage vers le bas du collectif et de la lame de verrouillage, a contribué au blocage du levier de pas collectif en diminuant l'espace entre la console et le collectif.

La surveillance exercée par Transports Canada avant, pendant et après les travaux de reconstruction et de transformation de C-FPOO était insuffisante. En effet, l'enquête a déterminé que Transports Canada a autorisé la transformation d'un AS 350 B en un AS 350 BA sans tenir compte du critère d'applicabilité stipulé par Eurocopter, que la surveillance exercée par Transports Canada n'a pas permis de déceler les irrégularités commises par l'OMA pendant les travaux et que, finalement, les documents d'acceptation de l'appareil par Transports Canada ne faisaient pas état des manquements mentionnés précédemment. Par conséquent, Transports Canada n'aurait pas dû délivrer de certificat de navigabilité pour l'appareil en question.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La lame de verrouillage du levier de pas collectif s'est engagée accidentellement, et le pilote n'a pas pu libérer le levier de pas collectif et n'a pas pu réussir à ralentir suffisamment sa descente avant de toucher le sol.
  2. La vis de butée, qui était en position inversée, et les bielles plus courtes que celles prescrites par le constructeur, permettaient au collectif une course excessive vers le bas. Cette condition, combinée au réglage vers le bas du collectif et de la lame de verrouillage, a contribué au blocage du levier de pas collectif en diminuant l'espace entre la console et le collectif.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Transports Canada a autorisé la transformation d'un hélicoptère AS 350 B en un AS 350 BA sans tenir compte du critère d'applicabilité du bulletin de service 01-00-35.
  2. Transports Canada n'a pas décelé les irrégularités de maintenance commises pendant les travaux de réparation et de transformation de l'appareil.
  3. Transports Canada a délivré un certificat de navigabilité alors que l'appareil n'était pas en état de navigabilité.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 21 mai 2004.


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HNE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins cinq heures).