Aviation Investigation Report A02W0064

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Collision with Terrain
Valley B Aviation
Robinson R22 Beta Helicopter C-FVBG
Manning Alberta 20 nm W
08 April 2002

Summary

The Valley B Aviation Robinson R22 Beta helicopter, registration C-FVBG, serial number 2534, was on a round robin flight from Manning, Alberta, to several local natural gas well sites to document instrument readings. At approximately 1525 mountain daylight time, Rescue Coordination Centre (RCC) Trenton, Ontario received an emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal from the area, 20 nautical miles west of Manning, and notified all area operators. The aircraft was found 90 minutes later. It had struck the ground on the perimeter of one of the well sites, 11-6. The pilot was fatally injured and the helicopter was substantially damaged.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Robinson R22 Beta helicopter was manufactured in 1994 and imported into Canada in 2000. It had accumulated approximately 1318 hours time in service. The helicopter was equipped for visual flight rules (VFR) operations, and was used mainly to access natural gas field well sites for servicing, when other modes of transport were impractical.

Records indicated that the helicopter was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The helicopter had no known deficiencies before the first flight of the day, and was being operated within its weight and centre of gravity limits. There was useable fuel on board of the proper grade and quantity to complete the flight.

On the day of the occurrence, the pilot, a part owner of the company, had set out at 1000 mountain daylight time (MDT)1 to obtain readings from nine well sites and one gas plant. The pilot called the company dispatch at 1130 and again at 1440, according to flight following records. The 1440 call indicated that well lease site 11-6 and the "Buick" gas compression plant were the last two sites that needed to be visited. He also indicated that there were some wind gusts that afternoon. The call did not specify his current location, or in which order he would be visiting the well site and gas plant. Paper work obtained from the wreckage showed that all nine well sites and the gas plant were attended by the pilot.

The pilot had approximately 1625 hours of helicopter experience, mostly in R22 and R44 helicopters. He had flown approximately 2 hours on the day of the accident, 4 hours total in the last 7 days, and 7 hours total in both the last 30- and 90-day periods.

The closest weather reporting facility to the accident site was Peace River, Alberta, 40 nautical miles (nm) to the southeast. The 1500 weather in Peace River was reported as follows: winds 220ºT at 9 knots, visibility 15 statute miles (sm), a few clouds at 3500 feet above ground level (agl), temperature minus 4ºC, dew point minus 15ºC, and altimeter 29.95. At 1600, the winds and clouds were essentially the same with the temperature minus 3ºC and the dew point at minus 14ºC. The graphic area forecast depicted no significant weather for the Peace River area at 1800; however, the Peace River Airport experienced reduced visibilities of 2 sm in light snow showers with an overcast ceiling of 2000 feet. Satellite imagery of the area taken at 1634 showed cloud cover in the Peace River area, with the edge of the clouds in the approximate location of the accident.

Local pilots described the weather in Manning, 20 nm east of accident site, and at the accident site as mid- to high-level clouds, no significant winds, and the temperature around the freezing mark. There was no observed snow or rain on the wreckage or the ground when the helicopter was found. The 1500 and 1600 Peace River temperatures and dew points were outside of the ranges which could induce carburetor icing2.

Postmortem examination and toxicology screening of the pilot did not reveal any indication that incapacitation or physiological factors affected the pilot's performance. The pilot had sustained significant injuries to the left side of his torso. The aircraft seats were equipped with a combined seat belt and inertia reel shoulder strap with a single latch. The female portion of pilot's belt latch was found impacted through a sheet metal panel between the seats, with a clean entrance hole. There was no indication that the male portion of the combined belt was attached to the latch at the time of impact.

The helicopter had crashed in the northwest corner of a well site. Several tree tops were observed to have been struck and broken. A tree, approximately 60 feet tall and 35 feet behind the wreckage, held a nearly intact tail rotor and tail cone section about 2 feet long. The remainder of the hull was forward of this on the edge of the site, in an upright position, with the engine section deeper in the ground than the cabin. The bottom portion of the tail rotor warning stinger was found approximately 40 feet forward and to the right (about 45º) of the main wreckage. The forward portion of the tail boom had two main rotor strike indications. Each M/R blade also had a bent leading edge and paint residue from the tail boom. Most of the windscreen/canopy was shattered into various pieces and spread forward of the main cabin. A section of tail boom that held the rotating beacon had been hit with a main rotor blade and was approximately 50 feet in front of the cabin. The tail rotor drive shaft was to the right of the wreckage approximately 150 feet. (See Appendix A).

A comprehensive examination of the aircraft wreckage was carried out, initially at the accident site and later at the TSB wreckage examination facility in Edmonton, Alberta. The engine and various other components were examined at Transport Canada approved overhaul facilities in Edmonton and at the TSB Engineering Branch in Ottawa. It was determined that there were no defects of any components that contributed directly to the accident.

The alternator, an Electrosystems model ALY-842OLS, had 1318.6 hours in service, and was examined at an overhaul facility. There was no structural damage to the alternator, but the brushes were worn well beyond the service limit marks, almost to the point of non-existence. One of the brushes had slipped out of position because of its extreme wear, and the alternator was not producing any power to the electrical system at the time of the accident. The aircraft was equipped with an amber alternator warning light which illuminates to indicate low voltage and possible alternator failure. The manufacturer's Pilot's Operating Handbook, Emergency Procedures, Section III, pages 3 to 8, requires that the pilot turn off all non-essential electrical equipment, turn the ALT (alternator) switch to OFF and back ON after one second to reset the over-voltage relay, and if the lamp is still illuminated, to land as soon as practical. It continues, stating that "continued flight without a functioning alternator can result in loss of the electronic tachometer, producing a hazardous flight condition".

The ALT switch and switches for the strobe lights, radio/navigation equipment, and cabin heat blower were found in the ON positions. The position of any of these before the crash sequence could not be determined. The alternator is operated in an "on condition" basis. There is no requirement by the regulatory authority or the manufacturer to inspect or replace this component at a specified time, other than when it fails. It could not be determined when the alternator ceased providing power.

The aircraft electrical system operates at 12 volts. A thorough analysis and testing of the engine/main rotor tachometer indicator, engine governor, and battery relay were carried out by the manufacturer to determine how these components functioned in a continuously dropping voltage environment. Tests showed that with a constant 104 per cent input signal (engine and main rotor speed), the indicator maintained accurate output indication down to approximately the 8-volt level, then indicated progressively lower than 104 per cent as voltage continued to drop.

The engine governor is designed to maintain the engine RPM in a range from 97 to 104 per cent. Similarly, with a low voltage power input, it will also command the engine to increase as power voltage nears 8 volts and less. The battery relay from the accident aircraft was tested and could maintain battery voltage to the main buses until 1.8 volts was reached. Approximately 48 hours after the crash, the battery no load voltage was measured at 2.5 volts. The battery and individual cells were not damaged. Battery charge state immediately before the accident could not be determined.

The R22 helicopter has a low-inertia rotor system. The main rotor of a helicopter with a low-inertia rotor system can lose energy quickly as the collective is raised and the power required exceeds the power available. This can lead to an aerodynamic stall of the rotor blades and a loss of lift, if the pilot fails to initiate immediate corrective action. Air rushing upward through the blades further increases their angle of attack, resulting in more drag, further slowing the rotor speed. Excessive main rotor RPM decay can occur rapidly and recovery at low altitude is virtually impossible.

The design of the accident helicopter rotor head incorporates three hinge points. The hub is mounted to the shaft with a teeter hinge that allows both blades to flap together as if one. There are coning hinges (located below the teeter hinge) that allow each blade to flap independently, especially when a low-rotor-rpm condition exists. This could cause an out of balance and hazardous flight condition. The National Transportation Safety Board prepared a Special Investigation Report (PB96-917003) regarding 31 fatal accidents in R22/44 helicopters. This study found that, at normal main rotor speeds, the divergence from the blades normal plane of rotation to where a fuselage strike occurred resulted in bent or sheered masts and main rotor spindle tusks. The main rotor mast and spindle tusks on C-FVBG showed no evidence of bumping or damage; however, one blade showed some deformation of the droop stop.

Examination of the wreckage showed upward bending of one main rotor blade, which indicated the rotor was at low speed later in the crash sequence. The damage to trees at the crash site also suggested very little rotation of the rotor prior to ground contact of the cabin. This near stoppage was probably caused by the two tail boom strikes.

Analysis

The initiating event in the accident sequence could not be determined. It is most likely that the pilot was departing the accident site and, for unknown reasons, lost control of the aircraft. The damage patterns are consistent with low rotor speed and erratic blade movement that resulted in main rotor strikes of the tail boom.

Investigation of the aircraft wreckage and components found no indication of any mechanical malfunction that may have initiated or contributed to the accident sequence. Weather was not considered to be a factor.

It is possible that the alternator failure may have distracted the pilot from a low-rotor-speed situation; this could not be determined.

It is unlikely that the pilot was wearing his lap-belt/shoulder harness at the time of the accident. It is probable that using the available restraint properly would have lessened his injuries and increased the chance of survival.

The following laboratory reports were completed:

  • LP 032/02 - Instrument Analysis
  • LP 033/02 - Exhaust Stack Analysis, Temperature Determination

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Low rotor speed and an erratic blade movement resulted in two blade strikes on the tail boom and the break up of the helicopter. The reason for the low rotor speed could not be determined.

Other Findings

  1. The alternator was not producing power for an undetermined time prior to the accident.
  2. The pilot was not wearing the available lap-belt/shoulder harness at the time of the accident.

Safety Action

A Safety Information Letter (No. A020020-1) was sent to Transport Canada on 25 July 2002. The deficiency identification addresses the lack of any requirement to inspect alternators on Robinson helicopters.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 30 January 2003.

Appendix A - Diagram of the Accident Site

Appendix A - Diagram of the Accident Site



1. All times are MDT (Coordinated Universal Time minus six hours) unless otherwise stated.

2. Aeronautical Information Publication, AIR 2.3, 20 April 2000

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A02W0064

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision avec le relief
Hélicoptère Robinson R22 Beta C-FVBG
exploité par Valley B Aviation
à 20 nm à l'ouest de Manning (Alberta)
le 8 avril 2002

Résumé

L'hélicoptère Robinson R22 Beta de Valley B Aviation immatriculé C-FVBG, portant le numéro de série 2534, effectue un vol aller-retour à partir de Manning (Alberta) pour prendre des lectures d'instruments à plusieurs puits de gaz naturel de la région. Vers 15 h 25, heure avancée des Rocheuses, le centre de coordination des opérations de sauvetage (RCC) de Trenton (Ontario) capte le signal d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) à 20 milles marins à l'ouest de Manning, et il prévient tous les exploitants des environs. L'appareil accidenté est retrouvé 90 minutes plus tard. Il avait percuté le sol aux abords du puits 11-6. Le pilote a perdu la vie dans l'accident; l'hélicoptère a été lourdement endommagé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'hélicoptère Robinson R22 Beta avait été construit en 1994 et importé au Canada en 2000. L'appareil totalisait environ 1 318 heures en service. L'hélicoptère était équipé pour voler selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR), et il était utilisé en grande partie pour accéder à des puits de gaz naturel pour de l'entretien, quand il n'était pas possible d'emprunter d'autres moyens de transport.

Les dossiers indiquent que l'hélicoptère était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'appareil ne présentait aucune anomalie connue avant le premier vol de la journée et il était exploité à l'intérieur des limites de masse et centrage prescrites. Le vol a été entrepris avec du carburant utilisable du bon type et en quantité suffisante pour effectuer le vol.

Le jour de l'accident, le pilote, qui était un des copropriétaires de la compagnie, avait décollé à 10 h, heure avancée des Rocheuses (HAR)1 dans l'intention de se rendre à neuf puits et à une usine de gaz pour y faire des lectures. Les dossiers de suivi des vols indiquent que le pilote a communiqué avec le répartiteur à 11 h 30 puis à 14 h 40. Lors de cette dernière communication, le pilote a indiqué qu'il ne lui restait plus que deux endroits à visiter : le puits 11-6 et l'usine de compression de gaz Buick. Il a aussi indiqué qu'il y avait quelques rafales de vent. Il n'a pas précisé où il se trouvait à ce moment-là ni dans quel ordre il allait faire les visites du puits et de l'usine. Les dossiers récupérés dans l'épave indiquent que le pilote a visité les neuf puits ainsi que l'usine.

Le pilote totalisait environ 1 625 heures de vol sur hélicoptère, la plupart ayant été effectuées sur R22 et R44. Il avait effectué environ 2 heures de vol le jour de l'accident, 4 heures de vol dans les 7 derniers jours, et 7 heures de vol dans les 30 derniers jours et les 90 derniers jours.

La station météorologique la plus proche du lieu de l'accident se trouve à Peace River (Alberta), à 40 milles marins (nm) au sud-est. Les conditions météorologiques qui figuraient dans le bulletin de 15 h pour Peace River étaient les suivantes : vents du 220º vrai à 9 noeuds, visibilité de 15 milles terrestres (sm), quelques nuages à 3 500 pieds au-dessus du sol (agl), température de -4 ºC, point de rosée de -15 ºC et calage altimétrique de 29,95 pouces de mercure. À 16 h, les vents et les nuages étaient sensiblement les mêmes, la température était de -3 ºC et le point de rosée, de -14 ºC. La prévision graphique de zone n'indiquait rien de particulier pour la région de Peace River à 18 h; cependant, à l'aéroport de Peace River, la visibilité était réduite à 2 sm dans de la neige légère, le ciel était couvert et le plafond était à 2 000 pieds. Une image satellite prise à 16 h 34 révèle la présence d'une couche de nuages dans la région de Peace River. Ces nuages se trouvaient à peu près à la verticale du lieu de l'accident.

Des pilotes de l'endroit ont signalé qu'à Manning (Alberta) situé à 20 nm à l'est du lieu de l'accident et que sur le lieu de l'accident il y avait des nuages d'altitude moyenne et de haute altitude, les vents étaient négligeables et la température avoisinait le point de congélation. Aucune neige ou pluie n'a été observée sur l'épave ni au sol lorsque l'hélicoptère a été retrouvé. Les températures et les points de rosée qui figuraient dans les bulletins de 15 h et de 16 h pour Peace River n'étaient pas propices au givrage du carburateur2.

Selon les résultats de l'autopsie et des analyses toxicologiques du pilote, rien n'indique qu'une incapacité ou des facteurs physiologiques aient perturbé les capacités du pilote. Le pilote a été grièvement blessé au côté gauche du torse. Les sièges de l'hélicoptère étaient équipés d'une ceinture de sécurité et d'un baudrier à enrouleur à inertie à un seul point. La partie femelle de la ceinture de sécurité du pilote a été retrouvée de l'autre côté d'un panneau de métal qui se trouvait entre les sièges; l'orifice pour le passage de la pièce était bien défini. Rien n'indique que la partie mâle de la ceinture-baudrier ait été insérée dans le mécanisme de verrouillage au moment de l'impact.

L'hélicoptère s'est écrasé dans le coin nord-ouest d'un terrain sur lequel se trouvait un puits. Plusieurs arbres ont été étêtés. Le rotor de queue presque intact et une section de 2 pieds de longueur du cône de queue de l'hélicoptère ont été retrouvés dans un arbre d'environ 60 pieds de hauteur situé à 35 pieds derrière l'épave. Le reste de l'épave reposait à l'endroit devant cet arbre au bord du terrain où se trouve le puits. La partie comportant le moteur était plus enfoncée dans le sol que la cabine. La partie inférieure du sabot de queue a été retrouvée à environ 40 pieds en avant et à droite de l'épave principale (à environ 45º). La partie avant de la poutre de queue présentait deux marques d'impact faites par le rotor principal. Le bord d'attaque de chaque pale du rotor principal était déformé et présentait des résidus de peinture provenant de la poutre de queue. La majeure partie du pare-brise/verrière a éclaté en plusieurs morceaux qui se sont retrouvés à l'avant de la cabine. La partie de la poutre de queue qui comportait le feu anti-collision a été heurtée par une pale du rotor principal et a été retrouvée à environ 50 pieds devant la cabine. L'arbre d'entraînement du rotor de queue reposait à environ 150 pieds à droite de l'épave (voir l'annexe A).

Un examen minutieux de l'épave a été effectué sur le lieu de l'accident, puis à l'atelier régional d'examen des épaves du BST à Edmonton (Alberta). Le moteur et divers autres composants ont été examinés à un atelier de révision agréé par Transports Canada à Edmonton et au Laboratoire technique du BST à Ottawa (Ontario). Il a été établi qu'aucune défectuosité d'un composant n'avait contribué directement à l'accident.

L'alternateur (modèle ALY-842OLS fabriqué par Electrosystems) totalisait 1 318,6 heures en service et a fait l'objet d'un examen à un atelier de révision. La structure de l'alternateur ne montrait aucun dommage, mais les balais étaient usés bien au-delà des marques de limite d'utilisation, au point d'être quasiment inexistants. Un des balais n'était plus à sa place en raison de son usure extrême, et l'alternateur ne fournissait aucun courant au circuit électrique au moment de l'accident. L'hélicoptère était équipé d'un voyant d'avertissement ambre (relié à l'alternateur) qui s'allume en cas de basse tension et de panne potentielle de l'alternateur. La section III (pages 3 à 8), Procédures d'urgence, du manuel d'utilisation de l'hélicoptère publié par le constructeur, exige que le pilote prenne les mesures suivantes : couper tout équipement électrique non essentiel, placer l'interrupteur ALT (alternateur) sur OFF, puis le placer sur ON après une seconde afin de réarmer le relais de surtension, et si le voyant est toujours allumé, atterrir dès que possible. De plus, le manuel stipule que poursuivre le vol sans un alternateur en état de fonctionnement peut mener à la panne du tachymètre électronique, ce qui pourrait entraîner une situation de vol dangereuse.

L'interrupteur ALT et les interrupteurs des feux à éclats, des équipements radio/navigation et du ventilateur du circuit de réchauffage cabine ont été trouvés sur ON. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer dans quelle position ces interrupteurs se trouvaient avant l'impact. L'alternateur est assujetti à un programme « selon état ». Les autorités réglementaires et le constructeur ne précisent aucun intervalle d'inspection ou de remplacement à respecter pour ce composant; il doit être inspecté ou remplacé seulement s'il tombe en panne. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer quand l'alternateur avait cessé de produire du courant.

Le circuit électrique de l'hélicoptère fonctionne sous une tension de 12 volts. Une analyse et des essais approfondis de l'indicateur tachymétrique du moteur et du rotor principal, du régulateur de vitesse du moteur et du relais de la batterie ont été effectués par le constructeur afin d'établir comment ces composants se comportent lorsque la tension diminue de façon continue. Les essais ont montré qu'avec un signal d'entrée constant de 104 % (régime du moteur et du rotor principal), les indications affichées étaient exactes jusqu'à une tension de 8 volts, puis se mettaient progressivement à être inférieures à 104 % à mesure que la tension diminuait.

Le régulateur de vitesse du moteur est conçu pour maintenir le régime du moteur entre 97 % et 104 %. En situation de basse tension, le régulateur commande l'augmentation du régime du moteur lorsque la tension est presque égale ou inférieure à 8 volts. Le relais de la batterie qui se trouvait sur l'hélicoptère accidenté a été soumis à des essais et celui-ci a été en mesure de maintenir la tension de la batterie aux bornes de la barre omnibus principale jusqu'à une tension de 1,8 volt. Environ 48 heures après l'accident, la tension à vide de la batterie était de 2,5 volts. La batterie et les cellules n'ont pas été endommagées. Il n'a pas été possible de déterminer le niveau de charge de la batterie immédiatement avant l'accident.

L'hélicoptère R22 possède un système rotor à faible inertie. Le rotor principal d'un hélicoptère équipé d'un système rotor à faible inertie peut perdre rapidement de l'énergie lorsqu'on tire sur le levier de pas collectif et que la puissance demandée dépasse la puissance disponible. Cette situation peut entraîner un décrochage aérodynamique des pales du rotor et une perte de portance si le pilote ne corrige pas immédiatement la situation. L'air qui se déplace rapidement vers le haut entre les pales augmente encore plus l'angle d'attaque des pales, créant ainsi plus de traînée et réduisant davantage la vitesse de rotation du rotor. Une diminution excessive de la vitesse de rotation du rotor principal peut se produire rapidement, et un rétablissement à basse altitude est pratiquement impossible.

De par sa conception, la tête rotor de l'hélicoptère R22 possède trois points d'articulation. Le moyeu est fixé à l'arbre à l'aide d'une articulation à bascule qui permet aux deux pales de battre ensemble comme si elles étaient solidaires. Les articulations de conicité (situées sous l'articulation à bascule) permettent à chaque pale de battre indépendamment l'une de l'autre, notamment en cas de faible régime rotor. Cette situation peut entraîner un déséquilibre et des conditions de vol dangereuses. Le National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) a publié un rapport d'enquête spécial (PB96-917003) sur 31 accidents mortels mettant en cause des hélicoptères R22/44. Cette étude a permis d'établir qu'à des vitesses normales de rotation du rotor principal, le déplacement des pales hors de leur plan de rotation normal jusqu'au point de provoquer un impact avec le fuselage donnait lieu à la déformation ou au cisaillement du mât et des cornes des fusées des pales. Le mât du rotor principal et les cornes des fusées du C-FVBG ne présentaient aucune marque d'impact ni aucun dommage; cependant, la butée d'affaissement d'une des pales était un peu déformée.

L'examen de l'épave a permis de découvrir qu'une des pales était déformée vers le haut, ce qui indique que le rotor tournait à basse vitesse à un moment tardif dans la séquence d'accident. Les dommages relevés sur les arbres laissent croire que le rotor ne tournait presque pas avant l'impact, sans doute parce que le rotor a heurté la poutre de queue à deux reprises.

Analyse

L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir l'élément déclencheur de l'accident. Selon toute vraisemblance, le pilote a perdu la maîtrise de l'appareil au décollage pour une raison qui n'a pas été déterminée. Les dommages relevés sont typiques d'un faible régime rotor et d'un mouvement irrégulier des pales qui ont mené à deux heurts du rotor principal avec la poutre de queue.

L'examen de l'épave et de divers composants n'a révélé aucune anomalie mécanique qui aurait pu causer l'accident ou y contribuer. On a jugé que la météo n'avait joué aucun rôle dans l'accident.

Il est possible que la panne de l'alternateur ait distrait le pilote de la situation de faible régime rotor, mais il n'a pas été possible de le confirmer.

Selon toute vraisemblance, le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture-baudrier au moment de l'accident. Le port de cet équipement aurait probablement diminué la gravité de ses blessures et augmenté ses chances de survie.

L'enquête a donné lieu aux rapports de laboratoire suivants :

  • LP 032/02 - Instrument Analysis (Analyse d'instruments);
  • LP 033/02 - Exhaust Stack Analysis, Temperature Determination (Analyse des pipes d'échappement, détermination des températures).

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Un faible régime rotor et un mouvement irrégulier des pales a mené à deux heurts du rotor principal avec la poutre de queue et à la dislocation de l'hélicoptère. L'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir pourquoi le rotor tournait à faible régime.

Autres faits établis

  1. L'alternateur ne produisait pas de courant avant l'accident, mais l'enquête n'a pas révélé depuis combien de temps.
  2. Le pilote ne portait pas sa ceinture-baudrier au moment de l'accident.

Mesures de sécurité

Le BST a envoyé la lettre d'information sur la sécurité aérienne numéro A020020-1 à Transports Canada le 25 juillet 2002. La section relative à l'identification des anomalies aborde le manque d'exigences concernant l'inspection des alternateurs installés sur les hélicoptères Robinson.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 30 janvier 2003.

Annexe A - Schéma du lieu de l'accident

Annexe A - Schéma du lieu de l'accident


1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAR (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins six heures), sauf indication contraire.

2. Publication d'information aéronautique, AIR 2.3, 20 avril 2000